United Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3406 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

I just got home from what was a horrible experience and an unfortunate way to end such a pleasant vacation with my family. Our flight out of Cancun was delayed and we waited in the airport for 9 hours without internet and no idea what was going on. They did not communicate with us what was happening and the flight just kept getting delayed. Finally all the passengers decided to find out what was going on. We had to wait 4 hours in line to be able to talk to someone. Everyone on that flight missed their connecting flights out of Houston. The airline offered us 7$ each to get something to eat, which is ridiculous. We had to spend the night and ended up getting home 15 hours after we were supposed to. Their customer service is terrible, they could have done a lot more to accommodate their customers.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCancun to Boston via Houston
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

United Airlines no longer offers a bereavement discount. They are the only airline to offer a non-stop flight from SFO-PIT to attend a funeral and they won't discount a ridiculously, priced last-minute fare.Thanks, but no thanks for the condolences United. United Airlines get a 0 out of 10 if I could submit that rating.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RoutePIT to SFO
Date FlownSeptember 2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Just arrived in London from Chicago after being away with my family on vacation in the States. We flew out with Air Canada and flew back in with United Airlines. The United Airlines aircraft was really dated, shocked when we entered the plane. The inflight entertainment I rate 1/10, the food served I rate 3/10. The flight itself was smooth but overall we were not impressed at all. The children had a good experience with Air Canada, they were able to charge their phones on the flight, Air Canada inflight entertainment was also very good. Our conclusion is that we won't fly United Airlines again after today's experience. Good luck to whoever does!
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteOrlando to London via Chicago
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

I have taken buses that were better equipped for long travel. This was shockingly bad. The "entertainment" on a 12+ hour flight from Chicago to Tokyo consisted of failed TV pilots and box office duds. If you wanted to watch anything decent you had to download their app which was impossible as the wifi kept cutting out after less than a minute. They offer web service for $17.00 which was suggested to me to try in order to watch the "free" movies. Classic ambush. They charge you for food in between the free meals which were over 9 hours apart. Just a brutal experience. Staff were passable but weren't good enough to compensate. Never again.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteChicago to Tokyo
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (Netherlands)

I was a little bit concerned of booking on UA after reading some of the reviews. No reason for concern, however. Took a flight from Amsterdam to Houston with a connection to Salt Lake City. Flew back from San Diego to Houston with connection to Amsterdam. Legroom on the domestic US flights a bit limited but no complaints while flying over the Atlantic. Had an almost two hour delay on the flight from Houston to Amsterdam of which we where informed already quite early and about which we received several updates. Made up some of the time during the flight. Cabin staff were friendly and catered to all of our needs with no exception. Food and drinks in adequate quantity. Quality not different from what I have experienced with most other airlines. This was the first time I flew with United and I have no reason not to fly with them again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAmsterdam to Salt Lake City
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

We ordered the flights a month before and when we got to the airport they switched our airplane to a smaller one so put us all in different seats. You have to pay $7.99/hr to watch regular cable and Internet is $3.99/hr and you can only visit aa.com. Next time will pay $10 more and fly Delta.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLos Angeles to Newark
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

Outbound EWR-LHR was a "United" Crew and service was fairly attentive to a full cabin. United has set up Biz Class in the B-767-300's as half the seats facing f'wd and half aft. Entertainment systems are set up in groups of four, two in each direction. Which means seat partners face in same direction. Although fairly tight for business class, lie-flat seats are comfortable. Food was average for an Atlantic run (nobody beats Aer Lingus) and timekeeping accurate. Return run was with a "Continental" crew on B-777 (No. 0001, the "Gordon Bethune" -wonder if they've got one named after Frank Lorenzo, LOL) with only two classes (Biz First and Coach), and service was first rate. The "Continental" pride still shows. EWR hub is working better than ever (and it's not an easy hub to deal with in the best of times).
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCLE to LHR via EWR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

I have flown quite a lot this year with multiple trips to Asia and Europe. Mostly on United because I get free upgrades to economy plus due to my frequent flyer status. I am quite tall so I need the extra leg room. However, I have to say most of the planes I got to fly in were very old, some with zero back of the seat entertainment (especially on flights from Chicago to Asia) and those that had back of the seat entertainment were on tiny screens where the films were looped. I cant figure out why United flies these poor planes on their long haul routes. In addition, the food on this airline is extremely bad - especially the breakfast.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteChicago to London
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

Left house at 10am for airport for a flight at 2pm. The flight was delayed an hour, and then another hour to look at the nose of their plane. Then they cancelled the flight and had to put me on a flight out of LAX instead. Instead of a couple of hours of traveling time, United Airlines made it a 12 hour travel day. A little girl was crying her eyes out, because she wouldn't make it to something very important. I understand that flights get cancelled, but they were not courteous nor expedient. No reimbursement or anything, if I had been late to something also, I would be doing much more than just a bad review.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBurbank to San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

United Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

First flight Manchester to Philadelphia was super, plenty of seat space and all family seated together, cabin crew attentive supplying complimentary drinks and food. Entertainment was great, TV in back of seat with multiple options for TV, movies or music, plenty to keep the kids occupied during a 7+ hour flight and airline provided ear buds. Philadelphia to San Francisco there was no entertainment (6+ hour flight), complimentary drinks and snacks, cabin space was ok. Given no entertainment, this flight seemed longer than expected.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteManchester to SFO via Philadelphia
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes