Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 294 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airline experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Brisbane. Our experience this weekend with tiger was the worst airline experience I have ever had. Our flight on Saturday morning was expected to leave at 9:35am, but it was delayed until 1:55pm. The main issue I have is the lack of communication and compensation for time lost. There was no communication as to what time our flight was being changed to until 11:30. We were simply sitting around for two hours without hearing anything from the staff. When they finally told us our flight would now leave at 1:55, they offered us a $5 meal voucher. Now I'm not sure if they have looked at the food prices at Melbourne airport lately, but $5 doesn't buy you much! For a 4.5 hour delay I would expect more like $10-$15. On our flight back home on Sunday night from Brisbane to Melbourne, another bad experience. Once again a flight delay, this time our originally scheduled 9:15 pm flight home was going to leave at 11:15pm, and there was absolutely zero communication from the staff. No announcenent, nothing. We found out on Google that out flight was delayed. Due to this delay our long term car park we had booked in Melbourne charged us extra because we overstayed our visit, and we only overstayed our visit because of Tiger. Never again flying with Tigerair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Brisbane
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ignore me and my e-mails"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Cairns. My wallet fell out of my pocket when I was getting up from my seat on my flight on July 12th. I noticed while I was coming down the steps onto the tarmac, I was not allowed to go back and check my seat. The crew on the tarmac told me to go to the gate and another crew member would bring my wallet down to me. I was one of the very last off the plane. The crew started boarding the plane almost immediately after we came through the gate. We then had to wait an hour with no communication as to whether or not they had looked for it or if it had been found. The crew couldn't even care enough to actually look at my seat for it and didn't ask for a description. When I called the airline the following day I was told I had to e-mail "customer care" to check for lost property. Crew didn't let me know they had found my wallet until the following day, after I had cancelled all my cards and paid to replace my drivers licence. I thought a customer service line would respond right away if they had found something so important. They told me if I wanted to get my wallet back that I had to pay for them to post it back to me. I paid for and sent them an envelope almost two weeks ago and they have not returned my wallet to me. I have been in contact with Tigerair in regards to this, and they repeatedly ignore me and my e-mails. The customer service with this airline is abysmal. Tthe customer care e-mail have been absolutely no help whatsoever.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Cairns
Date FlownJuly 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service you get is close to none"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Sydney to Melbourne with Tigerair Australia. Seriously, if you can, avoid this airline. It's the cheapest you can find. The service you get is close to none and they will make you pay for even breathing. The flight was delayed and instead of getting an apology, the extremely rude staff made me pay 36 AUD because my carry on was 1.5 k more than their 7k limit, and insisted she had to count my laptop bag as well. I could see that others were getting away with much heavier bags but she was just making a fuss out of nothing for my bag (I don't have an Aussie accent so she gave me a completely different attitude).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never choose Tigerair again"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Flew to Brisbane with Jetstar in the morning and was flying back to Sydney that night with Tiger Airways. It was the first time I was to fly with Tiger and they cancelled the flight via text and email. I immediately called customer service which is based in the Philippines and waited 15 minutes for someone to answer the phone. After 20 minutes on a mobile phone I realised that I would not be provided with any assistance. I went to the airport and waited two and a half hours for Tiger Airways staff to get to work at 6.30pm. To say Tiger Airways staff are unhelpful is a gross understatement. They could not give a rats about the customer at all, in fact their complete lack of ability to provide assistance was incredulous. Their idea of assistance was for me to sleep at the airport in the clothes I was wearing, go without food or showering and my prescription medication for the next two days. The fact that they are required to put passengers on the next available flight doesn't hold for them if there are no seats available. I was asked haughtily if I had read their terms and conditions. Now I have to wait two weeks to get my money back and they refused to give me a receipt. Disgraceful airline, rude staff with no empathy or common sense and appalling service. Tiger Airlines business practices need to be investigated. To make matters worse all the other airlines jacked up their prices to take cancelled passengers on board. I slept at the airport and had to pay $552 to fly one way to Sydney the next morning. Just a horrible stressful experience and I will never choose Tigerair again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Sydney
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"experience was disappointing"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I love Tiger Airways and find their flight crew incredibly friendly and efficient. However today my experience was disappointing because of three young people in row 1 AB&C who were served alcohol again after the cabin service had ceased and the pilot had asked the crew to prepare the aircraft for landing. The individuals concerned were loud, swearing and jumping around in the their seats continually reclining the seat and generally being quite obnoxious. The crew seemed to think their behaviour was OK and a great start to their holiday. It spoilt my flight and that of the person sitting next to me. I don't believe alcohol is necessary at 9.30am I'm not adverse to a drink on a flight but this was not necessary. Overall think Tiger great value but will rethink my next flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight was cancelled"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Today my group of 23 people booked a trip with Tigerair TT229 Sydney to Melbourne, the flight was cancelled. Staff Tigerair at the airport did not take care of the customers. Lack of responsibility, and would not help us book other flight. Please do not fly with Tigerair.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"people making outrageous complaints"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Gold Coast. Poor staff had to put up with terrible abuse pre boarding at gate re customers luggage being over 7kg. Staff continued to be supportive and patient with people making outrageous complaints due to their carry on baggage being over 7kg. Congrats girls for what was an obvious abuse of you
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Gold Coast
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Dreadful, never again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Brisbane. I don't know why I keep flying this terrible airline. This is the second time they have cancelled a flight on me. I was book to travel on 3 July from Sydney to Brisbane. I was in Canberra and had to drive to sydney to catch my flight. I received a text from the airline to say that my flight was cancelled due to technical problems with the aircraft. The call centre told me that i had two options, a flight to Sydney on the 5th, or a flight to the Gold Coast on the day. Picked the latter because i did not want to pay accomodation charges in Australia's most expensive city. I mentioned to a member of Tigerair staff at the kiosk at Sydney airport that I had been bumped off the flight. Her reply "why do you keep flying on this airline". Hardly filled me with confidence. It took me two hours by public transport to get to Brisbane Domestic airport to pick up my car. Dreadful, never again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Brisbane
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"completely dissatisfied"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We were booked to travel on the 30 June to Brisbane from Melbourne going for our nephews wedding in the afternoon. We booked our tickets on the 20th May. Our flight was at 7am. We were travelling on the 30th June and returning the next day 1st July. We booked parking at the airport and arrived around 5.30am for the flight. The airline has cancelled he flight. They had sent an email about 12.30am saying the flight was cancelled. The airport agents were rude and unprofessional and said to book another flight ourselves. This is completely unacceptable and many people like us were stranded. This airline has got no customer service or sympathy to its passengers. We are completely dissatisfied as we missed a family wedding and ruined our weekend with family and friends.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Brisbane
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The flight was canceled"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Melbourne. Horrible my child's first flights delayed twice at 1am in the morning, then canceled until later in the afternoon. Left heaps of people with having to sort out accommodation cost for a few hours and travel cost back home and also the cost of parking for waiting for so long. They did promise to reimburse some accommodation only if you live out of metro area. You pay first then they pay you back after 7 days min. The flight was canceled and the sign below says it all. Pay the extra cash people to get a better air company who will look after you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Melbourne
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no