Airline of the Year  

Vueling Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 634 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Barcelona. Unbelievably awful. Once on the plane, we sat for 35 minutes while various other people boarded the plane to re-count everyone. Eventually a paper passenger list was produced and every passenger was individually checked in again. This took over an hour. No announcements were made and the cabin crew just seemed to ignore everything and found it quite amusing. Finally on the runway, we were called back again to the terminal as a bag was on the plane which needed to be removed. Again, cabin crew were really unhelpful and didn't inform anyone what was going on. Eventually in the air, over 2 hours late no apology was made and the in flight service failed to happen. The crew pulled the curtain at the front of the plane and appeared to be ignoring passengers' call bells. Overall a totally abysmal customer service experience, particularly considering the plane finally landed after 2 am. I will never fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Barcelona
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"most uncomfortable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Barcelona to Manchester The most uncomfortable flight of my life. I'm 5'11" so only average height, and my knees were mashed into the back of the seat in front. This wouldn't be too much of a problem were the seatback not hard moulded plastic with some sharpish edges. And if the person in front reclines you may as well kiss goodbye to being able to walk properly after the flight. I'm only giving them 4/10 as the flight was on time and the stewards seemed friendly enough, otherwise it would be 1/10.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Manchester
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unsmiling and unwelcoming cabin crew"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Until last month I had managed not to fly Vueling after a number of poor experiences a few years ago. Last month I had no choice, due to a time constraint, for a sector from Lisbon to Amsterdam, and was reminded of why I avoid Vueling, and its sibling companies BA and IB under the IAG umbrella, with Vueling being even worse than Iberia, and that takes some doing. The flight was delayed, I appreciate that can happen, but the level of information given at check in and at the gate was very poor. Once on board the cockpit crew kept us well informed although the announcements in both English and Spanish (which I speak fluently) were almost unintelligible. The cabin crew announcements were even worse, gabbled at high speed in Spanglish, it was hard to tell which language they were attempting to destroy. The seats were hard and uncomfortable and even though I am small, appeared to have less legroom than competitors. The unsmiling and unwelcoming cabin crew went down the aisle so fast it was almost impossible to order and got my (very simple) drink order wrong and argued with me when I said that was not what I'd asked for. Spanish people are usually warm, pleasant, and friendly. I can't help wondering if IB and VY have a special training academy for their cabin crews to teach them to be sour and unhelpful. They are very poor ambassadors for such a delightful country and nation.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"unprofessional behavior"

(United States)

Verified Review | Palma di Mallorca to Barcelona. I know that when I booked this airline that it was a low cost airline. But that does not explain the unprofessional behavior of so many employees. From the uncontrolled boarding process, wrong flight numbers on the gate screens, almost zero announcement who and when to board, long waiting lines and finally a broken, new piece of luggage. Then a printed piece of paper stating that the airline is not responsible for any damage!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePalma di Mallorca to Barcelona
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my 'most hated' airline"

(China)

Verified Review | Palma to Gatwick via Barcelona. The expected ordeal with Vueling starts as early as on-line check in. My flight was booked with Iberia so naturally I went to the Iberia website for on-line check in, and I was diverted to Vueling, which is in Spanish only. Could not manage Spanish well enough half way so I tried Vueling, then I discovered that my Iberia booking code is not recognized. With many failed attempts, it took me almost an hour, struggling with Spanish, to note that I am actually assigned another Vueling booking code. With this I managed to check in and reserved a decent seat. Had to change at BCN to connect with Gatwick. The connection is not as tiring and less frustrating than dealing with the stupid on line check in procedure. I shall elevate Vueling to the status of my 'most hated' airline.
AircraftA310?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePalma to Gatwick via Barcelona
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"hate/mistreat IB passengers"

(China)

Verified Review | Barcelona to Palma de Mallorca. I booked with IB but again found myself on Vueling which I always avoid but to no avail again. I booked very early but was originally allocated a middle seat in a rear row, when the flight was empty at the time. Fortunately I found out and rebooked. Why does Vueling hate/mistreat IB passengers so much is beyond me - and I am a Oneworld Gold Card member. It is funny that now IB and even BA put most passengers to the cheap Vueling, and Vueling operates no service flights, with squeezed non-reclining seats. But the flight did make on time arrival.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Palma de Mallorca
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"airline I try hard to avoid"

(China)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Barcelona. Vueling along with SAS are among airlines I try hard to avoid, but I had the misfortune of flying 4 almost consecutive Vueling flights not of my choice. This flight I booked with BA and am rudely told by the check-in staff that Vueling is not of Oneworld, so no membership benefits. But how about the fact that my flight being sold as BA8839? As a result, and as expected, there is no service on air (they do sell food etc hard), and the seat is straight (non-reclining), squeezed, and no TV. It did depart early and arrived early by 10 minutes.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Barcelona
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I will fly with Vueling again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is the second time flying with Vueling on the same route which was Manchester to Alicante return. On this occasion we did have an issue which was my fault. I had accidently put one of the children's names down under her mother's name who was traveling with her and it should of been in her dads name. I didn't notice this until about 1 week before we travelled. I contacted customer services and they said it could only be changed unless I paid £470, I pleaded with them and asked for a manager but was told unless I pay, the name can't be changed which would mean the child would be refused check in. I reluctantly paid this then later sent an e-mail to the CEO of Vueling who was thankfully more understanding and arranged a prompt refund of the £470 and apologised. I am therefore not going to hold this against Vueling to much. I am a great believer that it is not what a company does, but what they do to correct an issue that is important. The check-in at Manchester Airport was fast and efficient and we were offered free check in of our cabin bags. We were about 30 minutes late in taking off but only arrived 10 minutes late into Alicante so can't complain. The aircraft going out was in reasonably good condition although probably could of done a with a clean, but like all budget airlines the planes get cleaned once a day and this being the last flight of the day what can you do. It got us and our baggage there in one piece and the staff were professional and friendly. The return flight from Alicante was pretty much the same as the outbound flight apart from it left exactly on time and the aircraft was newer and cleaner. I will fly with Vueling again and would choose them over the likes of Ryan Air. They give you a very generous luggage allowance of 23kg which is a lot more than many other airlines and they also charge a lot less for it.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Alicante
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly Vueling again"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich to Rome. The flight Munich to Rome went without a problem and although we didn't do the online check-in, we received good places at the emergency exit with a lot of space for our legs. But the flight back to Munich turned to be a horror. Queuing in the line for a check-in in Rome Airport, the Vueling guy behind the desk says "Sorry, the flight is overbooked". What do you mean, overbooked? There are no seats for you on this plane. To be precise: in our plane there were 186 seats and 191 tickets sold for a flight VY6296. We were asked to go to the gate and wait until everyone is seated and maybe there are free seats. So we waited, and then heard our names and an invitation to enter the plane. Sadly, Vueling personnel at the gate and Vueling personnel in the plane could neither count nor talk to each other. After we were standing in the plane in front of all the passengers, it became clear that there are 2 of us, but just 1 free seat. So one of us could fly and another should leave the plane. We asked to leave together. A captain came out and excused for Vueling. We had to leave the plane with the whole plane looking at us as criminals, quietly accusing us of a plane delay. We returned to the gate to hear the news that the next Vueling flight to Munich is in 24 hours. Vueling offered us a flight to Barcelona, a stay over there and a morning flight to Munich. And they do not cooperate with other airlines and could not put us on the different company’s plane leaving for Munich in an hour. Surprisingly, the whole process of getting vouchers for a flight to Barcelona, hotel transfer and so on went super smooth. Finally, we landed in Munich on the following Monday at 10 am, being late to work, exhausted and hungry. Vueling assured us that we will get 250 Euro compensation per person, which is, first of all, hardly covers nerves, stress and lost 12 hours, and secondly, let’s see whether they will transfer this money at all. But all's well that ends well, just never fly Vueling again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Rome
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"grumpy crew, late arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | How much can go wrong on a flight from Luton to Amsterdam, well, a lot apparently. Online check-in, not available. Check-in at airport, long queues. Run to gate, final boarding announced. Plane not there. No space between seats, grumpy crew, late arrival. Luckily I didn't check any luggage in.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLuton to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no