Top 100 Airlines  

Athens Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 98 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"well sign posted, short queues"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived at Athens Airport early on 5th September after red eye from LHR on an excellent Aegean Airlines flight. Could not disagree more with the previous review. Our transit to a connecting flight to Mykonos could not have been easier. Well sign posted, short queues, well lit with 'no dark corners' and it certainly does not look old. Staff were polite and efficient and we boarded on time from a comfortable departure area. Shops and places to eat are plentiful. A good airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"looks old and unfriendly"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Really boring, dark and unfriendly airport. From crowded and not organized check-ins, through chaotic security control (we went though with two 1-liter bottles of coke), to dark, crowded, unpleasant gate areas. Airport is grey and blue, nothing to remember, looks old and unfriendly. Duty free shops are just a standard selection, nothing special, everything looks cramped and congested. Hard to belive it is only 15 years old - looks much older.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"adequate seating and toilet facilities"

(South Africa)

Have been utilizing Athens International for a number of years now connecting to the Greek Islands and cannot fault any specific negative when one considers the actual purpose of airports. Adequate seating and toilet facilities, a number of F&B outlets and sufficient retail offerings if that is your "thing" within the constraints of any airports. Same again in 2017.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Athens Airport customer review

(Australia)

Verified Review | I flew Aegean Airlines from Corfu to Athens to get a connecting flight from Athens back to Australia. On arriving atAthens airport I found it very easy to navigate. Bags were out quickly and so too through customs and passport control - to be expected because it's a domestic flight. Still, makes for an easy transit. Easy to find information and I jumped on the train quickly to see the Acropolis before I left. Train into the centre large, outdoors and easy to use. My feedback for improvement would be install self-service baggage lockers. I lost time having to queue to check in my luggage while I had a few hours spare and it's a flat rate of E7.50 which I think is expensive. Bear in mind Australians lose money at every purchase in Europe with the exchange rate. Just install self-serve lockers like other airports - people can come and go as they please. There could be more entrance queues to get through passport control and bag check. But maybe this is just because I was running a bit late. Compared to always long wait times departing Sydney and Melbourne airport, it's still easier. There were long queues to get food. Some water coolers would be good to install. I didn't need food but if I wanted to buy duty free, I'd have to be there early to queue - I could've bought something but didn't bother because of wait times. Excellent WiFi connectivity. For me and I would daresay most Australian, NZ travellers who usually travel multiple European destinations in one long trip (a completely different travel experience to lucky Europeans who can take short weekend breaks and scoot around with small cabin bags) WiFi is very critical to me having a poor to an easy travelling experience. I'm not going to buy a SIM card in a destination for a few days so rely more on WiFi when in Europe than when travelling in Asia or at home. WiFi signal very good well but it's annoying to have to sign up an account. Why bother? There's no compliance on WiFi use anyway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"only shopping friendly"

(United Arab Emirates)

Only shopping friendly. No dining options. There is no propper food. For example gates A, there are 3 food courts and those are fast foods. Nothing healthy. They are constantly overcrowded so if you want to buy just a bottle of water you need to queue and wait and there is nowhere to sit. There are a couple of seats in the whole terminal and those are placed in the middle of the aisle so everyone is passing just next to you. Never mind if you want to read a book or go to a quieter restaurant or just find a corner in the airport while you are waiting for your connection - forget about it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Very clean arrivals lounge"

(United Kingdom)

Excellent flight with Aegean Airlines from Mykonos landed early. Jetty appeared within minutes and we were disembarking soon after. Clean concourse to baggage reclaim. Comfortable environment helped by efficient air conditioning system. Bags appeared within 10 minutes. Very clean arrivals lounge. Exited into arrivals concourse with plentiful shops, car hire, airport information and currency exchange. Spotlessly clean toilets. Checked in for connecting flight as on another carrier. Passport control efficient and polite. Good selection of shops and foodie places airside. Security checks handled by polite staff, departure lounge clean with ample seating and boarding was quick and effortless. Great airport compared to the chaos of Istanbul Ataturk.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best regional airports"

(Greece)

Athens International Airport is one of the best regional airports, minimum waiting times, very clean, built in 2001 it is the newest airport in Greece. The transit times are about 1 hour, there is 1 main terminal and it is divided between Shenghen and non-Schengen flights. The stores are offering pretty much what you expect from a medium size airport. But the thing that I love about this airport is the minimum time to claim your bags, there are times that our bags are already in the conveyor belt before our arrival to the baggage claim area. The parking is also a plus, the long term parking is situated right next to the main terminal and it is a 5 mins walking distance, plus if you book your parking before you arrive there are discounts. It's a pity that it hasn't become a major hub, as it offers great services, a very good positioning and a high-tech terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"very clean and modern"

(United States)

We just came back from vacationing in lovely Greece and we found Athens airport to be a very clean and modern airport. We had lunch there awaiting our connecting Aegean Air flight to Santorini and loved the Greek food. The only suggestion would be to pipe in some relaxing Greek music in the background.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"not a pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Passed through here a couple of days ago. Truly not a pleasant experience. Check in staff were rude, shop staff rude, Duty free shops were far more expensive than normal shops. Confusing shop with items on some shelves only for sale to non EU destinations. Luggage was oversize they state, when it was fine on the way out? Go to outsize bag check-in at the far end of the building. No outside seating. You have to pay for a trolley. Awful piped music inside. Uncomfortable seating after security check-in. Scrolling departure display panels that are almost unreadable in the time allowed. Herded like cattle by security staff into an area like a maze. Final straw was this piece of stupidity - free wi-fi advertised. Log-in and they send a confirmation code to your Email address. But you need to access your Email account to get access code. So far this year I have visited Portugal, Barbados, France and Spain. Altogether a far better experience than this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no inside connection between different concourses"

(Switzerland)

Arrived into Athens en route to Geneva (Business class). Had to go to another area of the airport to catch the next flight. So far, so good but in order to transfer, you must come out of the transit area, go through the passport check, go to a check-in desk, get another boarding pass, etc. No bypassing and no inside connection between different areas / concourses. Finally after a lot of wasting time, got to the area where I was supposed to be. Went to the Business lounge. The lounge is outside of the secure area. So business travellers must go through the security check after visiting the Business lounge. The lounge is dismal. Food leaves a lot to be desired. Some of the computers work and others don't. The rest room is ok.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews