Turkish Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1106 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"asked to purchase another ticket"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | My daughter and I checked in early for flight TK150, we then proceeded to the gate 204 as indicated on the boarding pass as well as on the boarding/information screen. We waited till boarding time and proceeded to board when gate was open. No announcement was made of gate changes. My daughter passed through the gate (204) and was about to board the plane when I was withheld due to the boarding gate having been changed. The fact that my daughter was let through to the plane shows a lack of security by the ground crew at the gate, which is not acceptable. Then we were informed to proceed to gate 306. At gate 306, we were instructed to proceed to gate 315 but the plane left by then. We complained to customer service and were asked to purchase another ticket!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIstanbul to Dammam
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attendants were all excellent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Istanbul. The service, the flight, the food and flight attendants were all excellent. But there was some sort of air-freshener sprayed into the air in the cabin that irritated our eyes. The bag of slippers, tooth brush were very thoughtful and were used.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Istanbul
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Excellent service throughout"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Excellent service throughout this 11 hour flight from Atlanta to Istanbul. Everything was great in economy class. IFE excellent, food service, frequency and choices exceeded expectations. Cabin crew attentive and went out of their way to deliver excellent customer service. I'm so glad I flew with Turkish Airlines.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Istanbul
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"great meals and drinks service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Istanbul to Ho Chi Minh City. Exceptional crew and great meals and drinks service provided on this 10hr flight. Lounge before flight was a disappointment as late departure (02:40) meant no fresh food or snacks were available but otherwise ok. TK offers great value business class fares with an excellent product offered for the price. Staff on board exceeded all expectations on this sector.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



20th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Hi, we cheerily read your nice comments about our in-flight service, which is really appreciated. Your feedback about the lounge service is forwarded to our related department. We kindly state that we owe our success to our valued passengers' opinions and feedback and we aim to feel our customers' support every day. Thank you for sharing your opinions regarding your experience and choosing Turkish Airlines on your flights.

8/10

"cabin and toilets were clean"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Istanbul. TK 57 left Jakarta airport earlier than schedule. The service level was similar when we returned back home on TK56. On both flights, cabin and toilets were clean and staff were nice. Food was in big portion and we are pleased to have it. Inflight amenities were sufficient. During this flight we did not get ice cream like Asian airlines. My other inputs are that menu for flights from Istanbul. Please serve any other menu from elsewhere. We had enough Turkish meal during our long visit in Turkey and please train your staff to speak better English. Yes they are nice and polite and speak English but just a little effort to speak better and I am sure Turkish airlines can do it.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Istanbul
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



20th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Dear Gunawanto, we are really glad to read these valuable comments of yours. Also we would like to indicate that Turkish Airlines' aim is always improve our service and based on this. In light of the information above we are grateful to you for all your opinion is a guidance for us to improve ourselves regarding the service quality of our operational processes, always desiring to feel the support of our valued passengers is one of the strongest factors in achieving the present success of our association and we aim to provide the best service with a contemporary approach. Best regards.

7/10

"was a good experience overall"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Istanbul to New York with Turkish Airlines. Check-in was relatively painless considering it was at a very early hour of the morning. Prior to boarding, used the lounge which was operating at a lower pace than usual and the food choices were not as plentiful as they are during regular hours. Boarding was by zones but it was a total disappointment when I found out we were being bussed to the plane which made the use of zones completely redundant. On board, the aircraft looked newish with 2x2x2 configuration in business class. The FA's were pleasant, friendly and professional in the conduct of their duties although they did not intervene when the passenger behind me stood up while the aircraft was taxiing. We were served breakfast then lunch prior to landing but the service was a tad on the slow side. I completed 8 return journeys across the Atlantic with Turkish in the last 12 months and their menu and wine selection have been the same each time and I believe a change is long overdue. The wifi worked well and the IFE had a decent selection although it could have used more recent movie releases. Flight departed and arrived on time and was a good experience overall.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to New York JFK
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



13th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for flying with us! We strive to deliver the very best service possible. We consider our passengers' constructive criticism as the most valuable help to ameliorate our service. Your feedback will be shared with our customer Service team. We hope to welcome you on board again soon . Best regards.

