WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 377 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"soured me on WestJet"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Halifax. Booked for work. Made a mistake on my return date. Called and changed the return date. Fee was $100 dollars. Totally get it. I made a mistake... there is a fee, it’s a total change of day and at the end of day, which would be a prime time for flyers. My son is in the middle of hockey try outs so on Tue a game was scheduled for Wed (730-900pm) my flight was landing at 920. Looked and there was a 315 flight which would allow me to refer home for his game. My thought - it’s a middle of the day flight - I will ask to leave my meeting early to make the game.. and there would likely be seats versus the end of day work crowd. I talked to three people at three different points - phone, outside gate and inside ... all three - exact same - didn’t matter that there were lots of seats - had to pay the fee.... which defies all logic and good service. I would be freeing up a later seat at a prime time slot to take a seat on a plane that had “lots of seats”. I am not alone though, the fee isn’t just for me, it’s for everyone, that response made me feel way better. So, my $430 econo flight from Hfx/Tor ended up $650 with all the fees. Definitely soured me on WestJet and I won’t be flying with them any time soon. No reasoning / no empowerment - Dont tote to be “all that” while nickel and diming clients to death. Could have been a commercial - waive the fee for someone who already paid your service charge to help them get home to their kids hockey game - nope - that’s not the story I will be telling at the rink tonight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Halifax
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"impressed with quality of product"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Halifax. For what is effectively a budget medium/long haul airline, I am impressed with the quality of the product offering and value for money. As far as a comparable Y class flight on the larger carriers both sides of the Atlantic, you get a seat that is just as comfortable, sufficient leg room for a Y class seat, the modern take on inflight entertainment and the consistent quality and speed of the onboard wifi is perfect for the business traveller and leisure traveller alike. The only areas where they fall short are the amenity provision: blankets and headsets are an extra cost and pillows are not provided; and Food provision: for a transatlantic flight of more than 5hrs, I would expect more than a few soft drinks and packs of pretzels/cookies. Something like a hot sandwich/wrap would be preferable. That said, my flight with Westjet cost a quarter of a main carrier ticket.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Halifax
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"polite and professional"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew WestJet from Québec to Orlando via Toronto. Overall good flights. The seat on the Q-400 are not very confortable. Flight attendants are polite and porfessional. They offer a good service. The variety of movies offer in entertainment system are limited.
AircraftBombardier Q-400 and Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQuébec to Orlando via Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a terrible flying experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Pitiful airline. They delayed the original airplane due to technical issues - okay no problem. But then, they continued to state that a new jet was on its way (4 times). Fast forward four hours, the flight is now actually cancelled. Now, it’s a mad rush to get to kiosks and only 60 people can get on the new flight. WestJet essentially catalyzed its own version of the Hunger Games and then declined to accommodate anyone. Take this airline knowing that there is a high risk of you are being subjected to false hope, broken promises, and a terrible flying experience. Pay the extra $50 for a better airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to New York
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cabin crew were amazing"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | On my return flight WS672 from Calgary to Toronto the cabin crew were amazing especially Jenna. She did an exceptional job looking after a special needs guy flying by himself, and obviously really scared.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"they canceled the flight"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | My LGW-YYC flight was cancelled due to a technical problem, they canceled the flight and rerouted customer to all sort of random destination, one lady got LGW-YHZ-YYZ-Edmonton and shuttle to Calgary for this cancellation. I was told I would have to go to Halifax and spend the night. No remorse whatsoever! WestJet hid the fact that per European Union law, for such long delays for a long haul flight a customer is entitled to a Euro 600 compensation. When I asked the WestJet representative about this, pointing to the notice board in front of him, he threatened to bump me off the flight. I went online and applied for the compensation. And don’t get me started on the service onboard a transatlantic flight, they didn’t even have plastic forks to offer so you could pick on your food that you carry on a 9 hour flight. Very unimpressed, this is where I draw the line between low cost/ best value and flat out terrible experience. Any extra money I spend on better options will be worth every penny. Would never do this again, I am going to cancel my WestJet point credit card.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Calgary
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a wonderful experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Winnipeg to Montreal. Had a wonderful experience. The plane was changed the night before the flight departed which caused some issues for those traveling in the plus seating that Westjet offers. However, they managed to keep everyone who had paid for plus seating in a plus seat with minimal issues. It was an earlier flight and the crew were very friendly and kind.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Montreal
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"told it was a weather issue"

(United States)

Not Verified | Toronto to Quebec City. I was scheduled to fly out of Toronto at 2:15 pm, arriving in Quebec at 3:57pm. Approximately 1.5 hours before my flight I was emailed that my flight was cancelled and I was put on the 10:15 flight that night arriving at 11:57 pm. I was told later it was a weather issue, yet only 3 flights were cancelled in all of Toronto airport, and they were all WestJet flights. Because it was weather related we were not compensated at all with food vouchers, and had to spend 11 hours in the airport. It ranks as one of my worst flight experiences, and I am a very frequent traveler. I think their underhanded way of getting out of vouchers by saying it was weather related was shameful. I did not arrive at my destination until almost 1:30 the next morning.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Quebec City
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not friendly and no apologies"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I am going to Nashville with a connection to Toronto on Westjet. My flight from Montreal was delayed 30 mins and made me miss my connection. Got to the gate and they had closed the flights. Staff were not friendly and no apologies were made to me. They said that they will book me on the next flight to Nashville. It turns out that my new flight is thru NY to finally arrived at destination 8 hours later. I was really not impressed with their ground service and the way they reorganized my flight. I will not fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Nashville
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"we were quite shocked"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Vancouver. My partner and I travelled to Vancouver. We’ve flown with other airlines to Canada previously. However, we were quite shocked as to how poor the quality of WestJet Airlines was. The price was a lot more than other airlines but due to flight times we had no other option. We received no free food, the only food available we had to pay for, or had to pre order which was not made clear when booking. The drinks available were cans of soft drinks that were decanted into plastic cups, twice during the 9 hour flight. If you wanted an alcoholic beverage you had to pay for it. I have no problem paying extra for certain things, however considering the price of the flight, from this experience I would not fly WestJet again, nor would I recommend them for a long haul flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Vancouver
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no