Vote Airport  

Abu Dhabi Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 237 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"poor choice of food"

(Philippines)

Would not recommend Etihad Airways, based on having to transit through this airport. Abu Dhabi Airport is not up to international standards for passenger flow. Poor choice of food and expensive, lot and lots of walking between gates and huge lines for security screening. As usual the flight to Manila was out of an older gate. Basically the poorer foreign workers in the UAE, doing all of the work, are pushed to one side. If you're flying to Europe you get a nice gate.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the scene was chaotic"

(Australia)

Abu Dhabi airport couldn't organise themselves out of a paper bag. Transferring through the airport was an absolute disaster as it seemed the majority of passengers were doing the same thing. With a stroller and a 4 year old in tow, I took the lift down and when the doors opened, the scene was chaotic. People filing into a really small space for what really was a token security check. I was concerned for my children because of the overcrowding. Getting through this process, we then had to go through the duty free shops and try to find somewhere to sit. Shops to buy food and drink were sparse and always busy, again due crowding. Toilets seems to everywhere until you realise they have an entry point at each end and therefore quickly become crowded. There is no prioritisation for first or business class either adding to the lack of service. I have vowed to avoid this airport in my future travels for the terrible design and terrible orperational management.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"choose another transit point"

(Australia)

Abu Dhabi is too small for the number of passengers. Not enough seating or food outlets and everything seems expensive. Not enough toilets, huge queues but to be fair these were very clean due to a permanent janitor on duty. Additional transit security with arrogant, rude staff. Long queue at passport security check at gate. Another hand baggage security check when through passport check but staff were friendly. They still use buses and stairs for boarding. Signage is not too bad, I found my way around and a staff quite helpful. Duty free area is poorly designed. The majority of staff look like their jobs are beneath them and would rather be somewhere else. This airport is doing major damage to the Etihad brand and ruins the above average flight experience I had. My advice - choose another transit point especially if you have more than 2 hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I'd avoid this airport"

(United Kingdom)

This is a very busy airport and if you are unlucky to hit a particularly busy time as we did, then getting to a toilet is a real hassle for men and women! We could find nowhere quiet to eat or rest during a 7 hour stopover - after a flight with Etihad and little to eat or drink I was starving and thirsty but the water fountains were mostly rather dirty and the food outlets very busy, very noisy, very scruffy and very expensive. The airport is being extended and our flight was parked a long bus ride away. The few first class passengers were off loaded and then we all waited about 20 minutes before another bus appeared for business class only. Eventually buses arrived for economy class - it was made worse by the bus having to make two circuits of the airport before it could park at an appropriate entry gate. I'd avoid this airport if you can unless you have lounge access.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
3/10

"unfriendly staff"

(South Africa)

Very unorganized - lanes have a surprise element where all check-ins to all flights regardless of the departure time happen at the same time. Unfriendly staff who could have guided people which is done selectively. Understaffed and unskilled staff. Passport lanes very slow as the check in. The checkin staff - unlike others - at least had a smile unlike the others who were pressurized because of the influx of restless passengers. There is a feeling of "don't care as we can't do much". The only good thing inspite of inefficiency is water bottles handed out by a gentleman. Hope the excuse of refurbishment is not an excuse.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shall avoid passing through"

(Germany)

Seating capacity provided for passengers is a planning mistake par excellence. Add to this misery if you are unfortunate enough to need any toilets. The number of toilets planned for this airport is simply a miscalculation. Expect to wait behind 100 people and then enter a smelly cubicle. I shall avoid passing through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything here is very costly"

(India)

Abu Dhabi Airport is small and just has one shopping area. I was surprised with the price tags, everything here is so very costly. The same product is 78 euros in some other duty free and 104 euros here. Alchohol is also very costly. To spend 7 hours here is a torture, with not enough charging points and seating is miserable. Would try not to travel via Abu Dhabi any more.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Still waiting 4 hours later"

(Kuwait)

The worst experience and I'm still living it. It's been 4 hours since my colleague and I arrived at Abu Dhabi Airport, we arrived at 12.30 pm, it's 4.30 pm now and we're still at the airport. Immigration has been telling us to wait for approval since we landed. 4 hours is stupidity. We're here for a business trip. We usually go to Dubai which only takes 5 min for the visa process and figured it would be the same here. There are far too many employees and no one is doing anything but hanging around on their phones. Next time I have a business trip here I will be landing in Dubai and driving down. Still waiting 4 hours later.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"perpetually under construction"

(United States)

Perpetually under construction. Bussed from plane to the terminal, was a disaster, lots of pushing and shoving. The signage was poor, it was dirty, there was a family having a picnic at the bottom of a corridor, I mean, blankets, wives, children, tea sets. I didn't realize that the airport was a campground. The Pre-clearance to the USA is not very nice, rude staff, and global entry is pointless. Once you get past that, there is no food, no water, no communication, no idea why your flight is an hour late, and no idea how much longer it will last. I'd try not to fly through here again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"the place was so untidy"

(United Kingdom)

I didn't like this airport at all, not for the airport but for the people in it and then the after care of the staff. Toilets were disgusting, the sleeping area with recliner chairs was comfy buy some of the seats were ripped and rubbish and mess all over the place. Power area to recharge didn't work very well and as the place was so untidy with rubbish I didn't want to eat any food there. Duty free looks great and the transit area works very well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no