Airline of the Year  

United Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1670 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"recommend going back to the drawing board"

(United States)

Verified Review | I am reviewing the Boeing 737-900 I flew from Chicago to Los Angeles with United. Basically a bad design (from the 1970s) with a new plastic facelift. No legroom for a 5ft 10in person - knees hit table metal, and no room for feet under Seat in front. Seat recline limited with entertainment screen in my face when person in front reclines. Use of laptop impossible! Now for my comments on the 1970 entertainment system, paid $8 and could not watch movies on demand - 5 hour flight, but always missed start of movies and tv shows - it's 2017. And then the controls for the entertainment system were located on the seat arm - needless to say that my neighbor got very upset several times after I changed her viewing channel Finally my expensive headphones could not save the poor quality 1970 audio jack plug and sound. Recommend going back to the drawing board!
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Los Angeles
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"never been so disappointed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Detroit to Newark. My mom has been working for United for over 28 years so when I fly I use her buddy passes. Using her buddy passes this means that I fly standby (which means I only get a seat if one is available). I decided to fly home for the weekend so I decided to fly from Detroit airport to Newark on June 23rd. There were about 15-20 open seats on this flight so I knew there should be no problem getting on the flight. There were a few delays due to air traffic control and that is normal and expected on a busy day like Friday. After waiting a few hours in delays, it was finally time for my flight to board. I stood right by the podium as I waited for everyone to board and once they finished I went right up the front desk to ask if any stand bys have been called yet. The lady said she wasn't sure and that she had to wait for one of the other agents to come back because she would have the answer. I waited about 5-10 minutes for the other agent to go back and I nervously kept looking at the screen to make sure that I didn't miss my name being called but the screen still said "Boarding" and my name was not checked off the screen yet despite all of the empty seats. The United agent finally returned and when I asked her about the stand by's she had nothing to say to me. All she said was that the doors were already closed and that I would not be making it on the flight. I did not understand what she was saying because there were no announcements made AT ALL about final boarding. Not only did the agent forget to call the whole stand by list, she never announced that boarding was coming to an end. Before the flight even began boarding, I specifically went up to the Agents and told them I was flying stand by and I asked them if they would be calling out my name so that I could receive my ticket. They assured me they would call me once everyone else was boarded. However, this was not the case at all. While this whole ordeal was happening, I was talking to my mom on the phone who told me that she never has seen something like this in her 28 years of flying. She was very upset by this as was I and instructed me to see if there was something else I could talk to. When I asked the lady if I could talk to someone else about this problem, she told me there was nobody else I could talk to about this issue. The lady then began to ignore me when I continued to talk to her about this problem. I was absolutely baffled on how an airline could just get away without giving a final boarding call for a flight. There was also another person on stand by who missed out on this flight because the agents never made the proper announcements. This was the last flight out for the day so it caused me to be stuck in Detroit for the night when this never should have happened considering there were over 15 seats open. Not only did the lady refuse to help or even tell me what happened, she failed to do one of her basic duties as an agent - which is make the proper announcements. I am a college student who cannot afford to pay to spend a night in a hotel so this left me in a terrible situation. I have flown United my whole life and I have never been so disappointed with them as I am today.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Newark
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"attendants offered excellent personalized service"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was the best economy class flight I have had on United in a while. Flew San Francisco to Washington. The service was great, all attendants offered excellent personalized service - eye contact, smiles, all the right stuff. Beverages were offered at least four times during the 4 hour flight with snacks being offered twice. It was a real pleasure. We took off on time and landed about 30 minutes early. Even boarding, with an outsized Group 1, was fast and efficient. A very positive experience overall.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Washington
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"close to mediocre"

