Addis Ababa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"airport is very crowded"

(India)

Not Verified | Airport is under construction and expanding. There are duty free shops available and a few cafes to dine in. But all this is pre security clearance area. Once you have cleared security, all you can get is water placed in dispensers. The airport is very crowded when compared to its size and we changed flights two times from the airport and found it to be very crowded both the times. The ground staff at the gates does not seem friendly and also nothing much happens in an ordered fashion here. There is no information provided on the delay in flight by the ground staff. Please be cautious and carry some food along while using this airport as transit. There is absolutely nothing available to buy after security clearance and the wait time is never guaranteed as the delay in flight by at least half hour to one hour seems normal at this airport. The airport does provide wi-fi service but it is very slow. While we were travelling, access of Whatsapp through wi-fi was not possible (possibly blocked).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, crowded and potentially lethal"

(Kenya)

Not Verified | Dirty, crowded and potentially lethal. I concur with the points of the other reviewers - the airport is crowded, staff are rude, transit is stressful and through a chaotic security checkpoint, seating non-existent and toilet facilities are woeful, with two toilets in the entire waiting area. The worst thing I witnessed though was during boarding, when another passenger collapsed in a fit outside the boarding gate. Someone was calling out for a doctor, and the airport staff shrugged and said there was no medical staff around. A passenger pleaded with a staff member at the check in counter to call for help, he rudely told the passenger that it was not his problem, and he is only doing his job. The medical emergency was left completely for the other passengers to handle, with no reaction or sympathy from the staff. I don’t know what happened in the end, as I boarded my flight. I would not recommend Addis airport to anyone with medical conditions, as the staff will apparently rather leave you on the floor than attempt to help.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Queuing system does not exist"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | I spent five hours at the airport and had plenty of time for experiencing. Sat down for a evening meal at the only restaurant option available. This part of the visit was quite mediocre but undramatic. The rather functioning wi-fi made it bearable. The flow of travelers at this airport is heavy for its size and the seating area was full. I had to pay my way at the restaurant in order to keep my seat where I shared a table with two rounds with groups of strangers. There were loads of people everywhere - something one can expect from an airport like this. But that requires and demands good organizing - also something one can expect from an airport like this. Queuing system does not exist at this place, neither does providing of current information. There was complete anarchy at the queue for the security check with shouting and mis guidance. According to the given information, we would have missed our flight only because of lack of organization. But luckily for us the whole crowd was waiting at the gate (standing) for almost an hour because of an unannounced delay. The delay was announced 15 minutes before boarding. The situation resulted in way too many people relative to the given space and durance from an security point of view. In whole, I will actively avoid this airport in any way.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have been to"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport I have been to! For an airline that is considered the biggest in Africa, I was very disappointed! It’s dirty, smelly and uncomfortable. I have been to smaller airports in Africa that are way way better than this. Not to mention the customer service is the worst. They are rude, disrespectful, unhelpful and incompetent. To make matters worse they have issues with technology (non working ATMs, swipe machines and slow wifi). Save yourself and fly with another airline. I will never fly Ethiopian, I am very disappointed.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Airport was so crowded"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I have high hopes for Ethiopian Airlines flying from Manila to Sao Paulo Brazil with a layover in Addis Ababa Airport. Ethiopian Airlines is indeed a good airline however, Addis Ababa Airport is one of the worst if not the worst. The toilets were so bad I didn't even bother entering despite my stomach ache. The selection of restaurants was awful. The Airport was so crowded I don't even know how it can accommodate all the Ethiopian Airline flight. Too much security checks.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is a joke"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is a joke. Not only are the lines ridiculous, food terrible and service worse, the transit agents are completely incompetent. I had to go through two separate security points before they removed items from my hand luggage and nearly made me miss my flight. Avoid this airport if you possibly can, they’re inept.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"smelly, uncomfortable, and noisy"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terribly busy in the evening. Rude shop staff. Smelly, uncomfortable, and noisy. I will never understand why anyone would want to go through 3 lines for multiple document checks and security on the way to the gate rather than before entering the terminal. Yes let’s do the difficult slow part as close as possible to boarding! No. Worst airport I’ve been to bar maybe Goa.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"need to change very quickly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Oh dear. Ethiopian Airlines are trying very hard to corner the African market with brand new A350 and Dreamliner aircraft but Addis Ababa Airport makes a mockery of this with its appearance, staff attitude and out of date setup. It's very crowded and there really aren't anything like enough seats. There are a few rooms with something like 10 beds in but these are always full and the space could be utilised in a much better way. The flight information screens display flight information in 2 languages and scroll very quickly which can be annoying. It seems as though the airport has tried to give jobs to as many people as possible without anyone being able to take responsibility for anything. Our flight back to the UK was showing go to gate on the screen and when we arrived at the gate we were turned away by an officious staff member whose English was appalling. When I pointed out that the screen told us to go to gate, he barked "screen needs changing." The airport and its staff are unfortunately stuck in a bygone age and both need to change very quickly.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"deserves all the bad reviews"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | ADD definitely deserves all the bad reviews around here, especially if you need to rest after a relatively short red-eye-flight. Experience was slightly better on the second flight, arriving at 8 pm and departing at 11 pm. Seating / resting facilities are very limited and can only be found in crowded areas. The few existing "restaurants" are crowded, service therefore is pretty slow. People keep smoking outside the horrible smokers room till staff sends them back in, the whole terminal smells horrible. Boarding gates change frequently on short notice, displays mostly not working. Free WiFi is available but often not working or just for a few seconds. Toilets are very basic. Security is obligatory even if only in transit, queues are short. A new terminal is foreseen to be opened partially in summer 2018, hopefully this will improve experience at this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no staff to take any responsibility"

(India)

Not Verified | Easily the worst international airport in the world (sample size 100). Spent 7 torturous hours when boarding announced on the signboard, with no aircraft or staff in sight. And then says departed! Repeated this 4 times with no staff to take any responsibility. Poor internet, crowded, two toilets in the whole airport - you kidding me - this is worse than the worst.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no