Airline of the Year  

Barcelona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 151 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Poor experience overall"

(United Kingdom)

Poor experience overall. Badly laid out and staff looked like extras from the walking dead with little to no motivation at all. My personal biggest gripe was with smoking. I'm an ecig user but treated as a tobacco smoker which is ok but the only area smoking is permitted (apparently) is outside front entrance. This means whilst waiting several hours for my flight I had to make several trips outside which meant several trips through security. Extremely poor considering the amount of smokers there are not to mention clogging up the airport with constant trips in and out of building. Definitely will not travel here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"An absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Coming home from a hen weekend in Barcelona, we arrived at the airport 3 hours early due to an email that had been sent out from Ryanair telling us that due to extended Travel Document Checks by Border Control Authorities, there could be delays at immigration control points. So we arrived in good time, got through security quite quickly and then seated ourselves near one of the travel boards that showed the various different flights and gate numbers. As soon as the gate was shown for our flight, we proceeded to area Y in Terminal 2B. We were greeted by what can only be described as a 'cattle market' of people, but as we arrived as soon as the gate was shown, we thought we would be ok. The mass of people hardly moved within an hour and by this stage it said our flight was boarding. We asked one of the 'delightful' security staff if we could go to the top, he said no. We then asked would the plane wait, he said yes. Another 30mins passed and now it was final call for our flight, they still wouldn't let us through. Nearing the actual passport control booth, it now said the gate was closed. A member of our party ran on ahead and saw that the gate was closed and weren't letting anyone on (even though the plane was still sitting there and presumably, half empty). We went back to the security man who said it would wait, and all of a sudden he couldn't understand English. An absolute shambles! Missed our flight because of it and had to fork out more money for various other things (hotel, other flights). Needs a complete overhaul, including their staff being trained in customer service! They are extremely lucky that a riot didn't break out!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"queues this morning were chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

The queues to get to the departure gates this morning were chaotic, I was one of many who queued for over 1 hour with no staff or announcements to say what the problem was. If I was on my own I would have missed my plane (the 11.25 to Birmingham), fortunately my daughter was with me. This experience will certainly make me think twice about another visit to Barcelona.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"miserable conditions with no helpful staff"

(United States)

An absolute disaster. We departed for the U.S. yesterday, and experienced a 2+ hour wait at passport control - passport control is after the ticket counter and security. There were no defined lines in which to stand, just 2000 people in a huge room trying to get to the 2 or 3 passport control agents not in an orderly way - miserable conditions with no helpful staff to guide folks along.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"very inefficient service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | What's good here? Nothing. Over 1 hour queue for passport control on departure. No access to a lounge, shops and restaurants from the E gates. Very inefficient service. No facilities for smokers. A third world experience that totally disappoints and fails to meet the high standards of everything else in Barcelona city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Barcelona did not make me feel welcome"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The customer service at this airport is pathetic. Not only that but finding security and/or information if you do not speak Spanish is quite the challenge. Then when you finally find someone that speaks your language they speak to you rudely. I was simply trying to find my luggage that has been in their lost and found for my full stay in Barcelona because Sata International lost my luggage and when they found it didn't return it to me so I was without my luggage for my 10 day vacation in Europe. Barcelona did not make me feel welcome in their country and I will not be coming back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"staff were professional and polite"

(United Kingdom)

Airport staff were professional and polite. The check in time for baggage was satisfactory and the queueing time for security was good. However, better signposting for terminal 2C would have been better. However, the toilet cleanliness was inconsistent. The toilets in area R of terminal 2C were absolutely discusting. None of the soap dispensers worked and there was poo literacy on the seats in some cubicles. Terminal seating was available but not clean (an accumulation of leftover food crumbs over time).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst immigration ever"

(South Africa)

The worst immigration ever! The queue hardly moved, was incredibly long and took hours to get through. The most inefficient immigration I have ever experienced and I travel to a lot of third world countries. Wow, absolutely shocked at how rubbish this whole experience was. Will never fly into this city again. Oh and it seems someone forgot to turn on the air-conditioning.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"love Barcelona airport"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I love Barcelona airport. Signage is very clear. When you arrive to the airport by car, the parking is good, there's plenty of parking lots. Then, at the arrivals hall, all is very new. The staff are very nice and they always try to help you. The security control is good, not too restrictive. There are info screens everywhere and the toilets smell very good. Big airport and a very good one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"waiting time to get luggage is always long"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I am a Barcelona local and the waiting time to get checked luggage is always terribly long. Plus, staff use one air bridge for 4 different flights while bridges around are empty. Terrible place, horrible organization and unpleasant staff. Horrible welcome for foreigners. I am ashamed of this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no