Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 182 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"distinct lack of any useful information"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | It looks very imposing, all that glass, chrome, marble, spacious halls and up-market shopping. However look beyond that and the cracks show. There is a distinct lack of any useful information as to where anything actually is. Signs are often put in out of the way places, and are vague as to where they are actually pointing (even the toilets are a well-kept secret) making it difficult to find out even where your aircraft is actually going to board, both as to which Gate and where that Gate is. I needed to get to one place but could see no way of getting there, so I ducked under the barrier, and got told off (I was in too much of a hurry to argue). Once I got to the departure area only McDonalds was serving food. No napkin provided so I washed my greasy hands in the Gents (once I had found it) only to find neither hand drier worked. Also seating is distinctly lacking, and again, hard to find Finally wifi does not work (but does it at any Airport?). Obviously a lot of money has gone into this Airport, but it has all the hallmarks of a white elephant.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport staff were unfriendly and rude"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | I wish to never return to Barcelona airport again. The airport staff were unfriendly and rude. The passport control inspector did not even throw a glance at me all the while chatting with another guy in in the next window and at the end almost threw my passport back at me. I asked for directions and was given only cold and curt responses.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"by far the worst experience I have ever had"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I flew in and out of this airport and it's by far the worst experience I have ever had at an airport. 25 degree heat and no air conditioning on and an hour queue to stand in at a busy airport. I ended up feeling sick with the heat it was ridiculous. When I eventually got to the desk I asked whether the air conditioner be turned on and the very rude lady said something about cabin crew and I tried to explain again and she just basically said it's not her fault, then spoke in her own language to her colleague. I just wanted to know who I would see to address the situation eg customer services, as I had already asked at the information desk and she just said upstairs. Security was organised chaos and a free for all. Terrible airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a little space for smokers would be civilized"

(Romania)

Unverified | No smoking place at terminal 2. Smokers need to smoke, it is not so complicated! Why should I come earlier? I had to wait for hours - I can't go outside. I understand that in Europe there are laws for "protecting the non smokers" but a little space for smokers would be a civilized thing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"a reasonably good experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Having had a good experience arriving at Barcelona Terminal 1 in late August I was interested in whether my departure for Singapore would be as good. I have to say that my experience was very good. The airport was busy as I expected so I arrived over 3 hours early. The information desk was very helpful as to where and when I could check in. Check-in started exactly 3 hours before departure time and was orderly. The security queue was long but took only about half an hour to get through. The passport control was very quick, taking around 5 minutes. My plane was leaving from gate D which is upstairs. As noted by previous reviewers the upstairs gates (D and E) have only 2 shops, gates B and C have a large number of the usual array of shops. Passengers enter the lower gate area after clearing security and, in my case, proceed upstairs to passport control. There are large signs alerting people to the fact that the shops are on the lower level and that any shopping should be done there before proceeding upstairs. It's a bit of a funny arrangement, but ample notice is given. All in all, a reasonably good experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"only one café with 20-30 minutes queue"

(Russian Federation)

Verified Review | It was Terminal 1 that I flew from. For flights to China, US and Canada they have a dedicated area after Immigration (which you can't leave). Although there are enough seating areas, the rest is rather inconvenient. Only one duty free shop with very limited assortment, only one café with 20-30 minutes queue and only one toilet also with a queue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"we missed the whole shopping experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Departure from gate D and E area Terminal 1 to UAE was a big disappointment - my wife and I were not able to shop at the Duty Free because all the shops have a seperate escalator before crossing passport control which isn't clearly marked and we were not informed about it. Once we crossed the passport control we were unable to reach back to the shops so we missed the whole shopping experience. We noticed a lot of people confused by the same thing and looking for access to the shops, unsuccessfully. We spent over 2h waiting at the gate. Disappointed!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Crowds of people pushing chaotically"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Worst airport I've ever used. Passport control line when landing is an absolute shambles. Crowds of people pushing chaotically with no direction. I was travelling with a lady who uses a crutch and no staff were visible to assist us/remove us from the crowds of people pushing down escalators. When using this airport for departure it took us a good 30 minutes to work out how to get to T2. Once at T2 we went straight through passport control and security as had heard bad reviews about this airport, our experience with this was fine. Our flight was delayed by almost 2 hours - we were allocated a gate which then changed to one in another area of the the terminal. Once majority of passengers were queued up ready to board flight they changed the gate once again this time to a downstairs gate! This resulted in crowds of people pushing each other to use an escalator. No staff present to control situation. All in all it was the worst airport experience I have ever witnessed!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful lines for everything"

(Canada)

Unverified | Awful lines for everything. During the security check there was an elderly gentleman with a cane. He could not stand without it. When his turn came they told him to put his cane in the scans. He reluctantly did so and then couldn't walk. He kept reaching out toward the man checking who kept stepping back and yelling at him not to touch him. The man then fell and grabbed on to the scanner to hold himself from collapsing. Then they grabbed him and took him away to check him separately. This was so awful, they could have just done so from the start. Also, those flying to North America go to gates d and e which have no access to the rest of the airport, meaning shops and duty free. We had to pass a passport check and then when we asked how we can get downstairs where the shops are they said we need to ask permission from the police that checked our passport. We couldn't even enter back there to ask 'permission' to be allowed in the shopping area. Like everyone is service in Spain the staff was incredibly rude and condescending. Awful experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"facilities are always very clean"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I think Barcelona airport is the best one in Spain. Everything is new, the facilities are always very clean although the security control can be a bit messy. It would be great if they could improve the security facilities, to show a better image of security control at the airport. Anyway, all the signs inside the airport are very clear and the staff are very nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes