Vote Airport  

Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 754 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"very satisfied customer"

(United Kingdom)

Singapore to Edinburgh via Istanbul on Turkish Airlines. Comfortable journey with very good service on both sectors. Excellent check in at Singapore and smooth boarding. Modern aircraft with very good amenities and food. Cabin staff were friendly and helpful. Easy transit in Istanbul and punctual departure for Edinburgh. Boeing 737 on the second sector was modern and comfortable. In flight entertainment was fine - food and service likewise. I think Turkish Airlines represents great value for money and on the basis of my experience I'd have no hesitation in flying with them again. Very satisfied customer!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to EDI via IST
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"did not have flat beds"

(South Africa)

Do not fly from Cape Town with Turkish Airlines. Business class did not have flat beds as they admit that the oldest A340-300 planes are used on this route. This resulted in the most uncomfortable night. The exclusive to business class toilet was out of order and the other toilets are very small. The entertainment is pathetic. There is no book containing the entertainment options available. The movies are extremely limited compared to other airlines and the main blockbuster has long ago left even the south African circuit. When I wanted to change my flight to the Cape Town - Johannesburg route so as not to be subjected to this plane again it cost me more than 6 thousand rands and I still have to pay for the trip from Johannesburg to Cape Town. Pay more with another airline but don't use this one, particularly not from Cape Town.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCPT to IST
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food extremely good"

(Morocco)

Casablanca to Hong Kong via Istanbul with Turkish Airlines. Great check-in at Casablanca, nice lounge, food selection was various and high quality. Casablanca to Istanbul the service on board is quite impressive. The cabin crew pay attention to details and the food selection is extremely good. I would criticize the inflight entertainment since they don't have a big selection of movies. Turkish Airlines lounge in Istanbul is the best I've been to in Europe. The food was amazing. Free massage offered and iMacs available. Istanbul to Hong Kong no complaints. Turkish Airlines offer free wifi access to its Business Class cabin and it works perfectly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCMN to HKG via IST
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"placed on standby"

(United Kingdom)

Worst customer service I have experienced. I arrived at the Turkish Airlines check in counter in Istanbul 2.5 hours prior to my scheduled departure and was told the flight was overbooked so I would be placed on standby, but should get on the flight. I didn't and from there the nightmare began. I was sent to 4-5 different counters and told different instructions at each one. No one at Turkish Airlines seemed interested in getting me on another flight. I understand overbooking flights is a common practice by most airlines, but there appeared to be no standard process in place to deal with passengers who have been bumped. The staff were extremely rude, unhelpful and offered no apology for my 7 hour delay. There was promise of compensation, but I haven't seen any compensation yet. Turkish Airlines customer service out of the airport seems just confused and unhelpful as in the airport. Terrible experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIST to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"refuses to refund visa fee"

(Germany)

While in Nepal we were informed of a 2 hr delay of our Turkish Airlines return flight upon arrival in IST. There was no info about the connecting flight to Stuttgart for which there would be only 1/2 h to get it. Back in KTM we learned that we'd have to stay the night in IST. We managed to get a flight a day earlier, thus at least making up for the time loss. The flight was very pleasant. But info and service on arrival that evening in IST was appalling. We had to find our own way through the airport, no signs and not knowing where to report for the hotel supplied by the airline. After standing in line for the passport controll we were told we need a visa, so we had to go back to another counter and pay 50 USD for a visa. When, finally finding the counter for the hotel, there was another long lineup and and afterwards we sat waiting for a shuttle. The hotel was 10 min away, very nice and we got a late supper around 22:30. The food was disappointing. Next morning, without breakfast, we had to shuttle back to the airport at 5 in the morning for a 9:30 flight. We were through security and passport controlls by 5:30, the gate wasn't announced until 8:20 and only then we were able to go and sit. All these are things that happen when travelling. But what annoys me to no end is that the airline refuses to refund our visa fee. What makes it worse is the reason given: we supposedly acknowledged the delay when we altered out flight, flying a day earlier. I suppose we did acknowledge the delay -2 hrs is nothing - but we certainly did not acknowledge additional expenses. The downtown airline office in STG does not deal with customer complaints and is not helpful in any way. The same applies to the airport office. My request then forwarded to IST was first returned because it was in German. For every message to IST one has to jump all the hoops on their website and over and over again fill out the forms. The very poor info-policy and service of Turkish Airlines, the only way to deal with the airline through IST and not in one's own country and the refusal to refund our visa fee totally spoils an otherwise pleasant experience with the airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKTM to STR via IST
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service very good"

(Malaysia)

Istanbul to Kuala Lumpur with Turkish Airlines. Warm welcome from cabin crew and always smiling during the flight. Service very good - suprised for economy class to be served with amenity kits which were really nice. IFE was updated and seat was comfortable for long haul. Overall nice service with nice meal as well.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIST to KUL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"failed crisis management"

(Turkey)

Turkish Airlines flight from Ankara to Istanbul with 6 hours delay on 21 January 2016. Boarding time was 10.25 and departure (scheduled) 10.55. Boarding completed and the gate was closed around 10.45. Normally this route is only 50 minutes. There was severe snow in Ankara. The aircraft has waited nearly two hours before take-off. Two hours later gave the news the flight had been cancelled. The passengers were requested to wait in the aircraft till it boards the gate. However 40 minutes after the announcement of cancellation, we heard another announcement that the aircraft perform its flight, however certain passengers declared that they do not want to fly, so the aircraft will wait till they leave and then perform the flight - the cancellation decision has been cancelled. Certain passengers left the aircraft voluntarily. Those who opted to fly waited till their luggage be removed. The following surprise was, the aircraft accepted new passengers once certain passengers left and their luggages removed. The newcomers luggage loaded in Cargo. Then another announcement "Those passengers Who do not want to fly may get off". A second wave of passengers left the aircraft and their luggages removed. The total delay has been 6 hours. Two consecutive flights on the same ESB-IST route after our TK2127 have been performed with 60-90 minutes delay. Snow is not sufficient to explain the reason of such delay. The cabin crew was really helpful and they served water, food, beverages with a pleasure. However Turkish Airlines failed the crisis management. The cabin crew performed the security demonstration three times because the aircraft was incoming new passengers as some other passengers preferred not to fly and leave. I had an intercontinental flight with KLM departing from Istanbul and I could tolerate 6 hours delay maximum, unfortunately I lost my intercontinental flight. A delay over 6 hours was out of my imagination. If the flight had been cancelled, I would not submit any complain and acccept the situation. I firmly believe that this extraordinary delay happened because the new passengers have been accepted to the aircraft, rather than the security concerns.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteESB to IST
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff were very friendly"

(United Kingdom)

After reading so many negative reviews about this Turkish Airlines it was keeping me up at night fretting over things going wrong, yet it turned out to be almost perfect. All 4 flights across our entire journey from London Gatwick to Incheon via Istanbul left on time and arrived early. The staff were very friendly and the food was good, I'm not a huge eater while up in the air due to altitude sickness but what I did have tasted great. The IFE was pretty standard, however I spent most of the time listening to my music. The aircraft's for the IST-ICN-IST legs of the journey were brand new, clean and shiny, I had no complaints about seat pitch or leg room, but then again I am only 5ft tall. Would fly again. They're cheap and my low expectations made for a lovely surprise.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to ICN via IST
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not be using airline again"

(United Kingdom)

Booked Turkish Airlines flights from Birmingham to Dhaka return via Istanbul. Original return flight had 2 hr transit in Istanbul on 2nd January 2016. Return flight was rescheduled 5 hrs later, with a 14 hr transit. I wasn't informed I would need a visa for the hotel accommodation. Got visa at Istanbul airport after queuing for 1.5 hours, was taken to hotel another 4 hrs later, then 4 hrs later was rushed back to the airport where I had to wait another 3 hours for my connecting flight. During this time, no food was provided. I arrived home some 19 hours later than my original return time. I will not be using this airline ever again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to DAC via IST
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"comfort and a cheerful crew"

(Turkey)

I flew with Turkish Airlines between Istanbul Sabiha Gokcen Airport to Frankfurt-Am Main Airport. Surprisingly, we took off from Istanbul on time which was important because whenever I have been to Ataturk Airport we always wait on the taxiway which can sometimes take 1 or 2 hours. Unfortunately, there wasn't any personal TV screens but the food was good. The seat was confortable and the crew were cheerful and helpful. I recommend Turkish Airlines if you want some comfort and a cheerful crew.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSAW to FRA
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes