top100_2016  

Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 459 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"customer service is always bad"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Flew from Brisbane to Melbourne. This is unfortunately like all the other time with Virgin. Rude and just to the rules. Had 1 kg over weight and she also found 1 kg over weight in carry on. I asked her how much for 2 check-in bags and it was 70 AUD. So she asked me to move 1 kg (3 poloshirts) to my suitcase and pay for the 2 kg. Which when she presented bill also was AUD 70. She could have told me and we could have saved the hassle and time. Customer service is always bad with Virgin.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to MEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"zero customer care"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Virgin cancelled our flight from Sydney to Christchurch after a long haul journey. We were treated like an inconvenience by the Virgin staff in Sydney. After repeatedly requesting information regarding times of the next flight all we got in return is 'we are trying to book you a hotel'. We were stood for an hour and still no hotel information or next flight times were provided. Zero customer care at the airport and did not give the promised refund due to a cancellation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to CHC
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"delightful supervisor onboard"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Sydney with Virgin Australia. This flight was delayed almost an hour due to heavy rains in Sydney. We had such a delightful male supervisor onboard this flight. His bright smile made the flight experience such a pleasant one. I was asked to change my seat as another passenger wanted to talk to his friend. There was a bit of commotion there but then the crew calmness and professionalism was excellent and I had to comment to the supervisor that seriously I can't do his job as they had to pretend that the voice raising was not taking place but ensuring that the rest of us were comfortable.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"told they had run out"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | We travelled as a family of 3 from Auckland to Coolangatta with Virgin Australia. We bought the works package tickets that included a Meal and an Entertainment device. At the beginning of the flight we waited patiently for the stewardess to distribute the IPads. After half an hour we had to ask for one which we were told they had run out. When the meals came around we were told they only had 1 Beef meal and the rest were Vegetarian. We should have flown Emirates.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to OOL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"7 hours late"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Delays after delays after delays. Flew Virgin Australia from Melbourne to Perth. Our flight was 12.40pm. After boarding we waited on board for about an hour before being unloaded. Went back to the terminal. Another wait of 90 minutes before getting back on the plane. Then an hour on board before being unloaded again due to technical issues. Flight got cancelled. Bumped to later flight. That flight went smoothly, until the end of the flight when the door wouldn't open or some other technical fault. Flight was scheduled to arrive in Perth at 3pm, we ended up getting off the flight at 10pm, 7 hours late.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to PER
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointed in Virgin Australia"

(Australia)

In March we purchased our tickets to fly to Fiji for our holiday. The flight was direct return flight from Melbourne to Nadi. We paid for it and got our tickets. Today we received an email form Virgin Australia telling us that there was a change to our return flight and that we now have to fly Brisbane then to Melbourne. They did exactly the same thing last year. They change our tickets and from leaving Melbourne at a respectable time we were put on 6am flight. We had to be at the airport at 4am. Once in Brisbane we had to change plane, which required taking a train to the international airport, that also means that they flew us domestic to Brisbane. We thought oh well things happen and so forth, however this year Virgin Australia is doing the same thing. They not only changed our flight, they changed the flight route! When we inquired about it they stated the operational reasons. What a nonsense! How is possible for any organisation to know in June that they will have 'operational reasons', that will forced them to change flight, in December? It is obviously a commercial reason of not having enough passengers for the direct flight to Melbourne. How come that they only have those "operational reasons" an a week day but hardly ever on Saturdays and Sundays? The international flight, that is more expensive to run and that we paid for, finishes now in Brisbane and the passengers need to go collect their luggage, go through customs, take a bus, queue up to be checked into a domestic flight, that is subsequently also cheaper to run. A clever way to avoid paying more tax to the government too. We are very disappointed in Virgin Australia, their customer service was also appalling and we will of course avoid flying with them as much as possible.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to NAN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"very little attention after meal"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth to Brisbane. Flight delayed due to a fault and had to get off the plane with all bags and then back on board so left and arrived about two hours late.This was well taken by passengers and if it is a full you want it to be fixed. Virgin Australia don't do special meals on domestic flights so little to eat for me, glass of wine that I had was OK. Seats on Boeing 737 hard to sleep on from PER even in full recline. Crew member looking after Business did everything one at a time and slowly (e.g. if you asked for a water and a wine they arrived separately several minutes apart). Meant service gave the impression of not really caring. Very little attention after meal was served. Not nearly as good as the A330 flights to PER. Bags also took some time to arrive, this was the last flight to arrive and so may have had few staff left.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to BNE
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"lost its personality over the years"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Canberra return on Virgin Australia. Did online check-in and had no check in bags so straight to lounge. Good cosy lounge. Boarded and left on time. Crew somewhat distant. Comfy 2-2 arrangement. On time arrival in CBR. Return same. Online check in straight to lounge. Departed and arrived on time. Drinks service on short 50 minute flight. Crew again robotic. Good experience from A-B. But feel VA has lost its personality over the years.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to CBR
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"well above standard"

(Australia)

Verified Review | VA 694, Perth to Melbourne (A330) with Virgin Australia. This evening flight, left on time and incurred minimal turbulence en route to Melbourne. While I was surprised that I had to ask for both a blanket and an amenity kit (both of which should be offered pre-departure or shortly after take-off), it was quickly made up for by the hospitality of the FAs and high-quality of food served. I was served a great champagne (Ayala 2006) and my glass was never left unfilled for more than a minute. As for the food itself, I found both the pumpkin soup entree and vegetable lasagne to be well above standard. The in-flight entertainment which was in the form of a touch-screen tv and noise-cancelling headphones worked perfectly and included a wide range of both blockbuster and classic movies.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePER to MEL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"VA delivered"

(Australia)

Verified Review | VA 683 from Melbourne to Perth (A330) with Virgin Australia. After reading the raving reviews of VAs new Business class aka 'The Business' suite, I embarked with high expectations. VA delivered. I was impressed with the entire setup, from the spacious cabin to the friendly yet professional FAs to the comfortable yet modern business suites. Highly recommend.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to PER
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes