Airline of the Year  

Xiamen Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"friendly flight attendants"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Seoul via Xiamen. I booked a flight from Amsterdam to Incheon and had never heard of Xiamen Air before. Great service, friendly flight attendants, tasty food (chose the Asion options), and modern, spacious aircraft. I had 1 very tight layover in Xiamen due to construction work at the airport. The ground staff at Incheon provided us with all necessary information and the staff at Xiamen helped us through all the security steps and got us in the airplane on time. The other layover was long (10 hrs), but they provided a free transfer lounge and free hotel stay. FYI: foreign credit cards don't work in Xiamen restaurants, so bring/exchange RMB.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Seoul via Xiamen
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Super cheap tickets"

(United States)

Verified Review | Seattle to Tokyo via Shenzhen & Xiamen. Super cheap tickets, lack of information before and during trip, some airport confusion if you're really out of it or don't speak Chinese. They provide a hotel if flying all legs of trip on Xiamen Airlines with overnight layover, entertainment and food caters to Chinese tastes. I speak Mandarin, so I rate this flight a 8/10. Screaming deal of a ticket booked in 12/2016. Super nervous after receiving email in January 2017 of seat cancellation for the first leg of my trip (Seattle-Shenzhen). Customer service doesn't speak English. Got a call back in Chinese (my Chinese is ok, but not my first language) and took about 30 minutes plus another 30 minute call back to realize that the seat No I requested was cancelled and not the seat on the flight. Over next few months, received a few more e-mails stating that flight times had changed, even though they were the same as when we booked them. Still felt insecure about whether or not our trip would really happen. No online check-in for foreigners. We show up at the airport and have an easy check-in. Heard that Xiamen Air provides a hotel which the airport staff confirmed. Arrived at Shenzhen to some chaos - they separate the transfers passengers, people are confused as to where to go, but are shepherded by the Xiamen air staff. Waited about 45 minutes with several other foreigners to get my boyfriend's 24-hour transit visa which allows him to leave the airport. Disembarked at Xiamen, shepherded again by the staff to pick up our baggage. Many of the foreign passengers did not know about the hotel that Xiamen air provided us with, since we all arrived around 9pm and had connecting flights in the morning. They expected to sleep on the floor of the airport. Followed signs to the reception desk that makes lodging arrangements. Showed our passports and tickets and provided with a room at the E-Charm Hotel in Xiamen. If you are travelling alone, they will pair you with someone of the same gender. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from the airport and costs about 15 RMB one way. Although the room provided was free, we had to cover our travel expense both ways to and from the hotel. I think this is strange. If you are only going to and from the hotel, the cash machines up on level 2 allow you to take out 100 RMB. Hotel was nice for Chinese standards! Continued to Tokyo in the morning. Flights were all around ok - seats were good enough, entertainment and meals were Chinese oriented - we ordered vegetarian meals. They were stingy on the drinks and don't add ice unless you ask. Warm beers on international flights, but grab them early.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Tokyo via Shenzhen & Xiamen
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"it was a satisfactory flight"

(China)

