Airline of the Year  

Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 243 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"This was such a colossal mess"

(United States)

The new international terminal is a joke. There's no overnight parking at the international terminal, the only way is to park at one of the other lots and take a shuttle. On our recent flight(s) we had to park at the domestic terminal, go through security there and board our flight. We talked to 3 or 4 airport employees that were unable to help. On our return flight we came out in the international terminal, on the other side of the airport from where we had to park. There was no signage indicating where to park, the international terminal isn't even on the map of the airport on Hartsfield's website. They built it in 2012, five years is enough time to update your website. That said, if you're flying internationally, you need to add an additional hour to your arrival time to park, find a shuttle, wait in line, get on the shuttle and to the airport. This was such a colossal mess I'd drive to Birmingham or Columbia just to take the airport there and not have to deal with Hartsfield.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will avoid Atlanta Airport at all costs"

(United States)

Verified Review | From security to TSA to a "customer service rep" at the gates, every single encounter was rude. No one was willing to help. I arrived at my gate early. I saw a long line of people trying to board a flight that was leaving only thirty minutes before mine was to board. I couldn't get anyone to tell me if my gate had changed. No one would help because I wasn't on the flight they were handling. No one at another gate, no one at the gate I was at. They ended up changing the gates like I suspected. Security had attitude, TSA had attitude and the lady at American Airlines gate was the worst! I will avoid Atlanta Airport at all costs from this day forward.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"herded through line after line"

(United States)

This was my second time going through customs at Atlanta. We have vowed that our next trip will go through another airport. Never have we experienced such a bad TSA and customs experience as in Atlanta. We were herded through line after line. With employees yelling at us what to do. No smiles, no other talking. Move forward, passport opened to picture page, constant yelling. Then you get to the check points, they have plenty just no one manning them! All the people and only 2 check points. They definitely need to hire more. The worst experience! Warm, tired and treated like herded cattle. Next trip, definitely not through Atlanta.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never seen such a chaotic airport"

(United Kingdom)

Horrendous. Worst airport we have ever encountered. Arrived in from the DR to transit through to Paris and we missed our flight due to the huge immigration and security queues. Nobody cared when we told them we needed to be expedited as we were going to miss an international flight. Never seen such a chaotic airport as we travel a lot. We will never transit through here again. We had 3 hours and that wasn't even enough to pass security and immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"unpleasant, unsmiling, shouting instructions"

(United States)

This is the first time I have felt motivated to write a review about an airport, with the hope that some Airport officials might read it. I have to say I agree with others (arriving from overseas) that the lines are very long and the staff, while seemingly doing their job, come across as unpleasant, unsmiling, shouting their instructions. Like others, we had a two hour window and of course we missed our connecting flight. In our case, we were coming from Madrid, and transferring to Memphis, where we live. Personally, I don't understand the purpose of having to collect one's baggage, and then re-check it. I don't believe that European airports make you do this. If this step could be eliminated, in other words if I could check my baggage in Madrid and not have to see it again until Memphis, the whole process would be a lot speedier, I understand this may not be possible with smaller airports where there is no customs and border patrol, but many airport (including Memphis) are so-called "international" airports and ought to be able to do this.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"crammed into endless lines"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Never have I seen such a shambolic process and never anywhere in the world have I met such surly and rude officials. Hundreds and hundreds of passengers crammed into endless lines moving at a snails pace. Most of these people had connections and from the fuming and disgruntled comments from just about everyone, it was clear virtually all missed their connections. With hundreds of tired passengers queueing patiently and growing increasingly anxious as it dawned on them that despite having stopover times of over 3 hours they were not going to make their connections. Just imagine that. In that short time period one Sunday afternoon literally hundreds and hundreds of passengers had their travel plans ruined. What was truly astonishing was the fact that the truly miserable and obnoxious officials seemed to somehow relish the chaos they were causing. Throughout most of this time only about 4 booths were operational with most standing unoccupied. In our case, my family had 3 and a half hours between flights but we still missed our onward connection. I personally was led like a criminal to a locked room with several others in order to answer questions regarding something which "showed up" on their computer system. The Officer who spoke at me (at not to) clearly had problems understanding the system and eventually I was told that there was a glitch in the system and was free to go. Needless to say no hint of an apology. Having just retired after 30 years in the Police Force I am a staunch supporter of offialdom and of Police and Customs everywhere but I have to say I was astonished at the attitude of the Officers I met and the general shambolic system at Atlanta. One place in the world I will never ever return to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"signage was awful"

(United States)

Verified Review | Worst airport for customs and border. Interminable lines - took more than 2 hours to get through and then had no idea where to go for connecting flights. All airport staff had no idea either. Signage was awful and mostly non-existent. I could not count how many people were complaining of missed connections - never again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"some serious work is needed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Probably the worst airport experience I have had and I have been to a few dozen airports in my life across Asia, Europe and even Africa. The queue at the border is mind boggling, it appears they want passengers to miss connections. Some serious work is needed, I'll do everything to avoid the spot in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"long and slow lines"

(United States)

Verified Review | Terrible long and slow lines operated by TSA people. We are USA citizens and were not able to make it from flight Bonair to Atlanta to Omaha for 2 hours. Missed our flight as many other transit passengers, had to pay for night in hotel. TSA people worked extremely slow and seemed to enjoy holding hundreds of people without moving while letting others who arrived later to go ahead. They would call "Older than 70 yrs" to go forward but ot was big group of men in their 40s. TSA people just liked to be bosses. I asked to move us ahead when we had 15 min till next flight and long walk, all I heard was "everybody has flight in 5 minutes". The terminal had no air conditioning, people are sweaty, TSA knew about delays and didnt care to call gates about that. I missed my Sunday job in Omaha and lost $150. Hotel was $99. I am rating this service 1 because of a Delta lady who was nice to rebook our tickets for next day. Otherwise I would rate it 0. We had no chance to try food or anything. It took 1 hour to find hotel. All those promising ads on terminal wall were joke.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Worst wait times"

(United States)

Worst wait times as always at Atlanta Hartsfield Airport. It takes more than 1 hour even for the US citizens to clear through immigration. Homeland security head must review the wait times and inconvenience caused to people traveling back from long flights. When it was TSA who was slow at Atlanta airport last year it was in news and immediate corrrections were made. Homeland security should take corrective actions immediately on this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no