Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 101 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"clean, well organized"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Clean, well organized, fast baggage reception on the belt, no damages to the luggages. Facilities available for all passengers. Passport control was fast thus no delays on the way out, toilets were well cleaned and organized, free drinking water machines on the way out. Very handy and passenger easy to use airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"everything was very clean"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | In comparison to some airports everything was very clean, I was especially astonished by the toilets. Not all staff spoke good English but I could communicate with everybody and could sort out all my issues which was what I needed. Great!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"low quality, uncivilized and primitive services"

(France)

Trip Verified | Several comments marking, low quality, uncivilized and primitive services at or servicing the airport: First, the handicapped parking spaces in the long term airport parking (P3) is constantly occupied by 1/3 or nearly completely in the summer by illegally parked traveller's vehicles. This has been going on since its construction nearly two decades ago with no corrective measures taken whatsoever. Second, the indoors parking ticket stations to pay for the stay (in P3), are only three and one of them for the last two years claims to allow payments by credit card but then all credit card are declared "invalid" and you are sent to cash. Us sufferers know this and simply go to another line but innocent travelers from abroad get confused. Third, on our recent trip to Thessaloniki with Aegean in a shuttle service with 3-4 flights in the morning, there were 3 delays then cancellations due to fog at destination, but there was no announcement of either "Delayed" or "Cancelled" on screen but only "Gate open"! A bizarre irony for passengers already treated as cattle by Aegean. The above has to be added to the third world booths for train / ticket issuing at train/metro hub, the lack of control of a queue there, etc.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"impossible to rest, let alone sleep"

(Greece)

Unverified | I travel to the UK twice a year from my home in Crete to visit family in South Wales. In the summer, Ryanair and other airlines have direct flights from Chania to Bristol which makes the journey really easy. However, in the winter I have to fly from Chania to Athens and then Athens to London and travel to South Wales by bus/train. On the way to the UK, I usually manage to book a flight that leaves Athens within a couple of hours of my arrival there which isn't a problem. However, for the past few years I've had a 10 hour overnight wait in Athens (for a 30 minute flight) which is an absolute nightmare. The only hotel nearby charges €140 for the cheapest rooms, the airport is a long way from the centre of Athens so I end up having to wait overnight at Athens Airport. The seats are perforated metal and really uncomfortable - impossible to rest, let alone sleep. There are a few coffee bars open overnight which makes it a little easier. If you try to lie down on the floor and rest, you get reprimanded by airport staff. Even if you do manage to find a comfortable position to rest in, frequent security announcements ensure that sleep is impossible. The very worst thing about Athens Airport is that it continuously plays the most godawful muzak on the planet - the sort of music that makes any normal music lover want to cover their ears. I'm pretty sure that the music choice at Athens Airport is designed to prevent sleep, prevent relaxation, prevent rest and prevent any semblance of sanity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"used to be a nice, modern, well signed airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have used Athens airport annually since it opened. Previously the departure gates had plenty of seating but recently this has decreased as more retail outlets have been crammed in. This year awaiting an Aegean Airlines flight to London the only seating by the gate whilst awaiting for the gate to open was seating in either of two bars or you stood! This used to be a nice, modern, well signed airport. Check in and security was always quick with plenty of staff available. Come on Athens don't turn your airport into a version of London Heathrow which is a disgrace to my own country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Signage is one of the best I've seen"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Athens Airport operates since 2001, is a modern airport that has fallen a bit behind the latest advances compared to the best airports in the world, but the effort to constantly keep improving is very visible. In 2015 the security checks have been moved well in advance of the area with the shops, vastly improving passenger experience before boarding. In 2016 new passport check and security areas were built, effectively eliminating queues. In 2017 I first saw e-passport gates getting installed. Signage is one of the best I've seen around the world. Keep up the good work.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"wondering how this airport will keep up"

(Greece)

Verified Review | I visited Athens airport on my way to Guangzhou via Cairo. Check in was easy although Egyptair counters were overcrowded. Having finished with the check in we headed for the passport control. There were not many passengers. There there are three lines. One for the automated system which is not operating yet. One for all EEC countries passport holders and a third one for all the others. Unfortunately there were only two officers checking the passports - one for the EEC passport holders and the second one for all other passports - so a long line was made. On top of that elderly people or people with children had priority and were sent directly at the head of the line, however most of them had irregularities on their passports or forgotten were the documents were, adding more delay to the system. As publicly said, Greece is expecting more 30 million of tourist this year, so I am wondering how this airport will keep up with the expected numbers of tourist. Having a EEC passport I was expecting to finish within 5 minutes. I finished in 40 minutes that means I lost 35 minutes for nothing
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a pleasure to fly through, to or from"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | One of the best airports in Europe I've been to. Staff - helpful as they can be! Customs, border, security screening - fast as can be. Overall - a pleasure to fly through, to or from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"airport is generally too small"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Athens airport is generally too small for the crowds coming through. It might be new, but it isn't easy to navigate, and you might have to go through security/passport if you want to go to the better cafees/restaurants. You don't what to spend more that 2-3 hours here. The biggest issue is that there is no where to sit/lay/sleep. The best part is the unlimited wifi!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

Athens Airport customer review

(Greece)

I have been through Athens airport more than 100 times. It is very convenient and the cleanliness is very good. The new sofas on the gates are great. A very well-organised airport with an affordable duty free.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 85 Reviews