Birmingham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 169 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th June 2015

I am writing to complain about the disgusting state of the smoking area outside of the Meridien Bar at Birmingham airport. I am a smoker and was extremely shocked at the dirtiness of the balcony, not just cigarettes but glasses, cups, and litter. The ashtrays were overflowing. I have added some images of the area taken on the 1st June 2015. I would like to quote Imperial Tobacco's announcement of the opening of this area. The UK’s leading tobacco company, Imperial Tobacco, is delighted to announce the opening of a state of the art airside smoking area at Birmingham Airport. Travellers can now enjoy their chosen tobacco product free from the wind and rain in a dedicated area, accessible from the airport’s new departure lounge bar. This purpose built and unique facility provides lighting, shelter, hand gel and litter solutions. There is also a departures board to ensure travellers can keep track of their flights. If you are going to open a smoking area, which is much appreciated, please do not treat travelers like third class citizens and expect them to smoke in such a dirty disgusting place. I have included the first photos of the Birmingham airport smoking area and the latter of a comparison with Bodrum airport outside smoking area within the departure lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 26th June 2015

I have used it hundreds of times over the years and it still seems to have a dated culture. Departing is usually not the problem but arriving and waiting for gates and sometimes steps or an air bridge is a joke, it often appears as if the plane has "dropped in" unexpectedly and taken them by surprise. Luggage collection is also a bit of a joke, can wait up to an hour for luggage to appear on carousel. It's worth noting that BHX is trying for more long haul flights now that the runway has been extended for larger aircraft, but heaven help arriving passengers if this come to be, it'll be a nightmare under the present system of baggage handling on arrival. It lags well behind the likes of Manchester Airport. The £1.00 charge for a 10 minute drop off is extortion at it's very best.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit26-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 17th June 2015

I live just 3 miles from BHX however would rather travel 80 miles to Manchester airport for a much better experience and ultimately a much faster return to home after waiting to clear border control and even longer waiting for cases to be put on the luggage belt. I have travelled from and to this airport dozens of times yet always it takes an age to get cases onto the luggage belts. Border control staffing levels also leave a lot to be desired. I honestly believe that this airport is the worst in the UK and amongst the bottom section in the whole world! For the second city of the UK this airport is an embarrassment and a disgrace. It should remove the "international" from its title as it is totally misleading as this airport is no more than a local airstrip with no customer orientation at all!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit16-01-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
8/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th June 2015

I travel on holiday from Birmingham Airport at least 4 times per year. When going through security/baggage screening on the last 3 occasions my cabin luggage has been selected for further investigation. I have had all my personal possessions removed and thoroughly examined one by one on each occasion. I quite understand this, my only concern is that other people who are waiting in line for their bags to be checked can stand and watch every personal item unloaded and examined from my bag (after all what else have they to do at the time?). As I always carry my jewellery in my hand luggage, I feel that my bag itself is at risk after the contents being exposed to the public. Would it not be possible to have some sort of screen that hides personal belongings which are being examined from other passengers?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit12-04-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity N/A
yes
0/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 2nd May 2015

I travel frequently - about ten times per annum - to Jersey and back via BHX. I have noticed a gradual deterioration in the standard of ground handling for these flights at BHX. This dates from the change of terminals which now requires Jersey passengers having walked through the hideous perfume shops in the first terminal to walk a long way to the Jersey terminal where there is now only one inadequate junk food outlet apart from a small Boots and Smiths and a souvenir shop. BHX authorities have also removed most of the flight arrivals and departures boards including the most vital information board which is the one where you initially arrive in the terminal. One could be forgiven for thinking that the BHX authority has a prejudice against flights to Jersey and the other flights to UK destinations which leave from the same terminal and is determined to take it out on the passengers. However the main substance for my complaint is the truly awful level of ground handling for incoming Flybe Jersey/BHX flights which I have experienced in the last five flights I have made into BHX on this route. Invariably the aircraft is made to wait for its stand. Invariably there is a delay in getting the passengers off the aircraft. Invariably they are made to wait in the bus which takes them to the airside stairs to baggage reclaim. Yesterday for example there was a delay of 45 minutes from the time the aircraft on BE 502 stopped its engines before the passengers were able to retrieve their baggage and exit the customs area. 15 minutes in the aircraft before the doors were opened and the passengers loaded into a bus. A full 25 minutes waiting with locked doors in the bus before the passengers were allowed onto the airside stairs and another 5 minutes waiting in the covered walkway before we were allowed access to our luggage which had clearly been on the carousel for a long time. This is as I am sure everyone would agree totally unacceptable from a passenger point of view. It is also clear where the blame lies. Namely with the BHX ground handling organisation. Unless this is considerably improved I shall simply stop using BHX and I imagine so will many other potential UK destination customers. Yesterday was merely the worst of a long series if such delays in handling incoming flights from Jersey at BHX.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st May 2015

Flew with Ryanair to/from Dublin. Has been a good few years since flying from Birmingham. Has improved but still nothing special. Queues for Security were good was through in around 10/15 minutes. Departure lounge is not great. Adequate choice of facilities low ceilings quite small and just a bit boring. Same has to be said about the Ryanair/Flybe pier. Arrival was pretty much the same. Flight was delayed until around 1am so the Terminal was pretty much closed so no queuing. Narrow corridors and not the most inviting of places. Only reason I'd consider BHX is because it's quite convenient and quite well served by public transport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 23rd April 2015

No seats for customers downstairs. Rip off prices in food outlets and for everything else. Not enough Border Force staff for the number of arrivals or is it just bad management (one hour delay at my last arrival) like a third world country set up. We were herded and corralled and the staff thought this was an acceptable situation worst airport experience we've ever had.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th April 2015

Worst airport in the UK. Every other UK airport has high service levels and quick processes. We have now been waiting 1 hour 15 minutes for our baggage and I would say half of the plane passengers are in the same position. Sort it out BHX.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th March 2015

Landed at 21.15 on Sunday 22nd March 2015 from Sharm El Sheikh. Disembarked aircraft at 21.50. Reason for delay was that the wrong set of steps had been sent to the aircraft. Had to wait for replacement steps to be found. Not good enough Birmingham (especially if you have plans to expand). Why we weren't put on a jetty I don't know. Most of them were empty.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
4/10

Birmingham Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

It really puzzles me why how this airport can so consistently get departures right and yet consistently make arrivals such a nightmare. I've rarely queued for check in or security which is so much better these days. The departure lounge is reasonable with plenty of choice for a relatively small airport. What annoys without fail is their arrivals handling. Maybe it's because there is less opportunity for financial gain from arriving passengers (although their charges for baggage trolleys might suggest otherwise). I've never found immigration anything but busy that is on a good day. On a bad day the place is heaving with passengers queuing up the stairs to the gate concourse. Problems are caused when passengers use the lift to reach immigration leaving them with no option but to push into the queue. One might assume that after the time taken to clear immigration at least your bags would be merrily enjoying their carousel ride. Rarely is this the case. Why is this airport so slow at getting bags to belt? Sure every airport has occasional delays but Birmingham seems to have nothing but delays when it comes to the arrival experience. Odd as you'd think the airport would want the passengers last memory of the airport to be a good one obviously they don't otherwise they would resolve the issues. The airport seems to be hell bent on expanding but seem to be unable to cope with the arrivals they already have.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no