Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 666 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"a lot more work to be world class"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | I often go to Thailand for holiday or for work. So, this is a reflection of my observations while waiting in line, since there's nothing else to do but people watch. We should not be surprised by all the news surrounding the long queues at Suvarnabhumi (and Don Muang) airport. I feel they have taken for granted the number of tourists that head to Thailand for holiday, conferences, etc. Regardless of a one hour wait or five hours wait, they believe the tourists will come. The attitude is clearly seen by the behaviour and work ethics by many of the immigration officers. Most don't smile in the Land of Smiles even when I say hello and smile. Often times you see a number of them chatting away with the immigration officer sitting next to them. When I look over at a different counter, I catch a diligent officer processing 3 people in the time it takes to process me, and I don't even need a visa to get in. This inconsistency certainly adds to the wait time, regardless of whether or not all the counters are open. Lastly, when they are done with your passport, often times they place it on the counter closest to them (not in the middle or closest to you) so you have no choice but to extend your hand in to take it back. What kind of service is this? All of them should go on a mandatory hospitality course to understand how to treat customers and improve their image. Suvarnabhumi Airport may be one of the best architecturally designed airports (on the outside), but once inside, it's quite dark and unwelcoming. The toilets are smelly and the floor is always wet. It certainly has a lot more work to do if it wants to be a world class airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"1.5 hours to get through immigration"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I travel to Thailand a lot and I was very disappointed to have to wait for nearly 1.5 hours to get through the immigration queue. During the immigration process there were at least 8 lanes empty of staff. This can only be blamed on mis-management of immigration and not caring about the tourists they are trying to get to visit Thailand. With better management the problem could be solved but they don't care. Very disappointing compared to when I flew into Thailand for the first time 10 years ago.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Passenger flow is a mess"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | "Airport of Smartphones". This would be a great airport if the staff could put down their phones just once and actually do their job. Passenger flow is a mess. Just try the clown show to get from the departure to the mid level at the front. Some stairs you are allowed to take other not. They all lead to the same place. Security screening careless executed as everyone is working on their phones. Immigration has half at a maximum of the booths staffed and the booths that are staffed the officers all spent more time looking at their smartphone or gossiping than actually stamping. Get your act together Thailand and do something instead of making up excuses.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid at all costs"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi is the worst airport in the world. Long line up at immigration for over 2 hours. Don't Thai airport authorities plan how many staff they would need for the upcoming planes? The airport layout is also horrible. Why lock up passengers in enclosed waiting area for boarding? The restrooms are so dirty. The lighting is dim and dark. Water fountains never work so the travelers are forced to buy water bottles. The wifi is annoying to access. This airport is just awful. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"staff were not friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Very poor facilities at the arrival gate. I had to walk for so long and search to find a toilet. Once I found a toilet, there was only one urinal and 2 closed toilets in that facility. Could not believe that a modern International Airport would build a toilet with one urinal. The staff were not friendly, the signages were poor and the whole departure process was cumbersome, checking our bags 3 times for a transit transfer. There were no catering or toilet facility near the gates where we had to wait for 4 hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"overall it is a decent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have arrived and departed from Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport many times and overall it is a decent airport. However I wish they would install some automated moving walkways or an automated people mover like at Hong Kong Airport to help passengers reach the more remote gates faster. Currently it can take as long as 20 minutes to reach your gate from the immigration area. Also more immigration officers are needed as this airport as the queues are often too long and many desks often remain unmanned in spite of this. Nevertheless dining options are excellent and shopping is decent although the duty free shops are ridiculously overpriced especially for confectionery. I waited until I reached Heathrow to buy confectionery and it was less than a third of the price of the same confectionery at the King Power Duty Free shops in Suvarnabhumi. If the management of Bangkok Suvarnabhumi seriously address these issues with the lack of moving walkways and immigration staff, this airport can go on to rival Changi Airport as one of the world's greatest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Really is an airport of smiles"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | I recently spent five hours there. Well this was not my first time. I guess it was seventh or eight. But, this Airport never disappoints. Only once the queue for the security was very long, otherwise entirely smooth process. Shopping experience was excellent, as Suvarnabhumi offers many things for the people who love shopping. I have been travelling through this Airport for past couple of years and every time I experience something better than the previous. One thing that really impresses me is the courteous behaviour of the airport staff. Really is an airport of smiles. Much better as compared to Doha and Dubai in this regard.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst I've ever seen"

(Japan)

Verified Review | This airport has the worst transit system I have ever experienced! Traveling to and from Europe to Japan, transit has been a harrowing experience in both directions. The horridly rude staff herd people haphazardly through a non-air conditioned area (at 38C this time a year!) and turn a deaf ear on people with short transit times. After an hour or so of queuing, you are then left to run for 1km to your next gate. There are no shuttles, no ground staff taking care of people, nothing. This is definitely the worst I've ever seen, and Bangkok makes Paris CDG or Moscow seem like a walk in the park. Totally unbelievable experience, it's definitely the last time I travel to this airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"packed with travellers"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | The terminal was really packed with travellers. Duty free and food service choices in the airport was not a lot even this is the biggest airport in Thailand. But, the terminal was really clean and the staff were joyful. Wifi was good but the charging podium was too far from waiting seat in front of the gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"can't understand the logic behind the design"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Can't understand the logic behind the design of Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport. With information on departure gates not easily visible and the most frustrating thing is the absence of security check at the gates. With the long and confusing layout of the airport with a centralised security check system, transit passengers have to walk long distances from any arrival gate to the designated departure gate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no