United Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2258 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly United Airlines again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Columbia to Tokyo via Denver. I checked into my flight 1 hour prior to takeoff as I had multiple connecting flights, first one was domestic to Colorado. The airport is a small local regional airport that decided to schedule 3 flights within a 20 min period with 1 line of TSA agents checking people in. Needless to say, United airlines left 20+ passengers behind on a flight with 50 seats total. American Airlines also had 2 flights taking off within this period but delayed the flights to ensure that all their passengers made it onto their flights. My checked bag also left without me, and will be sitting unattended in Okinawa for at least 24 hours while I’m stuck here in the United States. Needless to say, I will never fly United Airlines again even if they offered free flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteColumbia to Tokyo via Denver
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will avoid flying United"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Not only was my flight delayed and I wasn’t notified, but then when I got on the plane in Portland bound for Chicago, they told me I would need to gate check my bag and pick it up at my final destination in Omaha. So now I am spending an extra 6 hours in Chicago and when I finally get to Omaha at nearly 11 PM ( originally scheduled to land at 5:09 PM), I need to go to baggage claim. Not happy and I will avoid flying United in the future at all costs!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Omaha
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Nickeled and dimed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Columbus. Nickeled and dimed, even for a carry-on. Customer support wasn't even interested in hearing it - they just kept spouting that if I had purchased through their site rather than Expedia, then I would have known better. Apparently half their flights don't even include one single carry-on. How on earth is someone supposed to bring clothing??
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Columbus
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unfriendliest flying experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Denver. The rudest crew and unfriendliest flying experience. I get it, that was an early flight. Eat some chocolate and chug a coffee, no need to be mean or rude when I or any of my other surrounding passengers didn’t do anything to deserve it. Especially when I’m tired and stressed, but still manage every please, thank you, ma’ams and sirs while smiling like I’m a morning person (which I’m not!). If you don’t want to work don’t be here
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Denver
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I’ve ever flown"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Phoenix. This was the worst airline I’ve ever flown. My husband and I were not seated together I was in row 28 and he was in row 38 with 2 gentlemen of about 7 ft tall. They were father and son basketball players the son with ASU. My husband was bruised on his foot by the lack of room in the seats. The bathrooms were locked for the first hour while the inept crew attended a woman with a seizure probably due to the excessive heat in the cabin. Another woman threw up and there was no cart service for the first half of the trip. When I spoke to the crew about the heat that was so bad most people were spillled over into the aisle as the seats were suffocating. I was told to turn on my air vent which was fully open. Duh! We were instructed to only use the bathroom in our assigned cabin, once they were finally open. The access to the bathroom was obstructed by the stretched out legs of the 7 ft man who should never been moved to the last row where the seat room is mallet due to airline design and lack of reclining seats although the row in front reclines into thenpassengers face
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Phoenix
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most horrible airline"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Washington to Panama. Most horrible airline i’ve ever flown with. 20 minutes of storm means 12 hours of delay. They kept postponing the boarding time so you keep counting the hours down but then they keep adding them up. The resources or explanations are not given to any of the passengers, so we just get told to ‘sit down and relax’ like sitting ducks. While we are all here missing our next transit flights, but they couldnt care less.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Panama
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"What a horrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew Los Angeles to Milan via Newark. What a horrible experience with United Airlines. This so called company is great at taking your money but if there is one bit of an issue, then you have to speak with a supposed customer service that is in the Philippines and all they do is say "sorry, so sorry you have a bad opinion of us". We've been stuck without any clothes or hotel and they basically wash their hands and blame it on the airlines. I used them once before and spent over $15K with them and more of the same. It was my mistake to comeback for a second round of abuse with this so called company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Milan via Newark
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"stunned at how unprofessional"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our flight was delayed, then we boarded. After numerous announcements we would be leaving we were asked to reboard. Twice a flight attendant was rude, cart with water and snacks pushed away from me. We were offered a meal voucher which we never got because they took so long to distribute them and when I got close was told we were boarding. After everyone was seated and thought we were finally leaving we were told the plane needed 20 minutes to fuel. An hour later we were told there was another delay because commissary hadn't delivered yet. At that point passengers raised objections to the delay while flight attendants laughed at us. My wife and I were stunned at how unprofessional they handled the situation. We arrived 5.5 hours late in Houston.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Houston
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not a nice start to our holiday"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We did not leave Melbourne until 1.5 hours after the departure time. Both my Daughter and myself did not mind but were concerned about our connecting flight. We were well treated and looked after on the plane and the staff were exceptional in their service to everyone. On landing we ran through the airport and yes we did miss our connection. At 64 years old its not an experience I wish to have again and not a nice start to our holiday. But this is nothing compared to the ignorant, arrogant and rushed manner that we were treated to all the way back to Australia on the return flight by a crew that treated everyone as if we should sit back say nothing and dont dare interfere with their time. I am not exaggerating their response. Should be ashamed of themselves. Shocking!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Los Angeles
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"will never fly United again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Charlotte to Newark. I will never fly United again, been here since 4.30pm to check in for a 6.30pm flight and right now it’s been delayed indefinitely until they can find a crew to come get us? It’s now close to 10pm and no word on when we will be leaving. I have been here for over 5 hours and counting for no reason regarding weather delays. They’ve provided water and snacks but that means nothing to us who have been waiting for hours and paid good money to fly with you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCharlotte to Newark
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no