Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 263 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"no signs for rental car dropping"

(Germany)

Approaching the airport by rented car I see signs only to National and International Departures, no signs for rental car dropping. As I had an international flight I follow the signs to International departures and need to learn there that the car drop off is on the other side. That cost me at least 30 minutes and I was lucky to be there well ahead of time. From rental car drop off it was a 10 minute quiet uncomfortable trip on a mini bus with a hidden Formula 1 driver behind the steering wheel. The check in area is spacious and very clean, however very limited shops and restaurants and this area. Check in was efficient and friendly. Security check was a bit less efficient but still ok. Departure areas have a nice central area with several shops and a food court upstairs. Choice of food was good, prices ok for an airport. At the gate there have been plenty of seats and also some convenience store Signage is clear. Can recommend that airport (international terminal), just make sure if you have a rental car to appear early enough.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"plain lazy and so very unorganized"

(United States)

Not Verified | The power went out as soon as we got off the plane. Came back on for 15 seconds, long enough for us to read what gate we needed to go to for our next flight, arrived at 1.00, was supposed to have left at 2.10pm. At 4.00pm an employee came out and told us that the entire airport was without power and they should have it fixed in 2 to 4 hours. It came back on at 11.15pm. the employees were nowhere to be found to find out what was going on. We were stuck there for 15.5 hours with an employee coming thru 5 times with hot bottles of water, small bags of peanuts and pretzels. Thank goodness for chick-fil-a for the warm chicken sandwiches! My daughter waited in line for 3 hours with only one employee working to tell us there was no flights! They canceled our flights without telling us, didn't even try to rebook us. We missed our cruise because this airport is just plain lazy and so very unorganized. I had to rent a rental car and drive 6 hours home. Finally got our luggage 3 days later! Will never ever go back to that airport and will warn others not to go as well!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the most unprepared airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This has to be the most unprepared airport in the country. Not only are the TSA rude as hell but no one knows what is going on. Out of all Delta take first place in the we don’t care about the passengers, we just want you money. ATL is the worst airport in the country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has to be the most unprepared airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This has to be the most unprepared airport in the country. Not only are the TSA rude as anything but no one knows what is going on. Out of all Delta take first place in we don’t care about the passengers, we just want your money. ATL is the worst airport in the country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Complete nonsensical nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport design I have ever seen and I have traveled to over 30 countries and at least 20 states. The rental car agencies are about 5 miles away from the terminal, and you'll spend about half of that walking and going up and down multiple escalators, and the other half taking two separate shuttles. Complete nonsensical nightmare that I never will go out of my way to avoid. I'm even writing this review on my sixth escalator ride after just completing the two shuttle rides.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"something that needs to be addressed"

(United States)

Verified Review | I'm an 18 year disabled veteran and during my recent travels through Atlanta the customs team was without a doubt the worst I've ever dealt with in my life! I use a CPAP machine due to my OSA (Obstructive Sleep Apnea) and on my return transit through Atlanta customs I was treated like a common criminal. I know the customs protocols because I'm still customs certified. Before I went through I allowed a flight crew to get in front of me to expedite their process. The TSA customs agents are very belligerent and unprofessional I can understand the type of job they do on a day to day basis. But, since they deal in a profession that requires you to have interpersonal skills it really leaves something to be desired! My machine was set aside and the agent I asked as to why. Initially she didn't give me an explanation she just said I'll get to your situation in the order in which I receive it in a gruff manner. As a disabled veteran who served his country I truly feel that this is something that needs to be addressed ASAP! We are supposed to be the greatest nation in the world we should set the gold standard!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"floored by TSA disrespect"

(United States)

Verified Review | I am a frequent business traveler, using Atlanta airport as a home base and flying around USA and occasionally outside US. I am absolutely floored by the TSA disrespect in Atlanta compared to any other airport. It's a mess! Travelers are treated like cattle in chutes with TSA shouting at us. The new bin process to wait in a queue while bins pass before us is complete chaos. My belongings get separated and I now have greater risk of items being taken because I can't get through the screen to collect items. I now have to wait for a second bin to be allowed to pass into the bin screen lane. Throughout this process TSA are very very rude! They must truly hate their jobs. In contrast at other airports TSA are remarkably professional, courteous and helpful. What's wrong with TSA in Atlanta? It all starts with upper leadership to shape the work culture and attitudes of staff. Leadership should not tolerate workers who disrespect travelers. We are their customers. Atlanta Airport TSA - get it together!! This situation is deplorable and must change! I am a leader and know how to motivate, coach and hire staff who do excellent work. Get new leadership in TSA so this culture changes for the positive!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a very pleasant surprise"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | It has been many years since we last flew into Atlanta, and it was with some trepidation that we flew into Hartsfield with Virgin Atlantic this time. The memories of endless immigration queues, officious and rude staff, missing a connection and previous reviews of this airport were still with us so it was a very pleasant surprise when we landed. Bit of a queue at immigration with, of course, the obligatory lack of officers to deal with several long haul flights landing in a short space of time. But there were plenty of the electronic entry machines so the queue moved along OK. Through in about 1/2 hour and then a long trek to the baggage reclaim where our bags were already in. We had a connection to Savannah and upon entry to the transit check-in desks were spotted and told we were already checked into the Delta Flight - so handed over the luggage and were off the the domstic terminal - all within 1 1/4 hours! Very impressive - and even more impressed with the personnel because, without fail, each person we spoke to was courteous, cheerful and helpful! Really nice to actually feel welcome at a US port of Entry. As for the airport facilities, well, it was the usual mish mash of pizza and fast food joints, sports bars and coffee bars. But on this evidence would use again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Awful airport. Very confusing"

(Australia)

Unverified | Awful airport. Very confusing. The staff very rude and unhelpful. When travelling a long way and not used to self service check in Staff could be more helpful to visitors. Worst airport I have been through. Need to improve the customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"disappointed with Atlanta Hartsfield"

(United States)

Verified Review | The new UBER pickup point at Atlanta Hartsfield is extremely disappointing. The walk to the designated area is extremely long and seems to be an effort to discourage UBER customers. This was definitely a hindrance to my arrival in Atlanta. Upon my departure, I used my CLEAR membership for security. I was again disappointed with Atlanta Hartsfield. I had to wait an extended amount of time as non-CLEAR members were served first. After finally getting past this point at security, the speed of the security scans and poor attitudes of the TSA working there was yet again another disappointing part of traveling through this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no