Top 100 Airports  

Addis Ababa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"a 4 hour layover sitting on the floor"

(Canada)

Of all the airports in the world I have travelled through this is by far the worst. Do not transit through this airport. Had a 4 hour layover sitting on the floor from lack of chairs. Toilets have no paper and the female attendants resident in the mens washroom don't care that there was no paper. Not sure why they were there. A nice scam at the London Cafe where they identify WIFI is available with 4 access spots on Wifi. The waiter cheerfully gives you the access code and takes your order. After 20 minutes of attempting to log on, and many questions to him, he tells you that the access code is correct but all wifi doesn't work there. Bottom line they don't give you the right password and all others sitting around had the same issue. But around the corner someone will sell you one hour for $5 american that stops after 20 mins. Transit through to SA the first segment did not require me to provide a passport or boarding to get through to security. At plane only boarding pass. Doors to plane ramp were open with people coming and going from tarmac. On the way back, security was a chaotic cattle call and no process in site. Few bins for X-ray and person had to walk back and forth retrieving bins for the next person. Screening was poor as screener on X-ray was distracted the entire time with the bags going through. I will avoid this airport like the plague in future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shopping is very limited"

(Germany)

We spent 17 hours in transit on our way to South Africa and again 17 hours in transit back to Germany. On a previous occasion, a free hotel was provided for transit passengers, this time we received a free meal and water from the general lounge. Staff were friendly, but shopping is very limited. Also prices are lacking on the local products in some shops, only numbers provided which makes you wonder whether prices vary from customer to customer. The toilets were lacking paper to dry hands with, soap and often toilet paper. The same staff remained on duty at the bathrooms for the full 17 hours it seemed. What scared us the most was that our children managed to get through the security screening with full bottles of water in their hand luggage which we found out only after landing. Most flights take off in the evening - creating chaos at the airport from about 18h00-24h00 in the evenings - with very long ques waiting to go through security, people skipping lines, too few staff to do proper security checks.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"non-smiling, sour, unhelpful"

(Denmark)

The airport is small, dirty and uninviting. There was not enough seats in the airport, so we had to stand up for a couple of hours. Large queues at the toilets. As a smoker it is nice that there is an oppurtunity to smoke in the airport, even though the ceiling had collapsed in the smoke cabin so the rain dripped in, it would be nice if there was some sort of ventilation. Also nice, if the cabin was bigger, so that smokers would not stand outside the cabin. Worst, however, was the staff of the airport and the shops. We have never experienced anything like it. They were non-smiling, sour, unhelpful and downright rude.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"many passengers confused"

(South Africa)

Travelled through Addis Ababa to Bangkok from Cape Town and return. Remarkably the person operating the X-ray machine leaves his post to search individuals causing the queue at security to simply stop moving. Other staff member indifferent to the needs of those with connecting flights. Flight took off late. On return trip experienced 4 hours in the overcrowded facility serving gates 12-17. Flies, mosquitos, bird droppings on the seats, dirty, exposed wiring and conduits, poorly patched cement. Filthy toilets. Monitors not working. Public announcements distorted and barely audible. Many passengers confused as no apparent system. Bottleneck at gates 16/17. No facilities for any form of refreshment in this holding tank. Flight boarding gates slow and takeoff delayed over 2 hours. I hope this is temporary and will improve with building work taking place at this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a step back in time"

(Ireland)

A step back in time. Very poor facilities for such a strategic international hub in Africa. Ethiopian Airlines is providing thousands of passengers everyday, with the associated revenue. You would think that the airport authorities would invest in improving the facilities (toilets always have a long queue and extremely abysmal). It really impacts on the Ethiopian Airlines experience in a negative way.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I love Addis Ababa airport"

(United Kingdom)

I love Addis Ababa airport mainly because it's not the bland, boring, characterless modern typical international airport. So much for the subjectivity - now for the objective list of facilities. This review is about the international Terminal 2. There are normal airport rows of seats and many of these are without armrests so you can lie down. The great bonus are the "loungers" - steel-framed loungers comfortably upholstered. You can lie out on these and sleep easily. I was there at peak transit time and there were still a few empty. There were temporary toilets because of renovation work, but these were very clean with an attendant on standby. The other (permanent) toilets at the other end were not quite so clean but given the vast number of people trekking in and out that's not surprising. There were several food / drink facilities. Prices were about the same or slightly cheaper than the UK. Cappuccino plus bottle of water - £3.50. 500ml draught beer - £3.50. Lots of friendly welcoming staff, and although it was immensely busy with some facilities closed for renovation, I still got seating and still got served. The shops are cool because they sell lots of stuff you don't see at other airports. There's a lot of queuing and waiting around but that's normal. There were enough seats in the departure gate area. Do keep your eye on the screens because gates can change, but staff wander the length of the airport calling flights to make sure everyone's in the right place (even when the gates don't change). There's WiFi in at least 2 of the cafes.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
4/10

"main problem is the ground crew"

(United Kingdom)

After great flights on Ethiopian Airlines I was shocked by the airport in Addis. My main problem with it is the ground crew. Whilst many of them are very nice and do the best they can, some look like they would rather be anywhere but there. They were unresponsive to questions and redirected people to other staff rather than sort it out themselves. The one good thing is that when you are in transit you can go to the interline desk and get a voucher that allows you to get a free dinner and bottle of water. The food is basic but very good, Chicken Wat which was a spicy chicken stew served with rice and mixed veg. Many other international airports should take note of this and offer the same. The biggest bugbear, Bole airport says they have free wifi throughout the airport. This is simply not true at all unless you are in the Cloud Nine Business lounge. This should be changed.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no comfortable seating"

(Egypt)

The airport is run down. Toilets are not brilliant. Duty free prices are high. The gate was changed twice without informing passengers. Boarding at the gates took a long time. No comfortable seating while waiting for the next flight within a few hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"experience transiting was poor"

(United States)

Our experience transiting at Addis Ababa Airport was poor, and is consistent with my experiencing last year when I arrived and departed ADD. The in-airport shops and concessions are of low quality. The layout of the airport is such that passing occurs when it is time to board, which wouldn't be as bad if each gate had its on security (eg SIN), however gates all share common security lines which on this (as well as my previous visits) were extremely long, so if one doesn't properly anticipate the security delay when heading to their gate, they could miss their flight. We had the access to the Cloud 9/Star Gold preferential security line, and even that took nearly 20 minutes, as other passengers routinely were allowed to cut the line. The airport was extremely crowded. None of the airport arrival and departure status screens were working properly. They all displayed flight information that appeared to be from the previous night's flights.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"plenty of staff"

(United Kingdom)

Left T2 for LHR last Monday. Check in efficiency the best I have ever seen there, same with immigration queues with plenty of staff available. Sheba Silver lounge fine, food OK, wifi good. Gate 5 busy but security check in fairly quick, I dont even consider shopping as I know its a rip off, just like Heathrow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews