Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 230 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"is still in catch-up mode"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | DXB-AKL, 27/9/17; AKL-DXB, 12/10/17. Two different reviews here. For the inbound journey, the main difficulty was baggage collection, the baggage hall as it now stands was not designed for peak passenger loads of the sort Auckland is now handling (and a similar issue affects the domestic terminal, which I went through separately while in New Zealand). The passport screening was very quick, customs less so. Outbound, I was checked into my flight very quickly, and the rest of the process (border/security) was very prompt. The airport knows it has terminal capacity issues, but is still in catch-up mode.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
3/10

"Queuing, queuing, queuing"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Queuing, queuing, queuing! I don't know how this airport gets so many good ratings and rewards. It took us almost 2 (!) hours from the moment we left the plane until we finally reached the exit of the airport. We had to queue for 45 mins at immigration (only three counters were open) and another 30-45 mins at the agriculture inspection.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"usually a rather pleasant experience"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Departing at Auckland is usually a rather pleasant experience. Passport control and security are rather efficient. It never took me more than half an hour to pass through and it regularly takes less than 10-15 minutes. While waiting for the flight, the airport has a decent offer of shopping and eating opportunities.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"very bad experience"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Check in was a mission, helpers were unhelpful. Departure lounge was dirty, the toilets were filthy I went into four different cubicles to find a cleanish toilet! The food was disgusting and expensive. I had to ask for a cloth for me to clean our table. Service staff were sullen and sloppy. The duty free was more expensive (some things were double the price) than usual NZ shops. We had a 5 hour delay without any explanation from service staff or anything from the airline. The waiting and seating area was so uncomfortable and dirty. What is happening to NZ busiest airport? In my humble opinion its a disgrace! It doesn't need an upgrade, but a knock down and rebuild with new happy staff. Like myself, many of people I spoke to agreed, they just wanted to get out of there. Very bad experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

"Fast luggage delivery"

(France)

Unverified | 11th landing at this airport. Arrival from Seoul Incheon: immigration procedures took some time (15 mn) to check if passengers were bringing food into NZ. Fast luggage delivery. Take off to Noumea: check in procedures: a bit long but it depended on Air Calin. Shopping corner smaller than my previous visit in 2015, but contains enough shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"seems to be constantly playing catch up"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland Airport which I have used so many times in the past ten years seems to be constantly playing catch up. The airport is always increasing in size and making improvements but it seems like it is never big enough as passenger numbers keep surging. Even if more space is created for things like immigration and security what is the point when you are stuck in a queue for over twenty minutes waiting to get through security due to lack of security stations being open due to cost cutting in staff. The airport is an absolute joke when stores passed security are closing well before the last flights depart for the night. Most the staff are unhelpful and the only people willing to assist are the airports cleaners when looking for a place to fill a water bottle. Also the airport seems unclean in many places and the old gate lounges could do with a make over as well that with so many twin aisle aircraft now flying from Auckland may be its time to upgrade all the gates to dual air bridges to speed up boarding and disembarkation of planes. We live in 2017 and still there is only 45 minutes of free wifi at this airport which century are we in all airports around the world now are offering unlimited wifi for the convenience of it's users this clearly sets airports apart now. Making improvements to to the airport and modernizing it is all great but I think free wifi and more staff to ensure passengers are processed through immigration and security more swiftly are more important than the shops, this airport does not seem to care about its customers but rather it's revenue from tenants in its terminals.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"little improvement for all the inconvenience"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | I have been using Auckland airport at least monthly for the last ten years and am impressed with all the new shops I will never use but dining options post security are still rubbish as is the seating or lack of it. They are constantly working on area's but there seems little improvement for all the inconvenience and disruption it has caused. In July I noticed the departure security is next for the remodelling but if it's like all the changes they have made to arrivals over the years, it will not benefit any passengers, especially tourists. Fine if you want some tourist tat as a reminder of your holiday or a queue for a burger, hardly a reflection of the country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"could use a good clean up"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | My wife and me were travelling on SQ4282 (operated by Air New Zealand to Singapore). The departures area is really run down and could use a good clean up. Carpeting was grubby with bits of paper all over the place. We were very surprised again when over the intercom announcements there were only two languages used, English and Chinese. There were other nationalities travelling too. Why were there no announcements made in Maori, Hindi, Pacific Island languages, French etc. If you don't believe me go hear for yourself. Have we only started to cater for the Chinese customers? I find this to be very unfair. Luckily I speak English otherwise I would not have had a clue to what was being announced,Shameful. I hope Auckland Airport will seriously look into this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"not very large, but comfortable"

(China)

Verified Review | Auckland Airport is not very large, but comfortable. The restaurants are good. And the toilets are clean. The Wifi is helpful, but can only be used in 30 minute increments.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"everything got soaked"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | For a destination that receives over a metre of rain every year you would think that someone would have the common sense to provide a covered walkway from the airport to the short term covered parking garage. It was pouring when we arrived and everything got soaked just trying to get to the parking garage. Clothes, shoes, bags, bag contents the lot. Way to ruin a trip Auckland Airport. First Class destination without something as simple as a covered walkway to the parking garage. What a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no