Vote Now  

WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 189 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"poor customer service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Dublin to Keflavik. Shocked at the lack of check-in facilities for this airline. App did not function properly and there were no kiosks for printing tickets so I had to queue at the desk for over an hour just to get my boarding pass. Staff are obviously not up to speed with visa procedures for entry to countries which held up the check-in process even more. Overall my impression of the staff was that they are badly trained. The flights are extremely uncomfortable but this was to be expected considering the low price. Despite the low prices, I would not fly with WOW air again due to poor customer service and lack of facilities.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Montreal via Keflavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"we were really impressed"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Our trip from Toronto to Copenhagen required connections in Keflavik. Well, we had a great flight, both directions, even with the connections. The only issue was having to de-ice the wings on the Toronto-Keflavik segment, which of course was not the airline's fault. We were really impressed with how well the boarding process went, and the professionalism of the Wow air staff. Note the snacks / beverages are not free on-board, and there is no entertainment, but we were prepared for that and it wasn't a problem. For the price we paid, it was definitely a great experience.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Toronto via Keflavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"cheap way of scoring some extra money"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Awful check in. They measure all bags before checking in. I brought my bag, which is small (meaning 42 cm and under in length, for instance). As there are some wheels on the bag which sticks out maybe 1,5 cm, the bag was chargable for 85 CAD as large cabin bagage. Nearly all small cabin luggage are with wheels nowadays, so its a cheap way of scoring some extra money from the customer. I think this is a very low standard and waiting now for boarding, I really regret booking this airline. If you can, STAY AWAY from this airline: - you will be charged (big time) for any luggage. If in doubt, the customer will not have the last word. - when charged for extra luggage, they do not accept local debit cards (in this case in Canada). They dont even try to make this process smooth, when you just got screwed over with add on fees. - no food on plane, if you have a sandwich, they charge you asap. -Keflavik (Iceland) airport is very small and inconvenient. There are very few options for food or general shopping, the options that exist are more expensive than elsewhere. No in-flight entertainment at all. Planes are all newly painted. Its like lipstick on an old car, beware. I can only wish for this airline, that they will share the same fate as Icelandic banks - the sooner, the better.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Copenhagen via Keflavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely disgusting service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Edinburgh to Toronto via Keflavik. Every member of Wow Air staff I encountered from start to finish was rude and unhelpful, even before my issues begun. Wow air left my bag in Iceland (where I connected from Edinburgh) then casually told me they'd deliver it to Toronto later in the week- by which point I'd be in Whistler. No apology offered, no compensation and customer service team didn't care at all that I was without warm clothes for 6 days in -10 degree weather. After days of phone calls and emails being passed from pillar to post I was advised they would send my case to Vancouver via WestJet then deliver it to me in Whistler. Next day I was told actually they won't and I'd need to travel to Vancouver airport and pay to pick it up. After this they ignored all of my emails and I still haven't had a response. Absolutely disgusting service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to Toronto via Keflavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it was a catastrophe"

(United States)

