Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 109 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I was treated so poorly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Minneapolis. I had poor customer service from start to finish. I was told upon check in that my self and people I was traveling with had too many bags. I informed the representative that I would reduce my bags before boarding the plane. I was watched from the moment I left. Upon boarding the plane I had two bags which was one personal and one carry on. Myself and my party were watched and harrassed as we boarded the plane. She also tried to charge us $40 for a shoe box that my friend had along with his backpack. Once on the plane, staff from the lax terminal 5 got on the plane to harass us more. She came to write down my seat number and check our bags once again. We never exchanged words or said anything derogatory or bad to the employee. I am appalled that I was treated so poorly after paying almost $500 each for first class seats on a one way flight home. Customer service was poor and I will never fly Sun Country again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLos Angeles to Minneapolis
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the total lack of effort"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Minneapolis. After arriving at 10:40am to get through security, my husband, 5 year old son and I waited through multiple delays. Flight 658 had mechanical issues, yet we kept being told the mechanics were confident they could fix the issue. After receiving the replacement part at 8pm, we were told we’d board at nine. Then 9:45. Then announced they’d have “more details to come” at 10pm, and same announement at 10:30 and 11pm. At about 11:50 (too late to catch a different flight out for the night), it was announced that the flight was cancelled. We are irate that nothing was done to try to help, no alternatives suggested, no options given, nothing. My 5year old slept on the floor of the airport for a flight that should have departed at 12:20 pm! In order to get back to MN in time for a job interview, we immediately called and booked 3 seats on a flight leaving Denver at 6 am with a different airline. We spent $876 dollars for something we would not have otherwise needed to spend, just to make it back in time for the 11:30am CDT job interview - after already spending $342 on the 3 Sun Co tickets booked in early April! We have not seen the $342 reimbursed yet, but expect it will be. I will never fly through this airline again, and I will advise friends and family do the same. The whole experience was miserable, horrific. And I am disgusted at the total lack of effort to do anything to help get passengers to Minneapolis.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Minneapolis
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they were unwilling to do anything"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am extremely disappointed and dissatisfied with my Sun Country trip from Minneapolis to Miami. I have had issues with Sun Country before but never to this extent. I was on hold attempting to make flight reservations for over an hour and 46 minutes. Almost a two hour wait to make simple reservations is outrageous. I was met by a rude Sun Country employee. Throughout the conversation he interrupted me multiple times, he raised his voice at me, and refused to let me speak to a supervisor stating “they would tell you the same so you cannot speak to them”. I have worked in customer service for many years and have never been spoken to in that manner. I have flown with Sun Country quite often before but will never fly with them again. I attempted to address this issue with their complaint department and they were unwilling to do anything to fix the situation. The only thing they were willing to do was comp my seats as “an act of good faith”, I said ok fine I will sit in row 7 because I want to be near the front which I would’ve paid for regardless. I was told no to that request they would only be willing to Comp a seat in row 23 of 24 rows. I asked so you guy are willing to comp a 7 dollar seat but unwilling to comp a 15 dollar seat to please an upset customer? They said yes that is the case. How disrespectful and rude. I recommend no one flies with Sun Country unless they want horrible service from a company who doesn’t value their business.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Miami
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we were waiting for 20 minutes"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to new York JFK. My flight was a nightmare. We were supposed to leave at 7:00 but we were waiting for 20 minutes. No communication with the passengers on why the flight was delayed it was ridiculous. The mere question of me asking why we didn’t leave at 7 aroused anger in the flight attendants. They were too busy flirting with some guy that works at the kiosk to even stop to answer my question. I really hate this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to New York JFK
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"there was no notification at all"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our experience with Sun Country Airlines was completely frustrating. We boarded our flight in San Diego and were told we needed to exit the plane just before it was about to leave the terminal since the connecting flight to JFK was cancelled due to weather. That part is unavoidable, we understand. We then went directly to an available agent to book for the following day only to be told that if we wanted to be on a flight for the next day it would cost us an additional $2200 (2 seats in first class)! Although those seats were available they would not accommodate us. We had no choice but to book for the day after. That flight left San Diego an hour late. When we arrived in Minneapolis with little time to spare we noticed our flight was not listed on the "departures" screen. We went back the gate we came through to be told that our connecting flight was cancelled. We were not told this on the plane, we were not told this when we exited the plane, there was no notification at all. We then needed to wait 45 minutes in line to book for the following day (no morning flights although seats in 1st class were again available). We were given vouchers for discounts for nearby hotels since they claimed no responsibility due to it being "weather related". We later learned that this was not weather related at all, it was their equipment malfunction at JFK. There were no hotels available through the discounted phone # they gave us and we were left on our own to find accommodations. Our entire experience with Sun Country was unpleasant at best including robotic agents, uncaring attitudes, and all around unprofessionalism. Never again!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to New York JFK via Minneapolis
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Sun Country logo

15th January 2018 : Sun Country Airlines response

We apologize about your entire experience. We do appreciate you sharing yours concerns, and we will get these passed along. Thank you.

1/10

"flight attendants were below average"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline experience ever! Utterly disappointed in overall service. Purchased first class seats for 2 adults and 7 children. We had never been in first class before but decided to splurge as we had a birthday to celebrate. We also have a daughter recovering from leukemia so it was important that we try to make her comfortable and be as close to the restroom as possible. First of all, we were overcharged $6,000 when we made the reservations in August due to some kind of computer glitch. No apologies from the airline and it took almost a week for reimbursement. Note for anyone buying a ticket from Sun Country, always use a credit card, never a debit card. The flight from Orlando to Minneapolis was a disaster. The seats were dirty even though the flight was delayed 30 minutes. We even found a novel left in 1D from the previous occupant. Magazines were askew, crumbs were on our seats, and one seat had some kind of fluid on it. Yuck! Flight attendants had plenty of time to clean the cabin given the delay. An airline employee sat in my husband's seat (1C) doing paperwork for 30 minutes. There were plenty of open seats in the cabin where he could have moved to. My husband, who is 6'4", was forced to hunch forward and later squat down while waiting for his seat. Not exactly first class service! The biggest problem? They lost our largest piece of luggage! Sun Country promises first class priority delivery to baggage claim. We have never lost a piece of luggage before and it happened on a first class flight. I was promised that it would come in the next morning on the first flight and would be delivered by late morning. That didn't happen. I had to call them 18 hours later to check on the status. It took until 8 pm to get it. Sun Country's flight attendants were below average and the leg room was average. Airplane cleanliness was way below average! There was no first class priority boarding. We were unable to put our baggage in the overhead compartments as we were being pushed from behind as everyone crowded in. The meal (1/2 a sandwich) was horrible. There were no options and one of my children received a leftover sandwich that someone else hadn't wanted. They also ran out of Coke! 7 of the 12 first class passengers were children and they ran out of Coke! Did they expect me to order them alcohol? Do not expect a curtain between first class and the cabin. My daughter was seated in front of someone who was coughing on her neck the whole flight. Also, everyone kept using the bathroom in the front and were lined up in the first class cabin constantly coughing and bumping into us. The flight attendants did nothing to discourage this. At least with a curtain, passengers do not stand in line in first class waiting for the bathroom. I reached out to customer service and I sent an email to every member of the board of directors. I did this on December 21st. It is now January 9th and no one has contacted me. I did expect an apology or an explanation for our horrible experience. I am left to wonder if we were treated poorly because we complained about being over charged $6,000 in August. After all, how many bad things could possibly happen on the same first class flight?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteOrlando to Minneapolis
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Sun Country logo

15th January 2018 : Sun Country Airlines response

We are so sorry to hear about your experience, and we would love the opportunity to look into this. Please visit our site and select contact us. Thank you.

9/10

"my flights were smooth and enjoyable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Incredible experience from beginning to end. I was due to fly out on the day a massive snowstorm hit the northeast. Sun Country, like many other airlines in Boston, waived their change fee. After almost no time on hold, I was helped by one of the friendly customer service agents I have ever experienced. She helped me quickly and efficiently, and got me on a flight a few days later. When the day to fly came, the experience remained completely positive. Both of my flights were smooth and enjoyable. The ground service came with a smile. The flight crew were friendly and attentive for both flights. I’m a little guy, but I had plenty of legroom in my seat (16A). The cabin was clean and felt inviting. My connection in Minneapolis was also an absolute breeze. It was only 50 minutes, but navigating their Terminal H was a piece of cake. I absolutely recommend Sun Country and will be flying with them anytime that I can. Sure, there’s no in-flight entertainment or WiFi, but bring a book and some music and you’ll be fine. Adjust your expectations accordingly, and you’ll realize what an incredible value they are. Go try them out and relearn what it’s like to be treated like a real person again.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Seattle via Minneapolis
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Sun Country logo

15th January 2018 : Sun Country Airlines response

We appreciate the great review! Thank you for flying with us!

1/10

"Only 2 counters were open"

(United States)

Trip Verified | 60 mins is usually enough to make your flight when using Sun Country's tiny Humphrey terminal. However, there were long lines and travellers checking in lots of bags. Only 2 counters were open. SY has no self-check machines. All I needed was to just print my boarding pass. Line took 30 minutes to clear and it was too late. I could not get my boarding pass forwarded to my email or mobile phone. Check-in agent didn't care. Said he could do nothing and did not even offer to re-book me. So I re-booked myself onto a comfortable DL flight. In June, I flew MSP-JFK and our aircraft had a row of broken seats causing a 90 minute delay. Old aircraft in bad shape. Tickets are not that much cheaper. Avoid.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to San Francisco
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Sun Country logo

27th December 2017 : Sun Country Airlines response

We appreciate you sharing your experience, and concerns. Please know we do recommend 2 hours for check-in especially during the busy season. Thank you again.

10/10

"customer service just fantastic"

(United States)

Verified Review | I travelled with my 81-year-old mother, who was in a wheelchair. This airline provided her with every assistance she could need, from the moment we entered the airport until the moment we left the airport on the other end. They changed her seat to give us more leg room. Their customer service was just fantastic. On our first leg out, we had a mechanical issue on the plane, which delayed our flight by 4 hours. There was some grumbling in the gate area, but the ground crew kept everyone informed of where things stood and were just great. We were allowed to pre-board when we did get to take off, and were surprised to see not a single person who wasn't smiling when they got on the plane. It's a testament to their customer service that they could keep people smiling even with a 4-hour delay. Great job.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Phoenix
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Sun Country logo

3rd November 2017 : Sun Country Airlines response

Thank you for the great review, and for flying with us!

1/10

"customer service did not nothing"

(United States)

Verified Review | Booked to fly Los Angeles to Minnesota with Sun Country Airlines. Worst airline ever. Canceled the flight after an 8 hour delay. I spent 3+ hours on the phone and customer service did not nothing but put me on hold, took me off hold, put me back on hold and then did not solve the problem and just hung up. Unprofessional airline that puts profits ahead of customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Minnesota
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Sun Country logo

3rd November 2017 : Sun Country Airlines response

We apologize about the delay. If you haven't already, please visit our site and select get in touch. Thank you!