WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 381 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"like the service they offer and the price"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I traveled on Wow air from Chicago to Reykjavik in Basic Economy on 14th February 2018. They now do have Basic, Plus, Comfy and Biz. I checked in using the machines and it was very easy. The flight overall was very comfortable without any turbulence. The pilot kept us updated about being able to see the northern lights which was quite exciting seeing them from the plane. The flight arrived 20 minutes early at 3.50am. I will fly Wow air again as I like the service they offer and the price.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Reykjavik
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not a terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Found cheap flights to Iceland and booked on WOW air, mainly because they were the only airline offering non-stop flights. Then, I read all the mostly-negatives reviews. I decided that I knew what I was in for (no entertainment, no free meals or drinks, etc.) and decided the reviewers were probably just hard-to-please. I paid for the checked bag and carry-on. Turns out, we didn't need carry-ons, so that was a waste of money. Also paid for "priority boarding". Found out that meant you get to board a bus first that takes you half way across the airport to get on the plane. Not so bad in L.A., but when landing in Iceland at 4.00 am, in cold and blowing snow, one really doesn't want to wait at the top of a flight of stairs while a second bus is brought up to carry passengers to the terminal. And, it's annoying to see empty gates at which the "real airlines" get to park. Obviously, one of the ways WOW saves money is by not paying to use those jetways. The bus trips are a true annoyance. Flights not so bad (paid for a "comfy" seat in front, a must!) as long as you bring a sandwich and water. Flight crews not especially helpful or friendly. Found out that it's much cheaper to buy the food on board (which didn't look bad) rather than buy food in Iceland. $45 for 2 cheeseburgers in the terminal opposed to $11 for a meal on board. All in all, not a terrible experience, and it beat 5-24 hour lay-overs on other airlines.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Reykjavik
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"You get what you pay for"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my first time using WOW air flying from Newark to Reykjavik. I was skeptical going in, and then I was pleasantly surprised. I can excuse a two hour late departure time. And I can get over not having a blanket, pillow or even a glass of water without having to pay for it. This is a budget airline so that's the way it's done. Coming back to the USA, the line was very long but they let me cut it so that I could make my flight. You get what you pay for! My experience was good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Reykjavik
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"A horrible experience!"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Miami via Reykjavík. A horrible experience! Everything seemed to be extremely uncoordinated, there was a huge delay, and when I finally could enter the plane, and I reached my designated seat, 30A, I found someone already sitting there. The other passenger was trying to explain to me that their family was split so they changed seats to get together. But he was harshly interrupted by the horrible plane crew who tried to push me around in a hurry, with not the slightest trace of politeness. They seemed to be in a hurry, but that’s not my problem. I had, at that time, just entered the plane. They put me on seat 16E instead. Again - it's not an issue for me to relocate, but the sheer impoliteness of this staff is outrageous. They didn't even offer me anything as a courtesy (what about a glass of water, since you let us pay for anything and everything!). Apart from that, a few times it occurred that the speakers were squeaking loud as if they had problems with microphone feedback. Not pleasant, either. And in general, I want to remark that having no real meal on a transatlantic flight is sheer craze! What you sell for expensive money is only roast, wheat, pizza. Not a single offer with vegetable and/or meat. I checked the food reservation for my flight back already - only a pizza is selectable. That’s nothing to choose from. I will still have to endure the flight back to Amsterdam with this airline. I hope it won't get cancelled out of nowhere, like many others have stated here. Never ever fly WOW air! They think they are hip and funny, and they say "We hope you enjoyed our service", which is a sheer farce - what service are they speaking of?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Miami via Reykjavík
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"everything about this airline was quite awful"

(France)

Trip Verified | I bought a return ticket from Paris to Toronto and I liked the option of not having to pay for a checked-in luggage on the return trip so my ticket was cheaper than usual. (I had a check-in luggage going but not coming back). However, everything about this airline was quite awful. Because the flight stopped over in Iceland, each trip took 2 flights so altogether, I was on four flights, and each flight was late. It seemed like they don't know what they're doing so everything took longer than normal. Due to cancelled flights (snow storm), the flight I was supposed to be on was already full so they bumped me to a later flight, that was one version from a WOW service agent. Another version was that they split the group into two flights using smaller airplanes with one departing as scheduled and the other departing one hour later and they put me on the later flight which I contested but they said they couldn't change that even though when everybody boarded, there were seats left on the earlier flight. They said that the names of passengers on each flight was fixed one hour before departure and these names cannot be changed. The flight I took was one hour late so in the end, I arrived 2 hours later than scheduled. So if you're on a budget and have all the time in the world, then WOW air is ok, but if you're on a schedule, this is an airline to avoid because it seems like most of their flights are late. I've checked randomly WOW air flights that have landed for the day and so far, I have seen that every flight has landed late. It's possible that certain flights are on time and I didn't see them, but you can do that as well, just check on any given day any airport with WOW arrivals.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"can't cross your legs"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I know it's a new trend. Several airlines are cutting down on costs and services. I have recently flown WOW and Volaris. I will never fly either one again. No blanket, no food, no water, nothing. No leg room. You can't cross your legs. Almost $4 for a bottle of water? Same for coffee. Seats don't even have a head rest, so good luck trying to sleep.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"appalling attitude and service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Gatwick to Keflavik. Our flight was cancelled on the morning of our departure. We were made aware of the cancellation by text and told to "fill in an online form" and await a response. We did not get one until 24 hours later, at which point they tried to put us on a flight on the day we were due to return. We attempted several times to call the UK phone number advertised for them on their website and found the line had been switched off so we could not speak to anyone. With no other option we ended up having to travel 2.5 hours to the airport to be given a cold and unsympathetic response by the check in staff and no available options for an alternative flight. Although this was due to bad weather in Iceland no attempt was made by the airline to reschedule our flight. To make matters even worse we learned whilst we were at the airport that they had used our flight slot instead to send an earlier scheduled flight. I have never known such appalling attitude, service and lack of communication. God forbid anyone who books with them and has an issue with their flight. It just seems that nobody at WOW Air wants to know about it. I'm now £1500 out of pocket for a break I could not get to and going through the stress of now trying to get them to organise a refund.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Keflavik
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"found the experience value for money"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Dublin via Keflavik. I found the experience value for money. I only flew them because I had left my booking 'till the last minute and the fare was $780 USD versus $1200 on BA. But in nearly every aspect of the journey it was fine. You prepare yourself for flying an LCC by dressing super casual, bring your reading and a loaded Ipad, plus a pillow and of course food. Cocoon yourself and the journey does go by. One key suggestion is to pay the extra $100 each way and get seat selection in their "XXL" cabin which has 35" of pitch vs 32" on the left side which is just "XL" and the back 2/3 of the plane which is a cramped 30" or even worse. With the exception of one nasty gate agent in KEF - who shouted to get everyone upstairs to board while the bridge was jammed and people tripping over the stalled escalator, all staff interactions were fine. The crews on all 4 segments were either good or great. Yes you pay for water, so bring your own bottle and fill it at the airport! Yes you pay $12 for two beer. The A321 has much wider seats than the 787 or the 10 abreast 777 so that made things more comfortable. However, be careful when booking as it appears only 4 of their 321 fleet have such a large XXL or XL cabin in the front. I would dread to be on one of their super high density A321s at 220 seats (these 4 have only 200 seats). The connection in KEF was too long in both directions but plenty of super expensive cafes and power outlets. Plus the cleanest toilets I have ever seen in the world, this is a great plus for a transit. My only complaint, and this is major, is that the seats had cushions that were squashed flat. They were so thin that it felt like you were sitting on a sliding metal pan. For God's sake WOW, put new seat cushions in. If it wasn't for that, I would have rated the experience an 8. If the fare was within $200,sure I would have flown on someone like BA (for points, IFE and booze) but overall it wasn't that much of a torture. I suspect sitting in the back half of the cabin would have been however. Just realized, I had an empty seat beside me on all sectors. That does make a big difference on the journey!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Dublin via Keflavik
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"food good, seats comfortable"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Paris via Reykjavik. I had a passport issue and a staff member went above and beyond assisting me with renewal of my passport, as well as booking another one way flight. Also during the flights all staff members were friendly with smiles and manners. They were probably the best flight attendants I have seen from any airline. The food was good and the seats comfortable. The only complaint would be to have some sort of on-board entertainment and charging stations.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Paris via Reykjavik
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service is atrocious"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I understand why they call it WOW air now. This is the worst of the worst! I am a very seasoned traveler, and I have never encountered such an inept series of errors that caused me to move my flight a week before travel, get refused boarding at check-in, and be forced to fly on Icelandair. Their customer service is atrocious, their policies are purposely deceptive, and the entire experience was tantamount to theft. I was traveling from Los Angeles to Reykjavik. A week before flying I received an email stating that the flight on Jan 31 was "seriously delayed" and to call customer service to arrange a new date. A new date? That's called a cancellation! After spending 20 minutes waiting for their Indian call center to answer, the lady would only tell me the flight was delayed indefinitely, however, if I could book through Chicago at the same cost since there were no other flight options for me that same date (WOW has only one flight per day from LAX, and not each day) I could get myself to Chicago before their 4.50 pm departure with nominal effort on United since I couldn't change my vacation dates. I was told to file a claim via their website to have any consideration of refunding the difference between flying from LAX and Chicago, especially since they charged me an additional $12 to have an assigned seat. After several attempts to file a claim and arguing via Facebook with their customer service, they admitted that their website didn't have a claim service, so they sent me a link via email saying they would get back to me within 72 hours. It's now 11 days with no response. I get to Chicago, but their check-in is only open 3 hours prior to boarding. I try to check-in, but they refuse to check me because my passport name was different than what was on my ticket (Tim versus Timothy). They tell me to step aside to call customer service to have it corrected since the gate agents can't do anything. After waiting in line for 25 minutes, the guy spends another 15 minutes making me hold before telling me there is nothing he can do because their policy does not allow changes within 4 hours of boarding. So, if you have any type of issue, they can't help you since they open three hours before boarding. So, I'm left stranded in Chicago. The best part is that the flight was delayed 1.5 hours, so technically my change was within the four hour window, but they wouldn't help me. The good news is I found my way to Icelandair, and had a very pleasant experience because they had a flight that left at 6.40pm. The agent told me when I bought the ticket that they get a lot of business from people kicked off WOW at the last second. Another funny thing is WOW sent me a customer service request via email, but their link failed! Bottom line: Do yourself a favor and take Icelandair to Iceland. WOW is totally incompetent.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Reykjavik
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no