WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 506 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Good value flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Keflavik. Good value flight, with on time departure. Basic services yet comfortable seats. Did not purchase food on board since I got my own from SXF. No entertainment system! Flight attendants are dry and should try to be more friendly!
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Keflavik
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"found my experience pretty good"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Detroit to Copenhagen via Keflavik. I was a little reluctant to travel with Wow air after reading the many negative reviews. However I have to say I found my experience with Wow pretty good. While for sure it is a no frills low cost airline, I have to say it is fairly good value for money. I flew from DTW to CPH via KEF, I found the ground staff, cabin crew and all other contact personnel very efficient, approachable and polite. Both aircraft I flew with were modern A-321s. While the seats were not the most comfortable, and in the basic seat the legroom was fairly tight they did recline a little and there were power sockets/USD points at each seat. Selection of drinks and snacks which were available for purchase was also quite good. I would not hesitate to fly Wow again and would quite happily recommend them to others.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Copenhagen via Keflavik
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"was pleasantly surprised"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | After hearing horror stories U was concerned about my journey with WOW and how it would be, but was pleasantly surprised. The flight was uneventful with even more space between seats than some budget airlines I've experienced eg JQ. Staff pleasant and food to buy. (I bring my own). Paid for large carry on and seat. I did do a name change in advance to include my middle name, because I'd heard stories of pax denied boarding. The only thing I didn't like about the flight was that they didn't dim the lights in the cabin for the entire journey. I would use them again if it was cheap and you lower your expectations.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"our bad experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Baltimore to Milan via Keflavik. To all travel friends, this is our bad experience flying with WOW air. First about carry on personal bag carries need pay 65 Euro. No water given free in 8-9 hours international fly. Everything you need pay for that. And always sales on the air plane was distributed. No flying with WOW air more for me and family. The first and the last.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Milan via Keflavik
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"upset with our experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Paris via Reykjavík. My husband and I flew this airline for our honeymoon to Paris. To say we were unimpressed would be an understatement. First off, I was unable to add any baggage to my reservation to fly out of Chicago to Paris, because of this we were charged almost $300 at the airport because we were not even allowed a carry on bag. We travel often and this is not the case with any other airline we have used. If we would have known this we would have packed accordingly. There is not much you can do about this besides pay the money when you are at the airport. Then we find out there is not free in flight entertainment, like the other airlines we have flown overseas. Also, the seats were so crammed together my husbands knees were hitting the seat in front of us the whole time. He could not even put his tray down if he wanted to because of this. Why didn't we pay for extra leg room you ask? Well because we have not had this problem on any other flight we have flown. Then on the way back from Paris I was able to add luggage to our reservation but again, like most airlines, we expected the weight limit to be 23kg per bag. No. It was only 20kg so we had to pull things out of our suitcase to get the weight down. Additionally,the lady checking us in was very rude and was talking about us in French with a very unpleasant look on her face. I am not fluent in French but body language says more than words. The check in attendant also first said that it would cost 10$ per kg over 20 and then after we took some things out she said it was 15$ because we needed to go to Chicago. Well of coarse we needed our bags to go all the way home. I also would point out that whether our bags were under the plane or in the cabin, there is still the same amount of weight on the plane. Making us open all our luggage to save money in the airport is ridiculous. We were already frustrated and her changing information and being very rude and unprofessional did not help matters. We ended up paying $400 to get our luggage back on top of the $300 that we payed on the way there. This is the price of an extra airline ticket. This being said, we could have flown with ANY other airline and not have dealt with all the inconveniences. We are very upset with our flight experience on this trip. We are frequent travelers and so are many members of our family and because of this experience we are unable to say any kind words about your airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Paris via Reykjavík
