Austin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"surprised how filthy it was"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have traveled all over the world and have used some digusting mens rooms. Today, I felt like I entered a 3rd world men's room this morning. Had to clean my own toilet seat. My wife used the ladies room the same time. She was surprised how filthy it was. Someone should lose their job.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

"a pleasant airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Austin-Bergstrom is a pleasant airport. The lines at TSA were very mild while we were at this airport, and the design of the airport is open and clean. Check-in with Southwest was as easy as usual, staff were friendly. The seating at the gates was plentiful, something which is surprisingly uncommon across the US. However, food and shopping options seemed severely limited and the airport was undergoing construction.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Long delays due to technical difficulties"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Long delays due to technical difficulties at the airport. On my original day of departure, the Austin computers were down and the flight was expected to be delayed by 45 mins due to manual checking process. Since I was going to miss my Atlanta connection, I rebooked my flight for the next morning and stayed an extra night in Austin. The next morning the jetway was broken at my gate and the flight was delayed yet again for more than 45 mins. Both times, it seemed to take much longer than necessary to adjust to or fix these problems which is just unaccectable. Austin airport is currently not able to adapt to the increased traffic of this city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This is the worst airport ever"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport ever. As a business traveler and having just moved to Austin this year from Dallas, TX I never realized how spoiled I was living in Dallas and traveling from DFW. The city of Austin is in denial. This airport is so busy and doesn’t even have enough gates, not many direct flights, no services. Security lines horrible, traffic at drop off and pick up is a nightmare. With all the people moving in to Austin you would think that the city would expand the airport, expand highways and improve infrastructure. Unfortunately this city lacks major infrastructure. If you are thinking about moving to Austin think again. I am moving back due to this airport. This year has been nothing but living hell traveling weekly through this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"badly in need of expansion and modernization"

(United States)

Worst airport in USA. Outdated, poor set up, and not nearly enough seating. Very bad TSA security set up leads to long lines. For sure the worst food selections at typical rip off prices. On site parking is a joke if you have to take a bus to your car, either several buses when you don't need them or long lines when you do. Like the city of Austin and entire Austin area, this too has been mismanaged for years by clueless mayors and city councils. This airport is badly in need of expansion and modernization, and new management. Not a very good travel experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"long security lines"

(United States)

Austin is one of my least favorite airports in Texas. Long security lines. Limited seating at gates. No plugs to charge phones. But there are good barbecues and music if you have time to enjoy. The rental car facility is half way to Dallas. Rates are high. Cheaper to Uber than rent a car. Construction on highway at entrance to airport slows you down. Signage to rent a car area is poor and causes confusion. Best tip is to go through west side security. This is a perfect airport for Southwest flyers who want that cattle car experience like Love Field.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"process was very smooth"

(United States)

Flew in from Las Vegas to Austin-Bergstrom via Frontier Airlines with my fiancee. I had done my research on the airport and knew it was not like the other airports I'd experienced before (Vegas, LAX, Phoenix and JFK were all far bigger, and Kahului was much smaller). When we landed, other than an adventure to find the rental car facility (which is hidden above a parking garage across from the terminal, just in case you're headed that way soon), our process was very smooth. All we had was a carry-on, so no hassles with checked baggage. Everything in the airport was pretty clear, though I would hope they'd make some updates soon, as the city seems to be outgrowing this airport already. ABIA is smaller than almost any other big-city airport, but the layout is easy to follow for the most part. Checking back in for departure was something of a difficulty (but being a Sunday night, I expected no different). TSA was helpful, but lines were not clearly defined. Check-in kiosks for Frontier were hidden, but easy to use once we found them. Overall great experience, but this place needs to grow a bit more to fit its city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"found the airport clean and fresh"

(United States)

I found Austin Airport to be clean and fresh, however it did have crowded immigration and was rather small, other than that great.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2014
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Austin Airport customer review

(United States)

A lot of reviews for Austin—Bergstrom International Airport are outdated (it's been a long time since 2009 y'all) or simply have nothing to do with the airport, such as hotel shuttles or traffic. I will admit a bit of bias on my part since this is my hometown, but really it's one of the best mid-size airports in the country. Terminal Signs and Directions: the airport installed interactive screens that help with way-finding. They are useable, but kind of slow. Signage is abundant throughout the main terminal. Queueing Times: In July 2015, ABIA expanded its ability to handle passengers significantly with the opening of a new passenger screening and customs facility. It's significantly easier to access the eastern part of the terminal from check-in. Terminal Cleanliness: The terminal is kept rather clean, and recycling stations are abundant throughout the terminal. The sorted system is somewhat unnecessary given the city's switch in recycling policy, but they're well-used. Terminal Facilities: There's some funky art in the terminal, and not in a good way. That being said, the airport is a sleek, modern building that can be somewhat overtaxed at times, especially around festivals, but befitting of the city. The Admirals Club leaves something to be desired. Not enough outlets. Food and Beverages: Good to excellent. Mostly local companies. The reason I take off a star is because honestly sometimes I just want some disgusting, processed fast food, and ABIA doesn't really have that. Airport Shopping: Again, mostly local companies operating stores, which limits the selection to Austin-themed merchandise, with no real duty-free. It's nice but nothing remarkable. Airport WiFi Service: Okay this is probably my biggest sticking point. The city is a high-tech hub. We're world-renowned for our technology sector. The WiFi should not be limited to "Free for 30 minutes". The airport has been growing for about five years straight as of writing this review, with several record-breaking years in a row. There's always something new to check out, whether it's an art exhibit or a new destination or airline being added. We've had two international carriers come in and start highly successful routes in as many years. I'm hoping the airport can keep up with the momentum.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

Austin Airport customer review

I had several trips each quarter to AUS giving me a chance to figure out how to use the airport. First give yourself lots of time to get from your starting point to the airport by car as the roads in and around Austin are terrible - badly designed and poorly maintained with tremendous volumes of traffic. Second give yourself more time if you are on the first flights of the day as the check-in and TSA security cannot handle the large volumes first thing in the day. Third prepare to have some sort of strange interaction with the TSA as they exercise their improbable variant of "logic". Fourth eat before you go to the airport as the options inside the "secure" area are plentiful but of poor quality. Otherwise once you are inside the "sterile" area the airport is well-designed and I see others have mentioned the good massage spot near gate 13. The bathrooms are excellent. Unfortunately you frequently need something like a stiff drink and a massage to release the tension associated with the bad roads long lines and ridiculous TSA.
no
1 to 10 of 22 Reviews