Vote Now  

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 635 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"food and drink can be very expensive"

(France)

Verified Review | This airport is functioning quite well on both arrivals and departures. Departure was smooth with a bagage drop wich lasted 5 minutes. Thru security and immigration within 20 minutes. Plenty of food and drink to choose from. Duty free is plentiful. The only downer is the price at the airport which can exceed European airports. The food and drink can be very expensive. The wifi connection is hard to get. But it works. Overall the airport is OK, but plan at least 2H before your flight for potential bottlenecks at the immigration, mainly created by tourists forgetting to fill in departure cards or wearing a cap for photos etc..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"500 passengers in a queue"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | The security took 30 minutes to clear due new body scanning machines and I estimate 500 passengers in a queue. Five or six machines in operation. You are required to remove your shoes and walk across a very filthy floor. Many pax barefoot which will leave foot diseases on the floor. Staff do not care. Pointless exercise just to infuriate passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just enough time to run to our gate"

(United States)

Verified Review | I don't know if this is common for all time periods for departures from Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi Airport but for our early morning flight we experienced the biggest waste of time getting through passport control. Our flight time was 5.50am so we arrived at the airport at 3.25am. Plenty of time to enjoy an otherwise fun and interesting airport. Since my wife and I are both 1K with Star Alliance we sailed through the ticketing process and headed to passport control. Because of the infinite stupidity of whoever decides how to staff passport control it took us over an hour to get through. Why, because there were only 2 people assigned to passport control! There were enough planes taking off early that morning that it should have been staffed with at least half a dozen checkers. As it turned out we had about 5 minutes before boarding began for our flight. Just enough time to run to our gate. Other people in line were very concerned that they had missed their flight. All travelers departing from BKK pay an airport fee. A fee that should cover an adequate number of staff at passport control. For the record, I have departed form BKK at least 50 times and this is the first time passport control has been so bungled.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a lot of walking to passport control"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport is new and nice but is very big and there is a lot of walking to passport control. Long queuing both in and out of Thailand - really slow (30 min) with few counters attended. Baggage delivery on arrival takes a lot of time (on a small aircraft thus not so many bags) apart from this, the seating around the departure gates is comfortable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"generally good, well priced goods, clean toilets"

(Saudi Arabia)

I have used this airport 22 times since 2008. It is generally good, well priced goods, clean toilets and choices of food and drink. Immigration Dec 24th, 1600: Fantastic 2 minutes. Emigration Jan 11th, 0900: Fantastic 5 minutes. Negatives for regular visitors are the loud audio messages recorded incorrectly in English and played multiple times, thus "Attention please this is the final call OF (instead of the word FOR) flight..." And "Attention - End of the walkway" That one uses accurate English but annoyingly is played with a silly baby American voice 8,000 times per hour.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"recent experience was negative"

(Singapore)

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi taxi system has changed. It's no longer the counter that writes the name of the driver on a chit form and telling the driver where to go. Now, the system requires the passenger to press on an e-board to get a queue number. After that, the taxi will arrive to pick you up. Good? Well it does reduce manpower and perhaps technology is useful. But bad, because the drivers who drive in to the alloted queue number will not know where the passenger is going to. To be honest, my recent experience was a very negative one. 99% of passengers who arrive at Suvarnabhumi will be heading towards central metropolitan Bangkok or thereabouts in that direction. Instead the driver who was alloted to my number, he said that he was heading to Chonburi. If he was heading to Chonburi, then he should drive there direct and not pick up passengers. Trying your luck is a waste of my time. Anyway, his suggestion was to take me out to the main road so that I could transfer to another taxi outside. Now, this is really a waste of my time and putting me at risk. Hope that such drivers are well disciplined in future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"queues at immigration and security too long"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I've reviewed Bangkok Suvarnabhumi before and said I was pleased with how the queuing situation has improved. However the authorities seem to have gone backwards in this respect as the queues at immigration and security were too long both in arrival and departure. I appreciate that I was travelling during the busy festive period but then several immigration desks were closed and too many were for Thai passport holders only. By the time I arrived at the baggage reclaim almost all the baggage had come off and had I been a few minutes later I'd have likely had to go off and chase staff for suitcase. While catering facilities remain of a high standard the King Power duty free shops are overpriced especially for confectionery and three or four times the price of a normal retailer back in the UK and considerably more expensive than in Brunei airport. Furthermore the airport still lacks moving walkways in the departures area meaning it can take a long time to walk from security to the departure gate. Overall the airport authorities must increase the number of immigration and security staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport customer review

(Singapore)

Verified Review | I am spending some time to write a review on Bangkok Suvarnabhumi while waiting for my flight back Singapore. We are assigned G5 for my departure. When I arrived at the gate, I notice that there is a lack of facilities in this area from G1 to G5. There isn't any charging station for headphones at G5. There isn't any food stores selling food. The most important part is that we have to walk 200 to 300 metres just to get a toilet. I think this is unacceptable. I hope the airport will work something out for future passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"there are not enough seats at the waiting area"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flight TG 920, FRA-BKK on Dec 5th. It is difficult with this airport even though I frequently travel via this airport. As we arrive there are 2 transfer points it is still very confusing trying to find out which direction to go in. Furthermore in order to fly to Hanoi you have to take a bus even though there are lots of empty air bridges. Lounge is nice but they are mostly over crowded. There are not enough seats at the waiting area for the Airbus 380.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"staff not really helpful"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | A very busy airport and staff not really helpful. They just stand at their workstations for the sake of standing. Quite disappointing. The observation deck was located at a very high floor, slightly ruining the view. Another thing to note is that there are only a few places to sit in the observation deck, so there aren't sufficient seats up there. Immigration during arrival was efficient, but slow during departure. Airside was nice and airy, definitely a nice place to shop around before flying off.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes