Airline of the Year  

TAAG Angola Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"£the shortest, cheapest route"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Lisbon via Luanda. It was the shortest, cheapest route compared to other airlines. At times communication was a bit challenging because the airline is more Portuguese than English, not the friendliest flight staff. On the ground at check-in in both Johannesburg and Lisbon the staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. In Luanda, on my return flight - not so much - was told to stand one side and constantly sternly told to wait - not that I was moving or saying anything. For the price you can't actually .
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Lisbon via Luanda
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my first and last time with TAAG"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Lisbon via Luanda, it was my first time flying with TAAG but unfortunately it will be the last. I checked in online and booked 3 seats together, when I got to the airport I was informed my seats had to be changed. I got on board (to my new seats) and found the 2 of the seats were missing the entertainment screens. Cables were loose and hanging from the space where the TV screens are supposed to be. I told the air hostess and she informed she would move us once we were in the air. Once we were in the air the air hostess refused to talk to me and refused to move us. I complained and said if there is no room on economy they must move me elsewhere, again I was ignored and eventually one air hostess shouted at me that I will not be moving. I was informed the entertainment screens were not working before our flight by the staff – so they sold us seats without telling us the problems. One air hostess then apologized and said I must write in the complaints book - when I asked for it they refused to give me a pen or any of their names. Finally, the whole economy section had problems with the aircon and everyone was complaining about the heat and discomfort.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Lisbon via Luanda
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"pleasantly surprised with TAAG"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | I was pleasantly surprised with TAAG flying return from Cape Town to Lisbon via Luanda, the aircraft was clean, the meals very good though the presentation and accompaniments were on the cheap side. Seats were comfortable and the 3x3x3 seating feeling much more spacious than the 3x4x3 found many airlines 777's. Ground staff in Cape Town were pleasant and the crew pleasant throughout. Luanda airport could be vastly improved by offering clean toilets, otherwise it is OK. Luanda airport also has a boneyard of abandoned aircraft, some interesting specimens. While only using the flight tracking on the in flight entertainment it seemed to have a selection of films and shows. Considering the price, speed and great route from South Africa to Portugal there is no competition and I am already booked for my next flight with them.
AircraftBoeing 777-300, Boeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to LIS via LAD
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service was mixed - some friendly, others less so"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Cape Town to Luanda (and back) on slightly older 777-300, but still in good condition. Luanda - Lisbon (and back) on 6 month old 777-300 - very good condition. It had larger screens than the older one - but less movie options, which did not quite match those listed in the in-flight magazine - either way selection is limited. Flight map system much improved in the newer plane. Seats the same slimline style on all planes, comfortable enough, with good recline and leg space. Pillows are provided, but no blankets by default. Catering is decidedly low cost - flimsy plastic tray and so on, and cheap plastic cutlery, however the food was not bad at all. Service was mixed - some friendly, others less so, English definitely not spoken well. Luanda stopover thankfully short, as airport is primitive, with multiple flights leaving from the same gate at the same time, which causes a bit of chaos - nothing too serious though - you will be checked to make sure you won't get on the wrong plane. Airport has no air bridges, so you get a good impression of the sheer size of the 777-300's as you walk up the stairs. This is the most direct route from Cape Town to Portugal, hence the quickest way to get there, as the feeder flights from/to Cape Town/Johannesburg are well-timed. Arrival time in Lisbon (early morning) and departure time (late at night), also very convenient. All in all the combination of new planes (nice), good price, with acceptable levels of service and catering, make this a really good option for getting to Europe from South Africa.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to LIS via LAD
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were friendly and professional"

(South Africa)

My flight on 26th of August, from Johamnnesbug to Lisbon via Luanda, was as good as my return flight a month later on 25th September. Four planes of 777 and 777-300 used for my journeys. The food was tasty, the cabin crew were friendly and professional. Most important was the fact that the take off and landings where the best I have experienced in recent years. The price was good value for money. Luanda airport is poor, no shops to pass the time, but at least we don't walk kilometers to change terminals, which is a plus. The waiting time between flights is only about two hours and bearable. Another plus is the weight you are allowed to take. I will definitely fly TAAG again.
AircraftBoeing 777 and Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to LIB via LAD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were friendly and efficient"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Needing to get from Cape Town to Lisbon and back again wasting as little time as possible, I found that TAAG fly this route, with a change of planes in Luanda. Not knowing quite what to expect, I booked, and was pleasantly surprised. The planes on the Cape Town - Luanda legs are a bit old and tatty, and on the outward leg the entertainment system did not work. They are 777s, but in 3-4-3 configuration in Economy. The main downside of this route is Luanda airport, which is Ok, but somewhere you don't want to have to stay too long. The Luanda - Lisbon legs are operated by new 777-300ER planes in 3-3-3 configuration with good entertainment systems, but maybe not the best choice of films. Food and service was good. Cabin crew were friendly and efficient.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to LIS via LAD
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was outstanding"

(South Africa)

Cape Town to Lisbon via Luanda with TAAG Angolan. Seamless check-in in Cape Town with luggage checked all the way to Lisbon. Older 777-200 on first leg to Luanda. Old AVOD system but decent selection. Seats needed a clean but otherwise comfortable for 3 hour leg. Largely male cabin crew who went out of their way to chat and were friendly. Food was lamb, well presented and tasty. Luanda Airport is something to miss if possible. Final leg onwards to Lisbon was on board their new 777-300ER which was 2 months old. Cabin crew once again friendly, engaging. Food was special meals (steamed fish, vegetables, lovely sauce) with coconut cake. All better than expected and I finished it. The AVOD and seat on the new plane was wonderful. The service was outstanding, the plane exceptionally clean and I would recommend this airline. The cabin crew dealt with a number of unaccompanied minors in a most sincere fashion both on board and with the ground team. Luanda Airport though is something to spend as little time in as possible.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to LIS via LAD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent value for money"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Flew TAAG Angola Airlines, Cape Town to Lisbon via Luanda. Left on time, the service was slightly reserved but at least not false, good food and enough leg space. Clean plane, all security protocols are being executed. The price was excellent value for money. 3 hours in Luanda just bearable. Going to book soon again, before the promotion is over.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to LIS via LAD
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were friendly"

(Angola)

Johannesburg to Luanda with TAAG Angola. The check-in at OR Tambo Airport was a bit of a hassle because it was the first day of new baggage rules. However, once in the air, the experience was excellent value for money. The flight departure was on time and the meal served was one of the most delicious I have had onboard a flight for a long time. The TAAG cabin crew were friendly and efficient. I frequently use TAAG on this route and will continue to do so.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteJNB to LAD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"overpriced for the quality"

(United Kingdom)

I flew TAAG Angola Airlines from Luanda to Cape Town and Windhoek to Luanda.The flights were okay, nothing really bad. My complaint is that it was overpriced for the quality of the flight. The planes for both legs were clean although cabins were not well maintained. The service on board was abysmal. There were no courtesy from the FAs. The toilets were run out of toilet papers and were dirty but FAs didn't bother to clean them up. The food were just for survival. Would I recommend this airline - no. However, I doubt there is competition for the route so you might end up taking this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLuanda to Cape Town
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews