Baltimore Washington Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"longest of any airport that I visit"

(United States)

Verified Review | I live in the BWI area and have had many experiences similar to my July 12, 2017 flight from LAS-BWI. The time to retrieve your luggage is consistently the longest of any airport that I visit which is over 50 different airports. The airport itself gets a good rating except in the baggage handling area. The low rating for airport staff is specifically for the baggage handling department.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"non-customer service attitudes"

(United States)

Upon arrival at Baltimore Washington - baggage claim took nearly an hour and they switched carousels 4 times, then it took forever for bags to come out on the belt. Departure - my young daughter had 1/4 cup of water in her canteen she forgot about. Rather than having her drink it or pour out - they made us choose to toss a $20 canteen or go all the way back through security - another 30 minutes. Employees from TSA to clerks at restaurants had lazy and non-customer service attitudes. I plan to avoid this airport for future trips to D.C.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a long time to wait"

(United States)

Our flight arrived 15 minutes early at 9.45 am. We taxied to the gate but had to wait 10 minutes for someone to drive the walkway to the door of the plane. Then we spent 30 minutes at the luggage carousel. I finally got my luggage at 10.36. Seems like a long time to wait.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"baggage claim was horrible"

(United States)

Baggage claim was horrible, it took longer to get my bags than to fly from Altanta! The passengers were all upset that they changed carousels twice and had to wait 45 minutes for the luggage. This happens every time we fly here. Something must be done or we will stop flying into Baltimore.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a fantastic airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is a fantastic airport. They have a great children's area, local pricing, plenty of charging stations, good eats, and it's clean. I can't vouch for security though because this was a connection for us. I didn't use the wifi either so I'm not sure how good that was.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"never had a bad experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | BWI is my "home" airport. I could also use DCA, but I prefer Baltimore. I have read some unfavorable reviews of this airport, but sometimes think that they must be talking about a different airport. I will say that this is a medium sized airport, so it will not have many of the same choices as the large airports. But I have used this airport for over 30 years and never had a bad experience. I have never experienced long delays at security. Usually five to ten minutes and you're through. One thing has recently changed that is a big improvement is the ability to move from one concourse to another post security. This was an issue in the past because Southwest handles about 70% of the flights to and from BWI, so the best food choices were in their areas. Now there are more choices no matter which concourse your airline is leaving from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no better, only worse"

(United States)

This is the third time I have flown into Baltimore in 60 days. What is wrong with the baggage delivery? I have waited no less than 30 mins for my bags each time. This flight came in early, we were excited but it quickly fades when you have to deal with the incompetence of whoever does the simple job of taking bags off the plane and riding them to baggage claim with their carts. Why on earth does it take so long to load and unload bags? I will say again 30 minutes at least each time in 60 days. In Houston, stopped at restroom, got to bag claim and bags were there. Same for MCO. What is wrong with the much smaller airport at BWI? In 30 years of flying it is no better, only worse.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not for those who travel frequently"

(Canada)

This airport is not for those who travel frequently. They do not have enough restaurants and bars and the ones they have only seat a few people. The airport staff and the restaurant staff are incredibly rude as they don't know how to handle a lot of people. I have decided to only fly into and out of Washington because of these issues. For those who haven't seen top notch airports, the lack of quality may not be noticed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a good option to fly to/from"

(United States)

Baltimore Washington is a nice airport that looks like it had been renovated recently since the last time I had used this airport a few years ago. I do like this airport because it is clean. When I was parking I had a little bit of trouble finding the long term parking because there is not a lot of signage for the long term parking. The buses to the main terminal are frequent and convenient. When I got to the main terminal I checked in quickly and then got to go through the nightmare that was security. I spent one hour in the security line because there was only one security agent working in the entire security line. The line was not that long, but it moved so slowly. For a Friday afternoon, I was surprised that they did not have more people working security. I almost missed my flight due to the security line. Coming back to Baltimore on Sunday night was longer than I thought. When we landed in Baltimore there were delays at the gate so we waited on the plane about a half hour longer than we had to. When I got to baggage claim, there were a few flights there at the same time, so everyone had to share the same carousel. They quickly realized how crowded it was and then moved some flights to another baggage claim belt, which was nice. There was a little bit of trouble at the credit card kiosk at the long term parking, which was a little frustrating, but long term parking was cheap so I can't complain. Overall, besides security, BWI is a good option to fly to/from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"virtually no queues"

(United States)

It's been a while since I've used BWI, but I'd say they've done a nice job renovating it. There were virtually no queues as my flight departed at 6 am and returned around midnight. Some of the signs were not placed well, like the ones directing you to security and the parking lot bus waiting area. Overall, a nice, efficient airport that I wish was closer to where I live.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 36 Reviews