Aberdeen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 68 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Staff are always friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Aberdeen Airport has long been the local go to choice for myself. Sadly I feel many of the reviews it gets are unjustified for two reasons. Firstly the ongoing works to the terminal. The Terminal expansion project will of course cause delays in any airport, not least a smaller airport such as Aberdeen. However, this expansion focuses on the most important areas needing improvement at the airport (security, seating, lounges) which have been asked for by passengers for years. The expansion will be very welcome and once completed will be highly beneficial for the airport. At my last time travelling through Aberdeen, the new Domestic Baggage hall had opened. It was already much more professional, modern, spacious and quick compared to the old reclaim area. The second thing that people seem to neglect when writing these reviews is that Aberdeen is a small airport. It is a regional airport and actually primarily serves short-haul regional flights and business flights for the Oil Industry, hence the large helicopter activity. It is not designed to be state-of-the-art and equipped to the max. It is designed to be adequate enough for a stay of up to 2 hours for onward flights of no more than 2 hours. It simply does not have the necessity to be on such a large scale. It is there for quick domestic commutes and business trips primarily. The airport is already incredibly well kitted out for its size, and the new expansion will add much more seating, and massively increase the security, as well as add new food and shopping facilities. It must of course be noted, that most people are unlikely to bother writing a review unless they are going to rant about something, such is the nature of the internet. I myself am guilty of that, ranting at airports such as Heathrow and Paris CDG was why I created this Skytrax account in the first place. My experience with Aberdeen airport over the years has always been pleasant. Staff are always friendly, and despite its tiny size, security is always quick, even during peak times and with multiple flight delays due to the Scottish weather. The shops are usually well equipped and prices are certainly fair for such a small airport. The toilets are spotless and boarding and unloading of the aircraft is always quick and efficient. Out of the airport in under 30 minutes, even when having to go through passport control (which is very large for an airport of Aberdeen's size). The parking is very expensive, but much better than other airports in the country such as Glasgow or Edinburgh, and much simpler and easier to use. Buses connect to the city very efficiently and frequently and the bus and taxi stops are easy to find. Overall, the Airport is quick and easy to use on 9/10 occasions. It is spotless, well staffed, and copes really well under overcapacity. It is a small airport, and serves its purpose, and is expanding to meet extra demand. You will seldom hear praise for the 9/10 times your journey through Aberdeen is pleasant, but the one time it isn't, most likely due to weather delays than the airport itself, will give it a bad review. The overall 3/10 it scores on Skytrax is an insult and completely contrary to what the real passengers using the airport on a regular basis think. It does it's job perfectly and is setting itself up well for the future. Compared to other UK airports, it is brilliant and user-friendly. It just has to be respected that it is a small airport where no more than 2 hours should be needed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"have rules that differ from elsewhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | In the last hour I dropped my daughter for her flight to London and as she has a medical condition which causes constant sickness always carries a covered cup. Despite having taken a number of flights in the UK in the last year once she has explained her situation, the cup accompanies her through security with no problem until now. It appears that security staff at Aberdeen have rules that differ from elsewhere and as a result were unhelpful, uncaring and downright difficult and adamant the cup would not go without offering a solution. I only hope that the individuals concerned do not suffer the same way as my daughter has over the last year in suffering constant sickness and being unable to keep any food or liquid down to the point of regularly having to visit a hospital staffed by caring people who give her a drip to rehydrate. Daresay had I been due to fly then these jobsworths would have prevented me for protesting. Very sad how people can treat others and would suggest someone at G4S? get their act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"more like a bus station"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This Airport is more like a bus station and really needs to be extended. The wait at security is getting beyond a joke and I believe the plan is to delay access airside until some flights are boarding due to the critical lack of space. Staff are sub standard and mostly quite rude and security like to carry out random tests to learn how the tech works. Honestly a terrible experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"obviously a problem for BA to sort"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | British Airways no longer have a presence in Aberdeen, instead they use Swissport who are useless. They regularly forget to put the rear steps to the aircraft on time, forcing passengers to use the front door, the rear steps are then brought in and you battle to get through to your seat. On my last flight out of Aberdeen gate staff failed to tell passengers which steps to use and again it was chaos on board with regular flyers using the rear steps unable to get through the crown to their seats. This is obviously a problem for BA to sort.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they were not enforcing basic rules"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The security staff are below a standard that I would expect, I thought everyone had to take jackets and shoes off during security inspection but apparently not, as soon as I asked why they were not enforcing basic rules they just took me to one side for a full body scan which I do not mind but it was to shut me up. As soon as they had done two others were asking the same question. If your a terrorist you walk through security as you will not be stopped.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Aberdeen learn from these reviews"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Honestly. This airport calls itself International. They dream. Have the powers that be visited any other airports to compare? El Hierro, a tiny Canary Island has better facilities, more helpful staff and a quicker check in. Firstly you cannot check in at Aberdeen until about 2 hours before your flight, if Tenerife can take you at any point on departure day, why not Aberdeen? Then the check in procedure is slow. My husband checked on the way out, it took three minutes per group. At Tenerife it was one minute. The acoustics in the general proles departure lounge are so bad that often you cant hear what the announcement refers to. The food and drink is horribly expensive airside, and the condition of the seats in the general departure lounge is nothing short of appalling. The loos, whilst quite clean, are showing signs of wear. The final insult is the lack of covered walkways/airbridges to flights. On the way out we were told it was gate 1, only to find that gate 1 has about 5 subgates, so one hundred metres later you get to queue at a door, to be sent another 200 metres to your plane. On the way back, having come from Tenerife 28 degree heat, we were greeted with 2 degrees and rain, and we still had to go down uncovered metal slippery wet steps and walk in an uncovered walkway to the terminus. Please please Aberdeen learn from these reviews!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the airport is abysmal"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | As a means of providing a visitor's first impression of this town, the airport is abysmal. The new buildings might improve the terminal, but it isn't going to improve the staff's poor customer service. Miserable, grumpy, slow to open check-in desks on time, and this morning nothing short of rude. The passenger facilities are archaic and more befitting a regional airport in the United States, rather than a so-called International Airport. I really hope the parking charges (that are extortionate) are being put to good use. We aren't all rich oil executives or workers, and I'm tempted to travel via Edinburgh from now on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really needs to improve passenger comfort"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Aberdeen airport really needs to improve passenger comfort. It is not pleasant having to fly regularly from this airport. Last week during boarding on a flight to Amsterdam, they were boarding a flight to Paris and another to Alicante and put everyone in lines, pretty much almost mixed up. People were asking which line was their flight, etc. Total confusion. Plus some rude staff members kept shouting for people to squeeze to the sides.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rip off pick up parking charges"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I would only like to add my agreement to the majority of complaints about my home city of Aberdeen's abysmal airport. From the catastrophic security system to the rip off pick up parking charges (£2 for 15 minutes then £10 if you are a minute longer), the whole experience leaves me frustrated and ashamed of being an Aberdonian. I avoid it at all costs and prefer to drive an hour or two to other airports if at all possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff very unpleasant

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Aberdeen airport is a total joke! Zero comfort for passengers, no options for some decent meal and the staff is usually very unpleasant. If you happen to fly in peak times be ready to be in queues all the way until you literally board the plane. Needs proper intervention!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews