Top 100 Airports  

Thomson Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 549 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"staff are always very friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Very punctual and smooth flights with Thomson from Salzburg to Manchester. Staff are always very friendly and of assistance. The eatery is of okay value for an airline, although hot drinks at £2.50 is on the steep side. Seats are comfortable enough, but they do not provide much legroom. Everything is clean, and it is always a joy to watch the pre-flight safety video, which I'm glad Thomson haven't changed.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSZG to MAN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"very little legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Cancun to Glasgow and would advise anyone to completely avoid Thomson and their "Dreamliner" - it's anything but what dreams are made of. Seats are arranged like cattle, offered drinks for first 2 hours of 9 hour flight and that was it. Seat was damp on way out, raised with crew who could "only apologise". Entertainment choice was very poor. Would recommend Thomas Cook, or United who I've had much better experience flying with. Best thing about Thomson is their pay £15 to choose your seat deal. They endeavour to sit parties together where possible. Given it's a 3x3x3 set up, it's understandable that parties may be split across the aisle from each other as some people have kids etc. Best thing was, they sit you on complete opposite sides of the aircraft, seat C and seat G. Not to worry, upon take off you're given a strict warning not to cross over from one side of aircraft to the other. However pay us £15 each and they magically conjure up seats 13 C and 14 C. In addition, food very poor, just go elsewhere value wise you'll get much better. Seat configuration is so rigid too, with very little legroom.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCUN to GLA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"extra leg room not worth the extra"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Cancun return. I don't enjoy flying so my husband booked the extra leg room on the Boeing 787, for this 10 hour flight. Service was good with free drinks, we only had soft drinks and hot food. I settled down to watch a film with the screen some 18" away from my face, perfect. Within an hour or so, the passenger in front reclined their seat! Screen now 12" away and totalally restricted the extra area that we had paid for. Not happy. The other comment that I would make was that when the tray was opened for use, the back of the chair in front (behind the tray), was filthy. It had what looked like splashes of tea all over it. We did report this to the air hostess on the return journey. Generally though, service, food, toilets all good/ acceptable. Cleanliness and extra leg room seats, if passenger reclines their seat, not worth the extra money.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLGW to CUN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"suffering abusive behaviour"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Burgas. Was meant to be on a Boeing 787, but our flight had no plane and no crew, and ended up having over a 6 hour delay. To make matters worse we ended up taking off at 1.20am surrounded by a drunken stag party, using bad language in front of children, shouting, jumping on seats, and swinging on the back of seats, throwing food around, at one point even shouting for the children to put parachutes on ready to jump from the plane. Despite this the cabin crew continued to serve them double whiskey and coke in one hand and a beer in the other, topping them up all through the flight. I strongly disagree when their policy clearly states that no one under the influence of alcohol will be allowed to board the plane. Their case was that because the police had escorted this party onto the plane it was not Thomson's responsibility, but why did they continue to supply them drinks? So the rest of us passengers on that flight at 1.20am had to remain unhappy, very tired, unable to sleep and suffering abusive behaviour. I might add that the return flight was better but I have been put off Thomson by their attitude to this event - and the customer services told me this happens on a lot of flights.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to BOJ
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"an acceptable experience"

(Austria)

Arrived at Gatwick to face a tediously slow 45 minute queue to check-in, before proceeding through the well renovated security clearance in North Terminal. Swift boarding, although flight was delayed an hour whilst sat onboard due to an ATC issue which required a rerouting. Frequent updates provided by a friendly Captain. Once underway food and drinks service prompt and although not generous, tasted good. PTVs are good but the fim/tv selection is very poor (c. ten films). Seat pitch good (33") and decent recline, although seats are narrow and can be uncomfortable when you've a large person seated beside you, as I did. On the return flight, smooth boarding by bus, timely departure and landed 45 minutes early. Meal service and duty-free took four hours to be completed, which left less than five hours to sleep before being awoken for a reasonably good English breakfast. All in all, an acceptable experience - you get what you pay for, value for money, and we only opted for Thomson due to the direct flights to Puerto Vallarta to visit friends - preferable to a two-stop option via MAD/MEX.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to PVR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"cabin crew were attentive"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew with Thomson Airways from Newcastle to Cancun on 09/06/16 and then returned on 23/06/16. Travelled in Economy, had toyed with the idea of booking Premium Club but decided against it. Flight from NCL to CUN was excellent, I had heard a lot about the 'Dreamliner' and thought it was just hype, turns out it really is a great aircraft. The cabin feels more spacious and the air quality much better than any aircraft I've flown on. As for the service, the cabin crew were attentive and had plenty of banter with the the passengers, the food was good and the entertainment system had a decent selection of films and movies to keep you occupied. The bar service was more than adequate, they came round an hour after we took off, served wine with dinner then another bar service later in the flight - you could go to the galley at any time to ask for a drink (on OB and IB flights they did start to run out of bar stock). The return flight was just as good, my partner and I had pre-booked the window and middle seats and ended up having no one sit in the aisle seat. Would most definitely recommend Thomson Airways if this airline is an option on the route you are flying. I flew BA to Orlando last year and this was a far better experience. Only thing I'll comment negatively on is he cleanliness of the planes, my tray table has stains on it and I could see that the whole aircraft could do with a deep clean - sort this out Thomson, you are flying state of the art aircraft that cost millions of pounds, keep them clean.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNCL to CUN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"stupid limit on hand luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Stupid 5kg limit on hand luggage. Ridiculous. My mini case weighs 2.5kg empty. Every other airline allow 10kg which should be what Thomson allow. Such a shame as everything else was great flying from Birmingham to Corfu. We paid extra for 20kg hold cases which even full only weighed 17kg so could have done with the extra hand luggage allowance. I did notice they will up grade it to 7kg if you pay! How petty .
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to CFU
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew extremely professional yet friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Checked in online and pre paid for seats, bag drop facility a was fairly quick with friendly staff. Security very pleasant and considering how busy the terminal was, quick and painless. Warmly welcomed onboard by the crew. The aircraft had clearly been on a fairly short turnaround as it was grubby looking in places, but spacious and the legroom was better than some leisure carriers (we were sat in row 17). Selection of drinks and snacks very good, including hot sandwiches. 2 drinks/snacks rounds, as well as duty free carried out. Crew were extremely professional yet friendly and chatty - on the 2 hour 50 minute flight, they worked extremely hard yet always with a smile. Landed on time and very quick processing in the small airport at Preveza. Would recommend and use again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to PVK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"real attentive service"

(United Kingdom)

Preveza to London Gatwick with Thomson. We have always talked about memorable flights over the years and a Thomson Airways from Cyprus over 12 years ago always came to mind. However, our return flight from Preveza, Greece has just taken the prize. Flight delayed for approx 1.5 hours and sat in the aircraft awaiting clearance. The pilot kept us honestly informed with a touch of humour so the whole episode was quite relaxed. The cabin crew where brilliant and a credit to the airline. Smartly attired which is becoming a rarity, great humour and real attentive service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVK to LGW
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"the legroom was good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew with Thomson Airways in May from Stansted to Paphos return. The flight was on a Boeing 737-800 with the sky interior and large overhead lockers. The legroom was good for a 4 hour flight and seats were comfortable - I managed to sleep on the return as it was a night flight. The food was good and reasonable priced. The cabin crew were very efficient and friendly, and on the return journey, tried to get their services done quickly so that people could sleep. The plane was clean and we departed on time both journeys. No IFE, although we had a TV overhead with the airshow.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSTN to PFO
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes