Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Queuing Times N/A
Customer rating from 177 reviews
0/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"only one café with 20-30 minutes queue"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | It was Terminal 1 that I flew from. For flights to China, US and Canada they have a dedicated area after Immigration (which you can't leave). Although there are enough seating areas, the rest is rather inconvenient. Only one duty free shop with very limited assortment, only one café with 20-30 minutes queue and only one toilet also with a queue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"we missed the whole shopping experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Departure from gate D and E area Terminal 1 to UAE was a big disappointment - my wife and I were not able to shop at the Duty Free because all the shops have a seperate escalator before crossing passport control which isn't clearly marked and we were not informed about it. Once we crossed the passport control we were unable to reach back to the shops so we missed the whole shopping experience. We noticed a lot of people confused by the same thing and looking for access to the shops, unsuccessfully. We spent over 2h waiting at the gate. Disappointed!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Crowds of people pushing chaotically"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Worst airport I've ever used. Passport control line when landing is an absolute shambles. Crowds of people pushing chaotically with no direction. I was travelling with a lady who uses a crutch and no staff were visible to assist us/remove us from the crowds of people pushing down escalators. When using this airport for departure it took us a good 30 minutes to work out how to get to T2. Once at T2 we went straight through passport control and security as had heard bad reviews about this airport, our experience with this was fine. Our flight was delayed by almost 2 hours - we were allocated a gate which then changed to one in another area of the the terminal. Once majority of passengers were queued up ready to board flight they changed the gate once again this time to a downstairs gate! This resulted in crowds of people pushing each other to use an escalator. No staff present to control situation. All in all it was the worst airport experience I have ever witnessed!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful lines for everything"

(Canada)

Unverified | Awful lines for everything. During the security check there was an elderly gentleman with a cane. He could not stand without it. When his turn came they told him to put his cane in the scans. He reluctantly did so and then couldn't walk. He kept reaching out toward the man checking who kept stepping back and yelling at him not to touch him. The man then fell and grabbed on to the scanner to hold himself from collapsing. Then they grabbed him and took him away to check him separately. This was so awful, they could have just done so from the start. Also, those flying to North America go to gates d and e which have no access to the rest of the airport, meaning shops and duty free. We had to pass a passport check and then when we asked how we can get downstairs where the shops are they said we need to ask permission from the police that checked our passport. We couldn't even enter back there to ask 'permission' to be allowed in the shopping area. Like everyone is service in Spain the staff was incredibly rude and condescending. Awful experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"facilities are always very clean"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I think Barcelona airport is the best one in Spain. Everything is new, the facilities are always very clean although the security control can be a bit messy. It would be great if they could improve the security facilities, to show a better image of security control at the airport. Anyway, all the signs inside the airport are very clear and the staff are very nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"airport staff were very friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I landed at Barcelona Terminal 1 with some trepidation, given some reviews I have read. However, my experience was really good. I landed at 8.30 on a Sunday morning and not many flights had landed. The airport staff were very friendly. The security people who met the plane and presented themselves when the door was opened openly welcomed us. Then a man led us through the airport to the baggage reclaim area. The baggage did take a while to arrive, but I have had worse delays. Immigration was completed very quickly. Overall a great experience. I found the signage easy to understand and quickly found the airport transfer bus to Terminal 2 so that I could catch the Renfe train to Sants station. There were buses every 5 or so minutes (I just missed one and had a short wait). It all worked out well - a seamless exit from the airport. Admittedly, the airport didn't seem very busy, and there were no strikes, but I really felt good about the airport. I will write a report on my departure from the same airport in late September.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"should have better anticipated this"

(United States)

Unverified | Absolute worst! Still waiting in security line after hour plus. I get the security personnel are having a dispute about fair wages and are supposedly striking, but airport leadership was made aware this was happening before it happened. They should have better anticipated this being a massive issue with the number of travelers coming into Barcelona with its self-imposed title of tourist destination. They need to hire independent contractors or something while this gets sorted! Completely unacceptable considering how much tourist money is hemorrhaging into the Barcelona economy. People in line are getting angry and this is going to escalate into a potentially dangerous situation if they don't start figuring it out. This deserves zero stars.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Barcelona airport is in decline"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Barcelona airport is in decline. Such a pity. Beautiful building (T1), sharp increase of passengers and revenues, but management of the airport is not working. The worst parts: 1) Security lines are long, poorly organized, with bad or no signs and the staff is ignorant. Early Sunday morning 30 min waiting time. Friends report more than 2 hours lines mid week. 2) Check in lines. Many airlines have huge check-in lines blocking the departure hall. Pre-check in or automated check-in does not work or are not existing. 3) Cleanliness on seating. Many chairs are so dirty that you look for another one. 4) Cleanliness of outdoor area. Trash from cafe and piles of cigarette butts everywhere. 5) Constant change of gates and late notification of gates. 6) Price level and quality of food and beverage. In a city and country with so much good food, you can serve low quality at very steep prices only because of sloppiness and lack of competition.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no lines, just crowded pushing"

(United States)

Unverified | Worst ever. Long lines, no direction and lots of people (employees) standing around doing nothing. Miserable over two hours to check in with fights among passengers because of no lines, just crowded pushing. Then we moved on to the TSA checkpoint which was equally bad, again people just standing around occasionally yelling at travelers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lots and lots of people not knowing what to do"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolutely terrible! Checked-in online, bag drop took 40 mins, then queue to get through security took nearly 2 hrs, there were various separate queues, and you just had to find one and start queuing. No staff available to tell you anything, just lots and lots of people not knowing what to do or what's going on. Ended up missing the flight to Vienna, apparently no more flights to Vienna today or tomorrow, suggested to us to fly to Prague tonight instead. Now waiting for flight to Prague before finding a way to Vienna. Can't believe how bad it is, our flight operator Vueling isn't too much better, made us wait at one place then after nearly an hr, we were told to go elsewhere. End up took over 2.5 hr to talk to someone from Vueling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no