Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 515 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very well signed"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Amsterdam Schipol is organized like a giant octopus with a core center and long corridors. Expect long walks if you are in transit. You might also face long taxiing before take-off or after landing also. Plan for your connections with a not too tight schedule! But despite the shape of the airport, it is still very well signed and hard to get lost. Food and shopping options are good and the place is very clean.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"completely lost in processes"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Schiphol security is really the worst system ever implemented. The non caring staff combined with their extreme slow modus and far too few staff involved creates a huge issue every day. Also the system itself is not working as it selects too many bags for 2nd inspection with absolutely no reason. Today I found that in my huge line over 70% of the baskets required a 2nd inspection. Being privium and platinum member we all understand how to put things in the baskets and what to separate. Still the system does not function properly. It is too frustrating spending 15 minutes waiting for the 2nd inspection - only 1 person - which is also queing the rest of the security. Schiphol is completely lost in processes and is losing attractiveness rapidly
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"avoid it or have really short transfers times"

(Denmark)

Unverified | Arriving to Schiphol from Düsseldorf the plane was parked on apron and the bus ride to the terminal was just about terrifying. The bus driver was more interested in whistling to the song on the radio instead of driving. Places to sit down with just a cold cola was impossible to find in the main area. There was huge seafood bars and sandwich bars but not a place where you could just sit down and have something to drink. You will be referred to the kiosk to get your water or cola and then you would have to fight the other 500000 people for the around 200 seating places. So my recommendation for Schiphol is to avoid it or have really short transfers times.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"departing is just a one giant nightmare"

(Israel)

Verified Review | The airport itself is very modern and clean, it looks nice and it's very cormftable to arrive in. But when you're departing from it, is just a one giant nightmare. When you enter the airport you can see hundreds of meters full with check in desks, now, go find yours! If you passed the check in level, now you need to find the security checks, the walking time from the check in desks to your exact super specific check, is about 20 minutes if you don't mess up with the directions. I am familiar with airports and I messed up a couple of times. After you pass security, you need to head to your gate. Now, here the fun begins. I love big airports. But this is too big. Walking 20 minutes to the (closest) gate, is just a bit bigger than I like. So after you are exhausted from walking to the gate, delay! A really nice 30 minute delay who squeezes the last few milliliters of mind. So now fly from Amsterdam!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"is still a pretty good place to make connections"

(United States)

Verified Review | Recent reviews of Schiphol Airport detail plenty of horror stories surrounding check-in and security (apparently for portal passengers originating or terminating AMS), but my experience over the past few years (most recently this month) as a transit passenger have been quite positive. Passport control queues have been longish but have moved properly, and one must keep ones eyes open for vehicle operators going just a bit too fast. And the one thing you will do on a connection is walk quite some distance, but travelators ease this situation considerably. In every case I made it to my departure gate with time to spare, enough time to nurse a Heineken or two at an airport pub before catching my flight. So whatever the problems may ne with check-in queues and the like, Schiphol is still a pretty good place to make connections - it's clean, comfortable and efficient.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
1/10

"very hectic experience"

(Sudan)

Verified Review | Amsterdam airport has been a disappointment in all levels. This my second time here and it's worst than the first one. The queues for the check in were unbelievable but when you see the search area waiting time, it makes the check in experience an easy one. The immigration queues were unprecedented. Extreme chaos and lack of respect to passengers. No organization and after being directed by a staff to wait in a certain queue and found it to be the wrong one. Only three officers for non EU passports and they were very slow. I had an infant that was crying due to the increased heat and crowd and nobody gave us any respect. It was a very hectic experience and would avoid Amsterdam as a departure city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Long queue after long queue"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Ghastly. Worst airport experience I have ever had, by a long way in Amsterdam. Long queue after long queue. Security long snaking queues, just thought we had reached the end and there was another long double bend. Took us 2.5 hours from train to plane, only just arrived in time. No time for coffee, no time to shop. Just queuing and walking. Departure Gate a very long walk. Tried to log on to wifi but failed. Train station right under terminal gave it an extra point.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very poor experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Lounge 3 at Amsterdam Schiphol at 7am in morning was filthy. Staff stood around talking not clearing tables or wiping eating surfaces. Supervisor failed to get staff to adequately clean area, food hygiene therefore a concern. General lounge cleaning poor with staff driving terminal electric vehicles far to quickly and expecting passengers to get out of their way. Overall very poor experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Just be realistic Schiphol"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Over the past year Schiphol has clearly been in decline by being far too ambitious. Everything is overcrowded, and flights inbound and outbound are always late. People travelling through Schiphol are clearly agitated. It used to be a nice experience travelling through here, now it is clearly a far more stressful experience. Just be realistic Schiphol.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very heartless and cold airport"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | I had an absolutely horrible experience at this airport. After traveling from Abu Dhabi to my home country (US), I had to change flights at this airport. My left knee was in excruciating pain. I requested a handicap trolley ride and was flatly told no. At passport control, the red vest customer service also tried to get me assistance with my mobility and he was also denied to help me. What kind of place is this to deny assistance to passengers. Very heartless and cold airport. I could barely walk and was in tears with the pain. I hobbled and almost missed my connecting flight. will never ever use this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no