Top 100 Airlines  

WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"avoid using this flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Edmonton was delayed by 5 hours, due to the flight had not arrived from Edmonton. There was no one at the WetJet information center at Gatwick Airport for quite some time - finally a lady came for 10 min and disappeared agan. After a lot of calls she came out again for another 15 min to give out food coupons. Edmonton to London flight was cancelled and they put us on another airline (Omni International) - which was a very old flight with different seat numbers and no entertainment. I got assigned a seat in front of the toilet. Avoid using this flight at all costs. Pay a bit more and fly other airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to YEG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"service quite good"

(China)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Vancouver. The WestJet flight was on time, arrived before schedule but long wait for a parking berth at Vancouver. The flight was smooth and service quite good. Non-alcoholic beverages are offered free, unlike a carrier such as SAS that charge for everything. Service was good. The seat pitch was good but as it was an old aircraft there is no TV in cabin. When I did online check-in I found that the airline pre-allocated me the 'worst' seat, while half of seats are unallocated. This I consider a factor that may deter me from flying with Westjet, although I changed my seat. Las Vegas Terminal 3 was terrible but not airline's fault.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to YVR
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight was quiet and normal"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Halifax via St Johns. WestJet recently launched their services to London Gatwick and they have nailed it. The terminal at Gatwick North was clean, staff friendly and check in process seamless. I was moving back to Canada and had a lot of luggage with me and the cost to check in 2 bags (one being overweight) was GBP30 in total. The flight was quiet and normal. The only thing that is a bummer is there is no inflight entertainment, but I see there is an app you can download before the flight and get entertainment on that. Inflight staff was friendly, courteous and even cracked some jokes. When I landed in YYT I collected my checked luggage to re-check to Halifax and the ticket counter ladies were helpful and so friendly. They checked my overweight bags with no issues and they made sure my flight back to YHZ was pleasant by bumping me up to premium seating.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to YHZ via YYT
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew courteous and professional"

(Canada)

St John's to Montego Bay via Toronto with WestJet for our annual Jamaica vacation and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Cabin crew was very courteous and professional. We flew in Plus seats so legroom wasn't an issue. Seats were a little narrow but I'm a big guy so I'm cramped in anything. Only complaint would be the lack of a flight tracker on the tablets, we like to keep track of where we are and what we're flying over.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYYT to MBJ via YYZ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent customer service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Santa Clara, Cuba with WestJet. Space was somewhat limited but that's just common sense as it's a B737, and like any jet in its class, space is somewhat limited. I actually didn't find it to hard to live with. The seats were a little hard after awhile but nothing a quick walk didn't fix. Leg room was good and I'm a picky 6'2 passenger who likes to stretch his legs. The staff were extremely professional, courteous and the pilots on both our flight to Santa Clara and the return were fantastic. The Santa Clara touchdown was barely felt. Turbulence wasn't too bad on either flight and the pilots did a good job of mitigating them. You could tell that the upkeep of the aircraft interiors and the airframes were excellent and the comfort during climb and descent on both flights was great. The flight there didn't yet have inflight entertainment as our aircraft was literally half a year old but it's a short flight anyway and I always come prepared when travelling anywhere. The flight back did and it was more than sufficient to keep me entertained. The snacks were good (it's a 3 hour flight, how spoiled do you have to be to expect 5 star cuisine?) and the entire experience with WestJet and WestJet Vacations was nothing short of superb. I guess I'm just not that entitled and I understand the class of aircraft I'm flying in so I'm easy to please. 10/10 and will definitely be flying WestJet every time I travel unless they aren't an option. Skilled pilots, courteous and professional flight attendants and excellent customer service.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to SNU
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"bring back the old seats"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew WestJet from Calgary to Montreal. Ok, I get it. Cut out the free TV screens and charge customers to rent tablets and view programs, why, its good for business. But cheap out on the padding in the seats. My bottom was so sore half way through the 3 hour flight I had to go for a walk about to calm it down. Two days after the flight my wife is still complaining about the seats. Bring back the old seats please. Is it really necessary to interrupt the entertainment 4 times in the first ten minutes with messages of limited importance?
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to YUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"your outstanding compassion"

(Canada)

Cancún to Brandon via Calgary. Compassion from WestJet staff via phone and the flight attendants was amazing. We were vacationing, an ill mom when we left but not expecting a death. A few flight changes were made, then we had to urgently get home as death was imminent. We arrived in time for my mom, the most important person in my life, to die in the arms of her 3 daughters. This all occurred so very recently and last evening we received flowers from WestJet with condolence wishes. Thank you from our hearts for your outstanding compassion and service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCUN to YBR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"thank the wonderful staff"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Yellowknife to Edmonton. I just want to say a sincere thank you to the wonderful staff from start to finish, you were all so helpful and patient. My husband and I were travelling with our 2 year old and a lot of baggage. The helpful representative at the airport helped us push the buggy up to the counter and then gave my son a sticker and got down to his level and was chatting with him. As we walked up the outdoor ramp to the airplane, the Captain was waving at my son and greeted us cheerfully and invited my son to come check out the cockpit. They showed him all sorts of buttons and gadgets, and he was thrilled. They even posed for pictures. The flight attendants were funny, polite, generous and helpful. When we left, the Captain came down and offered to help me carry bags (which I politely declined) and said goodbye to my son by his name (which he remembered) and then the flight attendant insisted on taking some of our bags. The customer service you provided on both legs of our trip was above and beyond, and it truly made travelling with a toddler much less stressful. We thank you and appreciate each one of you and all of the hard work you do. You all made our trip SO much more enjoyable. Thank you, you're truly top class!!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYZF to YEG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"confusing awards program"

(Canada)

This review concerns Westjet's rather confusing awards program. When making the reservation for my wife I used my Westjet ID. Unlike virtually all other airlines, with Westjet one does not points but rather Westjet Dollars. While this appears to be similar to the AirMiles program, it is not. Therefore while I used my Westjet ID to make the booking online and pay for the airfare I was never aware of the nature of the program. I used my Westjet ID because my wife does not have one. It was only when I contacted Westjet after this was not credited to my account that I found out about this. When I did the Westjet representatives were not helpful at all. The various service ratings I have made are based on my wife's experience on her flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYWG to LAX
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst customer service"

(Canada)

I have not flown with them for many years and after this experience I will not fly with them again. I took a flight from Saskatoon to Ottawa (I took the flight to Saskatoon with Air Canada). My connection flight in Calgary was delayed due to mechanical problems with the aircraft. Although I understand that this happens, my complaint lies with the fact that Westjet did not inform anyone. Subsequently I missed my connection in Toronto to Ottawa and also missed my transportation from Ottawa to Petawawa forcing me to stay overnight in Ottawa. From the rep I dealt with in Saskatoon who could not stop talking on her phone while checking me in (and giving me the opposite of the seats I requested) to the flippant customer service rep in Toronto when I found out my flight had left without me ten minutes earlier, this company has the worst customer service I have experienced in a very long time. They did give me a 15$ meal voucher in Toronto (thank you for that) but when I contacted the company to find out why this delay had happened, I was offered a $50 voucher towards my next flight. Don't fly with these people unless you enjoy abuse and a complete lack of professional conduct.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYXE to YOW
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no