WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 345 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"never offered an explanation"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Flew Dublin to Toronto. The plane was sort of clean and the seats offered a decent amount of comfort. The main complaint about WestJet Airlines is that there was a delay of about two hours but the airline employees never offered an explanation for the reason. The flight attendants were rude and very arrogant. The higher up employees of the company need to address this. You could train them better on how to be at least somewhat decent.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"perfectly ok choice"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew to Hawaii return from Gatwick via Vancouver. 767 to and from Vancouver was old and dated inside but very clean and comfy. Inflight entertainment is either on a rented tablet on board for small fee or free if you have headphones and the WestJet App on your tablet or phone. Good selection of TV and film, could do with some music but very user friendly and reliable. Watching it on your own iPad gives better screen and sound quality than normal built in Ife too. Flights all on time or nearly so, all connections were very easy and bags were transferred. There is a fee to check in a bag but this is fine. Airline is kind of a cross between a budget airline and a full service. Complimentary soft drinks and snacks are provided, meals, further snacks and alcohol are available for purchase. I tried a variety and all were good. A little on the pricey side but all airline food is. Cabin crew often come through the cabin offering water all through the flight which is a very nice touch. To Honolulu from Vancouver all is as above, only aircraft smaller and slightly less comfy for such a long flight (6 hours). All cabin crew and ground service staff were friendly. However Facebook team answering questions were wrong about a few things so would be careful with trusting what they say. Overall in general they are a perfectly ok choice, and for the price £500 return approx this represented very good value.
AircraftBoeing 767-300 / 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Honolulu via Vancouver
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Great service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Flew Vancouver to Ottawa via Winnipeg. Great service, friendly staff. Only 1 hour delay because of weather. No trouble with baggage. Comfy seats. I love WestJet Airlines and will continue to book with them as much as possible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Ottawa via Winnipeg
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"this airline is not worth it"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Ottawa to Calgary. For the amount that is paid this airline is not worth it. You pay for the ticket, seats, luggage and on top of all that have to pay for wifi that you can't even use the way you want. Not only that but for all the money spent the on ground service is mediocre and without downloading the famous WestJet app you can basically do nothing on the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Calgary
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Received the worst customer service. After a delay by the flight we missed our connecting flight. All they was to rebook us for the following morning. My daughter was on medication which we couldn’t access. With no shared responsibility for it was not our fault, the airline could try at least give us a warm tea or a cheap water bottle. No hotel assistance, no food, not even an apology.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Winnipeg
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"extra big bargain for us"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to London Gatwick in Plus and we were not mistaken for buying these seats. Used my companion voucher too, which made this an even extra big bargain for us. Great service, good size seats, good food choices and quality, and so many snacks and drinks. As Westjet expands into Europe more, I would only consider Plus in the future. Can't wait for the 787! As well, for those who don't want to spend too much on their tickets, get the mastercard and the companion voucher.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Gatwick
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff went above and beyond"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Fort St John. Westjet staff went above and beyond for myself and 9 month old baby - Thank you! I forgot my purse in my fathers vehicle when he dropped me off at the airport and he is very old school with no cell phone - so I was at the mercy of Westjet. The check-in lady kindly explained that I could not fly without ID (Transport Canada regulation) which made sense and without charge found room for me on another flight later that afternoon. By which time my father would have been back with my purse. However, shortly after I realized I did have my passports in my suitcase. With only 40 mins before my plane would take off, Sophia who was working near the baggage drop-off went above and beyond to move me and my baby back onto our original flight ( a few phone calls), jump the line at security and directed me to my gate. Thank you so much! I was without diapers, soothers, toys, money. All I had was a baby, a stroller and two passports. Thanks for getting us home! Forever grateful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Fort St John
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"2nd flight would get cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Kelowna. Westjet customer service didn't want to help me out when I needed it the most. My wife had to urgently go to Toronto due to an emergency which forced her to miss the first section of the flight (we were leaving from London Ontario), but she was joining me in Toronto to catch the connection there. Westjet told me that if she was missing the first connection, the 2nd flight would get cancelled as well or she had to pay $600 fees. She had to come back urgently to London to catch the first flight. Thank you westjet for not helping me when we needed you the most. We'll know next time we cannot count on you.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Kelowna
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"last time I will fly with them"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Gatwick. I have travelled with WestJet numerous times in the past within Canada. I have always enjoyed it. I really liked the inflight entertainment. Every seat had a screen and it was always enjoyable to fly with them. Last month I flew to Gatwick from Toronto with my family. It was an uncomfortable trip for our family. The screens on the back of each seat were gone. Now you could watch movies on your electronic device or rent a device from them. The device did not work as well and was very inconvenient. You had to stop watching 40 minutes before flight landed. We bought wifi, this did not work. We could not get a refund right away but had to send a note to the company that provides this service to get a refund. Finally I have never flown overseas where no complimentary meals were provided. This was the first time. We wanted to buy things however most meals were sold out. We ended up eating snacks. This is the last time I will fly with them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Gatwick
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Really not impressed"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Miami to Toronto. I paid for my seats when I booked and the front desk check in rep tried to charge me again for choosing my seats at the airport. When i showed her my confirmation with my seat choices through email she made it seem like she was doing me a favor by "waiving the fee" I already paid for. Booked in February with Westjet again to fly to New York on may 29th ... and there's a possible pilot strike. Really not impressed with how they are handling this.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no