Top 100 Airlines  

Virgin America

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 261 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"a disappointing experience"

(Australia)

Flew Virgin America from Los Angeles to Sydney. I have to say I was extremely disappointed with the food on both flights especially breakfast and yes I know we only flew economy class but the breakfast focaccia was so tough, we would have been better off eating the box it came in. The noise the cabin crew made on our flight home made it hard to sleep, they weren't helping customers they were just sitting talking amongst themselves about what they'd been up to in the last few days. Our seats were at the back of the plane, picked on purpose and never before have I had to ask the staff to please quieten down so we could sleep. All in all a disappointing experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"offer me no refund or hotel"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kahului to Chicago via San Francisco. This is by far the worst experience. The plane was suppose to depart at 10PM. It was then canceled and moved up by 10 hours for the flight to depart 8AM! When I called the Virgin America Customer Service, they did not have a record of the flight being canceled. After dreadfully waiting in line, the receptionist told me there was a lack of staff. I then called the customer service staff and, they told me the staff cannot work over a certain period of time. Delta had food for the clients as well, but not Virgin. Virgin would offer me no refund or hotel room because of their lack of staff. Lots of people were sleeping at the airport.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOGG to SFO via ORD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"really upset about my experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to San Francisco. I am really upset about my experience with virgin America. I had a layover in Las Vegas and my first flight was delayed so I only had 35 minutes in between flights. I ran to my Virgin America flight and go there 25 min before the flight departed to be told that they gave away my ticket because I wasn't checked in 30 minutes ahead of time. I tried to ask what was going to happen and she just told me to sit down and wait because she needed to get the plane going. She then called people on standby before me even though I actually had a reservation. I missed my flight and don't know when they are going to put me on - never flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to SFO
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a pleasant flight"

(Swaziland)

Verified Review | Flew Virgin America from New York to San Francisco. From the service at the counter to the flight itself though tired from flying JHB to JFK (international 15hrs), this was a pleasant flight, smooth, clean, elegant and very kind crew. I'm wondering why I haven't used Virgin before now. I was impressed.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to SFO
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"would definitely fly again"

(Germany)

Verified Review | San Diego to Boston via San Francisco with Virgin America. Found an absolutely miraculous deal on this flight. It was a through flight so I didn't have to change planes in SFO. We just got off, grabbed some food and got back on. Even with parents of a toddler next to me, I was comfortable in my seat and due to the live TV stream and the time of this year, almost everyone was watching the Olympics which was kind of fun. The staff was attentive and brought any drinks I ordered almost immediately. I didn't buy any food but the people next to me did twice (it's a long flight and they had a toddler). Both times, it was easy for them and their food came quite quickly. Would definitely fly again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSAN to BOS via SFO
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"was cramped and uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have enjoyed previous Virgin America flights and was looking forward to flying them from Seattle to Los Angeles. The plane was cramped and uncomfortable, and my seat didn't recline. No snacks on a 3 hour flight and 1 tiny cup of lukewarm coffee. Then a 20 min wait on the runway as our arrival gate was not available.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSEA to LAX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"level of foresight was excellent"

(United States)

Customer service to the max! On my return from a weekend in Las Vegas, I was exhausted and not that thrilled to be connecting red eye through LA to Boston, but so be it. So I was very pleasantly surprised when Virgin called me up to the gate to inform me that my flight was just delayed and I would miss my connection. So they had rebooked me on a JetBlue nonstop arriving earlier than my scheduled flight! The level of foresight was excellent, I hadn't even learned of the delay issue before they fixed it. And I got an exit row to boot. So my new favorite airline, Virgin America, is one I've still never flown! (Contrast this with my flight out to Vegas on American Airlines, which refused to let me fly standby to avoid a delayed flight, despite having plenty of open seats, because I didn't have 'status'. Thanks, American, for making me feel like a second class citizen even though your flight delay was causing my inconvenience.) I'll look to book with Virgin on my next flight, and hope to actually fly with them!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to BOS via LAX
Date FlownJune 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"seats are very comfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | A few months ago I traveled Virgin America premium economy and the service was terrible, I thought it was because I wasn't in first class. On my recent trip from Los Angeles to New York JFK I purchased first class tickets. The service was still very poor. I fell asleep and when I woke up later they did not offer anything to drink or eat. The seats are very comfortable though.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLAX to JFK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst customer service"

(United States)

San Francisco to Las Vegas, and Virgin America has given me the worst customer service experience I have had with any airline. You would think that making seat assignments is such a small task in the airline business, but when you deal with Virgin America, they will leave you convinced that this is a very hard thing to do! First of all, when I booked my flights, their system didn't allow me to make seat assignments because "it was too early". I tried again one week before my flight but almost all of their seats were grayed out. I called them to make the seat assignments and waited about 20 minutes to talk to a rep. While waiting, the recorded message cautioned me that I am going to have to pay $20 for using the phone service. Then the rep verbally assigned me seats that were never reflected on their website. I called again to confirm and they said "it takes time for the seats to show". I went to the airport to find that those seats are not mine and was given seats in the very last row next to the bathrooms! On the way back, similar screw up has unfolded. Called to make my seat assignments and found myself going through the same hassle. The rep lacked integrity and kept changing his story to force me accept seats in the last row again. Then when I asked him to just not make any assignments at the time, he still went ahead and assigned those seats anyways.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to LAS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was by far the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Virgin America cancelled my flight due to crew issues and did not provide a new itinerary. Rather they sent an email asking me to rebook my flight within two months so as not to incur fees. I proceeded to call them and spent four hours on the phone to get on a new flight. They confirmed me on several flights, I raced from terminal to terminal (mind you I'm pregnant) but because the supervisor took so long to confirm each flight I missed three flights in a row. I could have accomplished what they were trying to do (rebooking me through a flight on Kayak) in 5 minutes. Because they did end up rebooking me on a flight (which instead of being direct, flew through Boston and added 4 hours to my trip) they are not giving me a reimbursement, even though the supervisor on the phone promised to do so. I have never been more disappointed in customer service and will not be travelling with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to IAD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no