Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 576 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"So disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Los Angeles. Unimpressed and irritated by VA customer service. First boarding was a disaster, disorganized, and very lengthy. There's zones on the boarding pass for a reason. No wifi on either flight. 2 meals were provided and both times the attendant notifies us that our selection of meals is gone. No beverages offered other than the bottle of water at boarding. So disappointed. I've never felt like third class traveler more than on this trip. I'll never recommend the airline to anyone.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Los Angeles
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"pay extra AUD 120 per baggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Queenstown. I was shocked when I was checking my baggage at the counter and told that I need to pay extra AUD 120 per baggage. I did not see any online baggage purchase option when I was trying do online check-in the night before. Staff service was good, but it did not help, the service did not worth the money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Queenstown
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight was smooth and uneventful"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Hobart. Compared with Qantas the check-in process during peak hour in Melbourne was cumbersome. After printing off a bag tag (and not all the machines did this) we had to wait in a long and slow-moving bag drop queue -- no quick self bag drop here! The flight was smooth and uneventful, with a drink and small snack served by the friendly crew. We arrived on time and the baggage was available soon after.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Hobart
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"never fly Virgin Australia again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Sydney. On the 29th March 2018 we were told the aircraft had issues, we were then stuck at Sydney airport for 9 hours until they found us another flight, total travel time was 18 hours from home to Perth. Then on the 2nd April 2018 we are being told the same thing. I will never fly with Virgin Australia again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"A pleasant experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Gold Coast via Sydney. A pleasant experience with Virgin flight although it delays but we still arrived Gold Coast. One of the things that i could not ignore is the free Wifi on board is awesome. I can browse facebook, instagram pretty smoothly. Highly Recommended but it is a bit pricy compared to other airlines. However, the snacks taste bad.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Gold Coast via Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Very unhappy customer"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Hobart. I used to hate flying with Jetstar, but today the experience I had at Virgin Australia check in, was so disorganised and long that made me appreciate Jetstar’s recent check in efficiency. To make matters worse, the staff at the lounge were so rude. I will think long and hard before I fly Virgin Australia next time. Very unhappy customer!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Hobart
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"a pleasant flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Melbourne to Gold Coast with Virgin Australia. There was a bit of a queue checking in but it was not too bad. There was also a slight delay in departure, but it arrived reasonably on time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were the best thing about the flight. It was nice to have complimentary drinks as well. The meal service was very small. Just a tiny savoury snack. Not really enough for what is supposed to be a full service airline. An early evening departure should include something more substantial. Overall a pleasant flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Gold Coast
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a problem free flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Canberra. Arrived at 05.30 from Bangkok via Brunei to transfer to a domestic flight. No problems with self check in and changing seats at the check in stage. Drop bags worked well with mine being slightly over the 23 kg limit and was not asked to shift weight into my carry on bag (could easily have done so). One of the first to board - encouraged to go from the front rather than the rear stairs and concern when I stumbled going to my seat. Standard economy class seat which was perfectly adequate for a one hour flight. No IFE but that was expected on this short flight. Cabin attendants managed to deliver a snack and drink on the flight. They seemed quite happy with their tasks. Luggage was delivered shortly after landing. All in all a problem free flight which left and landed on time with luggage available soon after arrival. Canberra to Melbourne was the start of the outbound journey and a completely unexceptional journey. Plane landed about 10 minutes early and an identical report could be written about this earlier flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Canberra
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a wonderful flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Canberra to Adelaide on February 26, 2018. Unfortunately, the kiosks were unable to check anyone in who wasn’t travelling with carry-on only, but thankfully Canberra Airport hasn’t gone automated just yet, so there were team members on hand ready to help out. I was even offered an EconomyX seat for the early evening flight! A fairly small pax (only 58 passengers in economy), which meant snack service (in the middle of happy hour, which meant complimentary beer and wine) was even more efficient. Wonderful staff, and a wonderful flight with Virgin Australia.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCanberra to Adelaide
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"an uneventful flight"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Sydney - Adelaide, 21 Feb. Boarding on this aircraft took some time because they invited people with needs to board first which was fine. Then they invited all their passengers with priority cards/membership etc which basically was about 60% of the passengers! The rest of us 'unworthy' people boarded last. The aircraft was clean but not new, inflight entertainment was via their app and seats were uncomfortable. Let room was cramped and seat width was small. The cabin attendants were friendly and proactive and they distributed a biscuit and a drink free of charge, unlike Qantas which gives out something more substantial. Overall an uneventful flight but on arrival, we were asked to walk down the rear aircraft stairs and join the aerobridge. Not so nice if you are carrying luggage.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Adelaide
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes