SriLankan Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 453 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Great service onboard"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Colombo to Male. Short trip (65mins all up). Used Silk Route check in service which is great, within 3 mins of cab pulling up at Silk Route entrance we had been security screen and checked in, lounge was quiet as it was 5.30am but was full by he time we left at 7am. Good food options on offer for the earlier hour and flights called. Great service onboard, and breakfast served within 15mins of seat belt sign off. A330-300 has a great hard product and whole experience from Check in to Bags off belt was 10 out of 10, great start to a Maldives holiday.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteColombo to Male
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

SriLankan Airlines customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Colombo to Dubai just a day ago on an A321 (4RABR). Flight on time, cabin spacious and pleasant, seats not lie flat but comfortable enough for a 4.5 hour flight. In-flight personal entertainment for me was very satisfying. Food and beverages with a decent array tasted just OK. Service onboard was impeccable, crew were friendly, warm and professional. H
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteColombo to Dubai
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"needs to be consistent"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Overall I would say good but not excellent. The Aircraft registration showed the plane was manufactured in 1999, so getting close to 20 years old and it showed. It's a shame Sri Lankan doesn't use their newer A330-300's on this route, but I guess most of the traffic is holiday. The seating is fine and flat bed allows proper sleep. Crew were mixed, some great, others very surly, even up front. Food and beverages good, could improve on timing, 4pm take off and a full dinner is served with an hour and then another dinner 6 hours later, with 3 hours still to run. Movies good, headphones average. Sri Lankan has a great product overall but the difference in cabin lay out and amenities between the A330-300's and 200's is stark and needs to be consistent if you want to be airline of choice.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Colombo
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"did not find the seats particularly comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Colombo. This is the only airline that has a direct daily service between London Heathrow and Colombo. The aircraft used was the Airbus A330. I did not find the seats particularly comfortable for this 11hr flight. The in-flight entertainment content – movies, TV, tourism was adequate for my requirements. However, there was only one USB socket that worked in the 8 seats around me. The headphone socket was very loose and I had to be very careful in the insertion. The cabin crew showed big smiles when they started off and they tried their best to do their work. They were formal and attentive but not warm. The food was adequate and unremarkable. Later in the flight, the toilet floor was wet. On both legs, the flight was uneventful and arrived on time. I would rate this airline as full service but functional in standards. I would certainly fly this airline again more because it is a direct flight to Colombo from London than the quality of service and airplane.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Colombo
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were fantastic"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Flew into Colombo from Dubai on the 30th of June with SriLankan onboard their A333's business class. Service was spectacular from the beginning till the end. Cabin crew were fantastic. Food and beverages selection was decent enough and tasted just ok for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment offered. Highly recommended.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDubai to Colombo
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"a poor experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Male to Colombo. Had a poor experience with SriLankan Airlines recently. Flight got its aircraft changed about 2 days earlier and it was switched to the A321 from the A330 which caused a massive decline in service. To start, there is no lie flat seats like you will see on the A330. No IFE either (I believe this A321 must be the former Mihin Lanka airplane). The staff was ok and the food was fine. However, the lack of customers support with they did not tell that the aircraft was switched to the A321 is totally unacceptable. Would not recommend this airline to anyone. Had no such issues like this with other airline before - Emirates, Qatar, Singapore, Cathay, China Southern etc and they have a much professional customer support against this airline.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMale to Colombo
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Would not recommend to anyone"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | It started raining at the time of departure from Mumbai Airport and the flight got delayed because of that, which is understandable. But the thing that ticked us off was we were waiting for 12 hours at Mumbai Airport and authority from Srilankan Airlines didn't even provide us any accommodation. Airline was supposed to provide us with dinner, but they provided us with half a sandwich and told we can buy ourselves if we want more. We had a connecting flight via Colombo to Melbourne to Adelaide. We were rerouted through Singapore then Melbourne to Adelaide. There were flights directly going to Adelaide from Singapore of the same airlines from which we were going (Qantas) and there were seats available but the planning experts from Srilankan Airlines put us on Melbourne plane. And this is not all. From Melbourne, we were supposed to take a domestic flight to Adelaide, which was flying like every other hour. But our organisers, very conveniently, put us on the flight which was scheduled after 12 hours. We had to collect all our luggage to complete immigration process. We were roaming around the Melbourne Airport like idiots with 100 kgs of luggage, deprived of sleep and no service provided by Srilankan Airlines. We reached Adelaide 24 hours late, lost our bookings and whole day plan gone to drain. We understand that what happened was because of bad weather but what followed was just bad management. It was not only me, but all the passengers were harrassed. Why was accommodation not provided to us at Mumbai Airport or at Melbourne Airport? Why was there no facility for refreshment? Would not recommend Srilankan Airlines to anyone.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Adelaide via Colombo
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"good short haul flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Colombo to Male, the first time I’ve experience Business Class on SriLankan Airlines. Overall its a good short haul flight. I a delicious meal for just an hour flight - Butter Chicken with rice with good drinks served. The flight was late due to traffic issues. The seats is big as Cathay Pacific Business Class and comfortable being fully flat. The staff was friendly and caring for its passengers.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteColombo to Male
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"The seats were dirty"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne to Chennai via Colombo. Very competitive pricing and the layover in Colombo was short. Decent Choice of Food - had 3 choices and all of them were available for most of us. Usually, if you are seated away from where the service starts, you end up have lesser options. The A33o-200 used for the Melbourne Leg is very old. The seats were dirty, not reclining fully and the headrest was bulging forward making it almost impossible to sit back without reclining. The cabin crew were really unprofessional when it came to bumping aisle seated passengers. While I understand its difficult to manoeuvre in a fully packed flight, a quick sorry for bumping into a passenger would have gone a long way. Transit in Colombo airport was not very good. The airport itself is very basic and the amenities in the airport were not maintained well( Dirty washrooms). Overall for the price offered, the short transit time and the decent food, I would recommend.
AircraftA330-200/A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Chennai via Colombo
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Service was pathetic"

(India)

Trip Verified | Colombo to Bangalore. Service from ground staff and inflight staff was pathetic. While it was a full flight, ground staff behaved rudely asking us, a group of 4, to check in the only cabin baggage less than 55 cm. Spoke real harsh to us when we explained there was a laptop in the bag. Boarded flight disorderly, with two rows on boarding ladder. Preflight, there was no briefing to pax seated in emergency row, allowed elderly person to sit in emergency row, next to exit.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteColombo to Bangalore
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no