Top 100 Airlines  

Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 213 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"unfriendly, uninterested, rude"

(United States)

I am an international traveler and have visited hundreds of airports. I live in Atlanta and I need to provide some feedback. The people working at the airport from TSA to the airlines to the food service workers need an attitude adjustment. The most unfriendly, uninterested, rude, and unhappy employees I have seen anywhere. This is not a welcoming place for visitors or residents. They mumble, make no eye contact or in the case of TSA bark at you like drill sergeants. You appear to be an interruption to their social activities or phones when seeking service. Hard to believe that Newark is more pleasant than Atlanta. How exactly does TSA scheduling happen? The flight and passenger volume is known well in advance but there are never enough lanes open, or they are disorganized like it's the first time they have ever screened passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"virtually no line for immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Normally I allow at least an hour and a half at this airport for the immigration control, collecting and then handing back in luggage then going through security (although you have just got off of a plane.) This time things have changed, there was virtually no line for immigration, the use of machines to take your fingerprints and photo worked well, only three people in front of us to see the Immigration Officer, no wait at security, total process only took about 30 minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"complete shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Saturday 7th May, complete shambles. 2 hours to get through passport control. Only 3 booths manned for international visitors, the American residents arriving had 4 and then 5 to clear their lines. We were initially told we couldn't use the automated gates, then once the americans had all cleared we could use them, then had to proceed to a slower queue due to the automated machines putting crosses through almost every other persons approval slip. Yet again only 3 people manning booths, with 4 others stood around waiting for the americans to be process when the next flight came in. Why they couldn't move to a booth and speed up the queues is beyond me, and then to add insult to injury everytime an americans approval slip was crossed they they got put to the front of our queue. Needless to say we missed our flight and had to rush through from terminal F to A for the next flight, we managed with 15 mins to spare.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"not good enough"

(Spain)

Atlanta has to be the worse airport in the world for transit. We landed there from Mexico with 1 hour 45 minutes to connect to our Virgin flight to London. Although we had an ESTA we were put in an immigration queue with about 50 other people and just 3 open desks. After standing there for 20 minutes and going nowhere I told the staff organising the queue that we had an ESTA and time was ticking for our connection. She just shrugged and said if you miss the flight you will just have to take the next one. Not acceptable, so I found another staff member and asked to go to the front of the queue, she said not without asking everyone individually if that was ok - seriously? I just stood at the top and shouted at everyone - got no objections so tagged on to another queue at the desk. After another 15 minutes he processed us as visitors to the USA taking a photo and finger prints. We then had to run round, find our bags, get through customs, put the bags another carousel and then join another great big queue to go through security. We had walked less than a 100 yards from start to finish so why we had to go through security again is beyond me. We then had to run downstairs for the transit train from Terminal E to Terminal F where a guy from Virgin was waiting at the top of the escalator for us and radioed the gate that we were on the way as 5 more minutes and we would have been offloaded. Talk about a stressful and totally unnecessary performance just to transit through an airport. Really not good enough for this day and age - bad organisation, rude and useless staff. I've never had to deal with such a badly organised flight connection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

I would avoid Atlanta airport at all costs. I missed my connecting flights both ways because of the sheer incompetence and indifference of the staff. More than 300 non-US passengers had to be processed at immigration on the outward journey. This took 3 hours standing in a queue because staff just stood around chatting. After an hour they half-heartedly began filtering people depending on the documentation they held. Announcements were made so incoherently that they could not be heard. Some of the staff processing travellers through the finger and eye recognition channels were unbelievably rude and treated us like simpletons. On our return connection through Baton Rouge we were also delayed because of problems at Atlanta which resulted in missed connections and baggage that that could not be tracked. Atlanta is a very large airport but, on the basis of my experience, the infrastructure cannot sustain its capacity and customer numbers. I was extremely disappointed - as someone who had not flown since 1983 I was very apprehensive but had coped much better than expected with the flights (KLM and Delta). My experiences of Atlanta airport soured my overall memories. There is a very serious need for staff training in use of initiative and basic good manners.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"frustrated people everywhere"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Arrived with Delta Air Lines on April 23 at around 1pm, in transit to Fort Lauderdale, departure at 3pm. We had two bags checked in at Panama City, tagged for the final destination. We are non-US citizens, we do have a valid ESTA since a previous visit. On arrival we were directed to a "first-time-ESTA" queue because of overload of the correct queue. We were over 100 persons in queue - only one (1) employee serving at the roundabout 20 parallel control points. The queue hardly advanced, frustrated people everywhere. After 1.5 hrs it was our turn. We hurried on, but were told to pick up our checked-in baggage and drop it at another location. We then entered another endless queue for security check. By the time we were thru, it was 3.30, our plane was gone. A nightmare. We do not mind the security rules, but we hate being disrespectfully treated.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"2h 15m to clear immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Georgia is lovely place but what is wrong with Atlanta airport? 1 plane load of people in the non-US citizens queue took 2 hours 15 mins to clear immigration. 2 people on immigration so laid back I was amazed. There were hardly any people at the airport. Then we could not find our baggage because despite speaking to someone before we went through immigration he misdirected us to the wrong concourse. In the end we were misdirected twice. The attendant by baggage reclaim was aghast that we had been in the airport for 2 hours. Then on our return the same thing. They literally take hours to check in a few people. Do these poor souls get any training? If they do it not for this job. The signs make no sense.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very few staff"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived on time giving 1hr 45mins to get connection. Queue for non us citizens was out of the hall and down the corridor. Very few staff and explaination is that it's like this everyday. Big number of travellers missing connections. Queue for immigration was over 2hrs then queue to rebook flight and pay for hotel for the night. Had a day in Atlanta, good people, can't say the same about airport management.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"extremely easy to navigate"

(United States)

I have to say that for an airport as huge as ATL it is extremely easy to navigate and change planes in a very short time period. I was also incredibly impressed with our arrival process through immigration and customs. There were hundreds of travelers arriving at the same time and we were all processed very quickly in no more than about 20 minutes through immigration and customs and then another 15 minutes or so through security. Staff were all pleasant and welcoming. The whole process was a breeze. Very good free WiFi as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"good signage"

(United Kingdom)

Travelling from Punta Cana to Las Vegas via Atlanta on Delta. Good signage on arrival at the airport showing separate lanes for US citizens and all others. Staff member standing below the signs shouting 'here for US citizens and over there for all others' - presumably for those who cannot read. Immigration hall for non-US with lots of booths but only 2 manned. One family dared to step over the yellow line and this was the trigger for the immigration officer from the other booth (50% of the workforce) to leap out of his booth and start shouting 'this is not gonna work, this is not gonna work' pointing at the yellow line. A simple,'excuse me could you please step back a little' would have sufficed. The other immigration official seemed mildly amused (or embarrassed). We were lucky that our connecting flight was in the same E concourse or it may have been a rush with a 90 min connection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no