Vote Now  

Thomson Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 567 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"flight from hell"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Glasgow to Sal, Cape Verde. Flight of 6 hours 20mins in Thomson Airways short haul, narrow bodied aircraft. Paid £200 for extra legroom which we only got at take off and landing. The flight attendants invited people to move about the cabin and this was taken as an invite to stand in front or perform exercises in extra leg room. My feet were continually trampled on. One woman even put her children and their toys in the space while she went and sat in her own seat. The trolley was up and down the cabin constantly flogging drinks. duty free, scratch cards you name it. Banging into the seats as they progressed and causing queues for toilet resulting in people hanging over your seat. Space well and truly invaded. Meal average and coffee with the meal had to be bought. No entertainment. Flight from hell. Complaint to Thomson but as usual they take no responsibility. Tell you everything is wonderful and the surveys are great. Total rubbish as I am in contact with people who also endured this nonsense and have had the same response..
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGlasgow to Sal, Cape Verde
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"much better than we expected"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We recently flew with Thomsons from Stansted to Cancun. It was a long 10 hour flight but surprisingly we found it much better than we expected from a charter flight. Extra legroom going out and Premium on the return. The food was just about edible and as good as British Airways or Virgin. The seating was more spacious than we expected and in Premium as good as the just mentioned airlines. Being mildly claustrophobic I found the Boeing 787 very spacious and airy. The service was attentive and friendly and better than many charter flights we have done. Quite a few of the reviews for this flight are negative but I have to say we thought it was much better than we expected and therefore were not disappointed. For the price (and Stansted is much more convenient for us) we found that it was much better than British Airways and overall 'well done to Thomson!' You excelled when it could so easily have been a never again experience!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteStansted to Cancun
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"could not get comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Birmingham to Cancun. We purchased an economy ticket with the extra leg room for £100 per person. We thought that they should have electronic check-in by now but they still rely on their paperwork. A boarding pass on an iPhone would have been simple and easy. The extra leg room seats were towards the rear of the aircraft. The seat did look like it had additional leg room. However, it is the most uncomfortable seat I have sat in, in my life. We had a 10 hour flight ahead of us and we could not get comfortable whatsoever. We could not sit together which I found disappointing. We had to sit behind one another. The toilets are few and far between with only 4 single onboard (for economy use). These were in constant use from the moment the plane took off to the moment we landed. This naturally creates a queue in the isle of people waiting to use the toilet. The food was basic going out to Cancun and coming back it was awful. We couldn't eat it. The entertainment was very basic with a few films being offered to watch. Make sure you take two pinned headphones with you as these weren't provided on our flight. There is no WiFi on the flight but there is a power socket for your iPhone. The flight coming back was only 8 hours because of 'jet streams' however, they made sure we left 1 hour later, so we didn't arrive before schedule. To summarise, a cheap flight where they have maximised profit by 'ramming' it full of paying passengers going on their holidays! Very, very poor. I would not recommend or use Thomson Airways long haul again. They have invested in the Boeing 787 but gone for the cheap options. We will look to use an alternative airline in the future and have just booked Virgin Atlantic for our holiday in Florida in July 2017. You have been warned!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBHX to CUN
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"can not see us traveling on any more Thomson long haul"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Thomson Airways from Manchester to Phuket. I was really looking forward to my flight, my husband is disabled so we phoned to book the disability seats and were told that these seats have good leg room and are close to toilets. When we got seated we did find the seats had a bit of extra leg room but we still felt very cramped. There does not seem so much space to walk up and down and if the person put their seat all the way back you feel even more cramped. We also were not near a toilet that we could use and my husband had to walk all the way back to the back of the plane because the toilet near us was for people that had upgraded only. The food was not good with only one hot meal that was very small and I was unable to eat, later we were given a ham roll and that was all. I asked if I could buy a bottle of water and a shake but was told they do not sell extra drinks on the flight, but I was given a small cup of water. When they came round with hot drinks, I had a coffee but when I asked for sugar and a spoon I was told they had no more onboard. Both me and my husband are retired and wish to travel but unless I could afford to upgrade my seats I can not see us traveling on any more Thomson long haul so it will be Europe for us, which is a shame because we had a few places we wished to visit, but we not not justify the extra cost.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to HKT
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seats with plenty of legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Mauritius on Boeing 787. Sat in seats 11A and B which were excellent with plenty of legroom considering they are classed as standard seats. Crew out were excellent, very attentive and both instances of food served were also very good. Flight was very enjoyable with just the right amount of time spent by the crew doing food and drink, and time allowing passengers to relax and get some sleep. As for the aircraft, very quiet, smooth flight and a decent choice of in flight entertainment. Was surprised at the legroom and the recline on the seats as I never usually sleep on an aircraft but managed a few hours on this one! No complaints!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to MRU
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"return flight was appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Return Flight from Barbados to Gatwick, depart Barbados Adams Airport at 17.00 on Sun 13/11/2016, flight TOM61, arrive 05.00 on Monday 14/11/2016 London Gatwick Airport (seats 11G and 12G). The return flight from Barbados to Gatwick was appalling. We were in aisle seats, one behind the other. Both seats were directly underneath the overhead ventilation slot for the air conditioning. The slots dripped water onto our heads for two hours without stopping. I complained to a member of the cabin staff and asked to move to another seat. I was told that there were no spare seats and that they would come back to me in a moment. They did not return. Several other passengers, including my partner in the seat in front had to suffer this. I had to sit with a newspaper on my head with drip, drip, drip every 5 seconds for two hours - totally unacceptable. If this is an example of a Dreamliner then Thomson bought the wrong aircraft. At the end of the flight I again complained to a member of the cabin staff and asked to speak to the cabin manager. I was told that the cabin manager was completing her paperwork and I would have to wait. Clearly paperwork was higher priority than customers. I left without speaking to the cabin manager.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBGI to LGW
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"service in Premium Economy was first rate"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Thomson from London Gatwick to Mauritius. My first time flying in the Boeing Dreamliner and despite initially being sceptical on all the hype about the airy cabin environment I have to say both outbound and inbound flights were the best I have encountered when flying Premium Economy cabin long haul. Being of 6 foot 2 inches in height and weighing 18 stone I found the premium ecomomy seating extremely comfortable (seat 3G both ways) and even got the passenger in front of me to fully recline their seat to see if it impinged on my comfort, it did not. Both flights were punctual, I believe this had a lot to do with the well administered boarding arrangements at both airports. The service in Premium Economy was first rate, the outbound flight having slightly the edge over the inbound one with the food quality seeming to be of a better standard on the flight out. The cabin staff were very frequent visitors with the drinks trolley, especially during the early stage of the journey and this probably contributed to me spending a large portion of the outbound night flight sleeping. I cannot comment on the cabin media as I did not watch any films but my wife says that TUI could do with updating their film offerings. In summary, very comfortable flights with good service. I would definitely fly Thomson Airways Premium Economy cabin on the Boeing Dreamliner again.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLGW to MRU
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"impressed with the aircraft and staff"

(United Kingdom)

East Midlands to Heraklion with Thomson Airways. We were very impressed with the aircraft and staff on this flight. The plane was very clean and much better than previous flights with Thomson. The aircraft looked almost new and I am sure there was more legroom. The least said the better about the airport when we reached our destination.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEMA to HER
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I was very disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Dalaman return. Flew with Thomson Airways and was very very disappointed with the service and the quality of in flight features. The seats were extremely uncomfortable and old. The interior of the aircraft was filthy on both the outbound and inbound flights. The crew were rude and not welcoming at all. Overall I was very disappointed with Thomson Airways.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDLM to MAN
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"only use as a last resort"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Alicante with Thomson Airways. Extra leg room seat bought. Seat 35G which has the toilet bulkhead in front of you. Probably less actual stretching space than a normal seat. Sat on aircraft not moving for 40 minutes before crew explained the delay. Cabin crew ignored my seat for all 4 types of sales services. Clumsy crew in my area, knocking seats and dropping things. Only use if you get a really cheap deal or as a last resort. I got a cheap last minute seat, so it got me to destination without any frills whatsoever.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to ALC
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no