Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 231 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disgusting TSA precheck"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was the worst, rudest, and disgusting TSA precheck experience ever and TSA needs to be held accountable. I don’t mind that the line was long but the TSA employees were unhelpful and extremely disrespectful with the bin process which caused inefficiencies which resulted in such a long wait. This happened to me and a number of travelers, who then had to wait even longer for their bags to be searched and rescanned by only one person! I lived in ATL, but I’m disgusted! They need to train their personnel to communicate this process properly with manners or hire more personnel to account for the inefficiencies that they will continue to face.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
5/10

"extremely unprofessional and uncalled for"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was waiting for my bag to come through and the TSA lady was extremely rude to me for no reason. She rolled her eyes twice at me for simply answering her questions she asked me and was condescending. It was extremely unprofessional and uncalled for.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

"consistently very rude and condescending"

(United States)

Not Verified | Typically I don't write reviews for poor service because I believe that most people don't write them for good service either. However, the customer service at Atlanta-Hartsfield airport has been consistently very rude and condescending. It's become so common place that I don't even want to choose Delta anymore to avoid going through Atlanta. Almost every employee has an attitude and you can tell they think it's funny to be rude. I went to the food court to get a slice of pizza and am greeted with, "what u want?". When I politely said, "I'm sorry", the employee repeated herself. I proceeded to be nice and smiled throughout my experience only to be met with mumbling, no eye contact and laughter among the employees. It's not just the food service employees. I witnessed an older gentleman who was an airport employee ask another young employee for help with an elderly passenger. The young employee responded with some verbal disgust and then she proceeded to roughly handle the elderly passenger in a wheelchair. I really think the airport should focus on customer service relations and training. Every experience I've had there has involved a minimum of one, and usually more than one rude employees. Please be advised that I'm not talking about any TSA employee. They have a tough job and aren't part of this conversation. I would have airport management take off their uniform and interact with the airport employees. It won't take them long to see what myself and many others are telling them. Quite frankly, I'm extremely embarrassed the customer service at Atlanta-Hartsfield is what many foreign travelers base their opinion of Americans and our hospitality on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"my least favorite airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Airport Authority severely punishes ride-share (Uber/Lyft) users. This is truly my least favorite airport in the US. Part of it is the fact that as I fly out of the DFW airport most of the time, I am usually on American Airlines and their gates at the Atlanta airport are about a mile from any ground transportation area. I have suffered that indignity in silence for several years, however I finally was tipped over the edge this latest trip when I dared to use Uber/Lyft at the airport. The airport authority clearly has a strong distaste for ride share companies and is doing all they can to frustrate travelers from using them. After walking a mile from the gate to the ground transportation area, I had to ask 3 individuals how to get to the ride share area before I found the down escalator nestled among the baggage carousels that took me to the correct exit. Upon finding the exit, it was another mile walk outside in the Atlanta heat to the designated ride share pickup area. At that point, as the ride share app would not let me choose a location for pickup until I was there, I had to wait another 10 minutes for the Lyft driver to come from their designated wait area. The drivers for the ride shares are also confused about where to pull in to pick up passengers and there was often traffic bottlenecks as folks loaded up. There were also about 100 riders waiting in the pickup area and this was at 8.30pm on a Monday night. The ordeal added at least 30 minutes to my arrival time and left me hot and angry. Let me repeat, the Atlanta airport sucks.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disaster with TSA!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I frequently travel out of Atlanta airport and the last time was in May 2018 and it was a disaster with TSA! They changed the locations of the TSA Pre-Check and when I asked an employee where to go, I was snapped at. I heard a TSA worker mumble something at a man that asked her a legitimate question and when he asked her "pardon?" she replied "Don't yell at me sir!". Since I had TSA pre-check I assumed that we did not need to remove shoes, laptops, etc. so I did not. The agent at the Checkpoint basically "goated" me into a response when she got nasty with me about leaving my iPad in my carry on. She removed it and just started "bouncing & slamming" it through the x-ray. They basically opened up my carry on and took items out randomly and re-ran them through x-ray. (I figured if you want to see my dirty underwear - that's your prerogative!) However, I did not say a word because I cannot afford to end up on a no-fly list. I was then herded through the scanner. I felt sorry for a poor elderly lady in front of me. She was in a wheelchair and they were trying to make her walk through the x-ray. She clearly could not walk - no mercy or kindness from the TSA agents. (Like this 80+ year old woman was a security risk!). I am very disappointed in Atlanta TSA - actually I'm still very angry at the rudeness they showed. But the thing that angers me the most is that these TSA agents can act/speak to you any way they want - but when you try to speak back to them in the same tone, you are the one that suffers. That behavior enrages me!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It is embarrassing and unnecessary"

(United States)

Not Verified | While I understand Hartsfield Jackson is an international airport and very busy, what I dont understand is why my family and I just waited in a line for over 2.5 hrs only to have our passport simply “reviewed” to then pass more than 12 airport employees standing around doing nothing on our way out. And more than half of them were in the passport control area. Had those 12 employees been task to assist maybe the process could have been more customer accommodating. Maybe our qualitifications for hiring should be reviewed, we traveled through seven countries and were not treated as poorly as our home airport. It is embarrassing and unnecessary. We just need more people that care about the customer.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"made this trip the exception"

(United States)

Not Verified | Traveling is always a taxing experience and going through security, baggage, immigration, etc. is slow and painful. An agent in Atlanta airport made this trip the exception. He was polite, professional, and while doing his job he took the time to talk to my wife and daughter about completing their citizenship. I hope all your agents and staff take notes from him. He very much impressed me.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"They are exceedingly rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I travel very frequently, and have only had a problem with staff at Atlanta airport. They are exceedingly rude. A while back, a female employee proceeded to mumble instructions under her breath without making eye contact and then angrily snapped at me when I didn’t follow these indescipherable instructions right away. Today, the security checkpoint pulled numerous bags out to search in a row, including mine. When she said I couldn’t have an aerosol with me (holding a hair product that I’ve flown with several times), I calmly said “oh that isn’t a liquid or aerosol” and she responded “oh well it’s in the trash” and threw it away. The Atlanta airport would benefit greatly from overhauling their employees.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"missed our connecting flights"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrendous! Spent over 2 hours getting through immigration and missed our connecting flights as did so many others. When asked for help all we got told was if you miss your flight you just have to catch the next one or be put up in a hotel until the next day. The problem is if your flight landed on time then the airline does not have to put you up in a hotel which then leaves you out of pocket because immigration can’t get their act together and are on some kind of power high. There was only one to two immigration officers and a dozen other airport employees waltzing around being very unhelpful and quite frankly rude to everyone. Worst airport I have ever been through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A complete disaster"

(United States)

Not Verified | We traveled to Mexico. Coming back in to Customs was a nightmare. The employees were contradicting each other. The left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing. There were signs about downloading the Global Passport APP which was supposed to help only to get to the counter and find it didn't. It's very sad when Mexico's airport has it together better than the busiest Airport in the USA. Not enough Customs Agents and the Staff had no clue or were standing around talking to each other or running around trying to figure out what to do. A complete disaster.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no