Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Queuing Times N/A
Customer rating from 526 reviews
0/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Wonderful City let down by a poor airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This is a very modern airport and full of all the latest equipment for checking passengers both Inbound and Outbound. My Complaint and comments are outbound departure. The Management has decided that huge numbers of people waiting is ok for all the machines to be unmanned and switched off while only one security machine is enough for hundreds of passengers. It took 55 minutes to get through one machine. If you can afford to put these very expensive technical kit into the transit area then surely you can afford the staff to operate them. Find another way to arrive if at all possible. Wonderful City let down by a poor airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"well managed without any problems"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Travelling back to Manchester following a weekend break. The airport though big, was not easy at times to navigate, however it was ok. Busy when there. The self-baggage drop that KLM provide is excellent and saves time for the passenger and this was a great experience. Likewise, the security processes at Schipol were very good and well managed without any problems. There were a few restaurants in departure, but in my view were very expensive, and eventually made use of an affordable kebab in one of the local restaurants in the departure hall. Airport toilets were clean. Boarding though a little busy, made good use of my e-boarding pass on my mobile, saving me hassle of locating paper boarding pass. Wifi was excellent and worked well - provided you log in! Duty free shops were reasonable and good at Schipol Airport. Overall it was good, but not as good as Dubai Airport, but happy to travel again through Schipol.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Schipol had lost my luggage"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beware of taking a connecting flight through Schipol, Amsterdam. Our 8 hour flight from Minneapolis-St. Paul had to wait on the tarmac for nearly an hour for an open gate. When we finally deboarded, there were no KLM Reps to help passengers who were late for their connecting flights. To my horror, the few departures display boards were not working so I had to go through the long line at the KLM counter to find out where the gate of my connecting flight to Istanbul was. On top of all of that, several flights had been cancelled and so the lines were very long with very annoyed passengers. The air conditioning of the airport wasn't working very well either, so it was extremely hot inside the terminal. The KLM counter person giggled as she told me I had 5 minutes to catch my flight to Istanbul at Gate D23 so I had to sprint through the whole length of D terminal. Come to think about it, she didn't even offer to call the gate to tell them I was on my way. But the cruelest cut was, because of the delay, Schipol had lost my luggage. So here I am in Istanbul without my luggage, without a change of clothes or even a toothbrush. Holland, you may be a first world country but your airport belongs to the third world.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"plenty of shops and restaurants"

(United States)

Unverified | This airport is pretty good but not my favorite. First of all, check in lines at KLM were extremely long and took at least 20 minutes to get through for an early morning flight. Security wasn't that long but still took some time to get through. After I got through that fiasco, I found myself in a huge departure terminal and had plenty of shops and restaurants. My flight was on time and was able to take off quickly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
7/10

"transit was easy and well signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I was worried about making the connection with only 50 minutes but travelling from non schengen to non schengen was easy as you don't go through passport controls or security, although flights to the USA do have an extra layer of security which you have to go through. Didn't have time to use the facilities but the transit was easy and well signposted.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"totally over the top and unnecessary"

(United States)

Unverified | We flew in from St Petersburg to gate D37, but even though we had been thoroughly checked in Russia, were obliged to be bussed to a central D area and wait half an hour in queue to be checked again, and then again, and then again (all bags, shoes off, frisked, etc) before we were allowed to take the long walk to gate D29 (i.e. very close to where we came in). It seemed totally over the top and unnecessary. I will avoid using Schiphol again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"was dreading using Schipol airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | After reading recent reports about airport delays and missed flights was dreading using Schipol airport. Arrived on an early morning easyJet flight and proceeded through a long corridor passing passengers waiting to board our plane for return. Passport control took about ten minutes with both electronic gates and two manned booths. Coming out onto the main foyer it is huge and very very busy. The entrance to the train station is also here so it is bustling. There are lots of cafes and shops as well. My return evening flight was almost as quick. There was a bit of delay at security but they swiftly opened up more electronic gates that eased the queue. The problem occurred at the two manned booths where some nationalities disregard the custom of queueing and just push in. Beware there are no shops or toilets at g and h gates. There is a good 10/15 min walk to gate. Screen told us departure lounge 3 then last minute changed to 1. You then enter down stairs into a large lounge where you can see your plane directly in front of the glass wall.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Everything was clearly signposted"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Schiphol airport consists of a main hub, with several spurs branching off to the different gates. Our arrival brought us into the A section, while we were departing from a D gate. Navigation is extremely easy. As soon as we entered the terminal, there were flight boards so we could check for our next flight. Everything was clearly signposted, and there were ample numbers of trolleys so we could move our cabin bags easily around. Compared to some of the airports I have been through, Schiphol is a delight. The main hub has a very good selection of shops. From designer items, to toys, to local produce - everything seems available. The airport seems very spacious. The gates are a short walk away from the hub, but this helps separate those who are heading for their flight, from those who have the time (and the money) to browse and shop. There are plenty of toilets, and plenty of seats close to charging points. The airport offers 4 hours of free wi-fi. Good choice of eateries and for longer transits, there is a hotel available. We stopped for a drink at Murphy Pub on the D-spur. Overall, I cannot fault Schiphol. It was a great transit experience and I hope to travel through there again in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"tax refund was ridiculous"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew first class China Southern CZ308 from Amsterdam to Guangzhou. Schiphol airport transportation is great, took the airport express which is fast and reliable. Navigating the airport was not bad and first class check in was very quick and smooth. Now comes the bad part. The line for tax refund was ridiculous. I waited for 90 minutes for my customs stamp. I didn't even wait for the refund because time was so pressed, I just dropped it in the mail. For a line that long, on a weekday during the day, there were 2 customs agents manning the booths. I counted 7 windows, so only 2 out of 7 windows were manned. Completely preposterous! Clearly an attempt by the EU to discourage customers from getting tax refund. For this, and this alone, I give Schiphol a terrible rating. Security check was good, airport shopping was good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is clean and well organized"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport is clean and well organized. Good WiFi connection. Many security lines for departure. Automated immigration gates weren't working both times while I entered and exited, they realized it wasn't working only after 30 minutes. I would suggest leaving an 45 min to be safe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no