Top 100 Airlines  

Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"airport is very dated"

(Austria)

Not the best of experiences flying into and out of Berlin Tegel. The airport is very dated with limited shopping and restaurants available. Transport to and from the airport too is limited to cab, car or bus. No trains or underground directly to the airport. Bag drop turned into an awfully long wait only opening 1.5 hours before departure. Absolutely no information. You really want to get rid of your hold luggage as soon as possible, as this will make your stay at the airport a lot more comfortable, so very annoyed about the long wait. Security check was just after bag drop and fast but again very, very limited amount of shops and food available after security check. Free wifi but only for an hour. Next time I'll make sure not to arrive early as it's just an absolute waste of time coming early. I suppose the way to see Tegel is, that it is functional but not too bothered about a great customer experience. If you want to start or end a holiday in style, Tegel is not the airport to fly to/from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"will miss Tegel when it closes"

(Netherlands)

Not as iconic as Tempelhof, but I sure will miss Tegel when it closes. Okay, it's cramped but it's highly efficient due to it's round shape (well, the orginal building). That means ultrashort walkways and when you travel without luggage you don't have to show up untill 45 mins before departure since the security control is right at the gate. Short taxiing ways too, so overall it's always fast in and out. It's a pity that it has no U-bahn connection, but it's well served by buses. It takes only 20 mins to Bahnhof Zoo on the X9, but it can take up to 40 mins to Alexanderplatz on the TXL. The 128 to Kurt-Schumacher-platz (8 mins) and the U^ can be a good alternative.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"lack of facilities"

(Ireland)

Terrible airport. Arrived early thinking we would have plenty of things to do to find that there was one shop pre security and after a tiny cafe only. Also were contained like cattle pre passport control in an area with nothing even though our departure gate was empty. A really bad outdated airport with a lack of facilities which is quite surprising for such a modern city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a bit grubby and out-dated"

(Switzerland)

It is well known that Berlin Tegel has been operating far beyond operational capacities for years due to unbelievable bungling and sloppiness upon building the new BER airport in the south of Berlin. It is also known that TXL has narrow airport halls and waiting areas, everything is a bit grubby and out-dated. Critical infrastructures work with overload only, nevertheless people working there try to give their best to keep the things running. So it's the sheer madness - happened yesterday, Feb 18, from 1pm to 3pm - to fiddle with IT systems under these circumstances: Airport IT was migrating the complete check-in systems to another bunch of servers. On a weekday. Shortly after lunch. With the predictable result that all check-in terminals crashed for more than 90 minutes, emergency luggage tags were distributed as well as handwritten boarding cards were issued after 50 minutes initial stupor of the responsible persons. Every other company in the world running critical IT structures knows that a server migration should be done during the night, preferably on a weekend, with enough time reserve to check and reboot the respective IT systems. Only the "experts" in TXL do not know that. So, TXL is once again an example for all what's going on completely wrong in Germany nowadays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"5 minute wait for baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Having read the reviews I was surprised at the speed of service at Terminal A which is the older terminal. The arrival was fast and there was only a 5 minute wait for baggage. However the belt stopped when fellow travellers tried to grab bags has they appeared rather than wait for them to drop on the carousel. From landing to exit was about 20 minutes. The departure was smooth and trouble free and I like the fact that exiting security you do not have to walk though Duty Free to get to the gate. Security is at the gate and again was trouble free.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Tegel is great"

(Germany)

I am not sure why people always complain. If you use an airport to depart and/or arrive only, Tegel is great. From the plane to the Taxi booth is less than 50 meters. The only downturn could be a long security line as they have only on desk / scanner per gate and sometimes two gates are handled in one line. Anyhow, you won't miss your plane due to this. Yes, the facilities are not what you expect from an airport of a city like Berlin, it may have its downsides when you have to connect in Berlin and have no lounge access, but for going to / from Berlin, Tegel is just great. I jumped in a Taxi downtown Berlin 1 hour prior to departure. Try this in Paris, London, Frankfurt. Good Luck.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a functional airport"

(Germany)

I live close to the airport and I never had a bad experience with it. I usually use Terminal A, but I also fly from Terminal C and D. When I have no check-in luggage and fly to another EU-airport I often arrive at the airport after boarding time and still get the flight. At Terminal A you absolutely don't need time for the security as every gate has its own small security check. If your are late and there is a long waiting line just tell the security-officers that you are late and they will give you priority. My last flight was to Frankfurt by Lufthansa and I left my house 1h before the flight, entered the terminal 40 min before the flight, went through security before boarding started and had a coffee. When the boarding started a long line formed (maybe these are the lines about which others are complaining about?), but after some time it cleared so I entered the plane. TXL is a functional airport - I really like it. As I use airports only for travelling I can not review the shopping or restaurants but as this airport is close to the city you actually don't need to spend time there. Yes, there is no McDonalds at the airport but take a 7 min busride and you are at a McDonalds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a very slow exit"

(United States)

Berlin Tegel processes arriving passengers from non EU counties at the gate just after you leave the plane, making for a very slow exit from the plane after a long flight. It took 45 minutes to get past immigration. I then had to run from terminal A to meet a connecting flight to VIE at Terminal C, where even transit passengers must go through security again. Two of three areas were staffed, and the lines were long and slow. Even though the flight from JFK arrived 30 minutes early, I got to my connecting flight 5 minutes before the plane left. I do not recommend TXL, especially if your connection is within 2 hours of arrival.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"never again pick TXL"

(Sweden)

On our return-trip from Faro to Copenhagen we had to make a stopover in Berlin (we flew Air Berlin). As we arrived at Berlin-Tegel Airport it first seemed nice – you walked by yourself into the terminal building. But as we came in we realized it was not as good as we thought. The building was very small with two restaurants but no international like McD or BK or KFC. Instead there was a soup and a sausage restaurant. The toilets were awful. The Tax Free store was small but were still good enough, it had perfumes and chocolate and all other stuff they have in such stores. It seemed like there was no air condition in the hall, you became very warm in there. As we left the gate and walked out to our plane it was like a relief. The queue at the gate had no structure, it began from several places. I will never again pick TXL.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not a pleasure to fly in and out of"

(Germany)

Yes, TXL is close to the city and yes, it might take a few more years for the new airport to open, but "no" it is not a pleasure to fly in and out of this tired old place. Bad restaurants and shop selection, few and old toilets, no electric outlets at the gates. Its time they close this thing down.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 69 Reviews