WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
8/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (Italy) 25th July 2015

A true nightmare. Check in at 8pm - flight delayed to 3:45am for technical reasons. No WOW Air representative anywhere. At 1:30am we had to take a taxi to an hotel 30km away. Nobody told us that the flight was scheduled for next morning at 11am discovered by chance on a written poster (someone should tell WOW that email has been invented) Back to the airport (40€ taxi). Total chaos, the flight was never announced on the displays. We got the boarding pass but the date was day before so great difficukties at security. Eventually arrived to the gate, it was changed at least 6 times with no human around. At 11:30am we got on board. Good news? No - we are still here at 12:30 with an inside temperature of 40 degrees. Not sure if and when we will go. Again with total absence from the company and the airport staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteRoma to Keflavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (United States) 18th July 2015

My partner's flight was five hours late. Two weeks later, although the flight status right before leaving for the airport was green light, and the weather at both ends was fine, my Gatwick-Keflavik WOW flight was 2.5 hours late. I was connecting to an Icelandair flight to Boston, and was very skeptical when the WOW flight attendants told several people not to worry, that Icelandair would hold the plane. Of course they did not hold the plane, and I had to re-book for the next day's Icelandair flight. Change fee was $400, fare difference $60, but I also had to spend the night in the airport hotel plus eat a dismal dinner there. Total damage was about $700. WOW refused to compensate me since, while it was their fault that I missed the Icelandair flight, it was a different airline. Icelandair understandably refused to compensate me. I will not fly WOW again. My theory is that discount airlines have low seniority regarding landing gates.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLondon to Reykjavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (United States) 14th July 2015

You get what you pay for with Wow Air. Booking is pretty easy online. I was surprised when asked to choose my seat and that charges were added to my bill based on where I sat. I chose to sit in the cheap seats $5-$10 on each leg. When I boarded I really didn't see a whole lot of difference between my seat and the more expensive ones up front though there may have been a couple of inches difference. The plane was clean and the staff friendly. I didn't mind that there was no entertainment. I brought a good book and read or napped the whole way. I had chosen aisle seats but still felt claustrophobic when the passenger in front of me moved his seat back. It's tight! I had read that food was extra and expensive (they even charge for water) so I picked up something at Logan airport on the flight over to Denmark. The problem on the return to Boston was that I had barely 40 minutes between flights once I got off the plane in Reykjavik. I couldn't spend much time making selections or using the lady's room (fortunately only a short line). And it was a 15-20 minute walk to my gate in Iceland. Speaking of Iceland, the only flight from Boston to Copenhagen is overnight and also stops in Iceland at 4am. This layover, unlike the return, is 3 hours long and the entire airport is closed and practically deserted. Even my gate wasn't open. If any airline is going to drop off people in the middle of the night the airport should have something open-or better, cots set up so we can sleep. It's a long time at an awful hour to be sitting and waiting. Being able to have breakfast would be nice. My only big complaint on this trip was that Wow Air doesn't have a desk set up in Copenhagen airport until 2 hours before the flight. You cannot get a boarding pass online but must go to the gate. The line queues up fast and it's long as the flight is full. And here's the problem-having been in the EU for 2 weeks I wanted to get a tax refund. The system is already complicated and designed to discourage this. But since you need a boarding pass to get the customs stamp I had to wait for Wow Air to open a desk. Once you get your boarding pass you also give them your checked luggage. Customs want to see what you have bought, not just receipts, so be sure to have it all in your carry on luggage. People who get boarding passes ahead don't have this issue as they are still in possession of their checked luggage. Once you have the customs stamp you then have to find the correct bank/agency for the refund. There are several. All this takes time and waiting in line and then you still have to clear security. So I barely made my flight out of Copenhagen. It's stressful and shouldn't be. I was at the airport 3 hours before the flight hoping to take care of all of this.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCopenhagen to Boston via Rejkyavik
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th June 2015

Very attentive, courteous and smart staff. Flights were excellent, no delays and very comfortable. Couldn't fault and all at an unbelievable price. Would fly with Wowair again and recommend.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteGatwick to Baltimore via Rejavick
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (Germany) 13th June 2015

The flight was delayed around 3 hours 40 minutes. There were no any compensation (e.g refreshing, meals or finance) for this delay. The service was OK and like other low costs airlines we had to buy everything like water and bagage. The seat was OK and could not recline as we were sat in the back row - 35E and 35 F.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteReykjavik to Berlin Schoenefeld
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (United States) 5th May 2015

