Top 100 Airports  

Volotea

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"suggest to avoid flying with them"

(Australia)

Venice to Catania. My husband and I were denied boarding due to overbooking and after a very unpleasant experience with Volotea staff were offered a later flight and compensation for the flight denial. Paperwork was provided and we boarded a later flight, tucked into the last squashed row, after initially paying extra for seat allocation, and missing out tour departure in Sicily. We planned to use the compensation for the taxi we needed to use to catch up with our tour, and since arriving home in July and sending over 10 emails with the required information for the compensation Volotea continue make excuses and promise compensation and the not pay. Please take heed - if Volotea promise compensation for flight denial due to overbooking, demand it immediately. They are dishonest and unreliable. I suggest to avoid flying with them!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVCE to CTA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"there was plenty of room"

(United Kingdom)

I had a slight though somewhat expected apprehension when I heard that a new 'low cost' airline was flying from my local airport and offering cheaper flights than from one of the 'main' airports but I have to say the whole experience has been absolutely sensational. Southampton airport was lovely and clean and small and efficient. The airline itself left on time and had a fantastic laid back and relaxed ambience about it, great for the start of a holiday. The flight wasn't full so there was plenty of room to move around and it felt like there was lots of space. Most surprisingly though, the leg room and the seat width was excellent. I am a 'Big Girl' and normally have the embarrassment of asking for an extender belt but not on this flight. It was so lovely not to be wedged in and uncomfortable. There was a delay on returning home of about 2 hours and apart from the usual lack of information from staff at the airport (thank goodness for Google) we were told by the returning pilot that it had been due to an unsafe plane. Under the circumstances, a brilliant turnaround and as safety is paramount, any delay should be tolerated. I would happily recommend Volotea.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSouthampton to Palma Mallorca
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with Volotea again"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | I bought round trip Athens to Santorini ticket of Volotea from a travel agency. It included one luggage 20 kg (my luggage was 13 kgs). On my way to Santorini from Athens at the airport, I was charged 30 Euros, because I didn't have a printed copy of boarding pass. I had my boarding pass printed on my return from Santorini to Athens, this time they charged me 40 Euros because luggage information was not seen on the boarding pass. Total cost was 70 Euros: actually this is one way ticket cost. I was so disappointed. I will never fly with Volotea again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to JTR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"no cleaning between flights"

(United Kingdom)

London Southend to Palma (and back) on 2 and 9 July 2016. Upon boarding the gorgeous looking plane we were "welcomed" by a disgruntled stewardess who didn't seem to have bothered to fix her hair that morning, not to mention her makeup. Later we found out that she was the cabin manager. She was not only rude to some of us showing some attitude with her spanglish but what I really believe was unacceptable was to tell off her colleagues in front of the passengers. The rest of the crew were dedicated and doing a good job despite their horribly outdated uniforms. Seats were comfortable enough but the floor was dirty - no cleaning between flights. Only two tiny toilets at the back for more than 100 passengers. Queue to use them stretched along the aisle. Volotea is a strictly "no-frills" spanish airline. No inflight entertainment of any kind - not even a magazine rack. No seat-back pockets (like Ryanair) and a very small selection of food and drinks for purchase. Both flights departed and landed on time. One week later on our way back, the attendant by the door was nicer than his female colleague but he didn't seem to speak english at all. As I stepped on the plane I asked him how long the flight would take and he said "-Excuse me?". I asked him again but he just checked our boarding cards and told me and my wife our seat numbers. He seemed too anxious and just kind of wanted to push us inside. Fortunately, the other attendants were english speakers and took better care of us. I'll try to avoid them in the future anyway.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSEN to PMI
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no meaningful updates"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Our 17.05 flight from Majorca (Palma) to Southampton on June 29 was delayed by 4 hours 40 minutes. Volotea provided no meaningful updates whilst we waited, and at one point we were bussed out to a plane only to find that it had a problem and we were returned to the terminal. The ground staff had no more information than us. A replacement plane was eventually found and we finally took off 4 hours 40 minutes late. Our claim for compensation was made on 30 June, and acknowledged by Volotea the same day, since then silence. I have requested an update but still no reply. Volotea may be about to lose a customer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePMI to SOU
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stuck in a foreign country"

(Australia)

Verified Review | After our flight was initial delayed by 30 minutes it was then cancelled. There was very little communication about what was happening and they could only offer us a different flight leaving the next day from a different airport, which would have result in us missing all our connecting flights. We were then stuck in a foreign country with no phone, internet, help or assistance from Volotea. Eventually airport staff helped us get new flights costing us 3000AUD. Volotea told us to make a claim online to get a refund for the cancelled flight. I made the claim and after not hearing from them for 2 weeks, I called them and was told I had to make the claim through my travel agent because they booked the tickets. So frustrated that it took so long to be told this. Our only saving grace is we had travel insurance to cover the out of pocket cost.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDBV to VCE
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"disappointed with the airlines check in policy"

(South Africa)

Athens to Santorini with Volotea. Very disappointed with the airlines check in policy. They charge 30 Euro to check in at the airport if you do not check in online at least 2 hours before the flight. As I did not book my flight I was unaware of this nasty surprise at the airport. I feel this large fee for a mere simple checkin is completely unacceptable. It takes a minute to check a person in, yet a fee that is third to half of your flight ticket is charged. If you have to charge for airport checkin (which I personally find ridiculous) then charge a more reasonable amount. I feel as a Volotea customer and for choosing the airline one should not feel robbed by them to check in with a ticket one has already paid for. Just disappointed in this policy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to JTR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"large comfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Having read other reviews I was delighted with Volotea for flight from Southampton to Majorca. On time, plane clean and large comfortable seats. Food and drink available on board at very reasonable prices and polite air crew. I had to cancel one of our flights and sadly the tone of airline employee on the phone was rather rude and one of ground staff in Majorca said couldn't move my adult daughters seat (the seat was empty). Other than that first rate.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSOU to PMI
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were extremely friendly"

(Switzerland)

Flight Munich-Mykonos-Munich. Both flights with Volotea were on time, the return flight landed even 15 minutes ahead of schedule. Old Boeing 717, fun to fly but get a seat in the front as the back is indeed quite noisy. Cabin crew were extremely friendly. Very good experience overall for the money spent.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to JMK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no explanation or apology"

(United States)

Verified Review | Santorini to Naples with Volotea. Worst experience ever. The plane arrived on time however we were delayed for 2.5 hours and missed our connecting flight. Stranded at the airport with no help from Volotea. The entire time we were delayed we received no explanation or apology. Once we boarded we found out the reason for the delay on a beautiful sunny day - Wind, Even though all other flights were taking off and landing. I will never use this airline again
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUTR to NAP
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 29 Reviews