Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 200 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Pick up your game Auckland Airport"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Oh how I despise Auckland Airport. What's the worst thing about living in Auckland. Some would say traffic, some would say rain but those that travel would say having to go through Auckland Airport. Firstly car parking options suck, long term parking might as well be park n ride it is so far away from the terminal, you feel like you need a shuttle but alas there is none. Them you get to the terminal which seems totally empty until you got the chaos that is Air New Zealand check in. For some reason, every other airline seems to be processing passengers seemlessly but the Air New Zealand area is a complete new of people blocking walkways & looking completely lost. Once you check your bag you exit into the oversized luggage drop off & try to manoeuvre past surfboards & all the other oversized luggage waiting to be checked in. Security has improved although I don't think it's being used to it's ability. Long queues with empty bays at the far end or no containers to put your stuff in. And then the epic journey begins again, as if the walk from the car park wasn't bad enough, as you meander the construction maze. I don't even think the new construction will improve passenger journey's, it is just designed to keep you in show for as long as possible, too bad if you're running late for your flight, you've still got 3 km to get to the gate. Oh and if you need to pee, be careful of the automatic flushing toilets, they'll take any opportunity to flush with the slightest movement. Think I'll hold it for the flight next time. Now I'm one of the lucky ones, sitting in an overcrowded lounge waiting to board. It's the middle of winter, so people are all rugged up but sweating like pigs because either the heating is up or more likely the air conditioning doesn't work. If only there was an alternative to Auckland Airport, I'd happily drive to Hamilton if they could provide a better passenger experience than Auckland Airport. It's a shame that Aucklander's don't have a choice. Pick up your game Auckland Airport. You're an embarrassment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Absolutely horrific"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I have tried contacting the airport and have even emailed Air NZ with no reply. I am absolutely astounded by the state of the carpets at the domestic terminal. I recently visited there and have a 13 month old baby that I couldn't even let crawl on the floor. The chewing gum and stains was unbelievable where ever I looked. Absolutely horrific. Embarrassing for tourists to say the least.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"It's not professional at all"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I live in New Zealand and I work at Auckland airport and I have to say I'm disgusted at the customer service I've witnessed from staff at Auckland Airport. Since when is it ok for staff on the frontline to chew bubble gum which is nearly all the staff you come across. Passenger service staff Menzies - we witnessed girls chewing gum and refusing to bring wheelchairs right down to the plane exit because "they're too heavy to push" making the passengers hold a side rail and walk up while the staff were giggling and chewing gum. It's disgusting. The customer service people in the blue shirts that walk around the international terminal spend half their days on their cell phones, chewing gum and hiding round where people can't find them. Asking one of them for help you'll get a laugh, a giggle and an open mouth full of gum to answer you. It's not professional at all. The staff who sit in the stalls to allow people to hire cars are all chewing gum like cows. I worked in Australia where any customer service job if you were found chewing gum you were told to get rid of it immediately because its not a good look. These people in customer service are meant to be representing our countries doorway in and yet compared to other international airports around the world we are the most unprofessional, untidy, rudest of all. The airport is dirty, if you sit near the KFC at the international part you can see all the rubbish and dust that is collecting up against the side rail where no one can reach. The carpets are filthy, the walls are horrible. It's embarrassing. Auckland airport bosses need to have a good hard look at the quality and standards of their airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very helpful and cheerful staff"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Departure. Check-in was smooth with very helpful and cheerful staff. The airside terminal has gone through a modern refit, and automated gates were installed for a faster passport control procedure (NZ only), airport is still under construction getting a modern refit, many duty-free shops, but were low on food shops as it was quite late at night. Gates were well kept, and were short to walk to. Signage, was well illuminated and everywhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"nice, modern layout"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Nice, modern layout. Check in and security were quick and efficient. Overall a good little international airport. Food was pricey. But that is to be expected. The only thing I didn’t like was the tendency for NZ airports to only open gates 15 minutes before depart. Thereby creating a ridiculous amount of queuing and generally ruining an otherwise relaxing experience. This is the 2nd airport I’ve reviewed in NZ. And both suffer the same silly fault. Hopefully this review will get through to someone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"So much congestion"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Horrible airport. Long term parking is at least 1 km walk, might as well use the cheaper Park n ride. So much congestion, hard to manoeuvre around, wouldn't want to be late for a flight, because once you've passed the congestion and passport control you have another couple of km to walk to the gates. The toilets are evil, automatic flush hours off every time you move, splashing your butt. No where to hang your handbags or jacket, adds to the grossness of the toilet experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"hope to have a better airport in future"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I have worked at many airports, disappointed to say Auckland airport is considered the worst. 1) Departure and Arival at the same place, lots of congestion and frustration to passengers. Should have 2 separate points. 2) Passengers drop off and pick up not covered, how do you expected to get off your vehicle, pick up the bag and have your kids and baby out in the rain, really stupid design. International terminal, passengers have to roll their stuff to the departure point to have someone to pick. 3) I am not sure if the airport operators understand the term “passengers experience”, Changi airport experience is 25 minutes from the time you step off the aircraft to a taxi, that means passing through duty free, immigration and customs clearance and taxi queue, plus all under one roof. 4) Airport is understaffed and too many part-timers and casual workers, should have more energetic and customer driven team. 5) Interesting that most airport’s can be a greenfield or brown field project and don’t go over on 24 months (ones that I worked on) but our Auckland project is about I think 24 years. My two cents comments, hope to have a better airport in future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an embarrassment and offensive"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Charter coach driver on behalf of Air NZ following a flight cancellation 1pm from Rotorua to Christchurch. I and my employer are unaware of changes to the coach/taxi access layout and booms. Phone inquiry attempts fruitless. Can't find info needed on a website. Staff management staff on the forecourt are less than pleasant, an embarrassment and offensive, to me and my 20 American tour party! I will not return.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customs experience was shocking"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | The customs experience was shocking! Compared to 15 other countries that we traveled through, Auckland airport was the worst! Had to go through customs to catch a domestic flight. Had what should have been more than enough time. Yet there was only two staff on baggage control servicing five queues, and they were more interested in chatting than checking the bags of those waiting to get through to connecting flights. This Airport has no reason for being so badly understaffed, and it seems to be the rule not the exception. Additionally, the customs staff seem to get some kind of satisfaction out of making people wait. Definitely no apologies were made, and there was no visible attempt to avoid conversation to routinely check bags. Overall, the staff were bullish, rude, and incompetent. There conduct made me feel ashamed to be a New Zealander.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"facilities available were superb"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is an airport experiencing extraordinary growth and has quite some construction going on. With all that, the facilities available were superb, new duty free area is truly world class and love the vision for the airport. Well done Auckland Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes