Top 100 Airlines  

Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 827 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"language skills extremely limited"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Faultless travel on a trip from Copenhagen to Buenos Aires via Istanbul and Sao Paulo. A321 and Boeing 777-300 aircraft, flights on time. First flight full, the following only 50% loaded as it is a new route to TK. Check in smooth, though staff had limited experience and understanding. However, lounge access and seat wishes accommodated. Service onboard was top notch. However, despite being kind and service minded, the FAs had very limited English skills and were all of the same, Turkish nationality. Even on the Europe leg, two hot meals of decent quality was offered in economy. Plus free drinks - 3 drink rounds were accomplished. STPC stopover provided in IST, despite the ticket was extremely cheap and said the opposite. IST airport is a hassle with long queues and repetitive security checks. IFE works fine, even on the smaller A321 aircraft. The longhaul leg on Boeing 777-300 was my longest flight ever. Newer aircraft, equipment, and excellent staff. Hot meals served three times. Plenty of drink rounds. Good beers, particularly I liked Tuborg Gold beer on cans. Wines mediocre, both were Turkish. Staff language skills extremely limited, apart from Turkish and Spanish - on the last leg from Sao Paulo to BUE. Amenity kit set with 6 items given. Poor headsets, good IFE. I had no inscribed luggage nor no change/delays issues which make me score TK high, as everybody knows that the problems always come with any irregularity or luggage.
AircraftA321 / Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPH to EZE via IST/GRU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"told to buy another ticket"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Izmir. Terrible customer service. I changed my booking with the call center. They charged the credit card for the change made. However they did a mistake on dates and blocked my payment. I lost my flight waiting for them to decide what to do. Apparently there are no supervisors or managers who can answer phone calls in customer relations. The managers supposedly solving cases without the need of talking to customer. I was told to buy another ticket which is not possible as I don't have enough limit. They can't return the blocked amount. Such bad service for business class.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIST to ADB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flights home were a nightmare"

(United States)

Houston to Paris CDG return via Istanbul. Our outbound flight was fine, service and food were excellent and flights were on time. Out flights home were a nightmare. Outbound flight left slightly late and when close to Istanbul airport, plane circle the airport 3 times over a 45 minute period which made us nearly miss our connecting flight. We are beyond middle aged and had to run to catch our flight. Economy class was packed with a lot of crying children so I asked if we could be upgraded to business class but they refused. I was sitting in the middle seat in the middle column of seats and the staff ignored me and did not make eye contact. Our luggage did not make it on the plane. Our plane arrived shortly after 7pm and after customs and trying to find a Turkish Airlines rep to fill out the missing luggage form, we didn't leave the airport until 3.5 hours later, We had a 3.5 hour drive home from Houston so we were completely exhausted when we got home. They said we can expect to receive our luggage within 3-4 business days because they will need to put it on a United Airlines flight to San Antonio to get it us. While they are not confrontational, they just pretend that you do not exist after you make a request to be upgraded. Yes, things to wrong sometimes but when they do, I expect the airline to step up and correct the situation. The Turkish Airlines baggage CS rep was very kind and did what she could but all she could do was help us make out the report.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIAH to CDG via IST
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not fly Turkish Airlines again"

(Singapore)

Singapore to Brussels via Istanbul, returning from Berlin. To Brussels, everything ran like clockwork and a satisfactory experience. Food and entertainment were on par with other carriers. But when things go wrong, TK falls apart. A technical fault delayed my flight back from Berlin. Initially, the delay was announced to be 90 minutes, meaning many passengers would miss connections in IST, including myself. The fate of transit passengers was left to the transfer desk in IST, as TXL ground staff refused to do anything. This was extremely nerve-racking because my connecting flight to SIN operated only daily, so I would have had to stay overnight in IST if I missed it. When I explained the situation and asked to be re-booked from TXL, ground staff rejected my request, and said they could do nothing nor provide any information on my connecting flight. Several transit passengers were frustrated over the lack of answers resulting in arguments with ground staff. There were further delays during boarding, and no explanations or revised departure time was provided. Eventually, the flight left 2.5 hours late. In IST, transfer desk said SIN flight was over 4 hours late. Why couldn’t the ground staff in TXL tell me this? We were also told there were food vouchers at the ironically labeled “care point”, staffed by rude employees who spoke poor English. There were no food vouchers; just a free Burger King meal consisting of cheeseburgers and fries if we presented our boarding passes. The Burger King was about to close but our requests were still entertained – initially. However, other passengers cut the queue, finishing the food. The employees refused to cook more because they had to close. IST, while filled with shops and restaurants, is overcrowded and has some of the filthiest washrooms I've seen at any major airport. At the gate, no reasons were provided for delay, and agents only appeared just before boarding. Turkish Airlines gives you the veneer of a professionally-run airline, but disinterested staff refuse to take responsibility for mishaps. Onboard, cabin crew disappeared after the meal service, and spoke poor English. Toilets were not regularly cleaned. Will not fly Turkish Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTXL to SIN via IST
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"will definitely book again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Mombasa with Turkish Airlines. TK currently have rock-bottom fares (around £1300 return to MBA from LGW). Arrival / departure times are inconvenient which may be a contributing factor. TK use the new Number 1 lounge at LGW. The ‘onboard chef’ on TK flights is a lot of fuss about nothing. The ‘chef’ on the first short sector to IST is simply a flight attendant in a chef’s hat who serves the drinks and most of the food. There was no chef on the long-haul sector. The food offering was excellent on both flights. There is a Turkish flair to the menu (Mezze, Turkish coffee, Turkish wines), however there is enough to choose from to please the less adventurous palate. The seat is clearly the reason that the lower fares are currently offered on the route. The seats are not flatbed. They are similar to most airline’s Premium Economy seat offer. Good leg-room, a foot rest and good recline. Other than that a normal medium haul business class seat. If I was paying the fare BA or KQ charge on the route I would have something to grumble about, but I am not – so did not. Everyone talks about the lounge at IST. It certainly is large, and impressive with self-service bars throughout, deli-style counters with sweets, cakes and savoury options. The pizza chefs, BBQ chefs, pasta chefs cook for the streams of passengers queuing for them. There is a virtual golf range, scalextric track to ‘play’ with in addition to cinemas, pool tables and a huge library. There are massage therapists with whom you can book an in-seat massage too - but order this early as waiting times can be long. The thing is, the lounge is so big you tend to sit in one spot where you find a seat (there are no ‘quiet areas’, just lots of seats and tables dotted around). It’s big and brash (like the network and advertising for it), and I will go back – but it’s not ‘special’. The staff were also not especially welcoming. Questions about availability of yoghurt for example was met with a disinterested, “I don’t know – look over there”. There was no feeling of being a special guest. It felt more like we were being done a favour by being allowed into the lounge – now we must fend for ourselves. Even if you are not travelling in business class, IST is a fab transit point. Excellent shops, restaurants and bars. Both my wife and I said it will be our preferred transit stop, whichever class we travel in future. Signage could be improved and the information points were staffed were not interested in offering any form of ‘customer service’. The one time we asked for directions we were answered with grunts and a tired ‘nod’ in the direction we should go. I would hesitate letting anyone transit alone who was unsure about how to get around an airport (elderly parent etc.), simply because of the lack of genuine help available by the staff on duty. The service of the flight to Kenya was equally good with nice choices from the menu. The presentation could do with some work – meals brought out from the galley wrapped in foil (from an airline boasting top cuisine and a chef?) which is unceremoniously unwrapped in front of you. Turkish coffee was made from instant powder in full view of the cabin before being served (nicely) with Turkish delight. This was a little disappointing. Overall, a good product at an excellent price. The food service is good and transit process reasonably easy for frequent travellers. We will definitely book this airline again on this route.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLGW to MBA via IST
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"would choose them again"

(Malta)

Verified Review | Manila to Istanbul with Turkish Airlines. I am on the flight as I write this review there is one hour to go of a 12 hour flight. Today May 8, 2016, left on the 7th. I would have to rate Turkish Airlines in the top three if not the top. The seat was the best as far as layout comfort storage, TV screen nice big size and plenty to choose from easy to use. Internet on the flight. The chef on board was friendly and accommodating took care of a couple of requests with a smile. Had a good comfortable sleep for 6-7 hours Price for business was one of the cheaper ones. Overall enjoyed the experience, on Turkish Airlines and would choose them again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMNL to IST
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"lousy Miles&Smiles service"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Antalya to Frankfurt via Istanbul. Out of 4 airplanes flown, 3 were rather dirty and had limited or no entertainment systems. No WiFi was available onboard. After arrival in Istanbul, it took 10 minutes for the stairs to arrive and another 10 minutes for the shuttle buses to come. Istanbul domestic is similar to La Guardia. Miles&Smiles I contacted TK more than 10 times and spend USD 60 on phone costs without getting any professional reply - at both Istanbul Miles&Smiles desks the staff was busy doing their personal things and any customer was an unwelcomed intrusion. The girl at the outside Miles&Smiles desk made it clear that she will not answer any questions and is only hired to print cards. The guy at the int'l inside Miles&Smiles desk refused to answer my question and I had to pay USD 30 entry fee to a nearby lounge to get my answer. Don't call them. Just write a message and maybe you will receive a reply within 2-8 biz days. If you have anything urgent, too bad. If you have a question at check-in, go directly to the supervisor. There, you might have a chance to get an answer - I asked the supervisor at the Istanbul lounge about the lousy Miles&Smiles service. She refused to answer, refused to investigate, and refused to forward anything. She told me to write an email to customer care - Turkish Airlines staff guided me to the wrong security check-in, because of that, I was stuck with customs / police for over an hour. There is no Turkish Airlines customer care service at Istanbul domestic airport or outside of security at the international terminal. I contacted customer care and didn't receive any answer to any of above raised points. Turkish Airlines have a few points that they advertise and that are great (like the Istanbul lounge), with most other things, I felt like Turkish Airlines is only a large cheap budget airline. I am still waiting for a reply from Turkish Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAYT to FRA via IST
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great price, awesome food"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Zurich to Los Angeles via Istanbul with Turkish Airlines. Great price, awesome food and cabin service, smooth flight and on time. Very easy change of flights in Istanbul. I'd choose Turkish Airlines again to fly .
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to LAX via IST
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I was fairly pleased"

(United States)

Verified Review | I booked my Turkish Airlines flight from San Francisco to Vienna via Istanbul, and was nervous by the mixed feedback. But after 4 different flights (4 different planes, 4 different crews, all international) I can say I was fairly pleased with Turkish Airlines. Seats were more or less ok, each head rest had it's own USB so that's a plus - food was average, and I thought the staff was fairly friendly. Their English was "eh" but if you're leaving the states anyway it's really a moot point by then. I believe most of their flights are routed through IST, which I found an easy airport to navigate. I'd feel comfortable with a short layover here (like an hour) if that's a concern for anyone.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to VIE via IST
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"replace people with robots"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich to Istanbul with Turkish Airlines. Prepared my online check in to have a good start to my holiday. Arriving at the airport they told me they were unable to use the online check in reservations. Not any reasons given. Just they didn't use it. Now I am sitting in a middle seat in Row 10, instead of an window seat in the back. Please replace people with robots at this airline. If you are not able to do online check in don't offer it.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to IST
Date FlownMay 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no