Virgin America

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 289 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"dysfunctional pre-paid bag drop"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Kahului. Long lines (should arrive 3 hours early), dysfunctional pre-paid bag drop (stood in line for over 30 min). Customer service by phone in regards to flight change was poor. Flight attendants were rude on a previous flight from SFO to LAS. Only good thing is the inflight movies for free.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Kahului
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Thank you Virgin America"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Las Vegas to Austin via San Francisco in Main Cabin Select. A320 for both flights. Arrived at Las Vegas 2 hrs prior to departure and was advised SFO was experiencing ATC delays due to runway construction and would we mind leaving 1 hr earlier than planned, to ensure we made our connection to AUS. Thank you Virgin America, this worked out perfectly. Re ticketed in minutes, despite traveling on two different records. Given seats together in Main Cabin Select. Boarding was underway when we got to the gate, so we just walked right on board. We checked our bags, so no issue with lack of overhead space upon boarding. Left a few minutes late, then a 30 min ground hold, again due to SFO air traffic. Once in the air, choice of free food and beverages on this short 1 hr flight. Choose the protein snack with cheese and crackers and deli meats, which was excellent and would have not had a problem paying the $8 price tag, if we were in regular coach. I love the order online at our seat option. When the flight attendants get to your row, they simply hand you your choices. Very efficient. Landed 1 hr late in SFO, but still plenty of time for our connection. Spent 1.5 hrs in the Admirals Club, then a 3 hr flight to AUS, with again satisfying food options and beverages with a good choice of movies and shows to make the 3 hr flight time pass quickly. Would have liked to see a sandwich or salad offering on this sector, as the menu was the same as the short flight to SFO. Arrived on time, our bags were the 2nd ones off due to Priority Tags due to our status. Over all still a great airline that will be missed. If I have a complaint with Virgin America, its the size of the First Class cabin, making it hard to buy FC on short notice trips. If you have to go economy, Virgin America is a good choice though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLas Vegas to Austin via San Francisco
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no pilots available"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Virgin America from San Francisco to Austin. 3.5 hours late because no pilots available and all we got was a $15 voucher good for today only. Pathetic. I used to think Virgin was better than the rest but not anymore. United at least gives you a $100 voucher to use on another flight good for a year when they are this late.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Austin
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"event feels like a scam"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Boston. I changed a connecting flight from Seattle to San Francisco so Alaska cancelled my San Francisco to Boston leg. When I went to check in, I was told my ticket was cancelled and to get back on the same flight I would have to pay a $125 change fee and $328 for a fare difference - for the same flight they cancelled and didnt notify me of. Then, my seat assignment gets unassigned in the hour and a half between repurchasing my ticket amd getting to the airport. Now, I have to wait until 30 minutes before departure, lose any overhead space for my carryon and hope I have a seat. While im sure I'll be told there is some rule that allows the airline to do this, the entire event feels like a scam.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Boston
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"bad attitude by gate agent"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Seattle. Really poor service and bad attitude by gate agent. Unnecessarily gave me a hard time despite being first class. Unfriendly staff attendants that kept complaining about becoming part of Alaska and how different the culture between the two airlines is. Lounge was cramped and hardly had any good food.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLos Angeles to Seattle
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Unnecessary stress"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Los Angeles. I was told more than an hour and 20 min ago this morning that I could not board my flight - which I had already checked into online, by a woman representing the airline who then claimed she was a supervisor, when I asked to speak to one. After driving home my point that this was completely unacceptable and wasting valuable time, she allowed me to speak to the woman at checkout, 10 ft away, who said there was no problem at all, showed me how to call up my boarding pass on screen of my phone. Flight was not to leave for another 40 min, 11:30 AM, yet first woman sought to unnecessarily block me and delay me. At 12:23pm now, I'm still sitting on that plane, that she argued I couldn't board, waiting for it to pull away. Unnecessary stress.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"care about sitting next to my wife"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to Washington Dulles. This flight was in September and I purchased the tickets in May. It was part of a honeymoon trip for my newly wed wife and I. The other 3 flights previous to this one ( different carriers all booked at the same time) were wonderful. As I selected to sit with my wife on each flight, once aboard this flight we were seated on completely opposite sides of the plane. I could care less about food/drink service, flight amenities, or any other part of the flight, but I care about is that I'm sitting next to my wife. Now I'm on a coast to coast flight sitting on opposite sides of the plane.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Washington Dulles
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"not very service oriented"

(United States)

Verified Review | Austin to San Francisco. The flight from to SFO was uneventful and I had a pretty good experience. The return flight not so much. In the end, the flight was 2.5 hours late into Austin. There was no issue with weather; it is still unclear why we had such a delay. Virgin did a very poor job of explaining it and really provided no information about the delay until after our flight was to have departed. Once we pushed back from the gate, it took about 1 hour before we took off. Then, about 20 minutes after take-off, some people started to get up to use the rest room. They were quickly scolded since the fasten seat belt sign was still on. Once the pilot finally turned off the sign, about a dozen people jumped out of their seats and formed a long line for the restrooms at the back of the plane. I waited a while, and once the rest room in the front was unoccupied for a couple of minutes, I went up and used it. I was in row 5, so very near the front. As I returned to my seat, the flight attended reminded me that the rest room in the front was for first class. I said I understood that but there was a long line in the back and they had already had us on the plane for a couple of hours, so I had to do what I had to do. She scolded me some more and made me promise that I would not use the first class restroom for the remainder of the flight. Then another person from row 4 went to use the front rest room. She refused to let him and insisted that he join the long line in the back. On other flights, we have been told that it is also against the rules to form a long line for the rest rooms. When the crew came through for drinks, they gave mostly ice and only about 2/3 of a cup of soda. I felt that the flight crew was rude and not very understanding given the situation that they created for their customers, and not very service oriented. The entertainment system was good and the seats were not bad relative to other airlines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAustin to San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"just isn't worth it anymore"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to New York JFK. Having flown Virgin about 6 times in the last 2 months I've been very pleased. The purple light in the plane is relaxing and the hostesses are always great. I love the Loft lounge before flights- it makes traveling much more enjoyable. It is $30 extra, but definitely worth it. Either purchase it online or get there early to be able to join it. Tonight I was flying from LAX to JFK at 11:05. Virgin has a policy that you must get to check in 40 mins before if you are checking a bag. I knew this policy which is why when I was in the LAX car pool I tried calling them multiple times because I was at gate 1 and the traffic was moving slowly. I decided to go check in myself and pay my uber driver to meet me there with my bags. I make it to the counter 2-3 mins after the cut off. The agent said curtly that she could not help me because I was late. I said how I tried to call multiple times, but no one answered. I asked what my options were (take off is still 35 mins away) and she said she coult try to put me on Standby for 7am. I asked what I was supposed to do for the next 8 hours and she said to sit on the bench or to get a hotel. I said I would be fine hanging in the Loft till then and I would gladly pay the upcharge because I did not book it for my late flight. She said the lounge was not open when I wanted since Alaska Airlines bought Virgin. I did not know anything about this. Virgin is more expensive to fly to the East coast, and I never had a problem paying extra because it was better. But since Alaska took over, it just isn't worth it anymore because it really is not better than any airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to New York JFK
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Verified Review | Washington to Los Angeles. I was pleasantly surprised by the entire flying experience on Virgin America. Comfy seats, free entertainment that's easy to access, tasty food for purchase, very nice staff, on-time boarding and takeoff - so much better than my experiences on United Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes