Vote Now  

Bangkok Don Muang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 85 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"arrival times now much longer"

(Thailand)

I fly Air Asia regularly from Nakhon Phanom to Bangkok Don Muang and will be flying again on April 12 returning April 16 with my wife. During the past 6 months I have travelled, they are now using the congested gates 72 to 76 which require bus transportation to the aircraft. Similarly arrival times are now much longer because of the useage of bus transportation. What was the point of the terminal upgrade only to go back to the era a decade ago using buses. Why are we being forced to use outdated and out moded boarding and arrival facilities when there are ample boarding lounges with air bridges?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"needs upgrading urgently"

(United Kingdom)

The catering facilities are poor at this airport to say it is an international airport. There are hardly any tables for McDonald's and Subway so the whole area is chaotic. Needs upgrading urgently. When you get your food (which takes forever) don't even think of finding a table.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
7/10

"security conducted quickly"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Don Muang (DMK) is the older and smaller airport in Bangkok compared to Suvarnabhumi. It is closer to the city centre and is mainly used for domestic flights and regional flights on low cost carriers. The clear advantage is the shorter trek between security clearance and the boarding gates. The security clearance at DMK for departures were conducted quickly and I was in the transit area within 30mins of arriving at the airport. The security clearance while exiting Bangkok seems to be a lot quicker in DMK compared to Survarnabhumi and less stressful. I am enrolled in the Priority Pass programme but there is no lounges in DMK's international terminal. I understand there are lounges in the domestic terminal of DMK. There are restaurants in the passenger area including Macdonald's and Subway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"all up, abysmal"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Arrived at Bangkok Don Muang at 12.30 and didn't get through immigration until 3. Priority lane used by anybody, ASEAN lane also clearly used by non-ASEAN citizens. Long lines because of many arriving flights (no issues with this), but the problem was, nowhere near enough staff at immigration desks. The biggest problem of all were the hundreds of mainland Chinese, all pushing and cutting the queue, and Thai staff doing absolutely nothing about any of this. No shops to buy water. All up, abysmal. Trust me, it's worth paying a little extra to go the the main BKK airport. I personally found signage fine, but several times large groups of Chinese tourists left the queue because none of them had completed their visa on arrival procedure, which tells me the signage needs improvement too.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the arrivals is dreadful"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | It functions as an airport, that's clear. I've used terminal 1 and 2, and must say that terminal 2 is better in terms of preference. Every arrival, it's 25 minutes from runway to car, if it's a gate, not a remote stand. Staff there are cold, (with AirAsia staff as an exception) but they are able to answer every question. The arrivals is dreadful, it has no natural daylight whatsoever at the concourse, (Terminal 1) but at least it does have window views at the main part of the terminal. However, I'd rather have a flight land at Suvarnabhumi. The only thing here better than Suvarnabhumi is the baggage delivery speed. Food is overpriced as expected, and there are a lot of cleaners around who do their job. Shops here are only duty free and a one or two souvenir shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport staff are also very helpful"

(Singapore)

Solid airport with Amari Don Muang Airport Hotel connected via sky bridge. Very convenient to access and very comfortable and clean. Airport staff are also very helpful with directions and advice. Airport facilities are more than adequate with food and beverages, as well as other necessary for air travel stalls for last minute purchase. Counters are spacious and long queues often made to look not as long cos the counters are wide and long.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"still very user-friendly"

(Thailand)

Though Don Muang is not the main airport of Bangkok, it is still very user-friendly. One might have problems with at check in but I don't believe this is the airport's fault. Very much a clean airport. Shops and restaurants are more than enough, but none of the restaurants are serving halal food. Aside from this, a good airport to travel in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"very modern and simple enough to get about"

(Ireland)

Verified Review | The airport (terminal 2) itself is very modern and simple enough to get about. Check in desks are dedicated to airlines which makes check-in earlier from my opinion. Bring warm clothes as Air Con will be on and make it feel quite cold. Security was efficient and finding your gate is easy. Getting Wifi is complicated as you have 20 or so wifi options to connect to and no idea which is genuine. Airport should make this clearer with signage or leaflets. My main complaint is that the Terminal 2 Airport has a tourist information desk. They offer information but are very quick to sell tours to you. We booked a Golden Triangle Tour with them as we were going to Chiang Mai. Thankfully we didn't book anything else. We booked with them thinking that as they are located within the Airport that they would be reputable and genuine. They stated that their tours were "half the price of what you would pay in Chiang Mai" and that "their price is fully inclusive with no surprise/extra fees". This turned out to be a total lie and their cost were in fact twice what we got quoted by at least 4 different agencies in Chiang Mai. My advice, book when you get to CM and avoid this tourist information desk which is straight after security at terminal 2 departures. Hopefully the Airport will see this and clamp down on their lies.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
6/10

"interior looks shabby and needs a scrub"

(Thailand)

Don Muang has always been more comfortable than the new sibling Suvarnabhumi. Transportation will be better as soon as the skytrain is complete so till then taxis or bus from the skytrains terminus. The departure terminal can be crowded but manageable. The problem is with passport control and if you're unlucky enough to fly alongside the numerous chinese flights causing really long lines at immigration with unruly passengers pushing in. Once you pass the passport control then a painless security check and then some shops here and there with restaurants. The ground floor gate area is incredibly uncomfortable and overcrowded (airline hauling passengers by bus and not sky bridge) so avoid it till your boarding time. A bit more cleanliness is needed, the interior looks shabby and needs a scrub.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"immigration was so crowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I arrived at Bangkok Don Muang 15:15 hrs from Bali along with hundreds of other passengers from various flights. The room at immigration was so crowded and it was difficult to know where to queue. There are officials in uniform walking about but not guiding nor helping anybody to queue. I queued for just over 2 hours before being seen. People were getting hot and tired and there was no drinking water or shop available. The priority queue was being abused by people who were not pregnant or elderly. I was told by passengers that anybody can walk through that gate unchallenged which they did. I was told by the air stewardess on my Air Asia flight that I did not need to fill in an arrivals slip as I had a connecting flight to UK. At the immigration counter, the woman was very rude and abrupt as I did not have the immigration card filled in. I explained that I had a connecting flight to UK. She shouted at me very rudely telling me to to back and complete the form, which I did. I went downstairs to find my luggage. The signs for the belt number had disappeared as I had been waiting so long. After asking several staff where the bags from my flight were, I found my bag, the very last one, just left abandoned by the side. The waiting times, organisation, lack of assistance and inadequate number of officials is unacceptable at this airport. It is down to poor management, inadequacy and contempt for travellers. Suvarnabhumi Airport is the opposite and very well-managed. Perhaps staff at Don Muang could take some training on customer relations. I have travelled much of the world and this was the worst experience ever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews