Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 341 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Good airport. Signs were clear and easy to know where to go. Distance to gate can be rather large (for me up to 20 minutes on foot). Before immigration, many shops adjacent (railway station). After immigration, many stores as well. Ground staff very helpful. The ceiling of the airport was very low and it looks very dark sometimes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Portugal)

A fantastic airport with a big problem : the area where the EU travellers collect the luggage is very small. Collecting the bags is chaotic.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Transiting at Schiphol is largely painless. Being contained within one terminal is a great help, I do hope Schiphol sticks with this model. Yes, some transfers do mean a long walk, but this should not discourage people. In most parts of the terminal, you can use moving walkways, and complimentary trolleys for hand luggage are available throughout, handy if like me you carry a large rucksack with you, as you can take the weight off your shoulders. At any rate, do allow plenty of time for walking. Seating is plentiful even at peak times. On my outbound journey, the terminal was somewhat cluttered due to extensive building work, although this was well publicised via the airport website, and the handy Youtube channel. Most of the building work was completed upon returning two months later.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

We barely made a connecting flight from Copenhagen to Atlanta here. Schiphol airport is extremely confusing. The signage is very poor and there is no one around to help you with directions. After mistakenly exiting the gate areas, the security was extremely rude and provided no assistance to us. Customs officials were unimpressed that we had only 45 minutes to make the connection. Boarding at our gate was chaos. They called the "elite" then everyone else. The whole experience was the worst we have experienced internationally. Amsterdam Schiphol Airport was worse than CDG for connections.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Well, I was prepared for the turmoil, and despite what the website says this is still a mess. In defence of airport security and previous criticism I found staff and process to be absolutely fine for non Schengen passengers. If I am in a long queue I prefer security to get it right before I get on a plane. The process was professional and swift, despite the airport being busy. The main problem I found was locating the correct boarding gate and nearly ended up on the wrong plane, thank goodness for electronic tickets. Signage is poor, there is a total lack of staff to ask for help and KLM have a chaotic boarding process for long haul, children with associated buggies, passengers needing assistance and business class, all called together, a problem if you are behind the other 300 passengers who are waiting to board as they are unable to move due to lack of space. The lack of space exacerbates the problem as passengers merge with passengers awaiting different flights as there is nowhere for them to stand. European departures absolutely fine so look forward to the problem being resolved on completion day.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands)

Just a great airport: bright, easy to navigate, unlimired free wifi and a train station right under the terminal with loads of shops. Schiphol updated the security area and it is bright and almost inviting. Minus: the rude security personel have not adapted.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Saudi Arabia)

I've been to Schiphol over 4 times. It is one of the best airports I've been to. Very clean and well organized. You have everything you need around you. It has a variety of restaurants, shops, prayer rooms, and very nice seating areas, in addition to SPA and relaxation space. I like how the signs show the time required to get to a certain terminal. Bathrooms are very clean. Prices are a bit higher than outside but that is normal at most airports around the world. If you are arriving, you'll find transportation right outside the arrival terminal and all required services. The airport has a few information desks. There was a security gate at every flight gate and it was very annoying to be searched thoroughly with all shopping bags and things that you bought around the airport. Now all these gates have been replaced with one single large gate right after passports, then you have all the freedom to shop and get to your flight easily. If I am travelling to Europe or US, I would always choose to stop at Schiphol rather than any other European airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands)

AMS is a nice airport. It is Europe's preffered airport and they want to keep that status so AMS is a construction site. This makes the non-shengen departure area a bit confusing. But the new Central security filters are very good. Short waiting times all over the airport. Ony 10 minutes for check-in and bag drop-off. Just 5 more minutes for the security check and passport control. The check-in process is for the most KL/Skyteam passengers full self-service. The Self-Service units for check-in and the bag drop are easy to use! The airport is clean. All facilities are there. AMS is one of my preffered airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Italy)

I have been to 30 different airports at least. This is on my top 5 airport list. Everything is very easy if you fly from Europe to Europe. My last time from Europe to a non-EU country, there was a huge passport control line and only 2-3 police working. I mainly use this airport for within EU and I love to spend time here. My only problem is the toilet flushes. Sometimes you have to make very strange movements to make the automatic flushes work. Other than that - a lovely experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United States)

Amsterdam Schipol is on a great airport. Getting off the plane and making my connection was very easy, even with the electronic transfer machines. In no time we were done with the transfer and had a good amount of time to shop and try the restaurants. Very little delays and could find anything right when you needed it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes