US Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1378 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

" treated in such an obnoxious way"

Review by (United States)

A very bad experience on our US Airways flights Bangor to Tampa via Philadelphia. The plane leaving Bangor lost the air conditioning on the runway, had to go back for repairs. Hot plane, no communication from the captain or crew about what was going on. Late to Philadelphia, we ran to C terminal, Gate 20 and arrived 14 minutes before departure. A very rude gate agent had just given away our first class seats to two people already on board even though there was a line to board of about 30 people. She refused to honor our seats even though we'd paid for them and had boarding cards. We have never been treated or threatened in such an obnoxious way. Although we paid for first, we rode in the back of the plane. Our recent experiences with US Airways have been getting worse.
AircraftCanadair Jet, A340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteBangor to Tampa via Philadelphia
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

In 2013 we paid extra to fly non stop to San Diego, an hour before our flight while in transit, we get an alert our flight was canceled. Now in they move our departing flight out an hour and move our returning flight out an hour with no alerts or notice. On both trips, even though we booked our seats so our family would sit together, they split us up. So my 14 year old daughter had to sit next to strangers on both flights. When we asked the staff to switch seats they ignored us.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RoutePhiladelphia to Nw Oreans
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

I flew from Phoenix to Lima through Mexico City without problems. However on the return trip, there was a major delay in the airport in Mexico City (caused by the government), causing me to miss my connecting flight. The man at the counter was rude, but eventually provided me with a continuation of my journey which included a new flight through Puerto Vallarta and an overnight stay. Once I tried to board from Puerto Vallarta, they told me that, because of the change in flight, it was no longer an international flight and therefore I would have to pay an additional baggage fees. Although I provided documentation that this was part of the Phoenix, Lima trip, she didn't care and became rude when I pressed the issue. The flight crew were fine, and airplane was normal. Just that the ticketing people are completely unreasonable and rude.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RoutePhoenix, AZ to Lima, Peru via Mexico City
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Round Trip. Both flights had good crew, though the outbound crew were much more interactive as a daytime flight. Food excellent on outbound and certainly good on the return. Great seat in 1-2-1 configuration. Small delays on both legs, but arrived within half an hour of scheduled time. In all respects better than the BA option through London, which I frequently use.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Philadelphia
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

First-the flight was rescheduled from 10.10pm departure to 12.20am due to no pilots to fly the plane. Boarding starting at midnight and was fully boarded before the pilots showed up - first pilot at 12.20am and second pilot at 12.24am. Second-only a blanket was available for each passenger, no pillows available on an all-night flight. Third-no beverages were made available even in first class. Fourth-at no time did any of the crew apologize for the delay or for the lack of amenities. Fifth-the plane itself had no electronics available at all - no video screens and no outlets for electronics - truly very Spartan. Sixth-at 7am EDT the first beverages were offered along with the "first class" continental breakfast which consisted of a small croissant roll, a packet of almond butter, a small tube of strawberry preserves, a wedge of cheese and a mint - not "first class" at all. Seventh-the flight landed and we left the aircraft at 8.58am EDT. In summary, I would not recommend US Airways as a source to use for night-time intercontinental flights. It was a ridiculous example of airline management and treatment of customers.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSeattle, WA to Charlotte, NC
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (Australia)

The charade continues. We got up at 5.00am for a 7.50am flight that has now been delayed until at least 4.00pm with no guarantee that the flight will actually leave. No notification of the delay was sent to passengers, no offer to place passengers on other flights or airlines was made, no compensation was offered for the inconvenience or to losing hotel in LA. As some attempt at a sop, we have each been offered a $10.00 lunch voucher to be redeemed at one of the departure lounge junk-food outlets. And as if that isn't insulting enough, as two passengers' names were included on the voucher, the junk-food outlet refused to honour the $10.00 for the second passenger. So, back to the airline counter to wait for another 15 or 20 minutes before being told that US Airways had run out of vouchers. The ineptitude is extraordinary.
AircraftBroken
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteWashington to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (Australia)

Never before have I encountered an airline with less interest in its customers. 1) Passengers were not informed of a 3 hour delay forcing us to wake at 5.00am for a 7.50am flight and then wait in the airport departure lounge until 10.15am. 2) It is now 1.11pm, we are still in the departure lounge and the flight has been delayed until 4.00pm with no guarantee of departure. 3) No attempt has been made to transfer passengers to other flights or airlines - worse, it was actively opposed. 4) No attempt has been made to compensate passengers for LA day hotel and other expenses incurred. 5) No attempt has been made to soften the inconvenience by providing access to the Lounge or other customer service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteWashington DC to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

Very frustrating experience with gate attendant mandating the checking of bags at the gate when overhead space still available. Caused the inability to take original delayed flight through DC and delaying arrival by hours. Delays happen just wish guest service from this airline could provide recovery.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteManchester, NH to Indianapolis, IN via D.C.
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (Belgium)

I was due to travel from Philadelphia to Brussels (direct flight) at 6:20pm 17 August. The flight was delayed for 2 hours before they informed us that the aircraft needed to be changed. After the aircraft was changed and we actually took off, 20 minutes into the flight, there was a technical problem and we were informed that the plane had to return to Philadelphia. After we returned to the airport, we were told that there was another plane ready for us, and were left there for 3 hours waiting for a crew to arrive. In the end there was no crew and the flight was cancelled. It took another 3 hours to rebook everyone on different flights. It was disorganised chaos with no guidance whatsoever as to how to get vouchers and how to get to our hotels. It was 4am by the time we got to our hotel. I was rebooked on a flight to Brussels via Munich due to depart at 6:30pm on 18 August. After boarding was completed we were told that there was a technical problem - were left on the plane for 1.5 hours without any update. Eventually we were told to disembark and to board another plane. This was the 3rd plane with technical issues in a period of 24 hours. We eventually departed at 10pm. The staff on the flight were extremely rude and patronising. The inflight entertainment was a nightmare to use as the touch screen was pretty much not working. I would definitely not recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RoutePhiladelphia to Brussels via Munich
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

US Airways customer review

Review by (United States)

We flew from Hartford to Jacksonville via Charlotte and return. Every flight was on time. All US Airways staff were efficient and pleasant. Seats were comfortable and just enough distance apart. We will fly with them again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHartford to Jacksonville via Charlotte
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes