Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 284 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Never flying here again"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The flight was cancelled from Sydney to Brisbane and we went to the airport to get more information. The front desk staff was rude and not trained properly to handle customers in a stressful situation. She merely said today's flight (Sunday) has been cancelled and next flight is on Tuesday. As an airline staff member there should be a bit more compassion from the staff towards customers even if it's a budget airline. Customer service is horrible. Never flying here again. Cheap flights means cheap service and use of cheap attitude and language by staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Brisbane
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"dispensed with good customer service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | A regular flyer with Tigerair on the Sydney-Adelaide route, I presented myself at the automatic boarding pass machine at the departure terminal at Kingsford-Smith Airport domestic terminal at 08.01 am for a scheduled 08.45 am departure on Tuesday 12th June 2018. I had no baggage to check-in and normally would have downloaded a boarding pass prior to arriving at the airport so as to avoid contact with this airline's arrogant and rude ground staff. The automatic boarding machine told me that check-in was closed, so I spoke to the female at the start of the Tigerair check-in race who told me that check-in was closed and that I could not fly that day but could get onto a flight on Wednesday for an additional fee of $85. Given that I had no check-in baggage and would normally not even present myself at this counter, I stood my ground and was eventually given a boarding pass. I dashed to Gate 57 to find that the lounge was still full of customers and believe it or not, the aircraft to service the flight had not yet arrived at the gate. The aircraft arrived at 08.15 am and the arriving passengers commenced disembarkation at 08.22 am. Boarding for my flight commenced at 08.32 am. I believe that an unethical method is being used by Tigerair to scam timid customers into paying an additional fee under such circumstances when in the 'olden days' good customer service would have seen a boarding pass issued given that there was no reason not to do so on the part of the airline. Tigerair is a low cost airline, which according to its latest propaganda on page 5 of it's 'tigertales' magazine provides 'value, choice and innovation'. But in the scramble to make money it has dispensed with good customer service and employs arrogant and rude ground staff to intimidate customers. Sometimes it is better to pay a bit more to fly on a competitor, but always stand up for your rights as a paying customer!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Adelaide
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nothing positive to say"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Melbourne. I think there is nothing positive to say about this airline (only cheap flights that can be much more expensive than you think). Cancelled flight 2 hours before departure! Next flight offered two days later (it was supposed to be weekend away). No effort made to even try to check with other airlines to book another flight. Paid airport car park from Friday night and paid that day for nothing (flight cancelled by them not by me but no refund offered) and next day I booked flight through Virgin Australia that had cost me extra $200. If anyone who is reading this post and wants to have without hassles and stress don't choose Tugerair. They are useless and unfriendly with no compassion and no effort to help their customers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"terrible customer service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Perth. We were basically dumped at Melbourne airport after our flight was redirected due to poor weather in Perth, with only 2 choices either take a flight back to Sydney and find our own way to Perth or take a refund and also make our own way to Perth. There was no help on the ground, 1 staff trying to deal with 150 plus people that were understandably very upset. We had to take the refund option and then pay $2000 to a fly to Perth with Qantas. No help at all on the ground or trying to help people make other arrangements. It’s not good enough to leave people stranded tourists, old people and we also had young children ourselves. I would expect a full refund of the fair to Perth and a reimbursement of a Tigerair fair to Perth with such short notice. To leave people stranded is very unfair and terrible customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cheap is not always better"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Never have I encountered a more poorly run airline. Our flight got cancelled due to bad weather conditions, which I can agree is a good call to make if it’s dangerous to fly. What amazes me by this though is that no effort was made by any of the team at Tiger Air to get us on a new flight. After doing my own research I found I could get a flight through Virgin or Qantas leaving 3 hours later but was going to cost me almost double in price to get it as it was a last minute flight. Flights cancel all the time, there is no stopping that. How the airline chose to deal with ‘paying back’ their customers, sending out random emails telling them they are lucky winners and can board the next available flight free of charge, while everyone else just goes home is just ridiculous. I learned as I walked away from the airport with all my luggage and missing the biggest competition of my career is that, cheap is not always better.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Sydney
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Really bad experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | Perth to Sydney. After canceled the flight I originally booked, Tigerair just told us to take the next one available nearly 12 hours later. And after the ground staff promised to reimburse the traffic cost as it was midnight and I had to take taxi to get to the hotel. They refused to pay my transportation cost because they said they only supply the hotel. Really bad experience and not an honest airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Sydney
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"subjectively target passengers"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | On our return flight, TT247, to Melbourne from Sydney on the 27/05/18. Ground staff made it a point to subjectively target passengers in order to weigh their carry on luggage. My wife was a little uneasy knowing her luggage weighed right on the maximum allowed @ 7kg, but hadn't realised they would also be weighing most ladies handbags. And I say, "most ladies handbags", because the lady before us did not have to weigh her handbag along with her rather large duffel bag. However, after my wife's handbag and carry on bag weigh in came in at just under 8kg, staff insisted she pay an extra $36 dollars on the spot. When my wife and I protested her inconsistent procedure with the previous passenger, staff became rude and defensive, insinuating we were liars and further insisting we pay up right away. We  requested to speak with her supervisor, to which she rudely replied, "oh look, you can put a complaint in writing on our website if you like". At which point, both my wife and I became adamant about speaking with someone higher up in the ranking. And we were glad we did, because after describing this, so called, 'customer service' team member's unprofessional behaviour, we were both permitted to board the flight without further payment or harassment.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extremely uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The worst airline I have ever taken flying from Brisbane to Sydney. The aircraft smelt (both for my outbound and return flight), the seats and inflight environment were extremely uncomfortable. Unfriendly flight attendant, randomly picking passengers to weigh their luggage and let others slip away, which the way is very hard to understand. What matters is that the price is not that cheap, unless you pick a flight time of around 6 or 7 in the morning. Never again with Tigerair Australia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"introduced mobile baggage scales"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Coffs Harbour A320. Tigerair have introduced a mobile baggage scales which is pushed along the boarding queue to check the weight of hand luggage to ensure it is within the 7kg allowance. Baggage over the allowance must be checked in at the gate for a fee. Boarding commenced about 25 mins prior to departure. The seats are reasonably comfortable and have a seat pitch of around 29 inches. Flight time to Coffs Harbour was 55mins and those seated on the left hand side of the aircraft had a great view of the Sydney CBD as the aircraft climbed towards the North. During the flight there are a reasonable range of food and beverage items available from the Inflight Menu Soft Drinks $4, Beer $8 Sandwiches for $9 and Snacks from $3.50. The cabin crew were friendly and attentive and we were kept well informed of the flights progress and weather in Coffs Harbour. The flight arrived into Coffs Harbour 5 mins ahead of schedule.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Coffs Harbour
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with this airline again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Melbourne. This is by far the worst airline we have ever gone with. The customer service is absolutely appalling, the stewardesses are rude and arrogant with no care to your problems. There is a limit of 7kg for carry on baggage (for a small suitcase and a handbag). After we had checked in we had bought presents from duty free; and they added this to the weight limit, refusing to let us remove the extra baggage and made us pay an extra 40 dollars. Along with this, they did not check all other customers baggage (that was clearly above 7kg), and completely ignored us when we were talking to them, and dismissed us as if we weren’t even there. We will never fly with this airline again, I can see why they have shit down in the past and have been on the brink of bankruptcy. They shouldn’t be allowed to operate.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no