Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 660 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"overall it is a decent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have arrived and departed from Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport many times and overall it is a decent airport. However I wish they would install some automated moving walkways or an automated people mover like at Hong Kong Airport to help passengers reach the more remote gates faster. Currently it can take as long as 20 minutes to reach your gate from the immigration area. Also more immigration officers are needed as this airport as the queues are often too long and many desks often remain unmanned in spite of this. Nevertheless dining options are excellent and shopping is decent although the duty free shops are ridiculously overpriced especially for confectionery. I waited until I reached Heathrow to buy confectionery and it was less than a third of the price of the same confectionery at the King Power Duty Free shops in Suvarnabhumi. If the management of Bangkok Suvarnabhumi seriously address these issues with the lack of moving walkways and immigration staff, this airport can go on to rival Changi Airport as one of the world's greatest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Really is an airport of smiles"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | I recently spent five hours there. Well this was not my first time. I guess it was seventh or eight. But, this Airport never disappoints. Only once the queue for the security was very long, otherwise entirely smooth process. Shopping experience was excellent, as Suvarnabhumi offers many things for the people who love shopping. I have been travelling through this Airport for past couple of years and every time I experience something better than the previous. One thing that really impresses me is the courteous behaviour of the airport staff. Really is an airport of smiles. Much better as compared to Doha and Dubai in this regard.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst I've ever seen"

(Japan)

Verified Review | This airport has the worst transit system I have ever experienced! Traveling to and from Europe to Japan, transit has been a harrowing experience in both directions. The horridly rude staff herd people haphazardly through a non-air conditioned area (at 38C this time a year!) and turn a deaf ear on people with short transit times. After an hour or so of queuing, you are then left to run for 1km to your next gate. There are no shuttles, no ground staff taking care of people, nothing. This is definitely the worst I've ever seen, and Bangkok makes Paris CDG or Moscow seem like a walk in the park. Totally unbelievable experience, it's definitely the last time I travel to this airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"packed with travellers"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | The terminal was really packed with travellers. Duty free and food service choices in the airport was not a lot even this is the biggest airport in Thailand. But, the terminal was really clean and the staff were joyful. Wifi was good but the charging podium was too far from waiting seat in front of the gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"can't understand the logic behind the design"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Can't understand the logic behind the design of Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport. With information on departure gates not easily visible and the most frustrating thing is the absence of security check at the gates. With the long and confusing layout of the airport with a centralised security check system, transit passengers have to walk long distances from any arrival gate to the designated departure gate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"one of my favourite airports"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I must admit that Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport is getting better and better, yes sometimes there are queues at immigration, however this an understandably busy airport, duty free shops are of big selection from top brand names i.e. Prada, Chanel etc... local shops, SPA etc. One of my favourite airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"immigration staff have just one speed - slow"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Bangkok Suvarnabhumi is the most frustrating airport I have experienced (and I have been to lots). Upon arrival, there is a long walk from terminal to immigration (Emirates flights) where if you are lucky, can get through between 20 and 60 minutes. The most annoying thing is that you need to fill in an immigration card that you have to present with you passport - remember to complete this on the plane and sign it before you land because many don`t and it just causes unnecessary delays getting through the not-so-happy immigration staff. I always find the baggage reclaim ok - usually by the time you have managed to get through immigration, you don`t have long to wait for luggage. The worst part is when you are coming back for your return flight - it takes 3 times as long to get through security checks. When I was returning on 21st May, took us almost 3 hours to get through immigration because of the sheer volume of passengers, and only a few immigration staff on, who have just one speed - slow. It's just beyond the ridiculous - people were pushing and shoving and generally getting irate because they had timed flights and were cutting it fine. It's a nightmare - give yourself at least 4 hours at the airport for return.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"stopped and harassed multiple times"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Because of a technical problem on my incoming flight, the transit time had shrunk to 40 minutes before the next flight's take-off. I have to say, in Kuala Lumpur, Singapore or Hong Kong that sort of time window would be "just nice" to walk over to another gate. Not so at Suvarnabhumi: Right after disembarking we were stopped by ground staff who asked to see our (used) boarding passes and checked them off the passenger manifest one by one, which took quite some time. Another staff member did wait around with my next flight number in hand, adding to the sense of urgency - but that is where any assistance ended. On my way to my next gate, I was stopped and harassed multiple times, told to join long queues at some of these arbitrary 'pit stops', and shouted at by security staff who even X-rayed my shoes. Upon finally reaching the gate, the ground staff demanded I step aside and produce my "bag number" (?). To be fair, I did make it, and so did my luggage. But the experience was a nightmare straight out of a bad action movie. Couldn't the ground staff send a buggy and/or an assistant to whisk me between gates, if time was a real issue? In the future I have to avoid this airport: Between the bizarre procedures, the lack of coordination and caring, and the very poor communication and English on the part of the very young staff, it clearly doesn't take much before things go horribly wrong.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff are friendly and helpful"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | This is the fourth time I have used Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport. Before I used it to travel into Thailand but this time I was only in transit. It's big airport, heavy passenger traffic. I had 2:30 hours. Terminal could be cleaner. Free wifi working well. Many shopping outlets and duty free shops. Good options for spending time. Found staff are friendly and helpful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"almost no seating in public areas"

(New Zealand)

In general, if you can transit Asia via Changi, Hong Kong or KL airports, you should rather than BKK. And if you're not interested in going to Bangkok, entry to and exit from Thailand is more pleasant via Chiang Mai. The main reasons are BKK airports air con, noise and almost no seating in public areas. Air con: it's the worst feature in that is very inadequate still, and in some areas is very poor. You don't want to have to spend much time in the terminal, shops and eateries. Seating: almost none in the shopping areas. Noise: departure announcements are constant and almost pointless. This is not a silent terminal unlike a lot of modern terminals. Queues: Very good now. 1pm Friday, security 10 minutes, immigration 10 minutes. They've moved security to floor 5 and reduced the queue time, but it's hot up there which they're trying to resolve by the looks of it. But not good yet. Looks: from the outside the terminal looks great. Inside it doesn't feel cramped, the look being somewhat industrial.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no