Airline of the Year  

Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1836 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"we're done with Spirit"

(United States)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Chicago O'Hare. They will probably be the cheapest for a bare bones ticket. Just don't add things like a carry on, choosing your seat, or possibly oxygen to breathe (ok, a little facetious on that last one). Our problem was in chicago, wanting to come back to Vegas. No issues until a couple of hours before we are scheduled to fly, and then the email the flight is cancelled. So the entire group of customers walks back to the service desks to see what can be done. My wife calls the service number where a barely English speaking rep tells her the flight was cancelled due to weather. You know, since every other plane is both leaving chicago and vegas. She wouldn't accept any other information, even when the staff at the desk tells us the Captain just didn't show up to work. And apparently they've had this problem several times recently. So what was their customer service, or lack of in this case, trying to pass off. Thankfully, the desk staff were very helpful, got us scheduled on an United flight the next afternoon, set us up on a local hotel, and gave us several food vouchers. That was the good out of all of this. The desk staff were awesome! Everything else was horrible. If this was just an isolated incident, so be it, things happen. But when we were told multiple stories of this happening from first person points of view, well, we're done with Spirit.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Chicago
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ever fly on Spirit Airline again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kansas city to Ft Lauderdale. This airline does not even deserve 1 star, unfortunately that is the lowest rating available. I will never fly on Spirit Airline again! When we first booked the tickets we thought we were getting a good deal on the price. Spirit Airlines nickel and dimed us for everything from the seats to the luggage. We had 2 of the smallest checked bags (which were the same price as the carry on) and the cheapest seats. We had one lay over there, and one on the way back. We had to pay for seats each time. By the time we paid for the bare minimums the trip cost us as much as it would if we had gone through a good airline such as American or Southwest. We needed to change flights more than 4 days in advance. Spirit tried to charge us almost $600 more! Yet the flight time, duration, and miles are the exact same for the day before and the scheduled day! The airplanes were dirty, outdated and uncomfortable. Customer service is rude. They would not stop interrupting me and made it very clear they did not care.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKansas city to Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"be very careful if you take Spirit"

(United States)

Verified Review | My daughter qualified to compete in the 2017 NCAA track & field championship in Eugene, Oregon. As such, I purchased 8 round-trip tickets for family and friends on Spirit Airlines from Minneapolis to Portland. The outbound flight, with connection in Chicago, was fine. The return flight from Portland to Minneapolis (through LAX) on June 11 was a disaster for the 15 Minneapolis-bound passengers. The flight from Portland to LA was scheduled to leave at 3:15 p.m. but was finally pushed back to 4:08 p.m., scheduled to arrive in LAX at 6:27 p.m. The avowed reason for the plane’s delay arriving in Portland was “air traffic control” reasons. Our connection to Minneapolis was scheduled to depart from LAX at 6:29 p.m. so, not surprisingly, the 15 Twin Cities’ bound passengers were a bit nervous about meeting their connection in LA, and actively seeking alternative flights from Portland to Minneapolis. Prior to getting on the plane, the lead Spirit agent on the desk in Portland guaranteed the Twin Cities’ passengers that they would be able to meet their connection in LA to travel to the Twin Cities. Moreover, he assured the Twin Cities’ passengers that even if we did not make our connection in LA, that Spirit would get us back to the Twin Cities that night on another airline. He also said (correctly) that the connection in LA would be easy because the arrival gate was literally right next to the departure gate for the Twin Cities. With those assurances, all 15 Twin passengers boarded the Spirit Airlines flight from Portland to LA confident they would get back to the Twin Cities that night. We touched down at LAX around 6:15-6:20 p.m. and the plane scurried to the gate. When we exited the plane and took the 15-20 steps to the adjacent departure gate for the Twin Cities’ bound flight, we were shocked to see that the plane had just left the gate. We could literally see the plane 100 feet from the window. The Spirit supervisor in LA said that Spirit would not authorize putting us on a flight on another airline to the Twin Cities. The remedies suggested by the Spirit staff to remedy were laughable, for example, they could put us on a red-eye to Baltimore or Philadelphia, and then fly to the Twin Cities, getting us back the next afternoon at 2:00 p.m. The default seemed to be that everybody would simply remain in LA until the next day and board Monday’s 6:29 p.m. non-stop flight from LA to Twin Cities. The LA supervisor further said that the airline would not be responsible for hotels and other costs, as the flight delay was not due to a mechanical failure, but rather to air traffic control issues. As to the reason for the Spirit plane leaving us behind, the answers provided by the Spirit staff on-duty were pretty vague, but finally one of the staff said that one of the most important reasons was to allow Spirit customers on the flight to the Twin Cities the opportunity to meet their connections in the Twin Cities. The plane arrived in the Twin Cities at around 11:30 p.m. – connections at that time of night, really? Frankly, I doubt that any passenger on that plane had a close connection in the Twin Cities at that time of night, and for sure not on a Spirit plane. Spirit planes, flight crew, and cabin crew seem okay for a budget airline. However, I would say that the Spirit operations folks and gate supervisors are really at the bottom of the barrel. Be very careful if you take Spirit Airlines, and particularly if you have a connection.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Minneapolis via Los Angeles
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hope you guys go out of business."

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Dallas. We are the grandparents of a 15 yr old who was going to a wedding in New Hampshire, and this was his first time flying. Flying to Boston was fine, but then coming back was horrible for him because his flight was canceled - this is a 15 yr old flying by himself than having to stay by himself at a hotel. Spirit Airlines, I really don't know how you stay in business doing this. I really hope that you guys go out of business. We will not fly with you.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Dallas
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't go to any effort to get me home"

(United States)

Verified Review | I made reservations a month in advance on this "cheap" airline. The reservation booked was from Philadelphia to Phoenix, with 1 layover in Ft. Lauderdale. Couldn't check in online without paying for a premium seat for each flight. Went to the Spirit counter and was handed 3 tickets, and told I was actually going Philadelphia to Ft. Lauderdale to Dallas/Ft. Worth and then to Phoenix. When I argued that's not what I booked, I was told "well, all the flights don't always show." I was also shocked to be told I had to pay $59 for a carry-on. Where was that fine print? So I proceed to wait at gate A14, when suddenly people start to leave that gate. I asked a departing gentleman why, and he said an employee had just quietly told him and his friends that the flight was changed to gate A4. No announcement, nothing on the departures monitors indicated a change, but I went to A4 to ask if this was the flight. It was. We then proceeded to stand in line for an hour waiting to board. We boarded, taxied a minute, but the captain said we had to return for a mechanical issue. Next announcement was that the gate we left from was occupied and we had to wait for another gate. Got to another gate and were told 20 minutes, which was actually more than an hour. Not allowed to get off plane, no drinks served, etc. Flight to Lauderdale ultimately 3 hours late, and I missed my connecting flight. This was on a Thursday evening. Spirit told me they couldn't get me out until Saturday afternoon. No, they won't put me up for 2 nights; no they won't get me on another airline; no they won't go to any effort to get me home (they already had my money). I'm a lawyer and had to be back for court on Friday, so waiting until Saturday not an option. I had to pay $670 to another airline to get home. Cheap flight? I think not. I could've flown 1st class for what I ended up spending. Now I'm still arguing with them about a refund. I was told I'd get a call within 48 hours. After 7 days I called them, and was put on hold repeatedly. I will never ever fly Spirit again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Phoenix
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Not once did we receive any information"

(United States)

Verified Review | We booked tickets months in advance for a large international conference that our business was exhibiting at. The flight from Baltimore to New Orleans was initially delayed 4 hours, then was back on schedule, was delayed, delayed even more, and delayed again. Not once did we receive any information and Spirit staff never announced anything at the airport. Spirit staff gave us multiple reasons why the flight was delayed and said that a plane was on the way for us. They said weather, then air traffic control, then weather again, and then no reason for the cancellation. There were no supervisors present for anyone to talk with, even after asking for a supervisor multiple times. No options to fly out the next day, no options to fly with another airline, and no reimbursement for the hotel. They offered a $50 future flight voucher. We were told that we weren't able to get a refund until the flight was cancelled. What a collassal waste of time. Would never recommend this airline to anyone.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to New Orleans
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"first and last time flying with Spirit"

(United States)

Verified Review | Don't fly Spirit Airlines. This will be my first and last time flying with Spirit. They canceled our flight from Jamaica to Ft Lauderdale and left everyone on that flight from Jamaica without any early notice or options on getting another flight back into the US. People was left scattering with no hotel nor other flights remaining. Spirit told us that last flight (which was canceled) was the only one until possibly two days later.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontego Bay to Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Do not fall victim to Spirit"

(United States)

Verified Review | I just recently flew on Spirit for the first time from FLL to LGA for a weekend trip to New York City. Prior to my flight, I had read some pretty nightmare-ish reviews on this airline and was not going in with any expectations whatsoever. Unsurprisingly, my entire experience with Spirit was not a very pleasant one and was in line with other people's negative reviews of their Spirit trips. Firstly, the low ticket prices, while alluring on the surface, are a complete hoax as Spirit nickels and dimes you for every little part of your trip beyond the cheap ticket price. To start, in the year 2017 there is no option for a mobile ticket. You either have to print the ticket at home or once you get to the airport at check in for an extra $10 or so. Believe me, you will want to choose your seat previous to arriving at the airport or else you have to stand by the check in desk at the gate and wait for a miserable/unhelpful attendant to shout out your name for your seating assignment, basically an almost inevitable middle seat towards the back of the plane. So with that factoring in, you are already adding another $30 or so to your ticket price. You get charged ridiculous fees for checked or carry on bags at the airport so make sure to pay for those in advance through the website (try at all costs to avoid having to call the customer service line unless you want to wait a minimum of 45 minutes to speak to yet another miserable Spirit employee whose anything but eager to help you solve your issue). Yes, you have to pay for any carry on greater than the size of a small backpack. Also keep in mind the maximum weight for checked bags is a mere 40 pounds, compared to the industry standard 50 with every other airline, ridiculous I know. The flight, after being delayed 3 hours for "weather" despite the forecasts for both Florida and New York being beautiful and clear, was not terrible. The seat was not the most comfortable but it was not the most uncomfortable either. There were no outlets or entertainment screens, again expecting the worse I was not surprised with this. The flight attendant crew was friendly and accommodating but again you have to pay for everything on board, including $3 for a glass of water. Much better off bringing your own snacks on board. Needless to say, I booked my return flight home with another airline for the same price as it ended up costing me for my flight with Spirit but with outlets, entertainment screens, on board snacks included and no ridiculous seat, bag, or ticket fees. Do not fall victim to Spirit's falsely "bargain" flights unless you want to arrive late with a mountain of frustration and a dead phone.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to New York City
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly Spirit again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Will never fly Spirit again. My returning flight from Minneapolis to Tampa via Atlanta was cancelled and rescheduled twice resulting in two days of lost wages at work. There was no reason given for the first cancellation. The second cancellation happened due to weather. We were all boarded on the plane and then returned to the gate. Minutes after we returned to the gate, the flight was cancelled and rescheduled for the next day. Other flights around us from other airlines waited until the storm passed and got their customers out that same night. Spirit offered a "discount rate" to stay in a hotel and made it clear that the cost was our responsibility. Most of us slept at the airport as the discount was not really a discount especially considering the extra cost of a taxi or uber. Spirit has so many hidden fees that they don't disclose upfront until you buy the ticket. Then you find out that a carry-on plus a small personal item will cost $45 each way if you pay prior to arriving at the airport. If you wait until you get to the airport, the price increases to $65 each way. I witnessed so many angry customers. Thankfully I paid my fee online but the customers who didn't complained and I heard the agent tell them that they should have read the fine print and that was their responsibility. One man asked to speak to a supervisor and was told "the supervisor is busy". The staff were rude and appeared to be uncaring about their frustrated customers. In addition, there were several delays. I lost count of how many emails I received saying that our flight was delayed another hour. This is not truly a discounted airline in my opinion. What they discount in ticket sales, they gain by charging customers ridiculously high fees for everything. I believe I would have been better off flying with any other airline. I will be sure to tell my story to everyone I know and every chance I get when someone is thinking of booking a flight. I wouldn't want anyone to go through what I went through with Spirit Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Tampa via Atlanta
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nickle and dime you to death"

(United States)

Verified Review | Boston to Minneapolis. Spirit Airlines nickle and dime you to death. Their baggage size limits for personal items have changed, forcing you to pay for a bag. Nothing is easy on their website. I spent 2 hours trying to check in and pay for bags only to have the boarding passes print saying 0 bags. Now I have to call their customer service. This is not worth it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Minneapolis
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]