Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 538 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"generally an unpleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

I fly from Schipol weekly and it's generally an unpleasant experience. Even at 9am there were queues to the toilets and as usual the toilets were filthy. Soiled nappies, rubbish and the state of the loo was unspeakable. I've attached a picture of the room but will refrain from attaching a picture of the actual toilet as it could be upsetting to viewers!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"has declined. really awful"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have used Amsterdam airport three times per year for over twenty years and until recently it was very good. However in the past couple of years it has declined - especially the service from staff. I for the first time needed assistance for connecting flight which was requested at the time of buying my ticket. On arrival in Amsterdam I had to walk a distance and no wheelchair arrived until several minutes standing waiting. I was then plonked in a chair pushed roughly to a wait station and dumped. After half an hour of waiting with no staff about and time running low to connect to my flight I had to walk painfully and only got to my flight before it left because it was delayed. Really awful. I will in future use Frankfurt or Munich as they are more polite and efficient there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport is the absolute worst"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Terrible, terrible, terrible. I have plenty of experience with airports, but this airport is the absolute worst. Ground staff behavior is rude, aggressive and ineffective. Queues for check-in, passport control and security are getting longer and longer, but nothing is actively being done to speed things up. The last three times we arrived at this airport with 2.5 hours to spare and each time we almost missed our flight because of poor decisions to combine multiple flights at single check-in desks, complete incompetence on the part of the staff members or dysfunctional check-in machines. There is total chaos in the passport control queues, no discernible lines, just angry staff members and a sea of intensely stressed travelers. I think next time we travel we will need to be there at least 3-4 hours before our departure time, as we fully anticipate more of the same rubbish.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it was just constant queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arriving into Amsterdam Schipol was straight forward, we only had hand luggage so got straight through and to the train station then travelling onto The Hague. However coming home, not so fun, we caught an early tram and train to get thre as we thought we could have a nice bite to eat as its a big airport, maybe a bit of shopping. We arrived at 11am, flying at 13.40. We never got the shopping or a nice bite to eat more a rushed McDonalds, it was after 12.30 before we made it through security and passport control, what an absolute joke, it was just constant queues. I was with my 81 year old gran, my legs were getting tired in the queue, my gran was struggling and it was very warm. We got through and found our gate with about 10 mins to grab a bite, if we had not arrived early I doubt we would have made out flight. I've done Amsterdam airport a few times, but never seen it as bad as this, I know its big and caters for a lot of international flights, but that should have been controlled better. I've been delayed in this airport before for hours, and I thought it was the best thing ever as there was so much to do and see, also great smoking booths.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Security went smoothly"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Great airport. The correct check-in counter was easy to find on the screens in the terminal building. Security went smoothly and did not take very long. Breakfast was good in the lounge and close to the gate, so that was very nice. Hopefully flying soon again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
4/10

"had mixed feelings about the airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | I had mixed feelings about the airport. I am a wheelchair user so I required wheelchair assistance on all flights. After my International flight, I had excellent WC assistance. But when I reached my final destination, my luggage was in AMS still. Took 24 hours. I then left my destination to visit a friend in Norway and there was a stop in AMS. My smaller luggage with my medicines and only clothes got left in AMS again. Took another 24 hours. After my visit to Norway I flew back to Florence and my plane was late so I had a 30 minute layover and my assistance kept me on the tarmac during my layover which was fine initially. My parents were waiting for me in Florence and I needed to send them a text that my flight would be late getting back but there is no WiFi on the tarmac only in the terminals. This should be taken care of. If you are going to keep wheelchair users on the tarmac let them have access to WiFi as well. The worst experience with Schiphol came on the layover to go back to the USA. Two passengers (including me) have broken ankles and must use wheelchairs. Our family member (each wheelchair user should be allowed one travel partner with them) got kicked out of the bus to make room for a man who did not want to walk the tarmac without his 40 year old daughter. This man had a bad knee but was able to walk and refused a wheelchair. So the girl with a broken ankle and myself with a broken bone and wheelchair were seperated from our travel partners and none of the staff offered to help. They refused to page the names of our family/travel partners. My assistance said “my job is to you to the plane only.” While she did that she would not look for my parents or page them nor would she take me to a bathroom until I asked the flight stewardess to let me use the bathroom after my ordeal that day.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"superb service attitude"

(India)

Unverified | An amazing experience at the Schipol airport. Today morning I landed from Mumbai via Jet Airways. It was G7 gate, and I forgot my iPhone in the plane. I realised it only at the immigration queues, and I informed one of the staff. She immediately very kindly took me to the immigration staff, informed them and escorted me all the way back to the gate. However the gate had closed and we had resigned to contact the airline staff. On our way back we saw another crew of Jet Airways who had landed from Delhi. She suggested checking with them for assistance and amazingly a very kind cabin manager made some calls and assisted me in getting the phone. Superb service attitude. Never seen anything like this.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"equipped with modern facilities"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Overall, this airport is very nice and equipped with modern facilities and good WiFi connection and easy to connect. Baggage handling also was quite good. I hope, Schiphol Airport improve to provide more immigration counter desk of clearance to avoid long queue waiting in it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Passport control very effective"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | First time at Schiphol for us and rather apprehensive having read reviews on here. It's certainly big! Long journey between gates, aided by lots of lifts and travellators, and gate information easy to find in advance. Plenty of shops and restaurants, and the eating places we used were of good standard. Passport control very effective. All points manned and automatic machines functioned quickly. Nice airport, but because of travel distances involved would be wary of taking flights with short connection times.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the most inefficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport is the most inefficient airport I have ever had the misfortune to use. They kept us waiting at security for 1hr despite telling everyone every 10 minutes it would only be another 10 minutes. The staff told blatant lies that they were calling each flight personally to tell them passengers were delayed at security (we checked this at our gate, no phone call had been made). At passport control there was no structure and when speaking to a member of staff about the fact our flight was due to leave in 15 minutes (due to the fact we was held at security for 1hr and then queued for another 45 minutes at passport control) his response was "not my problem, we don't care about flight times, if you miss it you miss it." This is the most appalling and rudest airport I have ever had to visit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no