Vote Now  

Berlin Tegel Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 111 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"an old and outworn airport"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Berlin Tegel is an old and outworn airport and definitely not suitable for a capital with 3.5 million inhabitants. Moreover, it is cramped nearly all day long due to its low capacity for which it was desinged decades ago. On the other hand, the airport is well connected to the city centre via various express-bus lines.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not enough seating for volume of passengers"

(Finland)

Berlin Tegel airport is a reason to avoid Berlin. It is too crammed and too small for the number of passengers. Not enough seating or spaces at gates for such a high volume of passengers. Very dirty. Departure is worse than arrival. The check in and the security check concept is a joke, the information signs are very few and bad. Take time to understand how to get inside (each gate have got the own check-in desk and the own security check point). The staff are rude. The bathrooms smell so I did not try. The outside looks like a village bus station. There are bus stops, but it is difficult to find the bus transportation. You must to be informed about the public transport and know the bus number before your trip, because the information at the airport is non-existent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"layout of the airport is frustrating"

(Ireland)

I used to like this airport but having to pay 3.95 at a kiosk for water is absolutely absurd. Daylight robbery. The staff are rude. I was wearing a faux fur scarf and the guy at security commented on it with a look of disgust as he thought it was real fur. I told him it wasn't and he was relieved. As if it was his business! The layout of the airport is frustrating and the queues take far too long at passport control for how few people there are to check passports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"no real problems on the arrival and departure"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I was expecting a bad experience having read some of the reports here and my own experience earlier in the year but I must of been lucky. The was no real problems on the arrival and departure, also on my transit yesterday. The only slight negative is Terminal D and the lack of refreshment places.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"every thing is so difficult to find"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | It's an awful airport. No doubt the terminal design was very "clever" but it is useless - every thing is so difficult to find. And now it's far far too small for the number of passengers, Departure is worse than arrival. This airport is sadly a reason to avoid Berlin. Wait until 2018.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"rude staff at security"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Never have I experienced a more rude staff at security. I went through security and one of the staff members asked if a piece of paper was mine. It wasn't so I of course didn't pick it up. He then yelled at me and made a huge drama where he threw the paper and was very rude. I asked him politely what was wrong but he kept indicating the paper was mine and spoke badly about me in German (I do understand a bit of German). All of his colleagues had such a bad energy and supported him in his act. A very unpleasant and frustrating way to go home to Copenhagen. I hope someone will make some changes at the airport staff soon.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a bad showcase for Berlin"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | I was so disappointed by the customer service approach of the staff in Berlin Tegel airport this morning. Everyone I spoke to was unnecessarily rude; from the staff at the check-in, the security, the coffee shop. As the last or first contact for a tourist like me it is a bad showcase for Berlin.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"inadequate for such a high volume of passengers"

(China)

Verified Review | Berlin Tegel is probably the worst of all big city international airports. It is entirely inadequate for such a high volume of passengers. Worst of all is that if you fly Air Berlin you leave at Terminal 3, which looks like an make-shift terminal, very small and congested, and it take a long walk via elevator to get to check in. Berlin is the city that really requires a modern airport. Tegel T3 reminds me of the East-and-West Berlin period. I am eligible to use a business lounge but no lounge is available at T3.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an unpleasant experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Horrible airport. Not enough seating at gates, not clean, long security lines. A very poor airport for Berlin. Elevators were broken, directions to car rental center no clear, all around an unpleasant experience. Airport looks like it hasn't been updated in at least 30 years. Walls need painting and terminal D (at least) needs to be scrubbed from top to bottom.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not once was an announcement made"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Just a nightmare. Late arrival on Eurowings and then a departure from Terminal D, with a 38 minute window from arrival, then the bus and into a hall filled to the entrance and beyond with passengers queing before security. When trying to get to the front of the queue we were pushed back by security who demanded we have someone from Eurowings present to allow us through. With persistence we were allowed through to queue another 20 mins inside the security zone before we made it to the X-ray and onwards. Our flight had since departed but the gate info was still being shown. Not once was an announcement made. This chaos is unique to Tegal Terminal D where everything in the main building is old and cramped but it works. If you ate departing from D at peak times and you can be early, do so. Otherwise you will have an experience worse than any backwater third world airport that I have visited.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews