Airline of the Year  

Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1004 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Istanbul. Very poor service from Turkish Airlines. At the last minute, as we were about to board the plane, we were told that due to a booking error (theirs, not ours) we had to pay extra or be denied boarding. Would not recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Istanbul
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the food and wines were tasty"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Montreal on Turkish Airlines. TK uses a dedicated business class check in with extra passport formalities for flights bound for Canada, USA, UK and Israel. This process was slow and added time to the check in process. Flight boarded slightly late but in an orderly fashion. On board, the hard product looked in decent shape with ample storage space for small articles. The overhead bin space however was limited due to the bedding they keep on hand. Drinks and lunch were offered after take off and having traveled the same route 6 weeks prior I was surprised to see the same menu. Despite that the food and wines were tasty and the service was with a smile. IFE had a good selection but the navigation was awkward at times. The Denon noise cancelling headphones were great. For reasons I have yet to understand Turkish turns on the cabin lights 3 hours prior to landing to serve an afternoon snack. Many other airlines do the same but not that far in advance of touchdown. This limits the amount of sleep you can expect to get. The wifi worked only part of the flight. It was an all around good flight with a great cabin crew. The French announcements from the cockpit were a nice touch. Flight departed late but arrived 40 minutes ahead of schedule.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to Montreal
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"one of the best airlines"

(Egypt)

Verified Review | Cairo to Vienna via Istanbul. I consider Turkish Airlines one of the best airlines for everything, the aircraft cabin is clean and the crew polite and helpful. Even the transit area at Ataturk airport was an amazing experience and we had almost 5 to 6 hours transit time at the airport but we really enjoyed it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Vienna via Istanbul
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flights overall were good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kuwait to Edinburgh via Istanbul. My flights overall were good. However, the in-flight entertainment system on one leg of the journey was quite choppy - not just for me but for all the systems. I find that their lunch food is better than their breakfast food. Boarding was painless and transferring through Istanbul airport was fairly straightforward.
AircraftA321 / Boeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuwait to Edinburgh via Istanbul
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"I would still recommend Turkish"

(Canada)

Montreal to Budapest via Istanbul. I had quite high expectations of Turkish Airlines but after four flights with them I evaluate them as mediocre. Perhaps I made a wrong meal selection, but Oriental Vegetarian meal was very unappealing. Other meals were equally dissatisfying. I appreciated steel cutlery instead of plastic. I was also disappointed to see that Turkish provides small vanity bags in an attempt to make the flight more comfortable. I would still recommend Turkish, because I booked with them and the price for a direct flight to Montreal was a good one.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Budapest via Istanbul
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



11th May 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Hi, thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectation. We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. We will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future. Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us becoming better at what we do. It's our goal to return you as a satisfied customer and we will hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you.

10/10

"appreciated the professional service"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Frankfurt. We started just on time from Istanbul. We appreciated the professional service from flight attendants. They were smiling and amicable. We ordered extra meal and it was delicious. The seats are confartable and the Entertainment Programm was good. Thank you very much for everthing and looking forward to flying with you again soon!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Frankfurt
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



11th May 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

How kind of you to say! Your nice words are very much appreciated. Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback and for flying with us! We strive to deliver the very best service possible and your comment makes us so happy! We are glad you enjoyed our service and hope to be welcoming you on board again soon! Best regards.

5/10

"Never saw a crew being so messy"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | This almost 11 hour flight happened in a brand-new aircraft. On-board entertainment as well as the seats were just perfect. As we flew from Kuala Lumpur there were some specialities like the fact that you are not able to buy water or go to a restroom after passing the security check, but this has certainly nothing to do with the airline, just the preamble to explain my later impatience. After boarding, it took the crew about 3 hours to organize the supper, what might be on schedule but beverages came even later! Never saw a crew being so messy. Almost every member constantly dropped something: our food, their own food, once they managed to drop a pasta portion twice. I asked for two beverages but the lady forgot my second request instantly (never happened before). So the whole catering procedure was messy, slow and ineffective. For the second meal the crew forgot our veggie meals, forgot to mention that the meals they offered contained meat. They were not rude nor disagreeable, just made this hard day far harder than it should be. Would try to avoid Turkish Airline for long flights from now on. By the way, the short flight from Istanbul to Zurich (3 h) in an old aircraft was perfectly organized.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Zurich via Istanbul
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



11th May 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Hi, we would like to indicate that the matter you have expressed has been caused for great regret for us. All staff members who serve in Turkish Airlines are reminded repeatedly through training programs that they must carry out their duties in accordance with rules and also must keep in consideration the satisfaction of our valued passengers. We apologize once again for the inconvenience, and with hopes that we can offer you flawless service on your subsequent travels, we are respectfully yours.

8/10

"the usual excellent hard product"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | Flew Turkish Airlines from Istanbul to London Heathrow. Slightly delayed departure after long line that involved multiple security checks. 2-3-2 fully reclining J seats with the latest onboard entertainment and WiFi. So the best onboard hard product available within Europe. The catering not that good this time. A rather poor salad offering and only a slightly better cold plate. The beef main course although delicious, lacking in portion. The crew were smiling but not forthcoming with drink refills. The lavatories were kept clean and the new Molton Brown products add to a quality experience. Overall an average flight with the usual excellent hard product.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to London Heathrow
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



30th April 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Thank you for your feedback! It is always our pleasure to have you onboard. As load capacity on our flights is limited, it is unfortunately not possible for every one of the catering choices to be loaded on for each passenger on the aircraft. For this reason, some of our offerings may run out during the flight due to heavy demand, and this possibility is stated in writing on the menus presented on board the aircraft, too. Additionally, catering choices on our aircraft are determined as per passenger numbers, flight/service time, and flight characteristics, and changes can be made to the options offered in consideration of our passengers' requests and suggestions. It is only through your feedback that we can improve our in-flight services. We will make sure we pass it along to our catering team to review it and take actions as necessary. Thank you again.

8/10

"I'm more than satisfied"

(Panama)

Verified Review | Sarajevo to Panama City via Istanbul. The first leg SJJ-IST was in a Boeing 737 in Row 1 with what must have been the worst leg-room I've witnessed in Business on a 737. The bulkhead is in front of your face and the only position to sit is upright. Fortunately the business class section was not full so I moved to a seat in Row 2, which had the seat in front of you to put your feet under. The service was good, and the meal was very good for so short a flight. The Istanbul to Panama City segment was on a semi-antiquated A330-200 which is 4 rows in a 2-2-2 configuration. The seat is comfortable for sitting upright and to a certain extent it is comfortable for relaxing. It is dreadful for sleeping, because the seat is so configured that in the "angled flat" position you slide down. I resolved this by putting my briefcase in the space under the seat in front of mine, and the briefcase then elevated my feet sufficiently to provide support to be able to lay comfortably without struggling to avoid sliding down the incline. The food on this carrier is much better than most European carriers, and light-years ahead of US carriers. The flight crew are sufficiently attentive to function without being over-the-top. When they finish serving, they disappear, and if you want something you'll need to call them and ask for it, or get up and get it yourself- they won't come by and volunteer. But the price is much cheaper than competitors on this route, and that forgives a lot. Overall, for the price, I'm more than satisfied. But if I had to pay full going price of European carriers, I'd fly Lufthansa or Air France, with flat bed seats and a more professional operation. A note of warning - unlike most Turkish long-haul aircraft which offer excellent wifi, this aircraft has no wifi, so you'd better enjoy reading.
AircraftA330-200 / Boeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSarajevo to Panama City via Istanbul
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



30th April 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Hi, we are really glad to read these valuable comments of yours. Also we would like to indicate that Turkish Airlines' aim is always to improve the service and based on this, our staff is always put on notice to be good-humoured to our valuable passengers. With our kindest regards.

10/10

"cabin crew helpful and smiley"

(Turkey)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Izmir with Turkish Airlines. It was amazing for me to find a Boeing 777-300ER in such a short (50 min) route. Plane was just 1 year old and very comfortable. New IFE works amazingly well and it has a very rich menu. They give a sandwich and drink. It was tasteful and good for a 50 min flight. Cabin crew was also very helpful and smiley as always.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Izmir
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



26th April 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

We are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with our colleague who has displayed our service understanding to you in the best way. We have accordingly shared your opinions with our concerned colleague and his/her department as well. Wishing to accompany you during your travels for many more years to come, please accept our regards.