Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 121 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"would never fly again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Anchorage to Seattle. Horrible. Basically no head rest, no leg room. Only a personal item, the carry on costs extra. No free snacks, yes there are free sodas and water. Overall would never fly again. We flew to Alaska and back home to Seattle on sun country. Both times we boarded late. Bag checks on departure to Alaska took 30+ minutes because of one lady working the desk with no help. She wasn’t very nice.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Seattle
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Minneapolis. This is absolutely the worst airline I have ever dealt with the people at the front desk at LAX were so rude and accommodating and unprofessional. I had a business class flight all the way through that I had purchased through Condor and I am put in a economy class which is unacceptable. I will never use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Minneapolis
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is the worst airline company. I will never fly with them again. As much as I do not like it, it is a reasonable expectation to get charged for a checked bag. What is not reasonable and is ridiculous is the fact that they charge $40 dollars for using the overhead compartment. So for two checked bags and the use of the overhead compartment I had to pay $90 dollars. Not only that the seat I was in had a tiny space to store a personal item on the floor, my backpack barely fit. The only good thing I can say is the the crew members were friendly. Other than that I do not recommend this horrible airline company and will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Anchorage
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a very hard experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Francisco to New York via Minneapolis. The term "you get what you pay for" is an understatement when it comes to Sun Country Airlines. This was a very hard experience. This was the very first time on any Airline where I did not have Wi-Fi access or service for real food, and there was no in flight movies to enjoy either. I was flying with my children and was told that I would need to purchase seating in order for us to all be together; it was their first flight to New York. Fortunately, we did not choose that option because we were trying to save some money for our vacation. Upon arrival at the international side of SFO we were greeted by a very friendly checker who accommodated us and assisted us with our seating arrangements free of charge. Of course, we did have to arrive at the airport almost two and a half hours prior to our flight. Our flight was delayed in Minneapolis and there was an issue with the fuel. However, by 1 am we finally made it to JFK. Unfortunately, I will never participate with this airline. Customers should be given a bit more bang for their buck and not be treated like second class citizens.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to New York via Minneapolis
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Laughlin to Spokane. Worst flight I have ever been on. This flight was through Total Rewards. 3 emails were sent to notify passengers of arrival times. The idiots in charge of this flight (flight crew) took it upon themselves to change the route. This action turned a 2 hour flight into a 4 hour flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLaughlin to Spokane
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"they're going downhill"

(United States)

Not Verified | Minneapolis to Boston. I've used this airline dozens of times over the years and they're going downhill. The counter service is often understaffed and slow, sometimes malfunctioning as well. Online services arent much better. Their quality is becoming cheaper and more complicated, with too many baggage/carry on options, none of which are free, and with smaller seats than most Minnesotans can stand. This airline used to be tolerable, but now it's worth upgrading to most other airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Boston
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | By far the worst airline experience. I can travel halfway around the world without losing my bags (yes, that’s plural Sun Country) but flying from Dallas to Punta Cana and back and they have no idea where my bag is. After day 3 of no bag, we were told it went to Mexico. We were asked to send an email that would generate an immediate response (this was 4 days ago and still no response). You call customer service which claim that take baggage claim very seriously but that’s clearly not the case. No one works on the weekend. On top of losing my bag, they pack their customers on the planes like sardines. We traveled with a group of 6 and didn’t even sit remotely close to anyone. I’d rather take a rough boat ride back to Punta Cana than ride in another Sun Country plane. I don’t have a choice but the overall rating is actually a 0/10.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Punta Cana
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very cramped and crowded"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Minneapolis. An hour late from Minneapolis to Seattle. Over two hours late on the return flight. Very cramped and crowded in the plane. Bathrooms on plane were not adequate enough for the amount of people on board. Poor design and layout. Definitely not an airline I'd pick to do business with again. Waste of time and money. No pride in their business and lack of urgency.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Minneapolis
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible time"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dallas to Punta Cana. The only thing on this flight that was worth anything were the employees. We had a terrible time trying to get first class seats. We had a one hour delay for a "unknown reason" while departing. This was our 1st first class flight and the onboard food was pitiful. I am currently laying in the Punta Cana airport that has zero air conditioner and our flight just got delayed for an hour and a half. Over all this is by far the worst company I have ever flown with/ever had one complaint with.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteDallas to Punta Cana
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not communicated with us yet"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Fort Myers to Minneapolis. My family and I had a flight from Florida to Minneapolis booked when the big snow storm hit in April. Sun Country handled the airport closure incredibly poorly. No communication before or during the cancellation. Their customer service line was not receiving calls. They never attempted to call us or email us, not even with a standard notification that the flight was canceled. We tried calling multiple times the day before the storm/day before our flight, and multiple times the day of. No way through. Same for the following day, so we drove to the airport and talked to someone. They had no backup system for all the displaced customers. They wouldn't book us on another flight of their own and wouldn't work with a different airline to get us home. The next available seat was not for 5 more days. And that was for 1 of the 4 of us. So we ended up renting a car and driving for two days. We had to call Kayak/Priceline to talk about a refund. They said it would take 4 to 6 weeks and only cover half our ticket, at the most. I received an email 6 weeks later from "Flexrez" stating the airline approved the request for a refund. There was no case number and no contact info, again. It said to find their Help section on the website if we had questions. I don't even know what website to look at for it. Kayak, Priceline, Sun Country, or flexrez? Sun Country has not communicated with us yet. This is a Minnesota-based company who screwed over all of their customers who flew in and out of Minneapolis those two days.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Myers to Minneapolis
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no