Best Cabin Crew  

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 382 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"staff are really unhelpful"

(Switzerland)

This airport has really gone down in my estimation. Rather than improve the airport, recent renovations now mean less places to eat and shop. If you do go into a shop the staff are really unhelpful. Queues seem as long as ever and the layout is still ridiculous and sprawling. Also the types of currency you can get at any of the exchanges are really limited
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"chaotic security"

(United Kingdom)

Chaotic security and passport control. Massive delays, rude staff and less than half the electronic passport control machines working. An impressive failure for an airport that's only 20 mins from a wonderful, welcoming city. Made me consider ever flying there again despite an otherwise perfect visit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"many problems and long queues"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam is building up to new standards. Just a few weeks ago the new self-service passport check for EU residents was introduced. Many problems and long queues as the system just does not work very well. On my return I did the manual check with the immigration officer, which was a lot faster. Incredible that this system came operational whilst all these problems were not solved first. The toilets before and after check-in are permanently terrible dirty. Unbelievable that a major airport takes no effort at all to solve this problem as this can be considered as a longterm issue. Shops are nice and offer a wide range of products. Restaurant facilities are great. It still is one of the best airports in the world but the final proof to maintain this position will be after finishing the renovations and changes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"ePassport gates never work"

(United Kingdom)

The ePassport gates never work and there are never sufficient staff on duty to handle arriving passengers. I travel monthly between Heathrow and Schipol and on my last arrival it took an hour to get through passport control because of the queue. Amsterdam Schipol could easily become the main EU hub airport but they really need to get their act together otherwise passengers will just bypass them. At least Heathrow is updating all the ePassport gates.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security random and inefficient"

(United States)

The airport security screening (not the US departure check) started out great with the new facility. Nice bag loading and unloading hardware. Too bad that the procedures are absolutely random and inefficient. I recommend to make a little break area with coffee and donuts immediately after the screening point. One laptop needs to be checked on residue and you'll have to wait for at least 20 people attempting to take a laptop charge, wire or contact fluid through this screening process. For the rest, the airport is going through a tough time, but improvement are visible. This area though is a step backwards.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security rude, curt and demanding"

(United States)

Having Dutch heritage, I have always had a positive bias towards Amsterdam Schiphol, a once great airport but the place has become a disaster. I understand the renovations, and that I can overlook because of the hope of better things to come. However, the security service has become not simply excessive but hopelessly draconian. They are rude, curt and frankly demanding with no apology for the long lines. Horribly inefficient processes and no explanation for the new, third party screening for Delta flights. We live in a world that appreciates the protection of careful screening but we also appreciate being brought on side with the security staff with explanations of the extra check points - but that simply isn't done here. They demand compliance to a litany of intrusive questions without even the most basic civility. I will avoid this airport at all costs until they get a new security culture in place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"signage is great"

(Netherlands)

Within an hour we were through check-in, baggage drop off, security and customs. We had a lot of time to explore the airport and have something to drink at one of the restaurants. Signage is great, you have to try really hard not to get to your gate easily. Seating at the gates was not enough but if you arrive at the gate 5 minutes before boarding this is no struggle. Overall great experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"fast, friendly security staff"

(Netherlands)

On November 12th I departed to Mexico. Schiphol is a major airport that I find well organized. Even though the airport is at the moment a construction site, but in the end I know it will be fantastic for all passengers. I find the renewed central security a positive experience, fast, friendly security staff, calming setting and most important, no more security at the gate. Because I arrived 3.5 before my flights departure, I had some time to spare, so I went to do some shopping and had some drinks and food. There are many shops and bars and I know that there were more shops and bars before, but after construction of the airport I know there will be more shops, bars and restaurants to choose from. The bathrooms are quite clean and the airport ground staff were very friendly. My departure gate was G9. A big gate with plenty of space and seats. I choose this airport any time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rude and impersonal staff"

(United States)

I have flown through Amsterdam Schiphol Airport many times before. For the trip back to the USA from Zurich, I thought Amsterdam was a good choice because I was wanted to avoid having a connection in the USA to my final destination of Minneapolis/St. Paul airport. Even if your bag is checked all the way through, and you are just using this airport for transferring to Delta, you have to go through 3 separate check points of security all over again, with very confusing signage, rude and impersonal staff, and a very long line. I don't know what happened, but I won't be flying through Amsterdam again. I almost didn't make the connecting flight because of this inefficient and stupid change they have made. Its their loss since I didn't have time to spend my money at the duty free shops, 2.5 hours of transit time wasn't enough to go through these check points.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"now it's hell"

(United States)

I had the most terrible experience at Schipol airport. This used to be the most convenient and well organized international airport, but for some reason unclear to me someone decided to "improve it". Well now it's hell. Unnecessary delays, few people there to help and the ones that are there act extremely rude and entitled and treat passengers like cattle. So what happened: after waiting for 20 minutes for baggage drop off (!?) that was done by machines I was directed to a desk to clarify something on my visa. I often get that, because the check in machines they use are not set to recognize that there are people who travel to the US on visas (why would they). After waiting an additional 20 minutes behind a very loud and nervous Brazilian family I was told I had been directed to the wrong desk. The person who directed me said to her colleague in Dutch that "she just didn't see". Not like it's her job to see stuff like that I guess. When I told her I have been waiting for 20 extra minutes because of her not seeing she turned and walked away without so much as an appology telling me that the person there will help me. However that person was confused by the fact that my US visa is in my old expired passport and started telling me that it's no longer valid - at this point I snapped at her that I am really annoyed and if she can't handle the task she should call her supervisor or someone who knows what they're doing. She replied that I was at the wrong desk and she didn't do this on a daily basis. But I was sent to the wrong desk by her colleague! Luckily she did what she was supposed to after that and I was happy I showed up at the airport 2 hours and 15 minutes in advance to make it to the gate just before it was closing and was noy able to shop or get a snack before my flight. Thanks Schipol!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no