Vote Now  

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 456 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"coming back, security took ages"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | The airport is very large, but it has a lot to do, which is a plus for me. However, coming back, security took ages, I do understand the need to screen people, but clearly there was a problem with staffing, which needs to be looked into. An airport needs to run smoothly and not having people asking to go first because they end up being late.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"severe shortage of toilets for women"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The best thing about Schipol are the friendly staff at Starbucks. This is always the first place I go when I transit here. The worst thing about Schipol are the severe shortage of toilets for women. This is particularly awful when you are transiting after a long flight. The queues at all ladies toilets are massively long at all times of year. The queues from the men's toilet are normally short or nonexistent in comparison. I wish they would build more toilets.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and polite staff"

(Hong Kong)

Had very positive experiences at Amsterdam Schiphol. Very fast through immigration with pleasant staff. When departing, again had very fast and smooth check-in. Security a breeze with friendly and polite staff. Immigration was very fast with automated checking. Tons of food options and a good variety of shops. Toilets on the whole were plentiful and clean. Wifi fast. Couldn't ask for more.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a good experience "

(Australia)

Have read many reviews many of them not particularly favourable about Schiphol airport in Amsterdam - whether it was pure luck but we experienced none of the problems outlined in other reviews. There is no such thing as a quick entry into any airport and Schiphol was no worse or better than anywhere else. In fact the journey to the airport via the train was smooth and quick, check in was smooth (Cathy Pacific) and through customs within 15 minutes. Inside the facilities were clean and there seemed to be many options for food. There were also areas dedicated for people who wanted to lie down. The only negative are the distances to the gates, however, if you leave yourself enough time it is a pleasant stroll, although a tight transfer could prove strenuous. Overall a good experience and would fly from their again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"the staff are professional and courteous"

(Canada)

Excellent airport. Very relaxing. I transit in Amsterdam at least 8 times an year. Immigration and security is always a breeze. The staff are professional and courteous. I read some of the previous reviews regarding long wait times at security/immigration or the staff being rude. I am actually surprised. Perhaps passengers should understand to arrive for international flights 3 hours ahead of schedule. The staff in the shopping areas are always so helpful. I always fly KLM via Amsterdam on my way towards other European and Middle East destinations. I travel for business and have never flown any other airline in the last 3 years except domestic in North America. And I enjoy the 7 - 12 hour transit stops. It gives me the opportunity to go to the city and explore and have breakfast at one of my fav restaurants. Would always recommend transiting in Amsterdam.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"things went very smoothly"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Things went very smoothly, easy check in process and easy to find the gate. Good signage which gave enough time to also shop. Enough choice The new lounge area is a big improvement with an interesting clock in the central area, a must see. Big variety of shops. Free wifi
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"used to be an efficient and fast airport"

(Ireland)

I've never submitted a review like this, but after 3 disastrous departure experiences from Schiphol Airport I feel the need to do so, in the hope it will improve the situation. Schiphol used to be an efficient and fast airport, but in the last few months I've seen a significant deterioration, in specific in relation to security control. The queues for security control are always extremely long and staff is rude and unhelpful. It is hard to understand why security control does not open more lanes, when they can see the long queus of people getting increasingly stressed and frustrated. The last 3 times I've seen several incidents with people trying to skip the queue when they really need to catch a flight, and security control staff telling them rudely to go back in queue. I recommend taking into acount a waiting time of about an hour for security control alone at Schiphol airport. Passport control can take a significant amount of time also.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"friendly and upbeat staff"

(Zambia)

Arrival into Amsterdam Schiphol was painless but quite a long walk from the gate to immigration. Contrary to what has been mentioned on this site before, I did not see any problem with stagnation at that point. There was a bit of a queue, but the self-service gates handled them quickly. Luggage arrived very fast (coming out of a chock-full A380) and I was out within 20 minutes after the doors opened. I know the way to the train station but for a newcomer the full Schiphol Plaza might be daunting and confusing. However, the signage is the best I have seen and you can't miss it. When in doubt - ask. Departure from Schiphol is always a pleasure. The only thing that dampened the joy is that our airline Emirates doesn't open the check-in counters until 3 hours before the flight. By that time there were already more than a 100 people waiting. They can do that better. The new central security was a breeze with friendly and upbeat staff. The air-side shopping and restaurant area is one of the best in the world. Just realise that your gate might be a 20 min walk away but the horizontal escalators will help. Signage again is great and you can't miss your gate. Because of the central security the boarding process is easier then previously.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"security checks have become clownesque and grotesque"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Security checks at Schiphol have become clownesque and grotesque and continue to confirm the madness and false feeling of security. Last Friday – travelling within the Schengen zone - my little wallet was turned inside out without any acceptable explanation. How could one possible think that a few banknotes and coins can be a serious threat to national or international security and if indeed it is, what will be next? This is more likely - is it just feeding the enormous sense of well-being one may get after professionally and aggressively insulting innocent travellers. What a joke!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"security clearance very long"

(Canada)

I was traveling to Toronto from Amsterdam Schiphol. The security clearance after luggage check in was very long. Waited 45 min to clear security. Good thing I came in 3 hours early. Still I barely managed to clear security on time. Amsterdam airport should implement a better and faster way to clear security.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes