Thai Lion Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Avoid to use this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Denpasar. Avoid to use this airline. when arrived at the airport was told that flight was canceled (several months ago!). when asked them what to do got reply that they will refund the tickets - ok, but what about taxi, hotel, left baggage service, transaction fee, etcv- nothing. Iexplained that we have booked/prepaid hotel in Denpasar they replied its not their business, there was no sign of any help from them, haven't offered another flight, haven't tried to do anything. Just replied that they will proceed my request for refund within 45 business days. That was several months after cancelation, so they should proceeded anyway before already. but thats their policy. They filled some piece of paper barely looking like an official form and have problems to put in their info, stamp, name etc at the end, we just walked away and booked with another airline for more than 2x more money to avoid more losses for next taxi, hotels etc.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Denpasar
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Customer service line is unreachable"

(Croatia)

Trip Verified | To make your journey comfortable, we strongly advise you to avoid Thai Lion Air! They cancelled our flights (both Bangkok to Phuket and return), just gave us a new timing that did not fit our needs due to renting a car, accommodation etc. Now they are avoiding our e-mails! Customer service line is unreachable (called from Europe twice and waited 20+ min. without answer). Not recommended.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Phuket. Avoid at all costs. The tickets are cheap and that is why the service and everything about this airline is cheap as well. I waited online for over an hour to check in on the no baggage check line. What makes it worse is they kept calling groups of passengers to jump the line because their flight was leaving soon. I guess getting there on time is not suggested because if you do you will wait over an hour, but if you arrive late they will just let you cut everybody. I then get on the flight and we were suppose to leave at 2:55pm, but they continued boarding passengers for almost an hour after take off time. Then an hour and 15 minutes after take off time they tell us we will be another at least 15 minutes because there are 5 planes ahead of us. If you don’t mind terrible service, delayed flights, packed with passengers who will arrive late and hold up the flight then by all means fly Thai Lion Air. In return the only benefit is the tickets are cheap.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Bangkok. Very disappointed with extra baggage charges at Denpasar airport. The Thai Lion website and the staff I spoke to at Bangkok stated $32 for 10kgs, but the staff at the airport tried to charge me $160. I got rid of 7 kgs and was charged $66 for a lousy 3 kgs. I feel very ripped of by the Thai Lion staff at Bali airport. They refused to call head office and said they could not do anything. They would not budge at all. Will never fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"do all I can to avoid them"

(Myanmar)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Yangon. I use this Thai Lion Air 2 to 6 times per month and I am regularly satisfied with their service. Nevertheless, I had in few occasions in the past and particularly this months a terrible one, from various services. I tried the evening before the morning flight to purchase some additional kilos of luggage. Firstly through the phone. I stayed in 2 occasions more than 15 minutes on line waiting for an operator to reply. Hopeless. Then I tried on the website, which specify this possibility to buy extra luggage until 4hours before the flight. Spend 30 minutes navigating and it seems that there is actually no possibility to book luggage online. I arrived at airport 2h00 before the flight so I would have enough time to explain my case to Sales counter in Don Muang Airport. Basically told me that instead of paying 700 baht for 10 kg luggage (bought in advance), I would need to pay 500 baht ++ per kilos (total 5600 baht). They have been unhelpful, even rude, including before I would submit my request no greeting, so smile, no engagement. Terrible. The manager and 2 staff were not trying to help and did not care that their phone service and website was dysfunctional. I asked to speak to a real manager of customer serice director and they would decline. As they are not trained for this type of issues and complain resolution, neither have power to act, they called the security as I did not wanted to leave without resolution. To be noted that the Thai Lion security agent was a gentleman and tried to help. He even told me that this type of cases are happening often and that he felt sorry for me. I went to proceed to check-in and explained my case. The ground staff agent was also very unpleasant (no greeting, no smile, no attention) even before I exposed the issue. She then listened and asked her supervisor to come. She directly said that she was not ready to help (what kind of manager in an airline does not have better training and skills in issue resolution?). After arguing for 15 minutes she told me I would pay only for half even I explained again that it was still very unfair that I was not able to buy the extra luggage before because their customer care services are not functioning. She could only say I cannot help you and just complain online. Also could not give the name and contact of a real manager. I did pay and proceeded to boarding. After flight, I received a satisfaction questionnaire, which I immediately filled adding a comment to ask for a Customer relations manager to contact me back. 48 hours later, nothing happened. To be noted that flights are usually comfortable with actually very professional stewards and hostesses. Most of the time departure are on time, all of this with really good deals. Such a shame that their sales and ground services are disorganised, dishonest and not trained. Will do all I can to avoid them.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Yangon
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"pleasant, no delays or cancelations"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. The flight was pleasant, no delays or cancelations, decent food as well. The only qualm I have is that Thai Lion Air is that when booking my flights through a 3rd party (expedia, momondo, etc.) Thai Lion Air's website won't allow me to see my booking at all, manage it, anything. I've booked all my flights through 3rd party websites and haven't had an issue like that before.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Return as good as the first one"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Chiang Rai. Return trip as good as the first one. Both legs on time and bags on the belt before us. Again the only issue is the impossibility of check in through your final destination. Leg room is very tight but fine for an hour flight, I am 1.60 so I normally fit well in any airline seat. 15 kg checked bag is included in the price.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Rai
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"they include 15kg bag in the price"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Chiang Rai to Nakorn Si Thamarat via Bangkok and both flights were on time. Leg room is the tightest I've ever seen, but still ok for a 60 minute flight. No frills airline so don't expect anything free on board but they include a 15kg bag in the price. Our only issue with then was that you can't check your bags though even when connecting to a flight with the same airlane.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER / 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Rai to Nakorn Si Thamarat via Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"staff unfriendly and inexperienced"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Bangkok to Khon Kaen with Thai Lion Air. Boarding started 5 minutes after we should have departed (despite the aircraft being on the stand for at least an hour), and was done in an unprofessional manner, announcements not being made by the PA system but by shouting at passengers and in Thai only. We departed 30 minutes late, with no explanation for delay. Staff seemed unfriendly and inexperienced especially the ground staff. During the flight, there was an announcement that cabin crew would be selling food and drinks and to refer to the menu in the seat pocket, but there was no menus in the seats. Then the attendants came down the aisle with the trolley very quickly and didn't seem to want to sell anything. Recorded announcements were confusing and not given at the right time, for example we were told we were starting our descent just 5 minutes before landing. The flight itself was fine, but the unprofessional attitude of this airline and inexperience of the staff doesn't inspire confidence. On the plus side they give a free 15kg bag allowance and free seat selection when checking in online and the flight was cheap.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Khon Kaen
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"seats are very tight"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Flight from Krabi to Bangkok delayed 1 hour and 40 minutes. Missed the next connection. Had to buy full price replacement ticket. No help from Thai Lion Air. Seats are very tight. Not designed for anyone over 175 cm. No complimentary onboard snack or drink, had to buy everything.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKrabi to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews