Top 100 Airlines  

Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 226 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"were smiling and efficient"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Perth to Sydney. Queue at check-in was short and ground staff friendly. The seat looked a bit old, but otherwise was rather comfortable. For once managed to catch a little bit of sleep (I usually do not manage to). Impressed with the diversity of the cabin crew and they were smiling and efficient. For a budget airline departing late at night and arriving ahead of schedule, that was impressive. Decent value of money and I would say their level of service is superior to their Singapore counterparts.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"staff friendly and smiling"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew SYD-MEL-SYD with Tigerair with mixed outcomes. The was the first time flying Tiger after a very unpleasant experience in 2005 in Singapore. For SYD-MEL while waiting in the boarding lounge a Tigerair staffer approached me asking if I’d like priority boarding and an exit row seat at no cost. Gratefully accepted, but 10 minutes before the scheduled departure, no aircraft had arrived. It was obvious we would be late departing. After boarding, we all sat like dummies to be told after a period that the flight would not be leaving for 45 minutes as we’d lost our place in the queue for take-off. The 0845 departure became 0940. Priority boarding is a waste under such circumstances. Inflight service was fine, and the staff friendly and smiling. The food and drinks are competitively priced. MEL-SYD began boarding at 1800 for an 1825 departure. Again, once boarded we were told that bad weather in Sydney had delayed arrivals and departures and we’d be held captive for an hour so Sydney air traffic could be sorted. It’s not Tigerair’s fault, but why were we boarded and why were we kept on the plane when we could have returned to the boarding lounge. Finally push back was 1905 and the uneventful flight landed in Sydney 30 minutes late at 2029. Again, the cabin crew were friendly, smiling and made very clear announcements.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to MEL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"great experience"

(Australia)

First time flying with Tigerair Australia on a short weekend trip to Brisbane from Sydney. Early flight out of Sydney on Friday morning with easy hassle free boarding at domestic terminal. No carry on bag weight check. Short delay in take off - due to airport issues not airline. Good flight up to Brisbane, pretty full plane, in flight snacks/beverages offered, staff friendly, good landing and disembarkation. Great experience. Return leg late Sunday, easy check in at terminal, all carry on luggage checked/weighed at gate, easy boarding, great flight to Syd, very quick easy disembarkation. Very happy with the overall standard and service on ground an in air with Tiger.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to BNE
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff fantastic and the plane spotless"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tigerair Australia gets some pretty scathing reviews at times but they usually begin with "I was only 5 minutes late" or "My case was only 1 kg over". Here is a tip, arrive on time and pack correctly and you will experience one of the best budget airlines flying at the moment. We flew Tiger to and from Denpasar (from Perth) and the total experience was faultless. The flight departed on time and arrived early at both destinations, the food was tasty, the staff fantastic and the plane spotless. I checked the departure and arrival times for the 10 days preceding my trip and it was all the same, depart on time and arrive on time. Many full fare airlines would welcome a standard like that. The total experience was perfect, well done to all at Tigerair Australia for how you have turned this airline around.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to PER
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid this airline at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

