Vote Now  

Vueling Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 608 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"only reachable through FaceBook"

(Netherlands)

Unverified | Amsterdam to Lisbon. Booked this flight through a website I've used for years to book all manner of flights (work, leisure etc). I wanted to take sports equipment, but couldn't find this option on their Vueling page. I decided to make sure I have some cargo space, and booked in luggage. This cost me €45. I then get an email confirming the flight, and in this email sports equipment gets mentioned. This is costing €45 each way, so €90. This already made the ticket one of the most expensive on this trajectory. I asked customer service, only reachable through FaceBook, if a can change my 'luggage' in 'sport equipment' and pay the remainder. After 5 days I'm told that 'No, this not possible, we handled everything correctly'. So I have to fork out another €90 on top of the €45 I already paid extra. The €145 flight is now costing €290. Be warned!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Lisbon
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"positive surprise with Vueling"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Barcelona to Porto. Pleasant and uneventful flight. On time departure, on time arrival. Even though there was a bit of a queue for baggage drop, the lady was very nice and she even gave us new printed boarding passes, the old fashioned way, what we really liked. Cabin crew were polite but rather cold and not very friendly, but they let us change seats to the last row, which was empty. The refurbished cabin was clean and modern, with slimline Recaro seats with tight legroom, which however did not matter as we had a whole row for ourselves. And it's fine anyway, non-lowcost airlines use this tight seating too. A positive surprise flying with Vueling, after reading all the terrible reviews.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to OPO
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"last time we fly with Vueling"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Barcelona to Gatwick. This was the first and will be the last time we fly with Vueling! The plane was sat at the terminal in Barcelona from at least 1pm waiting for take off at 5.30pm, (we could see it). A shared flight with BA and Iberia so it was not only Vueling customers they were letting down. It would seem that there was not a crew available and a standby one was called for - obviously it seems it takes a minimum of 2 hours for them to get their act together, even though this flight was known about for many months! The flight was delayed and delayed and eventually we were called for boarding at 6.20pm. The crew were extremely abrupt and constantly advised us that they were a standby crew seemingly to make us feel grateful, even the Captain reminded us of this in her speech over the intercom. A half cup of water was given out to passengers. The flight did not take off until approx 7.30pm - the blame put at the feet of Air traffic Control and the wind. The crew proceeded to do the usual run of expensive snacks (2.50 euros for a kitkat!) and teas and coffees - however, being in row 35 they ran out of time to serve us and without saying why they packed up their trolley and headed off without explanation! We landed at 9.50pm, 2.5 hours late, and a rough and jerky landing. If you don't pay the minimum of 3.99 per ticket to choose your seats you are given totally random seats. My husband and I were in the same row but sat in seats A and E, we complained at the check in desk and this was changed after much discussion. It was apparent when seated on the aircraft that this had happened to many of the passengers. Vueling, never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Gatwick
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I've used"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Vienna to Tenerife via Barcelona. Worst airline I've used. For the first and the last time for sure. The flight was delayed 5 hours, no Information provided for the reason of the delay and when the flight will likely be conducted. The destination was changed too, because the Airport Tenerife Norte had already closed. Thus they flew to Tenerife Sur but did not ensure a proper transfer to somewhere else. Additionally, they lost my baggage and since I was there on a trekking trip, this mattered a lot. I only got it three days later and in between I had substantial expenses for new clothes and equipment. The main problem is that Vueling only cashes in the Money but does not provide any service at all, even though they are obliged to. They are evading as much as they can just not to get in touch with the customers. Get in contact with Vueling via internet is impossible because there are only online forms and you only get an automatic reply. The hotline is always busy and costs a ton of money. I also went to the Airport but there is only a counter of the mother company Iberia and they say that they do not have anything to do with Vueling which obviously is a blatant lie. Thanks to EU-regulation 261/2004 I was reimbursed for the delay. The best thing is to avoid this airline if they offer some cheap flights. The stress afterwards was not worth it to save a few bucks.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Tenerife via Barcelona
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never use them again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Barcelona to London Gatwick. I thought easyJet was bad but Vueling has taken their crown. Both legs of my journey were delayed. My return flight was atrocious. Flight was delayed, had to wait an hour to board then another hour before the plane took off. We were sat on the plane with the pilot giving us excuses. I should have been back in London at 6.30pm instead it was after 9pm. I will never use them again and they should be avoided like the plague.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to LGW
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my flight had been canceled"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Malaga to Oran via Barcelona in July 2016. The day before my flight, I received an email from Vueling telling me I could check-in online, something I never do because I prefer checking in at the airport and be sure everything is right. I showed up 3 hours before the departure time. My flight was not announced on any of the screens and I thought it was because I was a bit early. After waiting for an hour and starting to see flights that would depart later than my flight, I decided to go to the Vueling counter and figure out what was going on. To my surprise, the Vueling employee informed me that my flight had been canceled and rescheduled to 3 days later. I was in total shock, they said they sent me an email but I showed them the confirmation email they sent me and they did recognize their mistake. However when I asked if I could be put in a hotel because I had to wait 3 nights in the airport, I was denied and told I could file a complaint and that the airline reserves the right to cancel any flight they want for whatever reason and that I agreed to those terms when I bought my ticket. In short, I was stranded in the airport for 72 hours. I have been asking for a compensation they owe me according to international laws for 6 months, and I have been told twice that they sent me the money, then there was a mistake, then they sent me the money again and I have to wait another 15 days (I highly doubt they sent anything and I'm pretty sure they will again tell me that there was a mistake and they could not transfer the funds).
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalaga to Oran via Barcelona
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"false promise of flights"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Booked Edinburgh to Barcelona return flights in August 2016 for my family to travel in July 2017. In October 2016 I receive an email saying flight has been changed, not only to a very late flight but on completely different day. Completely unworkable for a family with young kids. I phoned customer services to cancel, they offered a refund which I accepted. Six weeks later still no sign of my refund and despite three calls I've been unable to get through to their customer service department. I was flying out with other parties who also booked with them, and have had similar refund issues. Apparently they 'forgot' to issue the refund. They've now been sitting with my money now for 7 months on the false promise of flights that didn't even exist. Meanwhile I've had the extra expense of booking flights else where.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteEdinburgh to Barcelona
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"recent trip restored my faith in them"

