Vote Now  

Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 235 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"get what you pay for - terrible service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I have never in my life been more disappointed in an airline. Tigerair has to be the worst airline I have ever dealt with. My partner and I are having dinner with a few friends on Friday night, excited for our flight from Sydney to Melbourne the next morning – only to be dimmed when we receive a message saying they cancelled our 8.15am Saturday flight and they have put us on the flight at 3.15pm on Sunday. They could only put us on a flight 38 hours after they cancelled our first one. Because this was only a weekend away and we were leaving Tuesday – I brought a flight on Saturday with Virgin who were much more understanding and helpful. $600 down, Virgin did everything to make sure we were happy and tried to accommodate us after hearing how Tigerair treated us. When I asked Tiger for a refund for this, we were refused one and said the best they can do is a credit. Are you serious? Like I’m ever going to use this airline again. Yes, the flights are cheaper however, you get what you pay for - terrible service. Wouldn’t you prefer to pay $100 or so extra and be guaranteed a flight when you book it for and even better customer service from anyone else.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"another Australian rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This review is based on 2 return trips for my sons from Sydney to meet me in Perth. For the return leg, we were emailed/SMS just four hours before departure. They claimed simply Operational reasons - no further information whatsoever. After calling Customer service and in total over 60 minutes on phone, they agreed to put us in hotel in Perth. We checked with Hotel and there was no booking made for us, so we made alternative accommodation booking. everything was so inconvenient. My sons were re-booked next day on different flights back to sydney using Virgin OZ. one of those flights was re-booked by virgin themselves, without telling us untill at counter, meaning the Son.2 didn't get back until 24hrs after the scheduled return with Tigerair. Well they got back safely. But no compensation at all for the delay and loss of ones days work, and over 300km extra driving and all other expenses. Im used to Europe where after 4hrs Airline pays delay money and expenses. Whats make this Worse, i had Purchased Tigerair insurance. Which in fact is covered by CHUBB.com.AU, and you have to make the claim on seperate forms, receipts etc, not obvious when you buy the insurance. And they do not pay anything when its tiger-air problems- Classed as Operation Reasons. yet another Australian rip off. TIP, if you can afford it use a better airline. and if you are tempted by the Good prices. Dump the Insurance.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Perth
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extra kgs over their 40kg limit"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Gold Coast to Sydney. Very disappointed with Tigerair Australia baggage policy and will never fly again with them. I was on a flight to Sydney to catch a connecting intercontinental flight. I had two pieces of luggage over 20kgs and when I checked in was told not to worry that i would be given consideration and a solution would be found (as on line one can only add and pay for extra 8kg only). Finally on top of the 60AUD ticket and another 30 dollars for an extra piece of luggage, Tigerair charged me 320AUD for extra kgs over their 40kg limit at check in. Customer service was no better and four months later told me that its my fault. No customer respect.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGold Coast to Sydney
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional, money grabbing vulture"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hobart to Melbourne. My how the worm turns from being a beneficial symbiotic relationship to a greedy, unprofessional, money grabbing vulture. This ultra LCC really needs to justify it's existence. Incompetent, rude and full of self-importance, this airline has one flight each day from Hobart to Melbourne. No other destination from the Capital City of Tasmania is offered. Communication and Customer Service are foreign words to these amateur fabulosi. As quick as taking a glimpse over your shoulder, these fools will change the rules and leave you hanging without any means of transport! The score I give is only because I cannot give a negative rating: such a pity. Never again. I have a choice of three other airlines, and I will gladly share my hard earned dollars with them.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHobart to Melbourne
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew were friendly and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Very good experience with Tigerair from Sydney to Melbourne. Flight was on time and ground staff friendly. Cabin crew were friendly and efficient and onboard food and beverages was competitively priced. I wouldn't hesitate in flying Tigerair next time I travel within Australia.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to MEL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"definitely better than Jetstar"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Sydney to Melbourne. Great experience, flight left on time and landed on time! Boarded the aircraft promptly, aircraft was in good condition, cabin crew were pleasant and overall the flight was definitely better than that of a Jetstar flight. I would use Tiger Australia again for that reason!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to MEL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refund should be provided"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Adelaide to Melbourne. Poor customer service from Tigerair Australia. The flight was cancelled due to "poor weather" even though there was no rain in in both departure and arrival cities. No refund was provided, only a credit which lasted 6 months, which is impractical for people who do not travel often. If the flight is cancelled, a full refund should be provided by the airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteADL to MEL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't fly with Tigerair"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Cairns to Brisbane on Tigerair Australia. Scheduled departure at 3.25pm. Delay info at 9:00am (delay 75 mins due to "Crew requirements"). Arriving at the airport at 1:40pm, info about further delay of total 3 hours 15 mins due to "Engineering requirements". No Tigerair agent at the airport. Hotline only offers to change the flight to a later one, but no cancellation. We decide to fly with Virgin at 4:30 pm and ask Tigerair to cover our additional cost. Tigerair rejects. We ask Airline Customer Advocate to assist. Tigerair offers a flight credit in the amount of the tickets purchased, valid for 6 months. Info that we don't plan any further flights and that they should credit the amount to our credit card. Tigerair rejects. Second flight (already booked and paid) from Sydney to Melbourne delayed by 2,5 hours! Better don't fly with Tigerair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNS to BNE
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"231 dollars for one luggage"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Sydney to Melbourne. I apparently had not paid for a check in luggage (my fault, no problem) but when I got to the airport they charge me with AUS $231 dollars for only one luggage. The ticket itself cost 75, guess how that makes their customers feel. I do blame myself for not purchasing this myself beforehand, but I deeply regret choosing Tigerair now that I know this is "how they get you". I will travel a lot in Australia and will actively avoid scheduling more flights with this company.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to MEL
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"were smiling and efficient"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Perth to Sydney. Queue at check-in was short and ground staff friendly. The seat looked a bit old, but otherwise was rather comfortable. For once managed to catch a little bit of sleep (I usually do not manage to). Impressed with the diversity of the cabin crew and they were smiling and efficient. For a budget airline departing late at night and arriving ahead of schedule, that was impressive. Decent value of money and I would say their level of service is superior to their Singapore counterparts.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to SYD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes