WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 276 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I never heard an announcement"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Halifax. My gate was changed last minute from a19 to c70, which was on the opposite end of the airport. No announcement was made. I was in the airport at my gate, a19, and I never heard an announcement. I checked with another gate, whose attendant told me the gate was changed. I ran to the other end of the airport, my flight was leaving at 11:05pm, only to get there and was told the doors were already closed. The woman who helped me was very rude. Customer service should at least be nice to the customer. I will never fly westjet again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Halifax
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad Westjet"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Montréal to Fort Lauderdale. Westjet was some time ago a good company. Since last year Westjet is the worst, I got 2 flights canceled at the very last minute with no evident reason. I had to call to find out the reason no time for that. Now a broken part, waiting 5 hours - new part no good, waiting for another plane to come, 4 more hours and not sure yet if its gonna be on time. They give 15$ vouchers and believe we are happy with this. Very bad Westjet.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontréal to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"delayed twice now at 8 hours"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Ft Lauderdale to Toronto. First time flying Westjet and likely the last. Flight has been delayed twice now at 8 hours due to mechanical issues with the flight coming out of Toronto. Now seeing a flight after us boarding on a Westjet flight scheduled later than us. Not impressed.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Toronto
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"remember why I don't fly Westjet"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Edmonton to Kelowna. I remember why I don't fly Westjet. We got to the de-icing station, fully de-iced, then got told we needed to go back to the gate because of a "latch" that was left opened. Another Westjet incompetence. 1hr late Departing, still stuck on the Tarmac waiting. I have upcoming flights with Westjet that I'm changing I just don't feel safe with this airline. Westjet's motto "We're not happy until you're not happy".
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Kelowna
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"were refused entry on the plane"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Edmonton to Calgary. We got into the plane for our departure in Edmonton at 7:15am but didn’t take off until 8:30am. We, like most of the passengers onboard, had connecting flights that were within a short time frame from our landing time. Once we landed at 9:05am, we were stuck in the plane for 30 extra minutes as they couldn’t get the plane door open. The flight attendants first told us that we would all make our flights as the planes will be held for us. False promises. Our connecting flights last boarding call was at 9:05am. After racing to terminal A22, we were refused entry on the plane and the vessel remained there. After 30 more minutes of rearranging flights and mass confusion, the flight we “missed” was still sitting there.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Calgary
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"you get what you pay for"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Toronto to Tampa. Westjet is a budget airline and you get what you pay for, although relative to their service it is an expensive ticket. Their website can be difficult to use and customer service is very poor. Airline seats in economy are very narrow and uncomfortable.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Tampa
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"was disgusted with the service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | My husband & I flew from Calgary to Ottawa, (flight #610) Ottawa to St. John's, NFLD, (flight # 24) on Sept 27th, ST. John's to Halifax, on Oct 3rd (flight # 3423) and Halifax to Calgary on Oct 18th on Westjet (flight # 229) ,in the PLUS section of the aircraft. We had friends who flew Calgary to Toronto, Toronto to St John's on Sept 27th, the other 2 flights were on the same aircraft the we flew on, but they flew in economy all the way. My husband & I paid $3847.12 for that privilege, and our friends paid just over &1700.00 for the both of them. I knew that we would be paying substantially more for the PLUS seats, and therefore I expected to receive a bit more than the economy ticket allows. What we received was the exact same food in the exact same boxes that the they did, only they had to pay $7.50 for their sandwich and we didn't. We were offered a cheese tray on one leg of the flight, the cost would have been $6.99 in economy, but in fact we didn't get the cheese tray we got the Lite-Bite, and that was $6.49 in economy. I am not sure why you would charge your "valued customers" $2100.00 more and then offer no perks to go with it. I was disgusted with the service and the exorbitant price that we paid for it. I do hope that Westjet learns a little bit about "First class, Business class, Priority" or whatever you want to call it, because right now the only thing first class about it is the price. A very upset "valued customer".
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCalgary to St. John's via Ottawa
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"seats were small"

(Canada)

Verified Review | First off, they rescheduled my flight, twice. There was no room for a seat upgrade and the seats themselves were small. Our tv screens were smaller than my cell phone (iPhone 6s) and you had to swipe a credit card to even use them. It was very warm despite having both overhead fans on full blast, you couldn’t even feel the air unless you put your hand up to it. They ran out of storage space and we had people from the 7th row looking for space in the 20th. Will not fly with WestJet ever again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Calgary
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"delayed numerous times"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Vancouver return. Both flights with WestJet were delayed numerous times and on my return flight from Vancouver had delays and numerous gate changes. I had booked an aisle seat and with a change in aircraft no effort was made to accommodate an aisle again. It was a difficult trip on both ends and I found the airline to be extremely disorganized. I used to enjoy flying WestJet but will avoid this airline when possible in future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"30" pitch was tolerable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Fredericton to Toronto. Flew three legs over a few days in early October. All flights boarded early and left on time. The Q-400 is a turbo prop and was a bit noisy but not too bad. 30" pitch was tolerable but less so when people in front of me reclined their seats. Don't understand why airlines allow seat recline in such tight space. Crews were generally okay - most of the flight attendants (two per flight) were pleasant, though one was super nice and one was rather cranky - both on the same flight oddly enough. Plane was a little worn and not as clean as it should be but better than some of my recent flights on US legacy carriers. Water was not available in the restroom the two times I used it. Unfortunately I discovered this after I put soap on my hands on the first flight.
AircraftQ-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFredericton to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes