Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 222 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"seems to be constantly playing catch up"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland Airport which I have used so many times in the past ten years seems to be constantly playing catch up. The airport is always increasing in size and making improvements but it seems like it is never big enough as passenger numbers keep surging. Even if more space is created for things like immigration and security what is the point when you are stuck in a queue for over twenty minutes waiting to get through security due to lack of security stations being open due to cost cutting in staff. The airport is an absolute joke when stores passed security are closing well before the last flights depart for the night. Most the staff are unhelpful and the only people willing to assist are the airports cleaners when looking for a place to fill a water bottle. Also the airport seems unclean in many places and the old gate lounges could do with a make over as well that with so many twin aisle aircraft now flying from Auckland may be its time to upgrade all the gates to dual air bridges to speed up boarding and disembarkation of planes. We live in 2017 and still there is only 45 minutes of free wifi at this airport which century are we in all airports around the world now are offering unlimited wifi for the convenience of it's users this clearly sets airports apart now. Making improvements to to the airport and modernizing it is all great but I think free wifi and more staff to ensure passengers are processed through immigration and security more swiftly are more important than the shops, this airport does not seem to care about its customers but rather it's revenue from tenants in its terminals.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"little improvement for all the inconvenience"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | I have been using Auckland airport at least monthly for the last ten years and am impressed with all the new shops I will never use but dining options post security are still rubbish as is the seating or lack of it. They are constantly working on area's but there seems little improvement for all the inconvenience and disruption it has caused. In July I noticed the departure security is next for the remodelling but if it's like all the changes they have made to arrivals over the years, it will not benefit any passengers, especially tourists. Fine if you want some tourist tat as a reminder of your holiday or a queue for a burger, hardly a reflection of the country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"could use a good clean up"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | My wife and me were travelling on SQ4282 (operated by Air New Zealand to Singapore). The departures area is really run down and could use a good clean up. Carpeting was grubby with bits of paper all over the place. We were very surprised again when over the intercom announcements there were only two languages used, English and Chinese. There were other nationalities travelling too. Why were there no announcements made in Maori, Hindi, Pacific Island languages, French etc. If you don't believe me go hear for yourself. Have we only started to cater for the Chinese customers? I find this to be very unfair. Luckily I speak English otherwise I would not have had a clue to what was being announced,Shameful. I hope Auckland Airport will seriously look into this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"not very large, but comfortable"

(China)

Verified Review | Auckland Airport is not very large, but comfortable. The restaurants are good. And the toilets are clean. The Wifi is helpful, but can only be used in 30 minute increments.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"everything got soaked"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | For a destination that receives over a metre of rain every year you would think that someone would have the common sense to provide a covered walkway from the airport to the short term covered parking garage. It was pouring when we arrived and everything got soaked just trying to get to the parking garage. Clothes, shoes, bags, bag contents the lot. Way to ruin a trip Auckland Airport. First Class destination without something as simple as a covered walkway to the parking garage. What a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"total embarrassment"

(New Zealand)

The queue for immigration for foreigners was hopeless (as a local no worries). Total embarrassment for a country that relies on tourism so much, and it is not like you don't know flight arrival and passenger number before hand. Who is in charge of this operation.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Staff seemed to be badly trained"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Two and a half hours getting through immigration and baggage. Staff seemed to be badly trained and not sure what they were doing. I missed my connecting flight. Immigration staff didn't seem to mind, clearly this is the normal thing for this airport. I have traveled all over the world and can safely say Auckland airport is the world's slowest.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"needs new infrastructure, not more shops"

(Australia)

Arrival was chaotic, no gate available. Bus to terminal took 30 minutes. Bags waiting by the the time we got to the terminal. Customs area in need of urgent upgrade, low ceilings, shabby finishes, third world in appearance. On departure, A380 leaving from gate 10 had inadequate room for passengers who were queued down the access hall. Obviously Auckland can't cope with increased passenger numbers and needs new infrastructure, not more shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"waited more than hour for bags"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Always terrible arrivals - waited more than hour for bags and the only two lines open for customs for many planes landed. This has been the case every arrival I have had over five visits in the past four years. Departures are more organised. Traffic worse than heavily populated Asian cities
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"use this terminal occasionally and think it's a disgrace"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Domestic Terminal - I use this terminal occasionally and think it's a disgrace. The largest cafe in the food area was crowded and noisy at 10am on a Wednesday morning, exacerbated by very low ceilings, no windows at all, and the constant barking of airline announcements that had to be loud to make themselves heard. I had a regional ticket, and while the regional waiting area at the other end of the terminal does at least have a high ceiling it is otherwise noisy, crowded and devoid of windows. I had time on my hands so walked back up the other end and went through security in order to use the waiting area for main-trunk fights. That was a more typical and acceptable airport experience until an airport worker turned up with a large vacuum cleaner and proceeded with a long and methodical clean of the gate floor, even though there were a number of other people waiting there. Surely most airports do such work after hours? So after a number of such visits I'm compelled to register my sentiments. I've used better terminals in third world countries. The 2 stars are for both airline and airport staff, who are on the other hand invariably friendly and helpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no