Top 100 Airlines  

Virgin Atlantic

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 589 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Wifi system almost impossible to use"

(United States)

London to Los Angeles with Virgin Atlantic. The plane was brand new. The entertainment system was buggy and despite being rebooted twice didn't work properly so flight attendant provided an i-Pad with movies and TV shows. Most frustratingly, after paying over $25 for Wifi the system remained almost impossible to use. When one did get on it, it was so slow as to be essentially useless. The flight attendants admitted this was an on-going complaint of passengers and were apologetic. It is unacceptable that Virgin Atlantic clearly knows about the huge deficiencies in its Wifi and yet still pretends to provide a service that essentially scams passengers for $25+. The food was OK, but it seemed like 40-50% of passengers were not provided their first choices, as witnessed by apologetic flight crew going seat-by seat to give them the bad news. With 4 hours to go, they were out of ice, rendering beverage service, especially for cocktails essentially over. The entertainment selection was very good in comparison with U.S. airlines, despite the fact that the in-seat video was broken. The Virgin seat remains the same. It's fine, but requires you to stand and commit to the bed option rather than be able to ease into it through various points of recline. Overall, the Heathrow ground-service and clubhouse remains the single most valuable aspect of the Virgin brand. The actual inflight experience however has seriously declined over the years. This latest flight was the worst, and rendered Virgin no longer the best in business class travel from the US to the UK which is a shame.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to LOS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"seats are more comfortable"

(South Africa)

My first experience of Premium Economy with Virgin, San Francisco to Johannesburg via London. Seats are more comfortable. The crew were great. Appreciated that at the odd hours crew was present and offering drinks during one of the flights from them. The fact that it's a Boeing 787 also enhances the flying experience. Food is well presented and tasty. I found the portions small though.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSFO to JNB via LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I didn't like the seats"

(United Kingdom)

London Heathrow to Atlanta. Booked with Delta as it worked out cheaper. Used Virgin many years back and stopped using them as they offered mediocre service. A pleasant surprise this time, service very friendly and professional, aircraft clean, food nice, though outbound portion was small and inbound was a decent portion. Couldn't connect to Wifi and had difficulty using the entertainment system. I didn't like the seats and couldn't get comfortable at all - a little more legroom would have been nice. But overall satisfied and will use them again
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLHR to ATL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"cabin crew rarely came around"

(United Kingdom)

We travelled back to Manchester from Las Vegas on Virgin Atlantic, after an over 2 hour delay, we were told our journey would be a comfortable one. I can speak for my family and friends, who were also on the flight, who said it was freezing and impossible to get comfortable. When we asked for a second blanket, we were told only one per person. As it was a night flight it was impossible to sleep. The cabin crew rarely came around and when they did, everything seemed too much effort for them. My husband and I were given a glass of water, which was warm. We found the whole journey home a nightmare.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to MAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"my new favorite airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | If my experience was normal then Virgin Atlantic is my new favorite airline. I flew economy from Heathrow to Miami. The staff at check in were cheerful and friendly. The flight crew was also super nice and efficient. Food and beverage service was more than acceptable. Inflight entertainment was also excellent. I found the seats to be very comfortable, the first time I didn't feel the need to use my neck pillow. They also had a decent amount of recline with a slight pivot forward for the bottom cushion for an economy seat. Flight left on time and landed early. I also enjoyed flying on the Dreamliner. If there was any hiccup, at the gate, the gate agent started calling the rows to board before the jetway was clear from his prior call. Could have spaced it out a little more.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to MIA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"found the seats very comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Having flown this route with BA before and being less than impressed with the attitude of the cabin staff toward economy passengers we decided to go with Virgin Atlantic this time flying from London Gatwick to Las Vegas. We found the seats very comfortable, the crew very pleasant and the IFE excellent. The only downside is that Las Vegas seems to be the go to place for stag and hen parties now and as such there were several groups on our flight, they were stood in the aisles most of the flight and drank the plane dry in a very short time, this is something that needs to be addressed.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to LAS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"warm, pleasant and service oriented"

(United States)

Return Newark - London Heathrow in Upper Class with Virgin Atlantic - a very peasant experience. Boarding was organized. Flights left and arrived on time. Staff were warm, pleasant and service oriented. Food was quite decent except for warm wine. Entertainment choices were good plus one could play with the mood lighting. I am not a fan of the bed because I frequently like to sit up but many slumbered soundly around me. The ClubHouse is very nice although we hit the LHR club when the hot food couldn't be served due to equipment problems.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteEWR to LHR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin staff were so grumpy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Orlando with Virgin Atlantic. The flight itself was excellent (including the outbound flight in the 'bubble' on the B747 upper deck) both captains introduced themselves and were very friendly, welcoming and cheerful. What a pity the cabin crew didn't receive the same customer service training. Whilst in Florida, I was contacted by Virgin asking if we would like to upgrade to premium economy. The agent was lovely, very friendly and chatty and consequently we paid the £179 each and upgraded. Again, what a pity the ground and cabin staff hadn't received the same training on how to interact with customers. On both flights, cabin staff were miserable and although they provided an adequate service, I felt awkward and uncomfortable asking for a glass of water. Apart from the essential questions, 'chicken or beef' and 'tea/coffee' there was no interaction or smiles at all. Both outbound and inbound flights were great - good seats, smooth flights, food ok (nothing special though, not even in premium class) it was just a pity that the cabin staff were so grumpy. After spending 2 weeks in Florida, where everyone was so happy, friendly and helpful, to fly home (which is depressing enough anyway) with such a miserable and unfriendly crew was a real downer for us. I'm not sure I would choose to fly Virgin Atlantic again, unless it was considerably cheaper than any other airline. It was almost as though the Virgin label they carry makes them feel a cut above the customers they are there to serve.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLGW to MCO
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"serious decline in service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Both the outbound and inbound flights from Gatwick to Orlando were in Upper Class. We noticed a serious decline in the level of service compared to the numerous previous flights with Virgin Atlantic. For 14 passengers it should not be too difficult to maintain a reasonable level of service but I feel in our cabin they were 1 full time member of cabin crew short in both directions. Also the 747 on the return leg was a LHR “hand-me-down”; the bar was missing and the cabinet they had installed to replace it was not really adequate for them to set out the food and drink. We are paying a premium price for these seats so Virgin Atlantic need to provide a better service. At this time of year, typically both flights from LGW to MCO are full (over 400 passengers on each). Are they not making money as it seems that LGW based flights are always the poor relations?
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLGW to MCO
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"given a free glass of champagne"

(United Kingdom)

A long haul flight in economy is never easy, however Virgin Atlantic staff made it all so much nicer. From check in at both ends to leaving the airport they were all polite and cheerful and very helpful. We were going to Las Vegas to get married and when the cabin crew found out we were given a free glass of champagne and given their best wishes as we left the plane. The food was good and drinks were offered on a regular basis. It's a long journey and the staff worked hard. We will fly with Virgin again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to LAS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes