Best Cabin Crew  

Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 413 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"did not load my bags"

(Australia)

Gold Coast to Sydney with Virgin Australia. My initial flight was cancelled as the plane needed to be used for an earlier flight that had been cancelled. Therefore putting me on a later flight. This caused issues as I had an international connecting flight which I was now going to miss. After managing to get onto an earlier Virgin Australia flight and having 1hr 30min to make the international flight, they did not load my bags onto the flight and could not locate them in time, resulting in me missing my international flight. Had they loaded the bags, made me aware that they were not onboard or checked them through to London (my final destination), I would have made the international flight. Ground staff at the Gold Coast airport were extremely unhelpful and dismissive saying that as my international flight was not a partner airline they could not assist with my queries or concerns.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOOL to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"wouldn't pay full price "

(Australia)

Successful bid for an upgrade from economy class. Sydney to Gold Coast is only a 1h 20min flight, and my bid was AUD 170 above economy, so was it worth it? I don't belong to a scheme which gives me lounge access, so this was a plus, and the Virgin business lounge at Sydney was clean, large, and well laid out with lots of workstations. One problem was the wifi, which, despite getting the password from reception, I couldn't get to work on either of my devices. At the gate, priority boarding had me stuck in a queue for 5 mins, before I could get to my seat (1d). Plenty of leg room, comfortable, older-style leather seat. No drink before take-off. Cabin crew very friendly. The supervisor was looking after business class, and did a very good job. Drinks, including a choice of wine and beers were served. There was no choice of meal (a very short flight and only 8 business class passengers), and it was asian prawn noodle salad or just economy-style snacks. The salad was tasty, but a nightmare to try and eat without getting it all over myself! Shredded salad and soft noodles do tend to fall all over the place! My wine was a very pleasant tempranillo blend and it hit the spot from my point of view. Entertainment is basically bring your own or make sure you've downloaded their app before you get on board, because you can't download it when you're on the plane. No other entertainment provided. Being at the front did give me priority deplaning on arrival. Was it all worth the extra AUD 170? Yes, but could do better. A glass of wine before take-off, a choice of meals which have a better ability to stay on a fork, and perhaps some entertainment to make up for me not being psychic enough to download their app, maybe! Would bid again for the upgrade. Wouldn't pay full price though!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to OOL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were great"

(Australia)

Business class with Virgin Australia from Sydney to Perth. The new seat is really cool. For individual window seat is best and for couple the middle seats are best as the the seat configuration is 1-2-1 and there is a partition between the middle seats which can be lower if needed. The crew on my flight were great. A 3 course lunch was served for my flight with good selection of drinks. If you want to catch up with sleep, there is also an Express menu.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to PER
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"cheap fare - big mistake"

(Australia)

We chose Virgin Australia only because of the cheap fare it offered between Sydney and Auckland - big mistake. The flight was delayed 45 minutes because of a problem with one of toilets, which ended up being closed for the whole flight. Once we took off, there was no drinks service until 1.5 hours into the flight. When the dinner service began they served us pasta which was cold. I tried to get the staff to heat it, but they just shrugged and said the oven wasn't working. After this, I would rather pay more for Qantas tickets.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to AKL
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"crew members had forced smiles"

(Australia)

Adelaide to Melbourne with Vigin Australia on a morning flight. Check in was very quick and easy. Check in staff member looked miserable and forced a smile after saying to her have a nice day. Flight was on time. Apparently the incoming Melbourne to Adelaide flight there was turbulence so no tea or coffee was served on the flight back to Melbourne. The seat belt sign was turned off after reaching altitude for the duration of the flight. The crew members were too busy at the rear of the plane talking. They finally got up 15 minutes into the flight and handed out breakfast bars and water or Orange juice. They weren't very friendly and again they had forced smiles on their faces. The seat belt sign came back on for landing so I am really not sure if they could be bothered serving tea and coffee. Their Orange juice was very bitter and the breakfast bar was quite disgusting. Only good thing about the flight the boarding was smooth and the flight was on time. If you are looking for an airline with friendly staff don't bother with Virgin Australia.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to MEL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"utter waste of money"

(Australia)

Adelaide to Phuket via Perth, and Virgin Australia business class was a complete and utter waste of money. They have no understanding of what the level of service for business class should be. This is no reflection on the staff who we found to be friendly and a pleasure to deal with. There was no priority baggage, no table cloths, no warm towels, poor inflight entertainment (tatty samsung tablet anyone?) no restriction on economy passengers using the business bathroom. In fact aside from a slightly (and I do mean slightly) bigger seat and access to the lounge there was no advantage in having a business class ticket.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteADL to HKT via PER
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"nice little aircraft with good legroom"

(Australia)

I flew with Virgin Australia from Coffs Harbour to Sydney, the E190 is a nice little aircraft with good legroom, had an empty seat next to me which was nice. The crew very OK, but looked very tired. A biscuit and a choice of juice or water was offered, also 23 kg of luggage was included in the fare which is great. One thing I did notice is when the captain asked the crew to be seated for landing the cabin crew at the rear of the aircraft left their crew bags on the seats and not secured. Overall pleasant enough for a 40 minute flight.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCFS to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"pleasant and enjoyable"

(Australia)

Hobart to Sydney via Melbourne with Virgin Australia, and the flights were pleasant and enjoyable, and staff helpful and smiling. Inflight snacks leave a little to be desired, but on short flights (1:15 and 1:30), does anything need to be served? Cabin crew handled a full MEL/SYD flight efficiently. I look forward to flying with them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHBA to SYD via MEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"had expected a meal"

(Australia)

Brisbane to Melbourne and a pleasant flight but nothing special. First time in business class on Virgin Australia. Flight was at 10.00am and after allowing for daylight saving a 1.15pm arrival into Melbourne. Food offered was only a snack service. Given the time of arrival I had expected a meal service. No alcoholic drinks offered. I paid for the flight with points. Had I paid for the flight would have been disappointed with what was offered.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBNE to MEL
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"upgraded to an exit row"

(Australia)

Adelaide to Sydney return with Virgin Australia. At check-in I was upgraded to an exit row, much to my pleasure. The flight was wonderful, with tea, coffee, water and juice served with a muffin. The crew were an absolute delight. The return flight was a breeze, although this time I received exit row seats only after asking. After almost half an hour in the queue of security / baggage check (almost a norm at Sydney's T2), it was a relief to get on the plane. Onboard the were attentive, although more robotic than on the outbound flight. Cheese and crackers served with refreshments. In terms of entertainment, the Virgin Australia app provides video/audio entertainment that can be streamed directly to a smartphone. Although the options were a little limited, it was a great way to fill the 1hr 40min flight there and back. Overall, Virgin Australia provide a service that is beyond my expectations.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to SYD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes