Top 100 Airlines  

Alicante Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very distressed about it"

(United Kingdom)

My elderly mother was left for an hour in the sun outside while waiting for assistance that we had arranged for her. There is a buzzer to call through and repeatedly she was told that someone would come for her, in the end she had to struggle to get a trolley and struggle into the airport terminal as she needed to use the toilet and had to get herself to the check in otherwise she would have been too late. She was texting us and there was nothing we could do for her so both she and myself were very distressed about it. Then, despite Monarch saying the check in would print out her boarding card the woman on the desk was rude and offhand that she hadn't got it and moaned and muttered about printing it. Remember Spain, many of the visitors to your country are getting older and you wouldn't treat your family like that so do not treat mine or others like that.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"fiddling with mobile phones"

(United Kingdom)

On my last 2 departures from Alicante airport, I have accidentally left banned items in my hand luggage which weren't spotted during security checks. On the first occasion I left a pack of non-safety razor blades in my case, on the second occasions my wife had inadvertently left a pair of scissors in her polythene toiletries bag which were visible as they went along the belt. The system at the hand luggage scanner is that the person viewing the x-ray images, stops the belt and rummages through any suspect luggage so is under pressure to get the case cleared and the belt moving again rather than suspect cases being flagged for further checks off to the side as is the case in other airports I have travelled through. I have seen the person monitoring the x-ray image screen fiddling with their mobile phones.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"beware when using"

(United Kingdom)

Please beware when using Alicante Airport that it operates or is complicit in a number of scams. Firstly, there are never any bottles of water in the drinks machines, so rather than pay the extortionate €1.50 for a bottle that costs 20 cents in supermarkets, you pay the incredible €3.50 charged by the restaurants and shops. Then there is the 'free' wi-fi. I used this and was given the option of filling in a 'sponsors questionnaire' to get free wi-fi or paying about €4. After filling in an annoying and time-consuming questionnaire, I received spam texts and emails. One of the texts cost me £4.50 to receive. Very free. The airport must know this happens. It is a pity because in many aspects (bag drop, time taken to get through security) the airport seems to be improving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"wifi is the worst"

(United Kingdom)

Travelled from this airport on numerous occasions and the free wifi is the worst I have ever experienced. Never been able to connect which is a farce if you're delayed. There must be a substantial amount of business users that travel from this airport so I assume they rely on their own data as the airports internet is garbage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"toilets should have smoke sensors"

(United Kingdom)

I am a wheelchair user and have been using Alicante for the past 13 Years. It has come to my attention that people use the disabled toilets for having a cigarette as they can't smoke in the terminal - surely these toilets should have smoke sensors. This has happened to me on several occasions the latest being on 7/12/15 - I came out smelling like an ashtray.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"wouldn't like too long a delay here"

(United Kingdom)

Not too bad but wouldn't like too long a delay here. No comfortable bar landside to wait for flights to arrive just a couple of cafeterias with rather hard seats. Acres of space but nothing going on. Through security (reasonably efficient) to airside area with a big "pub" which was fine. Duty free shop good, other shops a bit specialised and pricey. Staff I encountered were generally polite and friendly but a bit slow taking our order in the pub - I ended up ordering at the bar as time was getting on. Boarding area was standard with everybody starting to queue despite being called up in stages. They generally got away with queue jumping which caused a few delays in the boarding process.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"lacks air conditioning everywhere"

(Ireland)

Alicante Airport lacks air conditioning everywhere. Not enough staff at check in area, staff extremely rude talking away in Spanish to my husband when the bleeper went off as he walked through. They treated us as if we were criminals pointing to us and our carry on luggage, all was ok in the end but when I said to one member of staff 'we do not speak Spanish' I was ignored. We were then left to wait afterwards for the bus that takes you to the plane for at least 15 mins with no air conditioning or air for that matter with babies in buggies, parents, elderly people etc. Why in this day and age should passengers have to endure this sort of unacceptable behaviour. I will never go to this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"please clearly signpost"

(United Kingdom)

Please put a sign above the waiting bench for disabled assistance in departures, when I took a flight in June it was not signposted as a bench only for the disabled to use. We were very embarrassed when staff told us off for sitting there even though there were no signs to state it was for the disabled, so how were we to know! Please clearly signpost this as not all disabled people look disabled, and people might not realise that they need to give up the seat for them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
na

"were very rude not understanding"

(United Kingdom)

I have used Alicante Airport for the past fifteen years but needed assistance for the past five years since becoming Registered Blind. I have always been very grateful and impressed with the assistance until today. Having arrived at 8.36am for my 11am flight I was not taken to passport control until 10.30am! As I travel on my own I could not go to get a drink or visit the toilet in case assistance arrived. No one cared when I complained it was treated as a joke to them. It upset me very much as it is stressful enough travelling alone to visit my elderly father never have I had such terrible "assistance". Security at passport control were very rude not understanding as my cane was being x-rayed I couldn't walk forward as I had no idea what was in front of me!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

"complete and unmitigated disaster"

(United Kingdom)

I have used Alicante Airport for 15 years or more and can say without doubt that the new terminal is a complete and unmitigated disaster. Announcements are incomprehensible Security often slow and rude the air-conditioning at best ineffective at worst a disgrace. People struggle to keep cool and there is so little seating that at busy times it is impossible for the elderly to find somewhere to sit. The food is over priced and of very poor quality. Even the VIP lounge is dreadful I can only think of Exeter Airport as worse and I have visited at least 10 different lounges in the last twelve months. I can think of nothing to redeem this airport save cleanliness.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 39 Reviews