Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 525 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"no inflight entertainment"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I've flown Virgin Australia many times between Sydney and Perth. Today I was most disappointed with no inflight entertainment for a 5 hour flight. If there was a heads up on this I could have got my Ipad from my checked in bag. Lots of people were annoyed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"A very average service by Virgin"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Gold Coast to Sydney. A very average service by Virgin, quite limited team members available at the airport with only one person scanning boarding pass during boarding. Once onboard, the flight departed on time and the cabin crew were more engaging than my previous flights. I tried to distract myself with the inflight entertainment by not focusing on how uncomfortable their seat was. Even though it's economy, there are standards to up hold. Would I fly with Virgin again? Yes, when I really need to.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGold Coast to Sydney
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Virgin needs to not offer food"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Brisbane. Flight was delayed by 25 minutes without any notification, which is not appropriate. All schedule change needs to be communicated, no matter how small. Luckily the flight was just over an hour long, considering economy class in their planes can be quite unbearable. Like I have mentioned in my previous reviews, Virgin needs to not offer food or have a better offering because a muesli bar is not adequate and the plane needs an upgrade to having screens on seats for better use of IFE. Lastly, Virgin only seems to be good at getting you from A to B.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Brisbane
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"plane was not very clean"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Brisbane. Check in took forever despite me having checked in online already. The staff was confused with our baby passport for some mysterious reason. Cabin crew rude and did not care about our baby or my wife being anxious about turbulence. There was no food included for a 5.5 hour flight, I have never seen this before. The plane was not very clean, especially food trays
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Brisbane
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"check in was quick and easy"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Canberra to Melbourne. The check in was quick and easy. The flight from Canberra departed and arrived a little early, the flight from Melbourne was delayed by almost 30 minutes due to fog in Canberra and was amalgamated with an earlier (also delayed flight) Fog is beyond the airline control. I received timely announcement of the delay and the reason for it. The flight was late landing but some time had been made up on this short sector. Both flights were uneventful. A light snack was served in both directions. Cabin crew were friendly but on the Melbourne to Canberra sector were very busy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCanberra to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Seats were terribly narrow"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Melbourne. I called customer service for a window seat and they said there were only aisle seats - yet immediately after the call finished I logged in and found most of the window row seats were available. The self-check in machines at the airport are very short and check in staff were not very welcoming. There was no greeter for the lounge either despite their being 4 staffers looking bored behind 2 desks. The lounge was busy, messy and there was no coat service or bag depository at reception. Seats onboard were terribly narrow. I got one drink but despite asking the stewardess they put no ice in it. Even though my bag clearly had MEL on the tag they sent it to Brisbane by mistake. They were late to deliver it the next day. Over 10 days later there was no follow up apology.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"confirmed means something else to Virgin Australia"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The Virgin Australia website was acting up for 3 weeks and not letting me retrieve my booking from Melbourne to Gold Coast. Each time I called them about this they had different excuses and tried to blame the problem on me. I eventually got them to manually send me my itinerary through email - only to be told that I would have to pay extra at the gate since apparently the seat I originally chose was an Economy X seat. This was even after they sent me a confirmed itinerary. Apparently the word confirmed means something else to Virgin Australia. Even if you have a confirmed seat, you still might be made to pay more at the gate.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Gold Coast
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"attention to detail is sublime"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I flew "Business" from Sydney to Perth and back. I have always thought Etihad had one of the best Business Class products but wow - Virgin Australia blew me away. The service and attention to detail is sublime. The food was just amazing for a domestic carrier anywhere in the world, just like the seat and service. Undoubtedly one of the best in the world.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"VA do have the superior product"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Los Angeles. First time with Virgin Australia and travelled in their business suite. Check in at Brisbane was a breeze with the kiosks and drop off. My only criticism is that with the bag drop there wasn't a staff member actually allocated there to assist passengers. They kind of roam around between different areas. Therefore when I had an issue I had to signal for one to come and help. Also when that was done they didn't volunteer information about what lounge I am entitled to use. I believe there is a business class check in counter, but I didn't see this as wasn't looking. So just a bit more of a personal touch point would be nice. Seat - So much room, felt like a nice comfy chair and couldn't complain about this at all. Having flown Air NZ and QF, I believe VA do have the superior product. But just a bit over NZ and hugely over QF. Food service was good and quality was enjoyable. I would have appreciated being offered another bread roll with dinner before that was taken away. One thing that was odd is that the blankets were not on the seats. You had to ask for them. Thought that this could have been on the seat ready for you like the other carriers do. My FA was great at acknowledging all of us passengers and ensured that we were fully aware of the seat and layout of the cabin. Toilet/bar etc. The flight went really fast and was very impressed overall.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Outstanding service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Perth. Flight 555 15th May. We were delayed due to weather in Melbourne and arrived late due to rain and wind in Perth. Fully informed by the Captain. We have never seen such professional and helpful staff. The service was great and all staff were full of smiles. We were unaware that all food and beverage were included, so a nice surprise. Outstanding service. Thanks Virgin
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes