WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 477 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never felt more disrespected"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Last night my wife and I were supposed to travel from Los Angeles to Keflavik. Upon arriving at the terminal to drop off our bags, I was denied boarding for my international flight. I was told by the attendant that I could not travel because my valid passport was due to expire in late August. We were booked to be in Iceland only 4 days. The woman representing WOW was neither sympathetic, helpful, or apologetic, and told us it was WOW policy and there was nothing to be done. I asked to speak to someone in management and was denied. My issue is that I checked many websites about this before we left which all say Iceland is not on any list that has a limitation. My wife, and traveling companion, broke down in tears because she did not want to travel without me, and we were given a number to call for a refund. Upon calling this number, I was treated with irritation and hostility by a call center employee. I asked if we could get a refund or at least a credit towards a future flight, and was told they could not help me. We had a return flight from KEF to NYC which we were told there was nothing that could be done either. I am beyond angry about this and am out thousands of dollars of flights, hotels, cars, excursions, etc. I've never felt more disrespected by a company and am extremely disappointed with this service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Keflavik
Date FlownJuly 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charge you for everything"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Gatwick to New York via Reykjavik. I have never reviewed an airline before - but I have to review WOW because it is so awful, I hope no other passenger has to go through what I’m going through. I bought the ticket because it seemed amazingly cheap. But warning: they charge you for everything. You pay a high price simply for a carry-on bag of the size every other low cost airline permits for free. Even the sticklers like EasyJet. Then the food, unhealthy and extremely expensive. The website promised inflight entertainment screens but in fact you have to rent ipads (at a cost of $25.) By the time I had changed my ticket once and paid all the extras, the total cost was more than economy on a decent carrier like British Airways. Then the journey. Only one woman at check in, meaning that although I arrived in very good time I nearly missed the flight. Check in staff knew very little and cared less. On the plane, uncomfortable seats, very few staff. The airbus had to make an unscheduled fuel stop in the middle of the night (delaying already late arrival to early hours of the morning) simply because there were headwinds. Didn’t feel safe to fly across the Atlantic in an aircraft that can’t handle headwinds without making an unscheduled stop. If I could give zero stars I would.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to New York via Reykjavik
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst ever flying experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Keflavik to Toronto. Simply my worst ever flying experience! I kept calling as line check in did not recognize my booking number, waiting time was very long and customer service agents very difficult to understand. I was told my number was correct and I had to wait until 24 hrs before flying, still did not work, called 3 times on day of flight as wanted to check in to ensure my family sat together, was then told booking number was incorrect and to try a different one, still no good, eventually paid extra over the phone to reserve seats. When getting to the airport I was told to check in at a machine, guess what? Booking not recognised again so queued up. There was a very long queue and only 2 desks open, 2 other staff just sat there filling in forms, we queued for nearly an hour and was down to 50 mins to departure. I spoke to staff several times to open other desks but they said others were busy and most staff were at the gates, eventually got to the desk to be told my seats had been given to other passengers despite me showing my email confirmation, again they were uninterested and shrugged shouldsers, my family ended up all split up including quite young daughters. The plane was the worse legroom I have had for a near 6hr flight, extremely cramped and uncomfortable. So it is fair to say will never use Wow again, iny opinion they are terrible and any saving is just not worth it.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKeflavik to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"my flight was miserable "

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Paris via Reykjavik. You get what you pay for - WOW air's a discount airline & this shows in the seating arrangements (it's cramped) and they'll charge you an arm and a leg for every additional piece of luggage you check. Regardless of the standards of the airline, my flight from Reykjavik to Paris was miserable - the airline ordered the wrong plane for the trip (it was too small) and ended up having to randomly split all of the passengers between one flight and another hours later. The check in for the second flight was brutal, with the line itself taking more than an hour, and I didn't end up at my location until the late evening despite my first arrival time being 11AM. I'd try any other airline in my price range (maybe not Ryanair) before I end up flying WOW air again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Paris via Reykjavik
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"disregard for people with disabilities"

(United States)

