WOW air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 328 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"The most dishonest company"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Gatwick via Keflavik. The worst company that I ever deal with, they make move my allowances from my back pack to my luggage and later they suspiciously lost my luggage. Now they don’t want to take responsibility for their negligence and want to give the third part of my losses. They took eleven months to answer me after I expended hours trying to reach them by phone and by mail and they tried to said that was my fault for carrying expensive goods with me. I am not the only person with this problem, at least 20 more in the same situation than I know because “They block your account and delete or spam your posts in their website” because they don’t care about your losses. The most dishonest company I ever deal with.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Gatwick via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I followed all of the rules"

(United States)

Not Verified | Baltimore to Copenhagen via Keflavík. I booked the flight with a 3rd party for WOW air which I don't recommend. You should book directly with WOW. Because of the third party WOW will not do anything regarding your booking until the night before the flight when you will finally be granted access to confirm. I read a lot of bad reviews regarding WOW, so I started trying to cancel my reservation and book elsewhere. WOW has a policy that you can cancel with 24 hours with no penalty. But, if you book with a third party they don't honor WOW policy. I paid for a carry-on $54 before the flight and I paid for my seat also. I did not want to be stuck in a middle seat. I did not find the seats that uncomfortable. The thing to do is strictly follow size and weight requirements. I was extremely apprehensive because of the negative reviews. I followed all of the rules and had no problems at all. It is true that you are not offered a beverage or anything, and that you have to have a credit card to purchase anything. The prices of the food was approx. $2 higher than the high prices in the airport. I brought a sandwich, water and juice from the airport which was costly. I would fly WOW again. I was going to be gone for 3 weeks so I needed the extra bag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Copenhagen via Keflavík
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cancelled by technical reasons"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked my flight from San Francisco to Reykjavik on May 2017 to meet in there with our friends we didn't see for a long time. The flight should happen in November this year. I was quite excited about this trip as it might provide me with completely new experience in combination with good memories and warm reunion. The WOW kept keeping me informed through the email about options for my upcoming trip and sent me reminder 48 hours in advance offering to do online check in which followed with the reminder via SMS for the same. By some technical reasons I wasn't able to do it deciding to do at at the counter in airport. Now you can imagine what a shock I experienced when I arrived to SFO and found that my flight doesn't exist! I tried to contact their customer service and found that flight "was cancelled by technical reasons in August". The clerk in the customer service mechanically was repeating that the cancellation notice went to every passenger in between August and September. I checked my email where other notification were sent and didn't find any cancellation notice (email) not in the main inbox nor in the spam folder. Besides why were they sending check in notifications if the flight was already canceled. My request to re-book flight was declined as well as I was informed that WOW doesn't assume partnership with other companies to back up the flight. So WOW canceled my flight w/o notifying me in advance. I don't care what their operators say - I didn't get the cancellation into my email inbox. WOW used my money for the cancelled flight w/o any commission between August and November. I lost hotel money which is too late to cancel. Travel insurance will be questioned as they keeping claim they sent cancellation notice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Reykjavik
Date FlownNovember 2017
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

1/10

"no effort of trying to help me"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Reykjavik. I had found out that my passport was expiring the night before my trip, so I had to get an emergency passport the day of my flight. I had a legal name change so I wasn't sure what name the passport office was going to issue me (since I didn't have my original legal name change document with me in Montreal). But I called WOW the night before my flight asking if I could change my name on my ticket and the lady informed me I could, within the next hour. I didn't change it that night because I didn't know what name was going to be on my passport so I had to wait until I heard what the passport office said. By some miracle, I ended up getting a brand new passport in 7 hours and when I called WOW again at 2.30pm (my flight was at 6pm) they informed me with new information that I couldn't make any changes to my flight within 4 hours of departure. Essentially, WOW airline's call centre is very inconsistent and had provided me false information that first time I called. I wasn't restricted to 1 hour, I realistically had up to 4 hours before my departure. Because of that misleading information, I was unaware of that time constraint and thus prevented me from changing my name and the airline crew denying me access. On top of that, the airline crew treated me with such disrespect, rudeness, no empathy and showed no effort of trying to help me find a solution. Basically they were blaming me for everything. Especially the supervisor. I had called the call centre numerous times to try and get any compensation, even if it was just to get on the next available flight, which is a reasonable request as other airlines would try to put their customers on next available flights even if you missed the flight due to something like lateness. I am shocked by the customer service this company gives. They don't care about you as a person and show no sympathy whatsoever. The customer care reps are trained to say the same line over and over again like robots, it's like you are talking to a brick wall. It took me an hour arguing with one person about wanting to talk to a supervisor, they wouldn't let me talk to someone with higher authority at all which makes 0 sense (what company doesn't let you talk to a manager?!) Once I finally managed to talk to a supervisor, they feed you nonsense about how they don't have authority to do anything. I find out later that this is not true - as they mention how other options would be mentioned to me if the airline was at fault. This proves that they have options and the authority to do something but they just don't want to. All this company does is lie to you so they don't have to pay anything. They wrote in my file that I talked to a senior supervisor in the Icelandic Headquarters which I never did. Then they listened to their call recordings and said that the lady I talked to on the first night informed me of the 4 hour policy! I remember that conversation crystal clear in my head and she had never mentioned anything about the 4 hour policy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Reykjavik
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

