Birmingham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 333 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"blown away by the amazing staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am blown away by the amazing staff at this airport. I just got off of holiday and was traveling back to the US when I found myself stranded at the airport without friends and a bed. I encountered an overwhelming amount of friendly staff. These included people at cafes, staff at help desks and even staff walking around like the friendly police. They helped calm me down and reassure me that I would make it to my home. I am so grateful for their joy and love that they showed me.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"place is a complete joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Never again, dropped off my mother in-law. Parking is a joke. No drop off area when I got back to the car they charged me £25 for 50mins. First 30mins are free and its a 20min walk to the check in desk. Because of complications with check in it took me 50 mins. Better off going to Heathrow or Manchester next time. This place is a complete joke. The airport suits the city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a shambles and a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | 6.40 am flight outbound, no problems. Arrived back at midday, waited on apron 10 minutes until it occurred to someone to actually open a door so we could get into the terminal. Then another half hour plus queuing for immigration - like a supermarket on a bad day, about 15 electronic terminals but only 5 or 6 working. At least we weren't in the even longer stationary queue for those without e-passports! Basically a shambles and a disgrace to the Midlands. Only use it because it's half an hour from home and can get there and back by taxi substantially cheaper than using the car parks. Heaven help them when the Commonwealth Games are held in 2022.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
3/10

"extremely poor quality service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrendous special assistance. I was dreading having to deal with the crowds and queues and endless waiting that greatly exacerbate my poor mobility, mental health and anxiety. I was advised by Thomas Cook on booking flight not to worry as I would be well looked after by special assistance. What a joke. On entering the airport, there is one obscure sign directing you to SA. The desk is at the other end of the airport way past the checking in desks. We had been told by airline that we were to report directly to SA desk and they would ensure we were accompanied to fast track bag drop and through security. Well, after my poor husband managed with great difficulty to safely support me on one arm and drag the case and carry two lots of hand luggage we made it down to the SA desk to be met by a queue of 6 people who were slowly being dealt with by one very stressed young man who seemed to be way out of his depth. I was in tremendous pain and my anxiety was raising its ugly head by the time we got to the desk. We advised our luggage needed checking in and I needed a wheelchair. He advised us to take a seat and assistance would be along in 10 mins. Then we seemed to be forgotten. My husband went to the desk four times to raise concern and time to check in was getting short. I even hobbled over myself for a go. I seemed to have been forgotten but assured someone would collect us next. They didn't. Four other people were collected and several other SA assistants were standing around just chatting. I was getting more and more anxious and stressed which was causing my Asthma and pain to increase. We waited nearly two hours. Eventually enough was enough. I was in meltdown. We managed eventually to catch the eye of the supervisor who was full of apologies and then personally acquired a wheelchair and raced me to baggage drop at great speed almost knocking into people in our way. I was scared and my poor husband exhausted by trying to keep up with us. Anyway, we eventually got through to the departure lounge with 15 mins to gate opening, hardly time for me to use the toilet. On being picked up to be wheeled to the plane, we were taken to the lift by a new member of staff who suddenly realised he needed to find a supervisor with a key to activate the lift. Once again, I was abandoned as my husband had taken the stairs as the lift was too small. However we eventually got to the plane, my anxiety levels far worse for wear. On return to the UK, myself and the other disabled clients had to remain on the plane once everyone else had got off. We waited and waited for a mobile lift to come and collect us from the plane. About 30 minutes later (conservative estimate). Let down again by extremely poor quality service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It’s a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived back from Tenerife late at night had to wait 1 and a half hours for our luggage to appear. It’s a disgrace, get it sorted, it’s not like they are busy at 1.30am in the morning. Take a lesson from Dublin airport they have it perfect, your luggage is waiting by the time you get to the carousel.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Airport was chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Airport was chaotic. Wait time for luggage was well over an hour. Absolutely horrible and definitely never recommending this airport to anyone not even as a transit stop. Severely in need of an upgrade and please better time management! The last thing anyone needs after a long day is an even longer wait for baggage reclaim and other formalities. Hope I never have the misfortune of having to end up travelling from/to or via Birmingham International.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"airport used to be great"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport used to be great to use. 2-3 years ago I flew frequently and always chose Birmingham because it was quick and well run. After a career break I’m now back to flying frequently for business again and oh dear Birmingham. The security queues are unbearable on a Monday morning. I arrived 2 hours before my flight and had to be pulled to the front of the queue by staff the wait was that bad! It’s the same story on the return through passport control! The terminal is so crowded and well worn now it useless. All other European airports I’ve flown to have been better equipped than Birmingham is now and they have half the passenger numbers. Birmingham needs serious investment if it wants to attract passengers back because I simply won’t use it anymore. The terminal needs to be completely renovated and expanded. Bigger security and passport control areas are needed and the baggage infrastructure needs an upgrade. Definitely more seating needs to be made available and the food and drink options are crowded weatherspoons or crowded coffe bar. To Birmingham’s credit though they’ve got one thing right. The No1 lounge is impeccable but that doesn’t help your average traveller.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Shocking level of management incompetence"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shocking level of management incompetence. Arrived on a delayed flight in the airport from the EEA and had to wait 2 hours on the plane at the gates as there was no ladder and the control tower was unreachable. On another occasion the whole EEA plane was subject to a plane "random" sniffer dog test. We had to queue one by one and be questioned by border guards right out the plane door, missing connections, trains etc. There's always under-resource on passport control and the automatic machines often fail having to queue twice. Poorly designed workflows on baggage delivery as well. Waited for two and a half to get bags from a Dubai flight.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"What a pain of an arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arriving from Fuerteventura with Ryanair, the aircraft arrived at the stand and I waited for the air bridge to move, no! We had to wait for stairs from the aircraft, at least it was not raining. We were then faced with climbing up old metal steps with our hand luggage into a dirty old corridor finding our way to passport control. It is strange how one passport officer can clear 190 passengers without any delay at Fuerteventura. What a pain of an arrival. Departure review to follow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"45 minutes to get through security"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I’ve been to. I’m flying 4 times per week and have had in the last week several arrivals and departures from Birmingham Airport. Today, for example, I needed 45 minutes to get through security on a normal day. Comparing to all airports I’ve been to, Birmingham Airport is the worst. Please optimise your processes. Please have a look at a German Airport, for example, Frankfurt Airport and try to copy as much as you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no