Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 550 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"lost my phone due to the staff's incompetence"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | There was massive disruptions due to the weather so I decided to go to the KLM 52 business lounge. When I was leaving my phone must have slipped out of my pocket but I did not realise this till I was on my flight preparing to leave. When I arrived my partner called to let me know my phone had been found in the airport and it will be kept till I went back through the airport. But after contacting many departments within the Schipol airport it turns out that my phone has been lost in the Lost & Found department, oh how ironic. I tried to claim compensation for the losing my phone but no help was offered. OK I left my phone but I had a call from the lounge staff so I know it was found and it was only really lost when the Lost & Found department had it and they are only reliant on computer entries and will not do a physical search. So, I have lost my phone due to the staff's level of incompetence in that they did not fully and accurately follow their own Lost & Found protocols. Travellers should be aware if items are handed to Lost & found that does not necessarily mean you will get it back.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"there was nobody there to help"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My flight was late in leaving Edinburgh which lead to a shortened transit time so I asked the staff on the KLM flight if they can arrange assistance as I am a disabled person with mobility problems and I can only walk slowly. No problem they said, when they came back and said somebody will be waiting to assist me when I disembark. Fine I thought but oh no it was not for there was nobody there to help. So as to ensure I got my next flight I started to walk. What is advertised as a five minute walk took me nearly twenty five minutes and I got there with a few minutes to spare but my legs and feet were really painful which lasted a few days.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"rude, arrogant and impatient"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Amsterdam airport is a beautiful modern airport, very clean and with excellent facilities. We transferred flights from South Africa after travelling all night. My husband had been taken ill on the plane and both of us were feeling shell shocked after very little sleep. The security guard who checked us through was rude, arrogant and impatient. Whilst security is of the utmost importance courtesy and kindness do not impact on the maintenance of safety. There is no need for this type of rudeness and this has really put me off travelling again to what is a truly wonderful modern airport. So to the gentleman working on security lane 4 in transfers at around 11 am on 1st February 2018 get another job where you don't deal with people if this one makes you so unpleasant
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and disrespectful"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | I recently was connecting on a flight thru Amsterdam. At the gate I had the rudest security agent. She was rude and disrespectful. When I tried to speak to her she told me to be quiet and not speak unless she asked me a question. When my daughter stated she needed her medication she said - 'Don't worry you will get your drugs'. When I told her not to speak to my child in that manner she proceeded to pull our luggage off the flight and check us and our luggage again. I filed a complaint with airport security and everything that he stated in the response was a lie. Never have my child and I been treated so disrespectfully and then been told that what I said was a lie.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"increasingly the airport to avoid"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Schiphol becomes increasingly the airport to avoid. I have been flying from there for several years now. Long unpleasant security (even with previum card), luggage damaged or lost, flights constantly delayed and cancelled for 'bad weather conditions' (wind in Netherlands the country of windmills for centuries), ages to get the luggage on the carousel. Not recommended for any connection flights. A shame.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"clean and modern terminal"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | After hours facilities are limited. Arriving after 10 pm with over two hours to wait for my next flight the airport was quiet. There were no staff at the transfer desk in case you needed them. I just managed to catch a coffee at McDonald's as the shutters were coming down. Several smoking lounges still open though. Clean and modern terminal. Polite and easy to deal with staff (as the Dutch usually are). On my return I arrived at a more sociable hour so got to use more facilities.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"bad organisation"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Really not happy with it. My first main concern: flights are always delayed, because of bad organisation. The planes are usually here but nothing happens. That's when they are not cancelled because of one snow flake or 5 rain drops. Long queues for check in and security. The security guys strip us completely. Soon we will pass in underwear. It can take 40 minutes for the luggage to be delivered on the belt! I've seen much bigger airports where it goes smoother.. If in transit be sure you have 3 hours in between!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"unavailability of tugs to push aircraft out"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | By now I am used to the endless taxi to and from runways, the extremely slow clumsy jet bridge connection and non working travelators as well as crowded security and immigration at Schiphol but the latest troubling travel delaying aspect is the unavailability of tugs to push aircraft out. On my last 4 flights this was the case resulting in delays, missed slots and other inconvenience. Shopping, food and decor are all great but it seems Schiphol is just unable to get the basics right.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"too big to care"

(Romania)

Not Verified | At 6 am the airport is pretty quiet, yet they manage to have 2 types of restrooms: (a) closed ones; (b) dirty ones. The "renovation" apparently just forgot such "non-essential" facilities as the restrooms. It is unbelievable to enter a restroom and be presented with just 2 cabins - and this was at low traffic. One hour later you have to deal with 15-30 mins lines. Gates are meant for standing or lying on the floor. This airport is way too big to care of any kind of passenger comfort. To avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"slow working and ignorant security checks"

(Norway)

Not Verified | I find the security check to be unprofessional and very unaccommodating. I clearly informed them that I had a connecting flight. They blocked my line for 10 min and refused to allow me to change lines so I missed my flight and got stuck here for two days. My two friends from the same plane were able to get the next plane so I know I would have made it. The security seemed to not want to help and were very reluctant to let me pass in font of people even with most people agreeing. I know security is important but I have never experienced such slow working and ignorant security checks and I am at times quite a frequent flyer. Due to the snow the airport staff should at least accomodate as much as possible to make the few that could have made it fly. Snow is not a problem and you already have 90 % of the machines to remove it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no