Beijing Capital Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 246 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"I was very impressed"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Well getting through the various levels of security and getting our boarding tickets is time consuming but to be expected. Hainan counter staff for platinum card holders made it very easy to get our boarding passes and check our luggage. Once all was said and done we got to the departure areas gate for Hainan. I was very impressed with how comfortable it is and the amenities available for eating and shopping.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"WiFi was a problem"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Great arrival at Beijing Capital, easy to clear customs with everyone in my tour group including those people with group visas. Getting to baggage claim area was easy. Exiting the airport was also quite easy. Wifi was a problem, people with mobiles needed to have a code texted to themselves which given that we are travelling internationally is not exactly doable for most people. Additionally for those with iPads or laptops they need WeChat to connect to the wifi, no WeChat not free wifi.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"domestic flights being delayed and cancelled"

(Singapore)

Unverified | Terribly messed up with the countless numbers of domestic flights being delayed and cancelled. Because everyone's flight is being delayed, there's hardly any seats available in the entire airport. You'll just have to wait patiently at the boarding gate because there's no other way to find out when the delayed flight will be boarding passengers. And even after boarding there's no guarantee that the flight is sure to take off. The flight I was on trapped us in a stationary plane for 12hrs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"countless numbers of domestic flights"

(Singapore)

Unverified | Terribly messed up with the countless numbers of domestic flights being delayed and cancelled. Because everyone's flight is being delayed, there's hardly any seat available in the entire airport. You'll just have to wait patiently at the boarding gate because there's no other way to find out when the delayed flight will be boarding passengers. And even after boarding there's no guarantee that the flight is sure to take off. The flight I was on trapped us in a stationary plane for 12hrs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"does not have enough jetways"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing Airport does not have enough lighting. Customer service staff do not respect the customer by using Chinese to communicate with the foreigners. Chaotic and disorderly, as you line up through the security line, many local passengers encroach and cross the barriers to get ahead of the queue. Need to have multiple screens of flight information. When a flight is delayed / late, the passenger should be informed by posting on the information board or via the loudspeaker system of the airport. The airport does not have enough jetways, so use the bus to transport passengers from the aircraft to terminal. Should provide easy access wifi service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Lousy airport with unfriendly staff"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Lousy airport with unfriendly staff. From the moment you arrive you start queuing for one of many bag checks. In the first check (before you get to check-in) they check your passports and hand luggage. Then after you check-in there's another bag check before immigration. After immigration there's another check. Took over an hour to get through everything and there wasn't a proper queue for the first check so everyone is everywhere trying to get in. Staff don't speak much English and are unfriendly. Starbucks staff were nice though. Even after all the checks, security confiscated my small powerbank because "it doesn't say how much power it has." Never mind it's the same physical size as my other powerbank and I got into Beijing with it. You think after so many security checks it would be fine. They also yelled at everyone when we were queuing for the final bag check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"poorly organized, noisy and crowded"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Beijing airport (terminal 2) is poorly organized, noisy and crowded. Have to go through security before check-in, every luggage go through only one scanning machine with lots of people waiting, took hours to go through. The VIP check-in staff (for first class/business) were unprofessional - took 40 minutes to check-in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No one will help you"

(United States)

Verified Review | I flew Air China from IAD to SGN through PEK and back. I will never do it again. The first transit took 90 minutes from gate to gate. You walk a mile, go though a bottleneck where they look at your passport, previous boarding pass and next boarding pass. Then you get in another line where they stamp your passport and take a picture of you. Then the fun starts. You go through a full fledged security check. These security people make you take every electronic device out of your carry on to be all x-rayed. You go through a metal detector and then they pat you down to the point that you feel they should have at least bought you dinner first. You go to retrieve your carry on and find them running it through the x-ray again because something looked like a battery. They hate batteries. They also hate external battery packs and will sometimes confiscate them. Finally I could make my way to the gate. No one will help you get through this process if you have a short transit like we did on the way back. We had only an hour. The key is to find the front of every line and push to the front by showing your boarding pass with the boarding time mere minutes away. On that flight we were able to get to the gate as they were boarding the plane only to have security set up on the jetway making you open your bags for another inspection. Never again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff are unfriendly and slow"

(Germany)

Verified Review | The first look at Beijing airport: looks modern, friendly and so on. And then you get of the plane and the horror starts. Walking several kilometers in a big airport is normal so I don't complain about that. But the Immigration as well as the transit take forever and the staff are unfriendly and slow. As a smoker this airport is annoying. It is fine for me if smoking is not permitted everywhere but to remove all smoking areas inside and outside the airport as a patriotic act for health is the biggest joke i've ever heard. We came from Tokyo and there we're no complains about our luggage there, but for transfer in this airport you have to go thru another security check and it is even prohibited to carry a lighter or matches. Why can I carry my lighter from Frankfurt to Beijing and from Tokyo to Beijing but nowhere else from there? Considering all these things, I will never ever go to this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff cheerful and helpful"

(China)

Verified Review | Arrived into Beijing Capital from Honolulu on flight HA897. We arrived at the aerobridge, it was more than a smooth process when we disembarked and proceeded to the immigration and baggage claim. The ground staff were cheerful and helpful. The modernised design of the spacious terminal makes me feel like home. I was exhausted after the 13 hours flight from HNL, there were 2 pay-in lounges, one at the arrival hall, one in the transit area. PEK T3 is definitely my favourite airport in my home country.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes