Vote Now  

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 470 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"the signs can be clearer"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Amsterdam Schiphol is modern, new, tidy, clean, spacious. However, the signs can be clearer. I spent quite some effort to find where the boarding gate was. After that I wanted to go to the T3 aspire lounge, I knew it was located near gate 41 by my priority pass app. However, when I got to gate 41, I could not find it. Only when I checked my priority pass app more carefully, I found that I need to go up escalators to get to the lounge. I could not see any signs that direct me to the lounge in the way.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"nightmare that is Schiphol"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | On arrival at Amsterdam Schiphol, took over an hour to get through passport control. Waited in a corridor without any explanation then eventually small groups of us were allowed down a flight of stairs to a hall where hundreds of other passengers were queuing! The e-machines were not working and there were not enough passport controllers to deal with all the arrivals. After wonderful visit to city of Amsterdam, airport loomed before us. Arrived at Schiphol allowing two hours. Checked in quickly but security and passport control took so long; again poor information, e-machines not working, not even proper queues as it became a "free-for-all" with the pushy people just barging their way through or switching lanes to get to the front. Had to run to gate as it was about to close - no time for shopping, refreshments or even the toilet. Would love to visit Amsterdam again but put off by the nightmare that is Schiphol airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"only go through AMS as a last resort"

(United States)

The toilets were overly busy at Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. Women appeared to have even longer waits than men, but even I had to walk a long way to find a usable facility. Not only that, a couple of them were blocked with urine on the floor. Also had problems with the free wifi. I will only go through Amsterdam as a last resort.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"organisation of security a problem"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | In general I like Amsterdam Schiphol airport a lot. However, for a long time now the organisation of security check has been a problem. It has been in the national press and it shows in regular long queuing. Today this was brought to a new level - after waiting in line for an hour, the machine I was next in line for just closed down. End of shift, closed for the night, crew going home. That left one machine for 150 people and me missing my flight. Pretty basic stuff. Getting security checkpoint working. Cost me a ticket, a hotel night and parking charges.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a disaster in organisation"

(Germany)

At Amsterdam Schiphol, I queued up 60 min at security and was not even half way through - I was allowed after a couple of requests to proceed to the security gate - it took me another 15 min to pass it, where other airports make it takes 5. I had to run the to the gate and finally made it, only because the airline was courtesly waiting. What a disaster in organisation.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"idiotic procedures"

(United States)

Verified Review | Had layover of 90 minutes and due to idiotic procedures and multiple security check-points I almost missed my flight. Even with connection flight I was forced to leave terminals thrue baggage claim and went thrue two waiting zones to get gate number (existing boarding pass had bogus number)! After all harassment I can only appreciate US airports more.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"crammed with people"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I travelled on April 8th from Berlin to Edinburgh via Amsterdam with 55 min connecting time. While arriving at passport control in the Main Hall there were at least 300 people waiting. Even the Fast Lanes were stuffed. Airport staff came and asked people forward with less connection time. I waited 30 to 40mins, the screens already showed that my next flight began with boarding. I had to run up to my terminal. Not my understanding of an relaxed start into a vacation. I of course understand that controls are necessary for safety reasons. But even the self control e-gates were crammed with people. Maybe the airlines (both of my flights were operated by the same airline) have to be more realistic while selling their flights.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"passengers are treated like cattle"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | On the morning of April 3 my partner and I waited in a queue for almost an hour before reaching the security check stations. This is an unacceptable wait for all paying passengers and standing for that time in a slowly moving queue must cause difficulties for families with young children and elderly people with mobility difficulties. What made it worse was that some of the security stations were not manned and at one of them it appeared hand-luggage was going through the scanner but no member of staff was watching the monitor. I fully accept that safety and security for passengers is paramount and I have no complaint at all about security checks and they way they are carried out. However, Schipol Airport must be aware of the times when large numbers of people have to go through security and should take steps to ensure that is done as efficiently and quickly as possible. That was certainly not the case last Monday. It is quite irritating that having paid fares and taxes, passengers are treated like cattle. Incidentally, when we arrived from the UK the previous Friday, only two officers manned the immigration desks and none of the passport e-readers was operational. I love Amsterdam, but I will think long and hard before subjecting myself to a Schipol Airport ordeal again. I checked the security information on the Schipol Airport website. It is obviously written by someone who has never been anywhere near the security checkpoint. The description of how they try to give passengers a pleasurable experience would be laughable if it wasn't so annoying - and untrue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horrendous from beginning to end"

(United Kingdom)

Horrendous from beginning to end. Before we even left the booking in desk area we could see the queue for security spilling down the stairs. Once we got through security (circa 700 people, in very warm conditions with people begging staff for help as they knew they were going to miss their flight) straight into the queue for passport control (this was already backing up into security, only 2 staff on duty for European travellers) then a mad dash for the plane past the endless gates that make up the airport. Yes we arrived on time at the airport and no we did not divert for one second in our aim to catch our flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"A clean and transparent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A clean and transparent airport, with good transport connections and many amenities. There are problems. The security queues are long and the security treatment is intimidating. Long queues at customs. The airport has five working runways, but traffic still is prone to delays. The fifth runway has probably the longest taxi in the world. Wifi is unreliable (but free).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no