Top 100 Airlines  

Thomson Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 535 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"choose Thomson over Ryanair and EasyJet"

(United Kingdom)

Corfu to Birmingham with Thomson Airways. Booked the extra space seats in row 32 which is an exit row giving us plenty of leg room when the flight attendant isn't using the jump seat opposite. Seat width was a bit narrow but okay for a short haul flight. The only issue I had was a strong draft blowing round me which could be felt by the passenger sitting in the aisle seat but not my husband in the window seat. No IFE provided and drinks were a little on the steep side. Crew were very chatty and friendly and there were plenty of updates on arrival times and route information from the flight deck during the flight. Seats were on the thin side and could do with some extra padding but were bearable for a short haul flight. Toilets were clean and well maintained. Would choose Thomson over airlines such as Ryanair and Easyjet anytime.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCFU to BHX
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent flight experience "

(United Kingdom)

Glasgow to Dalaman return with Thomson Airways. We were in seats with extra space in row 10E/F both ways. These seats had a great amount of legroom. Flights left on time both ways landing about 30 mins early on return to Glasgow. Crew were fantastic and very friendly. Flight deck gave regular updates on the flights. Food and drink onboard was okay, and I didn't mind paying the price. If you are buying duty free on plane would advise buying on outward journey as not a lot left on our return flight. Another excellent flight experience with Thomson.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGLA to DLM
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"probably end up flying Thomson again"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Las Palmas return, 1 week apart for holiday purposes; myself and my wife. Both ways sat in extra legroom seats by the over-wing emergency doors. Outbound extremely unfriendly cabin crew serving from the front of the plane. Going through the motions as far as announcements as if having passengers on the plane was an inconvenience. Went up (didn't press the call button) to the galley to buy drinks. As the cabin staff was grudgingly serving me drinks the co-pilot came out of the toilet and asked him how it was going to which he replied he was "under attack." We were going on holiday for gods sake, lighten up! Inbound a different aircraft but much nicer crew; mostly the same people, a different cabin manager so a different ethic maybe? On my photo of the galley cart you can see the airline mergers and rebrands that have gone into Thomson over the years. Overall will probably end up flying Thomson again if booking a package holiday.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to LPA
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"you get what you pay for"

(United Kingdom)

Outbound Thomson Airways flight to Punta Cana good with cabin crew very friendly and efficient. Drinks trolley shortly after take off, then meal service. Standard aircraft food, nothing to write home about but filling. Good entertainment on built in seat back screens. Seats had good legroom but are rather narrow. Just pray you are not sitting beside a larger person. Seat configuration not very good at 3-3-3. This only suits family's of three. Much better to have 2-5-2 or 2-4-3 this gives more flexibility and enables more people to be closer to an aisle. Return flight left a lot to be desired due to the non interested crew who were more interested in talking to each other than serving passengers. Three times I was asked what I would like to drink and each time I responded, but due to inattention and conversation with cabin crew I was literally ignored to death. Drink measures extremely small, I was given a small splash of brandy with loads of ice. Impossible to taste the brandy. They had miniatures of spirits on the trolley but would not serve them. Seats are incredibly thin and uncomfortable. They would make a fortune selling blow up pressure cushions on the flight. Breakfast served shortly before landing was sausage and omelette, which was surprisingly tasty. The Boeing 787 is a fairly comfortable aircraft but is much over hyped. Claimed to be a lot quieter than comparable aircraft. I would dispute this as I have found Airbus A330 to be quieter than this. There may be something in the claimed air quality as I have not suffered from jet lag as much as before. Overall a fairly good flight which could be greatly improved by reminding cabin crew who pays their wages. Flew as part of a package holiday with First Choice. I suppose you get what you pay for.
AircraftB787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to PUJ
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"use Thomson for my next trip"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | First time long haul from Gatwick to Orlando Sanford with Thomson airways, flew out on G-TUIH in row 36 as we purchased extra space seat, plenty of leg room and seat width was very good. The flight out was excellent, crew friendly and helpful bringing round plenty of complimentary drinks etc. Flight back in row 34 on G-TUIC was the same. Aircraft was boarded ready to go on time both ways but had slight delay due to congestion at Gatwick and again in return due to a cargo issue. The aircraft are clean and in excellent condition inside with a very good choice of entertainment. I didn't buy into all the Boeing 787 hype beforehand but it is a fantastic aircraft to fly, in especially after going long haul on the old 747-400. Will definitely use Thomson for my next trip.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to SFB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew were businesslike"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Thomson Manchester to Paphos return in April. Flight left on time, leg room slightly limited (I am 5ft 9). Cockpit announcements informative and the crew were businesslike, but friendly enough. I did feel sorry for the two crew members who had to deal with two parents and three children mid way down the cabin. All of the children appeared to be under 5. They began causing havoc in the departure area, and were rather a nightmare throughout the flight. Thankfully, we were 4 rows back. I pitied those immediately behind as there was simply no escape from the constant shouting screaming and general disruption. Fully appreciate that young families are entitled to a holiday as are the rest of us. I have travelled frequently with young children and have always struggled to ensure that they did not disrupt fellow passengers. The parents in this case simply had no control whatsoever over their children, who were unruly and vocal continuously through a 4.5 hour flight. The mother's response to their constant screaming was to shout back! To their credit, the cabin crew did intervene at an early stage even before the aircraft left the ground to ensure that dad, (who apparently planned to sit apart from his partner and the children for the duration of the journey), took charge of one of the children. This didn't make a huge difference but probably slightly eased the journey for those behind. This was basically all that the crew could do, but they did at least intervene and attempt some improvement without causing offence. Flight back a week later was on time, and no complaints. Clear up of the cabin prior to landing could have been a bit more thorough, but not a huge problem. The most tense part of the return journey was nervously scanning the departure lounge hoping that the family from the outbound flight were not joining us on our return leg. They didn't - result!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to PFO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the service was quite good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | East Midlands to Thessaloniki return with Thomson Airways. The aircraft on both outbound and inbound journeys were new and we were sat on rows 4 and 5, respectively. The flights were around 3 hours 15 minutes. The seats don't have a lot of legroom, and it can feel quite cramped, especially with the seat table folded down. The planes were fairly clean, though on the return journey, two toilets ended up being "out of order", which meant a queue at the back of the plane. Though 3 hours isn't the longest flight, the lack of any entertainment is somewhat annoying; watching a map of the plane's location gets boring after the first five minutes. The food onboard is quite expensive, and not to everyone's tastes, but was sufficient enough for me. As ever, the service was quite good (I always find that it's better on the return journey), and the flights were good.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEMA to SKG
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew were pleasant and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Paphos and return on B737-800 with Boeing Sky Interior, creates nice spacious feel to the cabin. Aircraft clean and comfortable on both sectors. Crew were pleasant and helpful and choice of drinks and snacks was good. Im 6'3 and found the leg room absolutely fine for a 4hr ish flight(30D out 19C back). Found it much more comfortable than the 757 I flew on in January. All in all a good experience with Thomson.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to PFO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"worst part was air quality"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Cancun return with Thomson Airways, and both ways in seats 1A/1C - bulkhead seats with extra leg room. They were the most uncomfortable seats we have ever used in any aircraft with any airline. The recline was abysmal and the seats were really hard and narrow. Leg room was extra, but the so-called leg rests were useless - didn't support your legs at all. Hadn't realised that people would be queuing for the toilet up front right by our seats - got banged and nudged many times. The fold-away tv screens were OK but could have been a bit bigger - and more flexible in positioning. The hot food was awful. I had a fillet steak on the way out - really did think it was liver from its texture and colour, and its lack of taste. The hot breakfast on return was some sort of egg - (omelette?) with a sad looking limp under-cooked sausage - couldn't eat it. Stewards out and back were smart, polite, and attentive, and tried their best. The worst part of both flights was the air quality. Everyone was coughing, sneezing and spluttering about 6 hours into the 11 hour flight out, and the same back. It took about 5 days after to recover. There is something radically wrong with this plane's system.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLGW to CUN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"seats were incredibly uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Birmingham to Paphos with Thomson Airways. Boarding was carried out quickly and efficiently. Once on board we found our seats, extra legrom seats which we had paid extra for. The plane looked old and tired inside. The seats themselves were incredibly uncomfortable. There seemed to be almost no paddind on the back rest which made it a very uncomfortable journey. The other problem I encountered was the noise from the engines onboard, it was without doubt the loudest cabin I have been in for years.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to PFO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no