Beijing Capital Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 250 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"The signage is very poor"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This is up there with Mexico as the worst international Airport! Although security is being ramped up everywhere, the security here is overbearing. The signage is very poor so it is incredibly hard to work out where you are meant to go. There were several passengers who waited in line before me for ages, only to be told they needed to be in another queue. When I went to the short-term international transit desk, I was told to go to another area to get a boarding pass. I went there - wrong. I needed to go through customs first. At another time I was lining up, there was a local guide, and he told me to go to a particular line, even though that was for "Chinese passport holders" according to the signs. Once you go through security there is nothing but toilets. I left and went to some shops, a restaurant and had a coffee before going through security. Avoid this airport if possible (I was in transit from Europe and will avoid in future)!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"there was just a single booth open"

(China)

Verified Review | I can only comment on one thing during my transfer through Beijing airport and that is immigration control. Due to my limited time there and my one and only visit, I won't deduct too many points for this, but in my assessment of immigration checks at the airport, I will be critical. I believe that for transfers, more of an effort should be made by the airport to get foreign travelers through immigration checks faster. I had a 2 hour 15 minute transfer in Beijing airport at 5.00am, and the queue was 100+ in each section (international transfers and domestic transfers/arrivals). In both sections, there was just a single booth open, and each client would take 1 minute to be assessed. It took a large amount of time out of my transfer time and ultimately I felt pressured to accept assistance for payment to reach my departure gate for the next flight. I think Beijing airport should have had an extra staff on each section to get foreign travelers through faster. After about 45 minutes more staff did arrive to help, so this would suggest that there is staff available - common sense should have been applied. Other than that I was satisfied with Beijing airport. It was tidy, easy to see where to go, and I was not stressed about my first transfer in Beijing airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"whole airport a mess"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Beijing Capital is certainly the worst airport I have visited. A thunderstorm in night time turned the whole airport into a mess, even for the next day. Nearly every flight on the route to Guangzhou / Shenzhen / Hong Kong was delayed. The check-in queue was extremely long, the security also. We waited in the restricted area for 7 hours for a delayed flight. I couldn't even connect to the WiFi in the restaurant.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"I was very impressed"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Well getting through the various levels of security and getting our boarding tickets is time consuming but to be expected. Hainan counter staff for platinum card holders made it very easy to get our boarding passes and check our luggage. Once all was said and done we got to the departure areas gate for Hainan. I was very impressed with how comfortable it is and the amenities available for eating and shopping.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"WiFi was a problem"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Great arrival at Beijing Capital, easy to clear customs with everyone in my tour group including those people with group visas. Getting to baggage claim area was easy. Exiting the airport was also quite easy. Wifi was a problem, people with mobiles needed to have a code texted to themselves which given that we are travelling internationally is not exactly doable for most people. Additionally for those with iPads or laptops they need WeChat to connect to the wifi, no WeChat not free wifi.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"domestic flights being delayed and cancelled"

(Singapore)

Unverified | Terribly messed up with the countless numbers of domestic flights being delayed and cancelled. Because everyone's flight is being delayed, there's hardly any seats available in the entire airport. You'll just have to wait patiently at the boarding gate because there's no other way to find out when the delayed flight will be boarding passengers. And even after boarding there's no guarantee that the flight is sure to take off. The flight I was on trapped us in a stationary plane for 12hrs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"countless numbers of domestic flights"

(Singapore)

Unverified | Terribly messed up with the countless numbers of domestic flights being delayed and cancelled. Because everyone's flight is being delayed, there's hardly any seat available in the entire airport. You'll just have to wait patiently at the boarding gate because there's no other way to find out when the delayed flight will be boarding passengers. And even after boarding there's no guarantee that the flight is sure to take off. The flight I was on trapped us in a stationary plane for 12hrs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"does not have enough jetways"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing Airport does not have enough lighting. Customer service staff do not respect the customer by using Chinese to communicate with the foreigners. Chaotic and disorderly, as you line up through the security line, many local passengers encroach and cross the barriers to get ahead of the queue. Need to have multiple screens of flight information. When a flight is delayed / late, the passenger should be informed by posting on the information board or via the loudspeaker system of the airport. The airport does not have enough jetways, so use the bus to transport passengers from the aircraft to terminal. Should provide easy access wifi service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Lousy airport with unfriendly staff"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Lousy airport with unfriendly staff. From the moment you arrive you start queuing for one of many bag checks. In the first check (before you get to check-in) they check your passports and hand luggage. Then after you check-in there's another bag check before immigration. After immigration there's another check. Took over an hour to get through everything and there wasn't a proper queue for the first check so everyone is everywhere trying to get in. Staff don't speak much English and are unfriendly. Starbucks staff were nice though. Even after all the checks, security confiscated my small powerbank because "it doesn't say how much power it has." Never mind it's the same physical size as my other powerbank and I got into Beijing with it. You think after so many security checks it would be fine. They also yelled at everyone when we were queuing for the final bag check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"poorly organized, noisy and crowded"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Beijing airport (terminal 2) is poorly organized, noisy and crowded. Have to go through security before check-in, every luggage go through only one scanning machine with lots of people waiting, took hours to go through. The VIP check-in staff (for first class/business) were unprofessional - took 40 minutes to check-in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no