2/10

"never flying them again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to London via Keflavik. WOW air sells tickets under the guise of lowest cost carrier around. It is not true. To begin with, I paid $600 CA for a ticket to London. Not a bad price. But, then only a small carry on is allowed, no regular size carry on. Luggage is extra and it is charged per leg. So, if you are heading from Canada westerly, it means 2 legs, one stop in Iceland and then on to London. That's about $80 if you decide to bring a small roller luggage. Then, when you reserve your seat, closer to departure, there is a charge (varied) for all seats, depending on where you want to sit. Again, per leg. So, that added up to another $60, for the cheapest seats possible. They will not even provide you with a drink of water on their flights. A water bottle is $5. Dehydration on board, is a health issue, for an airline not to be aware of this is unbelievable. I don't know what they charge for food since I didn't buy any. There is no entertainment on board, which was fine for me. However, you can rent an iPad for $30 or so, again per leg. I doubt anybody rents one. Why would they if they are flying on a cheap flight? There is always a stop in Iceland, and their airport is small and not setup for many international flights coming in. They bus you to the terminal. The doors from outside open directly into the terminal. The end result, buy your ticket with Air Canada or British Airways. Just watch the prices, you can get direct fights at same price point. Oh, and by the way, you have to do everything on line. Book your seats, print your tickets, boarding passes, etc. Ok, if you are setup for but, some people may not have ready access to printers, and it's always dangerous to rely on the eticket. I was never able to access WiFi in the Iceland terminal. Oh, and they overbooked the flight and requested people to accept another flight. Long and short, I'm never flying with them again, not even to go to Iceland.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to London via Keflavik
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

1/10

"Will never fly WOW again"

(United States)

Verified Review | A horrible storm hit Iceland on Sunday afternoon. We were required to wait at the gate for ten hours because they refused to cancel the flight from Keflavik to Boston. Had to take a bus to the plane and board by climbing stairs in the cold, wind, and rain. Seats are very uncomfortable. No refreshments provided, only for sale. When we got to Boston, the pilot announced that no checked luggage was on the plane. We all had to stand in a line at the Boston airport to fill out a form to file to declare our missing luggage. Very unhappy. Will never fly WOW again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKeflavik to Boston
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

3/10

"experience indicates a lack of protocol"

(United States)

Verified Review | Arrived home yesterday evening to Chicago (from Keflavik), via flight WW153, scheduled for Sunday, 11/05, but delayed until yesterday, 11/06. Following the cancellation of the flight, we were given vouchers to local hotels and unclear assurance that we'd hopefully be flying home the next day. We were then bused to the hotel, only to find that it was already too full to accommodate us. We were then bused back to Keflavik airport and received vouchers for a new hotel. As the buses came and went throughout the next two hours, it became abundantly clear that there was no plan for transporting us to the newly assigned hotel. We only ended up reaching the hotel because an airport employee not connected to Wow arranged for taxis to transport the nine or so of us and ensured the drivers were paid. We did not receive any confirmation of our rescheduled flight until the following morning. Moreover, we never received written confirmation of the bus that ended up picking us up from the hotel the next morning. We had been told the previous evening that it was tentatively due to arrive at noon, but it arrived at 11am, leaving some of us to rush at the last minute to board this bus. This flight, in similar fashion, was delayed by nearly an hour due to an argument between the crew and a passenger, concerning the tickets he had purchased for the flight. Overall, this entire experience indicates a lack of protocol, planning, and internal communication on the part of Wow air, which came at the expense of its customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKeflavik to Chicago O'Hare
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

