Vote Now  

WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 227 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Very poor customer service"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Edmonton. I was travelling from Auckland and transiting in Los Angeles. When I got to Los Angeles, I had to recheck in my bag before going to Edmonton. When I got to Edmonton my baggage did not arrive with me. I was told that my baggage will arrive around 6pm the following day after they have located it. The customer service representative I was talking to even told me that "In your world it might not happen ever, but in my world this happens all the time!" Also the same customer representative told me that they will deliver my baggage to the place I am staying at even if it is late as they deliver until 2am. But when my luggage finally arrived in the country after 2 hours of being delayed and after another 2 hours of clearing customs. I was told that either I pick it up or wait for it to be delivered the next day between 9am to 4pm. Again another fail in their part. Why promise your customers to deliver something you can't? The next customer service representative I spoke to said that the last delivery is only at 9pm. Different people, but one company saying two different things. No uniformity, it means someone does not know their own guidelines. Getting my hopes up and then crushing it. Even writing a customer feedback on their webpage takes about a week for them to reply. And also I get $100 a day to buy all the things I need while my luggage haven't arrive, but to get reimburse I have to wait 14 days for them to reply after I have uploaded the receipt of the things I have bought. By that time, I could have gone home. Yet the issue still not addressed. Very poor customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Edmonton
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid WestJet like the plague"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Avoid WestJet like the plague. On a trip coming back from Vegas to Ottawa, the flight was delayed several times, and in each instance this caused me to miss my connecting flight in Toronto to Ottawa. This resulting in me having to spend 48 extra hours in Vegas (on my own dime). Finally, I did get on a flight to Toronto but it was also late. Which again caused me to miss my connection to Ottawa. Here I am sitting in Toronto airport and WestJet staff want me to wait four additional hours to catch the next flight to Ottawa. I told them that there is an Air Canada flight that takes off in about 90 minutes to Ottawa, but they said the only seats available are business class and they can't reserve these for me. They can make me wait 48 hours in an airport, spend hundreds of additional $$ to stay alive in another city, and again make me wait four more hours in Toronto but they can't own up to their faults and spend a couple of extra hundred dollars to get me home to my family. I asked to speak to a manager 3 times, and each time the WestJet rep would speak to the manager by phone but the manager wouldn't talk to me. I have three more business trips in the next 3 months, and I would rather go with an airline that owns up to its mistakes.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Ottawa via Toronto
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a solid airline 10 years ago"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Palm Springs with WestJet Airlines. A cancelled flight at 8am for my family of 7 and gave no notice or email notification in advance and no alternate plans except the following day which does not work as it didn't get us back in time to leave for Europe. All requests were addressed in a robotic fashion by WestJet et team "there is nothing we can do" not even bothering towards checking other flights from nearby cities that I could drive to. They just stood there and said the same phrase over and over every once in a while saying "I understand". All good though they were sure to tell us how amazing they were giving us 7 x $15 gift cards for airport food and telling us to come back tomorrow for the flight the next day. WestJet was a solid airline 10 years ago today they rank worse than Air Canada by miles.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCalgary to Palm Springs
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Above and beyond service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Vancouver. Outstanding crew, easy check in, easy guidance, easy boarding, flight was empty and didn't even have to ask to move seats we were offered the choice. Flight Attendants gave more snacks and were talkative, and joking. They took their tike to make our early morning flight better! Above and beyond customer service.
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Vancouver
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"everything went very smoothly"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Unfortunately, after I had booked with Westjet I had read the reviews on this site. I have to say I was really nervous about our trip to London, thinking that there would be delays etc. Happily everything went very smoothly. We had absolutely no delays and the flight staff and ground crew were nothing but kind and courteous. The return trip was the same. I had had an issue on a previous flight to Dublin a few years ago but that was an unfortunate event and resulted in a short delay. The price of the ticket was great and with that price I understand that meals cannot be included nor are wine and beer. Coffee, water, soft drinks are complimentary and you can buy food on the plane is you wish. I think people should educate themselves on Airplane travel and that you get what you pay for. If you want to watch a movie bring your own iPad and you just have to connect to the Westjet inflight service. Watch all you want for free. You can also rent a tablet. I will book with Westjet again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to London
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"airline has been the worst"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Boston to Toronto. I have flown with Westjest within the last 6 months three times and all of my experience has been horrible. The first time was August 2016 to Punta Cana right away the lady when we checked in forgot to tell us that we were allowed one check in bag for free so we ended up paying. Then we were told our flight was delayed due to technical issues, once we got on the plan we were told that the in flight entertainment was not working. On our way back again the inflight entertainment system was not working. I decided to give them another chance and flew back to Punta Cana this time with my family and again same issues. Delayed flights and issues with their entertainment system. More recently I flew from Boston to Toronto and by far the worst experience. The plane was dirty, the sink in the washroom was not working, the toilet was dirty. They misplaced my luggage, it has been 5 days and i have not received my luggage. I fly often and this airline has been the worst.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Toronto
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"flight crew were great"

(Canada)

Unverified | This flight was due to land in Thunder Bay, but was turned back due to weather. The flight crew were great, however the ground crew in Toronto was horrible. If helping people, and showing some compassion is such an inconvenience, than I suggest you look for another career. The ground staff couldn't care about our flight that had just been returned to Toronto. No hotel, or anything. It was nothing but an inconvenience for them. After sitting in the airport for over 12 hours with nothing more than an I'm sorry they finally got a plane to take us back to Thunder Bay. I'm glad that most of the time I go through Winnipeg, because the Pearson staff are awful to deal with.
AircraftQ-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Thunder Bay
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"not bad, but could use some improvement"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew WestJet from Calgary to Las Vegas. The seats were overall comfortable, but a bit small for what I expected. In-flight entertainment is now used in the form of the WestJet app. It does it's job and is pretty good. One downside is that you had to pay for Wi-Fi. $5 for 30 minutes to be exact. Cabin crew were friendly and caring about passenger requests. Takeoff and landing were smooth, almost no turbulence. Overall, not bad, but could use some improvement with the seat size and Wi-Fi prices. Catering was ok, not the best but trust me, not the worst.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Las Vegas
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"thanks to the incredible flight crew"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Fort Lauderdale to Toronto. The staff were terrific. I fell sick literally 10 minutes before take-off. The flight attendant collected all of the necessary medical info, I was subsequently escorted off the plane. As I disembarked I was given a complimentary water bottle, a voucher for a nearby hotel. The staff were overall extremely helpful and understanding. The customer service rep got me on a flight the next day. Overall what was an unfortunate experience turned out to be a wonderful experience thanks to the incredible flight crew.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Avoid flying this airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Toronto. No wifi, no outlets, no movies. I was trying to work on my flight from Vancouver to Toronto and ran out of battery power and no outlets on the aircraft. Upon arrival in Toronto WestJet had cancelled my connecting flight to NYC. The ground staff was unhelpful and disorganized. One staff member told me to call a number on a card to be rescheduled on another flight. Another while I was waiting in line to see a desk agent told me to go home. I'm in transit, you've cancelled my connecting flight, I'd love nothing more than to go home. Next I get through to someone on the phone and they tell me they can't help me with rescheduling the flight because I booked through a corporate travel agent. At every touch point I had with a WestJet employee I got the wrong or contradictory information. I eventually had to call my corporate travel agent who also encountered incompetence with her WestJet interactions and had to book a flight for me on another airline so that I didn't spend 2 days stuck in Toronto. To top it off WestJet could not locate my luggage for two days and had the nerve to tell me it was my fault because I ended up flying on another airline. Avoid flying this airline!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no