Birmingham Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Queuing Times N/A
Customer rating from 307 reviews
0/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"50 minute delay once I was in the baggage re-claim"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A 13.25 arrival from Palma, Majorca on the 18th September was a disaster. First an unacceptable delay getting off the plane and then a slow march up and down the aisles at Passport Control. But, the real cause for my angst, however, was the subsequent 50 minute delay once I was in the baggage re-claim area before the carousel started moving. Totally unacceptable and no passenger information given or even someone to hand to proffer an explanation. Why does this always seem to be the case at Birmingham? I rarely experience such poor service at other UK airports, nor at most other overseas airports. In future I will look to travel from and to Manchester or East Midlands. How dare they refer to Birmingham as an International Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"toilets were filthy"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We recently flew in from Dubrovnik into Birmingham airport, where once again have trouble finding members of staff. Passport control is manned by very few staff, not happiest of people either, then into baggage claim, where once again we have to wait for our bags. While waiting we used the toilets, which were filthy, smell of urine was terrible, looked like that hadn't been cleaned for a while.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"understaffed and unmotivated"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I can certainly confirm the veracity of previous reviews regarding the unacceptable delays at Birmingham Airport when re-entering the Uk from my holiday. I was seated in 1C and after our flight (7525 Corfu) parked up, was in earshot of Thomson cabin staff discussing in a matter of fact manner 'how long it would be tonight' before ground staff arrived with steps. Once inside the terminal I waited over one hour to retrieve my suitcase from a very sluggish and sparsely loaded carousel. As if to rub salt into the suffering passengers wounds, long periods of complete inactivity were inter dispersed by the endless playing on an overhead screen of a Swissport PR video trumpeting having exceeded (some clearly bogus) efficiency target whilst undertaking the patently simple and uncomplicated task of transferring baggage from plane to carousel. Groundstaff are clearly understaffed and unmotivated. The whole rotten set up should be discarded, and replaced with an incentivised system of piece rate working, giving unskilled staff the chance to earn far greater wages.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"alienating a weary travelling public"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived back from Funchal on time but we were told to remain seated as there was no one available to drive portable stairs for disembarking aircraft. We were told by cabin crew that this has been a regular feature this summer, due to staff shortages. Things were about to get a whole lot worse, as we joined a very long queue to have our passports checked. We eventually arrived at the top of a staircase, looking down we could see a huge mass of people, snaking their way to either automated or human checkpoints. To add to the shambles not all of the checkpoints were manned and it appeared that those going through the automated points were not all being successful. The general consensus of those in our vicinity was this, no other air terminal has scenes like this. Brussels for instance has travellator to aid passengers a speedy exit to passport control where the checks are done effortlessly. We all agreed that the shambles at Birmingham would prove fruitless in terms of unauthorised entry to the UK, you are looking in the wrong direction. You are busily earning yourself an awful reputation and alienating a weary travelling public. You really need to sort this out .
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"bags arrived 2 hours after leaving the plane"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | If anyone has the possibility of avoiding Birmingham airport, I would strongly recommend that they exercise the option. We travelled out to Corfu on a Thomson flight on September 7th, the check in took far too long with only 2 desks open, when at least 5 Thomson employees spent their time talking amongst themselves rather than opening more check in desks. The airport has spent large sums of money on their shiny new shops, but after a such a lengthy check in process little time was left for shopping. The outward journey was a dream compared to our return on 14th September. On arrival at Corfu airport check in went OK. We were then informed our flight would be delayed 15 minutes. I checked online, our plane left Birmingham 61 minutes late. It made up time on the outward journey and we left a respectable 25 minutes late. On arrival at Birmingham the pilot couldn't dock the plane due to 'operational difficulties'. We all had to use the steps that eventually arrived. On arrival at the end of the queue to what is laughingly named Border Force the nightmare started. It took around an hour to get through this hurdle only to encounter the next. Baggage arrival hall. Around 10 or 12 cases from our flight quickly arrived, then nothing, the carousel stopped. An announcement that there was an operational problem regarding baggage handling. I along with several passengers enquired at the Swissport desk what was happening. We were told the problem was staff shortages and it had been going on for 6 months. The duty manager was not answering his phone. Eventually our bags arrived 2 hours after leaving the plane. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

"There is no customer service at all"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My husband who has a broken ankle had requested assistance from OCS at the end of June to travel BHX-BHX. The security personnel would not let him use Express Security even though he was being pushed in a wheelchair. There is no customer service at all at Security. Other airports will help you if you have assistance. The next week we were travelling as a family of 2 adults, 2 kids and I purchased 4 Express tickets costing 20 pounds as my husband was using crutches. There was no expire service this day, 7th July and we waited in the fast track as long as others in the regular queue. I have emailed since July 8th at least 20 times and no one responds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"there is no excuse for low numbers of staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Absolute shambles. I am disgusted that people entering the UK have to go through this airport it's a disgrace. We waited hours in the passport control queue and I think it's terrible that they can receive revenue from people paying for a fast track option for passport control. The airport knows which flights and numbers of people are coming in advance so there is no excuse for low numbers of staff. The staff and airport management should be ashamed to treat people like this. We stood for 30 mins in a stairwell waiting to join the queue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shops seems to be more important"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Long waiting times at the security checks. Long walking distances in case of "have to cross" shops. (Gates 1-20 are directly behind the security check, but then you wouldn’t pass the duty free shop). Confusing structure – shops seems to be more important than the traveller.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the airport lacked directions and seating"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | The best car park service ever both arriving and departing but the airport lacked directions and seating. After asking three different members of staff who directed us the wrong way, we eventually found the correct place. Arriving back, the worst airport I have experienced. A long wait for 1 set of steps so the whole plane exited from the front. Electronic passport control with many being rejected. Foreign staff who I couldn't understand. Planes who landed after us got their bags first. Useless public announcements saying the bags were being unloaded, this was after 45 minutes. 1hr 15 minutes before the first bags appeared on the carousel. The bags were wet inside and out. We will never use Birmingham Airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"appalling level of service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Generally not a bad airport for checking in, security check or passport control when arriving back. But trying to collect your baggage on arrival is a nightmare. It used to be okay but the last few times I've arrived back to Birmingham, trying to collect your luggage takes between 1-3 hours. Our flight landed from Portugal early and we were out of passport control within 5 minutes. The luggage, however, as usual nowadays took more than 1.5 hours. Most families from the flight had young children (we had a 3 and 5 year old) who get tired and fed up with all the hanging around. We had 2 cars to pick us up whose drivers had to hang around for ages waiting for us. The airport needs to do something about Swissports appalling level of service. This is happening all the time. Whether its due to lack of staff or other reasons, this should get sorted out as soon as possible. Heathrow and Gatwick are busier airports yet I've never had as bad a service on arrival as Birmingham.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no