WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 355 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"amazing service by WestJet"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had an amazing service by WestJet when I flew from Toronto to Edmonton. I arrived at my gate only to see that the previous flight hadn’t left yet. Our flight was delayed 1h15 mine but that was because of the weather. I also have food allergies and I went to the gate agent to tell them and they where super accommodating. They told me u could pre board and made in an announcement at the gate and in the plane. The plane was clean, I had a moderate amount of leg room and we where offered free drinks twice during the flight. None of which contained nut products. What also good is that each seat had universal power plug. And if you download the WestJet app you can connect to the wifi and watch movies in their map.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Edmonton
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

" never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to New York. This was our first trip using WestJet and were looking forward to our vacation to Canada. On the way there, our flight was delayed, without warning until the morning of our flight, which was a severe inconvenience, due to the fact that we were already en route to the airport when we were notified early in the morning, the same day. Additionally, an extra layover trip was added to our itinerary, ruining our entire first day of vacation. This was such a serious lack of consideration, especially due to the fact that I am pregnant and with lower back pain. On top of all of that, our flight returning back home was cancelled. We must now wait over 24 hours for the next flight and no one is willing to help with a hotel. I have never had a more awful experience. If they cared at all about their customers or their reputation, they would do something to rectify this and right their wrongs. I will never fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to New York
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"rude to me upon check in"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Terrace to Vancouver. Most of the staff were quite pleasant and helpful. However, one attendant was extremely rude to me, and the 3 customers before me, upon check in. I feel like the one important thing missing in her customer service training skills is the concept of “its not what you say, it’s how you say it.” Tone and non verbal communication is everything!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTerrace to Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a great experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Overall a great experience with Westjet. I flew from Calgary to Kelowna in December 2017 and had no issues whatsoever. The plane was small and older but did the job just like any other would. The staff were very professional and they treat you like family. The pilots also display a professional attitude by greeting you on and off the plane with greeting words and even shaking your hand. I've flown many times with Westjet and they are my no 1 pick for an airline. My only hiccup I had with Westjet was on a flight from Winnipeg to London UK when we were diverted to Montreal, sat on the tarmac for 3 hours in the middle of the night and given nothing as a compensation which I didn't like. Normally, if there is a delay, a discount on a future flight and/or or free meal would have been nice but we received nothing except a small apology. Other than that, I have had no problems flying with Westjet. Prices are fairly competitive and they have lots of seat sales during the year. A word of advice to anyone who flies on a standby buddy pass, try to use it to go to a destination that has daily multiple flights out if it and back such as Calgary to Toronto or Calgary to Vancouver as you are a low priority over guests flying that paid the regular fare. I would advise on not using a standby buddy pass on a flight with lots of layovers or a one flight a day in and out destination as there's a high chance the plane will be full and you'll likely be out of luck or stuck at a stopover location a lot longer than you originally planned. I would pay the regular fare to have high priority in that situation. That's my advice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Kelowna
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cancel flight at last minute"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Montreal. I almost always use Air Canada to fly Montreal Toronto round trip, but occasionally I am forced to book on Westjet if it's a last minute booking. Almost every time, they cancel the flight at the last minute. This happened again today; at 2pm they emailed me that my 5pm flight was cancelled and I would be changed to the 8pm. They say it is out of their control, that air traffic control decided that there were too many flights for the number of runways (suddenly!) and that they had to cancel the flight. The Westjet gate for flights to Montreal is literally as far as possible from the main terminal (it is the last gate, about 1 km from the terminal) and once they cancel your flight you have to walk all the way back to the terminal to get customer "service", even if you use the internet to agree to the flight change. They can't email you the boarding pass? Nope. Then another kilometre back to the gate. To pass the 3 hours in this hinterland at the end of the airport they have a few vending machines and a tiny Tim Hortons. Forget getting a proper meal or a glass of wine. Westjet is the worst. Because being changed to the 8pm flight made it so that it would have been faster for me to drive from destination than to fly, there was nothing good about it. Re: the food, small Made Good balls of granola, better than AC's pretzels.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"food is simply atrocious"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Montego Bay. I have faithfully flown with WestJet for over 20 years. I take at least 10 flights a year on this airline. It has gotten consistently worse for the past 5 years. The onboard services are non-existent even in premium economy. There are no tablets or other in-flight entertainment services. You have to bring your own device and pray that it might work on their low-tech system, otherwise you will sit for the entire duration of the flight with no entertainment options. The food is simply atrocious in spite of the fact that you have to pay top dollar for it. The only good thing is that the cabin crew are reasonably friendly. It is a shame that was once a good airline is now a pitiful joke.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montego Bay
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not a good experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Paris CDG via Halifax. This was not a good experience. They were unable to get the Boston to Halifax flight to leave close to its original departure time. This led to my missing the Halifax to Paris flight. The delays were iterative so it was at first possible to take the Halifax flight to Paris, but then not. I called WestJet. The call dropped. After >100 minutes on the phone on a second call, during which the WestJet agent became increasingly frustrated and started yelling, I finally got a new ticket route on British Airways. By the time I got this, it was very late to get to the airport. They had no new ticket number, itinerary, terminal, or other details. I had to show up at British Airways and explain my situation. I was the last person on the British Airways plane because by the time WestJet re-routed me, it was already too late to check in at British Airways. I missed my next flight out of Paris. This cost me several hundred dollars. I thought I would save a bit for the sponsoring company of the trip when I booked this flight compared to a standard airline, but I lost more by taking WestJet in the end, didn't get to my destination on time, dealt with frustrated employees on the phone. WestJet doesn't have good partnerships with other airlines, so if they are late, etc., you are basically out of luck. It's a waste of money and time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBoston to Paris CDG via Halifax
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"you won’t see me again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Montreal. My original flight was a 3pm flight that has been cancelled. WestJet booked me on a Saturday (next day) 9 am flight that was not acceptable for me due to kids at home. I called my travel agent who has been able to confirm a seat on the 6 pm flight. In the meantime, I have been able to secure someone for my kids. But when I arrived at 4pm at the airport, the plane was overbooked and I had no seats. The customer service waiting line was so long that I had the time to call my travel agent again to secure an other seat. She has been able to secure the last seat of the evening before I had the chance to see a WestJet customer service agent. Then, the plane was late due to a lack of agents. Boarding at 8:30pm instead of 7:20. Really disappointed again of WestJet. This is why I’m a gold member of Air Canada. Sorry but with services like these, you won’t see me again for a long time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Edmonton to Abbotsford via Calgary"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Abbotsford via Calgary. I was on time for checkin and stood in line. An employee pulled me off the line to check in at kiosk. I was first one when she pulled me. I told her i am on the 1:45 flight and i have to get boarding pass. She took me to kiosk and asked me flight details. And said oh its time, stand in line. So i dont understand what was the point to take me to kiosk. She could have rushed me to front of line so i can make it to flight. In simple terms its called customer service. But i guess westjet charges the passengers enough to not care what is customer service. I was in line again but still had 45+ min on hand. The person to help took another 5 min to help me. Again no communication by the lady who pulled me initially. Many attendants were sitting on their desks they could pushed this through. He then, argued with me for another 5-7 min. I told him that i can make it through security it is not busy. And all said was no. It was not my fault. And things can be moved around to help passengers realize that when everything else goes wrong, customer service comes through. I kept requesting and insisting as i had a really important event to attend and was escalated to a manager,. She kept me in talk for another 5-7 min. Until she said, “oh you are not on 1:15 flight, but on 1:45pm flight. Okay”. Well, I said that to everyone. By the time i was put on next flight which will get me to Abbotsford 2.5 hours late than my initial flight. She gave me the next flight boarding pass around 1:25 pm and i went for security. It took me literally 3-4 min at security. And I still tried but was refused saying departure is refused due to less than 10 min.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford via Calgary
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"lack of professionalism"

(United States)

Not Verified | Toronto to Boston. Do not volunteer to temporarily move to rear of plane for take-off if asked. You will have to do same for descent & are then stuck back there after the plane lands. Stewardess made no attempt to get us back to our seats & luggage after landing. If my husband had not reminded other passengers that we moved so plane could take-off & land safely, we would have missed our train home. Attendant should have asked other passengers to say seated until we got back to our seats in front. Completely unimpressed with lack of professionalism.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Boston
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no