Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Very disappointed in this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Hamilton. Very disappointed in this airline. I arrived at the Hamilton airport an hour before departure time but unfortunately no one was at the Swoop counter to take my bag or check me in. I had not checked in earlier as I had trouble doing so on line. At about 35 minutes before the scheduled departure an attendant arrived at the counter. She told me it was too late for her to be able to check me in as they were already boarding. As a result, I was not able to take that flight and had to take a cab to Pearson airport and book with another airlines. Although friendly, the staff representative was not helpful and said she would try to log onto the system, even though, as she said, she knew it wouldn’t work, but would try “to humour me”. There was nothing funny about this. The moral of this message if something seems like too good of a bargain it probably is. I think this airlines is grossly understaffed and not worth the difference in the cost of the other airlines. I won’t be travelling with Swoop again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Hamilton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"truly a horrible airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | If anything goes wrong with your flight, Swoop is extremely unaccommodating, and the risk is not worth it. I was supposed to fly out of Abbotsford on Sunday night, but my flight got rescheduled for Monday morning (note: Swoop will not reimburse you for accommodations). I found out at 2 AM on Monday morning that my flight got rescheduled for Wednesday. Meanwhile, the group I was travelling with was still scheduled to fly out on Monday morning. A traveller in the group payed for a different flight and flew out Sunday night with a different airline, so her seat was available. However, they wouldn't let me take her seat and told me there was nothing they could do. The group counted 17 empty seats on the "fully-booked" flight that I could have taken. All workers we encountered from Swoop were extremely unhelpful and did not even attempt to help us. Delaying a flight for 4 days without any sort of compensation is unacceptable. Because I am a student and have exams, I had to pay $350 for a different flight to fly out earlier. This is truly a horrible airline and I advise travellers to book elsewhere. Although this airline offers cheap flights, it is not worth the risk if anything goes wrong.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight back been absolute nightmare"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We flew from Edmonton to Abbotsford with swoop and had little to no problems, our flight back however has been an absolute nightmare. The return flight was supposed to be leaving at 6:15pm, September 16th. When we got to the airport no one was at the counter to check our bags so we were forced to go through security with them and have our oversized liquids all thrown out ($30 value). Once we got to our gate the attendant for Swoop told us it would be $84 to check our bags even though we already paid $50 in the first place. After explaining that this is absolutely ridiculous they tagged our bags and said they would put them on the flight. Half an hour later the flight is deemed delayed. Another half an hour later the flight is canceled because apparently the plane had been hit by lightening when it landed. The flight agents said there is nothing they can do and nothing (hotel, transport, or food) will be covered. Unbelievable! So many people and families were left stranded at the Abbotsford airport. We then had to book a hotel for the night ($140) and wait until our rescheduled flight at 8:45am the next morning. Woke up to head to the airport only to receive an email saying this flight has now been canceled and the next flight we could take would be Tuesday the 18th at 6pm. That is 2 days after we are supposed to be home!!! It’s absolutely unbelievable. We went to the airport to see if there were any earlier flights and were just told, “no, our other fights are full and maybe go book a new flight with flair airlines instead”. No help, no reimbursement, nothing. So now we have had to spend money on a hotel, food, transport and additional flights ($400+) just to get home. I have been on hold with swoop customer service for 1.5 hours (still currently am) and have not spoken to anyone. I was so excited when I saw there was affordable airlines starting to operate within Canada but after this experience I will never use them again, and would advise anyone else to rethink booking through them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Then things got worse"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbottsford to Edmonton. Came in to fly out on a Sunday night. Started boarding, then told our flight was cancelled and going to be rescheduled for the first thing next morning. Understandable, things happen and ultimately safety is most important when flying. Then things got worse. Little to no communication on everything. No hotel vouchers, food vouchers, nothing! All 150 people on this plane were now responsible for themselves. Unbelievable. We were fortunate enough to have family we could spend the extra night with. Could not imagine the hotel ordeal or having children traveling as many passengers did. Then, at 3am we get an email saying our new flight has now been cancelled and they have rechecked us for Wednesday afternoon! Are you kidding me! Fortunately we came to the airport early in the morning and managed to switch to another airline. After spending 45 minutes on hold with their customer service they refunded us the cost of the flight, but nothing for the huge inconvenience this has brought. My girlfriend and I have had to miss work, pay extra for our parking at our destination, and completely lose a day to this absolute garbage customer service. Neither I nor my significant other will ever be using this airline again and will be telling everyone we know of this experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbottsford to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cheap flights are a good idea"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Abbotsford. It’s amazing to have an airline that as a young family we can afford to go see my family in Vancouver. For short flights the planes are great and the staff are the same. Thanks to whoever decided these cheap flights are a good idea because it brings families closer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"been on hold for 51 minutes"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbotsford to Edmonton. So, I was in a situation where for sure reasons I could not fly out this morning. I called Swoop, was out on hold and there I stayed - at 25 minutes I also called from my landline in case my cell battery died and was again put on hold. When I gave up I had been on hold on the original call for 51 minutes and then gave up on the landline at about 45 minutes. I took screen shots of my cell before it died to prove it. What’s the deal?
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Many annoyed passengers"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Abbotsford. Long story short - reached the airport at 1pm with 2 toddlers and was told the flight was cancelled. Was offered the next flight out 8hrs later. No meal voucher offered, no other options, no sorry from the front agent. When I asked the agent why no email or call. She said she did not know. Received an email at 2.15pm 2 hrs before actual flight time of 430pm that flight has been "rescheduled". Most passenger would have made their way into the airport. Many annoyed passengers. Disappointed
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

" Aircraft was clean"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Abbotsford to Edmonton. Aside from being late on takeoff their and back, and some minor confusion at the desk, this felt no different than flying any other economy line, and cost $9. Not sure why people are complaining. Aircraft was clean and staff to standard. Really it was no different than a WestJet flight..
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"needs to get their act together"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Swoop needs to get their act together: We paid full price when the airline first starting selling tickets - they are now 1/2 price and as low as $9 to Edmonton. They are trying to get customers anyway they can. The airline has poor scheduling issues and cancels the flight if they don't have enough customers booked. This resulted in leaving us in Edmonton an additional 3 hours until their next flight landed. Our times were changed twice on the departure flight days before we even left. We had the same plane down as well as back - we could tell because of the same piece of dirt in the same spot. When I called to talk to a manager you couldn't get through and I finally emailed them and they gave us two $50 vouchers - probably my bad if I ever decide to use them. For the price we paid I should have gone with an airlines that have worked out the bugs in the system.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"experience was terrible"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My experience with Swoop was terrible, (and still is as I have been on hold, waiting to talk to a customer service agent for 60 minutes with no luck!) I made a reservation for my daughter and me to fly from Abbotsford to Edmonton on Aug 31 to attend a memorial for a friend. When we arrived in Edmonton, my daughter realized that she would not be able to fly back with me on September 2nd. So she went online to the swoop website and cancelled her flight. The wording on the website said "Cancel flight for H. Johnston? Confirm?" So she confirmed that was what she wanted. When I returned to the Edmonton airport on Sept. 2nd for the return flight , I was told that my flight was cancelled also and that I would need to rebook for $200+. I tried to explain the website cancellation had been only for my daughter, and not me, but they really didn't care and said it was out of their hands. I argued and asked to see a manager, but to no avail. I am now going into hour 2 of being on hold to try and get some resolution to this issue.. Customer service is pathetic. The agents in Edmonton were terrible, under trained and not the least bit interested in trying to problem solve for a paying customer. They are only capable of looking at a computer screen and reading back what it says. Swoop has lost me as a customer. I actually waited 2 hours and 5 minutes before being connected with an actual Swoop rep. She said it is impossible to make partial cancellations online. We went round and round until I asked to speak to her manager The manager also insisted that Heather, my daughter must have cancelled both reservations and no matter how much I insisted that the website had said "Heather J.... confirm cancellation" she would not acknowledge that this happened. She said partial reservations can only be cancelled by telephoning a customer service representative. I suggested that if every customer who wanted to cancel a partial reservation had to wait 2 hours to actually talk to a person ( as I did today) that perhaps their website and systems needed fixing. She stated they were thinking about changing the system but had not yet done so. She also stated that the reason I had to wait so long today is that they were backlogged with calls because their call centre was closed on Saturday and Sunday! What the hell!! She then covered that tidbit of info by saying that they do have agents who respond to emails 24/7!! So here's what I got from all that. Don't use their website to cancel partial reservations because their system can't handle it. Instead call them directly(which by the way, they state will cost you $15.00 plus applicable taxes and it may take 2 hours + to get an answer! However once you do call, be aware that the call centre might be closed so you will never get an answer. In that case you will have to email them and I have no idea how long their response to an email might take! Totally laughable! She said she could do nothing for me and when I suggested that she indeed could do something by offering me a refund,as a gesture of good will, for the return ticket plus baggage charges that I had to pay the second time. She refused. She put the icing on the cake for me when she said that she really appreciated my feedback because they would use the info I provided as a coaching opportunity! Unbelievable! . Neither my daughter or I received any notification of a cancellation being made. Yet another oversight I guess
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews