Thai Lion Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"the heat was turned up"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hangzhou to Bangkok. This was my first time taking this airline. Check in efficient, seat, entertainment and service was great, snacks/food on par! After food service, lights were turned down, (as it was a red-eye) and the heat was turned up more then any of my flights ever before - I was so hot, I was mad. Ive flown some warm Asian carriers before but this one took the cake.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHangzhou to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don´t fly with this airline"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Hanoi to Bangkok. Just don´t fly with this airline. The time of my flight from Hanoi to Bangkok was changed without any notice to me. They told me, they tried to reach me. But didn´t. No e-Mail, no phone call. Nothing. The staff at the airport is just smiling at you, blaming it on the travel agency, which mentioned in their terms and conditions that only the airline is responsible to notify me in case of any changes. Furthermore there is no compensation offered, no food or drinks at the airport for 10 hours waiting time. Just an average, unreal smile towards me saying they can´t help me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"hottest flight I ever had"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Hat Yai. The positives were smooth boarding, on-time departure and generous legroom. A minor annoyance is the need to actually print out the web-check-in boarding pass, they don't accept digital boarding passes. The real discomfort however was the lack of aircon. I don't know if it was broken or just turned off for saving purposes, anyway it was the hottest flight I ever had. There was ventilation but it only recycled hot air. The temperature became more bearable as we reached cruising altitude but upon landing the Thai summer struck back. No free food or water, snacks available for purchase.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hat Yai
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"worst airline experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Bangkok. We bought our tickets on a travel website not really checking with what airline we would have to deal - that might have been a mistake. Thai Lion Air has this policy where you need to pay for extra luggage weight 4 hours prior to your flight. And if it’s a domestic flight you can only carry 10kg under the airplane. We didn’t get that in our two way ticket (it wasn’t explained clearly but still took the blame for it). We had to pay over 300$ CAN for our extra weight penality because we had 2 luggages weighing a little under 20kg (which is the norm for most airplane companies). So 4-5 days before our next flight departure, I called them to know how exactly I can pay for extra weight. They told me I can’t pay over the phone because they don’t take credit cards from Canada, United States, Japan and a few other countries over the phone. So they told me to pay via internet or come 4 hours prior to my flight at the airport to pay. Keep in mind that they know I’m leaving at 8 am. So first I try via internet with their website to pay for my extra luggages weight - it would deny my credit card payments. I tried at least 6 times during 3 days and it just would not work. So we were forced to go 4 hours earlier to the airport. Our flight was at 8 am so we had to get to the airport at least 5 hours ealier to get a chance to pay for our luggages. When we got there around 3 am the gates were not opened and I had to get to another terminal to get help from their office. When I got there the staff was not able to help me with anything and just repeated what was written on the internet like a robot. I asked if I could talk to a supervisor or if there where someone I could call and they gave me the same number I called at first. I finally found a pay phone on my own, called the airline, just to find out that I had to go back to the same terminal I was first to find the cargo department for help. When I got back to my terminal I found out the cargo departement was in another terminal 10 min walk away from my terminal. I asked the info center to call the cargo departement to see if they could actually help me. Cargo Departement told me that the airline had to help me and to call them back. I was so frustrated to lose hours of sleep to be played like that. Got on the phone with airline again and told them they had to make it work because this was nonsense. They told me they could not help and kept telling me to contact the Cargo Department, again. I hung up and waited 1 hour in front of the terminal for an agent to finally let our luggages pass without paying but with the worst attitude ever. Worst airline experience ever 2/10 just for letting us pass without paying for extra luggages and I’m being generous.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Everyone sweltering hot and uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Thai Lion Air from Bangkok to Chiang Mai. I was waiting in the plane for 60 minutes in Bangkok with no air conditioning during the highest heat of the day in Bangkok. Everyone overheating but staff refusing to put on the A/C. Everyone sweltering hot and uncomfortable. Not happy with the service on this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid to use this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Denpasar. Avoid to use this airline. when arrived at the airport was told that flight was canceled (several months ago!). when asked them what to do got reply that they will refund the tickets - ok, but what about taxi, hotel, left baggage service, transaction fee, etcv- nothing. Iexplained that we have booked/prepaid hotel in Denpasar they replied its not their business, there was no sign of any help from them, haven't offered another flight, haven't tried to do anything. Just replied that they will proceed my request for refund within 45 business days. That was several months after cancelation, so they should proceeded anyway before already. but thats their policy. They filled some piece of paper barely looking like an official form and have problems to put in their info, stamp, name etc at the end, we just walked away and booked with another airline for more than 2x more money to avoid more losses for next taxi, hotels etc.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Denpasar
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Customer service line is unreachable"

(Croatia)

Trip Verified | To make your journey comfortable, we strongly advise you to avoid Thai Lion Air! They cancelled our flights (both Bangkok to Phuket and return), just gave us a new timing that did not fit our needs due to renting a car, accommodation etc. Now they are avoiding our e-mails! Customer service line is unreachable (called from Europe twice and waited 20+ min. without answer). Not recommended.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Phuket. Avoid at all costs. The tickets are cheap and that is why the service and everything about this airline is cheap as well. I waited online for over an hour to check in on the no baggage check line. What makes it worse is they kept calling groups of passengers to jump the line because their flight was leaving soon. I guess getting there on time is not suggested because if you do you will wait over an hour, but if you arrive late they will just let you cut everybody. I then get on the flight and we were suppose to leave at 2:55pm, but they continued boarding passengers for almost an hour after take off time. Then an hour and 15 minutes after take off time they tell us we will be another at least 15 minutes because there are 5 planes ahead of us. If you don’t mind terrible service, delayed flights, packed with passengers who will arrive late and hold up the flight then by all means fly Thai Lion Air. In return the only benefit is the tickets are cheap.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Bangkok. Very disappointed with extra baggage charges at Denpasar airport. The Thai Lion website and the staff I spoke to at Bangkok stated $32 for 10kgs, but the staff at the airport tried to charge me $160. I got rid of 7 kgs and was charged $66 for a lousy 3 kgs. I feel very ripped of by the Thai Lion staff at Bali airport. They refused to call head office and said they could not do anything. They would not budge at all. Will never fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"do all I can to avoid them"

(Myanmar)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Yangon. I use this Thai Lion Air 2 to 6 times per month and I am regularly satisfied with their service. Nevertheless, I had in few occasions in the past and particularly this months a terrible one, from various services. I tried the evening before the morning flight to purchase some additional kilos of luggage. Firstly through the phone. I stayed in 2 occasions more than 15 minutes on line waiting for an operator to reply. Hopeless. Then I tried on the website, which specify this possibility to buy extra luggage until 4hours before the flight. Spend 30 minutes navigating and it seems that there is actually no possibility to book luggage online. I arrived at airport 2h00 before the flight so I would have enough time to explain my case to Sales counter in Don Muang Airport. Basically told me that instead of paying 700 baht for 10 kg luggage (bought in advance), I would need to pay 500 baht ++ per kilos (total 5600 baht). They have been unhelpful, even rude, including before I would submit my request no greeting, so smile, no engagement. Terrible. The manager and 2 staff were not trying to help and did not care that their phone service and website was dysfunctional. I asked to speak to a real manager of customer serice director and they would decline. As they are not trained for this type of issues and complain resolution, neither have power to act, they called the security as I did not wanted to leave without resolution. To be noted that the Thai Lion security agent was a gentleman and tried to help. He even told me that this type of cases are happening often and that he felt sorry for me. I went to proceed to check-in and explained my case. The ground staff agent was also very unpleasant (no greeting, no smile, no attention) even before I exposed the issue. She then listened and asked her supervisor to come. She directly said that she was not ready to help (what kind of manager in an airline does not have better training and skills in issue resolution?). After arguing for 15 minutes she told me I would pay only for half even I explained again that it was still very unfair that I was not able to buy the extra luggage before because their customer care services are not functioning. She could only say I cannot help you and just complain online. Also could not give the name and contact of a real manager. I did pay and proceeded to boarding. After flight, I received a satisfaction questionnaire, which I immediately filled adding a comment to ask for a Customer relations manager to contact me back. 48 hours later, nothing happened. To be noted that flights are usually comfortable with actually very professional stewards and hostesses. Most of the time departure are on time, all of this with really good deals. Such a shame that their sales and ground services are disorganised, dishonest and not trained. Will do all I can to avoid them.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Yangon
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews