Vote Now  

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 641 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"undersized security control"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Bangkok Suvarnabum is a really big airport where many planes don't connect directly to the terminal, but are parked in a distance with mandatory bus transportation to and from the terminal. There is a really irritating, time consuming and undersized security control when arriving in transit. We experienced this the first time and also on our second transit at Suvarnabum. The airport is neat and clean. Gates were easy to find - but it's impossible to work out how many levels and what to find on the different levels. The signs to / from the shopping area are missing or not visible enough. We happened to find the shopping area when we travelled through Suvarnabum en route to Mandalay - but in the other direction, back to Denmark, when we easily could and would have done some shopping, unfortunately we didn't find the shopping area.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"immigration staff are cold"

(Thailand)

First complaint, Baggage delivery speed. I mentioned this in my Don Muang airport review, since Suvarnabhumi airport has one of the slowest baggage delivery systems in the world. You'd be very lucky if you got a D gate, Baggage delivery within 5 minutes. If you have a G gate, You're better off with carry ons if you're in a rush. I'm from Thailand, so immigration takes only a mere 2 minutes, but if you're a foreigner, be ready to wait an hour during rush hours (evening hours). Duty free here is overpriced, but I'm a king power member so I get a 15% discount, So it doesn't make a difference. Most lounges are pleasant, however avoid the Louis Tavern lounges. They are tiny overcrowded lounges. Tourists do cut queues, but well, it happens. I had an airport staff tell me she had a sore throat from yelling at tourists! Other than these complaints, I enjoy Suvarnabhumi airport since it's big and feels airy. The designers did a good job. Also, Wifi is pretty fast. Staff are pretty nice, but immigration staff are cold.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"security in the airport was tight"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport has a very long layout and it takes a long time to walk from one side to the other. Even if you are in transit you need to go through another security check before you enter the terminal. The security in the airport was tight and the clearance times are long.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"couldn't write a more mixed review of any other airport"

(New Zealand)

I couldn't write a more mixed review of any other airport - they're usually generally good or bad, but BKK is absolutely the ends of both spectrum. Arriving in BKK at 1am was a breeze. Cleared through customs really quickly, had our suitcases arrive shortly after us, found the taxi system straightforward and got into the city within an hour of touchdown. Perfect. Leaving BKK at 8am was the worst experience I have ever had at an airport in my life. We left a lot of time, over 2 and a half hours, because I had a feeling one of our suitcases would incur oversize baggage fees and it might take a few minutes to sort out. The lady at the counter of China Southern was very blunt and rude to us (not BKK's fault, but I digress). In the end we were told it will cost 5,500 baht and we need to pay it before we can check our bags in. That's fine, except for the fact that the place you pay for the excess baggage is halfway down the building and at peak times incredibly difficult to navigate, then wait in another line, then come all the way back to check our bags in. What should have taken 10 minutes ended up taking over an hour. Immigration/passport check took over another hour. They had no way of fast tracking people who were leaving soon, and they were completely out of the forms you're meant to fill in while you're standing in line, which held things up tremendously because we had to do it at the counter as fast as possible. There were at least 4 empty cubicles that could have been staffed and there were hundreds and hundreds of people trying to get through. Once that mess was over we had to run as fast as we could to the very, very end gate just as they were doing the final boarding call for our flight. I'm not an emotional person but my 'no crying in public' rule was definitely broken that morning. By the time we got to the gate I was struggling to breathe and we just made it before they closed the walkway off. Such a ridiculous rigmarole to go through despite being there well before our flight, if there is a next time we will surely try to pick a middle of the night flight so we aren't competing with a thousand other travelers for a spot in the line. Not a nice start to a 20 hour journey home. I can't even comment on the seating, shopping or toilets because we didn't even have a spare 30 seconds to see any of them.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very disappointed in service here"

(Australia)

Got through check-in in good time and then with passport control had to pass through 3 different queues to be cleared. By the time we had cleared the last queue for this we had a long run to the bording gate to be met with the plane has left. This took over a hour to clear passport control with no announcements of last calls for boarding so we could fast track flights leaving. Total disgrace and cost us as a family of 3 travelling a packet to buy new tickets. Get more operators at passport control and allow announcements so travellers can be prioritised if held up! Very disappointed in service here, never seen international airport run this area so badly. Makes one wonder if airlines give kickbacks to customs for delaying passengers so they buy extra tickets?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"food and drink can be very expensive"

(France)

Verified Review | This airport is functioning quite well on both arrivals and departures. Departure was smooth with a bagage drop wich lasted 5 minutes. Thru security and immigration within 20 minutes. Plenty of food and drink to choose from. Duty free is plentiful. The only downer is the price at the airport which can exceed European airports. The food and drink can be very expensive. The wifi connection is hard to get. But it works. Overall the airport is OK, but plan at least 2H before your flight for potential bottlenecks at the immigration, mainly created by tourists forgetting to fill in departure cards or wearing a cap for photos etc..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"500 passengers in a queue"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | The security took 30 minutes to clear due new body scanning machines and I estimate 500 passengers in a queue. Five or six machines in operation. You are required to remove your shoes and walk across a very filthy floor. Many pax barefoot which will leave foot diseases on the floor. Staff do not care. Pointless exercise just to infuriate passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just enough time to run to our gate"

(United States)

Verified Review | I don't know if this is common for all time periods for departures from Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi Airport but for our early morning flight we experienced the biggest waste of time getting through passport control. Our flight time was 5.50am so we arrived at the airport at 3.25am. Plenty of time to enjoy an otherwise fun and interesting airport. Since my wife and I are both 1K with Star Alliance we sailed through the ticketing process and headed to passport control. Because of the infinite stupidity of whoever decides how to staff passport control it took us over an hour to get through. Why, because there were only 2 people assigned to passport control! There were enough planes taking off early that morning that it should have been staffed with at least half a dozen checkers. As it turned out we had about 5 minutes before boarding began for our flight. Just enough time to run to our gate. Other people in line were very concerned that they had missed their flight. All travelers departing from BKK pay an airport fee. A fee that should cover an adequate number of staff at passport control. For the record, I have departed form BKK at least 50 times and this is the first time passport control has been so bungled.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"a lot of walking to passport control"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport is new and nice but is very big and there is a lot of walking to passport control. Long queuing both in and out of Thailand - really slow (30 min) with few counters attended. Baggage delivery on arrival takes a lot of time (on a small aircraft thus not so many bags) apart from this, the seating around the departure gates is comfortable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"generally good, well priced goods, clean toilets"

(Saudi Arabia)

I have used this airport 22 times since 2008. It is generally good, well priced goods, clean toilets and choices of food and drink. Immigration Dec 24th, 1600: Fantastic 2 minutes. Emigration Jan 11th, 0900: Fantastic 5 minutes. Negatives for regular visitors are the loud audio messages recorded incorrectly in English and played multiple times, thus "Attention please this is the final call OF (instead of the word FOR) flight..." And "Attention - End of the walkway" That one uses accurate English but annoyingly is played with a silly baby American voice 8,000 times per hour.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes