Vote Airport  

Transavia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"legroom made me go crazy"

(Singapore)

The 737-800 on the 3 hour flight from Marrakech to Paris Orly was old, but it’s the legroom that made me go crazy. In row 2 there was even less space for my long legs than on a recent Ryanair flight. I understand the low-cost model, but I’m also willing to pay more for legroom, but what when it’s not offered on Transavia. And how come there is no option for priority boarding? Give me options. Actually, once I was on the plane, I realized I should have booked the bulk seat, which I usually don’t like for you can’t stretch out your legs. But on this flight, that would have been a better option than row 2. Thankfully, I thought the food menu was good. Great options. Healthy options. Although pricy for what they were. EUR 2.50 for water?
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRAK to ORY
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"will avoid flying Transavia"

(Poland)

I flew from Innsbruck to Amsterdam with Transavia and it was my worst flight ever. During check-in they tagged by backpack as "not guaranteed on board" and I didn't really mind it being taken to the hold as it was quite big. The plane was only half full though so they let me board with the backpack. The staff was very annoyed that I brought it on board, even though they previously let me through without additional charges and most of the lockers were empty. During the boarding I wanted to ask the staff member to help me find a locker for my hand luggage, she was four rows away from me but couldn't be bothered coming to me, I had to almost scream to her about it! Later she didn't help me with putting the bag inside the locker, though even Ryanair and Wizzair staff help people with their luggage! Next to me was a group of 10 young guys who were really noisy during the whole flight (screaming and shaking my seat!). The passengers were annoyed asked them to be quiet but no one from the staff reacted. While staff was serving drinks (you have to pay 3 euros for tea in Transavia btw) I first said I'm not taking anything, but 20 seconds later changed my mind - the lady was incredibly annoyed by that, said it wasn't my turn to order now ? Definitely will avoid flying Transavia in the future, they have to teach their staff to be nicer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteINN to AMS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"treat passengers differently"

(Portugal)

Paris Orly to Lisbon with Transavia. This airline treat passengers differently - some passengers were allowed to carry luggage in the cabin while others like me (with only a small bag) they did not allow. And even they did not allow to put my coat because they need to have room for the luggage from the other passengers! I protested and the crew said that with Easyjet would be worse - but I was not flying with Easyjet! Then they said that someone from the crew would talk with me, but no one showed during the flight!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORY to LIS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just suck in every way"

(France)

Total mess of an airline This is the 3rd time flying with Transavia and it will be the last. To begin, every single time I fly with them, they make such a stink, bothering every single person about their baggage. Instead of asking if anyone would like to check their carry-on baggage for free before boarding, knowing that they don't have enough space in the plane (and they know, because it's been a problem every single time I've flied with them), they always tell people to rearrange their baggage so that it fits their requirements during boarding, holding up the line and wasting everyones time. This last trip, our flight was delayed by an hour, and instead of using this time efficiently, to ensure quick and stress-free boarding, the staff did nothing until everyone was in line, when a gruff, rude man immediately tagged my bag as being "not guaranteed to fit in the plane's carry-on compartments." My bag weighed 6kg, if not less, and fit exactly their requirements for the smaller carry-on that is granted to every passenger. When we started boarding, the staff was coldly telling every other person in line that they had to put their shopping bags/tiny purses etc. inside their main baggage or their couldn't enter the plane. Everyone is stressed, people are held up waiting in line for everyone to conform to this airline's illogical and stupid rules, and we get delayed another half hour in addition to the lateness of the plane. Not one staff member apologized for the delay except the pilot right before take off, and the same man who tagged my bag earlier seemed to revel in the fact that I had to check it. In addition, the lack of logic to these ridiculous regulations astounds me. Before entering the plane, the staff proclaimed that there was no room on the plane for more baggage, but upon entering, we notice there would be plenty of room for baggage if people were just told to keep their coats under their seats. One more thing is that this is an airline that likes to blame its client. On my flight from Paris to Barcelona, they decided that it was the fault of the people on the plane who "didn't respect their baggage policy" that this was why we were later than normal. And they made this very clear to us. But the real problem was that they forgot to check our IDs at the gate while boarding because they were so distracted harassing people about their bags that they forgot. They forgot to check IDs! Because of bags! Then they had to make everyone get out their baggage from the compartments to check them inside the aircraft. Beyond disorganized - if it wasn't so aggravating it might actually be so ridiculous it's amusing. Like I could almost write a comedy sketch about this. But no. If Transavia could just learn a little logic and basic customer service, maybe they could be an OK low-cost airline. But going by their record so far, they just suck in every way.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Paris
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no apologies, nothing"

(United States)

In my 27 years of flying, this flight with Transavia was the worst experience I've had, which is saying a lot because I fly with multiple budget airlines. I had already checked in online, but I had to check in again at the counter at the airport. Upon checking in, the gruff clerk weighed my bag and said that I needed to check it in. I had carefully packed the bag in accordance with the carry on rules, which is below 10kg. She stated that the limit was 8kg, which it is not, and I had checked multiple times to ensure this. She begrudgingly let us take it with us, saying it was not guaranteed that it could be carried onto the flight. We were then notified that boarding was delayed. No reasons, no explanation, nothing. We would be updated hourly. 2 hours after the scheduled take off time they finally had us line up for a measly drink voucher. Most of us had been here from early morning and it was nearing noon. Finally, after a delay of about 4 hours, hence wasting our precious time in Paris, we starting boarding. While I am a resident of the States, I am a South Korean National. There were two clerks checking our tickets and passport before going in. My sister, who has the same status as I, was checked by a female clerk, and was let into the plane without a hitch. Then I was check by a male clerk, and he asked if I had a Schengen visa. South Korean Nationals do not require a visa. Then he stated that France has lifted this visa, and was requiring people to have a visa for France specifically. This was merely a rumor and France had not done such a thing. This poorly informed clerk then rudely said that I need a visa when I clearly did not, and upon me showing proof online of such info, he leered at me and told me to step aside as he let everyone else in. After everyone else was let in, he then frantically made calls and checked online himself. As he was reading he realized how he had understood this falsely, and then without even making an eye-contact with me, told me and my sister that we could get onto the flight. No apologies, nothing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Paris
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"page is not user friendly"

(Denmark)

I chose Transavia because it was my only option. The page is not user friendly. I could not figure out how to check in online. The booking I received was in another language. I came 5 min too late to for last check in at the airport due to traffic problems and my confusion of which part of the airport it was - which is my own fault. I did not have any luggage that had to be checked in which made me too optimistic about time needed. When I asked the staff if there is anything to do about that they send me back and forth between different stations of their airline in the flight which made me feel stupid. It would have been nice if they straight away could tell me that it was too late. The lady in information booth was absent for 25 min and empty information booth is unprofessional. Disregard the review of the flight itself it just had to be filled in.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Fez
Date FlownDecember 2015
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"good low-cost airline"

(Netherlands)

TYransavia is a good low-cost airline with outstanding service. I fly at least 4 times a year with Transavia and it has always been a good experience. As I am a tall person, 198cm, it usually is quite hard for me to squeeze in to a economy seat. This is the same with Transavia, but every time I fly with them they try to give me better seats (for free), sometimes even premium if available, or they find a row with an empty seat. Their website as well as online service (email) are amongst the best I've experienced with any airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Athens
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"acceptably-priced inflight menu"

(Austria)

Flown this route several times over the last few months, booking six weeks in advance and paying around EUR120 return. Online checkin with PDF boarding pass works well (although mobile boarding pass was not always available). Security at RTM is a breeze, pleasant little airport, quick boarding by foot across the apron to aircraft, on-time/early departures and arrivals in all cases, seats a bit tight with no headrest, but a friendly cabin crew and an acceptably-priced inflight menu. All in all I'm a satisfied customer and would recommend.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRotterdam to Vienna
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"recommend for short flights"

(France)

Not very nice on the ground, but cheap, on time and with nice staff. Seats ok. I recommend this airline for short flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Marrakech
Date FlownMarch 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst in 20 years of flying"

(United Kingdom)

No compensation given for misleading statements. I was in Malta and experienced decompression sickness due to diving – 24h after, my airline refused entry to my flight for medical reasons, and said to book a flight with extra oxygen on board. With all flights booked and my airline needing one week to provide oxygen, I call Transavia to book any flight to Europe that can guarantee a bottle of oxygen (I should have been at work already at this time so I decide to try and travel through a connection city back to London). The staff answers that the flight HV5774 from Malta to Amsterdam, 24 hours later, can be booked with a bottle of oxygen guaranteed - I only buy my ticket with them on the basis of the availability of this bottle, otherwise I would choose a different airline, as it is about my medical safety. The booking confirmation says: "Transavia.com will provide extra oxygen on board". When I check-in, I ask the employee at the counter if the oxygen is available for me. She makes a call and confirms that the oxygen is available. But once in the plane, a person from Transavia comes and says "I'm sorry madam but we have no oxygen onboard - are you really going to need it?" I had to make a call at my own risk and realised that Transavia had falsely stated the availability of oxygen – and not just one time! – and ignored my medical requirements. Desperate to get home as I already had 500€ of extra flight costs, weighting pros and cons, I decide to test my luck and stay on the flight. The person next to me – who happens to be a nurse – found the whole situation unacceptable, and proposed to check out on me regularly during the flight. Then I asked for a small bottle of water to help in case I’m not feeling well. The employees refused to give me the bottle and insisted on me paying 2,70€ if I wanted it. Finally, the flight arrived with 30min delay, causing me to be unable to pick-up my luggage at the arrival as I would otherwise miss my next flight to London. I had to leave it behind and fill-in a form at the "lost and found" in London. (my luggage was “lost” for 5 days). I contacted Transavia to complain. They started by telling me it was my fault because I made my request with “too short a notice” and they need 72 hours. The employee answered then “we cannot give you a refund” and proposed a gift voucher. But I needed to first buy a ticket and then they would refund it (even though they just said that for my complaint no refund is possible – and anyway, who would trust a company that says “we will refund” when they just said “we have extra oxygen” and it was a lie?). Running out of patience I decide to accept the deal. The final joke was when I actually tried to buy a flight: I realised Transavia does not fly from London, so I will never be able to use what I was given! This experience was the worst I had in 20 years of flying and Transavia can be sure they will never see me ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews