Airline of the Year  

TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 549 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"drained and totally disappointed"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Funchal to Lisbon. If you need to call them, be prepared to wait at least 15 min to half an hour. Once you finally reach them without losing your mind, they couldn't care less about your questions or problems and make sure to express how much they hate you for calling them. Don't try reaching them by e-mail either, you will be lucky to get a reply but unfortunately (and unsurprisingly) it won't be the answer you needed and there is a big chance it will have nothing to with your own question in first place. Their website is just an extension of this airline's terrible customer service. It doesn't work properly. If, for instance, you log in to your TAP Victoria account, it is very likely that after you've given your credit card details it will appear an error message, something related to having expired the time to book your flight (I am guessing they give you like a minute and a half for that!) and you then have to contact their incompetent staff only to be asked to give your credit card details again, by phone! They say you can manage your booking through their website which is again a lie! It is simply not possible to change your flight for another day through their website. The website is not clear and doesn't load properly even if using a recent browser. Scandalous prices on the domestic route I frequently fly only adds to the hate this airline seems to preciously cherish with their clients. Their attitude is: We don't care! You need us and we don't need you! If you need an invoice/receipt of your flights and you happen to make any mistake on the details given be prepared for a pure nightmare with them to alter it. They will make you wonder if you are speaking the same language after all. Dealing with these people will left you drained and totally disappointed.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFunchal to Lisbon
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"flight was surprisingly pleasant"

(Oman)

Verified Review | Lisbon to Munich. Lisbon airport was very busy in the morning with long lines at check-in. All agents friendly amidst the chaos, but it could all have been a bit swifter. Plane departed some 15 min late and landed almost on time. The flight was surprisingly pleasant for a inner-European hop: very friendly crew, decent small sandwiches and a good cup of coffee.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Munich
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

" Not worth its price"

(Brazil)

Verified Review | Paris Orly to Rio de Janeiro via Lisbon. Great people at Orly Check-in as well as at Orly lounge. New Orly lounge remains as poorly catered as previous one. A321 new Europe Business Class is a shame. No welcome drink, no smile, poor cold food, economy seat, etc as mentioned by numerous reviewers. Not worth its price. To be avoided. Lounge at Lisbon overcrowded as usual, with a bad smell. No towel or shampoo in showers. You bring yours or you pay Euros 15,00 for a ridiculous kit. Old A332, with no on-demand IFE, and lie-flat beds. FA service was spectacular however.
AircraftA321 / A330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis to Rio de Janeiro via Lisbon
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"disappointing way of travelling"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Yesterday I flew from Terceira via Lisbon to Milan, and the flights were lousy and so disappointing. Opening TAP's Inflight Magazine we can read on the first pages "Europe's Leading Airline" (also in Business Class!). TAP is a very mediocre, and for sure not a good airline! No priority boarding. No welcome drink in Business Class. crew are not motivated and helpful. The seat comfort in Business Class is just awful. I am 178cm tall but even after a 2 hours flight my body hurts everywhere. So hard, so worn out, so uncomfortable. Food was acceptable but not good. With a green herb salad you can not do anything wrong. Alcatra com batata-doce was okay but not tasty. Pudim de Maracujá was third class. The drink selection was good. No inflight entertainment, no monitors which would even show you the flight route. They even stopped with their inflight duty free sales. I paid 456€ for a one way ticket, while exactly the same flight was bookable in Economy Class at 70€. That means I paid 650% more for the same lousy seat as Economy passengers had. The Business Class Lounge in Lisbon was more than just crowded. The air was sticky, no working air condition. Drink selection is ok. Food selection is very poor and lousy. Lisbon Airport (after entering the terminal until you get to security check) looks dreadful. The Duty Free area and new shops in that new oval part of Lisbon Airport look good and fresh. But the boarding gates area as well look so terribly worn out and disappointing. It is a very disappointing way of travelling. No comfort, no luxury, no style.
AircraftA319 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTerceira to Milan via Lisbon
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never fly TAP again"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Lisbon to London Heathrow. TAP's policy for hand luggage is a tiny bag and less than 8KG. On the return trip I made sure to have less than 8KG, but they still took my bag away from me because of size. I was watching other passengers and many of them had their bags removed on both legs of my journey. Everyone was getting angry, but the staff didn't seem to really care. Leg room is really poor on this particular plane and you're kind of squashed in like sardines. They also have a bizarre boarding system of groups of A, B and C and for some reason they boarded people in the back rows last, so there was the inevitable long queue of people in the plane waiting for others in front of them. So it took ages to board. I will never fly TAP again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to London Heathrow
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"never received an answer"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | My review is about customer service of TAP Portugal. The service onboard was okay, as expected on a short flight. The problem started when boarding in Lisbon. I was told, in an unfriendly manner, to hand over my carry on trolley to be put in hold. The reason was a full flight. Which in the end was not the case. There would have been room for my carry on. At Amsterdam airport my trolley was damaged. The case was torn and can no longer be used. I showed the damage to the local representative. She filed a report and gave me instructions how to proceed. It took some trouble to find the complaints section on the sight but I managed and uploaded the evidence. I must give the airline credit to responding very quickly however the reply was very disappointing. 3 years ago I bought the trolley and TAP offered to reimburse about 50% of the cost. I replied and complained about their customer service but, unsurprisingly, never received an answer.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"The flight was enjoyable"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Lisbon to Ponta Delgada. To start with, boarding was abnormally long. Once inside the plane, I was pleased to find out how much nicer the new cabins are from the previous version I had experienced 2 months ago. Front seats with red accents, middle seats with yellow accents and I think the back ones were green, as in the Portuguese flag, very nice touch, lovely design, portuguese but not stereotypically portuguese. Once I reached my seat, there was so much pitch for my legs I thought I was on the wrong place and had seated on executive class or something, the new seats are much thinner, giving you much more knee room, are much more functional and comfortable with adjustable headrests and with handy usb and charger ports (you just don't find that in your average short/medium haul flights). The airplane looked clean, smart and very modern. Crew was friendly and helpful but catering was a bit poor, just a sandwich, a drink and coffee, no dessert, no hand wipe, no tray to serve the food and the bread wasn't all that fresh and tasty. The flight was enjoyable. We had a slight delay when departing and at arrival but no more than 10minutes, which was better than average for the last flight of the day, usually those are always late. Service is much nicer than before but still a bit behind other European companies as there is still no entertainment system or wi-fi and electronic newspapers are only available if you have their frequent flyer program card, that is a shame. Luggage allowance was very good for this price range, allowing me to carry 2 bags and up to 43kg on economy! I hope they keep in the right track and keep improving their service.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Ponta Delgada
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"everything was very clean and tidy"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | This was just a short commuter flight from Porto to Lisbon as part of the Ponte Aérea service from TAP. It was a small ATR plane, with just 70 seats and so, I wasn't expecting much. Check-in was fast but they med a mess with my pet carrier box, they insisted I had to get a soft one but never was I told that when booking or reserving for the pet itself. In fact, I had been told I should bring a hard carrier for the first outbound trip done by Azores Airlines, in codeshare with TAP Portugal. The lady at the counter even told me this requirement was over an year old when just last December I had flown with TAP Portugal and carried my pet in the same hard carrier and no one said a word about it. Fortunately the check-in lady was nice and helpful and called her supervisor to sort things out and all was solved. The flight was late and boarding was a bit slow. The airplane looked and probably was brand new, with a smart, modern and chic interior, much to my taste. Everything was very clean and tidy. No entertainment system was present, but that was expected for a 50 minutes flight. The airplane was very quiet and the amount of space was surprisingly decent, just a bit short on foot space. Catering wise it was bad. A coffee and a little biscuit, that is right, one biscuit. Nothing more. It was a shame there was no Wi-Fi service. Crew were friendly and helpful and the route taken lead to same nice view of the country shore line. I have to say that these Ponte Aérea TAP Portugal service have some advantages over low cost airliners on the same route, like more baggage allowance, a small (very small) snack and the availability to change for a previous or next flight if you please. All in all, it was a pleasant flight.
AircraftATR 72-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePorto to Lisbon
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"business class facilities awful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew business class from London to Lisbon, was ok. Then connected from Lisbon to Accra and the business class facilities were awful. No inflight entertainment, no power sockets so I could work and charge laptop, no wi-fi, cramped seating, was an awful experience and not worth the money at all. I would strongly recommend paying a little more for a true business class ticket/flight with another airline. That said staff were friendly and very apologetic over the lack of facilities available for business class passengers but still did not address the sheer mis-representation of TAP Portugal on their business class service. One word, appalling.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Accra via Lisbon
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I wouldn't recommend it"

(United States)

Verified Review | Newark to Gatwick via Porto. Online check in is relatively easy but you have to pay extra to reserve your seats ahead of time. Boarded the plane, seat very uncomfortable, In-flight entertainment the size of my iPhone 6, and not started until takeoff. The Entertainment is also channel based so you can't control when the movie starts. Service and crew very good answering our questions. Food isn't very good, on our flight fish and beef option consisting of heap tilapia and a attempt at shepherd's pie. Then they shut the IFE mid flight so I had nothing to do. Flight was pretty torturous but we did finally arrive on time in Porto. Then we ran to our next flight with a 40 min connection and we actually made it early. You can get through the airport in 5 min if you go up the escalator to connections. Second flight was 2 hrs and was fine. Got us there on time, and is worth it for the value, but I wouldn't recommend it otherwise. Their long haul A330's are very old and the IFE is outdated.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Gatwick via Porto
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no