(France)

Verified Review | After a couple of poor experiences, my recent trip from Barcelona to La Palma with Vueling rather restored my faith in them. My wife has recently had an operation on her knee, and it makes moving about rather difficult, with the ability to stretch the knee out quite important. Whilst there was no need to a full "disabled" service, we were impressed that we were given priority boarding and the staff offered to let us sit in an unoccupied front row to make her flight more comfortable. Both flights were punctual, one in the newer planes with the thin seating, and the other in the older plane with traditional seating. Frankly, I cannot see any difference vis a vis leg room or comfort. One slight criticism - on every Vueling flight I ever take it seems an eternity before the crew get around to doing the drinks / food service, and this one was no exception. Is it company policy to wait for over an hour before refreshments are offered?
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBCN to SPC
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"nothing positive to say"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Rome to Geneva with Vueling. Nothing positive to say about flying with this airline. First, of course, the flight was an hour delayed, no announcement, until beginning of boarding. Upon boarding the ground staff wrote the list of passengerss manually on an empty sheet of paper. This cost another 30 mins. After finally entering a dirty aircraft I was greeted by a spider amid the food of the last passenger on the seat. Return flight was also delayed, roughly an hour, same conditions. To give the airline a second chance was not possible. After booking flights from Zurich to London months in advance, they re-routed the direct flight to an 1 stop flight with a 16 h overnight stay in Barcelona. The same goes for the return. After a call, the flight got cancelled, yet the complete paid ticket has not been refunded for over 12 weeks (and still counting). Despite numerous attempts of contact, not one single response aside from facebook bot answers, promising customer support would get in contact asap. Try to avoid this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFCO to GVA
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the service was excellent"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Rome with Vueling. After reading all the negative reviews I was paranoid about my two flights with Vueling, my big fears were that would miss my international connecting flight and also that they would lose my luggage, well for me they were absolute gold, both flights the check in was available 2 hours prior to departure, both flights then check in was painless and boarding and then departure time were to the minute. We flew on the "excellence" fare and had free alcoholic beverages and food on the flight, the service was excellent, the seats were very good, front row with no one next to you guaranteed, our luggage was first off the plane and there is not one negative I could say about this airline except that I am ashamed I let my prejudices run off without any just basis. I would fly with them again if I was going to travel inter-continental in Europe again with hesitation and advise people to give them a fair go and not listen too much to negative comments.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to FCO
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes