Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 274 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"not to accept luggage if we won't pay"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Perth. Poor customer service. Very arrogant and rude ground staff. Charged for 30kg luggage when bag was only 24kg and put heavy sticker without writing actual weight of the luggage. Refused to communicate and threatened to not to accept luggage if we won't pay for 10kg over 20 kg allowed luggage. Spent 15 mins arguing when she was complaining about us being late. Had only three hand carries when 4 was included in ticket. We tried to communicate with her to remove extra weight from luggage to create another hand carry with bag that we had which she flatly refused. First, we were told $20 per weight which changed to $25 with saying that Perth customers get charged more due to Perth being far.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling, disgraceful, shambles"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Sydney. Appalling, disgraceful, shambles, the list goes on. That an airline can operate in this country with this kind of service is makes a mockery of our governments responsibility. If you choose to fly Tigerair your are agreeing that this airline holds no respectability to its commitment to your transport requirements. The dollar you save now flying with Tigerair will cost you 5 times when they fail you, simply not worth the risk. Booked & paid for flight returning from Adelaide for a days business was cancelled the afternoon of the flight. Tigerair refused to put me on another flight for two days forcing me to pay at the airport more than 5 times the price of my already purchased ticket. How an airline can cancel a flight and not be required to find an alternative similar flight, or refund the cost of an alternate flight, is beyond me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"substandard everything"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Melbourne. How does an airline with such low standards receive permission to fly in this country? The others are bad enough but add to this one the sneaky act of charging you $46 extra because your carry-on luggage is a few grams over. Apart from that, substandard everything. Service, food, comfort. Only giving 1 because zero not available. Only fly very short trips with Tigerair Australia, and only if no other options are available.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never experienced such poor service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very disappointed with the 8am flight we took from Melbourne to the Gold Coast this morning! The staff were rude, there was no explanation for the fact that I was unable to take my freshly bought, sealed coffee aboard the flight considering there were other passengers that were clearly allowed their beverages in the plane. The air hostess was rude and argumentative when explaining safety procedures and when she asked if we had any questions and one of the passengers asked one, she preceded to tell him that he should have listened in the first place and to look at the safety procedure on the back of the seat. I will not be flying Tigerair again and will be informing everyone of our poor experience this morning. I also believe that although Tigerair purport to be a budget airline, you appear to profiteer from the meagre cabin bag allowance by charging customers extreme prices for small excess luggage. I fly often, both nationally and internationally for business and I have never experienced such poor service. Lift your game Tigerair or the passengers will speak with their money when they continue to book other airlines who are just as reasonably priced but offer a much better customer experience!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Gold Coast
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly with them again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Cairns. Worst customer service. This is now the second time I have flown with Tigerair and I cannot wait to never do it again. Back home we do not weigh bags when they literally have attendants waiting at the front of the line waiting to do so before you board. Even if you are just a little over they will still make you pay a ridiculous amount. The first time I had to pay $36 and then the second time I had to pay $46. Where did the extra $10 come from. The price amount makes no sense on weight. I could be 1kg over and pay the same as someone who is 5kg. Not only that but the costumer service is very rude and not helpful at all. Will never fly with them again!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Cairns
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No offers of refunds"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Cairns to Brisbane. Flight cancelled. Other than one garbled intercom announcement there was no additional information about the new flight (15 hours later). No email or SMS updates. No information on Tigerair website. Unable to use initial check in information. No emergency accommodation, transport contingency from airport. No offers of refunds.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Brisbane
Date FlownMarch 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I waited patiently until 1pm "

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Adelaide. Would not even consider to give 0.5 star. Arrived at the airport 12 noon for the check In while my domestic flight is 2pm and there is somehow a line special assistance required and I waited patiently until 1pm but they still could not figure out how to fix the problem. So I wait “patiently” again until 1.15pm and they got it fixed but I hope my luggage will arrive as I know luggage drop closed 45 minutes before departure.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Adelaide
Date FlownMarch 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No customer service at all"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Melbourne. A tale of two vastly different experiences. My flight from MEL to BNE was a flawless Tigerair experience. I even made a note of the cabin crew who went out of their way to help a couple who were having a large variety of issues. I was ready to write a glowing review. However, the leg from BNE to MEL was a disaster. The flight was delayed and so people were slowly notified whilst waiting at the gate. There were a number of ground staff about and they made everyone weigh their bags to ensure they were under the weight limit. No real updates, aside from a delay due to engineering. And then an SMS comes through over an hour later saying it had been cancelled. No notification from actual staff, and no staff at the gate. So, I called their call centre as advised in the SMS. I was told that a recovery flight was being organised but I would have to check in. I go down to the check in counter and there is one staff member, who is having IT issues. After about 20 minutes she still hasn't served those people, all the while the entire planeload of people have now formed a queue. There's also no visibility of other staff. Unfortunately for some, they are trying to check in for actual operating flights and they are getting noticeably quite distressed in the queue. About 45 minutes later Sebastien, a ground staff member, makes an announcement over the PA which can only be heard away from the queue. I then go and ask what the announcement said as there's about 40 people who were all going "what was he saying??". I'm advised there is no recovery flight and there are no seats out of Brisbane until at least the following day. There may be spots from the Gold Coast, but best option would be to check other airlines. I had to be back in Melbourne that day (noting I was on a 2.10pm flight, so not cutting it fine by any stretch of the imagination). I ended up flying Qantas. I have received no follow up from Tiger about the cancellation - no email about 'what to do now' or anything. After a few days, I contacted them to ask the process. I got a reply that completely ignored what I had said. Not even an offer to reimburse my original flight costs. So, after many glowing reviews on here (e.g. my review from late Jan - MEL:ADL) it seems that when Tigerair get things wrong, they really get them wrong. No customer service at all. Sorry, Tiger but you really dropped the ball.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Melbourne
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I would never recommend Tigerair"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Gold Coast to Melbourne. Worst service ever. On 6th Mar I reached at the airport just 2 mins before the checkin close time. Departure time was 9:35 Am. I was just on time because there was bad weather and i had to travel to gold coast airport for about 45 mins where it should take about 20-25 mins on normal weather conditions. While i was searching for counter it took me about 2-3 mins and checkin was closed. I asked the staff to help me as its just about 3 mins, they said its very late now. You have to book another flight. Just 2-3 mins! They just wanted to earn money and this they didn't let me board-in. So I had to pay again for another flight on same day that was scheduled after about 5 hours. Such a bad experience. I would never recommend Tigerair to anyone. If this is the case, then if the flights are delayed, they should refund the money to customers, if they are so strict with customer checkin time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGold Coast to Melbourne
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Poor customer service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. If I could give negative stars I would. Poor customer service Tiger, cancelled flight, no notification and no alternatives that night or the following morning. A credit note only on offer, no refund, a refusal in fact. I had to fly with another carrier at my own expense. Tiger said due to bad weather, yet Qantas, Virgin and Jetstar were still flying to Sydney. I will never fly Tiger.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no