Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 253 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a headache every time"

(United States)

Unverified | I use ATL for connections to Europe/Turkey a few times per year. Flying domestically into ATL and leaving on International flight is usually no issue and quite convenient. Returning to the US then connecting to a domestic flight is a headache every time. Two hours and 15 minutes this past Monday was not enough time to deplane, go through customs, find my bags and recheck them, then go through security again. Something needs to change, at the least expand the security screening area for International to Domestic terminals. On a positive note, the staff at ATL are the most helpful I have encountered in airports
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"security staff intimidating and rude

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Security staff are intentionally aggressive, intimidating and rude. The staff shout at you for not following instructions, yet there are no instruction signs to follow. Staff need to be taught that treating all passengers like criminals is not acceptable. I for one will never fly to Atlanta again and would advise everyone else from the UK to not fly here either.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we'll try to avoid using Atlanta in future"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My wife and I were flying from the UK to the US to see the Total Solar Eclipse, we officially had just over 1.5 hours to make our connection to Denver, and were told that this would be tight. We actually arrived ahead of schedule, which was great, and then we got to immigration. Used the automatic terminals, which we thought were going to be a great time saver, but then we had to queue for an immigration officer, and our line didn't move for nearly an hour - what's the point in the auto terminals when you still have to queue anyway? Managed to get to our departure gate with about 10-15 minutes to spare (the "Plane Train" shuttle breaking down 3 times didn't help). During all this time no-one told us what the delay was caused by, and the (2) officers working the immigration desks were so slow it was almost unbelievable. By the time we finally got through the line behind us was huge, and there must've been people that missed connections - we were just lucky. Wherever possible, we'll try to avoid using Atlanta in future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the employees are rude and condescending"

(United States)

Unverified | The customs and security process at the international terminal is a disaster. There are not enough employees to handle large flights full of people, especially since the majority have connecting flights to catch. The worst part is that the employees are rude and condescending. They seem to have no idea that on international flights most likely some people don't speak English and yelling instructions in a louder voice isn't going to help. Nor are inappropriate comments by an old man about frisking women in the past helpful. I lived in Atlanta for many years and unfortunately it seems like nothing has changed to improve this process. I was embarrassed to be an American in that line Thursday, August 31.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"rude and obnoxious"

(United States)

Unverified | I fly through this airport at least two times per week. I love many aspects but lately the golf cart drivers are honking their horn to get people to move out of their way. I find this horn honking to be rude and obnoxious. Please develop a better procedure and maintain a more peaceful environment.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Awful treatment, dismissive, rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived to Atlanta Airport with 1.5hrs to spare between connectig international flights. Queues at immigration were ok but the service officers were super slow. Tried to speak to one of them to explain we had less than an hour, they couldn't care less. They then split us and half of the queue went through the side US citizens go. Used the machines but then they made us queue again to see an officer. What was the point? Awful treatment, dismissive, rude.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Unacceptable passport control waiting times"

(United States)

Verified Review | Unacceptable passport control waiting times. While I totally appreciate extra security protocols across the US airports, the level of inefficiency and lack of customer service is what I find totally unacceptable. This is for an airport that is the number 1 for passenger volume. I just came back from an international flight, and waited for 2 hours in line to go thru passport control. There were 4 officers reviewing passports for thousands of passengers, and more arriving as I stood in line.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a chaotic mess"

(United States)

Verified Review | Atlanta airport is a chaotic mess. Security lines are long and between TSA precheck, clear and general you will have a hard time finding where you need to go through. The scanning area is a joke. Food overpriced with long lines. Trains packed to overflowing. Biggest mess. Staff has no clue when you ask for help.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The officers were nothing but rude"

(United States)

Unverified | Awful experience at CBP. After my husband was randomly selected for further screening, we where sent into a line for non US citizens that went on for as far as you could see. The booth for this line had one beyond slow attendant. He spent an average of five minutes plus for one person. The line for US citizens had 4 officers that simply glanced at the passport and literally moved hundreds of people through as our line got longer and longer. We along with a few other US citizens got moved up in line by an employee. When he told us to go to the officer, we along with the employee where yelled at by an another CBP officer to never come up to the booth until called by the officer in the most rude manner, embarrassing the employee and us. The officers were nothing but rude and could not have cared less about the massive amount of people in line, most of which where missing their flights because of a multiple hour process. I do not understand why there was only one officer for what had to be hundreds of people and why they had to be so rude and nasty to everyone. I am all for security, but this was the most inept and rude process I have ever encountered. Atlanta CBP needs much better staffing and officers who are not so rude, angry, and slow.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"This was such a colossal mess"

(United States)

The new international terminal is a joke. There's no overnight parking at the international terminal, the only way is to park at one of the other lots and take a shuttle. On our recent flight(s) we had to park at the domestic terminal, go through security there and board our flight. We talked to 3 or 4 airport employees that were unable to help. On our return flight we came out in the international terminal, on the other side of the airport from where we had to park. There was no signage indicating where to park, the international terminal isn't even on the map of the airport on Hartsfield's website. They built it in 2012, five years is enough time to update your website. That said, if you're flying internationally, you need to add an additional hour to your arrival time to park, find a shuttle, wait in line, get on the shuttle and to the airport. This was such a colossal mess I'd drive to Birmingham or Columbia just to take the airport there and not have to deal with Hartsfield.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no