Virgin America

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 310 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"learn how to smile"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Indianapolis. I was on my last leg of journey home from New Zealand. I flew out with American, an then Fiji, Air New Zealand, Jetstar in New Zealand and they were all great. The staff on Virgin America need to fly with these airlines and learn how to smile, be friendly, and not look grouchy. A smile goes a long way.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Indianapolis
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"plenty of space to stretch"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Indianopolis. Nearly empty flight, so there was plenty of space to stretch and move about. In-flight entertainment and food ordering was easy using the touchscreen. Food was decent; there was an accessible box of water bottles towards the back. I do wish they would clean the IFE remote and seatback pockets though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Indianopolis
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Austin to Kahului via San Francisco. Virgin America has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Our flight, booked months ago, was canceled approximately 48 hours in advance. All we received was an email. The links in the email directing you to get a refund or reschedule were broken. The flight status was not even available until about 24 hours in advance. My husband and I both called the recommended phone number and were put on hold for over 2 hours and then hung up on. The next day, we called back and were put in a queue. It took over three hours to get a call back. When we finally talked to a human being, we were re-routed to customer service and then hung up on. Flights have gone up in price since we booked, and they would not give us a refund that would cover the price of a new flight or book us on another flight the same day, which means we will lose money pre-paid on hotels and rental cars at our destination and have to pay out of pocket for the difference in a last-minute flight to get there. They just do not work with you at all or even try to understand your needs or respond to you in a timely manner. I will never be booking with Virgin again, and advise customers to beware — if your flight is cancelled due to the airline itself (where they should really step up to assist you), you may not even receive a full refund and may not reach your destination.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAustin to Kahului via San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible customer service!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Nashville. Horrible customer service! Booked this flight months ago and upgraded to exit row at extra fee. 3 hours before flight my seats were given away. My party was disbursed throughout plane. Rude attendants. I have extreme anxiety and other health issues and those were not considered.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Nashville
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"no lounge in SFO"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to San Francisco. I am trying to return home on eve of a major storm. I usually fly UA but not satisfied with their service including 1st class so I thought give Virgin America a try. I am on a paid 1st Cl ticket and flight out ok. Food very good seat not lie flat but fine for length of flight. One complaint no lounge in SFO. I am at the moment trying to make a change to an earlier flight to avoid getting stuck by cancellation. The online link to modify it in is dead and have been on hold for 45”. The press one for call back option is also dead. I realize it is a mess for them with merger as well as storm warning in progress but one reason I fly 1st is for better service in this kind of service. And BTW no lounge in NY airports
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteNewark to San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"saw no harm in moving up a row"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Portland . Terrible customer service by the staff. I was sitting in 4D (aisle seat) on a relatively empty flight, the 3rd which is an upgrade row was completely empty so I saw no harm in moving up a row and making myself more comfortable. But the flight attendant approached me after the doors were closed and in the most obnoxious, loud and embarrassing way proceeded to inquisition me loudly about my assigned seat, and that this was an upgrade row that “I have to pay to sit in”. The row sat empty the entire flight and the flight attendant continued to be rude to me. Terrible customer experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteChicago to Portland
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I felt bullied on this flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Fort Lauderdale. I’m not sure what has happened to the art of humbly and kindly displaying hospitality in the air, but the crew aboard the Virgin America flight VX 1340 9:30 am on 3/10/2018 to Fort Lauderdale was extremely unprofessional and not eager to be courteous. Early on in our flight, the captain placed the seatbelt sign on due to turbulence. I needed to use the restroom as I glance back I saw a gentleman standing and waiting near where attendants were sitting in their quarters. They were laughing, giggling and flirting with the passenger as he stood and waited for the restroom to become available. When He went into the restroom, I stood up to wait exactly where he just stood, only to get a very rude toned request to sit while I wait. I asked why that gentlemen wasn’t addressed in the same manner to only have another rude response followed by the two employees speaking poorly of me as I entered the restroom. For the remainder of the flight, the stewardesses treated me very poorly and made me feel extremely uncomfortable with nasty stares. At one point I was watching a movie, and the head stewardess, not having any interaction with me prior, came over in an aggressive manner and waved her hand in front of my face, with no smile asked me if there is a problem here she should be aware of, when I said no, because I was not about to have any further aggressive and rude comments thrown my way, she asked again are you sure, I felt bullied on this flight. It is my hope that you will address this behavior for future passenger experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"whole process was terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Los Angeles. The whole process was terrible I arrived at the airport a Hour early, waited in line until it finally became my turn to get my boarding pass and everything. Well the man helping me get checked in kept walking away from the computer to help other people and finally comes back to my counter and told me “you missed your check in time by 10 minutes” (10 minutes of my own time he spent not helping me get my boarding pass.) After explaining to him I had to be on that certain plane for a family emergency. He told me it wasn’t his problem and I should have been at the airport earlier if it was important to me. Flat out most disrespectful attendant I have ever dealt with but doesn’t end there. He got me another plane that brought me to San Fran airport then had to wait 3 hours to board another plane. And Recharged me a 35$ fee for layover when I already bought protection on my original tickets. When I tried to tell him I already paid for flight protection he walked off and got another attendant to help me. Then when I finally got on the plane all the flight attendants were rude. I ordered a “free” beverage and it took over 45 min to get (no turbulence) Overall first and last time ever wasting my time with Virgin Airlines. Do yourself a favor and avoid their airline unless you like to be treated worthless!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"will no longer recommend Virgin"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew Virgin America from Dallas to Los Angeles. Let’s start on how incredibly rude and unhelpful the agent at the gate was. When asked if she could help with arranging my seat to an aisle seat for the extra cost, she simply said that the aircraft was full, never even looking up at me. Then quickly starts talking to her coworker without letting me get in another word. Once on the plane, I noticed that their was several seats open. I knew that these were not no-shows as the last person who was called for the flight was standing right behind me when boarding. But the bad customer service doesn’t stop there. The flight attendants were even worse. My boyfriend had asked a flight attendant for an item and she responded with a shouting “hold on!” We didn’t understand why she had shouted it since we were simply asking for our order. It wasn’t as if she was helping anyone else at the time. She was currently helping us. The second flight attendant wasn’t any better. Just simply rude in her tone. Seemed as if she was bothered with anyone. To make matters worse my baggage got lost! Since I had a late flight there wasn’t any stores open by the time I left the airport. The baggage was returned within 24 hours however, I picked it up since it was a four hour delay in delivery. This experience was by far the worst I’ve had with any airline and I travel a lot for business. I will no longer recommend Virgin to anyone. American Airlines has just as nice planes with much better customer service. My 3 stars are for the plane, the entertainment and the one flight attendant who overly apologized for the two rude agents.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a gruelling experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Orlando. I could not believe an aircraft of this side that offers movie, music, games and TV entertainment did not have earbuds available for purchase. I sat in flight for 5.5 hours with basically nothing to do. What a gruelling experience. Although this is my first time flying with Virgin America, next time I hope my employer will make a better choice.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Orlando
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no