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had to pay or we could not fly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Detroit via Keflavik. This is not a complaint about the lack of free meals or in-flight entertainment. I know how so-called low cost airlines operate and have never had a problem with any of them until my partner and I tried to fly WOW for the first (and last) time. This is a complaint about the treatment we received and the fees we were charged at the gate of our flight WW447 AMS-KEF, on the date of September 3 at AMS (Schiphol) airport. We booked our WOW air flights months in advance of our flight measured our bags, which fit perfectly within the very restrictive WOW measurements. We have photographs to prove that the bags fit into the bags measurement frame placed at WOW gates. Prior to our flight we checked in online and received boarding passes into email, that was not a problem. However, at the gate of our flight from AMS to KEF we were stopped impolitely by an individual from WOW ground personnel, who started insisting that our bags were carry-ons just because they had 2 wheels, and that we had to pay in order to get them on the plane. She would not even look at my original ticket, where the definition of included luggage only showed dimensions and had in no way specified that included luggage could not have wheels. She never measured the bags, nor weighed them, nothing, just insisted that "wheels" cannot be placed under seats due to "safety." This individual further refused to provide her name and also prohibited me from taking a photo of her ID for evidence, repeating multiple times that it is not allowed. Every question I tried to ask she dismissed with It is not allowed, to the point that I felt I was talking to a robot. I tried to show her the original ticket on my phone, but she refused to have any human communication or reasoning with me, and kept repeating it is not allowed. When I asked to see a supervisor, she replied, it is not allowed to have a supervisor, after which she moved us to the side and said we were not getting on the flight at all. We had to wait until the entire plane was boarded, when she sent a colleague of hers, who likewise insisted that our small bags were trolleys and were not allowed on the flight for free due to safety. I tried to explain that my original ticket showed no such prohibition whatsoever, but she insisted we had to pay or we could not fly. We absolutely felt blackmailed, humiliated and ended up profoundly disturbed They charged us 160 Euro for our two bags, as we were taking a connect flight to Detroit later that afternoon from Reykjavik, and only then were we allowed to board the flight. Once we paid, however, we were told that we could place our bags wherever we chose, and when I said that the entire affair was not about safety but about paying, they had no response, because this is what it was all about – extorting money from travelers. If the company wants to prohibit the use of wheeled luggage, it must define the included luggage as such excluding wheels, otherwise am free to interpret the shape or pattern of the luggage freely, as long as it complies with the measurements, which it did. Customer service? Non-existent.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Detroit via Keflavik
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"luggage however did not arrive"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | We flew from Amsterdam Schiphol to Keflavik and we stayed in Iceland one week. Our luggage however did not arrive with the same flight to our destination and in fact never made it to Iceland. It was sent to us 8 days later and only when we contacted airport staff. The staff of WOW apparently could not do what we did 1 day after our arrival in the Netherlands in order to find our luggage so we ended up with no personal items for a week. Instead they did whatever was possible in order not to find our luggage. They filed it as yellow while we told them it was red, they put the wrong contact information in their online system and they customer service people were asking for the same information regarding the luggage every time we called for the status. Apart from that the plane seats were quite uncomfortable and everything served during the flight was overpriced.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSchiphol to Keflavik
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"definitely not recommend"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Frankfurt via Keflavik. I had the worst travel experience with this airline. On a long distance flight there was nothing provided, not even a glass of water. The seats are very uncomfortable and you won’t find any blankets and pillows. The prices are low but for long distances definitely not recommend. And I am used to very low standards of comfort while traveling!!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Frankfurt via Keflavik
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"wasn't bad at all"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Paris CDG via Keflavik. I flew yesterday and it wasn't a bad flight. I had no issues. They're a low-cost airline. You get what you expect and what you paid for. Our flight wasn't late, the flight attendants were friendly, the pilots were friendly (we took a photo with them for my daughter's first flight), it wasn't bad at all.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Paris CDG via Keflavik
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | New York JFK to Kevlavik. WOW Air is the worst airline someone could fly. Unfortunately the ticket price looked so attractive that we booked the flight. When we checked in, we had to pay an additional $180 dollars for two carry ones and a checked bag. This is more than we have paid for the ticket. I’m beyond frustrated and will make sure to never ever fly with Wow Air.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Kevlavik
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no