Top 100 Airlines  

US Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 460 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"customer should be respected"

(United States)

My US Airways departure flight was late but I made it at the last moment to my connecting flight and they had all ready given my seat away. I went to customer service and they got me a connecting flight and nothing else. I spent 13 hours overnight in LAX waiting on my flight for the next morning and who wouldn't love to do that after a day of travelling? They didn't even offer me a food voucher or a cot to sleep on. I did contact customer service through their site and nothing, they said they would address the issue. You think they would at least have offered to pay for my bag on the return trip or given me a sandwich or something. Yes I did do economy but it was still over a $1000. And a customer should be respected because we're the one's who keep them in business.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRIC to HNL
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"behavior was unbelievable"

(United States)

I've never been more infuriated at the lack of professionalism of any company in my life. I am flying with my grandmother who is 87yrs old. A airport staff member was helping me. When we got her to the entrance of the plane the US Airways flight attendants didn't offer her any help, did not walk her to her seat even after I asked them to, as I was struggling with luggage, and rolled their eyes when I handed them her purse. Their behavior was unbelievable and unacceptable. I would've gotten better service on a Greyhound.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePittsburgh to Washington DC
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff were just plain rude"

(United Kingdom)

The US Airways flight from Heathrow to Philadelphia were fine and so was my domestic flight to Memphis. However, my return flight via Charlotte to London Heathrow, was a complete nightmare. We taxied to the run way on time to me told by the captain that a fault (which he said they knew about and should have already been fixed earlier that day) had occurred, it was nothing serious and we would go back to the stand for the system to be rebooted, then we would be on our way. Well, the reboot took place, pushed back from the stand to be told the fuel switch over light had come back on and we would have to return to the stand for engineers to take another look as reboot hadn't worked. Sat on stand for ages, then the captain said anyone who wished to leave the plane, to rearrange connecting flights, or to stretch their legs was welcome to do so and return to the plane at anytime. I was travelling with my disabled mother, but was worried as my father was due to travel 2hrs to collect us at Heathrow, and due to the time difference was about to leave her home in the UK. I asked a stewardess if it would be OK to leave my mom on the plane while I just step outside to make a call. Her words were "no problem". I left the plane and was told I had to go past the barriers at the departure gate, which I duly did. I managed to contact my father and asked the ground crew if I could return to the plane. The man was so rude and said no way, can't get back on the plane unless we tell you. I tried to explain that wasn't how it was told to us and I had my disabled mother onboard the aircraft, he shrugged his shoulder and walked away. I then noticed a woman staff member, who was talking to another couple, I waited at a distance, no saying a word as I didn't want to interrupt their conversation, but the women staff member turned to me and said, "don't interrupt, I'll deal with you in a minute". I was totally stunned at her attitude. Well, eventually I did get back on the plane but only after explaining about my mother and what the captain and stewardess had said. Eventually everyone was allowed back on board as we were told the plane had been fixed. Again we pushed back to be told fault had reappeared and engineers were going to replace a value. Again we were told it was fixed, pushed back, and, you guessed it, fault reappeared. This time we were told by the captain, even if the plane could be fixed a new crew would have to be found as they were now illegal to fly. This took place over 6hrs! One half filled cup of water and a packet of pretzels were given within those 6hrs. Then came the announcement, the flight was cancelled. Everyone got off, but my mother needed a wheelchair which took ages to come so by the time we got out to the departure gate we were last in the queue. Eventually given a flight home, 24hrs later, told couldn't get us a hotel as NASCAR was in town, given a cot to sleep on and $20 in food vouchers, but this was after midnight and no food outlets were open. When it was bought to the staff attention, the lukewarm food from the plane was given to us. My mother couldn't sleep in the cot provided so spent a sleepless night in her wheelchair. This episode was a complete nightmare, most of the staff were just plain rude, with two exceptions of the ground crew at the departure gate.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCLT to LHR
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flight attendants are rude"

(United States)

I was traveling with my girlfriend to Vegas and then onto San Diego for a short 5 day vacation. When I booked my flights I had the option of selecting my seat assignments. We chose to sit in the emergency exit rows or as close to the front as possible. After I chose the seats, the airline confirmed they were our seats. When we left out of Akron Canton airport we were in the last row of the airplane. No big deal. It was a 1.25 hour flight to our connection. The next flight they didn't even have us sitting next to each other. She was two rows behind me on the opposite side of a full plane, with both of us having middle seats. Nobody trades you seats for a middle seat. We had three planes to board out of San Diego on our way home. Not one time were the seats next to each other. Why offer me a opportunity to reserve my seats and then not give them to me. Was it because someone paid the extra fee to take my seats? Probably. I sent US Airways an email to ask them why this happened. Their response was sorry, I hope you choose to fly with us in the future. The flight attendants are rude. The customer service is horrible. There is no chance I will fly with them again. On this trip we flew from Vegas to San Diego on Southwest. I had never flown with them before. I was always leery about flying budget airlines. Never again will I fly US Airways.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAkron to Las Vegas
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"displeasure of flying US Airways"

(United States)

I had the displeasure of flying US Airways on Monday October 12th. My flight was suppose to leave Sacramento and connect in Phoenix with my final destination of Austin. After boarding the flight in Sacramento at 5:35 am for a 6:05 departure we were told there was a maintenance issue that would take a few minutes. The few minutes became an hour resulting in a delay in takeoff and a late arrival to Phoenix and me missing my connection to Austin by mere minutes (I arrived at the gate at 8:37am and the flight left at 8:46am). As a result I had to be rebooked and was told I was rebooked on a flight at 6:45pm resulting in spending the entire day in the airport and missing work and several appointments. This may have been easier to take if customer service had been good but it was not and their employees were rude, brisk and unapologetic. I will absolutely never fly US Airways or American Airlines again. Customer service goes a long way when situations occur and this airlines is lacking it in spades!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to Austin
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude and unwilling to help"

(United States)

My flight from Philadelphia to Providence was cancelled because they used the airplane from my flight for another flight. After waiting in a 2 hour long line at Customer Service, I was told that there were no flights out until the following afternoon (almost 24 hours from my original flight time), that I would not be put up in a hotel for the night because "none were available", and that they had no responsibility to find alternate travel methods for me. I am an 18 year old college student, and I was hours away from home and an hour from school. The representative I spoke with was rude and unwilling to help me. I will not travel with US Airways again, because of their lack of care for their customers. There should be no tolerance for making customers sleep in an airport all night long, when they are meant to provide alternate accommodations. I am very displeased.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Providence
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Felt like the 70's"

(United States)

I never write reviews but I feel compelled to write after experiencing US Airways appalling bad service from Philadelphia to Amsterdam. Flew on 21st September, the flight was on time. Beyond that it was a nightmare. They fly a Boeing 757 aircraft on this route, with 3x3 seat configuration in economy (business didn't look much better). The flight attendants can barely fit down the aisle. In fact, one of them suggested writing a review! Very little overhead space and people trying to cram their things in. The in flight entertainment system was a single movie shown on drop down screens above the aisle. Felt like the 70's. Just horrible. So if you're going to Amsterdam, I would suggest avoiding US Airways out of PHL at all costs.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHL to AMS
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"missed my connecting flight"

(United States)

This is my third time this year flying with US Airways and American Airlines and this is the third time my flight has been delayed or cancelled. Most recently, there was a delay of one hour without any reason, therefore delaying everyone for their connecting flights. I missed my connecting flight and they had no sympathy whatsoever. Only flights were the next day and they wouldn't give me any compensation for their failures. Never again US airways. Never.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to San Diego via Philadelphia
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had not been assigned a seat"

(United States)

I booked a US Airways flight through Expedia and noticed I had not been assigned a seat. I called to get a seat assignment and was told that I could not be pre-assigned a seat among the seats remaining, unless I paid a fee. This is outrageous. I have already paid for a ticket. They have to give me a seat. So why can't I call and choose among the remaining seats. I was told it would not be fair to other passengers, but that doesn't make sense. Other passengers could call ahead, too, if they wished. US Airways just wants an excuse to charge people extra for seats they have already paid for. That is what is unfair. From now on I will look carefully and only book flights on airlines that pre-assign seats or allow one to choose seats when they book, a choice US Airways does not give passengers who book on Expedia. This is an unpleasant surprise to passengers who would like to sit with their spouse or other traveling companion. On top of this, the phone representative was rude.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLouisville to Washington
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"showed no concern for passenger"

(United States)

US Airways is my worst experience on an airline ever. Left Ft Myers Friday night, land Charlotte to find my connecting flight was canceled. Service area was manned by one person, other where on break. I ask for a supervisor he would not approach me or asked what he could do. I approached him, and ask if he new flight was canceled. He told me no he did not know. I asked I knew by text message, and he was not notified. He told me his radio was off and he did not know. He showed no concern for the passenger and just walked away. Spent the night in Charlotte and board a plane to Williamington to get connecting flight to Philly. Sat on plane waiting for co-pilot and for them to replace a bad tire. Took off an hour late, we arrived in time to see the Philadelphia plane leave. They rebooked us one another flight that has now been delayed. 24 hours and still waiting to get to Philadelphia. I may get there in time to catch my return flight back to Fort Myers. Also they have no idea where my bag is, with a checked fire arm.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Myers to Philadelphia
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no