Almaty Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 13 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 18th December 2014

Almaty airport is a tiny and dilapidated building compared to most international airports. The international terminal is cramped when you are waiting for an overseas flight and sometimes you'll be lucky to even find a place to sit. As you are coming in passport control is fairly swift and quick and collection of luggage and exiting is fast as well. As you are coming out be prepared to be greeted by a horde of gypsy taxi drivers. Most of them will overcharge you if you don't speak Russian so if you don't feel comfortable there is an official taxi booth near the exit charging 3500 Tenge. If you do decide to utilize a gypsy taxi driver come to an agreed upon price before getting in a price of 1500 - 2000 Tenge is reasonable. When buying something from one of the shops at the airport if you don't speak Russian it's important to not agree to buy anything unless there is a price tag on it. Shop keepers routinely over-charge foreigners double and even triple the amount. Overall it is not a comfortable airport to be in especially if you are waiting for an overseas flight. Limit the amount of time you have to spend there to as little as possible.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 27th April 2014

An old building with old services although parts are modernized. The domestic side is on the right side with no connection to the international part. You have to exit the building to get to from domestic flights to international flights. You are not allowed to go to the airside terminal before your flight is announced for check in. This means you have to wait outside in the departure hall. WiFi is available for free but do not expect great speed. Check in is in a rather small area. Passport control is reasonably swift as is customs control and safety control. There are no shops on the domestic airside. The business lounge is almost always closed. And the local airline Air Astana does not provide this service for domestic flights. There is a small restaurant in the old and new part. There are shops in the international airside. There is a small restaurant/bar. The business lounge is available and open 24 hours. Use of this service is based on the airline. Lufthansa gets a limited menu of drinks and food. KLM seems to be more generous (no apparent restrictions). But it is an old room with plastic leather seating and not much else. There are enough ATMĀ“s available to get cash. There are no newspapers/magazines for foreigners. Only taxis ordered or outside at the official taxi stand have decent fares. But agree on a fixed price no meters installed. Ignore offers inside the building. Almaty is no longer the capital of Kazakhstan (1997 Astana). No plans to upgrade the facilities here in the near future (April 2014).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 1st September 2013

Passed through Almaty on transit - Immigration control was prompt and without problems. Service from the Business Lounges was very poor/non existent particularly in the domestic lounge. Domestic area was very busy and overcrowded. Departure controls were OK both for security and immigration. Business check in OK but not up to standards in some other better airports like Bangkok or Istanbul. I would not choose to use the airport as a transit unless there is no other choice.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by (Estonia) 28th September 2012

This is one of the worst airports I have ever been to. The transit area is almost ridiculously uncomfortable and the business lounge is not only almost ridiculous! You get about one free mineral water included in a business ticket but more than that the lounge is noisy worn and broken sofas from about 1970 no comfortable seats at all no wi-fi. Basically no nothing apart from airport staff that come in and turn up the television only they watch! A total pain and never more a lay-over here!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by (Azerbaijan) 28th June 2012

It is a pity that Kazakhstan has such a good national airline (Air Astana) but such a poorly-organised airport at Almaty. The problem mainly seems to be with the exit border controls. Not enough booths are manned while various uniformed and non-uniformed staff mill around occasionally allowing people through without queuing leading to frustration and annoyance among remaining passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 5th October 2011

A poorly organised airport. It's not clear that international check-in is through the customs point. There were customs forms outside all in Russian. I filled one out to the best of my ability showed it to the guard and he just waved me through. My bags were checked briefly and no one looked at my form. Then I went to check-in which was quick and then to emigration. Beyond final security is a crowded room with expensive shops. PA announcements were indecipherable. I hope the new terminal is done properly because this one does nothing for Kazakhstan's and Air Astana's growing reputation.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by 17th August 2009

Arrived from Seoul Korea on my way to Ust-Kamenogorsk Kazakhstan. No problems with Passport Control or Customs. Lines went very fast. Baggage claim was fast - then came the fun! As you exit the baggage claim area there is a gauntlet of taxi drivers trying to solicit you. I was in need of currency and I was followed by someone who wanted to assist me with my luggage. He also offered to assist me with the money exchange! I told him no several times and he finally listened and left me alone! I did not need a taxi as I was staying at the Aksunkar hotel which is walking distance from the terminal. All in all the airport was nice and the people were friendly. It was easy to navigate through although I only speak and read English. All signs and monitors have English. The only complaints I have is when I returned to Korea from UKK. The announcements on the PA are hard to understand and no restrooms in the international departures area once you past security. They will allow you to exit past security to go but you must pass through security again. Of course that means x-rays and metal detectors and empty your pockets - again! No issues with Customs or Immigration.
no
/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by 31st May 2006

Almaty airport is fine. Usual CIS queue upon arrival at passport control. Barely no customs control upon arrival. The terminal is clean and you don't see any strange faces around. I also agree you should avoid people trying to take your luggage into the terminal and then charging high prices for the service. Upon departure for international flights you have to pass a customs control where they random pick somebody. I was picked-up but customs officers have been friendly and upon explanation why I was there everything was ok. Check in facilities are fine as is passport control duty free and toilets. A good improvement since my last visit in 2005 is a full body scan. I was randomly chosen for a check too (maybe it was my day for this) and in less than 3 mins I was back with the other passengers waiting for the plane.
no
/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by 15th March 2006

A vast improvement on the temporary arrangments that pertained after the old International terminal burned down. Customs (once a time-consuming and intimidating business) has disappeared in both Arrivals and Departures as has the on-arrival baggage scan. A clean modern and well-equipped terminal with a coffee shop for waiting until you are admitted for check-in (2 hours prior to international flights); a spacious departure lounge; good clean lavatories; a "business" lounge that charges for admission and where everyone smokes (though there's also a smoking booth in the departure lounge). Shopping nothing special; anything you might want (local vodka; caviar) is way cheaper in town. Watch out for scam-merchants trying to charge you for a luggage trolley.
no
/10

Almaty Airport customer review

Review by 29th January 2006

Alun Hunt's comments are fair. The business lounge does seem to be used as the smoking lounge making it unusable for us non-smokers. The shopping is a little limited but it is modern and clean.
no
1 to 10 of 11 Reviews