Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 213 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"security lines were incredibly long"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Departure - Flew Auckland to LAX on business - Very disappointing. The security lines were incredibly long, no differentiation for priority passengers and only 2 security scanners open. Once through there was a food hall of perhaps 2-3 fast food outlets and 1 or 2 shops. Long walk to gate and once there virtually no seats. Lots of construction. Arrival was ok but again lots of construction and long lines for customs, food inspection etc. Unfortunately you don't have a choice but to go through this airport to visit NZ which is I guess why there is no incentive to make it even close to comparable airports but I expected more from what is a usually pragmatic and efficient country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shocking service Auckland"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I flew to Brisbane on the 28th July with a 17 month old infant. I was horrified at the distance my departure gate was to walk with infant. On arrival at destination staff were waiting with strollers. On leaving Brisbane Qantas the same amazing service. Stroller supplied and staff couldn’t be more helpful. Once back in NZ I asked for stroller as it was a long walk again. Staff laughed telling me to get mine of the carousel. Once again holding infant in my arms, had to walk for miles. Shocking service Auckland.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"just end up disappointed"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I use Auckland International all the time when I travel overseas with family. First of all the access, just getting out there is a dilemma, with all the continuous roadworks in the are the commute time is just stupid. I live on the shore so I use the Waterview tunnel which does reduce the travel time but when you do get out there it is so confusing just to find where to go because the layout is constantly changing. Once you do get inside and to the check-in hall and arrivals level, you get an immediate early 2000s feel with the ugly flooring and just the general feel of the airport [old] and even though it is so crowded that you constantly bump into peoples sholders it just seems disused. Checking in is also a challenge, the layout means the queues zig-zag all over the place and once you have dropped your bag you go upstairs to the departure (pre-security) level you just end up disappointed with the lack of restaurants and shops and the small area that they are situated in. Security on the way out is nice and quick and the staff are friendly [I have an NZ passport] but once you are through the struggle continues, the noise from the power tools was aggravating and there was very little space because of the closed off parts and shut shops, the rest is better but is a tight hodge podge which even though there is decent signage it makes it difficult to find your gate. I have found that boarding any aircraft is always slow at this airport. On the way back in the zig-zagging is terrible and the baggage claim has very bad signage as to what flight and where your bag is, security on the way out is always slow. I have used the domestic terminal and it is not as bad but is the original international airport building from the 1950s so it is extra tiny and if you fly regionally they do not scan your carry on bag which is weird. It is super cramped and the a.c is broken so it is too hot or freezing cold inside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"seems to be no contingency planning"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Auckland airport is third world to other Western airports, the fact that they are mid way through an upgrade is a joke, there is not enough security check ins, and when there was a security breach the place ground to a halt with people queuing out the doors. There seems to be no contingency planning or if there is it failed at the first hurdle. Auckland airport, go look at Singapore Changi and see how it should be done.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"an unpleasant experience"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The airport has not kept up with the massive growth in passengers and seems to be in a constant state of construction. This makes for an unpleasant experience. Food offerings are poor and basic and there is little to do at the airport while waiting. The airport is cramped and crowded and is a poor introduction to New Zealand.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"1 hour to pass through transit"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Having traveled long haul from San Francisco and arriving at 05:20, a queue of over 1 hour to pass through the transit facility was not the best way to welcome one to the Auckland airport. Obviously no thought had been given of how to process a large number of arriving passengers at this early time of the day. Airport staff were as helpful as a chocolate poker.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"had to queue up for an hour"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very bad arrangement for passengers in transit internationally. My husband and I flew in from San Francisco and were transitting in Auckland to Brisbane. There were so many people in transit but we had to go through an international connection with only two X-ray machines for security check. After such a long flight, we had to queue up for an hour to go through this check. Looking at the faces of the other passengers, nobody were happy with this. We have been travelling around the world and this had been our worst airport for transit. Suggest Auckland Airport review what other airports do, like Singapore, Dubai, Doha, San Francisco, etc and improve their efficiency for international connection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid this airport"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport like the plague. The journey between terminals is a joke as the Terminal bus does not run at the frequency signposted. The walk between terminals is in the open air. The International Terminal is a joke. You will frequently walk long distances to get to your gate with many of the travelators not working. Not every gate has an airbridge so you are bussed to your aircraft and then climb up steps to the aircraft. Anybody using a walking aid or who is disabled is not offered any assistance Appalling
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"terminal is a work in progress"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Auckland International Airport. What a joke. A labyrinth of over lit 'shopping opportunities' and oh so many over anxious sales people to negotiate after a somewhat grubby immigration entry point. Waiting, waiting for the boarding gate to be posted in an underserviced food hall area with few actual seats but opportunity to sit on a seriously uncomfortable and cold bench seat in the 'internet hub sunken lounge'. Really? Did the designer ever actually sit here? Did the designer ever consider that mobility challenged people might like to charge up their phones? Finally the boarding gate announcement - boarding now and you find that you have a 17 minute walk to the gate. And the walk way is grubby in far too many places. Yes. The terminal is a work in progress. It seems to be a terminally long process. This is New Zealand's major entry and exit point. What an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"last experience was appalling"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I was travelling overseas with my partner in February 2018, and it was our first time using international departures since the new automated check-in and security system was introduced. The first thing I noticed going past Departure was the airport staff who was collecting departure cards was shouting "I want your departure cards only". Upon when an elderly couple handed their documents (passport, flights and departure card) she again shouted angrily "I repeat, I only want your departure cards." This behaviour came across very rude and was very unlike the usual friendly and considerate service from Auckland Airport. When we got up to the security checks, we weren't aware that the system has changed to picking up a tray from the automatically rotating tray belt. The security staff snapped at me to tell me to take a tray from the rotating belt under the counter. It was a barking order and I was stunned. The tray belt was not at eye level and it was not unreasonable to be unfamiliar with the new system. Additionally my partner and I are in our late-20s and we are tech-savvy people who travel often. If we were struggling to find things I would shudder for older people or those who don't travel often. Overall Auckland Airport, you may have a brand spanking new airport and amazing interior, but the customer service has got to be lifted if tourism is going to be one of NZ's biggest markets. Our last experience was appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes