Albuquerque Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 16 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 29th May 2014

ABQ is a wonderful small airport however it is an airport in decline. The basic problem is lack of competition by carriers in the Albuquerque market. Southwest has significantly cut back service to/from ABQ and eliminated non stop service to a number of cities like Seattle and Portland. I addition this lack of competition reflects in much higher fares to the same cities when compared to fares from DEN. Why the airport management at ABQ is not more aggressive in attracting carriers to the Sunport is a mystery. Without more competition in the Albuquerque market to only alternative for non-stop service at reasonable prices is to fly from DEN and do the drive to the Denver airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
9/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 3rd March 2014

Great regional airport. Good food - reflecting the unique New Mexican cuisine. From drop off through ticketing and security shouldn't take more than 15 minutes. As stated before the observation area is nice and quiet - with good views of the Monzano mountains and the active runways. Decor is South-western and very classic - with a lot of the original building that existed prior to the terminal upgrade back in the 1990s. It's not O'Hare with lots of flight options but also not the delays and crowds. Just wish there were more flights as prices can be high to various hub cities.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
2/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 8th January 2014

The worst airport I have visited. My flight arrived here as a connection that was delayed so we arrived close to midnight. Aside from janitors there was no one that worked for the airport readily available. As I attempted to sleep in the very poorly heated terminal until the next morning I was woken up by a security guard who told me that I cant sleep in the terminal and must go outside and then re-enter security in the morning. In the morning I was informed by the TSA agent that even though I was active duty military I cannot go through the pre-approval line unless I'm in uniform even though she knew that we are no longer supposed to travel in uniform.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
7/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 19th February 2013

I have used ABQ for departure and arrival 3 or 4 times mostly at a time when I was doing business with a local company. What I appreciated most about this airport was the easy get away and arrival. The traffic was never bad and that allowed me to get my car and get out or get to the airport and on to the check in counter with little delay or problem. The facilities are not extensive and the amenities are modest. But with 25 gates it is not overwhelming. The facilities are also aesthetically quite pleasing.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd May 2012

A shame ABQ doesn't have many flights other than Southwest because it is definitely the best airport in the Southwest. Good security fast baggage claim and no terminal transfers since they hold everything in one building which even blends into its surroundings. Food is a little pricey as well but otherwise it is harder to find a better airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 22nd November 2011

Albuquerque is a terrific airport. Parking is easy and affordable. Getting in and out is a breeze. The only down side is the wait at the TSA checkpoint can be long and slow so give yourself a couple hours before your flight leaves.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
4/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 19th July 2010

Albuquerque International Sunport is a functional medium-size US airport. There is only one terminal with 25 gates so walking distances are relatively short. The corridors are wide and ceilings are high so a bright airy feel. The airport is immaculate. The taxi and rental car shuttle rank are only about a hundred yards from the gate area exit and only steps beyond bag claim. The security queue moves relatively fast. The one negative is that food and beverage options are limited to a Quizno's a bar and grill a bakery offering mediocre sandwiches and a New Mexican restaurant offering very mediocre food.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 9th August 2009

Rental cars at this airport are extremely expensive. To save a lot of money I found that renting from an in town location even with return to the airport can easily save 40% or more. The trick is to reserve before with the in-town location take a cab to the location. The cab may cost $25 to $35 but the savings can be much greater. I rented a Hertz mid-size car for 9 days with an AAA standard discount and saved $300 compared to the airport price same rental same discount card! Another point about this airport if you're traveling economy on Delta watch out! On my trip Delta had no curb check-in for baggage and the "self-check" inside the terminal had a line with about 200 people. Extremely annoying even if you've "checked-in" by Internet beforehand.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by 21st January 2008

I always try to have plenty of lead time so I can go upstairs to the observation lounge - a hidden gem above the main food court. Free wireless internet leather sofas work tables and spectacular view of the mountains all make this a great place to find calm after security before the flight. Look for the two stairs flanking the large eagle-catcher statue. That's another thing: check out the permanent art collection located throughout the complex. NM is known for its native arts and what a more fitting place.
no
na

Albuquerque Airport customer review

Review by 9th November 2007

Mid-size fairly modern airport. Looked like free parking in front of the rental car building. Shuttles between the terminal and rental car building seemed to run quite often even at night. Decent selection of restaurants and shops for this size airport though security line area was typically chaotic.
no
1 to 10 of 16 Reviews