Vote Now  

United Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1569 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"greed trumps customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew UA business class Boston to Beijing in September 2016. Outbound was via Chicago, with a short [<2hrs] connection via Chicago scheduled on return. Given that my return time to Boston had become critical, staff at ORD suggested paying fee [$450] to return via San Francisco the day prior, which I then did. Beijing to San Francisco leg was delayed departing, and arrived at SFO gate with 50 mins before scheduled SFO-BOS leg. I made it to gate but was informed that my itinerary [in First] had been switched, to a coach seat 4hrs later. At this point, UA were still offering first class seats for sale [including mine] on both the original SFO-BOS leg and also the later SFO-BOS flight.  This generated some amusement from the UA baggage handlers and gate staff which was at best disrespectful. After 30 days back and forth they refunded the class difference sum [$220 from a total of >$3400] but refused to refund change fees or offer explanation regarding selling on available seats [including mine] or offering a First class seat option [which I had paid for]. As a result, this was my last ever UA flight. I have flown BOS-PEK and BOS-LHR eight times since this incident with other carriers and have been rewarded with premium level service in the air and on the ground. It would seem that corporate greed trumps customer service even on business/first at UA so this makes it a non-starter for corporate travel where relationships and dependability matter the utmost.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 / 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Boston via San Francisco
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"avoid United whenever possible"

(United States)

Verified Review | On my return flight from Charleston to Newark United told me that even though I purchased a ticket three months ago, they overbooked the flight and if no one agrees to book off I would be bumped off of my flight. That's what happened so instead of having a direct flight home arriving at 6pm I now had to make a connection in DC and get in at 11:30pm. If buying a ticket doesn't assure you of a seat, how can you ever be sure getting to your destination in a timely fashion?? Will avoid United whenever possible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Charleston
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is a horrible experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is a horrible experience. My mother-in-law travel with United from Denver to Shanghai via San Francisco. The flight was supposed to depart at 10:50AM. However, it delayed to 2PM due to mechanic issues. What is more annoying is that they postpone the flight by every half hour, meaning that they said it would delayed to 11:xx. When it was getting closer to the delayed time, they delay again to 12:xx. Again, when it was almost 12:xx, they delay it to 1:xx. Several times! The most annoying thing is that they didn't even know when it could fly, and they came to ask your decision, if you wanted to fly today, or tomorrow! OK, if it was myself, I could handle it. But the traveller was a 72-year-old, non-English speaker. Because of this delay, she missed her second flight from SFO to Shanghai. She definitely needed assistance in SFO, either logde into an hotel or some place for rest. When I call United's customer service (headquarter), they couldn't connect me to their branch in SFO. My mother-in-law had to find the United counter by herself. When I asked what to do with her checked-in luggages. They said my mother-in-law needed to picked it up from carousel and re-check it! Isn't it you messed up the trip. In the past 2 years, UA has delayed my flight for at least 3 out of 5 times for mechanic issues. My advice is: stay away from UA and save your time.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Shanghai via San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely ridiculous"

(United States)

Verified Review | Every time I fly United I am delayed. Better yet, my final destination to Dayton, Ohio was delayed hours and coincidentally a direct flight to Cleveland was boarding right next to my delayed flight. In order to make my meeting on time, flying to Cleveland would have enabled me to make that happen. United wouldn't allow me to change my flight unless I paid $300, even though the flight to Cleveland wasn't full. Absolutely ridiculous. When Southwest has delays they take care of their customers with no penalty. United is horrible.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilwaukee to Chicago
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No instructions were provided"

(United States)

Verified Review | Columbus to Washington. Boarded the plane at 6:00 am, supposed to depart at 6:20, they had us sitting until 7:00 then told us to leave the plane for mechanical problem. No instructions were provided of what to do next, they didn't get another plane so passengers were scrambling to find an alternative on their own. Staff was rude, I asked to take me to a different destination to catch my international flight, they refused, I asked for my baggage and took them an hour to get it back. I asked for a refund of what I paid for the baggage they said they do not do refunds in the airport.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteColumbus to Washington
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"quality of service is mediocre"

(Switzerland)

Unverified | Washington to Zurich. Being a night flight, I was trying to upgrade to Business Class using Miles & More miles. As Star Alliance Gold holder, I was very surprised to learn, that United gives zero priority to Star Alliance members outside of their own MileagePlus program. There was no way I could be put onto the upgrade wait list, although I had an up-gradable Economy ticket (B-Ticket). It seems United only allows their own MileagePlus holders to be put on wait list. For me this was very frustrating, as there were a couple of people who were upgraded to Business on the subjected flight. I honestly don't understand why United is even a member of Star Alliance if they don't treat all Star Alliance program holders equally. On top of that, the quality of service is mediocre and I cannot recommend United as carrier.
AircraftBoeing 767-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteWashington to Zurich
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seats are ridiculously narrow"

(United States)

Verified Review | I will never choose to fly United Airlines again. Just plain stupid that they would book such a small, uncomfortable plane for such a long flight (Maui to Los Angeles). Seats are ridiculously narrow with no leg room, air vents barely blew out any cool air. Oh yes, and they so generously served us a tiny packet of mixed pretzel / nuts for a 5-hour flight. This airline is cheap and not customer-service oriented. The outgoing flight was not any better. WiFi plugs did not work and no TV screens on such a long, boring flight. Flight attendants seemed put-out at the slightest request. I'm really dreading the last leg of this flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHawaii to Austin via Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"United, you've lost a customer"

(United States)

Verified Review | Two nights in a row, March 1st/2nd United Airlines cancelled our 6:00 AM flight from Burlington to connect in Newark to an 8:40 AM flight to Santo Domingo because of "crew issues". On the second night we rented a car in Burlington and drove to Newark to make the 8:40 flight. The price of the rental and the loss of our first night's missed lodging in Santo Domingo was over $300. United reimbursed us $175 total for our two tickets on the the Burlington to Newark leg and offered 2 x $150 flight vouchers (which, after a minimum $15/ticket ticket servicing fee reduced the value to at best $135 each). The hassle, aggravation and lost vacation time were truly a disappointment. United's recompense was minimal. I've been a United mileage plus member for years. I've used my Chase Mileage Plus Visa card as my primary credit card. No longer. United, you've lost a customer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBurlington to Santo Domingo via Newark
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the service was very good indeed"

(Australia)

Verified Review | After all the poor reviews I had some trepidation flying United within the United States. However all was pretty fine. My flight from San Francisco to Denver was delayed as the aircraft comes in from Auckland before proceeding to Denver. Once on-board the service was very good indeed and very personal and pleasant. First Class fares in the US are not much more (if at all) than many economy fares in Australia so I suspect economy/coach passengers in the US on United have little to complain about - there is no such thing as a free lunch! The United Club before boarding was fine except the food offerings were not so good. Picking up a boarding pass coming in from an international flight was not so good either - very slack staff, However, once on board, I really enjoyed being able to chat to the flight crew on boarding and afterwards as well as the good wine. The United DBA express onwards to Lincoln was fine, even in economy. I would happily fly United again..
AircraftBoeing 777 / CRJ200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSan Francisco to Lincoln via Denver
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"do not lie to your clients"

(United States)

Verified Review | They forgot our bags in Houston. We were connecting in Monterrey to Hermosillo. My review is for their staff at the Monterrey airport. Since it was an international flight, we need to pass our bags for customs. We asked for help at Monterrey airport and their staff were lying. We were told our bags will be at our final destination. Once we arrived to Hemrosillo, we found out they forgot our bags in Houston. I understand accidents happen but do not lie to your clients.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHouston to Monterrey
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no