Spring Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 50 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Late on both trips"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to Hiroshima. Disappointing. Late on both trips without much information (or any in one case) information until many minutes after the delay. I was suckered into having an emergency seat as I was about to process my ticket on the automatic machine. That meant I had to go to the main check in area and check my small bag in as it was slightly overweight. I was told to wait until all others had boarded before boarding and then told oops we should have boarded you first. So yeah - not good. I’ll stick to Haneda with another airline or Shinkansen in future!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hiroshima
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"avoid Spring Airlines"

(India)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Bangkok. I would never see a worst flight staff like Spring Airlines. This airline make their own rule. Its better to avoid Spring Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"exceeded the limit by 2kg"

(Myanmar)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Bangkok. I've travelled with couple of budget airlines around the world but Spring is the Worst so far. Checking-in was terrible. Their weight limit policy said 10kg check-in luggage and 5kg carry-on. Because of the Laptop, chargers, and towel, it exceeded the limit by 2kg and they asked me 300RMB for that. The last disappointment was that I purchased a coke can. They literally just gave me a warm coke can. So I asked "Can I get a cold one or some ice?",and the attendant replied "This is they way we serve", she walked away.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"far better than expected"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Nagoya to Shanghai in premium economy. Spring is a low cost carrier but Spring Plus (their premium economy offering) was far better than expected for the price. Spring Plus was the first 2 rows of economy with some extra leg room, priority baggae, food, drinks (including alcohol), a pillow and few other basics. We had pre-purchased 90kg of luggage between the two of us and had no issues with checking in 4 large bags. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the experience of this flight. Crew were friendly and polite and the food was decent. Boarding was on-time and departure/arrival was also close to schedule. Arrival at PVG is at a remote stand with a bus to terminal but for the price, it's nothing to worry about. No complaints, and would happily fly Spring airlines in their Spring Plus cabin again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNagoya to Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airline ever"

(China)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Shanghai. Terrible experience. The cabin crew is unpolite. Also passengers do not follow rules for cell phones switch off or seatbelts turned on. Seats can not recline and there is almost no legspace. They are cramping as many sears in a small space as possible. Continuously prerecorded announcements about tax fee items, and many rules which are played very loud. Due to no meal service all people brought their burger king meals onboard making the whole plane smell like a fast food restaurant and huge garbage place as passengers just throw rubbish on the floor. Again because of zero service also no rubbish collection. In short, worst airline ever and not recommended. Better spend a couple of euro more and feel relaxed.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"You have no leg space"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Worst airline I have ever taken! When going to the gate entrance they told me that my luggage size was too large! I have a standard Samsonite hand carry luggage incl full loaded weight 6kg. Spring Airlines luggage can only be 30cm high and width. Had to pay to check in my hand carry luggage. The gates in Shanghai are separate from all other gates, no eateries or anything. You have no leg space. If you are on a low budget, have no luggage except a handbag and feel fine with low class service and are flexible enough to put your legs in your neck you can consider this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Shenzhen
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"want to save tons of money"

(China)

Verified Review | Shenzhen to Hangzhou. Best value for money. As the first low-cost airline company, Spring offers you the best prices (usually) for domestic flights. I booked this one-way flight in early February for 350RMB, cheaper than both trains and bullet trains for the same place of departure and destination (from Shenzhen to Hangzhou). Perhaps because it's an early flight taking off at 6:20 am, the cabin was really quiet the whole trip. And there wasn't any promotion of products by the cabin staff as many complained about, nor did the stewardess teach us to do some stretches. But the luggage limits are a little tight, only a bag of 7 kilograms on board and without any free check-in luggage. So you'd better book your check-in luggage online and pay for it, otherwise it will cost you more in the airport. You don't have much legroom since Spring aircrafts often have 180 seats (other airline companies always have 150 seats for the same type). And for the economy class, there weren't any free meals or drinks which you have to buy on board. All in all, you shouldn't miss Spring Airlines if you do not have lots of baggage and want to save tons of money.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Hangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"truly awful experience"

(China)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Bangkok. This was a truly awful experience. The behaviour of the other passengers and lack of authority/support from the flight crew was astonishing. The family in the seat behind me had two children who kicked the back of my seat the entire flight, the duty free sales pitch over the tannoy went on for over twenty minutes, three hours into the flight someone smoked a cigarette in the toilet, the fasten seat belt signs were totally ignored and during the descent (literally 200m above the runway) passengers got up to retrieve their bags leaving the overhead locker doors open during landing. The antisocial behaviour was truly unbelievable and the cabin crews letting any of it happen was equally unbelievable. I will not use an airline that takes rules and safety so lightly again. It was like an exercise in how not to conduct an international flight. Not to mention the hour long queue and ensuing rugby scrum to check in. Utter chaos.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"about as good as it gets"

(United States)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Hong Kong. Spring Airlines is a budget LCC and there is no question about that. But I think for an LCC, it is about as good as it gets. There was little to no line at the check in counters, and boarding was quick and efficient. I did not find the staff to be rude. Yes they are strict with the baggage but even regular airlines can be like that these days. The seats are definitely cramped, even if you have a spring plus, but you are saving a ton of money by flying this airline. A few points I'd make: -If possible definitely buy a spring plus ticket. It is not that much more, but you get extra legroom, a special check in line (at Shanghai), a full meal, drinks, priority boarding etc. -They don't allow use of mobile phones in flight. Even in airplane mode. Bring your ipad or computer because they will allow these. Very strange policy. -At some point in the flight one of the CAs will give a 20 minute speech to everyone about all the in flight shopping products they have. You really need some earplugs for this part. Because this is an LCC, the main drawback is that there is no guarantee you will get to your destination. If something goes wrong with the plane, weather, or airport, you could be delayed 12 hours or just have your flight cancelled with no extra help. That's the risk you take with this type of airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePVG to HKG
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"it's not that cheap"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Shanghai. The worst airline ever. Yes it is a budget airline but for an international flight you can only get 15kg, that is including the 5kg Hand luggage. So in other words your allowance is 5kg handluggage and 10 kg checked in luggage. The staff are most unfriendly. You don't even get water for the 4,5 hour flight but paid almost 200 Euros for one way, so it's not that cheap. If you want to book an international flight try AirAsia, Thai Smile, Nok Airways or other alternatives. I will never book with Spring Airlines again for an international flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to PVG
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 50 Reviews