top100_2016  

Beijing Capital Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 210 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"avoid any flight that connects in Beijing"

(United States)

At first sight Beijing Capital airport interior is beautiful. Upon arriving one must go through an immigration line and the directions are very difficult and confusing to follow. The immigration officers were polite but unsmiling and slow. I had to go through 3 security checkpoints on the way to the gate for my flight to Taiwan. The security officers were rude, undecipherable. Sometimes going through this airport they confiscate my lighters, other times not. I now avoid any flight that connects in Beijing.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"an airport's convenience should outweigh entertainment"

(China)

I have traveled through Beijing airport T3 30+ times and each time it has been as disappointing. For departures, I have to arrive 2h+ early because of the long internal routes and sluggish queues for security check and custom. For arrivals, it takes more than 1h for me to grab my checked baggage and go home. This airport does take a huge responsibility to support the busy aircraft movements in Beijing, but it has certain design flaws which makes it very inefficient. Most other airline hubs I have been to are made much more compact and convenient. There are some pros about this airport, including the abundant shopping places and a variety of dining to kill the time. Yet I think an airport's convenience should outweigh its entertainment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"will avoid in the future"

(United States)

Three security checkpoints at Beijing airport, all with grim-faced unpleasant security officers, barking orders in poor English. They were confiscating batteries from carry-ons from many people. Intrusive body searches, while being barked at. Poor signage to tell us where to go for our next flight. When we finally got to the terminal to wait for our flight to the US, there was no place we could get anything to eat or drink, as no shop and no vending machine accepted either US credit cards or US or Japanese currency. Not enough seats in the waiting area, and it was none too clean. There was no order to boarding, people just milled around and shoved. Will avoid in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"completely uninteresting"

(Argentina)

Beijing Capital is a horrible airport, like a city. Completely uninteresting. Unbelievably, at the information desks in the international area nobody speaks English. If you want to connect to the WiFi, they ask you for a local phone number. Finally I got connected through some other connection with a weak lonely line of signal. At the airline counters, they speak a few words in English but absolutely no interest on helping you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"potentially very long waits"

(United States)

This is China's busiest airport, and the second busiest airport in the world. Unfortunately, that means there is a high probability you may experience flight delays and potentially very long waits. However, this airport is typically your only option when you fly into or out of Beijing. Given that this is such a major airport, I expected more. Somehow, in terminal 2 at least, they blocked off the domestic departures section from the international departures section in the same terminal, thus passengers taking a domestic flight cannot enter the section where the international gates were and vice versa. This is the first time I have seen an airport do this, and this really limited my options for restaurants and shops when I was hungry or bored.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport is modern but too large"

(China)

Flying out of Beijing Capital Terminal 3 is many times a nightmare because of the immigration and security. On this occasion it took me 45 minutes to get through the long queue, in apparent rush hour time (at 7am, should it be rush hour?). This is the trouble with Terminal 3 only, but it is here that most international flights depart. Cannot avoid it as T1 and T2 are mainly domestic. The airport is modern but too large. It takes some 15 minutes' walk from the Dragonair lounge to Gate 16. It is bad that as a frequent flyer I had to suffer this time and again. There simply should be more security counters. Also, to use wifi, you need to get a code via your mobile phone. Do not really recommend this T3 but no choice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"hassle free arrival and departure"

(Zambia)

Second visit to this airport. Arrived at 22.25 and experienced no problems, 35 minutes from landing to taxi. Departed at 23.55 on Emirates, 30 minutes for check-in, security and immigration, no problems. Didn't do any shopping, had nothing to eat so can't offer an opinion there. All in all a hassle free arrival and departure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"impolite and rude security workers"

(United States)

My husband and I had connecting flights to and from Thailand at Beijing airport. Horrible service at security check, very impolite and rude security workers. One of the Chinese security workers took everything out of my bag and when I was putting things away he said you best hurry as my plane was about to leave. We only had 30 minutes to transfer flights and had to go through 2 security check points. Also our bags were lost in Beijing even though we went through security in Thailand with our checked laugage. There were about 15 other people that had their luggage lost because of Beijing Airport. I have never experienced such unprofessional, rude, and impolite individuals as the workers at Beijing airport. One of the worst airports to transfer in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not very user friendly"

(China)

Beijing Capital Airport Terminal 3, where most international flights depart, is perhaps a showcase building, one of the largest of all airports, but it is not very user friendly. The fact is that it is too large, thus a walk to the gate may take three times than in a smaller airport. Then there are simply too many travellers nearly every time, resulting in long queues. It also happened once that I arrived at midnight and was kept waiting inside the plane for one hour. Together with sometime unexplained traffic control, this is one of the airports that I tend to hate, despite its grandeur in appearance. Hope there is improvement of administration.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"understaffed and uncomfortable"

(Canada)

PEK is an airport best avoided. My off peak nt'l to Int'l transfer took approximately 90 minutes. 45 minutes being in the mess of a security line. My departure from PEK took approximately 120 minutes, most of which was wasted standing in lines for immigration and then security. Security itself took 70 minutes to clear. Understaffed, poorly managed and uncomfortable as people were jammed one on top of the other with many coughing. The immigration lines are not clearly marked as which ones are for transit visas on arrival. (This is an issue when arriving late in the day). I was sent away from the regular line to the APEC business visa desk even though I am not an APEC card holder. As an international transit hub, PEK fails for the simple reason that transfers and departures can take too long, much longer than its regional rivals. Airfares though China may be cheaper, but if one puts a value on ones own comfort, and time, then PEK is an expensive proposition. On a positive note, I found the immigration and security personnel professional, polite and courteous. There is a wide assortment of restaurants and shopping throughout the terminal. I have no intention of using this airport again until it addresses the mess that its "security" lines create.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no