Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 320 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Malaysia) 27th July 2015

This airport is undergoing renovations. Honestly, my 7-hour layover in the airport led me to think that Schiphol is not the airport as it may have been a decade ago. Holland Boulevard is under renovation (and doesn't look nice anymore), so are the museum and the library, extremely overcrowded at McDonald's and at a Starbucks, and there is no place other than at the gates where one can sit and recharge electronics (outlets are extremely limited and some don't even work), internet access is okay but slow and needs renewal every hour. Finally, the lounges are pretty much overcrowded. Schiphol looks like it had better days in the early 2000s and the early 90s. Probably my most memorable experience there was the voice "mind your step" at the end of every walkway. Unfortunately, this place is like falling apart for when Amsterdam had rain, parts of the airport ceiling were dripping water, this aging airport needs more than what the current renovation project is working on. And as always, too much traffic (travellers are from all parts of the world), since this airport is a major European hub, yet I doubt that the airport can tolerate this much. If you want a quick layover, this airport might do good (ditch the restaurants unless you have a lot of patience) unless you haven't seen the airport before, but a long one is not worth it at all.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date Visit26-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 8th July 2015

If you're tired and hungry and looking for a quiet place to sit down and have a bite in Terminal D then you'd be best to leave the airport. Six months this had been going on and still no improvement. Travelers tend to have bags, and occasionally kids, so it would be nice to be able to sort down for table service after security. Used to be possible upstairs. Overcrowded cafeterias and a pub with standing room only are the choices. By the looks of things, this could run for at least another year. I used to rate Schiphol highly but I'll be flying via Heathrow from now on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit08-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 29th June 2015

Overrated. Having all flights in one terminal is all well and good but it makes for extremely long walks to and from gates. Not at all well thought out. Bad queues in and out at security/passport control. Also, we landed on a remote runway which meant the taxiing to the terminal seemed to take almost as long as the flight itself!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit29-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
9/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 27th June 2015

Schiphol is undergoing a major renovation. Air conditioning isn't working at peak efficiency so it gets toasty on the long march to your gate. Past that and given what is being done everything is working well. Could use more signs for car rental return though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 10th May 2015

Arrivals was quite good not a problem at all. Departure was where it turns ugly. Only two customs desk opened and airlines crew kept on jumping my queue to go through. I understand they can quickly get in by casually waving their passport/document to the custom officer but this should not be at the expense of the other passengers queuing patiently especially when there were more than twenty of them from different flights getting ahead of you. Departure food and shopping is quite nice and I thought I would overlook the customs issue by getting a good takeaway breakfast and eat at the gate waiting area how wrong! Security checking was at the gate (Terminal H) and there was a sign saying no restaurants beyond that point. So I had to throw away my bottle of orange juice purchased just minutes ago that I haven't even opened. I could have downed my drink before going through security but the queue was building up fast (I am actually among the first to turn up at the terminal area after gate info became available) so I tensed up and left the bottle behind at the mouth of the x-ray machine with the security officers. Immediately afterwards I felt so disgusted by this stupid security arrangement (I spent £2.5 for nothing!) I threw away my food in rage as well. (Yes I should have better EQ but you just don't expect this sort of treatment at a major international airport do you?). Once we reached the gate's waiting room we had to queue right away and there were just no seats. Given its global importance I just can't comprehend how Schiphol can fail this miserably and like other negative comments the management should really wake up!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 10th May 2015

I was born and raised in Amsterdam. I have lived now in the US for 25 years and have traveled back and forth numerous times and always enjoyed it. Last time though it was under construction and indeed a mess. But I am sure it will be even better when they are done. The common discussion on the reviews is the rudeness of the employees at the airport. If you know the Dutch language you know that they are very direct and when translated directly coming from inexperienced speakers it comes across as rude. Even now after many years living in the US I still catch myself being too direct. I have never experienced any rudeness and the employees are always very friendly or at least polite. Looking forward to a new and even better Schiphol.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th May 2015

Recently had a chance to use Schipol as a hub during our visit to Amsterdam. Everything works at this airport the trains planes buses and shuttles. Shopping is very good. There is improvement/refurbishment going on airside to make it even better? The only negative was a very long walk after immigration to reach your gate I like the idea of security check near the boarding area as this reduces the massive bottleneck at the start of your journey. The food joints are plenty and quick. Would use this as hub in future specially from North of England as there are frequent connecting flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 19th April 2015

My arrival was relatively easy but you could have difficulty using the machines to buy train tickets as they rejected all my 3 international credit cards (visa & amex). Departure was a nightmare. No signs for customs and tax refund counters. Very long queue with just few people in the line (I waited over 30 minutes for Global Blue tax refund with just 6 people in front of me). Poor shopping experience with unhelpful and rude staff at the Fashion & Travel shop. And because of the decentralized security check I was stuck at the gate for over an hour with no food drinks or restroom. My last visit was a very pleasant experience seven years ago. I travel to on average 2-3 European major airports on an annual basis. The deterioration in Schiphol was to my dismay.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 19th April 2015

There is a lot of building work taking place at the moment at this airport it is a complete shambles and mess for all passengers. If anyone is wanting to use the business lounges be prepared for a long walk across roof tops open to the elements. The walk to the British Airways lounge takes about 20 mins so please be aware of this for when you need to get to your departure gate as it will take over 40 mins to get to the D gates. The building work will be going on for a number of months so be prepared for a lot of walking & incorrect signage. If you are looking for places to eat these are few and far between as most have been closed and removed due to the building work.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th April 2015

I found this airport poorly run. First there is nobody manning half the transfer desks (e.g. At T9) second my flight was cancelled and they put me in an airport hotel that was actually 20km from the airport they gave incorrect information and finally the security staff are the most rude I've come abroad in 20 years. Avoid this so called efficient airport at all costs it's badly run!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no