Top 100 Airlines  

Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 411 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"pleasant and open"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived in good time and was surprised at how pleasant and open the airport was. The toilets in the main concourse were spotless, and everywhere you went I was amazed at how open and hassle free it all was to negotiate. Schiphol is huge but by comparison with other UK airports it was a joy. Security was no issue with no queues to speak of and the waiting areas were okay. The lack of comfortable seating was a bit of an issue but otherwise I was very impressed. The annoying bit was the constant desire of the staff and info desk to push you down the expensive Taxi route. When asked where the bus (197) was, I was unhelpfully told in the bus station, but he had no wish to tell me something helpful like the stop number, but is this the airport's fault?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"will avoid it for the foreseeable future"

(United Kingdom)

They have introduced a new security screening area at Schipol which is horrendously slow, causing massive queues right back into the check-in hall, luckily we had left plenty time to get through but we only just made our flight. I am sure many passengers will be missing flights or delaying flights due to the time this system is taking. We use Schipol quite regularly but we will avoid it for the foreseeable future and hope they sort this out. I would certainly not recommend Schipol at the moment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really a horror"

(Netherlands)

Never again - our first and last time from Amsterdam. It was really a horror and a big mistake starting our holidays there. We arrived 2.5 hours before the flight - we had no chance to eat something, no chance to sit or to buy something. All our time was wasted in queues. The most positive aspect was dropping off the luggage and getting boarding cards - we waited only 5 Minutes. The horror started immediately after - we went to security and waited in a mass of people and no movement in sight. No information, after this procedure there was passport control - same long queues as before. Then running miles to the announced gate we got there 10 Minutes before flight took off. We should have been there 45 minutes before. You can use this place best as a shopping mall - but as a the "International airport of the Netherlands" it is a shame. Will never fly again from there and will look for a more comfortable alternatives.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues at all stages were horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

I used to use this airport almost every week and, while not particularly liking it, found it to be efficient and quick. On 25th April, however, our experience was completely different. From checking in to getting through security took nearly two hours - the queues at all stages were horrendous and the staff officious and unhelpful. Luckily, we had arrived early, but for those who had left less time, there seemed to be no process for getting them to their gates on time. Although KLM is a convenient way for me to travel long-haul from Birmingham, I shall look for alternative routes in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"used to be a decent airport"

(Netherlands)

Huge queues on 23 April. Baggage drop-off was backed up all the way to terminal 3, then join the queue to go up the stairs, where you get to join another long queue for the scanners. We arrived 2 hours before our flight, and the gate was closing by the time we got to it (at a run). Too few staff. Little sense of organisation or information. No toilets that I could see between bagage drop-off and the far side (airside) of passport control, which is something to bear in mind if you're travelling with a child. To be fair, the journey back was a breeze, but this used to be a decent airport. The combination of centralised scanning (used to be done at the gate) and peak periods seems to be sending it down the tubes. I would recommend avoiding it if you can, or arrive 3 hours early at peak times. I've rated seating, eating etc, but that's based on previous flights.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Avoid this airport if possible. Queues from moment of arrival to getting on plane. They did not keep to gates as shown on departure details screens. No announcements to let you know what was going on. Staff very unhelpful and would not engage in conversation. This despite having checked in online the previous day. When we eventually dropped the bags off we expressed concern that we might miss our plane. Simply agreed but offered no help whatsoever. The next section ie security was just as bad. Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"staff are willing to help"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam Airport Schiphol is one of the finest airports I have been to. It offers a huge variety of shops, entertainment and restaurants. Free Wi-Fi is available (which used to be 2x30 min), so they have improved in this area. An airport which gives you clear directions, is clean and staff that are willing to help you in a friendly manner offering a huge number of destinations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no information was provided"

(Netherlands)

Arrived at Schiphol on Tuesday 12 April from London, airport was in lockdown. Staff were clueless as to how to manage the situation, no information was provided at all during the entire 3 1/2 hours where we were all left standing around unable to clear immigration. When we were finally allowed into the arrivals area, no one knew where the checked bagged could be collected from, I finally walked through endless corridors and found a pile of suitcases stacked up in a corner and located my own. A disgraceful demonstration of a complete lack of co ordination, given recent events in Paris and Brussels one would expect that Schiphol would have had a plan in place already. The only information we had was from accessing local news feeds via phones/tablets. If this was a real emergency, the situation could have turned out really badly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"used to be a great airport"

(Ireland)

There is constant building works going on, there is no structure to the different areas of the terminal. The staff that work there are extremely rude and lazy in a lot of the restaurants. It seems to be the norm to sit and wait and wait for service, ground staff were also extremly rude when we had an issue. It used to be a great airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"too big and badly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Amsterdam Schipol has become a profoundly unattractive airport to use. By using the single terminal model it has become a monster. On arrival the distance to walk to the arrivals hall was far too long, even though there were 3 travelators en-route. The queue for passport control was so long it came out of the arrivals hall and up the steps into the concourse. There was little management of the queue and it became such a scrum to get to the passport control desk that airport security had to be called to control passengers jumping the queue. From previous experiences of a slick operation, it took me nearly 45 minutes to get my passport checked. Departing was a similar experience of very long queues for passport control. I was lucky being in a priority queue, so it only took 15 minutes to wait, but the priority queue was merged with an economy queue, so any economy passengers who chose that queue had a much longer wait. Inside the concourse it is very large with long walks to get to any of the piers, the piers themselves are long. To get to my gate from the airline lounge was a 20 minute walk. Lounges themselves are identified only by number and there are no signs to identify which airline relates to which number. The KLM staff at the first lounge you reach were clearly getting exasperated to give directions to so many people. Overall, Schipol is now too big, badly organised and too slow. I only use it if really essential.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no