Traveled from Copenhagen to Boston. WOW Airlines offer a good route for a very reasonable rate. I appreciate what the airline is trying to accomplish by offering discount rates across the Atlantic. But let's get real. For flights over 4-5 hours comfort entertainment and basic human needs are required. The aircraft from Copenhagen to Reykjavik was pretty shabby but got us safely to our destination. The aircraft from Reykjavik to Boston was very new however the seating was uncomfortable (for a flight of that length) there was no entertainment and of course the food and refreshments were not free. Not even water. On both legs the inflight staff did not seem very happy just not very pleasant at all. Lastly the customer service is troubling. There is very little opportunity to contact any service representative unless you are in the same time zone as Reykjavik. This makes it very difficult to make changes (after the 3 hour window closes) or cancellations to your purchases. The airline has potential and I expect they will work out the kinks. Unfortunately until then customers will bare the brunt of their mistakes. Overall I guess you really do get what you pay for.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (Iceland) 27th April 2015

13 March KEF-CDG flight WW404. 5 April CDG-KEF flight WW405. Great prices if you can get a special advance purchase offer. Cabin crew efficient and friendly. No frills airline - you get what you pay for. This is fine for flights of 3 hours or less. Also note most of their gates at airports are not actual gates but landing on the runway with transfer by bus. This can take extra hassle and time to board and exit the plane. If you need any deal of extra customer service expect nothing beyond standard email replies and frowns. Front desk agents not particularly happy to be there. As with all the low cost carriers this company tries to squeeze revenue from extra carry on and normal baggage fees. Sometimes it is just worth paying the extra 50 EUR to have a pleasant purchase to plane exit experience.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (Ireland) 19th March 2015

Flight from Keflavik to LGW on 16th March 2015 was delayed by over 2.5 hours should have left at 15.35 did not leave until around 18.20pm. Even though the flight was so late leaving I missed my connecting flight to Dublin with Ryanair by minutes (which was the last flight that night) so my wife and I had to book in to hotel overnight incurring extra expenses on accommodation and car parking fees etc. I believe we would have made that flight if we were not held up at boarding desk for about 10-15 minutes and also the rear door of the plane was not operational which caused further delays the overall experience was stressful and would have to think long and hard about traveling with WOW AIR the next time even though I understand they are starting direct flights to Dublin next June.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th February 2015

WOW Air is a ok low cost airline and with some improvements (online check in boarding) would be a good efficient airline like easy jet but with a better cabin. The flights where dirt cheap at £300 for 3 people with 1 bag and reserved seats. Flight WW206 16/2/15. LGW-KEF. Aircraft:TF-WOW. Check in opened at 16.10 for the 19.40 flight. It was quick and there where 3 check in staff. The flight was nearly full today which shows they are doing well. We have reserved seats which we did get and they did acknowledge that when we booked we had the 12kg hand luggage allowance. Boarding opened at 18.40 for the 19.40 flight and we went immediately to the gate. Boarding was chaotic as they where boarding in rows and people didn't listen causing delays. It was painful and needs to be improved lot be like the procedure at KEF. We pushed back at 20.00 (late) and we were off at 20.15. The flight was good with comfy seats with recline. The buy on board was cheap in comparison with Ryanair and the crew where professional but chatty (a good balance). We landed at 23.10 in a blizzard. KEF was unprepared and we had to wait for 2 0mins to attach the jetway. Baggage was also slow but this wasn't wow's fault. Good flight but poor ground services all in all. Flight WW201 20/2/15. LGW-KEF. Aircraft TF-WOW. Check in opened at 04.45 for all the morning flights (06.50-07.00-07.15). (Ours was at 07.00). Check in was quick and there were 5 staff for 3 flights which was OK. Our flight was also again nearly full. KEF airport is a good airport in terms of departures. We went to the gate at 06.00 and the gate area opened at 06.20. Boarding began at 06.30 and they just let everyone one which was easier. This time the plane was bang on time for pushback at 07.00 and was up at 07.07. The flight was yet again good with a cheap buy on board and yet again a drinks round and a tea or coffee round which is good in comparison with easy jet. The plane landed at 09.40 (15mins early) and we were off at 09.50 baggage handling however needs to be faster. No entertainment was available. WOW air needs to add online check in and enhance the boarding experience at LGW before I can say it's a decent 3 star airline.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

WOW air customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th February 2015

WW206 LGW-KEF. From our first flight; I gather that Wow air is a semi decent low cost airline that requires improvement. Check in opened 3hours and 30 mins before and a new hand luggage allowance has been out in place meaning passengers where getting nervous if the there bags would be fine. Wow air fail to provide online check in making it less of an attractive option. On today's flight wow air where 20mins late arriving and boarding was chaotic. They boarded in rows but nobody listened. We took off 35 mins late and the inflight experience was the same as easyjet. We saw the northern lights which was a plus but doesn't affect the airline's performance. The flight landed 20mins late in a blizzard but the pilot did a good job and landed smoothly. The crew where chatty but professional. Once arriving in KEF the jetway failed to attach on several attempts and we waited for 30mins before we could get off. Even worse we had to wait for another 30mins for our luggage meaning we left KEF at 00.25 instead of 23.30 not good. WOW AIR need improvement to its ground services before I can recommend it. However our return expirence may be better if not in a blizzard. The inflight was average for low cost travel.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 31 Reviews