1/10

"ended up having a cancelled flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | Keflavik to Chicago. This airline is such an abomination, I wish I were able to rate in the negative. They are very unprofessional, convoluted, and had the undertones of passive aggressiveness in all aspects of staffing. Anyway, flew out to Iceland from Chicago with some friends for a week excursion. The flight in was So/So, was somewhat in-different about there not being complimentary snacks/WiFi, but you get what you pay for. The flight back I ended up having a cancelled flight, blaming it on weather. Come to find out it was because the pilots hours were over on time. Many WOW flights went out later that day. Anyway 26 hours of waiting for the flight to leave, and rebooking flights for the connecting ones out of Chicago. We finally started boarding. Once on the plane, the attendants tried to feud with a family to try to get them off because WOW air overbooked the flight. Which in the grand scheme of things made us very late, and we had to yet again rebook connecting flights out of Chicago. Anyways this airline is a joke.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKeflavik to Chicago
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

1/10

"poor quality of services and amenities"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Berlin via Keflavik. I fly with Wow Air every 3-4 months, not because I particularly like their poor customer service or their true lack of amenities (like movie selection or internet) but because they claim to have cheaper flights than other airlines. However, this isn't really true. Once you add all of their baggage fees, the cost is roughly equal to that of Turkish Airlines which is far superior. It's only for people like me- who often don't know when we need to return and thus can't book a return flight-- that it can work out in our favor to not lose money by missing a flight. My last trip, however, will stop me from purchasing a ticket from this airline in the future. Every time I fly, I use the last part of my hyphenated name, and I've never had issues. I do it because it's such an extremely long name that it generally doesn't fit, and I do it because it's so automatic now; I don't use my hyphenated name for anything other than legal documents and even then it's so rare. Wow air had never said anything. But last time, on a day when I had a ultrasound for potential breast cancer and was horribly sick with the flu, they barred me from my flight because my name didn't fully match my passport. I apologized and said it was an oversight on my part and asked them to change it. The young man who helped me was incredibly rude, making fun of me to his 2 colleagues as I broke down and cried, begging them to change it. They refused and continued to make fun of me. I demanded to speak to supervisor, claiming that their behavior was inhuman and that i deserved better and to be treated with respect. He refused. I showed him emails of 6 past bookings with WOW Air which contained only the last part of my name, like this booking. He refused. I begged, I cried, I yelled. It didn't matter. I lost so much money, stranded in San Francisco for 2 days until a check finally came through. I emailed customer service for assistance because their phone numbers weren't working (I called US and Germany). I called every day for 10 days. But no one answered me for 14 days. And their answer was short and incredibly disappointing. I emailed the other 6 boarding passes as proof, recounted the actions of their desk attendant, and begged them find me another flight. I said I was a loyal customer despite their poor customer service, and asked them to take care of me. Their answer "Your boarding pass did not match you documents. We are not responsible." Unbelievable. Never have I had an airline be so unwilling to keep their loyal customers happy. To see the humanity in their customers. All they see is dollar signs. They find any way to avoid responsibility. It's not the first time it's happened to me with them regarding bags or food or pricing that changes, but I always took it because of one-way tickets. I always supported them as an airline despite their poor quality of services and amenities. But not anymore. I will forever be a Turkish Airline customer now.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Berlin via Keflavik
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments

1/10

"We were really disappointed"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew from Frankfurt to Reykjavik. We were really disappointed when they made us pay for our cabin bag. I have traveled around the world and truly never experienced, that you would have to pay for a standard size cabin bag, content of which would fit in a small backpack. Really, watch out, when you travel with WOW air, and don’t expect the worldwide standards of cabin bags to be recognized with this company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Reykjavik
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



21st November 2017 : WOW air response

WOW air does not respond to comments