Best Economy Class Seats  

WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never met anything as bad"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flight was OK though delayed (this is apparently traditional for WOW). The serious problem occurred when my luggage was lost thus exposing me to the full glory of what WOW calls customer service. I have never met anything as bad. From waiting 36 minutes to contact the customer service line (and then being hung up on), to no customer service desks at KEF, to three separate channels of communication that do not appear to interest, to my inability to talk to a human being, the list goes on and on. Their greatest achievement to date has been to ask me to prove a negative. A bit on the lines of being ask to prove that I haven't seen an elephant today. Easy to say but impossible to prove. I assume that's deliberate.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKEF to LGW
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Amsterdam to Baltimore via Keflavik. So many problems with this trip. First of all, both legs of the flight were delayed. At Keflavik airport I asked a representative of WoW if there would be an in-flight meal. She couldn't tell me (there wasn't). I noticed my boarding pass had no gate on it, so I asked a WOW rep which gate I should go to, and they told me the wrong gate. I nearly missed the flight; the only reason I made it was that they paged me over the intercom. Although I arrived at my destination, my luggage didn't. The next day I called, trying to find their policy on stipends (they are required by law to pay for some basic items if the luggage is delayed), and I was given the phone shuffle, for hours. I called BWI, and the WOW rep at BWI told me to call WOW's main number, and after being on hold for 30+ minutes, they'd tell me to call BWI back. This happened for the better part of an afternoon. Nobody could help me. My luggage did come after a few days, but I feel like they ripped me off. I will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to BWI via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a miserable, long trip"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Toronto via Reykjavik with WOW air. My experience was not great to say the least. My flight from Frankfurt was delayed by about an hour and unfortunately, I only had a 1 hour layover in Reykjavik. On board there was no entertainment, food and drinks - even water had to be paid for. Upon landing in Reykjavik we were still about an hour late, I was sure that I had missed my flight. The stewardess wished "all passengers with a final destination in the US or Canada" good luck making their flights. I rushed off the plane in the hopes of still catching the next flight, turns out that wasn't a problem at all as my second flight was over an hour late as well. After another miserable, long trip without entertainment, food, or drinks I finally landed in Toronto. Never again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to YYZ via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was delayed 20 hours"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Took a flight with WOW air in February 2016 from London Gatwick to Keflavik. Flight was delayed 20 hours. We were initially boarded before being advised of a small delay to add pressure into a tyre. Two hours later we were deboarded and advised that the tyre would need to be changed and they were looking for a replacement. Five hours waiting in the airport later, we were called to the main airport desk and told to collect luggage and follow a member of the Gatwick staff. There were no WOW air crew members or help desk attendants to provide any information. We were put in a room at the airport hotel and fed a really sad meal. I tried calling WOW air, and received an automated line saying they were only available during business hours on work days. Our flight was on a Saturday. No one at the airport or the hotel knew when we would be rescheduled, and I was unable to sleep that night. I heard a soft sound in our hotel room, and found that a piece of paper with new flight departure information was slipped under our door for a flight leaving at 5.40 am. No one called, no one knocked - I think half the plane missed the update. Next morning our flight was delayed a further 3 hours. We made it to Iceland in time to hire a car, drive the golden circle ourselves, and then fly back to London the next day. Complete waste of time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to KEF
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was delayed 3.5 hours"

(United States)

Verified Review | The WOW air flight was delayed 3.5 hours from Iceland to San Francisco. Did not tell us in advance. We were also delayed coming from Iceland to Frankfurt but luckily made it to Frankfurt on time. They lost about 30+ people's luggage while coming back from Iceland to SFO and now we are waiting on our luggage. I do not recommend taking this airline if you don't want to lose your luggage and have your flights delayed. We spent 24 hours in an airport just for our luggage to not be there.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKEF to SFO
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"wouldn't recommend this airline"

(United States)

Baltimore to Paris via Keflavik. This trip was terrible. The flight was 4 hours late leaving Baltimore so we got to Iceland after any connections. The WOW desk gave me a ticket for Gatwick, London but no info on Paris. Gatwick was closed so we diverted to Stansted. Stayed on the plane almost 2 hours waiting for them to re-open and to re-fuel. If there ever was a connection (they said we would get that on arrival) we missed it plus there was no one at the WOW desk! It was about 9 PM. A lady from Aviator helped us with food coupons and finally told us that we had places at a hotel in London, cabs to get there - and that WOW would contact us in the morning either by e-mail or messages at the front desk. No messages came to any of us; hotel desk said nothing received. Calls to the WOW help desk were met mostly with waiting, waiting, waiting. Finally one passenger got through and was told, basically, to get his own way to Paris. So we did! Had to pay out of pocket! They also lost our luggage. It arrived the afternoon before I had to leave. They had a nice plane; attendants friendly; I had enough room. Meal purchased was not worth the money. But the Infrastructure to help stranded passengers was non-existent. I wouldn't recommend this airline to my enemy!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBWI to CDG via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"can't believe how bad this trip is"

(United States)

Extremely poorly run airline with every shortcut taken to avoid airline expenditure. 100% of four flight legs delayed 1.5 to 3 hours to/from Europe/USA. Layover in Iceland consists of hundreds of other Wow passengers in tiny terminal waiting for their delayed flights. Staff unfriendly and not helpful. Severe baggage limit, outlandish prices onboard to buy even water on transatlantic 9 hr flight, no blanket or pillow while cabin kept very cold; seats with minimal cushion; no entertainment system. Absolutely no positive WOW moment on this trip, only "Wow, I can't believe how bad this trip is".
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to SFO via KEF
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

WOW air customer review

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Keflavik with WOW air, The experience was an absolute nightmare. Our flight was delayed by 27 hours. At first the customer support line didn't even ring - it just hung up on you. Later in the day, after alternate flights had left already, the customer service line allowed you to wait for an hour to talk to someone, who of course could do nothing to help you. Since they only have one aircraft to serve the route, our delayed flight the next day was outsourced to some sort of charter operation, so we were eventually loaded onto an unmarked A340 that had been in storage. This plane was completely gutted for storage (i.e. no paper towels) and was only loaded with one water bottle and a prepackaged food item (sandwich or pasta salad container) per person before the 7 hour flight. Needless to say the outdated entertainment system didn't work, but also the reading lights and even the attendant call buttons were inoperative. Upon arriving in Reykjavik, of course there was no gate for us so we were bussed to the terminal. No big deal - however then the entire plane load of people waited over 2 hours before the bags showed up. There was not a single person from Wow air at Reykjavik who had any idea what was going on - or cared for that matter. Their answer to any customer complaint is "we're a discount airline, so we can't help you". We did fly on an actual Wow plane on the return trip (delayed of course), and it was barebones, but comfortable. My wife and I were traveling to Iceland to celebrate my 50th birthday, and this is my lifetime worst interaction with a company where I paid money in exchange for a product or service. Their treatment of customers crosses the line from merely inconveniencing you, to the point where you really feel victimized.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to REK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"eight hours at the airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | My flight to KEF on Thursday 24 June 2016 was scheduled to leave at 12.40 pm. I arrived at the airport early (since it was an international flight) around 8.30 am, only to find out when I arrived that the flight was delayed until 2.30 pm. I didn't receive an email or notification regarding this delay. The service desk didn't even open until 10.30 am. When it approached 2.30 pm, we heard another announcement that the flight would be delayed even further due to "security" reasons. We didn't take off until a little after 4.00 pm. We arrived at KEF around 8.00 am. Naturally, I missed my connecting flight to CDG, but they couldn't put us on a flight to there until nearly 4.00 pm - eight hours at the airport on top of having us wait at LAX the day before for hours and all they gave me was a $24 voucher for food. I was supposed to arrive at CDG around 11.00 am on Friday, and we didn't arrive until close to 10.00 pm. Just when things couldn't get worse, they lost the luggage for myself and the majority of folks who flew with me from both LAX and KEF. By the time I submitted my lost baggage report, the metro was closed and I had to spend 50 euros for a taxi.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to CDG via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"amount of leg room is good"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Amsterdam via Keflavik. I booked this trip in April because of the price difference with other airline company's. Checking in was flawless and quick. Everyone on the plane was professional and US airlines could learn a lot from them. The amount of leg room is good and the planes were new. We bought our food at LAX airport and drinks to buy onboard are available. Not having any entertainment on board is inconvenient for an 8hr flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to AMS via KEF
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 89 Reviews