SriLankan Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 416 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"seat was spacious and comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow - Colombo - London Heathrow with SriLankan Airlines. Check in on each leg was quick and efficient. I wasn't offered fast track security departing Heathrow, but I was given an invitation for fast track immigration at Heathrow on my return. UL business class passengers get the use of the BA / OneWorld lounge at Heathrow T3. Not luxurious, but comfortable and well appointed, plenty of hot and cold snacks, and reassuringly plenty of seating. The Serendib Lounge in Colombo was small and felt a bit cramped but comfortable enough with a decent breakfast buffet (closed for 30 minutes or so to switch to a lunch buffet). Good, clean toilets and complimentary wi-fi in both lounges. The SriLankan equipment was an Airbus A330-300. Business Class in a 1-2-1 herringbone type configuration (note – the Sri Lankan A330-200's have a less generous C class layout). The seat was spacious and comfortable, and easily converted to a fully flat bed at the push of a button. A blanket and toiletries bag are provided, but no pyjamas. There is an enormous TV screen, but the selection of programming was somewhat disappointing, with very few recent film releases. Good selection of journey maps though, as well as downward and forward facing cameras. Food was of OK but not fantastic quality, with typically three options of starter and main course, but only one desert. Crew were efficient and courteous, if a bit unsmiling on the outward leg, much friendlier on the return leg. One of the Business Class cabin toilets was out of action for most of the return journey. Basically a decent enough Business Class product with good quality seating, so-so meals and entertainment and inconsistent (but never poor) cabin service. There are worse business class products out there, but there are certainly better as well.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Colombo
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Friendly and very courteous"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Colombo. Fantastic service by the cabin crew. Excellent food. Friendly and very courteous staff. I am very pleased that I flew with Sri Lankan. Recommend this air line to anyone who wish to have a relaxed stress free flying.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Colombo
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Not impressed with call centre"

(Australia)

Verified Review | London to Melbourne via Colombo, with a 12 hour layover in Colombo. SriLankan Airlines provided a transit hotel in Colombo, and complimentary lunch and dinner at the airport. The hotel room was basic but clean, and had a safe for valuables if you are leaving the airport. Plane and lavatory clean, Flight Attendants were polite and friendly. Food and drink options were good, plenty of choice for inflight entertainment. The airline let us change our booking with no change fee (only had to pay the difference between flights, which was 60 GBP per person). In the 12 hour layover, we were able to go into Negombo to look around the city and beach, and still have some chill out time and a shower in the transit hotel before the second flight. When we tried to do our online check-in the day of our flight, the booking had mysteriously disappeared. We then spent hours phoning the airline to try and find out what had happened. Apparently, they had not confirmed us on the new flight, as they "didn't realise" we'd paid the fee (which was done on the spot when we re-booked). They tried to put us on the next-day flight, which we refused. After many phone calls, they finally confirmed our booking and all was well from that point on. Not impressed with the call centre though. Would be rating higher if we hadn't had to deal with this inconvenience.
Aircraft A330-300 / A330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Melbourne via Colombo
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Overall excellent service"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to London Heathrow via Colombo. We have made this trip yearly using Emirates and decided to use SriLankan as they are cheaper, the disadvantage being the length of the journey is longer as we were routed through CMB. The flight BKK-CMB was on a A320, the reception onboard very friendly and they put our bags in the overhead lockers. The food was good, the plane clean, the FAs always to ensure the journey was comfortable. Very little to say negatively about the flight. The next leg was CMB to LHR on an A330-300 good seat configuration, again a high standard of customer care, good food and drinks of all tastes available. The toilets were clean, the FAs again there to make the flight comfortable. IFE not as good as Emirates but still a large choice of movies, TV to choose from. The one issue I have is having to pay for Wifi, not a problem for me but could for business travelers. Overall excellent service, the airline on time and friendly FAs, highly recommend this airline, will definitely be using them again, in my opinion a 4 star airline.
AircraftA333 / A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to London Heathrow via Colombo
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"got delayed more than five hours"

(Sri Lanka)

Verified Review | Colombo to Guangzhou. The flight schedule at 17:35 but it got delayed more than five hours, and still I’m waiting for the flight. But Didn’t provide any refreshment and they told they are arranging dinner. They staff at Palm Strip Lounge was very rude to me, but still I got the lounge access.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteColombo to Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"wonderful array of teas"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Colombo. Sri Lankan used to be my favourite airlines for traveling to Bangkok and Colombo, but they have stopped flying to Bangkok from Hong Kong, but opera 5 direct flights instead. Due to the low load factor, they now use a smaller A320 aircraft, but the newest one called NEO. The leg room in business class is quite good, good recliner seat with foot rest, suitable for a 5 hour flight. Their onboard service and catering have always been outstanding, such as the case in this trip. They have a good touch screen AVOD too, and a decent headphone. They also have a wonderful array of teas, which is what Sri Lanka is famous anyway. From Hong Kong direct to Colombo, SriLankan airlines is the only airlines that does that, and luckily, they are a very good choice. They are part of OneWorld, so you can earn mileage if you are members of any of the One World airlines.
AircraftA320 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Colombo
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service was impeccable"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Colombo to Bangkok on the A320 and successful with a very reasonable upgrade bid to business class. Used the dedicated silk route checkin facility at Bandaranaike Airport for personalised fast and efficient service. Only four in business class, and service was impeccable. Friendly smiling and obliging flight attendants. Food and entertainment adequate but nothing special. Good selection of drinks. Seat is ok for a three hour regional service, but dated and not that comfortable if you want to sleep. Announcements from the flight deck were crisp and clear, with a pre-take warning about expected enroute turbulence. Flight departed ten minutes ahead of schedule and arrived in Bangkok 15 minutes early. The standout was the excellent service by the Sri Lankan staff. Only my second time flying with SriLankan Airlines and first time in business class. Will definitely use again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteColombo to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the crew were fantastic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to London via Colombo. The 2nd time I've used Sri Lankan airlines during the previous two weeks, check in at KUL was very quick security & immigration pretty quick at KLIA, once airside I used the Malaysia Airlines Lounge for a quick coffee before making my way to the gate gate C14. A 2nd security check then boarding was quick by number or service, boarding a well kept A320 shown to my seat 2A offered a drink & hot towel. Airborne on time and offered a menu and pre meal drinks by a very nice crew who where proactive and friendly, the meal on this flight was y well presented and finished off with coffee. Flight arrived CMB on time to a remort stand where we where bussed to the terminal with business class passengers on a separate bus, visited the Serindib lounge while in transit nothing special but fairly. Quiet. Boarded the flight to London from gate 14A which was fairly organised on to a newish looking A330-300 with 1-2-1 seating set up, seat 2A offered privacy and comfort slippers blanket & amenity kit waiting on the seat drinks and hot towels offered. Departed on time again once airborne service started quickly with pre meal drinks offered and meal orders taken, once again the crew were fantastic, friendly but professional. The food offered on this flight was presented very well and tasted great the quality appeared very good, lunch a mid flight snack and ample drinks & dinner served on this 11 hour flight. TV was good enough for an 11 hour flight I really have no complaints Sri Lankan offer a great product, Colombo airport is not the best so if improved the whole product would benefit. Bags delayed at LHR otherwise nothing to complain about. Complimentary chauffeur offered on arrival worked well. Great service would use anytime.
AircraftA320 / A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to London via Colombo
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"requesting refund for past 50 days"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Chennai to Dammam via Colombo. I booked my ticket in Sri Lankan airways for my family members (3 passengers) and cancelled 48 hrs before travel. I have been requesting refund for the past 50 days but no response. Refund actions are very very poor. After 30 days we received a reply mail for one passenger that the payment will be sent to the account. But still even that amount is not yet received. Local agents are not supporting. Complaint given to Customer care had no response at all.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChennai to Dammam via Colombo
Date FlownAugust 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"economy class crew were rude"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Jeddah to Kuala Lumpur via Colombo. First time experience and shall be the last time flying with SriLankan Airlines, the passengers were treated like school kids. The economy class crew were rude, impolite and using harsh words. He told me off saying 'sit down' with harsh tone without knowing that I had to make way for the next passenger to go out. At this point of time, the seat belt light had been turned off. Second incidence happened when the flight had touched down and passengers were ready to take belongings from the compartment above the head. there was a guy sitting infront of my seat no 64D, couldnt bring down his bag from the top compartment. We noticed he is a bit short and not able to reach up. He asked politely if the same rude steward to give a hand. This steward replied "you can do it yourself".
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to Kuala Lumpur via Colombo
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no