Vote Airport  

Beijing Capital Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 190 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"found the airport very comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

We had a 12 hour stopover in Beijing on the way to New Zealand and were very impressed with the airport. There was plenty to do in terms of shopping and there were a lot of different restaurants with a variety of good food. We found the airport very comfortable and relaxing and even managed to find some place to have a sleep. My only complaint is that the staff in the security check were quite rude and abrupt. All in all the time passed very quickly and I was very happy with this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"expected it to be at least clean"

(Switzerland)

Dirty, disgusting, long queues, avoid if you can. I attempted to visit the Airport hourly rooms and take a shower. Price was high at 22USD for a shower so I expected it to be at least clean. The showers didn't look like they had been cleaned in years, check out the photos which can't express how bad the place smelled and don't fully capture the amount of dirt and mould. I asked for my money back, which thankfully they agreed to. The queues for immigration and security are terrible, I waited 1.5 hours in the queues.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"entire airport was freezing"

(United Kingdom)

We used this airport twice for transferring, both times we found it a terrible airport to have to use and would not recommend it. There was considerable queuing, and the security check was badly organised and quite intimidating to have to go through. There was a total lack of decent shops, we could not find any vegetarian food and ended up having to buy a pizza hut pizza and asked for the meat to be removed. It was really poor value and the staff in there had absolutely no concept of providing customer service. Also, despite the temperature outside being - 14 the airport felt it necessary to have the air conditioning on, the entire airport was freezing and so we found sleeping painfully difficult (we had a 5 hour stop over). I'd very much like to never again have to endure the ordeal of wasting my time at this atrocious airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"surly, rude and downright awful staff"

(United Kingdom)

This has got to be the worst experience I have ever had in any airport in the world. The delay of 1 1/4 hours meant we missed our connection. No apology just pointed to a desk where we could try and change to another flight. International transfer which I had expected to be quick and efficient was horrendous. 4 staff to process a plane full of people (300+) with a queue that took 55 minutes. No apologies and no explanation. Then 1 person to process your boarding passes. Surly, rude and downright awful staff with no idea at all how to look after their clients. Unbelievably awful experience and beyond my comprehension how in the modern day in a capital city airport anyone should be subjected to this treatment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the signs are terrible"

(United States)

By far the worst international airport I have ever been to. Layovers are long. The airport is gigantic and the signs are terrible. 14 hours between flights and all the shops are closed and the food (the places that were actually available) was terrible. It is freezing. It is the middle of winter and they are pumping cold air out of hundreds of circular vents that you can't escape. Wearing 3 layers and a blanket and still freezing. Impossible to sleep from the cold. The only international airport with nothing to do. No stores, no activities, no entertainment, nothing. WiFi is awful. Hard to connect, impossibly slow. Access limited to airport website. Staff are rude and unhelpful and all wear parkas because it's so cold. Bathrooms appear clean but smell terrible. There was smog inside of the airport. This place is a prison. Avoid at all costs. There is a 'airport hotel' that you can stay at if you can afford the ridiculous $20 an hour for unclean sheets, no WiFi, shared bathrooms, and awful service. It feels like they had a meeting to think of how to construct the worst possible airport and then followed through. Also they sent all the black and middle eastern looking travelers to a different security check than everyone else.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"minimum of 3:30 hours to transfer"

(Germany)

Gigantic airport. Plan a minimum of 3:30 hours to transfer to your next flight! The 72rh visa gives you a possibility to visit Beijing when you have enough transit time and are in transit to a third party country. Recommend using the airport express to get in the city. Employees at the immigration counters friendly. Long queues because you even have to pass some kind of immigration to transfer to your next gate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"it was terribly inefficient"

(Hong Kong)

For an airport that is very young and looks quite modern, it was terribly inefficient. I have been in transit 4 times through Beijing and every time it was the exact same experience, waiting in mystery line-ups that are horribly marked and have no organization to them (snaking all around the airport/under staircases). The queuing times were the worst part of the experience. We had 3 hours between connecting flights and spent 2 hours in lines. What makes the experience even worse is the air pollution from outside fills the airport and remember, the air pollution in Beijing is like nothing we experience in the west. You can literally see the cloud of pollution hanging around in the airport. This obviously impacts the cleanliness feel. On the return leg of the journey, our luggage was lost. When we told the airline in Hong Kong that our luggage has not shown up, they told us that 90% of their luggage problems come from Shanghai and Beijing. Needless to say, we have decided to not make transit through Beijing any more, the cost savings is not worth the stress. Avoid if possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Well what can you say? I didn't expect this from the worlds second largest economy. China you should be embarrassed by this as your countries capital airport. Heathrow makes you look very old fashioned and backwards. Had to get off the plane down some steps and onto a transit bus to the terminal. Had to go through immigration (why?) who check everything is in order, then you have to go through security again (they did that in London/Manila). I'm transiting. Staff a little rude and short with you. Long queues - Beijing is best avoided until it comes into the 21st Century. Flew with Air China who are let down by this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"recommend to avoid Beijing Airport"

(United States)

I recommend to avoid Beijing Capital Airport, especially if you have a connecting flight. I was on a SFO to MNL flight, and this airport was a transfer point. As others have noted, signage for transfers needs improvement. Its easy to get in the wrong line in you are not careful. There are three security checkpoints where the attendant checks your tickets and passports. Your passports are not stamped, but scanned through. I am not sure why they do this, since I was taking a connecting flight, and I am not entering the country. I have been to other airports in Asia(Narita, Seoul, Taiwan, Hong Kong) where they don't do this. Also, they scan your carry on bags through a metal detector. I am also not sure why they do this for connecting passengers. This procedure was already done at one's originating airport. There is a possibility (it happened on my flight back to the USA) that there is another security checkpoint right before you board your aircraft. Did you buy bottle of water in the terminal? Better finish it before you board. Staff speaks limited English. Some get rude if you don't understand them? Beijing airport seems to be stuck in the mindset of the 70s/80s. Make it easier for connecting travelers to get to their gate without the hassle of 3, possibly 4 checkpoints. It just adds to the stress of traveling.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"complete and utter joke"

(Canada)

Beijing Capital Airport is a complete and utter joke. Transiting through this place is a nightmare. They 'check' your boarding ticket no less than 2 times before getting to security. For a transit! Not only that, the lines were insane with many people trying to cut in so they could make connections on time, causing scuffles in the long line ups. A 2 hour transit time may not be enough to get through this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no