Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2441 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"charged me 65$ to bring it back"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Detroit. Let me bring a bag down for free as it fit under my seat and charged me 65$ to bring it back. Would have been 55$ but they let me bring it in beyond security telling me it was okay and stopped me at the gate. The attendant was very rude as I kept a calm and polite manner. They had me put my bag in. There was actually less stuff in it going home then to Dallas. The seats are also very small, uncomfortable, and dirty.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Detroit
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"definitely fly Spirit again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My son and I flew direct, round trip from Seattle to Houston for a grand total of $400, including one checked bag and drinks. That is at least a couple hundred dollars less than any other airline. Here's what we paid for: Round trip tickets Seattle-Houston $153 each x 2 = $306. (That's extremely cheap) One checked bag ($35 each way) = $70 Two waters, one Coke, one beer (a nice IPA) = $16 Two Cokes, one tea (On the way back we brought food and snacks with us, plus I took two empty disposable plastic water bottles, and filled them up after security, which saved me $6) = $8. They have larger seats, which appear to be the same in the 1st class sections of the domestic carriers that you can reserve for $50 more, but you need to reserve them as soon as the seat reservations open because I assume they go fact. Both the check in crew and cabin crew were great. Personable, friendly, positive, and helpful. I recommend this airline to others, unless you have children, in which case probably no because: If you're traveling with children and you want to guarantee a seats next to each other, you have to pay extra for that. You have to pay for carry on bags. All those drinks add up. With kids, of course you have checked bags, which also cost. I decided not to pay for the additional (which was maybe $20) to guarantee that my son and I sat together. He's 13, and would have been fine with not sitting with me, but in fact we still had seats together both ways. All the costs are on their website, so run the numbers and compare it with the other airlines to see which makes more sense. I would definitely fly Spirit again, and in fact plan to use them when I spend a weekend visiting a friend in Las Vegas later in the year. On that trip I'll get by with bringing just what fits in a shoulder pack (which is free).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Houston
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"highly recommend Spirit"

(United States)

Not Verified | Detroit to New Orleans. My experience was awesome, boarding was fast, on the runway on time, smooth flight, and landed early. Yes, you will have to pay for your luggage, (but don't most airlines) and you pay for your seat, which is still a great deal. I am 6' tall I bought the cheapest seat, a little tight but my fault I should have spent 10$ more and got large with leg room seat I highly recommend Spirit
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to New Orleans
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"horrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolute worst customer service I have ever experienced. My flight out of Chicago left a few minutes early which I thought was great as it would leave me more time with my layover. Somehow we landed over 30 minutes late which left me rushing to my terminal. By the time I got there they had already finished boarding. I immediately rushed over to the customer service stand and explained my situation. As I'm trying to get something worked out I can see my plane for the next 15 minutes still sit at the terminal. I was told there was nothing they could do as it was out of there control with the plan being late. That they could offer suggestions on where I can get a hotel for the night which I would be paying for out of pocket until the next flight over 12 hours later. They couldn't offer any food or hotel vouchers. Whole time this conversation is happening the lady helping me was talking to her co-worker also laughing in my face. When I asked to speak to the manager because at this point it was beyond acceptable the lady she was laughing with and talking to instead of helping me chimed In she was in fact the manager and there is nothing they could do for me. All of this adds into the horrible customer service which led me to having to cancel two round trip tickets previously for my daughter and myself due to the hurrican hitting south Carolina and me having to change my plans. On those I didnt get reimbursed I only got a partial credit. I will never fly spirit again. This is unacceptable treatment of their customers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteChicago to Atlantic City via Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"quick and cheap for the weekend"

(United States)

Not Verified | Houston to Tampa. Spirit is a great airline with no hassles, it's quick and cheap for the weekend or 2-day-rounds out of town! However, expect to fly like with just what you've got on or you'll rack up the cost with every key stroke. Don't fall for the $9 fare club - its nothing more than nonsense! Take it from a frequent flyer. Don't get too excited if you're ever the lucky seat winner of 5000 spirit miles - I was one of them. Once you try to book a flight with the "gifted miles" you'll quickly learn that its a scam to get you to apply for their MasterCard. Spirit don't deceive people with cheap tricks - you're already cheap down to no water on the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Tampa
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I was very pleased once again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my second trip with Spirit Airlines and I was very pleased once again. Boarding was a bit chaotic, but once on the plane everything went smooth and efficiently. Food and beverage service started almost immediately once we were in the air, the crew were very friendly and looked happy to be there. They made an effort to interact with the passengers and help us as needed. Towards the end during the credit card sales pitch, the couple next to me had a few questions about it and the flight attendant was willing to help them out and was very friendly. The pilots were also interactive with us and were always keeping us updated. The seats were very comfortable, legroom was pretty good, and the aircraft was very clean. Overall an excellent experience with Spirit!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Baltimore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"sell the seat to somebody else"

(United States)

Not Verified | I made a reservation to fly from Houston to Baltimore September 17th through the 20th then hurricane Florence produced and landfall was in North Carolina predicted to drop 20 to 30 inch of water in and around Washington DC Baltimore Maryland Virginia South Carolina North Carolina so I cancelled my flight on the 9th of September so I wouldn't have to face fighting the water where the hurricane and come to find out they're going to charge 100 dollars to cancel the flight out of $186 so they can keep the price low I attach their email what they tell me so you know I'm not telling a lie - sorry excuse then they'll sell the seat to somebody else for the $186 and make a profit. Be the last time I make a reservation with Spirit Airlines. Don, I understand that you are worried because of the Hurricane Florence. Currently, we have an active travel advisory for Hurricane Florence. However, Baltimore is not yet listed on the affected cities. The listed cities on the travel advisory for Hurricane Florence are: - Asheville, NC (AVL) - Greensboro, NC (GSO) - Myrtle Beach, SC (MYR) - Richmond, VA (RIC) You can cancel your reservation at any time by going to www.spirit.com. Click the "My Trips"and then, enter your last name and confirmation code *******. If you do choose to cancel your reservation online, a charge of $90.00 will be applied to the reservation or 100.00 if done with a Reservation Agent, along with the $19.99 passenger usage fee if the booking was made online. Please note that refunds will only be provided if a guest cancelled a booking within 24 hours and the travel date reserved is more than 7 days from the time of reservation. I'm so sorry, however, waiving the charge to change or cancel a ticket isn’t an option we offer. Our decisions are based on a desire to provide the lowest possible fares to all of our Guests. By waiving charges we’re spreading the operating cost over fewer guest, and in turn, increasing fares. We make all our guidelines available on our website through the help section and terms and conditions to ensure they are fully aware prior to securing their booking. It's a shame you cannot score this below zero for everything you have to score one for a review or I would do zero all the way down.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Baltimore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"plane left 10 minutes ago"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I heard about all the bad reviews, now I know why. After a wonderful Labor Day weekend wedding, we were delayed in Boston by 30 minutes to catch a Spirit connecting flight in Fort Lauderdale. Arrived at Ft. Lauderdale, ran to the gate to catch the flight to Atlanta, and was told the plane left 10 minutes ago. Spirit left us there. I mean dropped us off in Florida, and left us to fend for ourselves. I asked why the plane wouldn't wait. The agent said, “we have to leave on time”. There were plenty of flights that I was on that the pilot informed us that he was going to wait for some passengers that were delayed on another flight. Spirit delayed our flight in Boston and left us knowing we were on that flight. Told us the next flight out was in 2 days and we would have to wait. Eventually, after calling security on us, needless to say I was just a little upset, they gave us a 40% discount for some hotel. A hotel in Ft. Lauderdale for $90.00 before the discount? I will say this tho, they left our baggage. They took our bags off the plane because they knew we were coming in on a delayed Spirit flight, to catch a Spirit connecting flight, and that we wouldn't be landing on time. Their demeanor was cold and uncaring. That blew me away too! Our flight landed at 10:30 PM or so and by 12:40 I decided to bite the bullet and rent a car. I called Enterprise, told him of our dilemma, and he said they close at 1:00 but will wait. Those people were wonderful! They got us car in no time flat and we were on our way. Drove thru the night and got to the Atlanta Airport to get my car at 11 in the morning. So if you decide to chance it, Have a Ball! BTW, baggage fees were $45.00 each way for each bag online. To pay at check-in, it would have been $100.00 each way for each bag.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Boston
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Nickle and dime you for everything"

(United States)

Not Verified | Awful airline. No bargain. Nickle and dime you for everything. Cabin is a cattle car. Unprofessional ground gate crews. You don't save any money and sacrifice all comfort. The staff member at the gate told me it was a full flight (half empty) and seated me all the way back next to a person with an infant. Seems like they go out of their way to aggravate you.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Orlando
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"our first and last time using Spirit Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my first time flying with Spirit Airlines. The overall flight wasn't really the issue. We didn't experience any major issues on board. However, Spirit Airlines has too many fees to keep track of. I booked a flight and modified it within the very same day (not even 10 minutes later) and was charged for a 'modification fee' on top of everything else. Wasn't all too impressed with the overall experience to be a returning customer. With all of the fees that you'd end up paying with them, you'd be better off taking a different airline company. Needless to say, this is our first and last time using Spirit Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Atlanta
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]