Top 100 Airlines  

TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 455 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"still received no answer"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Lisbon to Zurich with TAP Portugal. First we had to wait over an hour in the airplane, then the flight was canceled and we had to wait half the night at the airport for the next flight. There was not enough food and beverages and the ground staff was rude and gave no information. We claimed the compensation we are entitled to according to, but after filing it three times we still received no answer (over 4 months later). All you get is a website form which does not accept English and you never hear back from TAP. There is also no real way of contacting them, which seems to be their way of getting rid of claims.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIS to ZRH
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I've flown"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flight out from Manchester to Lisbon with TAP Portugal cancelled, no body even informed us, I just came across it myself. I changed flight 6hrs later, spoke to customer service and got a very unhelpful women, who didn't want to listen, very rude. Also had to pay £22.00 for vegetarian meals for my partner - she got a cheese roll going out and nothing coming back, they said they didn't have one for her, but she had it written down. They then gave her a meatball meal? Worst airline I've flown with.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAN to LIS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"friendly and efficient"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Lisbon to Rome in business class with a very discounted fare found on TAP website. Fast baggage drop at dedicated priority check-in area very near to building entrance, friendly check-in agent. Quick fast track security. Large and confortable ANA lounge used. Rather lengthy wait onboard bus before boarding, I was the only passenger in C class. Staff very courteous, friendly and efficient, was offered a port wine aperitif, then excellent hot meal (from a choice of two), tea and a madeira wine. Seat normally comfortable, was offered pillow and blanket. Good flight info from the captain. Friendly farewell, then a lengthy wait for baggage collection at FCO.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLIS to FCO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasant experience for price"

(United Kingdom)

London to Miami via Lisbon. Excellent price for Business Class, 2 day stopover in Lisbon at no extra cost. Food was fantastic, plenty of wine choices (more than BA Club World). Great little amenity kit. Ground transfers went very smoothly at Lisbon, but the business lounge is badly designed. They could get twice as much seating in without it being crowded. Crew were very efficient friendly. Altogether a very pleasant experience for the price, would use again. I understand they are bringing in a couple of new A330s this summer and then replacing with the new A330 neo to use on more US routes.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to MIA via LIS
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"don't charge for checked bag"

(United States)

Verified Review | Lisbon to London Heathrow. TAP Portugal don't charge you for a checked bag, when easyjet charges extra. The fare was affordable (80 euro) and comes with a meal and the free checked bag. The customer service was excellent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIS to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"need to rethink the aircraft type"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Accra Ghana via Lisbon with TAP Portugal. Heathrow to Lisbon, A320 flight delayed by storm Katie. Aircraft was clean, aisle seat was OK and plane was not full. Arrived late at Lisbon, missed connecting flight to Ghana by minutes. TAP arranged hotel and overnight stay which took a long time. Next day connecting flight was on time, so one day lost in Lisbon. Lisbon to Accra in A319 - over 5 hours, no IFE at all in such a small plane. Meal served was fine, cabin crew likewise. Accra to Lisbon on A319 again, take something to read as no IFE. Same cabin crew on return flight who recognised me - pleasant attitude, plane quite full. At least the meal was different! Arrived Lisbon early and we were shunted to Gate 47 by Immigration - new part of the airport and not near the main concourse which meant that about 10 passengers from this flight were sent to an area where the small number of shops etc were not yet open - for 2 hours. Flight Lisbon to Heathrow another A320, flight full, snack served, and arrived on time. TAP need to rethink the aircraft type for a flight over 5 hours long in terms of IFE, otherwise flights were OK apart from storm Katie delaying the departure.
AircraftA320 / A319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to ACC via LIS
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"legroom which was not enough"

(Poland)

Lisbon to Warsaw with TAP Portugal was generally a pleasant experience. The crew were friendly, flight was on time, and the meal was very good. The only drawback I noticed was the look of the seats which were worn-out and the legroom which was definitely not enough.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIS to WAW
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"flight attendants very pleasant"

(Brazil)

No significant change on Business Class TAP flights from Brazil to Portugal. Check-in was fast. Boarding as messy as usual: we had to wait everlasting 15 minutes within the finger, previously to boarding, with no A/C, with unacceptable 35C degrees. Flight attendants were very pleasant, and made all efforts to be nice. Unfortunately food is still served in small quantities, and is not nice. An exceptional "Vinho verde" was offered as a drink. No champagne, just an acid Portuguese sparkling wine. No full-flat bed, however confortable. IFE just OK.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGIG to ORY
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"good seat space"

(Netherlands)

All flights with TAP Portugal from Amsterdam to São Paulo GRU via Lisbon were OK, left a bit behind schedule, but all arrived before schedule. Online check-in was good, but staff at baggage drop-off at Amsterdam could do better. The staff member was busier arguing with her colleagues about a problem with another passenger than labeling our bags. Aircrafts were OK, good seat space and overall clean. On the flight to GRU we sat in row 27 which is near the emergency exit. Leg space was ok, but sitting near the lavatories was in general not so nice. Food from AMS to LIS was a sandwich and some drinks. From LIS to GRU for dinner the only choice was chicken. For breakfast only cold, hard bread with some cheese and meat (no eggs whatsoever) IFE was enough choices to watch or listen. Staff only showed themselves during takeoff, landing and bringing food. The rest of the time they spend their time talking to each other. At other airlines at least the walk around the aisles offering water. Compared to other European airlines TAP on flights in Europe the are OK. Outside Europe they score below average considering services during the flight. I bought our ticket with a good promotional fare. If it would be the same fare as LH, Swiss, KLM of BA I don't think it's a good offer. In other words, TAP is quite basic. However with a low fare it is a good option.
AircraftA319, A340-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAMS to GRU via LIS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"good legroom"

(Italy)

TAP Portugal from Milan Malpensa to Lisbon in an A319. Good legroom and clean aircraft. Staff service average and decent food. Lisbon to Milan Malapensa in an A321 with less legroom than the previous flight, poor food and cabin crew rather annoyed. Lisbon airport has not left me excited. All in all a good flight.
AircraftA319, A321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMXP to LIS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes