Airline of the Year  

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 498 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"there is nobody to ask when things go wrong"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Toilets are dirty in every part of the airport. Information is not good, our flight was delayed and then cancelled due to bad weather but the information desk in lounge 3 was unmanned so we had to walk a long way to find another desk and then there were just phones which we couldn't get through on. There is nobody to ask when things go wrong. So we ended up going all the way to arrivals again with some other travellers only to be told by easyJet staff that the flight was back on again, then we had to go all the way through security again. A little clear information when needed would be good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a very good airport"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a fantastic airport. Getting there is easy and everything is well organised. The Airport is clean, it is open 24 hours and whenever you need something, they help you. But it all depends of when you are there. Waiting time at the check-in counter can be anything from 1 minute to 1 hour. Waiting time at the security Control can be anything from 1 minute to 1 hour. And even the waiting time on the runway before takeoff can be anything from 1 minute to 1 hour. It all depends of when you are there. But that is just a nudge. Overall, Amsterdam is a very good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"extremely slow and officious service"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I arrived more than two hours before the departure of my short flight to the UK, so should have had more than enough time. The airport was relatively quiet and queues were short, yet the length of time it took for my hand-luggage to be checked (through the ridiculously slow automated scanners) was appalling. There were also only seven people in front of me at the passport check that followed, but it took 25 minutes before it was my turn with the guards taking an enormous amount of time for questioning everyone. All in all I made my flight just in the nick of time. I am a frequent flyer to places all around the world and I have never experienced such an extremely slow and officious service. I dread to think what delays could take place at high season in the summer holidays for example, especially as people are generally told they need to be at the airport only 1.5 hrs in advance.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very unpleasant is Schiphol"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Once again the female toilets at Amsterdam Schiphol are overcrowded and filthy. The airport is not crowded and there is absolutely no reason for this. This airport is disgusting. The queues are also unbelievably long for security and there are no guards in the middle of the queue chaos to ensure that the queues proceed in an orderly fashion so there are a lot of bullies jumping queues no one there to stop them. Very unpleasant is Schiphol.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"transportation is excellent"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Amsterdam Schiphol has perfect architectural and engineering planning allows this airport to be very effective and user friendly despite enormous size and overwhelming passenger traffic. Transfer was short (55 minutes), but easily made it from gates D to F. Even despite going via security (but no immigration control), I had spare 20 minutes at the gate. Shopping there is excellent in terms of choice, but pricing is just usual high street for merchandise and rip off for food (5 euro for bottle of Vittel water). Toilets are clean and plentiful. Signage is smart and easy. Staff are fast, pleasant and competent. Bags are never lost. Planes boarded via bridges at 90% of times. The only problem is security on departure. Always long security lines. I can skip it via SkyPriority, but non-premium access takes around 40 minutes. Ground transportation is excellent with buses and trains running frequently and reaching all the neighboring cities and countries. Great facility.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"brilliant organization"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Brilliant organization at Amsterdam Schiphol, in a country like Netherlands where rules are strictly followed by all people, such airport can only work well. Connection to the city center is much cheaper than other locations in Europe and train departures are every few minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"unable to handle current passenger volumes"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam Schiphol has become overcrowded, and is now unable to handle the current passenger volumes. As a result, you need to be at the airport at least 2 hours before a short flight, basically taking away an important of the time you save by flying instead of taking a train or car. The security check was extremely unfriendly and inefficient. Almost half of the hand luggage needed to be checked manually after passing through the scanner. The restaurants and shops are clearly overpriced. Although the terminal building is nice with clear signing, the poor logistics and unpredictable waiting times make this an airport to avoid.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the shadow of what it used to be"

(Netherlands)

Waste of time. Amsterdam Schiphol used to be my favourite airport, but today it fails on too many points: Cleanliness, difficult to find toilets not closed or not too busy, and when you find one, close your eyes and nose. Timeliness, hundreds of passengers missed or almost missed their flights due to lack of staff and or infrastructure in Security, and more are missing train connections because of the delays involved in getting your luggage back. Schiphol is the shadow of what it used to be, and this is a shame for NL which deserves bettet as front window for the tourists.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"used to be a good airport"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | This used to be a good airport, but this is no longer the case. I use it on a regular basis and it is simply overcrowded. On weekends it is not unusual for KLM's check-in queue to stretch across the whole terminal. I would be more inclined to excuse them for security, if only they actually had all the lines open. Arriving at 10pm from London the line through immigration took exactly as long as the flight itself because only two desks were open for the whole airport (1 for EU, 1 for non-EU), if there is any delay with the passenger at the desk then the whole line is frozen, of course we were made to walk for miles because the other immigration gates were closed at that hour. Inside the terminal the food options are repetitive and frankly dismal (it is the only time I prefer to eat at McDonald's). For a country that prides itself on organisation they can do much better (perhaps not so much the food part). To be fair, when it is not so busy the building is nice and bright and things works well, but this happens less often than it should and, as far as I know, there are no plans to build a new terminal so it seems like it will only get worse.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"recommend avoiding Amsterdam Schiphol"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I am traveling ww and experienced Amsterdam, the only Airport to send hand luggage through the X-ray machine while the owner was still waiting in queue for more than 10 minutes. The concern that there is a risk that luggage may easily be stolen have not been taken seriously. Even the loudspeakers explicitly reminds passengers to not leave it unattended. I have experienced this two times within 3 months, I recommend avoiding Amsterdam Schiphol.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no