Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 209 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"an unpleasant experience"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The airport has not kept up with the massive growth in passengers and seems to be in a constant state of construction. This makes for an unpleasant experience. Food offerings are poor and basic and there is little to do at the airport while waiting. The airport is cramped and crowded and is a poor introduction to New Zealand.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"1 hour to pass through transit"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Having traveled long haul from San Francisco and arriving at 05:20, a queue of over 1 hour to pass through the transit facility was not the best way to welcome one to the Auckland airport. Obviously no thought had been given of how to process a large number of arriving passengers at this early time of the day. Airport staff were as helpful as a chocolate poker.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"had to queue up for an hour"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very bad arrangement for passengers in transit internationally. My husband and I flew in from San Francisco and were transitting in Auckland to Brisbane. There were so many people in transit but we had to go through an international connection with only two X-ray machines for security check. After such a long flight, we had to queue up for an hour to go through this check. Looking at the faces of the other passengers, nobody were happy with this. We have been travelling around the world and this had been our worst airport for transit. Suggest Auckland Airport review what other airports do, like Singapore, Dubai, Doha, San Francisco, etc and improve their efficiency for international connection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid this airport"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport like the plague. The journey between terminals is a joke as the Terminal bus does not run at the frequency signposted. The walk between terminals is in the open air. The International Terminal is a joke. You will frequently walk long distances to get to your gate with many of the travelators not working. Not every gate has an airbridge so you are bussed to your aircraft and then climb up steps to the aircraft. Anybody using a walking aid or who is disabled is not offered any assistance Appalling
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"terminal is a work in progress"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Auckland International Airport. What a joke. A labyrinth of over lit 'shopping opportunities' and oh so many over anxious sales people to negotiate after a somewhat grubby immigration entry point. Waiting, waiting for the boarding gate to be posted in an underserviced food hall area with few actual seats but opportunity to sit on a seriously uncomfortable and cold bench seat in the 'internet hub sunken lounge'. Really? Did the designer ever actually sit here? Did the designer ever consider that mobility challenged people might like to charge up their phones? Finally the boarding gate announcement - boarding now and you find that you have a 17 minute walk to the gate. And the walk way is grubby in far too many places. Yes. The terminal is a work in progress. It seems to be a terminally long process. This is New Zealand's major entry and exit point. What an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"last experience was appalling"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I was travelling overseas with my partner in February 2018, and it was our first time using international departures since the new automated check-in and security system was introduced. The first thing I noticed going past Departure was the airport staff who was collecting departure cards was shouting "I want your departure cards only". Upon when an elderly couple handed their documents (passport, flights and departure card) she again shouted angrily "I repeat, I only want your departure cards." This behaviour came across very rude and was very unlike the usual friendly and considerate service from Auckland Airport. When we got up to the security checks, we weren't aware that the system has changed to picking up a tray from the automatically rotating tray belt. The security staff snapped at me to tell me to take a tray from the rotating belt under the counter. It was a barking order and I was stunned. The tray belt was not at eye level and it was not unreasonable to be unfamiliar with the new system. Additionally my partner and I are in our late-20s and we are tech-savvy people who travel often. If we were struggling to find things I would shudder for older people or those who don't travel often. Overall Auckland Airport, you may have a brand spanking new airport and amazing interior, but the customer service has got to be lifted if tourism is going to be one of NZ's biggest markets. Our last experience was appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the worst I have experienced anywhere"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I agree with all the comments that Auckland airport is third world. I travel extensively and would rate Auckland at about 2 out of 10. The domestic terminal passed its used by date about 20 years ago, it is far too small and confusing if not a regular traveller. The transit between domestic and international is a shocker. The bus only runs every 20 minutes with no indication when it will arrive, the stop is also shared by buses for other routes at the domestic terminal which causes confusion and the waiting area is very unfriendly, partly open to the weather with very limited room. The so called walkway between terminals is the worst I have experienced anywhere, poorly laid out and marked and open to the weather most of the way. The footpath has been narrowed even more in some parts. Many times I have assisted foreign passengers trying to find their way. Improvements have been made to the international terminal, but navigating through the maze of duty free shops is a mission.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"my experience was not positive"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I have in the past provided reasonably positive reviews in regard to this airport. This review however will not be positive. I recently used this airport for a short business trip up to Singapore, my experience was not positive. Unloading the car in the rain due to no overhead cover, how hard would it be to cover the drop off area and pedestrian crossings? Departure and check-in were fine, but that is where the positivity ends. Having to snake around building works which seem to have been ongoing for literally decades now is not pleasant. If you have the misfortune to be leaving from one of the remote gates, as I was, leave with plenty of time. The travellators are of minimal use, so generally it is a long walk. Not great if you are of limited mobility. Once at the gate don’t expect a seat if it is a full flight or a large plane. There are limited facilities at the gate, a toilet and that is it. In the main terminal itself, airside, there are very limited refreshment options, even less seats, certainly away from the eateries unless you go to the gate early and jockey for position. Lounge facilities, particularly for Air NZ, are overcrowded and overheated. Upon return I had to battle my way through a building site and the duty free once more, not seeing a clear path to the immigration gates until right upon them. Then on down to the carousel, which is a right scrum. Into the overheated building site complete with scaffold (As it has been for some years now) that is MAF clearance. Once again understaffed so queueing is the norm. It all shouts underinvestment and cheapest solutions, which are not solutions. Having come in from Singapore Changi, it was a major disappointment to arrive in my home town to such a shambles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Pick up your game Auckland Airport"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Oh how I despise Auckland Airport. What's the worst thing about living in Auckland. Some would say traffic, some would say rain but those that travel would say having to go through Auckland Airport. Firstly car parking options suck, long term parking might as well be park n ride it is so far away from the terminal, you feel like you need a shuttle but alas there is none. Them you get to the terminal which seems totally empty until you got the chaos that is Air New Zealand check in. For some reason, every other airline seems to be processing passengers seemlessly but the Air New Zealand area is a complete new of people blocking walkways & looking completely lost. Once you check your bag you exit into the oversized luggage drop off & try to manoeuvre past surfboards & all the other oversized luggage waiting to be checked in. Security has improved although I don't think it's being used to it's ability. Long queues with empty bays at the far end or no containers to put your stuff in. And then the epic journey begins again, as if the walk from the car park wasn't bad enough, as you meander the construction maze. I don't even think the new construction will improve passenger journey's, it is just designed to keep you in show for as long as possible, too bad if you're running late for your flight, you've still got 3 km to get to the gate. Oh and if you need to pee, be careful of the automatic flushing toilets, they'll take any opportunity to flush with the slightest movement. Think I'll hold it for the flight next time. Now I'm one of the lucky ones, sitting in an overcrowded lounge waiting to board. It's the middle of winter, so people are all rugged up but sweating like pigs because either the heating is up or more likely the air conditioning doesn't work. If only there was an alternative to Auckland Airport, I'd happily drive to Hamilton if they could provide a better passenger experience than Auckland Airport. It's a shame that Aucklander's don't have a choice. Pick up your game Auckland Airport. You're an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Absolutely horrific"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I have tried contacting the airport and have even emailed Air NZ with no reply. I am absolutely astounded by the state of the carpets at the domestic terminal. I recently visited there and have a 13 month old baby that I couldn't even let crawl on the floor. The chewing gum and stains was unbelievable where ever I looked. Absolutely horrific. Embarrassing for tourists to say the least.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no