TAROM Romanian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 104 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"network is very limited"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Chisinau via Bucharest and Bucharest to Alicante. Tarom offers a reasonable product at a decent price. From Amsterdam an all economy new Boeing 737-800 with SKY interior was used. Spacious luggage bins, and leg room decent. On board a baguette, banana, cookie in a plastic bag was offered and a selection of drinks (incl wine/beer). Transfer in Bucharest is easy although staff at security is mega rude and unfriendly. Tarom has a lounge but selection of food is limited to the cheapest chips, biscuits and yoghurt. Definitely room for improvement. Flight to Chisinau by noisy ATR42- 2 classes. From Bucharest to Alicante again a baguette and drinks on short flight from/to KIV and a hot meal to Alicante. Flight delayed by 1h30 due to ATC strike in France. Onboard staff reasonably friendly. Pilots don't seem to be instructed to make any (welcome) announcements. Will fly again though network is very limited.
AircraftB737-800/ATR42
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteAMS to KIV via OTP
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"food was the best part"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Bucharest to Amsterdam. There was a 1h15 min delay for some sort of plane problem. The checked luggage was already in the problematic plane and TAROM and transfered luggage into the new plane. The seat was fine for economy and the leg room was good. The food was the best part as it was fresh and warm.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"importantly it was very fast"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Munich to Bucharest on a Boeing 737-300. Excellent conditions for a cheap fare. Meal for this short flight was a sandwich and a small cake, free drinks and great staff. Most importantly it was very fast, which is the no.1 criteria from my point of view.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Bucharest
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"they provide Airfi onboard"

(Romania)

Verified Review | I flew from Bucharest to Munich via Sibiu with TAROM Romanian. The flight from Bucharest was an A318 in good condition. New for Tarom, they provide Airfi onboard. The flight departed and landed on time. The food on-board was excellent, a small breakfast but very tasty - rare nowadays on a short flight. Flight attendants were very polite. Another excellent experience with Tarom.
AircraftA318
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Munich via Sibiu
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"crew need some upgrade on smiling"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Bucharest to Athens with A318. Cheap ticket for this route with TAROM. Despite having to share the route with Aegean and Ryanair the flights were almost full with on time departures. The aircraft is dated and a little bit dirty. The new airfi (IFE) from TAROM is ok but limited in options (3 movies, some games, more music and information about the airline). No internet connection but for such a short flight is ok. The cabin crew need some upgrade on smiling and behaviour. They give you the impression that you need to be happy that they are onboard not the other way. Very smooth takeoff and landings. Meals and beverages are provided free of charge: sandwiches and drinks including alcohol. I will choose TAROMfor sure in the future but please upgrade the aircraft and send the cabin crew to some courses for training.
AircraftA318
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Athens
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"they need to buy new planes"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Flew from Chișinău to Bucharest. Tarom is the Romanian flag carrier. It is one of the wold first airlines (founded in 1930s as LARES). They have highly trained pilots and excellent ground technical staff. But, all the planes are old (9-19 years old) and some of them require cabin and interiors upgrade. A major issue are delays because the fleet is intensively exploited on company's routes (an ATR plane usually makes up to 8 flights per day). The planes are clean, but the interiors might look old and outdated. They offer free food and beverages (even wine) on their flights, but there is no inflight entertainment. In OTP airport they have a drop off counter for international flights (may be for local as well, but I am not sure). I like the airline. I would recommend it and fly with them only, but they need to buy new planes.
AircraftATR
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKIV to OTP
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional behaviour by Tarom"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Vienna to Cluj. It is unacceptable for Austrian and the airport to condone disrespectful and unprofessional behaviour by Tarom. Tarom flight 348 was meant to leave for Cluj at 10.40am on 22 December. Since the morning, there have been two silent announcements (displayed on the screen) re delayed departure without any explanations or apologies. There has been no staff at the departure gate for all these hours and the customer service team in the main area of the airport were unhelpful, blaming the airline and advising they have no information. The latest delay was 7 hour after the scheduled time. Disappointing and disrespectful of Tarom.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVIE to CLJ
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"free upgrade to business"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Amsterdam to Bucharest. I got a free upgrade to business and services were flawless. I would give a bad review to the ground service, a 6 J class configuration and they used a 10 J class configuration when assigning seats meaning the free upgrade was a mistake causing mass confusion to the flight attendants (who handled it very well). No Sky Priority boarding. Fully booked flight, but everyone could take their bags on board. Otopeni arrival service excellent, 3rd bag on the belt, that's what I call Sky Priority. As for the flight, a cheap ticket (booked in advance), great service, free drinks and as many as you like, good food. No wi-fi or IFE, but not needed for this short flight.
AircraftA318
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAMS to OTP
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"one airline we would avoid"

(Singapore)

Having booked Air Bulgaria for our flight from Bucharest to Sofia on 28/9/2016, we did not realise we were bumped to this Tarom flight instead. Flight was delayed for a long 2.5 hours, and our flight was not alone. Based on the announcement board, I have seen another two Tarom flights to Budapest were also delayed around the same time as our flight. As luck was not on our side, the other two flights took off slightly earlier than ours. This has left me thinking that this airline has no qualms in delaying their flights. It seems their clients time are not important to them. Maybe as a form of compensation, we were given free sandwiches and drinks after our flight finally departed at about 10pm. We finally reached our Sofia hotel close to midnight. This is surely one airline we would avoid at all costs when flying in Europe.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOTP to SOF
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very quick flight"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Bucharest to Amsterdam. Very quick flight, just 2hrs 15mins. Excellent conditions for a very low fare. Great free food, free drinks and great staff. Most importantly it was fast, which is the no.1 criteria for air travel.
AircraftA318
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOTP to AMS
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes