Top 100 Airports  

Virgin Australia

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 463 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they don't have low fares"

(Australia)

Gold Coast to Melbourne with Virgin Australia. This airline is very similar to Ryanair in Europe except they don't have low fares. Fares are priced at a premium, seats are jammed in, there is no onboard WiFi or televisions. Lunch was 3 crackers, chunk of cheese and either tea / coffee or water - soft drinks extra and in fact anything of flavour or substance was extra. They try sell this airline as being similar or competition to Qantas but there is no way this is true. They used to have live satellite tv on board but I guess cost cutting put an end to this - shocker of an airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOOL to MEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"left much to be desired"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne - Sydney - Melbourne. Check in fast. Departed on time. Full flight. A quick snack served. However quality and quantity left much to be desired. Virgin Australia crew standards have dropped a lot over the years. Both flights offered VA streaming entertainment however due to some glitches could not be used. Arrived on time at destination. Overall good flight for a short hop.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / E195
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to SYD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"only downside was the crew"

(Australia)

Short flight from Sydney to Coffs Harbour (around 35-40 minutes) with Virgin Australia. Smooth flight, legroom good and seat comfortable. The only downside was the crew, I greeted both staff as I boarded via the rear stairs, they did not reply to me just nodded their heads without a smile, which I think is unacceptable. Sadly Virgin Australia will never compare with Qantas in my book.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to CFS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"will take business class again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | A last minute decision to book ourselves to business on Virgin Australia A330 from Perth to Sydney. The service and the comfort of the seat really give a tired traveller a rest on the flight. The IFE screen is good size. They serve a 3 course meal for lunch and dinner. Even it's a last minute booking, we were given the full 3 course dinner. The seat tray is good size for those who want to work onboard. It also come with USB for charging your mobile device and universal power charging point for laptop. The seat can transform into a flat bed for a nap. The cabin switch to soft ambient lamp after meal service which is good for relaxing. Definitely will take business class again if my purse allows for Coast to Coast .
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"customer service is always bad"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Flew from Brisbane to Melbourne. This is unfortunately like all the other time with Virgin. Rude and just to the rules. Had 1 kg over weight and she also found 1 kg over weight in carry on. I asked her how much for 2 check-in bags and it was 70 AUD. So she asked me to move 1 kg (3 poloshirts) to my suitcase and pay for the 2 kg. Which when she presented bill also was AUD 70. She could have told me and we could have saved the hassle and time. Customer service is always bad with Virgin.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to MEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"zero customer care"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Virgin cancelled our flight from Sydney to Christchurch after a long haul journey. We were treated like an inconvenience by the Virgin staff in Sydney. After repeatedly requesting information regarding times of the next flight all we got in return is 'we are trying to book you a hotel'. We were stood for an hour and still no hotel information or next flight times were provided. Zero customer care at the airport and did not give the promised refund due to a cancellation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to CHC
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"delightful supervisor onboard"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Brisbane to Sydney with Virgin Australia. This flight was delayed almost an hour due to heavy rains in Sydney. We had such a delightful male supervisor onboard this flight. His bright smile made the flight experience such a pleasant one. I was asked to change my seat as another passenger wanted to talk to his friend. There was a bit of commotion there but then the crew calmness and professionalism was excellent and I had to comment to the supervisor that seriously I can't do his job as they had to pretend that the voice raising was not taking place but ensuring that the rest of us were comfortable.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"told they had run out"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | We travelled as a family of 3 from Auckland to Coolangatta with Virgin Australia. We bought the works package tickets that included a Meal and an Entertainment device. At the beginning of the flight we waited patiently for the stewardess to distribute the IPads. After half an hour we had to ask for one which we were told they had run out. When the meals came around we were told they only had 1 Beef meal and the rest were Vegetarian. We should have flown Emirates.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to OOL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"7 hours late"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Delays after delays after delays. Flew Virgin Australia from Melbourne to Perth. Our flight was 12.40pm. After boarding we waited on board for about an hour before being unloaded. Went back to the terminal. Another wait of 90 minutes before getting back on the plane. Then an hour on board before being unloaded again due to technical issues. Flight got cancelled. Bumped to later flight. That flight went smoothly, until the end of the flight when the door wouldn't open or some other technical fault. Flight was scheduled to arrive in Perth at 3pm, we ended up getting off the flight at 10pm, 7 hours late.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to PER
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointed in Virgin Australia"

(Australia)

In March we purchased our tickets to fly to Fiji for our holiday. The flight was direct return flight from Melbourne to Nadi. We paid for it and got our tickets. Today we received an email form Virgin Australia telling us that there was a change to our return flight and that we now have to fly Brisbane then to Melbourne. They did exactly the same thing last year. They change our tickets and from leaving Melbourne at a respectable time we were put on 6am flight. We had to be at the airport at 4am. Once in Brisbane we had to change plane, which required taking a train to the international airport, that also means that they flew us domestic to Brisbane. We thought oh well things happen and so forth, however this year Virgin Australia is doing the same thing. They not only changed our flight, they changed the flight route! When we inquired about it they stated the operational reasons. What a nonsense! How is possible for any organisation to know in June that they will have 'operational reasons', that will forced them to change flight, in December? It is obviously a commercial reason of not having enough passengers for the direct flight to Melbourne. How come that they only have those "operational reasons" an a week day but hardly ever on Saturdays and Sundays? The international flight, that is more expensive to run and that we paid for, finishes now in Brisbane and the passengers need to go collect their luggage, go through customs, take a bus, queue up to be checked into a domestic flight, that is subsequently also cheaper to run. A clever way to avoid paying more tax to the government too. We are very disappointed in Virgin Australia, their customer service was also appalling and we will of course avoid flying with them as much as possible.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to NAN
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no