Best Cabin Crew  

TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 440 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very attentive cabin crew"

(Poland)

I had a pleasure to fly TAP Portugal in January on the Warsaw - Lisbon - Warsaw route. The airline has above standard service for European flights. Very attentive cabin crew, good and tasty catering. Great selection of wines. Seating very comfortable and the aircraft was clean on both routes. The check-in both Warsaw and Lisbon airports was a breeze. The only negative comment I have is that they could refresh their airline magazine - torn pages and a bit shabby.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWAW to LIS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"ridiculously overpriced"

(Germany)

Hamburg to Accra via Lisbon and Sao Tome with TAP Portugal. Outbound was in Business Class, return in Economy class. All flights and segments in an A320. Old plane. Seat comfort is standard short haul flight seat, which is particularly odd, as all in all you are sitting 10 hours or more in such a plane. Seating has no difference between Business or Economy class (apart from a free middle seat in Business class). Food was excellent in business class, but the seating comfort is unacceptable. The food in Economy class was really bad. Wines are good. All in all, this was ridiculously overpriced.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHAM to TMS via LIS / ACC
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"think before flying"

(Germany)

Casablanca to Berlin via Lisbon. Don't be surprised if your seat on TAP Portugal is sold to someone else! I was shocked to hear that I would not board my flight from Casablanca to Lisbon because the plane was full. I had made and confirmed my reservation layover in Lisbon. But my return trip turned out like hell. Not only I was denied boarding, but I lost my connection from Lisbon to Berlin and was charged for one night at hotel because I did not show up. I was given a 200 euros voucher by a TAP agent in Morocco and was told that I just need to hand it to any TAP representative in Berlin to get the compensation. Another surprise: I went all the way to Berlin Schönefeld Airport to redeem the voucher and they refused to take it because there is only luggage handling services. I called the airline directly in Lisbon several times, but in vain. I want everyone to think before flying with this company
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCMN to SXF via LIS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"another awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Sao Paulo to Heathrow via Lisbon, and another awful experience with TAP Portugal. It started two days before our return flight when we received an email telling us we could check in. We tried to do so but the system asked us to verify passport details for the first passenger. Having done this, it confirmed the details were saved but didn't let us proceed. There was no error message at all but absolutely no means of progressing to do the same for the other passenger and complete the check in. We tried five or six times and then decided it would be best to call. The TAP website is extremely poorly laid out and it is very hard to find usable contact numbers - like many companies these days, they do their level best to avoid having to actually speak to you. But we searched the web and found a number. Eventually someone did answer but told us she couldn't help us and instead directed us to another number, which was either manned by dead people or they were on a very long tea break because it rang incessantly, giving no indication at any stage that we were even in a queue. After a 20 minute wait (calling the UK as we gave up on the local Brazil call centre, and so at a probable cost of at least £1 per minute), the call was answered and after a lengthy explanation as to our problem and an interminable period on hold, the lady confirmed she had amended the system and we could now complete the process! At the airport, a relatively short queue took an age to process as the check in staff seemed to be on a go-slow. Everything was so incredibly inefficient. People were only dropping bags off, everyone having (miraculously) checked themselves in already. The check in staff were at least polite, if not all that friendly. Boarding was chaotic on the Sao Paulo to Lisbon leg. The seats were incredibly uncomfortable and the aircraft like a freezer. This time, my partner did at least get veggie food on both legs, even though the cabin crew on the outbound leg had said veggie food was not available on European flights now without paying extra. But the food was not good. And no spirits on the drinks trolley! No mid flight water service either, as the crew vanished once the evening meal had been served. Lastly, a small point but one that could be easily rectified. When serving coffee and tea, please make sure there is milk - on the outbound flight, I was looked at like I was an alien when I asked for milk in my coffee. And fill the cup to more than a quarter full. If you serve me the drink in a Costa size cup, give me more than a thimble full.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGRU to LHR via LIS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"your very last option"

(Spain)

Caracas to Barcelona via Lisbon, and TAP Lisbon airport staff is poor. If by chance you have any delay and miss your connection, TAP Lisbon airport staff would not help you at all. They actually only know how to say sorry, and sorry doesn't help to solve any problem you may have. I miss my best friend wedding because their willingness to help doesn't exist - they don't care about the customer and they don't take resposibility of their mistakes (in my case, a 2 hours delay on my first flight). I also realize that the supervisor lie to me telling me there wasn't any flight from another airline so I have to wait 6 hours for the next TAP flight to Barcelona - there was one so I went again to ask them for help but they would do nothing. If you can avoid it leave this terrible airline as your very last option.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCCS to BCN via LIS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"won't be flying TAP again"

(United Kingdom)

Heathrow to Sao Pailo via Lisbon. Very disappointing experience. Tried to check in online but got a message telling us it would not be possible and to raise this at the airport (not for example offering a telephone number to ring). At the airport, we tried to check in on one of the self service kiosks that most airines unhelpfully force you to use. This too did not work so we asked a member of staff who tried it and also failed, and then directed us to the ticket desk. There, a surly woman who could not have looked more disinterested if she tried, briefly checked out our booking and informed us that our ticket agent (we did not book direct with TAP) had cancelled the original booking because the flight time had changed, but not successfully re-booked us on the earlier flight as we had requested some months before when the flight time change was notified to us. I asked the TAP ticket agent if she could make the change to which she replied no, I would have to ring the ticket agent. This being new year´s day, I was a tad concerned as to whether they would even be open but she flatly refues to help, saying there was nothing she could do. So, I duly called the ticket agent. During a prolonged period on hold, the TAP agent changed her mind and miraculously decided she could re-issue the ticket for us (weirdly), but as it happened, the third party ticket agency did eventually answer and between the two of them they managed to re-issue the ticket. None of this was our fault, although by the way the incredibly rude TAP ticket agent acted, you would think it was. Boarding was chaotic and on board the service was not good. My vegetarian partner was informed that (even though we selected veggie meals when booking) TAP had changed their policy and that you now had to pay up front for ´special´meals, regardless of what had been requested at time of booking. Telepathy not being our forte, we hadn´t realised this, so he went without. We were told by a member of crew who put on a falsely concerned face, that the same would apply on the Lison to Sao Paulo leg, although in fact this turned out to be untrue, thankfully. Leg room was very tight. Food was okay. IFE was very out of date and limited. No mid flight water service. We certainly won´t be flying TAP again unless there is literally no alternative. BA are miles better. TAP may wish to consider training their staff not to be so utterly rude to passengers, especially those who have paid in excess of 700 GBP each for the privilege of flying with them. If TAP opened up their Portugal to Brazil routes to competition from the likes of TAM, things may improve somewhat.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to GRU via LIS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"got a very good price"

(United Kingdom)

Flew TAP Portugal from Porto to Berlin via Lisbon. First leg on a small E145 operated by Portugalia. The aircraft was rather old but in good shape. From Lisbon to Berlin in an A319. Both flights were on time and arrived ahead the schedule. From Lisbon to Berlin was served a small tasty snack. The crew was good and helpful. Got a very good price for this flights and satisfied with my flight experience.
AircraftEmbraer 145 / A319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOPO to TXL via LIS
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"had a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Bogota to Lisbon via Panama City with TAP Portugal and I had a good experience with them. Check in process was fast and efficient at Bogota. Boarding started on time and flight left on time. The plane made a stop at Panama Tocumen airport, left within 45 mins approximately, after leaving passengers on and off. Inflight entertainment was surprisingly good. The flight resumed on to Lisbon and went without issues. Drinks and food are okay, not the best, but not the worst I've ever had. No problems with luggage or ground staff.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to LIS via PTY
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"disappointed by lax attitude"

(Switzerland)

My sole reason to book TAP for my flight from Zürich to Campinas, Brazil was that TAP offers flight to the Viracopos airport in the close neighborhood of Campinas. I however experienced two major inconveniences. My return flight from Viracopos to Lisbon on November 17, 2015 was cancelled and I was reassigned to an earlier flight that day from Guarulhos airport to Porto, 115 km away. I filed a complaint per e-mail at TAP, with the request to arrange at least alternative transport, but without any feedback. The change of flights and the increased travel distance made it necessary to cancel several scheduled meetings that day. TAP canceled my seat on the connecting flight from Porto to Zürich on November 18, and rebooked me on their flight from Porto to Zürich on November 19. This would have led to a transfer time in Porto of 28 hours instead of 4 hours. Only under very significant pressure from our side, TAP rebooked me on their codesharing flight from Porto to Zürich on November 18, operated by Swiss, and departing at the original time. I am strongly disappointed by lax attitude at TAP towards their professional commitments and their indifference to the interests of their passengers.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to VCP via LIS
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"low-cost experience"

(France)

TAP Portugal from Paris to Sao Paulo via Lisbon. A cheap fare turns out a nightmare. return flight cancelled with instructions sent by email to obtain update on the phone - only a local number was given (and I was on hold forever). Last flight leg ultimately canceled. Sitting in the airport without any information or assistance. Foreseeing this as the process unfolded, I asked if I could be put on another flight (there was one from Air France, it was not full). I was told that TAP Portugal had "a team" working on it. At the end, big scramble at the gate with no apparent rhyme or reason about who was rescheduled. They cannot field a plane, but staff are able to be rude. Other grounded Portuguese passengers told me this is very frequent with TAP Portugal, other flights were also cancelled (engineering problems). Many angry people at the airport. I previously travelled on TAP Portugal, more often for work in domestic flights to Lisbon then Madeira Island, always have issues, delayed flights, lost luggage, poor food, and I have to say, this international flight scheduling/delivery problem coupled with rude ground staff seems to be more frequent than the on-line statistics that I see suggest. My overall rating is a 0 because of staff inability to deal with frustrated customers in a calm and supportive manner. The service onboard in both flights just match the new low-cost experience you got for the money you actually pay.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to GRU via LIS
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no