Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 186 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"slow, disorganized and ambivalent"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Despite the large number of staff they were slow, disorganized and ambivalent. Instructions only in Spanish including from representative working on behalf of a Canadian airline. This airport is is impressive looking but is poorly designed with no place to sit at the gate and queues across the corridors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"badly organised, shouting "

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The staff are rude, badly organised, shouting and refuse to use any language except Spanish. Security is definitely the worst I have experienced. Perhaps the management should have these people get some training before posting them on the jobs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"signage at this airport is hopeless"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The signage at this airport is hopeless. It was very hard to find a WC in the baggage hall, and then when we tried to pick up our car we could find nothing that told us how to find the pick-up point from the car desk. On our return we went through passport control only to find that there was no food other than a McDonalds - we saw nothing advising us of this on the way through. In many respects this is a very modern and efficient airport, but it fails miserably in some of the basics.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a very disappointing end"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After a wonderful few days in Barcelona, a very disappointing end to a family holiday. We passed through passport control only to find we had no access to any shops or eateries, with the exception of McDonalds! We asked a policeman and he said there were 7 signs saying this on the way through. Could all 4 of us have missed them all? We saw only two signs. One said Gates, the other, Passport Control. Knowing we were flying out of Spain we presumed the latter was our channel. So here we sit, two hours to wait and no access to amenities. Absolutely infuriating. Travellers, be warned.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolute joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have to agree with a previous reviewer - the setup at T1 is dreadful. Just like that individual, we found ourselves having passed through passport control and then stuck at the departure gates area without access to any of the shops or restaurants apart from McDonald's and a very small newsagents. I don't even like shopping and yet I found myself thoroughly fed up. We were not even given the opportunity to escape to that area between security and passport control (if indeed that is the point at which entry to that mythical land can be reached), as we were ushered by Barcelona Airport security staff straight from security to passport control. The place is an absolute joke, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lack of clear information"

(United States)

Not Verified | Much similar to my overall experience in Barcelona. While a modern European city, the minds doing the planing and organization are quite behind. Not a very intuitive airport or city for visitors. After checking, going through security and customs, I can clearly see the large pretty shops and cafes behind the glass and below. But wait how do I get there? Oh there's an elevator way across the hall. Ok im I'm but wait this only goes to the lounges. So how do I get to the shops? After locating an airport worker, I'm finally told "ohh no sorry once you pass the control, you can't go in, you should have done that before". "What?" You can only access the shops and restaurants between security and passport control. Not before or after. And if you don't "know" this then you're stuck eating the only option McDonald's while looking at the shops across the glass. What a shame for the travelers who want to shop and the shops who want to sell. Big missed opportunities due to lack of clear information.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not a single smoking area"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Why is there not a single smoking area in all of Terminal 2, but there’s is one in Terminal 1? Annoying if you have to wait a while, would a small space hurt anyone? We flew from gate S and there was absolutely nothing there, no open shop or restaurant - and we flew in the afternoon. Nothing to do but wait. Clean airport though, toilets were halfway decent as well. Hardly any employee speaks English though and practically no Traveller speaks spanish, so communicating is a problem.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it’s a rather bland space"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Was departing from Terminal 2, gate D. After checking in and passing through security no problem you end up in a zig zag queue and before you know it you’re going through passport control. This was not a problem until I realised that gate D only has a McDonald’s, a bistro and a small shop. There isn’t much seating and it’s a rather bland space. It was only after when reading reviews that you have to go downstairs to go to the shops after security, before returning upstairs to go through passport control. This is a weird set up and doesn’t make much sense, nor is it clearly explained or signposted. In summary, I would warn anyone departing from Gate D to make sure you go to the shops first before the passport checks, otherwise you’re stuck in a bland, boring, lifeless space until your flight!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the degree of walking is pathetic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This has to be a third world class airport when it comes to getting from the station to the terminals. Even for a fit person the degree of walking is pathetic. The moving walkways on the bridge were removed some years ago and the new bridge recently opened is exactly the same. Why on earth the shuttle bus does not go the station is disgraceful. I have used this airport regularly for many years and it is a great shame the airport treats its customers so poorly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"plenty of useless information"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Barcelona El Prat Terminal 2 is probably the most unique airport terminal in the world where you will not find a clock by any chance in any place. It's unbelievable, but one of the busiest airport terminals in Spain and Europe won't provide you the chance to check the actual time! On the departure or arrival screens, on the walls - there is plenty of useless information, signs, you will be able to see even temperature and humidity, but never find the time!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no