We booked our flight 2 months prior and received an email the night before saying the flight from Brisbane to Sydney has been cancelled due to poor weather conditions. However, Tigerair Australia have other flights leaving on the same day running the same route and we have been told the next nearest flight is 2 days away. It took 40 minutes to get through to the call centre to be told Tigerair Australia are not running any more planes to compensate and will not cover hotel costs. I then asked about a refund which would take 3-4 weeks to process how utterly ridiculous!! They provided very little help and I have a strong feeling it has been cancelled due to something not relating to the weather. Even though this airline is cheap there is definitely a reason for it, they provide shocking customer service and definitely do not put their customers first. Do yourself a favour and avoid this airline at all costs before they ruin your travel plans and cause stress and wasted money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to SYD
Date FlownJune 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"cabin service friendly"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Melbourne to Hobart and overall a good experience with Tigerair. Cheap flight, and more importantly an on time departure - somewhat of a novelty during the early evening Friday slot at Melbourne airport. Cabin service was friendly. Admittedly, the seats are packed in very tight. Although on a short flight such as this leg it's manageable. Little touches such as a wrapped serviette on a bottle of bubbles are nice. As are smiles from the crew. Return leg took off on time and arrived 10 min ahead of schedule. Excellent timing.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to HBA
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was pleasantly surprising"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I was very hesitant to fly Tigerair from Brisbane to Sydney, given its reputation as the budget of all budget airlines, and some not so good reviews in the past. On top of that, I am also a nervous flyer. However, this flight was pleasantly surprising. I happened to arrive at the airport very early and had problems working the check-in machines so a friendly Tigerair staff member checked in for me and then kindly offered to move me to a great exit-aisle seat. The plane itself was clean and comfortable - even nicer than the Jetstar flight I took on the outgoing flight. The flight was slightly delayed due to bad weather in Sydney (as were other flights) but otherwise very smooth and on time. Flight attendants also very friendly and helpful. The only annoying part is their carry-on baggage restrictions - everyone had to have their bag weighed before boarding to make sure they were under 7kg. I got through with 7.5kg but I heard someone having to pay $53 because they were over. So take this as a warning! Overall though, happy to do it again and recommend to others.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to SYD
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they have lost a customer"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tigerair Australia flight back to Gold Coast from Sydney. I wanted to stay in Sydney one extra day so Tiger charged me $50 per ticket change flight fee and an $8 credit card fee per ticket so a total of $232.00 ($58 x 4 tickets) to move my flight from Tuesday 19/4/16 to Wednesday 20/4/16, this was of course on top of the original ticket prices $230 and I did this with over 48 hours notice. We get to Sydney airport ready for departure and waiting at gate 58 to board the flight as were waiting in line the Tiger staff start walking up the line weighing and measuring everyone's luggage - they measured my carry on bag, it being 2 inches over their length limit I was charged $83 to put my bag into the bottom of the plane. They may think it's a clever way to catch people off guard with no other option than to pay or leave your bag but they have lost a customer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to OOL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"experience was good"

(United States)

Flew with Tigerair Australia return Perth to Sydney for business and overall our experience was good. We got to Perth airport quite early (approx. 2.5 hours before check-in opened). The flight was departing at 2am, and the check-in was meant open at midnight - the desk and queue were already setup. We got in line at about 1150pm - there was a flight to Melbourne with Tigerair leaving earlier than our flight, and people were already checking in. After midnight passed there was a huge line behind us waiting to check in for Sydney - we started to get impatient and wondered what was going on. I went to ask at another Tigerair desk and staff told me that the check-in for Sydney was in the same line as the check-in for Melbourne. Nobody from Tigerair bothered to change the screen or come tell us, despite the fact we were all waiting in a hopeless line. We all transferred to the other line, which took forever. We were actually getting nervous about missing our flight. Only 2 people checking in 2 full flights. Once on the plane, our trip was great. The seat recline was good and I was able to get some sleep on the overnight flight. The flight attendants are personable and polite, and will assist you with anything you need. On landing, our bag was wet, but it had been raining so that's not really their fault. When checking in for Sydney to Perth, it was yet another check-in nightmare. We used the self-check-in to print off our tickets, thinking it would be faster, and I jumped in the short bag drop line. At this time, the check in for a flight to Melbourne was open as well, and because this flight left earlier they allowed Melbourne passengers to go first. No big deal but after the check-in for Melbourne was supposed to be closed, they still allowed people to cut in front of us, and we had been waiting patiently for close to 45 minutes. This was the only complaint I have. When on the flight, it was great like before.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to SYD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the check in was closed"

(Australia)

We arrived to Adelaide airport 44 min before our flight to Sydney with Tigerair to find out that the check in was closed (domestic check-in closes 45 minutes prior to departure). We went to Tigerair service desk to be told that the next available flight is 4 days from today and the staff were disrespectful. They were not interested at all to help. I asked to speak to a manager and was refused saying there nothing a manager would do. We booked the flight through one of the travel sites and did not see the fine print. The airline view was you booked through a travel agent so bad luck. This was the Ester weekend and everything was booked out. We ended up paying $2000 to get home to Sydney.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to SYD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no