Top 100 Airlines  

Thomas Cook Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 500 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"staff were friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We flew as part of a package holiday from Manchester to Palma with Thomas Cook Airlines. The flight was early morning going out and around noon coming home. Both flights were on time. Boarding was quick and easy. This was a short flight, less than 3 hours, and we found the seats and legroom comfortable enough for this length of time. We did not order any food, nor did we buy any food or drinks as we had no requirements. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was smooth flights and felt it was good value for money.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to PMI
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I would travel Thomas Cook again"

(United Kingdom)

Return trip from Manchester to New York as a family of 4. Chose Thomas Cook as it was half the price of Virgin. We had to pay £4 each to upgrade the inflight entertainment and we maybe spent £20 on drinks during the flight but when you save £2000 on the flights that's nothing. Flights were great, lots of legroom and plenty of good food. Cabin crew were friendly. Flew back premium economy as it was much cheaper on return leg. Was easier to sleep but didn't really take advantage of the free drinks/films as it was night time so not sure if it was worth the extra. All in all, I would travel Thomas Cook again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to JFK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"had to pay for inflight entertainment"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A family of 4 flew Thomas Cook from Orlando to Manchester. The flight started well - about a 40 minute delay then only 1 toilet working, no running water to wash your hands then told that there was no tea or coffee on board, they blamed the catering company. There was only water but we could buy a Starbucks off them (£2.80) on an 8 hour flight, then we had to pay for inflight entertainment £4 x 4 each way, was not told this at time of booking and no kids food available either. We were told that it was our fault as we had not told them our 9 year old was a child.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMCO to MAN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed by 5 hours"

(United Kingdom)

Flight booking that I first made from Antalya to Gatwick with Thomas Cook was cancelled and rescheduled from 3pm to 9pm. Thomas Cook refused to refund/amend my booking. On the day of the journey, 9PM flight was delayed by around 5 hours, so we left Antalya at 1.15am and reached Gatwick at 3.10am. If I had known at the time of booking that I would be flying at 9pm or 1AM, I would've never made my booking on that flight. Thomas Cook arranged dinner for all passengers at Antalya Airport through VIA World Buffet. Name sounds great but it was a take away service, served from outside the main restaurant area, with 'cold' chicken wraps, 'cold' burger and veg pizzas. Flight Attendants did their best to cheer passengers but passengers found it difficult to cheer being tired at those hours.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAYT to LGW
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"been misselling the seats"

(United Kingdom)

London Gatwick to Orlando with Thomas Cook Airlines. Pre booked seats had been triple booked so they had been misselling the seats. We spoke to the lady who was in our allocated seats, and she had booked them 3 months after we had booked and paid for the seats. The return seats were very poor even though they was extra leg room 31H/K next to the exit door, however due to them being near the toilets there is a horrid smell for most of the flight. As this was a overnight flight the light is on all the time and the door will not shut on the toilet after use, so you have permanent light so not able to sleep - a simple curtain between would prevent this.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to MCO
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"they deserve a better airline"

(United Kingdom)

Thomas Cook Airlines from London Gatwick to Cancun. Our flight was meant to leave at 8-30am but we were told at check in this was cancelled and all were now on the 10-30 flight. 2 aeroplanes worth of passengers, and we still had our assigned seats? They said they had tried to contact everyone (from others we found this to be erroneous and our travel agent told us they had her and our telephone numbers and did not call). We were given a free drink onboard to make up for the inconvenience. Overall seats were comfortable, entertainment option (basic or £4 extra) were poor. The airline did not seem to know whether it was charter so they were intent selling drinks and snacks, not long before handing out gratis lunch (James Martin grub was very good ). The return night flight was similarly a selling exercise which took away from dimming lights so passengers might sleep. The cup cake breakfast was not worthy of what true long haul carriers offer. The cabin crew ok - they deserve a better airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to CUN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very good service all round"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Arrecife with Thomas Cook Airlines. A very good service all round. We'd checked in online, and astonishingly there was no queue, while standard check in queue was maybe 30 minutes at least. A new plane outbound was very clean, with polite and efficient cabin crew. Took a picnic, so a coffee was fine for a four hour flight. Similar inbound, no complaints. Both flights punctual to the minute.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to ACE
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"compounded by a lack of action"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Bridgetown, Barbados. With aprox 350 others on a Thomas Cook Charter flight to join Mv Adonia on a 14 day cruise. Check in time no later than 6.30am for flight at 9.35am. My wife and I check in at 5.50am. The vast number of passengers were pensioners (I am 76) and a number were disabled in some way. We were boarded prior to 9am but remained on gate 26 as we were awaiting a De icing crew.The Pilot then said we were being moved to a holding area to await de icing. We then sat on the plane being promised a possible departure in the next 15 Mins after being deiced as we were getting near the top of the queue. We sat and waited and waited but all we got was the promise that we would be on our was soon. The crew said we could not be served any hot drinks or food on the ground due to regulations. We were given 2 small cups of cold water. One wing only was deiced and the truck drove away never to return. The captain said they had run out of de icing fluid. A short time later we were given another cup of water two small sandwiches and a scone. Ours was just about defrosted. We were then told that the crew was out of hours and we would be bused back to the main terminal. We were amongst the last and got the just before 3pm. We were then given a £20 voucher each to get a meal and to listen to the tannoy for further information. The food outlets were busy and we had just got our meal when a tannoy message for passengers to go to go to departure gate 26. Whilst on way to gate 26 staff from Thomas Cook gave conflicting instructions to go to other gates which meant going up and down steep steps to cross from one number gate etc. We then got to the gate 22 when we were told that we would not be flying that day, to go through immigation collect our hold luggage, walk across the airport to the Bus station and board transport to go to and hotel. (Remember the age of the vast majority of passengers). No assistance was available from Thomas Cook and none at the hotel in the midle of Manchester. The staff at the budget hotel there worked their socks off, 350 guests dropped on them. They had even cooked a three course meal for us. The only fault was that there was only one working lift. AS most of us were put on floors 4 and above this problems, but the staff did all they Could (dont forget our ages). After repeated requests by him the manager found that we were to be picked up at 4.30am. Again there was no presence at the Hotel by Thomas Cook and the confusion of the previous evening was again present compounded by the fact that the fleet of buses had to park in and around the Hotel. Passengers to walk around to find the transport dragging their cases behind them. Yes we did get to the airport and we did fly out. The ship was still there and we did go on the cruise. A slight snow fall, compounded by a lack of action was the main cause. Did the airport have action plans, did Thomas Cook have action plans is it not common for planes to be delayed. The icing on the cake was on arrival at the ship a Flight officer, insructed us to claim on our own travel insurance. The flight was from the UK by a UK airline Does not the EU regulations apply here. Does the delay start from the 3 hour check in time, not the time the plane should have flown. I think it does.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to BGI
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"came around just twice with drinks"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Goa with Thomas Cook Airlines. The staff weren't very friendly. On a 10 hour flight they came around just twice with drinks. My husband went up to buy some (we've never paid for drinks on an airline before), and the staff said she was coming round in a minute. We waited an hour, then I went up and she said we are coming now. We then waited another half an hour before they came. Plus paying for the movies was not good.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to GOI
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff were grumpy and unhappy"

(United Kingdom)

Gatwick to Geneva with Thomas Cook Airlines, I was not expecting much but got a lot less than that. We got to the airport 2.5 hours early, only to stand in a queue for 1.5 hours with two young children at 6am in the morning. They had not even opened 50% of the check in desks available to them. The staff were grumpy and unhappy. The flight iteself was delayed on both legs of the journey by over an hour each time and the staff on the plane cared more about selling duty free than tending to the requirements of passengers. On the return leg we were in a queue to check in for over an hour. Such poor planning but I would suggest it was about cost cutting than a customer experience. I=
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGW to GVA
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no