Vote Now  

Xiamen Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 56 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very low quality of service"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | First time took direct flight from Singapore to Xiamen, horrible experience with the cabin crew as they treat everyone like prisoner, very bad service, small leg room and food was terrible, I thought return trip will be better as it will be served by other crews but the experience was pretty awful. Remember this is not low cost airline, but they provide very low quality of service, no individual display on each deck, phone must switch off even after seatbelt sign switch-off, no entertaintment for 5 hours on my last trip, only served drink for once, strongly not recommended to take this airline if situation is allowed.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Xiamen
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"won't be flying Xiamen again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Sydney via Xiamen. I traveled with Xiamen Airlines for the first and last time over December/January. Originally flying from Sydney to Vancouver via Xiamen in December and back to Sydney Via Xiamen in January. All flights were on new Boeing 787's. The flights were extremely full, probably due to the fact it was just under $650 one way on Christmas Eve. That was probably the only appealing thing from the trip. The aircraft inside were rather dirty, finger prints and grease all over the windows, the cabin had an aweful smell as well. The seat space was okay. The inflight entertainment was updated and had a good selection. The food was nothing to get excited about, and the crew only came twice during the whole flight which is below the amount of times they come on other services I've flown between Sydney and Vancouver. The crew overall were okay, spoke hardly any English and weren't apologetic if they hit you with the trolley. The layover in Xiamen both ways was a complete nightmare - no one at the airport speaks English, and even if you are transiting immigration seem to have no idea what the process is and take a long time to process you as you have no visa. I won't be flying Xiamen again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to SYD via XMN
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin smelt of cigarettes"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Fuzhou return. I had no idea what to expect on Xiamen Airlines. During check-in at Bangkok, The counter was empty. The lounge in Bangkok was Air France, and more than satisfactory. The boarding was orderly and not too chaotic. The purser at the door was smiling, but when I said hello, no response whatsoever. (ot even eye contact. Boarding drinks served promptly. You can't use mobile phones (Chinese law, which is silly). There was no in-flight entertainment, so I just played my iPad. The flight attendant was polite, made eye contact and was smiling. Her attempts at speaking english were OK, she was just following the script. The previous reviews that mentioned "The meals were the same both ways" meant that both flights had the same choices. It was just a difference in entree, fish or beef. The side dishes were exactly the same. Their way of cost-cutting, I presume. After meal service, the flight attendant left a bowl of mixed nuts and my drink. The return flight was the exact opposite. Bangkok to Fuzhou sector had 30% occupancy, while the return sector had 100% occupancy. The lounge at Fuzhou airport was surprising for Chinese standards, but no alcohol! Boarding was orderly, but after take-off, a first-time flyer from the economy cabin trespassed into the business cabin and asked me "Is this seat available?" and I said no. The same unruly passenger proceeded to annoy the business class flight attendants but they dealt with him professionally. The seat was uncomfortable both ways. The Boeing 737-700 had very restrictive seating, but ample space. The Boeing 737-800 had comfortable seating, but I had to bend my head during take-off and landing since there was this bulging solid piece of rubber in the headrest. The cabin smelt of cigarettes or someone was smoking before the flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-700/800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to FOC
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Value for money great"

(Singapore)

Singapore to Fuzhou. Value for money great, as Xiamen Airlines is the only airline that serves this route. Ground service acceptable, most of their flight attendants can speak basic English. Seat preferred it to be a little more comfortable. Cabin Service average, offered hot towels which are too hot to touch. Food & beverages better than expected. Inflight entertainment average, offered headphones for music which was acceptable.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to FOC
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"staff barely speak English"

(France)

Verified Review | Wuhan to Amsterdam via Xiamen. My flight was cancelled due to bad weather conditions. The company sent me an email in Chinese stating that I had to rebook my flight but without giving any option of possible different solution. Once at the airport they were surprised I was asking to be rebooked on another flight and/or reimbursed. I'm going to try to follow up on this and see if I can get something, but in general I didn't like the way they handle the problem, they didn't care about leaving people at the airport without any support. In addition both the airport and the cabin staff barely speak English, so it's very hard to communicate with them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWUH to AMS via XMN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good seat pitch, up-to-date IFE"

(Netherlands)

Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur via Xiamen. Flew with Xiamen Air and I'm really satisfied. Kind crew, sufficient command of English, good seat pitch, up-to-date IFE and choice between Chinese or Western food. What really stands out is the free hotel when your layover is more than 6 hours, your connecting flight is outside China and both flights are operated by Xiamen Air. It was well arranged, all passengers who comply with the rules were on a list and we got a confirmation in Chinese so that the taxi driver could read it. You have to pay for the taxi ride, but that is only 40 yuan. They have several hotels under contract, our first one was a 5-star hotel and the second one a 3-star. The only thing you have to do is to proceed to counter B11 (upstairs) after clearing customs.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to KUL via XMN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"impression of journey was beyond expectations"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Beijing via Xiamen with Xiamen Air (MF). Xiamen Air has just started intercontinental routes. I took this itinerary, as I was interested to see their transfer service. Outbound flights from HKG to PEK via XMN was smooth. HKG to XMN was a new B738, they provide light meal for this 50min flight. XMN to PEK with Boeing 788, PTV with good selection of movies, songs. Seats are comfortable. Inflight service was good, FAs were attentive. Xiamen Air has hotel arrangement if your connection is overnight. However, the hotel is not around the airport, and the hotel did not meet a 4-star hotel standard (which is claimed). For First, Business class, Skyteam Elite, Elite plus member, they provide your own room. For Economy, you will have to share with others! XMN lounge at domestic sector meets an average standard providing Chinese cuisine, fruits and drinks, but choices at breakfast time are limited. Inbound flights from PEK to HKG via XMN with a 2-hour connection. Flight PEK-XMN was delayed and I was worried about missing my connection to HKG wihch was the last of the day. The customer service manager at PEK did a good job. Before he stepped in, I was not happy with the way they dealt with my concerns and the delay. He coordinated with his colleagues at XMN, and also prepared backup plan for me. The flight to XMN took off 2-hour behind schedule using a B757. Onboard services were good, but ground services at XMN for transfer was not very clear, a lack of guidance and communications. MF lounge at XMN international section has no added-value, small and crowed. Overall impression on this journey was above my expectations, I will definitely choose Xiamen Air again. But as a new player for transfer and intercontinental market, the service at XMN, could do better comparing to its competitors.
AircraftBoeing 738 / 787 / 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PEK via XMN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nice regional wings for Asia Pacific"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Was flying from Hangzhou to Tianjin on Xiamen Air. HGH was very foggy and the plane took off 2 hours late. During the wait in the aircraft the crew provided me with coffee as I requested and after take off to a bad weather we were experiencing turbulence 70% of the 2 hour flight. But the crew were very professional in serving and food and beverages. Xiamen Airline is a nice regional wings for Asia Pacific.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHGH to TSN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"recommend for the budget-wary traveller"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Taipei via Xiamen with Xiamen Airlines. After reading many reviews here about the transfer service in Xiamen I was a bit worried but it turned out ok. Yes, you still need to check yourself and your baggage in at Xiamen again but ground staff seem to be used to the procedure by now. In Amsterdam and in Taipei they understood they could only tag our bags to Xiamen. In Xiamen when arriving at customs it's best to have printed proof you're transferring but they have a list of transferring passengers. There's a counter for free hotel if your wait is longer than 6 hours. Don't confuse this counter with the "transfer service" counter that's right next to it, that's only for domestic transfers, I mistakingly waited in that line for some time. The hotel is 20 minutes by taxi but it's nice. One awkward thing is that they put 2 solo passengers into one room, luckily I didn't have any roommate. On the long flight both ways they ran out of coconut juice halfway. On Xiamen to Taipei they gave drinks only after the food, so you had to eat either thirsty or with cold food. On Taipei to Xiamen they didn't give any drinks at all but maybe that was because I had ordered a special meal when booking. China has some strict rules about mobile phones and power banks. On the site it says you can do online checkin if you fly from Amsterdam but I got an error when I tried, maybe that only works if you're not transferring. All in all, it's very cheap and the annoyances are not deal-breakers if you're prepared for them, so I recommend it for the budget-wary traveller.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to TPE via XMN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"ridiculous airport procedures in Xiamen"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Bangkok via Xiamen with Xiamen Airlines. This airline is ridiculous and so are the airport procedures in Xiamen. Me and my boyfriend had booked a flight from Amsterdam to Bangkok via Xiamen for an insanely good price of €370. Xiamen does not allow online check in for international flights. At the baggage drop in AMS, we asked whether the luggage could be tagged to our final destination. No proper answer could be given. Finally, at the gate we were told to pick up our luggage in Xiamen and drop it off again there. The flight itself was pretty good, except for the food which had no taste at all. Horrible. This airline does not allow any mobile phones to be turned on. Not even when they are on airplane mode. They need to be switched off, and if they find out you secretly use your phone the crew will stand next to you until you switch it off. WiFi may be used on iPads and Notebooks only. After a few hours the crew handed out arrivals / departure cards and you will need them. The crew will tell you that you won't need them for transiting however, you do need them. You will be put back in line at immigration if you don't have them filled out. Every single person has to go through immigration, even when your next flight is in 30 minutes or so. The horror really started when arriving in Xiamen. The procedure is as follows: Get out of the airplane. Walk towards customs via declare or not declare route. Go through immigration (with arrivals / departure card, passport, eticket) and you will get a temporary entrance permission. Go to baggage belt and get your luggage. Put your luggage through x-ray. Take elevator one level up. Now it gets tricky. If you have a 6 hours or more transit. Proceed to (transfer service) counter B11 for a FREE hotel. You do need to pay for travel costs. The hotel was good, but checking in took 45-60 minutes, they are so slow and don't understand English. After that return to the airport to the departures floor. Proceed to Intl. departures. Put your luggage through x-ray. Now you will find the check in counters, check in your flights and luggage. Walk upstairs and go through immigration (hand over your departures card and passport). Go through hand luggage check (they have very strict rules for power banks). If the power bank itself doesn't show its capacity it will be thrown away. No argument possible. Now proceed to the gate to your airplane that will bring you to your next destination. Never I will fly with Xiamen Airlines again. It is cheap, but that's probably all positive about it (and the free transit hotel).
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to BKK via XMN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews