Vote Now  

Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 210 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"use this terminal occasionally and think it's a disgrace"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Domestic Terminal - I use this terminal occasionally and think it's a disgrace. The largest cafe in the food area was crowded and noisy at 10am on a Wednesday morning, exacerbated by very low ceilings, no windows at all, and the constant barking of airline announcements that had to be loud to make themselves heard. I had a regional ticket, and while the regional waiting area at the other end of the terminal does at least have a high ceiling it is otherwise noisy, crowded and devoid of windows. I had time on my hands so walked back up the other end and went through security in order to use the waiting area for main-trunk fights. That was a more typical and acceptable airport experience until an airport worker turned up with a large vacuum cleaner and proceeded with a long and methodical clean of the gate floor, even though there were a number of other people waiting there. Surely most airports do such work after hours? So after a number of such visits I'm compelled to register my sentiments. I've used better terminals in third world countries. The 2 stars are for both airline and airport staff, who are on the other hand invariably friendly and helpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"arrived and out within 30 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived and were out of Auckland airport within 30 minutes of getting off our international flight. E-immigration was superb and luggage was out quickly. Coming back transitted from Sydney to Los Angeles - transit security was quick Air New Zealand lounge was very busy but clean and food was good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poor performance for immigration and security check"

(Finland)

Verified Review | Poor performance for immigration and security check. It took about an hour to get through and process was poorly managed. As this happened early afternoon on Tuesday, I do not want experience this type of process during the morning or evening peak hour. Number of restaurants after security check and seating is disappointing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there was a lack of comfortable chairs"

(Australia)

Due to the lack of connection flights and very late arrival into Auckland and then lack of reasonable and affordable accommodation for 6 hours we were forced to wait it out at Auckland airport. There was a lack of comfortable chairs and quiet space to wait for our flight. The only area to wait is around the food court which was pretty average and lack of choice at that time of the morning and we were amongst a large number of other fellow travels with short/long waits. This airport lacks comfort unlike many other international airports around the world. There needs to be more comfortable chairs, free wifi and quiet area to wait. The lack of free wifi was really unacceptable in this day and age of good cheap wifi and the half and hour free was so slow it was not worth the effort. On departure we had a long walk to the departure gate, followed by an absolutely terrible bus trip to the aircraft. The bus driver packed nearly the whole aeroplane passengers into a under ventilated bus it was claustrophobic hot and very slow trip to the aircraft. I was very distressed and hyperventilating on the bus but couldn't do anything about it. We travel a lot to Asia and Europe and we have had faster less crowded trips to aircraft so there is no excuse. Again the worldwide airport, lack of areo bridges at the airport requires you to constantly walk up and down stairs to get to tarmac level, with hand luggage which by the way has wheels for ease of use the question is why bother about a fancy multistory terminals. We arrived on the aircraft hot and sweaty and flustered there is a need for more aerobridges and if not more escalators to the tarmac level and multiply bus trips to the aircraft for the customer comfort.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"found the whole layout a bit chaotic"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | This used to be a really good airport in my opinion, but each time I go to the International Terminal I like it less. Checking in at the machines was fine, as was using the e-gate to get quickly through security, but the facilities after security are just not good enough. All I wanted was a decent coffee - but there were only 2 places open in the main area (at 8am, not including BK) and the lines were horrific. I discovered another place down by my gate when it was too late. Bathrooms were marginal in terms of cleanliness and I generally found the whole layout a bit chaotic and not very appealing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"ran relatively smoothly"

(New Zealand)

I've passed through this airport a number of times now, most recently, in October when visiting Australia. It was fine, ran relatively smoothly for departure and arrival. Shopping's good, toilets a bit smelly on occasion (but nothing too offensive), food and drink options are plentiful (again, during peak flight times, difficult to get seated - but that's the same at every airport). Queuing at immigration was no worse than any other airport I've been to. Could do with the renovations being completed a little more speedily though and maybe upping the free wifi to 90 mins.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"had to sit on the tarmac for about 25 minutes"

(Australia)

Arrived at 5.05am from Melbourne. The plane had to sit on the tarmac for about 25 minutes whilst a ladder was located and brought to the plane to alow the 296 passengers to disembark. Many of the passengers were complaining about the fact we had to wait for a ladder to be located and brought over to the plane. Finally after about a hour wait we embarked onto waiting buses so we could be ferried to the building. The baggage was already being loaded at the baggage claim. The passport lines were not too bad with the e-passports available for over 12s. Getting through quarantine relatively fast. The building was nice in parts but then very tired in others. Pretty average terminal building really.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"poorly connected to the domestic airport"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Auckland Airport international terminal is poorly connected to its domestic terminal. I had to walk 450 metres in the rain because it wasn't completely sheltered. There wasn't much going-on. Looks ordinary, short queues at the immigration counters and that's it. Free WiFi was a stingy 30 minutes only. Luckily I had unlimited WiFi at the Air New Zealand Lounge. Not enough seats at the departure lounge - I had to sit on the window ledge!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"disgusted with this place and the staff"

(Australia)

Arrived from Melbourne with my 2 yr old along with being 5 months pregnant to visit family. Waited for over 1hr 20min for baggage carousel. There was not one single staff member around to ask for help to lift my bags, and when I did see staff, they were too busy chatting to each other in the corner, not phased at all by the busyness of the place. I and my son were in tears by the time we got to customs, who were very rude and unfriendly, hard to believe in NZ of all places! They didn't even offer to help lift my bags onto the X-ray machine either. Absolutely disgusted with this place and the staff.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"wish I had other options"

(New Zealand)

One word: Shambolic. Arrived into Auckland on an Air NZ flight from US. Landed on time and then sat on the tarmac and waited for a gate before being deplaned at a remote stand and then bussed in. Memories of Heathrow chaos at T3 came flooding back and it just got worse from there! The arrivals hall was complete pandemonium, trying to beat a path through the masses to get to collect bags off carousel 5. Took 2 hours from landing to exiting arrivals. The CEO and board of this airport should be dragged out and made to front the very people and airlines who pay their salaries. This airport has gone out and marketed itself to all these airlines to commence flying to it. That's great to have all these flying options from my hometown but they've really got to invest in the infrastructure ahead of the new capacity rocking up. And they haven't. They've failed miserably and now need to urgently start construction of the new international terminal and runway we've been promised for years now. Wish I had other options.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no