Volotea

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not interested in assisting us"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Catania to Venice. Our flight was delayed by 3 hrs 15 mins and we missed our Transatlantic flight which only operates on weekends. We were stranded in Venice and Volotea staff were not interested in assisting us in any way. We were sent from one end of the airport to the other for 8 hours and finally had to find a hotel overnight and pay for another flight via Istambul, which was very expensive and much longer. Volotea has refused to pay the EU outlined compensation and their e-mail advising us of this would not accept a response. We were very stressed when we were stranded in Venice without any assistance and would never use this airline again. They advertise 90% Customer satisfaction at the airport and on their website, but based on all the reviews posted here, their claim is very far from the truth. They do not even take time to respond to these negative reviews, which says it all!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCatania to Venice
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"service was quick and accurate"

(Greece)

Verified Review | I had booked with Volotea a few months ago. They informed me abiut 20 days before my scheduled flight that my flight from Athens to Mytilene was cancelled and to either get a refund or book another date, within one week from the original date, for free. This created some kind of fuss but their service was quick and accurate and we managed to pull it off. As for on flight, the plane arrived on time and it was a very pleasant trip. The crew were friendly and the aircraft relatively new (12 years old) and had low noise levels in the cabin. Overall a nice comoany to fly with, except for some handling problems. The value for money ratio is excellent though. Would fly again.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Mytilene
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"too late to use voucher"

(France)

Verified Review | Strasbourg to Nice. The first time I flew with Volotea, my luggage was delayed and it took 6 months to receive the compensation on my bank account. When I flew from Strasbourg to Nice, Volotea informed me less than one month prior to my trip that the dates had to be modified. Instead of flying on the Thursday, I had to fly on the Friday. Either I accepted the changes and could get a voucher of 20% valid for 180 days as a (tiny) compensation or I could cancel my flight all together. I chose to fly anyway and got the voucher. Recently I booked a flight from Strasbourg to Palermo and I did not see at first where to put the voucher for the payment. I paid anyway and immediately contacted customer care. They told me that it was too late to use the voucher because I already paid. I will not be able to use my voucher before its expiry date and they refused to make an exception or to send the money to my bank account.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSXB to NCE
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"blatantly arrogant and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Palma to Southampton. I was delighted to learn of this new airline from Southampton and booked 2 holidays for the summer. The first was on time leaving Southampton in July but delayed 2 hours on return frustrating but no big deal. The second was delayed 2 hours going out and 3.5 hours coming home. Not once was the offer of refreshments and when I asked for a complimentary drink on board a very rude attendant said no. After the experience I submitted a claim for the legal compensation of 250 euros each passenger. After a few emails I was offered 50 euros each. We decided to accept given our flights were very cheap and provided all bank details. 3 months on and many emails sent with no response I still haven't received compensation. This company are so blatantly arrogant and rude, with zero knowledge of customer services. Please don't use them if you want to arrive on time and to be treated with the respect you deserve as a paying customer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePMI to SOU
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stay away from this airline"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Bought a ticket in August, for a Venice-Prague one way in November. Tried to check in online this week, five days before the flight: this did not work, with a cryptic error message. Wrote a mail to customer service, asking what is going on, and why I can't check in. Was curtly told via mail "your flight has been cancelled, that is why". Phoned customer support to ask how come they did not tell me earlier. Spoke to a rather unhelpful and arrogant lady who told me that they had sent an e-mail announcing the cancellation, back in September. However, for professional reasons, I usually keep track of all incoming mail: and as far as I can see, there simply was no mail from them to that effect. And I have to yet figure out whether they actually refunded the money, as they said they had. Based on this experience: save yourself trouble, and stay away from this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVCE to PRG
Date FlownNovember 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"yet to receive the refund"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Athens to Santorini. Volotea changed my original flight time from 11:15am to 8:15pm. Via email, we were offered the option to receive a refund. At this point in time, it has been 3 months and I have yet to receive the refund. I have called Volotea via Skype numerous times and the representative has promised that I would receive my refund, but this has not happened. I have sent countless emails, contacted them via Facebook, and still there is no resolution. This is unacceptable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to JTR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer care is really poor"

(United Kingdom)

Athens to Santorini. Arrived in Santorini to find that my luggage wasn't on the plane. Their was no assistance at all at the airport. Had to stand in a queue for 2 hours to be told luggage could take up to three days to arrive. Had to buy replacements and clothes. When I came home I made an insurance claim and have not had a single reply. I spent 300 euros on just basic items. Find their customer care is really poor, only alternative was of contacting is phoning a number in Spain which is ridiculous.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to JTR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they cancelled all flights"

(Croatia)

Verified Review | Split to Bordeaux return. After they had promotion and sold tickets for 6,99€ each way for autumn flights, they cancelled all flights they sold for that price. And let us know 20 days before departure after we booked all our accommodation and passes. So much money wasted because of them. And they don't even respond on e-mails after that.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSPU to BOD
Date FlownOctober 2015
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"experience was very good"

(United Kingdom)

We had a good flight with Volotea from Split to Venice on 22nd September 2016. Flight was on time and arrived 15 minutes early. I did pay extra to select seats and print boarding passes which I never do with Easyjet, Volotea's add ons do seem expensive. Cabin crew seemed nice and all announcements were in English. The leather seats were comfortable and spacious. We had 1 coffee and a very tiny cake. Its a short flight, it is the only flight from Split to Venice, so I am not sure what we would have done if there had been a problem.Were were in row 6 and did not find the plane noisy at all Our experience was very good, I would use Volotea again.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSPU to VCE
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service is terrible"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I flew few times with Volotea from Munich to Nantes and the trip was always pleasant. The A319 seemed to be pretty new and cabin staff very friendly. They have regular promotions and the prices can be very attractive. That was it for the good side of this airline! Booking is complicated as you try to avoid buying any extras. The extras are very expensive: check-in luggage would have costed around 60€ one way(!), checking in at the airport costs about 30€. The customer service is terrible. They cancelled flights for my family 5 weeks before departure and only want to refund the tickets without offering a re-routing, which is a legal requirement (Regulation No 261/2004). Their telephone hotline is not willing to help and they replied to my e-mail almost a week later refusing the re-routing I demanded. What a pity when you have great cabin staff and competitive prices.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNTE to MUC
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews