Top 100 Airlines  

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 609 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"already a disappointment"

(Singapore)

I visit Bangkok regularly as a weekend getaway. Suvarnabhumi airport was opened under the direction to challenge Singapore as a hub. It was already a disappointment when it was opened but I cannot believe my eyes that the quality has gone to the dogs. Arrival is still acceptable but departure is a disaster. The experience is worsened by the flood of tourists who love to cut queues, speaking in loud voices, and crammed together. The customs and security checks are a nightmare. I have not seen such slow speed whether it is scanning the bags or going through the custom officers. The management of this airport do not have sense of urgency despite Bangkok being a number one tourist hub and major transport centre. Please try to use the refurbished older airport (hosting mostly regional budget airlines) if you are flying in and out from South East Asia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"experience varied heavily depending on flight time"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok airport's experience varied heavily depending on your flight time. Transportation is ok with taxis and trains (taxi drivers are getting to be less dependable). Check-in can be a bit of a queue but online check-in solves that issue. Lately however all seems more hectic. Security check is acceptable. However for a while now I thought immigration got their act together. Unfortunately the lines are now longer than ever with passengers lining up from the ground floor departure passport control all the way up the escalators backed up to till the upper floor x-rays and security gates. Officers gawking at each passport for ages and guaranteed us almost 90 min to get through. And forget about the smiles. All through the airport mediocre service with visible no interest. Arrivals was a tad better, however it is getting annoying as walking distances are truly long and cannot imagine the elderly going all that way (in kms!). Lately the closer immigration point is always blocked and all are requested to walk another 400+m to access the other one. Duty free a farce with prices many times higher than in the city. Have to use this airport but for transit passengers, try Kuala Lumpur or Singapore if you have any say in the matter.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a great and impressive airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Having travelled via many airports, I find Bangkok Airport to be very useful and relaxing. I am driven to write this review as many I have read have bemoaned this airport due to forces beyond their control. eg flight hold up on arrival or queues at customs. However lets not detract from what are the real benefits of the airport and the many offerings. Food and beverages are in plenty and very low cost in comparison to many other airports, this is on both sides, off air side and air side, if travelling with a family this is a considerable cost saving. Many toilets are on offer to a very high standard of hygiene. Also many IT ports, USB, WiFi and plugs available, as is seating and lounge areas. As an ex smoker I can say there are many more areas to smoke then in other western airports and all very well air conditioned. You do not come out smelling like an ashtray. The airport also has a buzz, a living soul and very friendly people. The problem with other new airports is that they are all tinsel and chrome and have no soul or passion. Check in is very quick and efficient as is the process through security, the only delays sometimes is with customs, but then that is expected as Thailand takes its security seriously, knowing who's come in and who is out. Overall a great and impressive airport, one that you don't mind spending some time at.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it is an utter disgrace"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | After a very pleasant lounge experience, an excellent flight and an on-time arrival at 23.45, it was maddening once again for the Emirates A380 to be held on the the tarmac for a full 30 minutes because a TG A380 had not left the gate designated for Emirates arrival. This has now happened on every single A380 late evening arrival from Hong Kong I have taken this year - without exception. I have written before that the airport management just will not adapt more gates for the increasing number of A380 arrivals. It is an utter disgrace. The management usually react to problems instead of anticipating them. In this instance, they are not even reacting. They just sit back and do nothing whilst angry passengers sit endlessly on the tarmac! Add to this arrival at a gate on the east side of the terminal when EK normally arrives on the west and the hugely long walk to get to Immigration and BKK is rapidly becoming the worst managed airport in the region.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport customer review

(India)

Verified Review | Endless announcements on the microphone. I was on transit and had roughly 5 hours in the middle of the night. I found some great reclining seats at the airport and hoped to sleep well. It was only 5 minutes and I realised it was impossible. There were constant announcements that made it impossible to have a peaceful sleep. I wish they would get good sense and convert it into a silent airport at least for the sake of midnight transit passengers.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"appears to be a waste of time"

(Thailand)

Using the fastrack immigration service at this airport appears to be a waste of time. On my last arrival, the fastrack was filled with economy passengers from Emirates. I asked why there were long queues and was told that regular immigration was very busy so they had diverted passengers into the fastrack. What then is the point of paying for a fastrack service to avoid queues at peak times if excess passengers are transferred there?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"everything is well-marked"

(Thailand)

Do not understand why this airport has a relatively low rating. It is spacious, well built, signs are clear, everything is well-marked. Yes, crowds are sometimes overwhelming, and queuing at immigration on departure could be improved, but shopping is fantastic, food outlets are good and plentiful, WiFi is free and good and seating at the gates ample, with a good architecture.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"queue took over an hour"

(United Kingdom)

Upon arrival after a long flight with Thai Airways coming from London, we arrived, swiftly de-boarded the aircraft and then walked to the immigration queues to get into Thailand. The immigration queue took over an hour to get through. This is ridiculous as at Heathrow it took us 10 minutes to go through. We had a great 2 week holiday, and then drove back to the airport to catch our flight back to London. The check in was quick (about 5-10 minutes) and then we moved to the security area. Above each machine (Full body scanners, well, 2 out of 3 as one for some reason was not functioning) there is a tv screen playing a video. It tells you to take out all your tech (phones, tablets, laptops, watches etc etc.) so I followed this when we got to the machine and had to place everything in those plastic trays. I take out my phone and place it in my tray, the staff member making pick's it up, and throws my phone back into my bag. I then take my watch off and again it is thrown back into my bag. I have used the airport 5 times in the past 5 years and never have I had this occur. As for the terminal side of things, it has everything but a McDonald's to eat at, which I believe would greatly improve the food and cuisine options airside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly designed airport"

(India)

I wish I could give this airport a negative review. For starters, this airport is a torrid nightmare for transit passengers, especially if you disembark in say terminal D and have to proceed to terminal E and you have only a short time period to catch the connecting flight. Well, design woes aside, what really makes this airport bite is the quality of staff. The attitude of the staff is very poor and especially in security, they were rude and for no reason at all. I think this airport left such a bitter taste in me that I would rather pay more to fly transit out of a more professional airport like Singapore Changi. In this airport, you have a poorly designed airport, mediocre facilities topped with some of the rudest staff I have ever witnessed in all of my traveling experience. The only redeeming feature here is good WiFi.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"generally clean and organized"

(Philippines)

Been to Bangkok Suvarnabhumi 3 times in the past and the airport is generally clean and organized, no complaints there. Some concerns - moving walkways seem to be under repair every time I visit. Queing times for passport control are a hassle (more than 30 minutes.) There are surly staff at the x-ray machine, who did not seem to understand or know about "checkpoint-friendly" backpacks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes