Vote Now  

Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 216 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"not very large, but comfortable"

(China)

Verified Review | Auckland Airport is not very large, but comfortable. The restaurants are good. And the toilets are clean. The Wifi is helpful, but can only be used in 30 minute increments.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"everything got soaked"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | For a destination that receives over a metre of rain every year you would think that someone would have the common sense to provide a covered walkway from the airport to the short term covered parking garage. It was pouring when we arrived and everything got soaked just trying to get to the parking garage. Clothes, shoes, bags, bag contents the lot. Way to ruin a trip Auckland Airport. First Class destination without something as simple as a covered walkway to the parking garage. What a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"total embarrassment"

(New Zealand)

The queue for immigration for foreigners was hopeless (as a local no worries). Total embarrassment for a country that relies on tourism so much, and it is not like you don't know flight arrival and passenger number before hand. Who is in charge of this operation.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Staff seemed to be badly trained"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Two and a half hours getting through immigration and baggage. Staff seemed to be badly trained and not sure what they were doing. I missed my connecting flight. Immigration staff didn't seem to mind, clearly this is the normal thing for this airport. I have traveled all over the world and can safely say Auckland airport is the world's slowest.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"needs new infrastructure, not more shops"

(Australia)

Arrival was chaotic, no gate available. Bus to terminal took 30 minutes. Bags waiting by the the time we got to the terminal. Customs area in need of urgent upgrade, low ceilings, shabby finishes, third world in appearance. On departure, A380 leaving from gate 10 had inadequate room for passengers who were queued down the access hall. Obviously Auckland can't cope with increased passenger numbers and needs new infrastructure, not more shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"waited more than hour for bags"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Always terrible arrivals - waited more than hour for bags and the only two lines open for customs for many planes landed. This has been the case every arrival I have had over five visits in the past four years. Departures are more organised. Traffic worse than heavily populated Asian cities
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"use this terminal occasionally and think it's a disgrace"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Domestic Terminal - I use this terminal occasionally and think it's a disgrace. The largest cafe in the food area was crowded and noisy at 10am on a Wednesday morning, exacerbated by very low ceilings, no windows at all, and the constant barking of airline announcements that had to be loud to make themselves heard. I had a regional ticket, and while the regional waiting area at the other end of the terminal does at least have a high ceiling it is otherwise noisy, crowded and devoid of windows. I had time on my hands so walked back up the other end and went through security in order to use the waiting area for main-trunk fights. That was a more typical and acceptable airport experience until an airport worker turned up with a large vacuum cleaner and proceeded with a long and methodical clean of the gate floor, even though there were a number of other people waiting there. Surely most airports do such work after hours? So after a number of such visits I'm compelled to register my sentiments. I've used better terminals in third world countries. The 2 stars are for both airline and airport staff, who are on the other hand invariably friendly and helpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"arrived and out within 30 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived and were out of Auckland airport within 30 minutes of getting off our international flight. E-immigration was superb and luggage was out quickly. Coming back transitted from Sydney to Los Angeles - transit security was quick Air New Zealand lounge was very busy but clean and food was good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poor performance for immigration and security check"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Poor performance for immigration and security check. It took about an hour to get through and process was poorly managed. As this happened early afternoon on Tuesday, I do not want experience this type of process during the morning or evening peak hour. Number of restaurants after security check and seating is disappointing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there was a lack of comfortable chairs"

(Australia)

Due to the lack of connection flights and very late arrival into Auckland and then lack of reasonable and affordable accommodation for 6 hours we were forced to wait it out at Auckland airport. There was a lack of comfortable chairs and quiet space to wait for our flight. The only area to wait is around the food court which was pretty average and lack of choice at that time of the morning and we were amongst a large number of other fellow travels with short/long waits. This airport lacks comfort unlike many other international airports around the world. There needs to be more comfortable chairs, free wifi and quiet area to wait. The lack of free wifi was really unacceptable in this day and age of good cheap wifi and the half and hour free was so slow it was not worth the effort. On departure we had a long walk to the departure gate, followed by an absolutely terrible bus trip to the aircraft. The bus driver packed nearly the whole aeroplane passengers into a under ventilated bus it was claustrophobic hot and very slow trip to the aircraft. I was very distressed and hyperventilating on the bus but couldn't do anything about it. We travel a lot to Asia and Europe and we have had faster less crowded trips to aircraft so there is no excuse. Again the worldwide airport, lack of areo bridges at the airport requires you to constantly walk up and down stairs to get to tarmac level, with hand luggage which by the way has wheels for ease of use the question is why bother about a fancy multistory terminals. We arrived on the aircraft hot and sweaty and flustered there is a need for more aerobridges and if not more escalators to the tarmac level and multiply bus trips to the aircraft for the customer comfort.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no