Verified Review | Dalian to Hangzhou. The plane was estimated to take off at 9:45 am, and we boarded the plane at about 9:20, then sat for one and a half hours until it took off but didn't know the reason! Other than that, all was good. The luggage rack was lit up by the blue lights and the seats were all blue which made the flight enjoyable and pleasant. The cabin crew were friendly and attentive. And the food was delicious: pork/fish rice, bread with chili sauce, cake and yogurt. All in all, it was a satisfactory flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalian to Hangzhou
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"embarrassing, stressful situation"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Hong Kong via Xiamen. I arrived early at the airport, before the check in booth opened. Waited in line for over an hour and chatted with other passengers in front of me during that time. When I arrived at the counter, the check in clerk asked me where did I come from. I assumed she meant something about which line so I said this line, the same one as the people you just checked in. She said that I was in the wrong line and that I had to go to the back of the other line (for the other check in booth). I wondered if she thought I had cut in line or something so I told her if she had this type of doubt she should ask the people (who were still standing next to me) if I had been in their line all the time. She refused and told me to go to the back of the other line again and then proceeded to check in the next person in line. I was the last one to check in after waiting an additional 30 - 40 minutes. By this time, it was so close to boarding that I had to run to security and then run to the boarding gate as the plane was already boarding. I had to skip going to duty free to pick up things for my friends in China as I had promised. Even though I had to use the washroom, there was no time for that. No time to grab a snack or drink. It was the most embarrassing, stressful situations I have experienced in a very long time. Actually I can't remember ever being treated like that before. The airlines bounced my complaint back and forth between the Vancouver and Xiamen offices and finally put the blame on me, saying that if I had told her which line I was in this wouldn't have happened. What nonsense. Of course I told her that but she just ignored me and refused to serve me. I can understand a company hiring a bad employee but to back that person up when they know she was wrong, is inexcusable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Hong Kong via Xiamen
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not book a flight on this airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | My wife and I booked a flight for May 2017 from Portland to Shenzhen via Seattle. After 2 months, Xiamen notified us that our flight from Seattle to Shenzhen had been cancelled. We had to re-book our flight with Delta at a higher price $686.00 per ticket on Xiamen vs. $891.00 per ticket on Delta or $205.00 more per ticket. Furthermore, our new flight only takes us to Hong Kong, which will cost us more even more money with van transfers and taxis. I would recommend that you not book a flight on this airline, as they are not reliable and will leave you stranded.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Shenzhen
Date FlownApril 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very low quality of service"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | First time took direct flight from Singapore to Xiamen, horrible experience with the cabin crew as they treat everyone like prisoner, very bad service, small leg room and food was terrible, I thought return trip will be better as it will be served by other crews but the experience was pretty awful. Remember this is not low cost airline, but they provide very low quality of service, no individual display on each deck, phone must switch off even after seatbelt sign switch-off, no entertaintment for 5 hours on my last trip, only served drink for once, strongly not recommended to take this airline if situation is allowed.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Xiamen
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"won't be flying Xiamen again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Sydney via Xiamen. I traveled with Xiamen Airlines for the first and last time over December/January. Originally flying from Sydney to Vancouver via Xiamen in December and back to Sydney Via Xiamen in January. All flights were on new Boeing 787's. The flights were extremely full, probably due to the fact it was just under $650 one way on Christmas Eve. That was probably the only appealing thing from the trip. The aircraft inside were rather dirty, finger prints and grease all over the windows, the cabin had an aweful smell as well. The seat space was okay. The inflight entertainment was updated and had a good selection. The food was nothing to get excited about, and the crew only came twice during the whole flight which is below the amount of times they come on other services I've flown between Sydney and Vancouver. The crew overall were okay, spoke hardly any English and weren't apologetic if they hit you with the trolley. The layover in Xiamen both ways was a complete nightmare - no one at the airport speaks English, and even if you are transiting immigration seem to have no idea what the process is and take a long time to process you as you have no visa. I won't be flying Xiamen again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to SYD via XMN
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin smelt of cigarettes"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Fuzhou return. I had no idea what to expect on Xiamen Airlines. During check-in at Bangkok, The counter was empty. The lounge in Bangkok was Air France, and more than satisfactory. The boarding was orderly and not too chaotic. The purser at the door was smiling, but when I said hello, no response whatsoever. (ot even eye contact. Boarding drinks served promptly. You can't use mobile phones (Chinese law, which is silly). There was no in-flight entertainment, so I just played my iPad. The flight attendant was polite, made eye contact and was smiling. Her attempts at speaking english were OK, she was just following the script. The previous reviews that mentioned "The meals were the same both ways" meant that both flights had the same choices. It was just a difference in entree, fish or beef. The side dishes were exactly the same. Their way of cost-cutting, I presume. After meal service, the flight attendant left a bowl of mixed nuts and my drink. The return flight was the exact opposite. Bangkok to Fuzhou sector had 30% occupancy, while the return sector had 100% occupancy. The lounge at Fuzhou airport was surprising for Chinese standards, but no alcohol! Boarding was orderly, but after take-off, a first-time flyer from the economy cabin trespassed into the business cabin and asked me "Is this seat available?" and I said no. The same unruly passenger proceeded to annoy the business class flight attendants but they dealt with him professionally. The seat was uncomfortable both ways. The Boeing 737-700 had very restrictive seating, but ample space. The Boeing 737-800 had comfortable seating, but I had to bend my head during take-off and landing since there was this bulging solid piece of rubber in the headrest. The cabin smelt of cigarettes or someone was smoking before the flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-700/800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to FOC
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Value for money great"

(Singapore)

Singapore to Fuzhou. Value for money great, as Xiamen Airlines is the only airline that serves this route. Ground service acceptable, most of their flight attendants can speak basic English. Seat preferred it to be a little more comfortable. Cabin Service average, offered hot towels which are too hot to touch. Food & beverages better than expected. Inflight entertainment average, offered headphones for music which was acceptable.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to FOC
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"staff barely speak English"

(France)

Verified Review | Wuhan to Amsterdam via Xiamen. My flight was cancelled due to bad weather conditions. The company sent me an email in Chinese stating that I had to rebook my flight but without giving any option of possible different solution. Once at the airport they were surprised I was asking to be rebooked on another flight and/or reimbursed. I'm going to try to follow up on this and see if I can get something, but in general I didn't like the way they handle the problem, they didn't care about leaving people at the airport without any support. In addition both the airport and the cabin staff barely speak English, so it's very hard to communicate with them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWUH to AMS via XMN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews