Birmingham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 337 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"people trapped there for hours"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Quite the worst airport I have ever travelled to. Landed at 21.20, waited in baggage reclaim with hundreds of other passengers for hold baggage from a Jet2 flight until around 02,30 then went to Ibis to find they had resold our pre-paid room. Terminal manager was present in baggage reclaim area, totally ineffective person. No drinks or food provided for people trapped there for hours. No information from airport, Jet2 or the useless swissport. Passengers forced to climb through to back of reclaim belts to get their bags. Unclaimed bags from people who had left strewn about all over the place completely unsecured.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"try getting it right for the passengers"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | How embarrassed do you feel to be British when traveling through Birmingham airport, security is a joke, long uncontrolled and unorganised security checks with minimal staff on at busy times. I was in fast track and the other lines were moving quicker, so don’t waste your money buying a fast track ticket. It’s even worse when you arrive at BHX, as often they aren’t ready to disembark you from the aircraft due to lack of staff availability, amazing their staff can’t get to work but all the passengers manage to get to the airport on time, often traveling long distances to get there (leave your homes earlier), It would also be nice to have a non EU passport when travelling through BHX as they seem to have more staff checking the passports than they have for EU citizens, and they seem to let the people through quicker. I have travelled the world and am amazed that smaller and less well off countries are more courteous and better organised than us Brits. Come on BHX management team, go visiting other airports around the world, learn from them and try getting it right for the passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"whole experience was an utter shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We flew back in to Birmingham Airport from Fuerteventura on Saturday, the whole experience was an utter shambles thanks to Swissport taking 25 mins to get off the plane. They said the walkway was not working after they sent the plane to it, then they had to find some steps for us to get off the plane. When we got to the baggage claim area the cases were jammed up on the belt. The same mess going out with one case damaged, it is about time this lot was sorted out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Arrived back into Birmingham Airport on Saturday 4th on Thomson flight from Barbados. Have a non EU passport and was pleasantly surprised to clear immigration in 1 minute flat. On to baggage carousel and luggage on belt in under 10 minutes. Biggest gripe is the long walk from aircraft, but at least there was an air bridge. Overall a good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
1/10

"Shocking airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Shocking airport. Decided to take a punt and see if it's improved only to be dismally disappointed and aggravated. The queues here to get through security are in excess of an hour. Then upon reaching departures all of the restaurants and amenities are saturated. This place makes for a miserable start and end to any journey. I now promise to never come back, my fingers have been repeatedly burnt.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it was a bit of a mixed bag"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Birmingham is actually my local airport, so I expected great things of it. Actually, it was a bit of a mixed bag. Food, signage and Duty Free were great, the problems lie in the large queues to board my flight (Emirates EK38 to Dubai) which, given the A380 used, was to be expected. More annoying was on arrival, where the queues for passport control were huge, to add insult to injury, only a few of the desks were actually open, which didn't help as I had an important meeting to get to straight from the airport. Nor does it help that they charge you for things like a luggage trolley and pushchairs for the little ones, yet don't provide anywhere for you to put them when you've finished. Overall, it was just like all the other UK airports I had experienced: average at best.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"does not have the staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived last night from Dubai on the Emirates A380. There was a short delay in exiting the plane due to all air bridges merging into a single stair well and another delay in immigration (don't bother with a priority pass by the way!) but this was nothing compared to the arrivals hall. The airport simply could not cope with the amount of luggage that came off this plane. During our one hour wait for bags the conveyor stopped twice and it became obvious that the only baggage handling crew had gone to do something else or to retrieve more bags from the plane. In a nutshell, Birmingham Airport does not have the staff, mentality, facilities or equipment to deal with larger jets and the service is suffering accordingly. Very poor.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What an utter disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Just an addendum to my previous post. Just back from dropping the relatives back at BHX for their flight home. Parked in the 30 mins free car park for 1 hour and 15 minutes to see them off, and had to pay £45, so if my maths isn't letting me down, that's £1/minute over and above the free period. You may think that's a long time to park, but that car park is a 10-15 minute walk from T1 departures, so we only spent about 45 minutes in the airport the rest was walking. What an utter disgrace. They will not be flying into BHX next time, we'll book them into EMA.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"baggage hall a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We landed at Birmingham, having had a good flight from Palma. Then the shambles began Swissport put steps up to the aircraft, then did nothing else regarding a walkway to the terminal. The cabin crew could not allow us to leave the plane because no one was on the ground, it looked like they had gone on a tea break! The baggage hall was a disgrace with no organisation,they just could not cope, they had a flight from Islamabad and it seems that this flight took priority the luggage was on the carousel but the passengers were at passport control. The staff had to take the luggage off to make way for other flights. How can you have 1 carousel with 2 flights of luggage. This delay has happened before. It was better when Coventry airport did passenger planes. I will from now on use East Midlands or Manchester
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"customer service was abysmal"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We arrived at BHX on 11 September for our return flight to Edinburgh and below are our experiences. There were drunk and abusive persons in the vicinity of the monorail at the train station. There were no staff in the area to challenge this or to report this to. The monorail was filthy and had a terrible smell, obviously not cleaned in a while. Lack of seating in departure area but some seats available if you want to buy a £5 coffee. Some luggage deposit machines were not working. Escalator to security area broken. Large unnecessary queues leading to security. Lack of staff at this area. What staff they had at boarding pass machines were loud, rude, unkempt and harassed. The security area is not fit for purpose, it is too small and cramped for the large number of passengers. The central seating area after security is not fit for purpose, it was dirty and overcrowded. It is almost impossible to find contact phone numbers and email addresses for customer services at the airport. When I did find a number and called, the first time the male hung up and the second time they assured I would be called back, this never happened. I will not be using this airport again as it one of the worst I have seen in Europe in recent years, they really need to get their act together. Overall customer service was abysmal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no