Top 100 Airlines  

WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 119 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"bring back the old seats"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew WestJet from Calgary to Montreal. Ok, I get it. Cut out the free TV screens and charge customers to rent tablets and view programs, why, its good for business. But cheap out on the padding in the seats. My bottom was so sore half way through the 3 hour flight I had to go for a walk about to calm it down. Two days after the flight my wife is still complaining about the seats. Bring back the old seats please. Is it really necessary to interrupt the entertainment 4 times in the first ten minutes with messages of limited importance?
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to YUL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"your outstanding compassion"

(Canada)

Cancún to Brandon via Calgary. Compassion from WestJet staff via phone and the flight attendants was amazing. We were vacationing, an ill mom when we left but not expecting a death. A few flight changes were made, then we had to urgently get home as death was imminent. We arrived in time for my mom, the most important person in my life, to die in the arms of her 3 daughters. This all occurred so very recently and last evening we received flowers from WestJet with condolence wishes. Thank you from our hearts for your outstanding compassion and service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCUN to YBR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"thank the wonderful staff"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Yellowknife to Edmonton. I just want to say a sincere thank you to the wonderful staff from start to finish, you were all so helpful and patient. My husband and I were travelling with our 2 year old and a lot of baggage. The helpful representative at the airport helped us push the buggy up to the counter and then gave my son a sticker and got down to his level and was chatting with him. As we walked up the outdoor ramp to the airplane, the Captain was waving at my son and greeted us cheerfully and invited my son to come check out the cockpit. They showed him all sorts of buttons and gadgets, and he was thrilled. They even posed for pictures. The flight attendants were funny, polite, generous and helpful. When we left, the Captain came down and offered to help me carry bags (which I politely declined) and said goodbye to my son by his name (which he remembered) and then the flight attendant insisted on taking some of our bags. The customer service you provided on both legs of our trip was above and beyond, and it truly made travelling with a toddler much less stressful. We thank you and appreciate each one of you and all of the hard work you do. You all made our trip SO much more enjoyable. Thank you, you're truly top class!!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYZF to YEG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"confusing awards program"

(Canada)

This review concerns Westjet's rather confusing awards program. When making the reservation for my wife I used my Westjet ID. Unlike virtually all other airlines, with Westjet one does not points but rather Westjet Dollars. While this appears to be similar to the AirMiles program, it is not. Therefore while I used my Westjet ID to make the booking online and pay for the airfare I was never aware of the nature of the program. I used my Westjet ID because my wife does not have one. It was only when I contacted Westjet after this was not credited to my account that I found out about this. When I did the Westjet representatives were not helpful at all. The various service ratings I have made are based on my wife's experience on her flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYWG to LAX
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst customer service"

(Canada)

I have not flown with them for many years and after this experience I will not fly with them again. I took a flight from Saskatoon to Ottawa (I took the flight to Saskatoon with Air Canada). My connection flight in Calgary was delayed due to mechanical problems with the aircraft. Although I understand that this happens, my complaint lies with the fact that Westjet did not inform anyone. Subsequently I missed my connection in Toronto to Ottawa and also missed my transportation from Ottawa to Petawawa forcing me to stay overnight in Ottawa. From the rep I dealt with in Saskatoon who could not stop talking on her phone while checking me in (and giving me the opposite of the seats I requested) to the flippant customer service rep in Toronto when I found out my flight had left without me ten minutes earlier, this company has the worst customer service I have experienced in a very long time. They did give me a 15$ meal voucher in Toronto (thank you for that) but when I contacted the company to find out why this delay had happened, I was offered a $50 voucher towards my next flight. Don't fly with these people unless you enjoy abuse and a complete lack of professional conduct.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYXE to YOW
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"seat comfort was at a minimum"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We flew WestJet for a holiday to Antigua from Toronto at the end of February and returned yesterday. On the flight going down, we were amazed and how rude and abrasive the supervising flight attendant was. She snapped at us if for example, we were in her way on our way to the lavatory, barking out commands with no finesse. When my husband stretched his feet out to rest against the partition (as everybody does) she barked: "Get your feet down!". We were in Plus seats so were offered the boxed lunch at no extra fee. However, the food was inedible. The food and snacks on this flight offer little nutritional value as well as being devoid of taste. There are no gluten-free or vegan options. The seat comfort was at a minimum even in Plus because the middle seat, which could have offered a little more wiggle room, is blocked off with a ridiculous hard table which cannot be removed. On our flight home, we encountered unpleasant flight attendants, who did not offer a good service. The entertainment is a joke compared with airlines offering seat-back screens, and features like the flight tracker feature.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYYZ to ANU
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"great flights, on time or early"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Edmonton to Comox with WestJet. Great flights, on time or early, friendly, helpful staff except woman checking boarding pass in Edmonton, who not friendly at all, almost rude. Seating is a bit narrow. I'm skinny and found it pretty tight. Website is very user unfriendly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to YQQ
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"making a long flight great"

(Canada)

I have flown lots but have never felt the need to write a review until now. On our recent WestJet flight from Moncton to cancun on March 12, 2016 we upgraded to plus seating. We have never had a more enjoyable flight - it was 5 1/2 hours of conversation laughter and fun thanks to the two best flight attendants ever. Thanks for making a long flight great, for us and our 8 friends as we traveled to celebrate my 50th birthday and our friends 25th anniversary.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYQM to CUN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"seats hard and skinny"

(Canada)

My wife and I booked Plus seats for our recent trip to Mazatlan. It was a 1st row seat and I had just worked the night before so my plan was to get more leg room, and more comfortable seating so that I could get a reasonable sleep on my way to Mazatlan. I could not have been more wrong. The seats were hard and they were very skinny (slimline seats?). Ridiculous that they would take away comfort for the attempt to cram more people into the plane. Also, what I find totally ridiculous is to put this "tray" in the middle seat given that it takes up space that could be used to increase the comfort of the passengers in Plus rows. What is the purpose of this tray that it should take up a whole seat? Either get rid of it completely or make it slimmer and not the seats. Westjet, if you actually listen to your customers, please get rid of that tray that takes up a whole seat in Plus, or make it slimmer so the passengers seats can be made a little wider. What a slap in the face to its customers!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to MZT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"unable to confirm seat allocation"

(Canada)

Return to Toronto from Montego Bay was originally scheduled on one of WestJet's new Boeing 767's. Unfortunately, apparently due to some issue on WestJet's Calgary-Hawaii route, our return flight was cancelled, a new flight created and our aircraft type disappointingly replaced with one of two older B737 'rescue' flights to bring the full complement of WestJet's passengers back to Toronto. After receiving email notification of the change, and suspecting there would be some logistical challenges to keeping our Plus seat allocations, I attempted to retrieve our booking online, however, was unable to and directed by the WestJet site to contact customer support. While friendly and understanding, the call centre was unable to confirm any seat allocation as their internal system was 'locked', and I was informed I would only know about seat allocation at time of check-in. I figured the WestJet system could do the math: 24 Plus seats in the 767 equals 12 + 12 Plus seats in two 737's. But who trusts technology? At precisely 24 hours before our flight was scheduled to depart, accessed the online check-in and sure enough, our five seats were allocated in five different rows, in the middle and rear. No Plus allocation. Fortunately, I was able to 'upgrade' to Plus seats online, at $0, and print our boarding passes. Needless to say, there were other Plus passengers on our flight who did ultimately lose their Plus seats, and ended up sitting in Economy. Only explanations I can come up with are that passengers not originally in Plus were able to 'upgrade' at time of check-in, or there were more Plus passengers allocated to the first rescue flight than the second. One would think with the technology we employ today, this would have been managed better. Boarding at MBJ was somewhat chaotic as gate staff appeared to have trouble processing and reconciling boarding passes, heard some talk of 'duplicates.' In the end, the flight departed about 15 minutes late due to boarding pass administration. The flight itself was the usual WestJet standard. Flight staff friendly, helpful and always available. No inflight entertainment, though, (aka free movies) as the system for this flight was not configured owing to the flight change (in other words, someone forgot to 'flip the switch' to load films for this particular flight). Arrived in Toronto only a few minutes past scheduled time. Owing to the equipment change and my time spent ensuring seat and class allocation the day prior, plus the confusion at boarding, I've reduced my rating.
AircraftBoeing 737-600
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMBJ to YYZ
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes