Airline of the Year  

TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 563 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"rate them a zero star"

(United States)

Verified Review | Vienna to Boston via Lisbon. Initially, the date of my flight from Vienna was changed (June 20 6:30 AM to June 20 6:30 PM) without notifying me. The email sent to me stated that I had to check in in the latter time instead of the original time of my flight. I called, emailed, texted (using Facebook messenger, Skype) and provided me with no answers. So I went to the airport for the latter time they mentioned. From there airport staff could not give me boarding pass as they were unable to find my flight and to be able to catch the connecting flights (Lisbon-Boston). Stucked in Lisbon for 12 hours with no airline assistance, drained, stressed and anxious. Overall, the treatment of this airline makes me rate them a zero star.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Boston via Lisbon
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"very comfortable for such small aircraft"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Flew TAP Portugal from Zurich to Porto. One configuration only, however seats and space between them very comfortable for such small aircraft. They served water and half a tuna sadwich sealed in a plastic bag and unfrozen some hours ago. Better not to serve anything than to serve something like this. They forgot my bags out and they arrived next day. Before entering the aircraft I asked and I re-asked the personnel at the gate if my bags were travelling with me and they reassured me. So never trust a Swiss staff personnel. They are not know what they are doing.
AircraftEmbraer 170
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZurich to Porto
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"definitely recommend"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Gatwick to Oporto. Boarding commenced approx 35mins before departure which lead to a smooth and relaxed boarding. A319 must have been recently refurbished with Recaro slimline seats which do not recline, however were comfortable and provided sufficient seat width and pitch. The seat colour scheme meant the cabin felt bright and modern. The crew were friendly and helpful throughout the flight and during the snack service offered both hot and cold drinks to each passenger. Flight departed and arrived on time. Overall a great experience and considering the cost was very similar to the other competitors on this route, I would definitely recommend TAP.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Oporto
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Crew are incredibly friendly"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Flew Lisbon to Helsinki. Great catering service accompanied with posh Portuguese wines in economy class. Pillows and blankets are available in your seat when you enter the aircraft in this night flight. Crew are incredibly friendly. However, as always, TAP manages to leave slightly delayed every time. The temperature in the cabin also tends to be too high, passengers leave their seats and wander through the corridor or just stand up blocking it. Toilets are crowded and queues are frequently formed to use them. On a last note, congratulations for them for implementing non-reclining seats as those always created problems with fellow passengers and I've more than once been the victim of a less than kind passenger who just squeezed me to my seat when its seat was reclined. Shame about their call center though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew were amazing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Lisbon. This was the friendliest flight I have ever been on, the cabin crew were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and they cared about their customers. We had plenty of leg room and the plane was immaculate. As a family we would like to say a huge thank you to the crew.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Lisbon
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"the food was poor"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Vienna to Lisbon. Checking at the Senator dedicate desk really helps (Austrian Airline people are always kind) 25 minutes to get my upgrade!!TAP is not friendly in upgrades even in Lisbon so you can imagine in another country and in particular if they don’t have an office representative (and to be honest is better that way most of the times). But I did get it, was A330 so was a good investment. Old with seats and TV from the 80s but is ok for 3 hour flight. Crew was friendly, the food was poor even in business. No magazines, no WiFi, not even a simple journal - bring your iPhone and read in on your iPhone.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVienna to Lisbon
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"worst long-haul flight experienced"

(France)

Verified Review | My trip with TAP Portugal from Brasilia to Lisbon, all in all is the worst long-haul flight I have ever experienced. The cabin crew were rude (not just unsmiling), inflight entertainment poor, the cabin was dated and equipped with very narrow seats, the meals were horrible and served on a dirty folding tray. A horrible 9-hour flight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrasilia to Lisbon
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"comfort and legroom very good"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Second time flown with retroffited aircraft from TAP. The new cabin is a huge improvement, looking much nicer and brighter than the old interior. Seat comfort and legroom very good at least in row 5 were I was sitting (cannot judge back of the plane where they use another seat with obviously less legroom). At my seat socket for electricity and holder for tablet available. Crew nice and attentive. No need to mention the usual barely existing catering. At least you still get (alcoholic) drinks as beer and nice red and white wine for free in economy. In total a nice experience.
AircraftA321R
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not bad, not good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A321 Lisbon to Brussels with TAP Portugal. Flight in economy class. Best sit in 10C (one of the best seats). This is one of the very few aircraft that TAP have with a configuration of a Lufthansa (normal) cabin. And of course guess what? It is a good one. Very nice space for the legs and seats are new. The service is what you can consider a normal, not bad, not good. I did get the same crew the day before on another flight. Some service was the same, today they did have the curtains to separate the classes. So was not a Ryanair flight. Aircraft was half empty, so was a pleasant flight. Of course no WiFi, no magazines, no journals etc. During the flight the crew manager welcomed passengers and Victoria members on the PA system. The funny part was when he said that the Victoria members voted the program one of the best in Europe. I don’t know how this works but did they really know the nightmare of spending Miles on a TAP award ticket to Brazil. I tried 5 times this year (just an example) to buy the ticket with an upgrade. All those 5 times it was not possible with a window of 10 months. I could not even upgrade myself yesterday on an empty flight in the premium centre in Lisbon.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Brussels
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a new kind of Ryanair"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Warsaw to Lisbon on a A320. Upgraded from Economy to Business using Plus grade offer in TAP in there website. We have a new twist on the TAP Airline, now the business and the economy class go together, no separation on the plane even. Welcome to a new kind of Ryanair or easyJet. Nothing there in the aircraft, normally there is a curtain but even that is gone. I normally don’t do upgrades. Don’t work really (on the short and medium flights (on TAP) and allow me to explain why. The aircraft has the same seats, now even the first row has lost space. You have the seat in the middle free but this is one of the few if not the only bonus). The food on TAP is just bad food. Food in economy is even worst but in Business easily you eat better in economy on Air France or Lufthansa. If you have a Gold Star alliance card (my case) why pay the upgrade. We already have, fast track, lounge etc. So really 110 Euros for 1500 Miles more is just bad business. On top of that the Business Class of TAP on short and medium flights has nothing to offer. Not even a single newspaper. They will tell you to buy an iPad an download but if don’t have this - well good luck. It doesn’t pay off really, the service, the food, the things they don’t offer or have stopped offering during the recent years. And the critical factor - the crew look and act so many times like government tax representatives. Overhead bins in business class full of airline service material. The service, well you sit on the aircraft and the can be taking off and they will no even offer you a glass of anything. If you ask they will bring. That’s all. I am Portuguese, but this is what we have. There is no wifi on board, no entertainment, no newspapers - it is an easyJet flight. They offer you the TAP Magazine.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteWarsaw to Lisbon
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no