10/10

"Cabin crew were fantastic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London - Istanbul - Mashad in August and returned in September in economy. Three of us took the flights, planes were dated but they were clean and entertainment provided on board. Due to code sharing their flights were full to the limit. Lunch and dinner very good, however we did not like the breakfast. Mashhad to Istanbul delayed and as a result of this and due to very unhelpful airport staff (not Turkish Airlines) we missed our connecting flight and had to board the next flight, arriving in London 5 hours later than originally planned. Our bags delayed by about 5 days. All this to the side, Turkish Airlines processed our claim within 7 days, I had to only send a single email and full compensation was paid. Cabin crew were fantastic and ready to help. What I am most impressed with is their claim department that processed our claim very fast and paid full compensation. Well done to them and cabin crews.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMashad to London via Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



13th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Hi, we are really glad to read these valuable comments of yours. Also we would like to indicate that Turkish Airlines' aim is always improve our service and based on this, our staff is always put on notice to be good-humoured to our valuable passengers.Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you due to your baggage delay. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us becoming better at what we do. It's our goal to return you as a satisfied customer and we will hope to serve you again in the future. Thank you. We hope With our kindest regards.

1/10

"just doesn't care at all"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Singapore via Istanbul. FRA-IST then 2.5h layover and IST-SIN. The check-in process was flawless. Turkish Airline personnel on the first leg of the trip was quite grumpy, but professional. Their airplanes are clean, the services offered (entertainment, catering) above average and their crew on the longer, second leg of my trip was fine as well. Unfortunately my new bag didn't arrive in Singapore. It's missing to this very day. The airport luggage handlers in Singapore created a lost baggage report form for me. They called me for four days, every day, to update me that my bag is not yet located. Then they stopped. Turkish Airline's website claims "Within the first 5 days, the search for lost baggage is the responsibility of the airport Lost and Found Office. If your baggage is not found within the first 5 days, please visit the baggage irregularity report and follow-up page and make a claim with the required documents.". So I did that. I went to their website and made the claim. The website feels like it's 1990 again, limits text fields to something like 255 (not sure anymore) characters and disables copy and paste. It's as bad a website as I've ever seen one and will send you an English confirmation mail that links you to their Turkish website. I filed claims, stated my case, provided invoices and brands/prices for the things I am missing . Within minutes I received a reply. Unfortunately it didn't state a thing, was quite possibly a canned message and had vague content like "On the other hand, if our research brings any negative result, then; the documents, which we have requested from you before, will be forwarded to our Claims department in order for assessment. We would like to thank you for your kind understanding, regarding such period, in advance.". I replied, asked what time frame, what "period" we're talking about here, given that the 5 days are over. I got the same canned response. I arrived 13 days ago, I received not 1 comment on my missing bag from Turkish Airlines. They ignored the problem so far. They are opaque about the process, share neither procedures nor timelines/schedules. I'm sitting in Singapore without my things and this airline just doesn't care at all. They claim to be oh-so-customer friendly - and truth is, their service in the air was good. But I sincerely hope that no one ever has to talk to them about lost baggage, because here they are terrible and fail in every customer service metric you can come up with.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Singapore via Istanbul
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



13th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Dear Benjamin, we are sorry to hear of your recent disappointment in our flight experience. We assure you that customer satisfaction is our priority and we want the service in our flights to reflect that principle. We believe that our team will be able to investigate this and contact you personally to discuss this. We want to thank you for your patronage and for bringing these concerns to our attention. We certainly do not wish to loose you as a valued customer. We are confident that a future experience will better reflect our commitment to customer satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. Sincerely.

1/10

"trying to book a reservation"

(United States)

Verified Review | Atlanta to Nairobi via Istanbul. My experience begun with trying to book a reservation on the company portal on 4th November currently having a choice of 2 systems. Between dodging the prompt on whether you want to use “old version” or “new version” I struggled to reserve a round trip from Atlanta to Nairobi 19th November 7, 2017 return 27th December 2017 only to discover minutes later when going to print off ticket that it was wrong! The information was captured inaccurately, I just had one way ticket that was outbound with my return date on it. Confident that this is an easy fix after years of travelling with other gulf region airlines, I immediately reach out to the Sales Office in Atlanta which rings endlessly without any answers. Very surprised but again in good faith reached out to the call center number provided. This was a nightmare, the first agent could barely speak English and any attempt to get the name was met with callous response of – why are you calling. Speaking very slowly and clearly as it was obvious there was minimal comprehension, agent also confirming he could not understand leaving me very confused I patiently informed of the situation explaining that I was looking for a round trip ticket but believed there was a technical issue as screens kept switching between 2 versions on the portal. Eventually I was transferred to another department which I was informed would resolve the issue and unprofessionally transferred. I had to go through the same process. On the 6th when calling in for a status, as I tried to review the issue to the first agent, she told me she doesn’t have to talk to me if I was calling for a status and I had to persist that she could not treat customers that way. This was the first time ever to attempt to use Turkish Airline and it is quite a rude shock. Eventually I was transferred to another department to an incoherent agent who sarcastically informed me that I could call back to speak to a more articulate agent. Not believing a corporation like this does not have people who could comprehend the issue, I made another attempt to call back and request to speak with a manager and explain that I needed a resolution with my primary goal is to get the correct ticket that I reserved as I still intended to take the trip. I persevered the same call process all over again and this time found an agent, more coherent and a little patient only for him to tell me they had emailed me a response and that my request was denied. When I sought for clarification or a manager he informed me that there are no managers there and he read a script out. This is very disturbing, there’s no professional etiquette to this cycle of events even more so, my issue has not been addressed. It seems to be more about the money than customer satisfaction. My trip is about 50 hours away but I have the wrong ticket and no resolve. I have never experienced such a service in my many years of travel. I am hoping management will actually resolve the issue and not just respond without addressing the concern. I shudder at the thought of what lays ahead in the flight if this is the type of service they have before you even travel.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Nairobi via Istanbul
Date FlownNovember 2017
Value For Money 12345
no



13th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Hi, we sadly read your post and would like to thank you for contacting and informing us about your experience. Turkish Airlines' aim is always to improve and offer the best service. Therefore, we appreciate all the critique and suggestions from our passengers. We would like to inform you that some difficulties may occur on our website during the booking process and we wish to improve our services very soon by the presentation of our new website to provide better services to our valued passengers. For further investigation of your unsatisfied experience, kindly leave your feedback on our feedback form bit.ly/thy_form We will surely get back to you with detailed explanation.Thank you for your company on our journey to make Turkish Airlines better during your travels. Globally yours.

8/10

"Very responsive personnel"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Very good experience in total! Extremely good seats from Copenhagen to Istanbul. When entering the plane we saw that it was 2+2 seats with good space and an IFE even if it was only a 2.50 hr flight. Was served a simple meal which was enough. Had a layover of 3.15 hr in Istanbul and went to the lounge. From all reviews the lounge was highlighted as something positive. I would say the lounge needs a refresh. Worn seats, crowded, closed food places, etc.. Not at all what I had in my mind. You could of course drink unlimited liquor. Istanbul to Antananarivo was the best Business travel ever. Very responsive personnel and called you by name. The IFE had a good selection but the Denom headset was not noice cancelling! The boarding was chaotic. No organisation whatsoever. Would I travel with them again - Yes!
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Antananarivo via Istanbul
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



13th November 2017 : Turkish Airlines response

Thank you for your kind words. They are very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our service. Your feedback will be forwarded to our Customer Service Team and evaluated by our Lounge team as well. Hope to be welcoming you on board again soon! Best regards.