Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 210 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"hottest, sweatiest airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the hottest, sweatiest airport I've ever been in. If you have to fly in a suit show up in shorts and change in the bathroom. They have these big humidifiers throughout the terminals but the space is so large you can't keep up with the cooling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"a very disappointing experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Although the facilities were nice and clean, mine and my family’s main issue was with the staff. We had a really rude encounter with a middle-aged employee that kept cutting off my sister when she was asking her questions and trying to gain clarifications about our flight. She asked the employee where we could find the Air Canada queue, and she just responded with a a shrug and a dismissive, “I don’t know, you’ll have to just walk through the airport.” Then, at check-in, at least 5-6 different employees there proceeded to leave their places at the queue where a number of people were waiting, including our family. We had to wait a whole half-hour before they came back, and even then the staff proceeded to talk and sit leisurely instead of doing their jobs. Also, a few of them, when asked questions about certain airport policies, weren’t capable of answering directly and had to call higher management for help. It was a very disappointing experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"rude and unhelpful"

(United States)

Not Verified | After a 6 hour layover we got to know many aspects of Barcelona airport including information centre, Excess Baggage company, restaurants, bathrooms, check-in, passport control etc. Catalonians pride themselves on being rude and giving bad service, the airport did not disappoint. The restaurant food, pre-security check was terrible, every member of staff we encountered were rude and unhelpful, the Excess Bagage Company was probably the worst experience, and all-in-all, I was not surprised that BNC airport has an average 3/10 in their reviews.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bizarrely segregated the airport gates"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | They have bizarrely segregated the airport gates to the fury of passengers (including us). On going through security, if you choose one queue (with no signage to explain) rather than another, you end up in a tiny ‘holding pen’ with one duty free shop and a single, completely overcrowded cafe. To complete the ignomy, you are left to enjoy your 4 hour wait, staring down onto the inaccessible floor below with its dozens of eateries, shops and seating options. Ridiculous although a nice way to meet new people as everyone was equally furious and confused.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no wifi available"

(France)

Trip Verified | BCN airport is from far the worst worlwide airport I have ever had the unpleasure to stay in transit. This is the only airport I have ever seen with no wifi available. Once in a while a network does pop up but no chance to get connected to it. When you require staff's assistance, they hand over a phone to you out of their counter so you get to liaise to the internet company and gets some IT assistance by yourself (they give you the airport user the duty to have the IT assistance over the phone, and the worst, they think it is perfectly normal). There are almost only two tiny sets of energy plugs all across the airport giving you a hell of a hard time to get your device charged. You wont find any decent restaurants but only a couple of self service pizza and sandwich places, where a million of passagers has no other option that to queue for. Also note that the automatic stairs are broken, automatic check-in counters are almost all frozen and half of the airport information tv sets are out of order. On the other hand you have a brand new fancy useless Desigual store. 
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Truly a disappointing experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Terrible airport. Passengers to gate D and E are international flights out. Once through security for gates D and E, there is now way to get to the duty free shops. There is no signs indicating how to get into the duty free shops for passengers going to gate D an E before they are in areas D and E. The gate D and E passengers only have 10 percent of the larger duty free are that there is no access to. The line ups for snacks are endless and the shop prices are high and selection is limited. Truly a disappointing experience. The signs are terrible, I speak and read three languages including Spanish and I saw absolutely no indication of this in any way. Very disappointing . Also the The Wi-Fi connected but never go any data though it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"One of the best"

(United States)

Not Verified | One of the best airports I have ever been to! T1 is amazing. It is spacious and clean, very well put together. Signage is very clear and it is very well organized. Staff are usually very nice, they try to help as much as they can. You get in and out of the customs and security area in just around 15 minutes, and the shopping area inside the terminal is fantastic. T2 is definitely outdated, but it is not crowded and that's great. Overall a great airport, I wish all American airports were like this. Definitely recommended!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Utterly terrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Utterly terrible airport. I’ve been to third world countries with far better airports. Barcelona airport looks as flashy as any other but fails to the utmost degree in these areas: - staff - signage - food and prices - layout. Staff are rude and unhelpful, just kept referring us to other staff in an endless loop. Didn’t seem to know anything. Immediately when you walk into the building the nightmare begins. There are no obvious signs telling you where to go and none of the queues are labelled. We wanted to get lunch and only had the choice of 2 small cafes, both of which had 50m long queues (more on why later). For 2 terrible sandwiches and 2 small pots of pasta (all cold) it came to just under €30! They only had one type of sandwich in stock and we saw one of them in the display case had flies inside the packet! All this pales in comparison to the atrocity that is the layout. Barcelona Airport boasts a massive shopping complex filled with designer shops and food courts. None of which are acessible to anybody in Gates D and E (all international flights) who have to stare mournfully down at it while they queue at one of the 2 tiny cafes. After being bounced around by several staff we were informed we would have to fully exit the airport and come through security again to get to the lower area!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"total lack of directions"

(Albania)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I’ve ever travelled to. It was 10:30 pm, I was tired. We arrived and then had to walk to the complete other side, show my passport and boarding pass at arrivals to enter and collect my luggages. (Insane, never had I seen something like this). I asked for information to 3 different staff members before knowing where to get my luggages and they all said different things. There’s only one caffè and you have to wait for more than 30 min to get a bottle of water. There are no signs, total lack of directions. Worst airport experience ever
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"very unsatisfied with the staff"

(Luxembourg)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately we were very unsatisfied with the staff at the airport. At T2 they were rude, could only speak Spanish and not organized at all. T1 was better but gate information was only available 20 min prior boarding. Unfortunately we didnt receive a proper answer when we asked why our flight was 1) delayed 2) cancelled. We also checked out the longe at T1 (Schengen Area) and the quality of the lounge was so weak, people were just eating food and drinking for free and seats were occupied. We couldnt even get a seat and the majority of the "lounge chairs" dont even have a charging station. Ryanair counter was very week as well, only 2 people for about 70 passangers of a cancelled flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no