Top 100 Airlines  

Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 442 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"service was exemplary"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The service from check in to arrival with Virgin Australia was exemplary flying from Brisbane to Perth. Although the A330 is clearly a better cabin for a flight of this length many of the features such as champagne prior to take off and a comprehensive menu were evident on the 737. Food was of a high quality for my wife, my soup was delicious but the main salad very unappetising. This was the only let down, in all a vary enjoyable flight. New PER terminal is great - we had our bags within 12 minutes of leaving the plane.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBNE to PER
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seating was incredibly comfortable"

(Australia)

Flew home from Gold Coast to Melbourne in Business Class and was very impressed. The crew, seat, food and beverages and cabin ambience were excellent. A quiet cabin with only 4 guests on the way home. Seating was incredibly comfortable with nice leather seats and an extra wide adjustable headrest. Dinner was served comprising of a beef pie, cucumber salad and chocolates to finish. The crew came around with snacks and drinks throughout the flight and nothing was a problem. My only concern was of the presentation of the fittings up the front. Some evidence of wear and tear with scuff marks in some areas and the seat next to me had some crumbs left behind from the last passenger. Overall, a comfortable and hospitable flight with excellent cabin crew. I will certainly be back and to sit up the front in the future. Well done Virgin Australia.
Aircraft737 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGold Coast to Melbourne ool
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"meals were not inspiring"

(Australia)

Flew Hobart to Melbourne with Virgin Australia. Both flights left early and arrived on time. On outward journey was offered water only on boarding. Meals were not inspiring. On return journey grumpy check in staff neglected to put priority tag on baggage. To me this implies that Virgin is letting standards slip. For such a short journey would not pay for business.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHBA to MEL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid like the plague"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Virgin Australia cancelled flights from Brisbane to Port Vila in January until repairs on the runway were finished. Remedial works were finished some time ago, yet passengers who have already purchased tickets continue to hang in the wind, the company heedless of the effects on the rest of their travel plans and the losses they will accrue. I have tried calling the call center and the social media team repeatedly, they know nothing and the email for complaints doesn't reply. This is very unprofessional. Flights were supposed to recommence May 2nd, now May 23rd "maybe, we can't say". Utter rubbish, avoid like the plague.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to VLI
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"bad experience still continues"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Adelaide. I had a previous bad experience with Virgin Australia and it still continues. I made a purchase of two tickets, one ticket had an additional bag so the assumption is 69 kilos accross three bags. Last time I travelled with Virgin Australia I had to transfer weight from a 4th bag into three bags, there was no mention of weight allowances. I assumed 69kg meant 69kg. This customer service agent said that max weight per bag is 23 kilos no matter what. We were 4 kilos over on two bags, but in total we were well and truly under 69kg. They wanted to charge me $140 which was a joke. I asked for a manager, it would be 15 minutes as their manager was in a meeting. There was basically no supervisor on the floor, the one who was assisting with another complaint is not normally a supervisor. I was carrying an injury so the more I was standing the more my foot was in agony, the customer service agent was still firm stating that all baggage must be under 23kg or I would have to pay additional fees regardless of what happened in Adelaide. We managed to repack and change check in bags and transfer weight to be under 23kg on each bag. The customer service agent proceeded to tell me that they will allow my bags onboard on this occasion as it was not a full flight. I had a backpack which basically has my laptop, and I had a shoulder bag. Rules state that a laptop and laptop bag is not included as carry on, except agents tried to tell me my bag was a back pack and not a laptop bag. I showed them the laptop and the compartment, she still said there is stuff in there besides the laptop. I asked what is the policy, she said the bag is not necessarily a carry on, but it could be a carry on so no exact answer. Seems it depends on the mood of the agent, or if they have revenue targets to reach by charging additional baggage. Personally this is one time too many now, if I have international travel I would never ever travel Virgin Australia again. Domestic is not an issue because generally you are flying the one flight so you can handle 23kg easy. International flights have different allowances and always rounded to the last 10 digit, whereas Virgin is rounded to 3. I feel sorry for the flight crew because their customer service is top notch, ground staff are the only ones who stuffed this up. Also the combination of International check in and Domestic check in makes it confusing also which line to line up on.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to ADL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food was excellent"

(Australia)

Verified Review | After having not flown with Virgin Australia for 6 months due to work commitments, I decided to take a quick weekend trip to Sydney and use my free-upgrades (available to VA Platinum members) while doing so. The online booking process was seamless as always and while I had to call up VA to make the upgrade from a Flexi-Economy ticket to Business, it was done in minutes. The flight too was great, I appreciated the friendly service from the FA(s) who were there when you needed them and not when you didn't. Because this was a short trip (1 hour), I was not offered a tablet to watch any IFE content, but that was not a problem since I had the Virgin Australia Entertainment mobile app which I used to stream free content via my iPhone. The food was excellent.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to SYD
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"wonderful service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Great flight with Virgin Australia from Melbourne to Brisbane. Wonderful service from lounge to flight to disembarkation. Especially appreciated being able to use the lounge upon arrival while waiting for my pick-up. Even though IFE was in the form of tablets, the pre-dowlnoaded Virgin Entertainment mobile app worked well on the flight and I was able to stream all kinds of content, incl. the latest movies, tv series and songs. The food was great too.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to BNE
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"FA's were welcoming"

(Canada)

Brisbane to Melbourne on Virgin Australia. A very pleasant check-in experience followed by visit to a well appointed lounge. Boarding was smooth and the FA's were welcoming. The seats were spacious and quite comfortable. The dinner was tasty and the wine selection was good. The IFE was via tablets and the system was unstable requiring a number of reboots. Flight departed on time and landed ahead of schedule. I would definitely fly with them again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBNE to MEL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"onboard staff were really cheerful"

(United Kingdom)

Melbourne to Denpasar, having done a search it appears this route is no longer in operation. Anyhow, I was running badly late - arriving at the airport with less than 90 minutes before my flight was due to leave. The staff were helpful in helping me get the flight and onboard staff were really cheerful too. The food served a little bit later than I'd have liked but I had the veggie pasta and it was really nice. The flight only cost me $30 more than the AirAsia flight to Bali and it was worth paying the extra. The only thing that disappoints me is the entertainment system. I have the Virgin app on my phone and it works intermittently but for a 6+ hour flight I would expect more.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to DPS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a big improvement"

(Australia)

Sydney to Perth with Virgin Australia and excellent seats and service, similar to international business class. The new seats are lie flat seats and the IFE is excellent. Excellent menu and a choice of 3 white and red wines plus 2 dessert wines.This is a big improvement on the Sydney to Perth flights.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to PER
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes