Top 100 Airlines  

Bangkok Don Muang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"easy to navigate"

(Singapore)

Basic but cozy airport that is closer to Bangkok city than the main BKK used by major international airlines. Don Muang is mainly used by low-cost airlines and I found it more convenient if your destination is central Bangkok. Facilities there are basic but you will find all the essentials. Also, it's not too big and easy to navigate your way around.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"spacious and brightly lit"

(France)

This review concerns Terminal 2, open in December 2015, for domestic flights. Last time I flew through Don Muang was before the completion of Suvarnabhumi Airport and it is difficult to recognize the buildings which went through major upgrade. Departure hall is spacious and brightly lit with enough space to avoid the crowd feeling you experience at Suvarnabhumi. Plenty of food outlets reasonably priced (for an airport) on the mezzanine level. Security check fast but thorough. Departure gates so far did not undergo any major upgrade and walking distance can be long. Arrival hall spcious and bright: luggage delivery reasonbly fast. Although some effort has been made to control taxi services to city, the official taxi stand is difficult to find and you will be subjected to many touts before you reach it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"ludicrous queuing times"

(Singapore)

The worst airport I've ever seen, due to ludicrous queuing times. Took 1 hour and 40 minutes to get visa on arrival (the queue was for a mere 9 people, also no Fast option) then immigration took another 1hour 20 minutes. It's not that it's a busy airport, it's just insanely inefficient. Thank goodness we didn't have luggage to collect.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"luggage arrived quick enough"

(Netherlands)

Very early morning departure. Immigration quick, and distances in airport limited. At international side no 7/11 or similar supermarket, and very early morning limited number of places for food and drinks (+ not clear when they open). Luggage also arrived quick enough on way back, and sufficient coffee places around the gates. Except for the fact that it appears hardly any maintenance has been done for years, the only other complaint is transport. Taxi lines can be enormous and bus options at the airport quite expensive - but I traveled by rental car and it worked great to get to town.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Check-in hall completely packed"

(Canada)

I departed to Cambodia through Don Mueang on December 31 - so the date might have made a difference to my experience. 7:10 flight departure, arrived at the airport about 4:20 am. Check-in hall was completely packed with people waiting to check in and lines were moving very slowly. I estimate it might have taken 3 hours to see a check in agent. Found the bag-drop line which was much shorter and checked in online using a smartphone while waiting our turn. Still took about an hour to get through the lineup though. Getting through immigration and customs on the return flight 4 days later was very fast - maybe waited for 3 or 4 people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"plenty of space"

(Thailand)

The airport has been completely renovated and the result is stunning. Check-in for domestic flights is now smoother, as there is plenty of space. What is still terrible is the availability of taxis for the arrivals, queues are huge, there are not enough taxis, not enough spaces for taxis to take passengers and the system is very slow, as the drivers have to go to the counter to pick passengers, unlike Suvarnabhumi, where they just pick a number when entering the taxi area.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"WiFi is difficult to access"

(United States)

The WiFi is so difficult to access. Travellers appreciate simplicity, not having to jump through hoops and never getting access. There are endless questions and at the end of the day it becomes apparent they want you to buy it. Plus there are no charging stations. This is not world class.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"flying out was not so bad"

(Australia)

I flew from here to KL and then back here from Krabi around new year. Flying out was not so bad: the Premium Flex counter for AirAsia passengers is hidden away, so I didn't notice it until I was halfway through the ordinary queue. But flying into Don Muang for the first time I made a rookie mistake - I stood and waited in the taxi queue, which snakes out of sight, around corners, and ultimately took me an hour. The delay seems to be waiting for enough taxi drivers and writing destinations down on tickets. This needs to be fixed, badly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"4.5 hours to clear immigration"

(India)

Unless it is absolutely unavoidable (life/death) do not land or depart at/from this airport. It took me and my family (including 1 infant, 1 child and 1 elderly person) 4.5 hours to clear immigration and collect baggage. The officials treat passengers just like cattle. All (incl infants and elderly travellers) visa on arrival passengers are directed to just 4 counters (while only 2 are attended. Officials have absolutely no knowledge of English language and have arrogant attitudes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"What a chaotic airport"

(Hong Kong)

What a chaotic airport, it takes you longer to actually drive into the airport than the flight. I find it hard to believe that people rave about this airport. It is dirty, poorly maintained and over crowded. But the biggest headache is actually arrival and departure before and after your flight. Only one line of traffic can enter the airport at a time and the line of taxis snakes for miles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 43 Reviews