Vote Now  

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 460 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"A clean and transparent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A clean and transparent airport, with good transport connections and many amenities. There are problems. The security queues are long and the security treatment is intimidating. Long queues at customs. The airport has five working runways, but traffic still is prone to delays. The fifth runway has probably the longest taxi in the world. Wifi is unreliable (but free).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"plenty of shops and mostly clean"

(Serbia)

Extremely inefficient security checks, I understand the need to have tight security. But I have missed my flight due to hour long security check. The line stretched throughout section Departure 2. Once I verified my boarding pass it was still 35 minutes till the gates. This was all for intra-Schengen flight. The time was around 20.00. Other than that it seems like a normal airport. Plenty of shops and mostly clean. Departures and Arrivals areas are nicely connected you can easily transfer between any part of the airport. Even has the supermarket and the prices in most shops seem reasonable, not much of a premium just that you're shopping on the airport. But the security checks. Extremely inefficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"it has become a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Schiphol Airport used to be a great experience, now with the remodeling and extremely inefficient passport control it has become a nightmare. I use it at least once every two weeks and of all parts of my journey the transit through Schiphol is the one I dread the most. Ironically I hated Charles de Gaule but since I mainly use Flying Blue everytime I can I avoid this airport. I have to be honest personnel at passport control are courteous it is just the process and lack of personnel that makes long qeues likely 90% of the time. They have a (pre-historic) system where they yell (Who has a departure in less than 30 minutes) but then there is flock of people trying to take advantage which makes it quite annoying (you are also reminded of the discourtesy of travelers). Overall comfort is also not good, it is more designed to be a Mall so people spend money but with poor selection of eating places. This airport is not the worst, however for a hub in a developed country it is going downhill. Hope they fix this.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"the staff were very friendly"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is a review of the security at AMS (Amsterdam Schiphol Airport). We arrived from JRO (Arusha, Tanzania) and upon deplaning we were instructed to go through security. This was a huge set up - there must have been 6-8 stations set up for us so the wait time was minimal. We went through the scanner and then were subjected to a full on pat down, not that this bothered us, but being from the states, we usually only go through the scanner. Through security we were instructed to go to gate D1, which we thought was our gate. Although it did seem odd that on the electronic board it was not definitive. I can't remember the exact wording, but it was something like (go to D1 for more information). So we arrived at gate D1 and then understood, it's not a gate at all, rather it's another security check. The man who waited on us asked us the usual questions, but then wanted some information on our previous flights. This was a return leg from Africa, we had flown to Africa a few weeks earlier. Unfortunately we did not keep our boarding passes from the earlier flights so I showed him our itinerary (screenshot on my phone) and I also show him a lot of pictures from our trip (safari, climb up Mt. Kilimanjaro). In retrospect I suppose I could have just given him the trip confirmation number but I didn't think of that at the time. He walked away and returned a few minutes later saying that everything was in order and we proceeded to our true gate to wait for the next leg of the journey. The point I'm making here is that we were very impressed with the security. They do not mess around at this airport and we were very happy about that. Now, if you are in a tight squeeze, there is very little chance you'd make your connection unless you mentioned it and received preferential treatment (go to the head of the line). We arrived at D1 pretty much with no people in front of us, by the time we left, there was quite a queue. Those people could spend a long time at D1. The fact that we had over 3 hrs of waiting time at this airport helped a lot (no stress) and the staff were very friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"coming back, security took ages"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | The airport is very large, but it has a lot to do, which is a plus for me. However, coming back, security took ages, I do understand the need to screen people, but clearly there was a problem with staffing, which needs to be looked into. An airport needs to run smoothly and not having people asking to go first because they end up being late.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"severe shortage of toilets for women"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The best thing about Schipol are the friendly staff at Starbucks. This is always the first place I go when I transit here. The worst thing about Schipol are the severe shortage of toilets for women. This is particularly awful when you are transiting after a long flight. The queues at all ladies toilets are massively long at all times of year. The queues from the men's toilet are normally short or nonexistent in comparison. I wish they would build more toilets.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and polite staff"

(Hong Kong)

Had very positive experiences at Amsterdam Schiphol. Very fast through immigration with pleasant staff. When departing, again had very fast and smooth check-in. Security a breeze with friendly and polite staff. Immigration was very fast with automated checking. Tons of food options and a good variety of shops. Toilets on the whole were plentiful and clean. Wifi fast. Couldn't ask for more.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a good experience "

(Australia)

Have read many reviews many of them not particularly favourable about Schiphol airport in Amsterdam - whether it was pure luck but we experienced none of the problems outlined in other reviews. There is no such thing as a quick entry into any airport and Schiphol was no worse or better than anywhere else. In fact the journey to the airport via the train was smooth and quick, check in was smooth (Cathy Pacific) and through customs within 15 minutes. Inside the facilities were clean and there seemed to be many options for food. There were also areas dedicated for people who wanted to lie down. The only negative are the distances to the gates, however, if you leave yourself enough time it is a pleasant stroll, although a tight transfer could prove strenuous. Overall a good experience and would fly from their again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"the staff are professional and courteous"

(Canada)

Excellent airport. Very relaxing. I transit in Amsterdam at least 8 times an year. Immigration and security is always a breeze. The staff are professional and courteous. I read some of the previous reviews regarding long wait times at security/immigration or the staff being rude. I am actually surprised. Perhaps passengers should understand to arrive for international flights 3 hours ahead of schedule. The staff in the shopping areas are always so helpful. I always fly KLM via Amsterdam on my way towards other European and Middle East destinations. I travel for business and have never flown any other airline in the last 3 years except domestic in North America. And I enjoy the 7 - 12 hour transit stops. It gives me the opportunity to go to the city and explore and have breakfast at one of my fav restaurants. Would always recommend transiting in Amsterdam.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"things went very smoothly"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Things went very smoothly, easy check in process and easy to find the gate. Good signage which gave enough time to also shop. Enough choice The new lounge area is a big improvement with an interesting clock in the central area, a must see. Big variety of shops. Free wifi
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes