Beijing Capital Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 166 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 1st July 2015

Recently arrived and departed through Beijing Capital Airport Terminal 3, and it was not a good experience. To point out the only positive, I am sure everyone agrees the architecture and terminal structure is very modern and nice. Other than that there are no positives. I arrived from Hong Kong and waited over an hour in the immigration line. There were only three passport control agents for hundreds of passengers. While waiting in line there were Chinese Security guards yelling at passengers in Chinese, leaving Non-Chinese speaking passengers very confused. After you clear immigration you take a train to the main terminal. Going through baggage claim was a hassle and customs checks everyone's bags. I waited over 45 minutes in a taxi line. Then the fun started. On departures, do not use a mobile boarding pass. You have to scan your boarding pass in order to go on the the train. Then you arrive at the satellite terminal and wait in a long line to go through passport control. After they check your boarding pass and passport, you have to wait in another long line for another official to check your boarding pass and passport and to go through security. The space is really small and people were pushing. I was flying Business Class and had to beg the Security Official to let me use the fast track lane, while people were cutting it with no explanation. Once they check your boarding pass and passport again, they make you take out iPads. I went to the Air China Business Class Lounge, and needed to use Wifi (which you would expect they would have at the lounge) - they have a machine where you have to scan your passport and it gives you a number. The WiFi didn't even work, so it was a waste of time. IF you are going to the US they search for liquids right by the boarding gate and will take away your water (will make you depend on the rations by the flight attendants), even through they had several checkpoints before hand. All in all, this is a very disorganized and a passenger unfriendly airport. I will not be traveling back to Beijing anytime soon because going throughout this airport was extremely stressful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit01-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (China) 22nd June 2015

Security lines are a mess, worst I've experienced of any significant hub worldwide. The security officer interrupts a well formed line to allow people to cut in, without explanations, and without remorse. The entry border controls are just as inefficient, with only 10-12 lines dedicated to foreigners. People can wait for hours getting through.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit22-06-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 17th June 2015

The worst airport! If you arrive at Terminal 2, it will be extremely hard to transfer to terminal 3. Unnecessary security checks again and again. You are not allowed to get Wifi at once, but you have to find a machine to scan your passport to get the slow Wifi's password.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit14-05-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 14th April 2015

A handsome airport spoiled by poor immigration and security procedures. We arrived late from Hong Kong en route to San Francisco. Once we found the transfer point for international flights there was quite a line. There were only two officials to process the passports for 30-50 people waiting in line. About 30 minutes. Next came security with another 40-60 minute wait in line and somewhere in the process there was a second line for checking passports. There was no provision for those with short connections. Had we not been in business class (with its own security area) we would not have made a connection with a 1 hour and 40 minute transfer. The airport is handsome and offers good facilities but the understaffed immigration and security procedures make we want to avoid a return trip through Beijing.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 8th April 2015

International transfer at T3 terminal in 4 April 2015: Positive impression: New spacious (once inside terminal past security check) good shopping and eating choices. Negative impression - mainly about security check: (1) the space reserved for security check queuing is simply too small for handling large amounts of passenger traffic thus creating chaos and confusion and long waiting time (2) do not understand why passengers with rolling carry- on luggage must be sorted and asked to take a separate line seemly adding more chaos (3) security personnel directing traffic only give orders in Chinese leaving non-Chinese passengers confused (4) many security personnel are impolite non-smiling and at times rude. Suggestions for improvement: First and foremost please increase (at least double) the space for security check queuing; Security personnel should be more helpful polite and warm.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (Vietnam) 24th March 2015

Terminal 3. Transfer at PEK is time-consuming. It took me forever to queue and go through security. However it is not a big point. I purchased bottles of water after all the security checks and then was not allowed to take those bottles on board. Why? Bottles of water sealed or unsealed were asked to left behind. Yet later I saw some people with their "unsealed" (already opened and half full) bottles with them on the plane. Security checks at gate is a joke Beijing International Airport! I departed LAX SFO TPE and bought water bottles airside and were allowed to take them on board.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
3/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (China) 17th March 2015

Do they know in Beijing what Priority luggage means? Obviously not. On the many occasions I arrive in Beijing my bag is always last on the belt. So who is to blame the airline or the airport. Complaining does not help.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 24th February 2015

A caution to Air China passengers travelling to the USA (and potentially other international destinations) that security staff in the boarding area will confiscate any liquids even though you will by then have been through 2 prior security checks. So after you drop US$6 on a bottle of Evian (since there are no other options) you will have it taken away from you. Worse the security staff blames the TSA who (falsely) insist that they are forced to do this. Bring good running shoes if you are transiting from domestic to international! If the positive reviews note that PEK is superior to most US airports that is a pretty low bar!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 19th January 2015

Transited through T3 on Air China from LHR to BKK. Modern and clean with good facilities and retail. Friendly staff. Most restaurants bars and cafes open 06.00 to 24.00 with a few including Duty Free shops open 24 hrs. All accept Visa or Mastercard even the local ones so there's no need for cash. Outbound arrived transfered and departed all within T3-E but warning: there is no smoking room in T3-E so on return I got the free 72 hr transit visa and headed to T3-C via the monorail. This was easy and probably didn't take any longer than just going through security in T3-E as the queues were much shorter. T3-C is the main check-in area with more choice of restaurants and retail and where you can go outside to smoke! I then just returned through security and caught the monorail back to T3-E for departure. T3-E was quite cold though as it was December so make sure you have some warm clothes!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Beijing Capital Airport customer review

Review by (Singapore) 21st December 2014

I transited at this airport and my onward flight was the last flight departing Beijing at 00.10 with Air China to Singapore. The next departing flight was hours later. There were hardly any shops in operation except F&B outlets such as Pizza Hut. Since it is the last flight queues for security checks were short. Toilets were located quite far and I have to walk quite a distance. There is Wi-Fi service but to connect to it I need to go to the customer service counter to collect a slip containing a code to use the Wi-Fi service - very troublesome as I hardly have to do this at other major airports.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 84 Reviews