Abu Dhabi Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 311 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"airport leaves a lot to be desired"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I like Etihad Airways and travel with them whenever I can. Abu Dhabi airport leaves a lot to be desired. The main problem for me is the toilets, they are by far the worst I have ever had the misfortune to use with filth and urine all over the floors. I have seen passengers urinate in the hand basins because the toilets are too small and busy.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"needs better facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport needs better facilities than the current circumstances, international airport without better facilities to make passengers comfortable it doesn't correlate being a hub for five star airlines. I was surprised that until now they still transfer passengers from airplane to coaches. It's really hard to travellers with children and elderly.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very unprofessional"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Very unhelpful. It was 2 am and one of my kids was asleep and they kicked us out of the seating area, lined everyone up to check their tickets. We sat my son in the next seating area over. My husband lined up and texted me when he got to the front of the line. The man checking tickets saw me struggling with my sleeping child and had me sit him in the original seating area apologizing saying people with kids don’t have to wait in line. However he did nothing to warn the other parents. So we went down the line telling all the parents ourselves. The ticket man also said to sit near the entrance as they would announce people with kids to board. When the time came they boarded wheelchair users and let economy riders on at the same time as business class (who were very upset). I confronted a stewardess asking why they haven’t announced business class or people with kids. She just said your in the kids line, look their are lots of you. I wasn’t in a line really I was standing with business class and a few people with kids. I saw another attendant and asked him. He suggested we all sit down. I got upset and said so you want to board everyone else first and then let people with kids on last, that’s useless. He got angry and asked me what do I want. He told me to stand where I was and enter with business class. The whole thing was strange. I have never experienced anything like this at an airport. There are basic standards but no one seems to know what they are. Very unprofessional.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"The staff there are rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Abu Dhabi airport is becoming more and more painful to travel through. The staff there are rude. Etihad Airways religiously wants to ensure your carry on luggage fits to the stainless steel cage they have at the airport even though I had already traveled my first leg of the journey from Chicago to Abu Dhabi. For some reason, Etihad did not give me a boarding pass to my connecting flight which was also Etihad from Abu Dhabi to Lahore. I had to go to the transfer desk and be in the queue for 30 minutes to get a boarding pass. This airport has outsourced all the services to contracting companies. Everywhere I found unskilled labor doing work including baggage handling through the scanners.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly designed airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Really poorly designed airport with minimal facilities for passengers. Would not recommend any traveler to go through this airport. Pathetic customs and check in staff and Etihad Airways support staff really dont care what or how long you to have to wait. If you can avoid this airport please do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"They quote outrageous prices"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | It does not compare to Dubai, a place of such efficiency, it would be very difficult to beat. My concern about this airport is the heavy presence of unlicensed and illegal taxi touts. A year ago these individuals were clustered at the doorways. Now, imbued with a sense of complete freedom from action from any officials, they are right inside and no more than five paces after you step out from Customs. There was one fraught security official who professed he could not manage the crowd of around 25 of these men. Anyone slightly western looking is pounced on. I asked to see a permit. They could not provide. They quote outrageous prices thinking you will be ignorant of the real rates. What did shift some of them? I got out the camera and took a few pictures. They ran but two minutes later they were back. Then they decided to locate up at the other exit. There was one empty police car. No officers. I did try to locate them unsuccessfully. There are no warning posters anywhere. Nobody gives you a leaflet inside the Arrivals Hall that provides correct information. There is not enough security and even Customer Services say they cannot deal with it. So this 'mafia' operate with impunity. Down in Dubai there are police and they arrest and deport that day these taxi touts, many of whom are not legally in the country anyway. There does not seem to be any determination to act yet the capital wants tourists. I agree with other reviewers: the toilets are inadequate. However, this is as much to do with the poor cultural habits of the users as the paucity of toilets.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

Abu Dhabi Airport customer review

(France)

Trip Verified | Arrival: immigration procedures very efficient: less than 20 minutes are necessary from aircraft disembarcation to airport exit. Departure: check in and immigration procedures are efficient. Waiting area in international area is a little too small for a B777-300ER (gate 7 - Terminal 1). Duty free is quite poor regarding to duty free at Dubai Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Insufficient security checkers"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Disappointing transit experience. 1) 10 minute delay waiting for steps to arrive. 2) 10 more minutes delay watching incompetent steps driver repeatedly fail to position steps at aircraft door. 3) Very disorganised and rude security check / baggage scanning. Priority line not staffed. Insufficient security checkers. Conclusion: Use another Gulf airline / airport if at all possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Not as efficient as Dubai"

(Canada)

Unverified | Don't Like this airport for the following reasons: 1) Signage is confusing and there are too many twists and turns. 2) The departure gates and times are often changed at the last minute without warning. I almost missed my flight because of this. 3) They station staff at certain points who point you in directions where you did not intend to go and mislead you. 4) The entrance for departures is located at the side as an afterthought almost and you enter into a narrow passage as if its still work in progress! 5) Offiicial staff are not friendly and rather brusque. They haven't seemed to have overcome their inbuilt superiority complex. 6) Not as efficient as Dubai where everything is superbly laid out and accessible. 7) When we reached the departure lounge, we were not let in and passengers were all hanging around outside with nowhere to sit or eat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very abrupt and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had to transit through this airport on my return flight to Australia. On the way out we nearly got stuck on a moving escalator as the transit security was so backed up. The member of staff at the top of the stairs wasn't doing anything to stop the situation. In the end a passenger hit the emergency stop button to prevent injury. On the return journey as we went through the transit security they decided the wine bottle stopper I had purchased as a gift in Sydney city was not allowed through this airport - yet it was fine to go through Sydney security. The man was very rude to me and didn't even explain why I couldn't take it through. It was just a standard wine bottle stopper in a gift box so not an offensive weapon of any kind! There should be no need for transit security and also they open and check your bags again when you go through to the boarding gate! The security staff in particular were very abrupt and rude which is a complete contrast to the polite staff of the many other airports I have travelled to and through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no