Best Cabin Crew  

Addis Ababa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 58 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"plenty of staff"

(United Kingdom)

Left T2 for LHR last Monday. Check in efficiency the best I have ever seen there, same with immigration queues with plenty of staff available. Sheba Silver lounge fine, food OK, wifi good. Gate 5 busy but security check in fairly quick, I dont even consider shopping as I know its a rip off, just like Heathrow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"the departure area was awful"

(United Kingdom)

In summary - international arrivals was good, domestic ok, international departures was dreadful. On arrival to Addis Ababa airport international terminal there are very clear directions to immigration, and whilst it does take a reasonably long time queuing to get your visa on arrival this can't really be avoided. The airport is very organised at distributing visas, with a clear and fast new system meaning you don't need to faff around getting a passport photo ready as they have a camera ready to take a picture of you. It is also easy to get your Birr. I personally saw a lot of the domestic terminal, flying Addis to Dire Dawa, Addis to Bahar Dar and Lalibela to Addis via Gondar. I have to say its nothing to get excited about with just 1 slightly dodgy looking restaurant, grotty toilets and a nice seating area. Also be beware that in Ethiopia you have to go through security twice, 1 on entering the airport and 1 before getting on your flights. This is a bit annoying but there's nothing you can do about it. However, departing from Addis Ababa was pretty awful. The checking in was good - machines a little bit dodgy but worked eventually, however the departure area was awful. Considering the country's cost of living and general prices, the airport is ridiculously expensive - £12 for a KitKat. The shops in general were less organised than many of the Ethiopian street/khat markets we went to, and the stuff they were selling was probably of considerably lower quality. Plus the food was awful. Also - do not buy water in the airport. The 2nd security check doesn't allow water through - despite the fact any water that is being taken through that security check having to have been brought in the airport! This side of the airport had considerably ruder staff, although of course this may have something to do with the fact it was past midnight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"staff were unhelpful"

(Myanmar)

I am completely perplexed by the duty free situation at this airport; you can buy alcohol at one of the many shops in the transit/departure area, but it seems you are not allowed to carry it on the plane and instead you have to check-in your hand luggage. Liquids are not packed in the standard tamper-proof bags you find at any other airport, meaning that security are justified in refusing to allow it to be carried on. During our second transit through Addis, a verbal fight - which bordered on physical - broke out between two airport staff responsible for scanning Business Class passengers bags. This lasted for nearly 10 minutes, but even when the fight was broken up, the staff were too shocked/distracted to immediately resume work, and so passengers were stuck in the queue for over 15 minutes as the staff were calmed down. Bags were then not properly screened by the distracted staff. Not reassuring. Boarding was a mess, at a gate different from the one advertised, and staff were unhelpful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Addis Ababa Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

My experience was bad - the toilets need improving as there were not enough for all customers. Lots of people were sleeping on the floor while waiting in transit. No ATM machines to be seen anywhere. The bank was closed. Places to charge phones or laptop were very few.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"checkpoints are chaotic"

(Philippines)

This airport is disgraceful, especially considering the fact that it is the main hub of Ethiopian Airlines, all their flights into, out of, and within Africa would pass through here. Some poorer African countries actually have better airports. Completely dilapidated, toilets are very few and dirty, lack of places to eat, and those few restaurants all serve bland, overpriced food. Nothing much when it comes to shopping. Checkpoints are chaotic, limited seats for economy class passengers - what else? I spent 6 hours here on arrival and departure (I was on connecting flights to other destinations), and both times I was miserable. Nothing worse than having a long layover in a horrible airport after a long haul flight. Consider the layover times if you are considering flying Ethiopian air to destinations in Africa.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"poorly looked after and can feel chaotic"

(South Africa)

Easy to transit. People available to let you know but is rather poorly looked after and can feel chaotic. But go with the flow and all will generally be good. I was able to use the lounge and that was very busy and the toilets crowded and lots of water on the floor but was cleaned quite often. Announcements are not easy to always understand. Was using the exit to buses to planes - plenty of flights waiting at the same time just wait for someone to call the flight, go down the stairs, line up and get on a bus. Tends to work but not in a way you might be used to. Enjoy bumping into people from across Africa and engage with the way it operates and you should find it works. Not sure about facilities such as food shops and duty free because I didn't use them. When transiting you may be directed straight to the waiting areas where there is nothing but chairs so be aware of that although it does make the transit straightforward.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"clean up this place"

(Netherlands)

Nobody cares about this entrance into Ethiopia. It is a disgrace to wait in line with fifty passengers for one visa window. Have people no shame? What happened to good old pride of your country? Clean up this place, check every hour the toilets. Get rid of the loitering no goods. Remember the word Welcome? That has some implications.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Addis Ababa Airport customer review

(United States)

What a terrible airport, the worst I have seen in Africa in the past 5 years. And not too long ago, it was a reasonable place. Transit passengers with no water, no food, no lounge. If you need the toilet, prepare to wait 15-30 minutes, bring your own toilet paper, and be prepared for a dirty place. While there are sometimes attendants in the lounge area, they turn away when you ask them a question. The public announcements are unintelligible. Of course there is no wifi, and the data functions of major international carriers do not work in the terminal, even if you have high-end roaming. Steel seats are very uncomfortable after three hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
no
1/10

Addis Ababa Airport customer review

(Hungary)

I choose Ethiopean Airlines from VIE via ADD to SEZ and back because of the reasonable ticket price. I checked the comments about ADD and they looked ok. It was the worst airport I have seen. Dirty seats, water leaking from the roof of the terminal building, awful smell everywhere. 3 people can fit in the smoking room and 30 smoke in front of it, no wifi, no connection for the credit card terminals, unorganised line ups at the rude security checks. No elevators for baby strollers, 30 mins waiting at the toilets, incorrect information on the screens, etc.. Ethiopean airlines was ok, the crew and the food were fantastic, but because of ADD airport, I will never fly with them again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Addis Ababa Airport customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

I stopped here on route from DXB to EBB (July 2015), and again on the way back to DXB. What an awful place. The facilities are adequate at best, the staff are rude and unhelpful and the prices in the shops are ridiculous. A total rip off by reference to anywhere else I have seen. I shall never use this airport again, either as a destination or for transiting.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews