Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 695 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"food absolutely awful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Miracle Lounge Staff good but food in both the business and first absolutely awful. Can you imagine artificial crab sticks, processed cheese, cheap ham, spaghetti and an uninspiring offering of cheap "street food dishes", the most boring of sandwiches and the odd pastries as being an appropriate First class offering let alone business. The only reading material seems to be inflight magazines and no TV. Don't bother writing to their customer services as they will not bother to respond.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the waiting lines are a mile long"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | As always the waiting lines are a mile long. Thousands of Chinese people are shouting and pushing their way around the airport. They do not understand the principle of waiting in line, security and passport checks are flooded with hordes of Chinese. At least 1500 to 2000 people waiting and only 5 desks are open provoking waiting times up to 45 min at the passport checks. Boarding procedures are from another era. They push you into buses, drive you around for 15 minutes and then let you wait 15 minutes in front of the airplane. They make you feel like cattle lining up. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"really need to be wearing your walking shoes"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Arrival was by bus as our plane had to park way off. Once in the terminal we only had to walk a short distance to immigration. The line was short but then we had an express business pass. We were out of the airport within 20 minutes roughy of landing. Departure, we could see the huge line up to get through immigration/customs through glass. There seemed to be a massive amount of people around generally. There is not much to do before you go through to airside, hard when you are early, although there seemed to be some attractive gardens on the ground floor. Too hard to get to when rolling cases. We had an express pass so immigration and customs was quick. You can also access express if you are elderly (+75) etc. I managed to get a smile out of the immigration agent as he was humming and I made a positive comment. Inside you really appreciate the vastness of this airport. There are plenty of places to eat but all seemed crowded. Signage was okay with check boards every now and then. The toilets were ok, just, Our gate was right at the end. You really need to be wearing your walking shoes for this airport. I’d definitely recommend an express pass if you can organise it. Especially if you are a senior.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"airport keeps falling down the rankings"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I am forced to use BKK on many occasions throughout the year. At least I have the benefit of fast track immigration service, although I have yet to see any Immigration officer actually smile since this airport opened. The restaurants are expensive and of general poor quality. The wash basins in the toilets with their long U-shaped water dispensers are a disaster. They are permanently splashing water all over the floors. The duty free is considerably more expensive compared to other regional hubs. My main complaint, which I have made before, is not just the lack of A380 gates, however, but the complete absence of any obvious attempt over several years by the airport authority to upgrade more existing gates to make them accessible by more A380 aircraft. Last night I arrived from Hong Kong. The flight departure was delayed in part because BKK was not ready for another A380. Yet when we finally arrived almost 45 minutes late, the Emirates flight with about 600 on board arrived at a standard two airbridge gate. So upper deck passengers had to descend to the lower deck in order to exit along with hundreds of other economy passengers. It's no wonder this airport keeps falling down the rankings because the Airport Authority clearly has little interest in investing what must surely only be a small amount of capital to increase the already small number of gates capable of accommodating the A380.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"getting worse every time"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | This airport is getting worse every time I am using it. From unfriendly staff to extremely long lines at security and passport control. Waiting times of 2 hours are unfortunately almost standard. Thai hospitality can't be find at this airport. Prices of food and beverages as well as so called tax free shops are unusually high. This is airport has reached it's capacity already some time ago. Whenever possible it should be avoided!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible customer service is a given"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I travel around the world frequently for work and by far the most inconvenient and terrible service award goes to Suvarnabhumi Airport. The ground staff barely speak any English and are rude from the get go. The foreign exchange services change their rules by the minute and by staff member, from minimum of US $50 allowed to be converted each time to each store displaying a different conversion rate. Also terrible customer service is a given 9/10 visits. The cost of food is around US$10-12 per person for Authentic styled food, including the lack of working air conditioning and a clean seating area. For that money 2 people could enjoy far better street food. The international chains they have such as Starbucks and Burger King go for around US$6/coffee, US$10 for a subway sandwich or $US10 for a burger. The authentic Thai handicrafts are ridiculously priced. I was looking at display pieces as a set and individual items cost upwards of $300/ per piece. Next was the appalling Air-conditioning, last week when I was there on transit, it was freezing cold at night, around 12-15 deg C and by the morning the dinning area was about 28 degrees and humid indoors. The transit lounge is uncomfortable and the washrooms nearby are terribly dirty, do they clean them once a week? Also they're so small, barely accommodating 3 people at a time. Plus the soap is regularly finished and the dryers don't work. I honestly can't say anything good about the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport customer review

(Germany)

Not Verified | Immigration at this airport (I had it 2 times on this trip) is a real nuisance. We had to wait both times for 90 minutes queuing up with no chance to go the toilet. The officers were all more than unfriendly, better said they behaved like soldiers pushing us around! Never again Bangkok if possible!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Prices are reasonable"

(France)

Trip Verified | This airport has some flaws such as the long immigration queues but it is not that bad. There is plenty of food to choose from, from fast food joints to quality Thai food at a decent price, yes it is as spicy as it is ouside, so it is of good quality. Prices are reasonable. Duty free is decent with no overpriced goods and a large array of goods. I did not see the time fly by and very much enjoyed it. It seems too small now given the huge increase in travellers. I would recommend it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very disappointed with their manners"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Thai Airways was really good but when you arrive at the information counter to ask some questions both staff members, ladies and men on duty were extremely rude. They have no manners and just shout at you telling you your gate no. I’m very disappointed with their manners, all this while I have been deceived thinking they were very helpful and friendly.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shockingly bad"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Honestly. Fourth time here this year and it is awful. If your Thai no problem, no lines and preferential service. Everyone else, line up we want to ensure your reach your hotel more tired and frustrated than you knew you could be! Lots of bad reviews. All true. Shockingly bad.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no