Vote Now  

Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 140 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"this airport is very poorly managed"

(United States)

This airport is very poorly managed. We had a 1.20 pm flight, my husband has mobility issues so he was in a wheelchair. The line to check in at the KLM counter was about two blocks long. We got in that line at 10 am and one hour later we were still on it. Many people who were on the 11.30 am flight to Amsterdam missed the flight because they had only 3 employees on the counters and they were extremely slow in processing passengers. Eventually, one other passenger told me to go speak to a supervisor to try and process us faster since I was pushing the wheelchair and my husband was having to "walk" the suitcases, one on each side of his chair. She was rude and reluctant (I am fluent in Spanish) but eventually she took me to a counter cutting the line and processing us. When we got to the security checkpoint, they told us they had issued two boarding passes in my husband's name and none on mine! I had to leave my husband at checkpoint, run to check-in counters and tried to find a supervisor to listen to me while other passengers were looking at me like I was trying to get ahead of them. Eventually I found an employee who took me to a counter and was given 2 correct boarding passes. After security checkpoint they took us to a concourse and the employee left us there and took the chair. Eventually another employee showed up with a car and took us to a place in our concourse where we waited to be called to the airplane. There has to be a better way to man the check-in counters. On top of that, employees are rather rude and do not try to make the long wait any easier. Barcelona airport has still a lot to learn to make itself attractive to international passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the signage is extremely unclear"

(Singapore)

Such a pathetic airport. At first it seems pretty nice with its nice infrastructure and premium design. However, this in itself is extremely misleading to the users of this airport. The signage is extremely unclear and as I walked down the gate hall, people were queuing for their flight right in the midde of the hall, preventing me from reaching the baggage collection. After more than 10 minutes of walking towards the baggage claim area, the luggage has not even arrived. This rotation platform is shared by 5 flights and only begins to move after 30 minutes. It then takes another 5 minutes for bags to begin to arrive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"rude and totally unnecessary"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived at terminal 2 and made our way through the security etc - our boarding passes checked so many times - went for coffee and Duty Free and went to check when our flight boarded only to realise we should have been in terminal 2C - not once had anyone at all the numerous checks either realised our error or pointed it out to us. Making our way to terminal 2C we had to go through the security again - I was confronted by an extremely rude aggressive young woman who was almost screaming at me about the sherry I had bought in terminal 2B. Eventually I found my receipt and she appeared to be told by other staff it was ok for me to take through. Rude and totally unnecessary.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
8/10

"signage is slightly odd"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | I traveled via the relatively new Terminal 1. T1 is modern, very spacious, light and has a nice architecture. I was impressed by the two open-air courtyards with some small F&B outlets located on airside. Check-in and passenger security are quick. There are lots for good shops and F&B outlets throughout the central terminal building. The central area of the terminal is quite impressive. Signage is slightly odd, as there are physically 3 finger piers, but the signage refers to 5 concourses or boarding areas. Didn't figure out how the naming works. Walking distances are relatively long. Not a lot of seating in boarding area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"staff so rude, no time or patience for anyone"

(United Kingdom)

Horrible place. Staff so rude, no time or patience for anyone. Stressful time for all, lost luggage which was eventually found on floor in arrival, so much for security. Poor communication and bad announcements on departure. English sounded just like Spanish, all to be made out was Bristol and thank you. Drunks who were loud waiting to board were not approached by staff prior to departure to be quiet or even fit to travel (thank goodness they were not on our flight). Good holiday in Barcelona spoiled by airport experience. Nice to get back at Bristol with a please and a thank you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"there is nothing past international departures"

(New Zealand)

There is nothing past international departures. There's a relay, duty free, Mcdonalds and a cafe. No shopping whatsoever. Very dissapointed because I can see all the shops just below me but there is no way to get to them from international departures.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"a poor experience"

(Australia)

We had mixed experiences, with two international arrivals and two international departures at/from this airport in Sept/Oct 2016. Our first arrival was most unpleasant - after a journey of 24 hours from Australia, we had a 35-minute wait in a long queue in a very hot, humid and very crowded area. In contrast, our first departure and second arrival were reasonably quick and efficient so no complaints. Our second and final departure was, again, a poor experience. The Immigration queues were long which left us short on time to catch something to eat before boarding. We were travelling Business Class and intended grabbing a snack in the Lounge Miró but we could not find it. We asked airport staff several times and were told it was next to McDonald's, but were not told that there are two McDonald's. In the course of wandering around looking, we came across a woman and two couples who were also searching. The only Lounge Miró sign we saw was right next to the entrance - completely useless if you don't already know where it is. It had taken us 20 minutes to find the Lounge and time was running short, but there was a queue at the entrance, so we gave up and decided to buy something from the cafe at the gate. When we got to the gate queue for the cafe was right across to the other side of the departure hall so we had nothing to eat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely bad signage"

(United Kingdom)

Extremely bad signage. Was departing from gate D13 and followed all the signs, many of which are conflicting. After following signs for gates D I ending up in an arrival lounge baggage hall. Then had to go back upstairs to go through security again. Surely it should not be possible to be departing and manage to end up in a baggage arrivals after having been through security?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the line was hardly moving"

(Israel)

Verified Review | We arrived into Barcelona with a group of 160 people, many quite elderly for overnight to board a cruise the next day. On arrival there were literally thousands of people jammed in a narrow passageway en route to passport control. There was no air-conditioning and it was hot and humid. The line was hardly moving and we were jam packed. No announcements were made in English, no apologies or explanation was given and no water was offered. It took us 3.5 hours to get through passport control. Only 2 booths were opened with 4 officers. My worst airport arrival experience ever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there are no shops there"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew in from Alicante, passed all the shops thinking wow, international must be amazing and I was keen to get something. Then went through passport control and in to international only to find that there are no shops there. International only has a cafe, Mcdonalds a book store and that's about it and you can't get back out to come back in. Surely you are shooting yourselves in the foot Barcelona? I talked to 3 information booths to find out where to go and none mentioned you can't shop in International, should be the first thing they say?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no