(United States)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Houston. I've previously taken this route four years ago and I was expecting the same. Well, that wasn't the case. For a trans-pacific flight, the flight crew was not approachable or polite in any matter besides maybe two who did an excellent job. There was one who was very sarcastic and rude to a passenger and another who was not knowledgeable of the food she was serving. The food portions were rather small compared to a domestic trans-con flight. For dinner, they served chicken rice or pasta with a roll and a cup of salad, and vanilla ice cream. In the middle of the flight, they served snacks. Ice-cold ham & cheese sandwich with Asian-style trail mix and a chocolate. The sandwich was terrible. I gave praise to the crew walking around the cabin giving away water in between meal times. Then before landing, breakfast. Cheese omelet with a "rubber" sausage and hashbrowns or this Japanese chicken rice with this bourbon cookie. The crew was not very presentable and mediocre, some of the crew looked like they just lazily put on their uniform without a care of how they looked. There were only two crew who had a smile on their face the whole flight. Some had the expression of regret for choosing their career as a flight attendant, some were just tired and wanted to go back to the crew rest, and some had great poise. The seat was rather decent for a 12-hour flight. Great legroom and recline degree and the cushioning are comfortable for sleep - there were even pillows and blankets. There was also an IFE screen on each seat but none of them worked the entire flight. The crew tried their best to reboot and get it to work but it wouldn't budge. No movies or TV programs would work but games and the flight map did. It was a good thing there was in-flight wifi which you can connect to use the United app where you can enjoy free entertainment with latest movies and TV shows free of charge. Before I went on this flight I flew into Tokyo Narita from Manila and arrived at Tokyo on-time at 2:50 PM but this flight was due to depart at 4:30 PM. So once I arrived my boarding pass didn't have info on the gate number but there was a United representative giving info specifically about that. Approachable and polite. The overall flight experience was decent - close to mediocre due to inconsistent cabin crew and meager cabin product compared to ANA who fly the same route on a higher level of service.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Houston
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"offered no help whatsoever"

(United States)

Verified Review | Dallas to Omaha via Chicago. My colleague and I were traveling for business this morning and had to be in Omaha by 10:30 AM. Our initial flight from DFW was delayed due to weather and that was going to cause us to miss our flight from Chicago to Omaha. We ended up cancelling the whole trip since we would not be able to make our meeting. I get it, no one can control the weather and flights had to be delayed, I'm not upset about that. What I am upset about is their solution to this series of unfortunate events. We were immediately shut down at the airport by the United concierge lady and she said that these reservations were non-refundable and there was nothing she could do. She suggested that we call the 1-800 number and they may be able to help us further. Once I got back into the office I called the United Airlines 1-800 number. Once I was connected to a live representative she said that she would be able to credit those trips back to both of us for future use with United ($128.80 each), but we would have to pay a "flight change" fee of $200 EACH. She basically told me that we would each have to give United Airlines $200 before we could use the $128.80 credit that each of us have. What I am taking away from this is that United Airlines does not care about it customers and the situations that they are put in. We had no intentions of cancelling these trips and only did so because we had no choice given the circumstances. They offered no help whatsoever and did not provide any sort of solution to the unfortunate situation that we were both in. My colleague and I wasted $257.00, and United Airlines said that we can still use that money with them if we give them an additional $400.00.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Omaha via Chicago
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"experiences continue to be positive"

(United States)

Verified Review | For a domestic, US flight, United 1262 Newark to Denver was reasonably pleasant. The row 20, exit row window, provided more-than-ample leg room. The advertised food options were available and of quite good quality, and the service, despite the fact that the aircraft was completely filled, was very satisfactory. The AVOD screens in the seatback in front offered an excellent choice for in-flight entertainment. I don't know if this was intentional, but the screens were activated w/o charge. In addition, the personal device entertainment system worked well, and I was able to watch "Lincoln" while keeping the flight map on the AVOD screen. My experiences with United continue to be positive, and I hope that this positive experience will balance the plethora of negative reviews.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNewark to Denver
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"an airline that doesn't try any more"

(United States)

Verified Review | Trying for a routine trip from San Diego to Jacksonville via Chicago. Plane left late, so I missed my connection. Then new connection delayed over two hours, so I will get in after my rental car office is closed. Customer service was no help at all. Inflight WiFi kept stopping. I am a United Mileage Plus member, and it gets increasingly more difficult to earn upgrades and flights. Wife is a big Delta Airline fan and gets upgraded all the time. Flew Delta last month and was very happy. Time to switch from an airline that just doesn't try any more.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to Jacksonville via Chicago
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This was a huge mistake"

(United States)

Verified Review | I booked a flight with United Airlines flying from PHL to JAX, with a connecting flight in Newark. First of all, I always fly American Airlines, but this time I decided to try out the cheaper option. This was a huge mistake. I signed up for flight updates twice, once when I bought the ticket, and once when I checked in for the flight ahead of time. I get to the airport and it turns out that they booked me on a train to Newark without making that clear. Luckily, I was early like I always am for my flights so I lugged my two suitcases to the train station to catch the train to Newark. After all this, I get to the counter in Newark and they tell me my flight was canceled. Mind you, I made sure my phone was on and charged all day to make sure I would be notified of any changes to the flight. The United employee told me the next flight out was for 7am the next day, but that they would not cover the cost of a hotel for the night, despite it being their error that put me in this position. I then ask if I can have them cover the cost for a train back to Philly, and they print the ticket out right there and hand it to me, and then they tell me if I want to get to Jacksonville (my original destination) that I would have to pay for a whole new ticket. When I make it clear that it's unacceptable for me to be forced to buy two full-priced tickets to the same destination, they tell me the ticket they handed me back to Philly was non-refundable. Then I ask if I can at least get on the 7am flight they mentioned before, but now they're telling me that it's completely booked, as well as the flight after that. The next flight I could be guaranteed a seat on is over a day from then, and again, they will not help with hotel costs. By now, I'm livid, and I talk to a supervisor and they take the ticket back, telling me they wouldn't be able to give me a refund on my ticket at all, despite it being their error that put got me stranded in Newark. After calling customer service I finally talk to someone who will give me a refund, but now I'm forced to buy a ticket for over a hundred more because it's last second, when I originally bought my ticket over a week ahead of time. They should have at least offered me the soonest flight from a competing airline, but they gave me nothing except a guarantee that I'll be paying hundreds more out of pocket for an absolutely terrible experience. I have been on several flights, both domestic and international, but United has by far been the worst experience I've had ever. Bad customer service, bad reliability, no notification system for flight changes, and little clarity in their system overall. I will gladly pay extra to fly with American Airlines (really any airline except United) from now on!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Jacksonville
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't even mention the stewardesses"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew San Francisco to Maui. Never again. Haven't flown United for years and now I remember why. Had entertainment that we were required to pay for and very uncomfortable seating. Of course, we only had a cookie and one drink going to Maui. Return trip from Maui was over an hour late boarding, and we are sitting on the tarmac as I type because the gate is blocked with a broken plane. Going on 30 minutes so far. We had no entertainment since wifi was not operating and the free entertainment was thus not available. I won't even mention the stewardesses. Not into their job. JetBlue, Delta, Lufthansa (for Europe) here we come!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Maui
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"you cannot select a seat"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Chicago O'Hare to Jacksonville, FL. Basic economy, what a scam. Means you have no options, no rights. You cannot select a seat, it will be assigned upon your arrival, good luck. You cannot check-in 24 hours in advance. You have to check-in at the airport and hope you get a seat. I booked a flight under Basic Economy fare for $585 (not cheap!) not fully understanding the restrictions. My bad, buyer beware. You will be the consumer that is "bumped" when they are over-sold, which is the case on every flight. I am a Premier member and a loyal United customer for over 25 years. The member who would always select United over American, Delta and other airlines. I called for help. Answer: Sorry nothing we can do, the system won't allow us to override it. But, if you pay a $200 change fee plus additional $35 fare difference, we can cancel the Basic Economy and issue a non-refundable ticket. Now, no longer a United Loyal customer.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago O'Hare to Jacksonville, FL
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no