Trip Verified | St Louis to Gatwick via Keflavik. Flight themselves were fine. Just know what you are getting for your money and it's a great deal. My problem was with the service. I have glioblastoma, a form of brain cancer, and use an FAA-approved device called a Novocure Optune for treatment. I called WOW approximately a month before my flight to have it authorized. The customer service representative told me he had approved it but I could tell that he was lying and just telling me what I wanted to hear. I called again a few days before my flight and of course it hadn't been approved. After spending 15 minutes trying to explain my issue to a limited-English representative, I asked to talk to a manager or to somebody in charge of ADA issues. I was told I would need to hang up, call the Iceland number directly, figure out which option was for the Icelandic language (because if I chose English it would send me right back to him), then hope whoever answered spoke English. I tried and didn't get it to work. The result was that I had to either lose my money or go without treatment for 9 days. I should not have been forced to make this choice. This has to be against the law, right? Finally, I wrote a complaint letter, mailed it to the correct office in Iceland, and never received a response. As I mentioned previously, I enjoyed most aspects of the flights, but there is no way I would fly with a company like WOW again due to their disregard for people with disabilities.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSt Louis to Gatwick via Keflavik
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it is not worth it"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Dublin via Keflavik. Worse airline ever! Absolutely the worst customer service.You have to dig to find customer service phone number and then wait on hold for hours, for me 1.5 hours at one point. On our way back from Iceland in April we waited on late travelers from Paris, we then were late arriving and missed our connecting flight, and had to rent a car and drive 4 hours home to work the next day, out of our pocket. You have to submit a claim to be compensated and this was denied, after waiting 3 months for a response! Do not fly with them it is not worth it for a reduced cost flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Dublin via Keflavik
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service was just rude"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dublin to Boston via Keflavik. My wife and I flew this route home from our honeymoon. We waited for 90 minutes to check in in Dublin, paid $180USD to check two bags (which would be considered carry-ons on other airlines), and we were not able to sit together. Our flight left late, so we had to sprint across KEF airport to get our next flight. Needless to say, our bags didn't make it. We got to Boston and were without out luggage for six days. The process to file a claim for these bags was painful at best. Finally we receive our bags and they're heavily damaged. We were advised to file a claim for the lost bags, damage, baggage fees, and a per diem. This claim was flat out rejected after providing photos of our damaged bags and customer service was just rude.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Boston via Keflavik
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the purported savings"

(United States)

Trip Verified | In one itinerary, Copenhagen to San Francisco via Reykjavík, we had inconsistent treatment with our luggage, where the same luggage size authorized for any other airline worked from SFO to Copenhagen, but not Back. I ended up spending, in front of hundreds of amused onlookers about 20 minutes moving things around, getting drenched in sweat, just to have them charge me anyway for 1/2 an inch which fits on any airplane. All to just say in the end “we need to charge you 201 DKK or approximately $25 additional dollars. On top of this, when my son had to make a change to his itinerary on the website, it shows $99 to make the change, then charged his card $548 USD! It is not worth the purported savings, it’s just not! Power didn’t work, no entertainment, didn’t deliver our prepaid food, horrible airline! Forget customer service, they have none. They hung up on us 3 times and are only served from India, don’t acknowledge any bugs on their site are possible.
Aircraft A321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to San Francisco via Reykjavík
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Customer service non-existent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Paris to Baltimore via Keflavik. It's difficult to write a review because I do not know where to start. Lets begin with the booking. Customer service (if it is deemed it exists) is non-existent. The average phone wait is about 40 minutes. I lost my luggage in Paris, and I had asked that I not be charged for the baggage. At the airport (where the wait was approximately 3 hours, since they had 2 flights to KEF at 6:30 and 6:35) I was assured that I could contact the office in USA to be refunded. When I came to the USA, I was politely told by the Airlines that once they had the money from me, there is no way on earth that I could get it back. i.e. I was being charged for service that I was not provided. Lessons learned is that you pay no money upfront. Well the airlines is cheap, i.e. cheap that they do not even provide a blanket. They will sell you a Cheap blanket with their advertisement for $20. I understand the concept of No-Frills airlines. I am ready to shell money for the extra services that I need like food etc. But $12 for a $1.50 vodka or $3.80 for a tiny black coffee is in my opinion a bit too much. The staff in the plane were helpful. But on the whole, this experience sucked. Needless to say they get 1 out of 10, and that is only because of the staff in the plane. Customer support should be revamped.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Baltimore via Keflavik
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had delays left and right"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline I've experienced so far. We had delays left and right. When we arrived to KEF airport they notified us that they overbooked our flight and that we are now getting flown to a different airport in Lyon, France instead of CDG. Upon arriving we were thrown on a bus and had a 6 hour bus ride to CDG. Every connection we had was late and cut our vacation short one whole day. Never again with this airline. Garbage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Paris CDG
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no