Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 158 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Long slow lines"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | An absolute dump for a European capital City airport. Long slow lines, bathrooms that were no more than portacabins, departure gates that resembled a cattle she'd with gates so close together I couldn't tell what line was for what flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a terrible airport"

(Italy)

Not Verified | What a terrible airport. Travelled through in August with Easyjet. Another customer favourite. Luggage never arrived. No one was there to assist. There was no desk to report lost luggage inside like any normal airport so had to be done in another queue outside the terminal. Rude. Unhelpful. Disorganised and horrendously incapable of doing anything properly. Was given a number and website to track baggage via a company called Wisag. Another terrible experience. Still waiting a week later. Coming from Italy with customer service an alien term this is by far the worst service I have encountered. I wish I didn't have to fly here but family live northern Germany so no other alternative. I hate the airport and ant service associated with them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"can't be a recommended airport"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | TXL airport is the worst airport where I ever been. I arrived with KLM and when I get to the terminal gate the inside temperature was unbelievable high (around 35ºC) and I don't see any air conditioned system working. The KLM used a E195 to do this route and I had to wait for more than 40 minutes for my luggage. The terminal signs are bad and find the tourism office to get some information was an adventure. I departed with Easyjet that uses the terminal C. This terminal is a nightmare. I bought some sandwiches for me and my family and we had to sit in the floor. The shopes are a joke. So, TXL can't be a recommended airport for anyone.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"such a shame for such a great city"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | After having visited more than 400 airports all over the world I wasn’t expecting to find the very worst of them in Berlin! That airport is such a shame for such a great city! Everything is old, the staff are rude and most doo not speak English (a security officer even tried to intimidate me, until I asked him to call the police). It’s hot, busses to the U-Bahn are way too crowded and slow, very few and overpriced restaurants and shops, no wifi, etc. Avoid as much as you can! Next time I’ll come by train.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst airports"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Berlin Tegel is one of the worst airports I have ever used. It is badly laid out, has very poor signage, and is very much in need of an upgrade. I was unlucky enough to experience both an arrival and a departure. The arrival was particularly bad as my luggage went missing and I had to spend two hours queuing to report the missing bag. When I joined the queue, there were two people staffing the desk. After an hour, one person left and never returned. I felt very sorry for the remaining person trying to deal with a growing number of unhappy people. She told me her shift had finished forty minutes earlier, but it didn’t look like anyone was turning up to relieve her. My departure was not fun either. I arrived for my international flight two hours before the departure time to find that the check in desks weren’t even open. After about fifteen minutes a couple of people turned up, chatted to each other and went about getting set up. Eventually I was able to check in. I was then told that the security people wouldn’t be there for another thirty minutes, so another wait. When I finally got through security, there wasn’t much there. There were very few seats, not much in the way of refreshments available, and there didn’t appear to be any lounges. As I had a business class ticket, I expected to get something for all the extra money I’d paid, but I was out of luck. If anyone is going to Berlin, I’d recommend going by train if at sll possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"such a dysfunctional infrastructure"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Most annoying airport in western europe. Ridiculously small and always something here. So often problems with getting of the plane for example due to lack of staff or no equipment available. Other airport in Berlin equally bad, new airport far far away from being realized. Really unbelievable how a country like Germany allows its capital to have such a dysfunctional infrastructure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very limited facilities"

(United States)

Not Verified | What a wonderful airport! There are at least 999 better airports I know of. Not enough room, very limited facilities, hot as hell with no A/C, Wifi is slow, bathrooms dirty. It reminds me of NY LaGuardia (LGA), one of the worst. The bathrooms have disgusting cloth towels in the dispenser - I haven't seen that in 30 years. If you want to visit a museum relic from the 60's, this is the place to be, otherwise, wait for the new airport to open in 2, 3, 4, 5 years. No one seems to know when it will open.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very difficult to get around"

(Spain)

Not Verified | Very difficult to get around - not enough facilities, after the security check there's absolutely nothing to eat apart from a very over priced coffee place. This airport definitely needs to go through a modernisation to accommodate better its passengers specially when those rubbish airlines are delayed in which happens very often.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nobody at the check-in desks"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Quite the worst airport I have ever been to. There were long queues waiting to check-in almost the filling the small waiting area. It was not hard to discover why. We arrived 2 hours before our flight to find long queues and nobody at the check-in desks. After about 10 minutes one man turned up at priority check-in and proceeded to process 1 person every 5 minutes. About 10 minutes later, a bored looking, unfriendly female turned up at the other check-in. Fortunately we were in the priority queue and got through quite quickly after that. The shopping/eating facilities are almost non-existent, there is no air-conditioning, so you just sit and swelter while waiting. Arriving at the gate we were in an area serving 2 gates with minimal toilet facilities, 1 cubicle each for men and for women with consequent queues at both. Barely believable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I would avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have been to. Long queues, unfriendly staff, minimal facilities. I would avoid at all costs. Berlin as a modern capital city should be embarrassed by this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no