Vote Now  

Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 117 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"this airport is unacceptable"

(Liechtenstein)

Verified Review | As the major airport of the capital of one of the largest economies in the world, this airport is unacceptable. The main terminal is narrow, outdated, and too small to handle the amount of passengers flying through this airport. The Lufthansa lounges are located before the security check in Terminal A which can cause inconveniences. My flight departed from Terminal D and to get there I had to leave Terminal A, go outside, and enter into the building next door, which is more like a big container rather than a terminal. The security check was overcrowded and many passengers almost missed their fights (It is not a nice feeling to be stuck at security while your flight is being announced for boarding). Finally, there were no jetways for boarding, instead we had to walk to the airplane, a procedure I only know from regional airports or airports in third world countries.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"as a tourist I felt very unwelcome"

(Finland)

Verified Review | I travelled through Berlin Tegel Airport on my holiday to Berlin. The customer service at customs and at the cafe near gates 60-63 was terrible. The lady who did a routine check to me at the customs yelled at me when I didn't understand what she was saying. She was talking to me in German at first and when I asked her in English to explain she got angry and yelled. There was no line behind me and I wasn't trying to slow down the process. At the cafe I ordered a beer and a chocolate croissant and the server asked me is that what I really want to order. Then he said something in German to a colleage next to him about chocolate croissant and a cappuccino. Apparently complaining about my order. As a tourist I felt very unwelcome and as if they were angry at me. Of course there were very polite staff as well at the airport but these unpleasant ones sadly were not my only uncomfortable experiences with customer service in Berlin. You should make people feel welcome to come and visit your wonderful city and not like they are your enemies.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"the best capital airport I know"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Airport of short and direct ways. This is the best capital airport I know! From the bus stop to the check in-counter it took me about 90 seconds, to be checked in about 2 minutes, security check about 7 minutes including queuing. All staff friendly and even wished me a good flight. Internet fast and available everywhere (free of charge for one hour). The downsides: the airport is too small for the number of passengers they handle, sometimes a bit crowded. If the airplane is waiting on an external parking position you need to take a bus. Bus drivers are fast accellerating and braking, so you should grab a handle whenever you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"an old and outworn airport"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Berlin Tegel is an old and outworn airport and definitely not suitable for a capital with 3.5 million inhabitants. Moreover, it is cramped nearly all day long due to its low capacity for which it was desinged decades ago. On the other hand, the airport is well connected to the city centre via various express-bus lines.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not enough seating for volume of passengers"

(Finland)

Berlin Tegel airport is a reason to avoid Berlin. It is too crammed and too small for the number of passengers. Not enough seating or spaces at gates for such a high volume of passengers. Very dirty. Departure is worse than arrival. The check in and the security check concept is a joke, the information signs are very few and bad. Take time to understand how to get inside (each gate have got the own check-in desk and the own security check point). The staff are rude. The bathrooms smell so I did not try. The outside looks like a village bus station. There are bus stops, but it is difficult to find the bus transportation. You must to be informed about the public transport and know the bus number before your trip, because the information at the airport is non-existent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"layout of the airport is frustrating"

(Ireland)

I used to like this airport but having to pay 3.95 at a kiosk for water is absolutely absurd. Daylight robbery. The staff are rude. I was wearing a faux fur scarf and the guy at security commented on it with a look of disgust as he thought it was real fur. I told him it wasn't and he was relieved. As if it was his business! The layout of the airport is frustrating and the queues take far too long at passport control for how few people there are to check passports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"no real problems on the arrival and departure"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was expecting a bad experience having read some of the reports here and my own experience earlier in the year but I must of been lucky. The was no real problems on the arrival and departure, also on my transit yesterday. The only slight negative is Terminal D and the lack of refreshment places.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"every thing is so difficult to find"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | It's an awful airport. No doubt the terminal design was very "clever" but it is useless - every thing is so difficult to find. And now it's far far too small for the number of passengers, Departure is worse than arrival. This airport is sadly a reason to avoid Berlin. Wait until 2018.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"rude staff at security"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Never have I experienced a more rude staff at security. I went through security and one of the staff members asked if a piece of paper was mine. It wasn't so I of course didn't pick it up. He then yelled at me and made a huge drama where he threw the paper and was very rude. I asked him politely what was wrong but he kept indicating the paper was mine and spoke badly about me in German (I do understand a bit of German). All of his colleagues had such a bad energy and supported him in his act. A very unpleasant and frustrating way to go home to Copenhagen. I hope someone will make some changes at the airport staff soon.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a bad showcase for Berlin"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | I was so disappointed by the customer service approach of the staff in Berlin Tegel airport this morning. Everyone I spoke to was unnecessarily rude; from the staff at the check-in, the security, the coffee shop. As the last or first contact for a tourist like me it is a bad showcase for Berlin.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no