Xiamen Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"try to avoid Xiamen Airlines"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Fuzhou, and the experience is not good at all. It disappointed me a lot. I have to admit the food & beverage are decent. But I got cold before the flight so I tried to ask for a blanket from the cabin crew. The lady was not so nice and showed obvious impatience for such normal request; she told me she will remember but she never got back to me. The AC was strong and I had to suffer it for 3hrs.If possible, I will try to avoid Xiamen Airlines and also not recommend my friends to take it.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Fuzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"belligerent towards us"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Manila via Xiamen. Horrible service and no English. They lost my bags and didn't give compensation. 15% refund on being refused boarding without a reason. Worst airline. They pretend they can't understand English and care less about foreign travellers. Intentionally belligerent towards us.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Manila via Xiamen
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"comfortable and clean"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Xiamen to Guangzhou. Whilst it was an old aircraft it was very comfortable and clean. The crew were lovely and for a short flight the food was very good. The facilities at Xiamen airport are mostly supplied by the airline and are first class.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteXiamen to Guangzhou
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"airline is the biggest scam"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Bangkok via Xiamen. This airline is the biggest scam! I booked a flight from Los Angeles to Bangkok with three hours layover in Xiamen city. At the airport I was told that I can’t use Xiamen airlines because I don’t have Chinese transit visa. Xiamen airport does not have transit area for transit passengers so everyone has to go through customs, get out of the airport, and then walk back in to check in for the next flight. Be advised, you can’t get out of the airport unless you have Chinese visa. I have never heard that you need to get a transit visa for couple of hours layover. I was told to cancel my round trip with Xiamen airlines and get a refund. After 6-7 hrs of phone calls with the airline, I was issued 15% refund of the total cost. The agent explained that somehow my outbound ticket was activated (I flew with a different airline but they still activated my ticket!) and the “activated” ticket was 85% of the cost and I’m only getting 15% refund for the return flight. Don’t be fulled by this airlines! There is a reason they offer cheaper prices... they will streal your money and you will end up paying double.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Bangkok via Xiamen
Date FlownJuly 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stay clear of Xiamen Airlines"

(China)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Xian via Xiamen. I had to book Xiamen Airlines because I would have to have an extra day in Hong Kong, so decided to stay in Xiamen over night. The flight was first delayed 1 hour then 2 and the 3:55 that’s almost 4 hours and another airlines flight to Xiamen went through so it was not the weather that caused the delay, by the time the third delay appeared on the board it was too late to cancel my hotel booking and get a refund, once I got out at Xiamen airport I had only two hours between my flight and next flight check-in, I first asked for a compensation, they said sorry, then later I asked for a hotel refund since clearly this was their mess up that led me to the mess up, also denied, then was told that the airport free hotel had no place and the lounges wouldn’t open for another two hours, will have to take my next flight soon and will have to have a sit down with a manager of some sort, of this is how they run their business I would stay clear of Xiamen Airlines and be careful considering to booking a ticket with them especially involving a non direct location.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Xian via Xiamen
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"new and fresh airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Seoul via Xiamen. We booked this airline because 3 of us could go round trip for the price of 1 major carrier! Such a deal - R/T LAX to ICN (Seoul Korea) for $450 per person! If you are not Asian or don't like Asian food - please pack your own food. Found this airline to be just as professional, efficient, and friendly to fly with. Our flight did have to go thru 2 Chinese ports of entry (Qingdao & Xiamen). The flight was very comfortable due to the new airplane (Boeing 787-9). I noticed the increased air pressure (6000 ft elevation) and increased humidity did not dry me out and felt good at the end of 14 hours in flight. The flight staff was very courteous, attentive, and tried their best with English but Google translate came in handy to communicate. Wifi was available but not very good - too many people using it and not enough bandwidth for streaming. Food was good - 2 hot meals and 2 cold snacks in-between kept you full and satisfied. Very Chinese cuisines on all 4 legs of the flight (2 international, 2 domestic). Just remember, the airline is Chinese and therefore will serve Chinese food - don't expect Panda Express type food like the US. The food is primarily pork based with some fish, chicken or beef offering. If you elect vegetarian or muslim or any other special needs food, make