Top 100 Airports  

Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 875 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

Turkish Airlines customer review

(Germany)

Verified Review | This month I used Turkish Airlines for the first time from Tbilisi to Dusseldorf via Istanbul SAW. Both times after boarding it took nearly 1 hour for take-off. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning (you can imagine the weather at the end of August in Tbilisi or Istanbul). The pilot apologized for that but of course, its hardly a consolation. The food on board is really good and the staff is well trained and helpful but I don't think I'd ever risk again to fly with Turkish Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTBS to DUS via SAW
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew very attentive and friendly"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Flew from Bogotá to Istanbul (with a technical stop in Panama City) on an A330-200, and then Istanbul-Amsterdam on an A321 with Turkish Airlines. The crew was very attentive and friendly. I had ordered a vegetarian meal and it was delicious on all flights. Plenty of drinks in economy class. The IFE wasn't that great, on the A332 we had no 'navigation map', but there were lots of movies to choose from. On the A321 however, there was nothing. The crew played some romantic comedy on a DVD. I would definitely fly again with Turkish Airlines, but next time I will bring my own entertainment.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to AMS via IST
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"overall a happy customer"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Toronto with Turkish Airlines. The food is excellent. The cabin crew friendlier than many airlines I've flown with. Never had any trouble and the flights are almost always on time. Love the direct flights to Canada. The economy class seats could be a little bit more comfortable but overall a happy customer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIST to YYZ
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"appreciated quality catering"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | Zurich to Istanbul with Turkish Airlines. Great contract lounge at ZRH (Aspire) operated by Swissport with a terrace from which one can do some great plane spotting. Offerings were also much better than the Senator lounge, the bean counters must be hard at work as usual at the LH group. On time departure and orderly boarding. 2x2 business seating, IFE and much appreciated quality catering. While flying in a metal tube with little distractions it is nice to be served a nice meal. The onboard chef was attentive and the chicken papillotte was very good. One can even enjoy a cup of Turkish coffee afterwards. Scheduled arrival into IST. Kudos to TGS as the CIP bus was available (and this time was for J pax only) for a speedy transfer to the terminal. The new headphones seem to be of inferior quality, minor problem in a otherwise yet another very satisfactory TK journey.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZRH to IST
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"should standardize product and service"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | TK is my preferred airline. As living on the Asian side of Istanbul, I booked last flights to CDG & BRU from/to SAW Istanbul Sabiha Gokcen airport. It seems that TK offering from/to SAW not the same product as from/to IST and that the SAW TK fleet are old compared to the fleet based in IST, shortly not the same product. OK, we had during my last flights (SAW-CDG-SAW & SAW-BRU-SAW) a “Flying Chef” on board, but no choice on food, only Y configuration and no inflight entertainment IFE (personalised screens) available. The ground TGS staffs at business check-in counter at SAW airport has poor or no English knowledge and not communicating / speaking at all. TK should standardize the product and service and should offer and have in all airplanes same business and/or economy seats. You or your partner TGS have also a huge space of improvement by delivering as priority marked luggage. For inbound flights I had to wait 45-60 minutes and luggage didn’t been delivered with the first ones.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSAW to BRU
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"journey we will not forget in a hurry"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Niamey to London Heathrow via Istanbul. What a hectic night. We sat on the plane on the tarmac for two and a bit hours because they lost an oxygen tank and couldn't find a new one. They then cancelled our flight and stuck us back in the terminal. Then the heavens opened. Obviously the best option was to stick 200 grumpy passengers outside in the thunder, lightning and rain. Next, they took us 4 at a time in taxis to an hotel. My wife and I were put into what appeared to be the remnant of a much hated Toyota Corrolla. We hung out there for a bit with a guy who spoke no English whatsoever. Once he left us alone in his car and we realised we were going nowhere we accosted a man with a Turkish airlines jacket in a dark car park (still raining). He put us on a bus which proceeded to tour Niamey at 3:00am with the AC on full blast which helped our wet cloths become much more effective in helping us contract some illness. Finally after messing about for a total 6 hours, at 4:00am we got a hotel which makes faulty towers look like New York's Waldorf hotel. There we were left in the hands of the Receptionist. What he lacked linguist ability and clarity of speech he made for in volume and repetition. Needless to say information about our fate was lacking. At around around 7:30am a rumour spread that our suffering may end by 8:00pm that evening. Finally at 8:00pm we were herded into a bus and taken to the airport. There, the Turkish Airlines staff directed us to line up and walk around Niamey airport. At the departure gate our boarding passes and baggage tags were handed out. Once we finally boarded the aircraft most of us passed out with exhaustion for the rest of our journey. Needless to say this is a journey we will not forget in a hurry.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER / A330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNIM to LHR via IST
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"poor in dealing with the customer"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Booked a flight from Bologna to Los Angeles via Istanbul. First flight was cancelled because of the coup. We ask at the ticket sales and they say everything ok and provide a new ticket for the day after. We arrive in Istanbul and sleep there for one night waiting for the second flight the next morning. As we arrive at the airport we learn all flights to USA have been cancelled again. We go to the ticket sales where a woman finds us a new flight from Istanbul to Frankfurt and a Lufhtansa flight from Frankfurt to LAX, the day after again. One more night in Istanbul. At the check-in counter I'm told they can't check us in for both flights, "Because we are two different companies". They say we have to get the luggage back in Frankfurt and check-in again with Lufthansa. Luggage is not in Frankfurt, I ask for information at the baggage claim and they explain to me when luggage is in transit it's kept in transit 'til the final destination. We move to the departures terminal and check-in again, but there's no seat number on the boarding pass. As we arrive at the gate we find out that the Turkish Airlines employee had jut put us on a waiting list. Boarding refused. We go back to the TK ticket sales and after two hours they manage to find us a new flight for the day after. We ask for our luggage, as we have been wearing the same clothes for 3 days and we find out the luggage is not in Frankfurt at all, as it's been never loaded on our flight from Ataturk. We make a claim (fortunately the German personnel is far more professional than the personnel in Ataturk). They say the luggage will be sent to LAX with the next flight from Ataturk. The day after we finally fly to LAX with a LH flight. Luggage is not there. Another claim, they say to come back the day after because TK made another mistake and sent the luggage to Frankfurt. We spend a night in Los Angeles and finally the luggage arrives in the evening. Turkish Airlines is poor in dealing with the customer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBLQ to LAX via IST
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"the lack of leg room"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | We flew from Los Angeles to Geneva via Istanbul. Flight from LAX to IST was full and while the catering, inflight entertainment and cabin staff service were good, the impression that remained from this flight was the lack of leg room for such a long haul flight. I'm 1m 80 and my wife 1m 76, which has nothing exceptional in the European population and despite having removed all brochures from the seat pockets in front of us, our knees in a normal seating position were touching the seats in front of us (that were not even inclined). We battled during this 12h30 flight to find the most confortable position without success. A real pity that TK accomodate maximum seats in Economy despite very good 9 seats abreast configuration on this 777-300 (vs 10 for many other airlines). Like many European travelers, we have been attracted to Turkish Airlines by their competitive prices (around 50% cheaper than AF, BA, LH, LX when we booked to the ticket early April), their enviable reputation of Best European Airline by Skytrax for several years in a row and their staff reliability (no strikes recorded during the last few years compare to AF/LH for instance). Transit via IST was OK while extremely crowded highlighting again the dramatic need for TK to operate from the new airport under construction. Flight from IST to GVA was fine (A320) without leg room issues). Ground service was inexistant during the transit and we were finally all packed at Gate 306 with no seating capacity available at the boarding gate given the crowd.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to GVA via IST
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no personnel to be seen"

(Norway)

Verified Review | July 15th, 2016 I flew from Oslo to Manila via Istanbul. We landed normally on time, July 15th, 11pm in Istanbul for a short transfer for the next flight - but that was not to be. Leaving the plane we noticed there was no personnel from Turkish Airlines to be seen. After walking around looking for the gate for the connecting flight we started to feel something was wrong. And it was. The airport was closed (we were the last flight in) and the military coup was in progress. Since there was absolutely no information coming from the airport or Turkish Airlines personnel we had to rely on rumors and twitter to discover what was going on. In short order, here are the events as they unfolded: No personnel from Turkish Airlines was to be seen or heard from in any form from 11pm July 15th until 2pm July 16. They left thousands of transit passengers stranded without food, water or information. No information whatsoever was at any time given to us before the following day 2pm. The transfer desk and information desk was at all times left unmanned. After 14 hours my flight was cancelled. Over the speakers we were given the option to either travel to Turkish Airlines HQ in Istanbul city centre, or call their call center (all lines busy). It was complete chaos. I ended up having to go online and buy a new one-way ticket out of Istanbul. Travel Tip: Find another airline.
AircraftBoeing 737, 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOSL to MNL via IST
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"food was delicious"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I flew from Munich - Istanbul and back. I think, Turkish Airlines are in fact the best European Airline. I also fly a lot with LH or KLM/AF (in Economy). You can't compare them with TK. The airplane seemed to be new. Both flights were with an A321. On both ways, there was IFE with a large choice of different international movies and documentaries. Never seen this before on an A321 or/and on short-haul. The flight time was enough to watch one movie. However, When you watched a movie and had your earphones on, the cabin announcements were so loud. Food was delicious. At first you get a turkish delight. For the meal, you could choose between Turkish meat-balls and something with chicken. I had the meat-balls which was great. Alcoholic drinks were free. I took a beer and a freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff were nice. Seat comfort is ok. I'm 5ft. 10in. I had enough space to the front and for my legs. The space to my neighbour was fine. I highly recommend TK even in economy class.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to IST
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes