Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 132 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"do not recommend"

(United States)

Not Verified | JFK to Las Vegas via Minneapolis. Sun Country left my luggage somewhere during a recent trip to Vegas. My husband and I had packed in one bag and had no clothing or toiletries. I had to purchase toothpaste, toothbrushes, and contact lens solution and cases, and wash my travel clothes in our hotel tub. Thento top it off, it's one month later and we still have yet to receive any confirmation of our claim, or any response at all from their "service" department. Terrible service. Will not fly again, and do not recommend.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to Las Vegas via Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"had good service, until today"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Portland to Minneapolis. Ive flown with Sun Country multiple times and have had good service, until today. I live in Portland and my mom was visiting but she had to fly home early due to an emergency back home in Minnesota. We purchased her a one way flight last minute, we tried to check her in online but the website kept saying “error, please try again later” so we had to check in at the airport. My mom gets there and the lady at the front desk for Sun Country told her to go check in at the self serve station, she got there and Every other airline except Sun Country had an option to check in. So my mom went to go back to the desk and the lady was gone. It took someone 45 minutes to get back to the desk but of course it was too late and the plane already boarded and shut the cabin. After being on the phone for 52 min and 3 calls later the customer service lady told us the plane had been delayed for another hour and a half but they weren’t going to Print her a boarding pass because she didn’t check in on time. The plane was at the gate and wasn’t going to take off for another hour and a half and they had already deboarded the plane only to reboard in an hour. But they said she still couldn’t have a boarding pass because the delay wasn’t there fault. After making another call to customer service they finally told someone to come down and print her a boarding pass. This all could’ve been avoided if Sun Country could get there act together.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"baggage has not been returned"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Los Angeles. I recently submitted an airline review on Aug 12, 2018, regarding my experience prior to the the actual flight. Post flight leaving Honolulu on Aug 12 & arriving LA on Aug 13 at 4am (Flight SY730). My experience POST flight prompted me to make a follow up review and complaint. I hope our experience as a passenger will reach the top people managing this company. We checked in total of 3 luggages, upon claiming the baggage, 2 were returned (mine and my daughter) one lost baggage for my husband. I used to work for the airline myself & I never thought there will be problem like this that has not been solved since it is a common problem to most travelers. the “lost baggage”. In LAX there is no specific booth for Sun Country where to ask if problems like this arise. Hawaiian Airlines has a lady in their booth where you can querry and she (a Hawaiian Airlines personnel) directed us upstairs to a place next to Spirit Airlines but she stated its an office for Sun but there is no name outside the door. She herself has a hard time describing the location for us. When we get there, there were 3 doors with security lock without names. Is was so frustrating having to wait, on board a delayed flight, without sleep, & still has to go work in few hours. We tried to search for direction on line, number provided was called and no one answers. A lady just about to enter one of those unmarked rooms & apparently she just came in for her shift. Thank God she is from Sun. She accompany us to find our missing luggage that didn’t come out of the conveyor and helped us file a report. I did ask her why there is no name on the door of her office so their client can easily find where to go. She stated and I quote “I dont know, I asked the same question when Sun initially hired me but they don’t have answers for me, I guess no one wants to do anything”. She then instructed us to call the number on that paperwork she provided for us. When we get home we called the number (612) 970 3576, unfortunately the call often dropped and no way we can leave a message. Later that day, a lady left a voice message on my phone stating they found our baggage/luggage and to contact them thru customer service or on line but she did not leave any contact number to call. I tried calling the number thru caller ID, it was the same number I found on line, but then again, call dropped no one can be reached. I went back on line on the baggage lost so I can at least send a message. I did gave instruction to deliver my luggage to the address I provided. Its a very long and tiring process just to contact that department and I think its a very common airline problem that they are failing to handle, in the end their customers suffer. And up this point, making this review, my baggage has not been returned. I hope whoever read this message will do something on this issue and hopefully someone will contact me again again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The bag never showed up "

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Las Vegas. We just returned late last night from a once in a lifetime 30th birthday celebration that had been carefully planned by my wife for months. The flight was delayed and our bag was lost by Sun Country. We had to buy all new clothing and accessories to get through our stay. The bag never showed up even though we called the airline numerous times. It is now day 4, no bag and no return calls. We have no plans to ever use this airline again but we do expect reimbursement for our lost items!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Las Vegas
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Flight got delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Biloxi. Passengers troubled with no cooling in the plane, too hot. Flight got delayed, nobody at the gate to update Passengers. After requesting someone at next counter, they called someone to be there. After all flight went to the runway after around 5 hour delay just to let us know that there's crew rest time so they took all Passengers back to gate. No one available to answer. Everyone said that they will never travel with Sun Country airlines again. Everyone still at the baggage claim at 2am not knowing what to do. Actual flight time was 7:55 pm August 01, 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Biloxi
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I will never fly again"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | It was a terrible experience! When we arrived at the Honolulu airport there wasn’t even a sign for this airline and it was difficult to find the counter. When checking-in, we suddenly realize we should pay for carry-on bags ($40 each!) and the only free bag allowed was the personal bag (a very small bag). When I complained about this hidden cost, they rudely replied that is the luggage policy of the company. Then I decided to checked-in all my bags for $25 each which sounded less expensive! On board nothing is provided for free and they did not have any blankets even though the air conditioning was not adjustable and there was a North Pole temperature. Personnel was kind and helpful. I will never fly again with Sun Country Airlines!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Los Angeles
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"So many hidden fees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew New York City to Minneapolis. Time and time again I have found reasons to avoid Sun Country Airlines. So many hidden fees for everything from selecting seats (which most airline include for free when selected immediately before boarding) to even carrying ONE simple bag with you. You pay for a seat on the plane and that is it. No frills, no courtesy, no ability to bring any clothes with you unless you are willing to pay. The crew for boarding the plane was rude and curt. This is the worst airline I have ever had experience with. I never plan on flying it again and I would advise others to do the same if they want a pleasant experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York City to Minneapolis
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Sun Country Airlines customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to San Francisco. I had used Sun Country once before last year, and quite enjoyed my flight but I was blindsided by the fact that I had experienced first class as a Christmas gift which included carry on and baggage, as well as food and movie entertainment. Fast forward to today. I had purchased a ticket to visit friends in Minneapolis. I found that within a short year, things had changed for the worst. I didn’t realize I had to pay extra for not only my carry on, but for my seat as well. Nothing is included for regular flyers which means no snacks or tv. My flight was cancelled and I was only given a $10 food voucher that didn’t work for most of the food places in the airport. It was utterly useless and an appalling form of apology/compensation for someone who has to wait 12 hours now just to get home.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to San Francisco
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not worth the cheaper flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Las Vegas. The absolute worst flight experience of my life. After being bussed from my gate to a remote area on the tarmac to load the plane on an obnoxious zig zag ramp just to sit on the un-air conditioned plane for 45 minutes sweating. I will never ever fly this airline again. Arrived an hour late to our destination because of the unorganized boarding process. To top it off we have to go thru the same exact process on the way home as the flight is 50 minutes behind because of leaving DFW late again. It looked to have mildew coming from around the vents or just really dirty at the top of the plane and the seats are worn out. I didn’t even risk using the restroom. Most definitely not worth the cheaper flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Las Vegas
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Finger prints and face prints"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cozumel to Dallas. Walking onto the plane I knew it was going to be a long flight as the airplane looked like it was from the 70s. All of the ash trays that are located in the armrest were full of trash and looked like they had never been cleaned. Finger prints and face prints covered over half of the windows. Once we were in the air I put my tray down to find out the left brace holding it up was broken and my brother, who was sitting beside me, also had a broken tray. The only reason I would give this flight a mediocre review is the staff was all extremely friendly during the flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCozumel to Dallas
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no