Bangkok Don Muang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 88 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"it was absolute nightmare"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | This airport has one of the best locations, with a shuttle bus from the airport to Bangkok City which only takes around 20 mins and nothing more. Arrival: upon my arrival, there was a very long queue at the passport control and without queuing control, it was a mess and many people didn't know which line to queue up in. It took me around 1 hour to get past this passport area. Departure: it was absolute nightmare, it was all about testing my patience of queuing up. My flight was at 5.20pm to Hong Kong and I arrived at the airport at 1.30pm. Firstly, I queue up at the VAT refund office to get my refund forms stamped, that took me 20 mins. Then, there was baggage check with another long queue. This baggage check took 30 mins, and then queuing up for 1 hour for the check in counter. After getting into the restricted area, we needed to queue up for around 30mins for the passport control, again. Now the last bit of queuing up was at the VAT refund counter, that took me a good 30mins. An important recommendation to all travellers who are departing from this airport: they recommended we arrived at the airport 3hrs before flight time, but I'd say to be on the safe side, allow yourself 4hrs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"fix the lack of organisation"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | My first time arriving into Bangkok Don Muang took me 1 hour to queue through immigration. Last night it took me 2 hours. It would have taken me longer if a staff member was not yelled at by a Chinese tourist after complaining about the wait time. She then opened up another counter. I'm not sure if it's because I landed late in the evening at 11.15 pm, but they really need to do something to fix the lack of organisation. You realise all two lines merge into one when you finally wait one hour and you see the counter a few yards away. This is a major part of the problem, no one foresees this when you pick a queue upon landing with hundreds of people already waiting. Tons of people arrive in the evening yet they are understaffed. The queue for visa on arrival literally processed hundreds of tourists at a much quicker rate than the rest of us 'foreign' tourists. There was also no clear Asean line either for regional visitors. This really makes Bangkok look bad upon arrival. They need to learn how to process people quickly and efficiently just like its other airport, Suvarnabhumi. Right now this is the worst immigration wait time I've experienced in the world, and I do a lot of travelling. The airport is dim too, which does not offer a warm welcome during a two hour wait.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Resources seem limited"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I flew out of DMK on 9 June and flew into DMK on 18 June. Both flights were in the evenings. The immigration queue leaving BKK had around 35-40 people. The queues arriving into BKK were much longer and had many tour groups. The tour leaders somewhat kept things under control but it was clear some tour members were confused at which queues are applicable to them. There are dedicated queues for nationals from ASEAN countries but do not seem like these were properly enforced. There was also a queue for Priority/Diplomatic but while there were people some 5-6 people in the queue, the rope railing behind them was up and sealed the lane which created confusion for those wishing to join this lane. Resources seem limited and the officials worked hard to clear the crowds. In the departure area, there are several food options including MacDonald's, Subway, Fuji and Starbucks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"arrival times now much longer"

(Thailand)

I fly Air Asia regularly from Nakhon Phanom to Bangkok Don Muang and will be flying again on April 12 returning April 16 with my wife. During the past 6 months I have travelled, they are now using the congested gates 72 to 76 which require bus transportation to the aircraft. Similarly arrival times are now much longer because of the useage of bus transportation. What was the point of the terminal upgrade only to go back to the era a decade ago using buses. Why are we being forced to use outdated and out moded boarding and arrival facilities when there are ample boarding lounges with air bridges?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"needs upgrading urgently"

(United Kingdom)

The catering facilities are poor at this airport to say it is an international airport. There are hardly any tables for McDonald's and Subway so the whole area is chaotic. Needs upgrading urgently. When you get your food (which takes forever) don't even think of finding a table.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
7/10

"security conducted quickly"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Don Muang (DMK) is the older and smaller airport in Bangkok compared to Suvarnabhumi. It is closer to the city centre and is mainly used for domestic flights and regional flights on low cost carriers. The clear advantage is the shorter trek between security clearance and the boarding gates. The security clearance at DMK for departures were conducted quickly and I was in the transit area within 30mins of arriving at the airport. The security clearance while exiting Bangkok seems to be a lot quicker in DMK compared to Survarnabhumi and less stressful. I am enrolled in the Priority Pass programme but there is no lounges in DMK's international terminal. I understand there are lounges in the domestic terminal of DMK. There are restaurants in the passenger area including Macdonald's and Subway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"all up, abysmal"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Arrived at Bangkok Don Muang at 12.30 and didn't get through immigration until 3. Priority lane used by anybody, ASEAN lane also clearly used by non-ASEAN citizens. Long lines because of many arriving flights (no issues with this), but the problem was, nowhere near enough staff at immigration desks. The biggest problem of all were the hundreds of mainland Chinese, all pushing and cutting the queue, and Thai staff doing absolutely nothing about any of this. No shops to buy water. All up, abysmal. Trust me, it's worth paying a little extra to go the the main BKK airport. I personally found signage fine, but several times large groups of Chinese tourists left the queue because none of them had completed their visa on arrival procedure, which tells me the signage needs improvement too.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the arrivals is dreadful"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | It functions as an airport, that's clear. I've used terminal 1 and 2, and must say that terminal 2 is better in terms of preference. Every arrival, it's 25 minutes from runway to car, if it's a gate, not a remote stand. Staff there are cold, (with AirAsia staff as an exception) but they are able to answer every question. The arrivals is dreadful, it has no natural daylight whatsoever at the concourse, (Terminal 1) but at least it does have window views at the main part of the terminal. However, I'd rather have a flight land at Suvarnabhumi. The only thing here better than Suvarnabhumi is the baggage delivery speed. Food is overpriced as expected, and there are a lot of cleaners around who do their job. Shops here are only duty free and a one or two souvenir shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport staff are also very helpful"

(Singapore)

Solid airport with Amari Don Muang Airport Hotel connected via sky bridge. Very convenient to access and very comfortable and clean. Airport staff are also very helpful with directions and advice. Airport facilities are more than adequate with food and beverages, as well as other necessary for air travel stalls for last minute purchase. Counters are spacious and long queues often made to look not as long cos the counters are wide and long.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"still very user-friendly"

(Thailand)

Though Don Muang is not the main airport of Bangkok, it is still very user-friendly. One might have problems with at check in but I don't believe this is the airport's fault. Very much a clean airport. Shops and restaurants are more than enough, but none of the restaurants are serving halal food. Aside from this, a good airport to travel in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 60 Reviews