Unverified | Los Angeles to Paris via Keflavik. Me and my sister booked a trip to Europe in September 2016 for March 7th through the 13th of 2017. I would call once a month to make sure the flight was still on time and nothing had changed. And every month everything was ok and still the same. The reason I would check so often is because I read the reviews and they said that WOW air flights were being cancelled without proper notice. Since they would assure me every time I called , that everything was ok, I proceeded to book my tours and hotel room in December. I booked a hotel stay and 5 tours around paris France. The time approached quickly for our departure and the day before our flight we received a message that our flight had been cancelled. We were suppose to board on the 7th march at 10:03am and WOW air sent us a cancellation message March 6th at 11pm. They gave us 2 choices. We could receive a full refund but it would take 5 to 7 business days or we could get on the next flight that was available and that was for march 11th. I was devastated. That would mean we would miss all the tours and would only have two days in the hotel we paid 6days for. There was no other accommodation on their end. So I had to book through another airline and spend money on two extra tickets in order to get to the room On time. And also make it for the tours. I will never book with WOW air again. They were unprofessional, with minimal customer service and cost me so much extra money with care about the perdicament they put me and my sister in. It was obvious that they did not care about us. I ended up getting my money back at the end of my trip so wow airlines ruined my whole trip it was a catastrophe. I hope that they shut them down. Please read the reviews. They are all real and true.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Paris via Keflavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a nasty customer culture"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We traveled early morning having to get up at 2.30pm. I am 6ft 5' and it was an expensive trip to Iceland, so was beyond budget paying for extra legroom seats. When I saw 2 extra leg room seats together not being used, normally if you ask nicely to sit in them there is never a problem - except for Wow Air. I was curtly told that if I wanted to make use of the seats I would have to pay the emergency leg room supplement. When I pointed out the seats were empty anyway and so not costing them anything or depriving them of additional income, the air hostess replied 'It wouldn't be fair to the passengers who had already paid extra in the other seats." I said it was hardly fair having me cramped and squashed in my seat when there was the simple humane thing of letting me sit one row in front in the empty extra leg room chairs. I also pointed out that people paying for extra leg room were paying for the guarantee, the certainty of having these seats, and not paying to deny others. After my legs were knocked 3 time by the trolley doing its rounds and waking me up 3 times one of the air hostesses revealed some humanity, and invited me to sit on one of the empty extra leg room seats for the remainder of the flight. The episode clearly reveals a truth about Wow Air: it puts exploitation of every commercial opportunity before customer service. A nasty customer culture.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to Bristol
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I've ever flown"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Los Angeles via Keflavik. Worst airline I've ever flown. The offered flights are not cheaper than those of other airlines as WOW air makes you pay for food, luggage, etc. extra. Both flights I were delayed. We had to wait in the waiting area forever just to be driven to the plane where we had to wait again in the cold. Only half of the already little food options was actually available. The only vegetarian option they had was a cup of quinoa that turned out as a major fail. However, the airline was nice enough to spare my from this on my return flight as it got cancelled just hours before due to technical issues. But don't even try to reach the hotline. If you want to do yourself a favor fly with a grown up airline that knows what it's doing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Los Angeles via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Just avoid WOW air"

(United States)

Verified Review | Baltimore-Washington to Bristol via Keflavik. WOW air isn't really cheap. When you add in the "extras" - paying for a seat choice (mandatory), luggage, it only saved my family about 10% compared to regular airlines with a direct flight. Food in the plane and Keflavik airport is awful and ridiculously expensive. We arrived in Iceland to find our connecting flight had been cancelled, and we had a 9 hour wait in the airport. With 2 exhausted small kids at 4am local time, we had to find ourselves a hotel for the 9 hours. The customer service desk said WOW air could not put us up in a hotel, but would refund us if we submitted a claim. We submitted the claim, but 3 months later haven't heard anything back. After reading a few reviews, it seems WOW air just ignores online claims. When we finally got on our connecting flight, we found it was a charter aircraft because Wow's own plane had broken down. It was even worse than the Wow planes we flew on - less legroom, really tatty and old, and 2 of the toilets were out of use. Just terrible. Do yourself a favor, and book with a regular airline, for trans-Atlantic at least. After you spend on choosing a Wow seat, luggage, plane/airport food, you don't end up saving anything and have all the inconvenience of traveling with a budget airline. The airport in Iceland was the worst for facilities and prices I've used. Just avoid WOW air.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Bristol via Keflavik
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"was a very bad experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Reykjavik. Yesterday travelling with WOW air with a backpack of 30 litres which usually fit as hand luggage, this time the lady on the desk made me pay 74GBP for my luggage, being rude to me and saying that if I ask again, why I have been charged, I won't travel. She send me to put my backpack on the sizer, which I did. Then it stuck with one of the straps, I just went put it in again because obviously this is not a hard case and it doesn't fit in the same way in the sizer, but she told me that should fit without pushing, obviously I wasn't pushing, but she didn't want to listen and said that I had to pay for my backpack. I'm very dissapointed with this company, and this is the first time that happen to me. I don't think I will fly with this company again, it was a very bad experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Reykjavik
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst flight I was ever on"

(United States)

Verified Review | The cabin was so hot, it felt like 82°F. I asked if there was a way to cool down the cabin, they FA said no and they didn't know why it was hot in the cabin. They were charging almost $5 for a small water without refills. I refused to buy one and slowly sipped my water from Amsterdam airport. Coming back was the same from Amsterdam to Los Angeles via Keflavik. This was the second trans Atlantic vacation I have ever made and the worst flight I was ever on. Cheap but I would never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Los Angeles via Keflavik
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no