Birmingham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 284 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"the terminal is a little confusing"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Birmingham airport is a very popular airport meaning more people would want to fly from there. Parking is ok, with a price to it. When you enter the airport the terminal is a little confusing, they have all the amenities first when you get in. Check-in is good, with fast paced lines. Then you need to walk to the security area, and it is a hassle, you have a walk through unnecessarily complicated lines which are sometimes useless and stressing and the security area is a little small too. When you reach the end of the security, you go through the duty-free as usual of an airport. They then have seats and the terminal is already crowded but cleanliness is still good, and the shops are available too. I would recommend the staff but sometimes they can be unhelpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it took 1 hour to receive bags"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Despite being a quiet time of day, it took 1 hour to receive bags of a flight from Munich. Baggage hall filthy, staff absent as soon as issue raised. Many including me missed trains, no reason given, no one to take responsibility - if Birmingham wants more customers, it better start looking after its clients, the paying public. If I ran my business like them, I would go bust! 0 out of 5 for service (again).
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it cannot cope."

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The worst I've ever experienced - stood in queue from the top of escalator right through to the end of security. And then all restaurants were absolutely packed. Understand we need to be secure but this airport seems to have increased amount of flights without expansion of facilities - it cannot cope. Airports used to be pleasant places to visit but now this one I dread. The same can be said on return - too many flights landing at the same time massive queues when you are tired and just want to get home - then they have these silly machines that dont seem to work correctly and watching them they actually take longer than the people being checked by humans! They also have a sign which tells you waiting time for EU & Non EU citizens waiting time - EU 25 minutes - Non EU 8 minutes (being checked by humans).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"public areas are tired, and unclean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The only good thing I can find to say about Birmingham airport is that it is local. The departure lounge has some facade of effort having been made by the various concessions, but the majority of seating is at these concessions, so if you want to sit, you have to pay. Public areas are tired, and unclean, I travelled from B'ham over 45 years, and don't remember any improvements in this time. Toilets are dirty and unserviced even at 6 am and inadequate. Arrivals is a third world experience, dirty, untidy, and worn out. Thinking about it a third world airport hoping to attract tourists probably makes more effort. An embarrassing disgrace to the West Midlands.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute chaos on arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Absolute chaos on arrival from Malaga over two hours to reclaim baggage because not enough staff. Why run an international airport when you can't man it properly. This airport may be local to me, but in future will look to fly elsewhere. Shame on the people who run this airport, obviously concentrating more on profits than customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"absolute chaos broke out"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Our departure was delayed going out to Naples, apart from being uncomfortable and not knowing what's going on we sat with anticipation like the rest of the passengers! On return however the captain informed passengers that our aircraft docking point was no longer available due to a vehicle with tyre problems. At that point it became very obvious that the airport staff were under trained or undermanned or just simply a lack of supervision because absolute chaos broke out. After a long wait on the aircraft the bus eventually arrived to take passengers to terminal as we were the only passengers in passport control area we were very quickly processed and on to collect our baggage where we waited until the belt started up. After 2.5 hours from landing we finally got our case. Like many other passengers we had transport arranged, myself like many other people don't like waiting, sometimes for safety reasons its imperative but when you are delayed through lack of supervision, lack of training or just lack of staff for an international airport its just not acceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is going downhill fast"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Very long queue at security on the way out (way beyond the gate where you scan your boarding card), but it did move at a reasonable speed. On arrival enormous queue at immigration. That for the UK-EU channel stretched out of the hall, up to the slope and towards the plane. Getting through took 50 minutes - far longer than any other UK airport in memory - even the dreaded Luton and Gatwick. And that's after being held on the plane (after the door had been opened) almost 15 minutes "waiting for a member of ground crew who hasn't shown up." Birmingham used to be easy and good. Is it lack of investment, but it is going downhill fast.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"why are there always queues?"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Writing this review of Birmingham Airport whilst still being in a plane waiting to disembark after 30 minutes. Why are there so few staff that no-one can offload the passengers? And now the queue at passport control is huge. Why are there always queues? It's as if the airport is run on a shoe string budget despite flights from here are always more expensive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | What an embarrassment! Arrived at 22.10, didn't get through passport control until 23.10. 1 hour of queuing with no toilet in site and the worst part there was a puddle of sick in the middle of the queue. I informed the passport control lady about the disgusting mess I had just had to step around. Her response was, "yes I am aware, the cleaners were notified 25 minutes ago". What a lovely image for our country when people are arriving. Sort it out.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we queued for over one hour"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have flown from Birmingham airport many times and always been pleased. Yesterday however I was not. After a lovely holiday and excellent flight we queued for over one hour to go through passport control as they are now using the electronic machines. After eventually getting to use the machine, it would not work and I went through security with a manned check. It seemed there were only around 10 machines and at least 700 people. Unbelievable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no