Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1166 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"best European business class product"

(Serbia)

Trip Verified | Flew Turkish Airlines from Belgrade to Munich via Istanbul. Excellent airline, great food. The best European business class product definitely. Hard and soft product. On time. Best seats, best food, the best lounge, transfer. I love flying with them, because they recognize their loyal customers very well.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBelgrade to Munich via Istanbul
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very disappointing and tiring"

(United Kingdom)

I had to endure a 14-hour trip to Bilbao from Thessaloniki (via Istanbul) instead of a 5-hour trip (according to their website) due to Turkish Airlines. Their first connecting flight was delayed which caused me to miss the next flight to Bilbao. They replaced my ticket after a long time waiting and with a few members of staff being able to communicate in English. I had to fly through Brussels to reach my destination. The whole experience was very disappointing and tiring. I will certainly avoid booking with Turkish Airlines in the future.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteThessaloniki to Bilbao via Instanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I find this absurd"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Lagos via Istanbul. If you want to make changes to your flight Turkish Airlines requires you to go into their offices and show your credit card. Imagine how few people would fly Turkish airlines if you had to buy your ticket in person. The nearest office is hours away from me. I bought my ticket with my credit card online - why would I not be able to change it. I find this absurd.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Lagos via Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Overall a good flight"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Istanbul. Fast and friendly check-in agent. Time for a visit to the modest SAS Lounge (being Star Gold status) where there was a selection of light bites and drinks perfectly adequate for a pre-flight snack. Orderly boarding with priority boarding well handled. Inside the aircraft I first noticed the small size of the individual seat-back screens. But obviously airlines can’t just throw them all away when bigger and better ones come along. Hot meal served in flight - with a choice of two entrees and various drinks. Delay landing in Istanbul due to congestion - hopefully a thing of the past when the new airport opens. Bus to the terminal. Long queue for the Biz class immigration desk. To the right of it is a channel serving a continual line of Turkish Airlines crew. I don’t understand why the crew dont use the two adjacent but always empty Beogs electronic immigration gates, hence freeing up a second line for the high revenue fare paying passengers. Even after the queue there was a wait for the luggage to come up. Overall a good flight and thanks to the fare I found online, extremely good value. Even if I didn’t earn many “miles”.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"No compensation was offered"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | In Brussels we were informed that the flight had 30 mins delay. In fact we left Brussels more than a full hour late. The flight was denied landing in IST and deviated to Ankara. We missed our connection to Panamà. There was no concern, no information, no help at all for my partner and me and other passengers in similar situation. No excuse for the nuisance caused. Everything we had to find out by ourselves. No compensation was offered, like a drink or coffee or a place to rest. The attitude of staff at the desk was far below standard; e.g. someone asked our names and then left without saying a word and never coming back. Finally we were sent around half of the orbit and spent more than 70 hours in planes and airports - via Sao Paulo, Buenos Aires to Panamà- where we could catch our flight to Cartagena, unfortunately without our luggage, that was missing.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Panama City via Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"catering on board efficient as always"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | I fly Turkish on a regular basis in all classes and am a holder of the miles&smiles gold card. This flight from Istanbul to Berlin was full and despite being crammed boarding was quick and the catering on board efficient as always. Although a rather short trip you still have your on board entertainment system which nobody on European schedules has in addition to the meal choice. Knowing quite a few airlines and using them in various cabin classes and routes I can not understand how they can only score 6 out of 10. Reading most of the negative reviews its clear that either some do not know how to book or dont have the knowledge enough to compare to others.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Berlin
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"attitude is not understandable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Ground staff were very rude and shouted at people to force them to check in their luggage, they force you to check in your carry on bag even though the other bag you have is a laptop bag. Very bad service. People will understand the action behind this but this rude attitude is not understandable.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"totally unacceptable service"

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | Odessa to Taipei via Istanbul. We were supposed to fly but it never happened. We are still waiting for our outbound flight from Odessa 3 days after our scheduled trip. The reason was stated as bad weather conditions when our flight TK468 was canceled on the 2nd Feb, 2018. That's understandable since Odessa airport gets fog from week to week. What is not, is the fact our trip was shifted 3 days. And that is totally unacceptable. Nobody offered us a flight with other Star Alliance carrier on the same day (2nd Feb). Nobody tried to facilitate our plans to reach our destination on time or with a slight delay not a 3 day delay. Nobody issued an apology letter and a Flight Cancelation Notice. We had to head back to the Turkish Airlines office to issue one on our personal demand. Totally unacceptable service.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOdessa to Taipei via Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cabin attendants extremely rude"

(Egypt)

Trip Verified | Flew Turkish from Istanbul to Cairo. Flight was on time and rather uneventful but cabin attendants extremely rude shouting at passengers to board quickly. They were obviously stressed since it was a night flight but this has happened so often on TR flights. Good planes, decent food but incredibly rude cabin and ground staff. They lost last year the title of Europe's best carrier to Lufthansa which shows why. Customer service at Turkish Airways is very poor compared to other airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Cairo
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"above average business class"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to London via Istanbul. It’s a shame that Turkish Airlines use the Bidvest lounge at CPT because it’s one of those pay-to-enter places that’s stuffed with passengers gorging themselves with food. Boarding for the CPT – IST flight started an hour before take-off, which seemed excessive. The business class cabin has a utilitarian décor of shades of grey – no middle-eastern bling or graduated, coloured lighting here. The staggered 2:2:2 seating pattern affords reasonable privacy, although passengers in window seats still have to climb over their neighbour’s legs. Cabin crew use a counter at the front of the cabin to prepare the food and drink service; it’s probably best for that to be done behind the scenes. It was good to have WiFi, even if it was rather slow. The Bentley night bag, Denon noise-cancelling headphones and large-screen IFE with a touch-screen remote were impressive. So, too, was the separate menu card for ordering breakfast in advance. The food service got off to a flying start with LED candles, laying out one’s tray and then the starter options where wheeled past. In principle, one could have as much as one wanted. The meze and mushroom soup were delicious. Less good were the main courses, which were, curiously, both overcooked and barely warm. A trolley of desserts and a cheese plate restored one’s faith in the presence of the on-board chef. Wines were largely Turkish, but the cabin crew seemed clueless about them. The cabin crew in general were efficient but somewhat robotic. Announcements from the cockpit lacked the friendliness of British Airways pilots. Sleep was hindered by the over-hot cabin temperature and being woken three hours before landing for the breakfast service – at 3 a.m. But at least breakfast was a cut above the usual and a feta omelette was actually pleasant. Landing was on time and we were bussed separately to the terminal. The double-level Turkish Airlines CIP lounge is vast, offering 24/7 service, unbelievable square meterage and questionable activities to pass the time. I suspect that if anyone started playing the piano on the dais they’d be asked to desist in case it put the indoor golfers off their stroke. Frankly, it was all too much. For the second leg of IST – LHR, we were on a 777-300 with a 2:3:2 configuration in business class. Thankfully the cabin was less than a third full, so we opted out of a second breakfast and caught up with some sleep. Again, the luxury of a flat bed on a short-haul flight takes some beating. Overall, two good flights with an above average business class product but let down by the necessity of transit at IST at inconvenient times of the day.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCape Town to London via Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes