Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 130 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"often chaotic to aggressive"

(Germany)

Unverified | Used this airport for approx. 300 times during last years. Situation in and around the airport is undeservingly for a capital of a modern G7 country like Germany. Transport with public transport (bus only) to Tegel airport is awful and the taxi situation in front of the terminal building is often chaotic to aggressive. Inside the terminal building mainly old facilities stand for the 70ies when the airport was built. Narrow gangways, too few seating options (landside and airside) and limited restaurants (without special atmosphere). The pros: Security check is efficient and travel paths are pretty short.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lengthy wait for our luggage to arrive"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My experiences both arriving and departing from Berlin Tegal were not of an airport for a capital city. On arriving at the airport we were greeted by joining a queue on the air bridge from the aircraft for immigration followed by a lengthy wait for our luggage to arrive. Once we had collected the luggage and gone through customs we then had a lengthy walk on what I considered to be a very poorly signed route to the bus stop to get a bus to a metro interchange station. On our return journey we arrived by bus from the metro interchange station in good time for our return flight back to London. The airline check in hadn’t opened for our return flight and managed to find a seat to wait while we had something to eat waiting for our check in to open from one of the cafes while listening to announcements to go straight through to security for extra security checks after checking in. After checking in and carrying out that the announcements suggested while waiting for our check in to open we went straight to security and opened the unlocked door for our security checks was told to wait! We then stood in a queue for quite some time before security opened. When we reached the front of the queue at security my wife had our passports and our bags were shared between us causing a lot of confusion as they wanted us to go through one at a time on opposite sides of the security area hence needing to swap stuff around including passports as we are normally allowed to go through manned passport checks together. On arriving in the departure lounge it only served about 4 gates and was rather small and crowded with very little in the way anywhere to purchase food and charged about €3.75 for 0.5 litre bottle of water. The airport has no metro or railway station so if using public transport the only mode of transport is by bus. Our previous visit to Berlin was by train arriving at Berlin HBF station which was clean modern and more efficient than this airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if possible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | What a miserable experience Tegel was. On arrival we had an inter-connecting flight to Salzburg. The interconnecting lounge in Terminal C was horrible - all seating hard metal and when you are sat there for the best part of 5 hours it is really uncomfortable. The toilets were cramped and dirty. There were two small food outlets with limited choices and very over-priced. On our return from Austria we were directed to Terminal A. There is a strange system here where you do not go through security until the last moment as there are no shops or restaurants airside. The advantage was that the prices were more competitive - we had delicious rolls from the bakery. However, everything was very dilapidated which I suppose is understandable if it is soon to be closed. I was bitten by some strange bugs and insects whilst waiting - have come home covered in bites. The icing on the cake was that one of our cases, which had been checked in at Salzburg, was not loaded on to the Berlin leg so we arrived home with a case still in Berlin. Avoid if possible! I have been to the other airport serving Berlin and it was very nice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"sad airport for the capital of Germany"

(India)

Verified Review | Got to Berlin Tegel at 5.30am for a 6.55am flight. There was not a soul to be seen behind any counters with no staff for any airline anywhere - just some security. This is even though passengers had arrived and were queuing for many flights. Once checked in they asked us to go straight through security - there is nothing after that, just a small room with an inadequate number of seats and a small duty free shop selling perfumes. Nothing to eat - only a coffee vending machine, the others were locked or closed. Sad airport for the capital of Germany.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"baggage was delayed by over an hour"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Upon arrival our baggage was delayed by over an hour and no airport personnel had any information. About a hundred people were standing and waiting without any information. The cash machine did not work in the waiting area either. Besides from the baggage claim, the airport seemed quite alright.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dirty, old and unfriendly"

(Sweden)

Unverified | First time travelling through in Berlin. Couldn't be more shocked at arrival. Rude personal, 4 checking points. Small airport to carrry this kind of traffic. Long queues, nowhere to sit. Once you enter the lounge for departure no restaurants. Dirty, old and unfriendly. Can't find more words to describe this terrible experience. If you can avoid this airport for connections. It's like going back in time. Can't believe it's a Germán airport. Good luck to the ones that dare.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very crowded and virtually no seating"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is one of the worst airports I have ever encountered. Very crowded and virtually no seating areas. People who work at the airport were disinterested and rude. When I asked the Information personnel as to where one could sit (I had a 3 hour wait), she indicated that I would need to pay to enter one of the private lounges for seating. Reluctantly, I entered such a private lounge and was asked to pay 25 Euros but was told they only took cash (which I didn't have). Consequently, I ended up sitting in a dingy, crowded, smelly coffee shop waiting for my flight. If you can avoid Tegel - do. It is a shame that a wonderful city as Berlin has such a pathetic airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"never encountered anything like Tegel"

(United States)

Verified Review | Who knew I'd be compelled to write a review about an airport. It's that bad. I was flying from New York to Budapest, with two connections in Düsseldorf and Berlin. Düsseldorf was such a pleasant surprise-shiny, bright, inviting. We land in Berlin and were immediately confused by the configuration. Thought since it was a connecting flight, we'd land and then head straight to the next gate. Instead we were routed to the exit and had to re-enter security. I get that for port of entry but was thoroughly confused for domestic connections. Also, the gate waiting areas are tiny. The security lines spit you out literally 6 feet from the waiting area and you have to take a minute to get your bearings. Oh, and there are no gate agents/counter. In my world travels I've never encountered anything like Tegel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"stood with their hands in their pockets"

(China)

Verified Review | Confusing signage to start with. Security personnel stood with their hands in their pockets asking the passengers to move the containers. What's worse - custom posts all vacant 1 hour before boarding, leaving all passengers sitting in the corridor or a "Lounge" charging 36 euros per entry if you travel economy. Not coming back here.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they were beyond rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Berlin Tegel was a very poor airport to travel through and one I'd certainly try to avoid in future. It had the appearance of an airport in a third world country, not the capital city of a supposed major economy of the world. The system they had in place for security checks was so unbelievably inefficient. I was in a queue for 50 minutes to get through to my gate. Even in minor regional airports in Thailand and India there was more efficient and courteous service. I had hoped to live a lifetime without experiencing being barked at by German authoritarians in uniforms. They were beyond rude. Horrible experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no