sure you request this 24 hours before your flight. I saw some western folks unhappy with seeing unfamiliar Chinese food being served on a Chinese airline - I had to chuckle watching them eat the bread and desert for their meals. The only issue which is not the airline's fault was going thru Chinese immigration. We did not have a Chinese visa which is normally required for landing in China, but 50+ countries can "transit" thru China if you can prove your final destination is outside of China. The government issues a temporary transit visa for those that are going thru the country - it's good for 24 hours. At our 2 hr layover for refueling, Qingdao was the worst - they scrutinized and held up the entire non Chinese group of passengers looking for errors & past problems. They pulled 2 passengers out of the group for failing to register with a local Chinese police agency the last time they were in China. Military uniformed people surrounded them making you feel like you are in a communist country.... The airline staff was very good at preparing you for Chinese immigration - having your itinerary with you, boarding pass with correct name spelled, etc. Landing at Xiamen was much easier and nicer immigration folks. We even had time to visit the First class airport lounge using our Amex Plat card. Return trip was good and we even had an overnight layover and the airline provided a hotel for the night at no cost which was nice. We did have to pay the taxi rides both ways so remember to bring some Chinese Yuan (RMB) currency. We got to also go on a tour of the city on a double decker sightseeing bus that took us all around the perimeter of the island. Overall, a very nice new and fresh airline to fly with for many Asian countries.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Seoul via Xiamen
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"The crew was attentive"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to ShenYang via Xiamen. The crew was attentive, especially to the elderly Chinese on board, checking if they are comfortable and needs drink. Their food is very Chinese, and tasty. I like that they served steamed corn at the end. What I didn't like - lack of inseat entertainment.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to ShenYang via Xiamen
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"fly another airline"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Vancouver via Xiamen. Took a chance on a bargain fare and you get what you pay for. If over 6 Foot and 195 Lbs, you best get an Isle seat safety door or you’ll have no room to move. If you get stuck in a window seat you’ll never get out of your seat. Being a bargain flight they pack you in worse than a sardine tin! If you want to change your flight date be aware the airline charges $159.00 US plus, plus to change. My partner wished to change her flight to an alternate day and it was cheaper to buy a ticket with another carrier. Xiamen Airport is hideous and they charge almost $20 US fee to exchange any money and only 2 food stores take credit cards. A bowl of soup and a bottle of water costs about $25.00 US This airline is good for backpackers only. Spend a little more and fly another airline.
AircraftBoeing 737 / 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vancouver via Xiamen
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Manila to Los Angeles via Jingdiang / Quingdao. I have never taken the time to write a negative review in my life. Call me old fashioned, but I just do not care enough to complain online for other people to read. I booked a one way return flight on Xiamen a week or so ago from Manila to LAX with two layovers in China. I have flown with China Eastern, China Southern, Air China and China Airlines, so I thought nothing of it. Another pass through China and I would be in Los Angeles for my mothers birthday on the 16th. Upon arriving to the airport 2 hours early and checking in I was notified I could not board my flight because I didn't have proper clearance. I explained to the rep that I had no plans of entering CHINA and would only be passing through. Still not allowed. I explained I had been through China 4 times on layovers and never had an issue. Still not allowed. Long story short it took two hours arguing for the airlines to agree to a 30-60 day refund. It turns out Americans cant connect through their layover city so they are selling tickets that are unusable. No compensation. Just blank faced souless stares. Avoid this airline at all costs.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteManila to Los Angeles via Jingdiang / Quingdao
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"It was a nightmare!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was a nightmare! We are suppose to have fun traveling for Christmas vacation but turned out to be a disaster. We are going back to Philippines, our luggage were check in only up to Giandong. We have to go to immigration then get our luggage to check in going to Xiamen. Boarding pass were issued again going only to Xiamen. From Xiamen you have to go out then scan your hand carry for another scanning then get into a long line to get another boarding pass going to Manila. Cheap air fare but think if the hassle and exhaustion you will go through if you take this airline back home. I’m very tired and almost 24 hours in and out of the airport. My husband tried to get the early flight as chance passenger, without checking she said everything is taken. You have to wait for your flight .
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Manila via Xiamen
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 83 Reviews