Top 100 Airlines  

Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 125 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the facilities were terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I used terminal 2C for departing Barcelona and flew with easyJet. The check in was terrible with only one member of staff checking on people. Waiting for 50 minute. After security the facilities were terrible. Only a couple of shops and a couple of cafes which were all over priced and lacked good provisions. The cleaning staff closed the make toilets and wouldn't let anyone use them, they said they were closed because they wanted to go home. Had to wait for the plane. Wouldn't fly with easyJet if they continue with this terminal. Even Reus and Girona are getter than this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rude and inflexible"

(United Kingdom)

T1 at Barcelona Airport was very spacious, an impressive building but every member of staff I encountered was rude and inflexible beyond belief. Seating in the D gates area were not particularly clean. Food outlets and duty free shops overpriced.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"lounges have restricted access rules"

(United States)

Not well built. as the Priority Pass lounges have restricted access rules to certain flights only being permitted to each lounge. The one for the Intercontinental flights was in Concourse D of Terminal 1. My flight was in Concourse B of that terminal. There was no way of getting to that lounge post security. there was also an unnecessary Que at the edge of Concourse B. The rest off the Airport is pretty nice though.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"get to airport 3 hours before departure"

(United States)

Security line in Barcelona Airport not bad but then there is an unexplained huge mass of people with no idea where to be or why there is a back up. It is for passport "control" and until getting close to the counters passengers can't even tell which line is for EU and non-EU. They need the area to be 3 times as large and have more counters. Only one of three counters open for non EU. Pathetic. Have never had this experience at any other airport in Europe. Awful way to treat departing tourists and business people. So really need to get to airport minimum 3 hours before departure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues for miles"

(Thailand)

Horrendous experience. Only 2 immigration counters open and queues for miles. Flying business class and still had to wait almost 1.5 hours to get through immigration despite only flying from London. If you are not a European Union member I would recommend avoiding the city due to the embarrassment of an airport. It's a pity as the city itself is lovely.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very inefficient in terms of layout"

(United States)

One of the worst airports I have been to. The wifi is marketed as "free" but none of the people I have spoken to have been able to get on it. The air-conditioning is also really bad and people tend to sweat. I will not return here. Its also very inefficient in terms of layout. We went all the way to the end of terminal b and were told our gate had changed. Had to walk more than a mile.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the queues are insane"

(United States)

I have been in several international airports and this was probably the worst experience I have had. If you are traveling in the high season, you should plan to be there for hours. The queues are insane at this airport. There is no self check-in kiosks so everyone is going through the agents. There were not many agents available for any airlines. Lines were taking at least an hour to get luggage checked. We had our flight canceled which led to a 48 hour nightmare. No one knew what to do to help us. We waited five hours to finally be given a shuttle to a hotel for two nights, but they never told the hotel that we were there for two nights. So we had to get back on a shuttle the next day and wait in line again for five hours to get another voucher. We never got our guaranteed shuttle to get back to the airport so we ordered a taxi. The only reason we made our flight when there at 5 am for a 710 flight was because of one helpful agent who let us go to priority and gave us a pass to the fast lane for security because she knew we had spent so much time there. Other people who went through the regular lines did not make their flight. They need to fix the queue situation. You shouldn't have to get there three to four hours early to barely make your flight. I will go in and out of Madrid in the future unless I have hours to spare for Barcelona.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"saw many lost people"

(Spain)

It was a horrible experience. More than 1000 non EU travelers waiting to pass through the police borders with children and elderly people without air conditioning and only 2 borders policemen. It took me more than 2 hours to pass through. And when you ask for information the three agents who were organizing the lines, including the one in Transit desk, no one speaks English. I saw many lost people especially those who were in transit. On the other side, we were looking at the only 50 EU travelers passing through with also 2 policemen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff surly, unprofessional and unhelpful"

(Australia)

The one good thing about Barcelona airport is that it's close to the city. Barcelona is a great city, but it should be ashamed of its airport. The airport appears to be quite new, but it's dirty, poorly signposted, and the staff are arrogant. After arriving at the airport, we went through security. There were no signs instructing passengers how to put their bags in the scanner, so a female officer was mumbling instructions. Confusion everywhere. I took my laptop out of my bag and was told to put it back in. After getting through security, we came to the top of some stairs leading down to the departure area, assuming that passport control was further ahead we proceeded through. Passport control is actually hidden off the left of security with poor signage. In normal airports, it's physically impossible to get into the departure area without passing through passport control. We searched for the airline lounge (Sala VIP), which is also hidden away without proper signage. When we tried to check in there, the receptionist told us to go back to passport control. From her response, I guessed that it happens all the time. People who go straight to boarding with no time to spare will get a nasty suprise. We met several other people rushing back to complete passport control. When we got to the check-in counter for Singapore Airlines, the screens were lit up, and there were no barriers in place, so I pushed my trolley up to the business class counter and started to unload my bags. I was brusquely told to get back and wait. "We don't open for 20 minutes. You wait." We spent 40 minutes watching the staff chat and laugh around the counters, and then we were allowed to check-in. A similar situation happened at the boarding gate. Apparently the plane was late coming in, but none of Singapore Airlines ground staff thought to keep passengers updated. The boarding and departure times were not updated on the flight information panel. Every employee we met in Barcelona airport was surly, unprofessional and unhelpful. Tables in the VIP lounge were never cleared or cleaned. The food selection was pathetic. I was very disappointed that Singapore Airlines had allowed its normally high service standards to slide to such a poor level in this airport. They need to retrain their ground staff there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"3 hours early but only made final call"

(Hong Kong)

Appalling experience at Barcelona Airport. Reached the airport 3 hours early but only made it to final call for boarding. Took 1 hour to obtain custom stamping for VAT refund before check-in. No clear signage for the counter and only one counter open. No officer to manoeuvre the long queue as people kept forgetting to fill up the forms or getting passport and travel docs ready. There is no way to return to / access the retail or main shopping area (one level below, "gate A,B,C") after passing through passport control for gates D and E passengers. No signage or information to warn passengers. Nothing much at this boarding area, only McDonalds, a cafe, a book store and duty free shop. The staff in the duty free shop was not informative and asked us to check at the info center, and guess what? The info counter is located before the passport control.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no