Volotea

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The flight from Athens to Santorini was normal and organised with quick check-in and luggage holding process. We traveled around Europe with our normal size hard case cabin luggages, which was accepted to put on hold for free with all other airlines, as well and with Volotea flight from Athens to Santorini. However, the return flight from Santorini to Athens was chaotic, with disorganised boarding procedures and they made us paid for excess luggage nearly to the end of the boarding process. We had to quickly ran outside to pay for the fines and went through security again, which almost made us missed the flight. It is absurd that they accepted our luggage earlier but made us pay fines on our way back! The two luggage were exactly the same sizes as they were. Although they did let several backpackers took out their belongings and gave to their friends just in order to stuff their backpack into the measuring box. There were plenty cabin spaces on the airplane as well, which has made us feel even more frustrated that we had to pay €120 unreasonably. We tried to contact the airline but still has no replied from them. Would not recommend this airline to anyone unless you want to ruin your holiday last minute.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Santorini
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"I am very disappointed"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Cagliari to Genoa. I am very disappointed because the airline didn’t make clear in their email alerting about my flight that I had to print in advance my boarding pass. I had to pay a conspicuous sum compared to the cost of the ticket. I am sure they have some information on their website but they are not clear enough toward their customer considering they send several email trying to sell other services. They should write in capital letters and in the first lines that you have to print your boarding pass. In addition we had to wait long time before boarding in the bridge (very hot) connecting the airplane to the gate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCagliari to Genoa
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cannot recommend this airline"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Me and my friend went to Athens airport 2 hours before our departure and were not able to check in for our flight from Athens to Mykonos as there was an error on their website (and the check in is not possible with the check in machines at the airport.) So we went to the counter to do the check in. The customer service was awful and nobody wanted to help, all they said that it is our fault we hadn't done the check in even tho we tried to show on our phone that the website wasn't working. They told us we had to go to the ticket sale desk and pay extra 30 euros to get our boarding passes. For some people they asked 40€ and some people they asked 30€. We still had good 45 minutes till the departure but at the ticket sale counter there was only one person selling the 30-40 euro boarding passes and even tho we tried to explain we are in a rush, so was everyone else and I believe more than 10 people missed their flights because of this. We missed our flight and had to buy other tickets - from different airline obviously. Of course on their website in the FAQ section it is stated that the check-in will have to be done 4 days before the departure which is very odd and I haven't seen any other airline do it. If it's not done 4 days before it is not possible to do anymore and you will have to queue at the ticket sale counter at the airport and pay extra to get the boarding pass (and if there is a queue, you will probably miss your flight) All and all the airline and it's "customer service" was terrible and I cannot recommend this airline to anyone.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Mykonos
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"prices where higher"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Mykonos to Athens. I made my girlfriend a megavolotea member by paying 50 euros per year. It supposed to give her better flight prices than the non megavolotea members. In the same time i have a simple non megavolotea account on their site. One day I checked the prices for the same flight-day - in her megavolotea account and in my non one - guess what, in my girlfriends "prime membership" account the flight's prices where higher than in my account. You can check it out if you want.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMykonos to Athens
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Don't fly with this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Booked a flight with Volotea for travel between Nice and Split during a holiday. On the day of the flight visited their site to confirm the flight was still on time, not only had the flight been cancelled but completely scrubbed from the system. Zero communication from Volotea. Then we you need them the most you will search and search for any phone numbers, email addresses etc. Once you find them you'll never get through to a real person. All you will find is an FAQ section on their site. We spent 500 euros per person for a 2 hour one way flight to save our vacation. After getting home the communication is no better and we are no where near getting a refund of the original flight or any compensation for the replacement flight. Don't fly with this airline. Spend the extra couple dollars and fly with an airline that won't ruin your holidays.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNice to Split
Date FlownMay 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"dinged for every extra imaginable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Santorini to Athens. You have to be out of your mind to fly this airline unless you need to go point-to-point on one of their arcane city pairs, eg: Venice to Santander. Don't think this is a budget airline - by the time you wind up getting dinged for every extra imaginable (and some unique ones) you pay more than you would with a legacy carrier. You must adhere to their baggage and boarding pass policy or you will pay dearly at the airport (60Euro per bag/30 Euro per boarding pass) and they stand at the gate with a sizer and scale. The other issue is their reliability - due to their weird route structure, there isn't a real "hub" so if there are any mechanical or weather issues, you are done For example, they have one aircraft shuttling between Santorini and Athens with a listed 25 minute turn-around time and with only 20 minutes of taxi time built into the schedule.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantorini to Athens
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"they would not help"

(United States)

Not Verified | Malta to Mallorca via Bordeaux. Terrible experience. First flight delayed two hours and we missed the Volotea connection. They could not get us to our final destination for two days and no offer of hotel or help with another airline. Called their customer service and they would not help and hung up on us. The first flight itself was fine once we left Malta but our experience with customer service was so bad we will not use them again. We incurred hotel expense and had to book with another airline to get to Mallorca.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Mallorca via Bordeaux
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a very good experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Excellent return flight Vienna to Bilbao, travelling as a couple with infant. Easy booking process, received regular email communications in advance of flight reminding us to check-in, friendly ground staff at luggage drop and boarding gate, decent smiling cabin staff, clean cabin despite the age of the 717, tolerable seats with reasonable leg room, reasonably priced on-board menu and flights on time/early. All-in-all a very good experience, a relief after reading some of the other reviews on here, and wouldn't hesitate to fly again or recommend. The trick - as with all LCCs - is to be prepared and very carefully read and adhere to the rules re. baggage, boarding passes etc.
AircraftBoeing 717-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Bilbao
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"One of the worst flights"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Volotea from Nice to Strasbourg. Airline extremely disorganized, boarding took far longer than normal. We ordered "plus seats" online which promised priority boarding, seat selection, and a snack onboard, however, we did not receive any snacks and there was no priority boarding. One of the worst flights I have ever taken.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNice to Strasbourg
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the frustration and bureaucracy"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Volotea from Athens to Santorini. Avoid this airline if you can. Pay a little bit more and use Agean or Olympic. How they scammed me for extra fees: If you don’t check in online and if you have a bag then you will pay more money then your ticket is worth. They price all their tickets a little lower then everyone else but if you don’t follow their strict rules hidden in their terms of use then you get surprised with fees at the airport. Stay away. It’s not worth the frustration and bureaucracy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Santorini
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews