Vote Now  

Belfast City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst I have ever been through"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I make about 20 airport trips per year from countries all over the world and Belfast City stands alone as the worst I have ever been through. You pay a kings ransom to park in the farthest corner and then drag all your luggage in the rain to the terminal - a bus would show they cared a little but what the hell. After getting your tickets you now proceed to what they laughingly call security. There were 14 people in front of us when we joined the queue, 45 minutes later we were through. It has to be seen to be believed, about 20 security staff stand around while 1 opens up your sandwich to see what is inside and tries to convince you what a favor he is doing you. If you have still retained the will to live after this ordeal you proceed to what is loosely called a waiting area. I have been to cleaner and better organised cattle marts. A seat is out of the question as you while away the hour until you get the chance to brave the elements sprinting outdoors for the plane. In brief - go from any other airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"all extremely pleasant and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Due to my flight scheduling I had a 3 hour wait here. No problem at all. The options for food and drink were more than adequate. What made it pleasant though was the people working at the airport. Without exception they were all extremely pleasant and helpful, whether airport staff or working in the various outlets. A very pleasant surprise compared to a lot of other airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a pleasant experience"

(Italy)

An easy bus ride from the city centre, but rather a slog by train. It was very quiet when I checked on a weekday mid-afternoon. Check-in and security were swift and smooth. Airside was surprisingly busy, and had a small number of shops and cafes. There good views of the apron and runway, I found that the departures announcements too quiet, maybe I was at the wrong end. Boarding was trouble free and of course there is no waiting in a queue for take-off. A pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"standards generally were embarrassing"

(United Kingdom)

Extremely disappointed at the cleanliness of our local facility. In the departure lounge the seats were unclean with rubbish clearly on view with some in need of repair. The back of the seats had obviously not been cleaned or wiped for some considerable time. As for the toilets well all I can say is that they were simply dirty. The standards generally were embarrassing and in order to build on all the advertisements attracting tourists to N Ireland then surely we should have clean facilities for people to use in arrival and departure lounges.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"problem is the layout"

(United Kingdom)

Early morning flight with Aer Lingus from BHD to LGW. The bag drop and check in were fairly uneventful, the real fun came when trying to get through security. Yes, I know it was a Monday morning, but the queue went right the way across the check in area to the point where people were most queued out of the front entrance. There were plenty of staff and there were four machines being used, but the problem is the layout. Other airports have sufficient space that they can have lines of people snaking around multiple lines. However the city airport is so small that they can't do this. So it's a single line, a very long single line until you're almost at the machines and then you go into another shorter line. I must have spent a good half hour in the queue. Indeed, a few people had to 'bunk' the queue or they would have missed their flights. Once through security you have a fairly small departure lounge with typically overpriced food and drink. By the time I got through security, most of the early flights has departed and so it wasn't too busy. But there isn't anywhere near enough seating the the numbers of people you would get early in the day. Overall, an ok experience. More seating and a better layout for the security lines are definitely in order. As for whether I'd recommend it, you've no choice. It's either this or the international where they gouge you for every penny, so I guess I have to recommend it as its either this or swimming to your destination.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"pretty long wait for luggage"

(United States)

Upon arrival I did find it strange that we walked straight off the plane (of course down stairs) and onto the pavement before going inside. It was a windy road back to the baggage collection area and it was a pretty long wait for luggage to arrive. Only real set back was there were children trying to climb on the baggage trolley thing and their parents didn't stop them, and neither did staff because there were hardly any staff in attendance. The seating in this area was good for the wait though, but the area wasn't very clean. There were plenty of taxis available on the outside though.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"very handy little airport"

(United Kingdom)

Very handy little airport and quite quick and convenient to the town centre. Needs more resources on the security and bagging screening department though. They have some sort of new body screener which must be set to a level where it is too sensitive. Everyone who passes through it needs a subsequent body search, which defeats the purpose of having an automatic scanner. That single machine slows the whole departure process for everyone and leads to long queues, frustrations and many false positives for passengers who are just trying to board a plane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"disappointing experience upon departure"

(France)

A mixed experience at Belfast City Airport. Much more convenient than Belfast International: it takes only 15min to reach the city centre. Bus tickets available at the airport information desk - but limited frequency during the weekend (every 40min). Disappointing experience upon departure: cramped security area with long queue and unfriendly staff. Limited seating facilities in the departure area - most space occupied by shops and restaurants. Useful to know: all boarding gates are downstairs! Airport cleanliness is rather good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Belfast City Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Cow shed of a security area. 2 of 4 lanes open on a busy afternoon. Build up of passengers. Upstairs bar is not the cleanest and the departures screen was not working.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

Belfast City Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

I travelled to Northern Ireland for the first time recently, flying from London Heathrow to George Best Belfast City Airport and back again. It is a well-functioning small airport that does not require a lot of time for check in and security. However, finding the gate was a bit tricky as the upper level departure lounge with shops and restaurants has some "zones" A, B, C and D - yes after security - and the gates are below. I was in a rush after my friend was stopped and questioned by British immigration officials and we lost some time. In that rush the layout was a bit confusing. The planes park close to the building so even without the ramp/tunnel to the aircraft, boarding the plane is no hassle - unless it was pouring down rain. A much, much more convenient airport for Belfast than "Belfast International."
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews