Top 100 Airlines  

Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1364 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly Spirit again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Scheduled to fly Spirit Airlines from Baltimore to New Orleans, with a layover in Houston, on JazzFest weekend. Spirit landed in TX, and the next flight was delayed 1.5 hours. Finally boarded the plane, only to be told the flight was being cancelled due to weather. All the New Orleans' passengers had to get off, leaving 4 passengers bound to Ft. Lauderdale. Wouldn't the plane fly over the same/similar air space to go to Florida as it would to go to Nola? So all the Nola passengers deplane and are told there is nothing they can do for us at that time. We can either get only that leg of the trip refunded, or come back in two days and they would try to get us on a plane. I've never heard of an airline abandoning their passengers and not have any options for them. I ended up renting a car and driving the rest of the way, into the wee hours of the morning -- oh, and encountered zero weather. I will never fly Spirit again, and I'm taking the time to write this review to save you the headache that I just went through.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBWI to MSY via IAH
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"get what you pay for"

(United States)

Verified Review | Detroit to Los Angeles, and Spirit Airlines should teach employees how to speak to people. I had a terrible time at the ticket counter trying to purchase the tickets. The man wouldn't even look in my direction when speaking to me. Who stares at the wall while answering your questions? The gate agents do not say a word to you other than to ridicule you for showing you your ID and anything else they do not like about you. I was shoved over as I entered the plane by a female flight attendant. She looked straight at me and never said a word, just shoved past me as she closed the overhead baggage compartments. The only time I received decent service was when I bought product during the flight. You get what you pay for ladies and gentlemen.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDTW to LAX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"staff was very nice"

(United States)

Baltimore to Ft Lauderdale with Spirit Airlines. Staff was very nice, seats were very tight but it was not bad for the price or for a short 2 hour flight - wifi would have been terrific but I slept most of the way. I like the fact that you only pay for what is needed. I was taking a 2 day trip and did not need an expensive airfare.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBWI to FLL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never been so uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | First and last time flying Spirit Airlines. The flight to Los Angeles was awful. They have no affiliation with TSA precheck, so we waited in a huge, slow line for security. The plane was late arriving, and departed close to an hour late. The seats were so cramped - I am only 5'4" and my knees were only a couple of inches from the seat in front of me. I've never been so uncomfortable on a plane in my life. The return trip departure was also delayed. This was different model of plane, and it did provide a bit more leg room - by stripping the seats down to metal and a thin layer of padding. The tray table was about the size of a business-sized envelope. Wouldn't fit a food container, a laptop, or even a tall water bottle. It was completely useless. The discomfort is not worth the cost savings. And then Spirit sent me a "customer satisfaction survey" after each leg of the flight. I tried to open it both times, on an iPad and a laptop, and there was nothing there - no file to be found. So clearly they don't really want any feedback. I will never fly Spirit again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to LAX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Spirit again"

(United States)

Verified Review | I received an email at 12pm today (Sunday, April 24th) saying that my 4:55pm flight from New York to Detroit was cancelled - not delayed or postponed to another time just flat out cancelled. I was on the phone with their customer service for almost 2 hours and talked to 4 different people, I explained that I had a funeral tomorrow morning and needed to get back. They told me they could get me home Tuesday (the 26th) morning or they could refund me the portion that was cancelled but they couldn't give me a full refund to put towards another ticket. I had to pay out of my pocket to get another ticket through a different airline and I still won't make it home to go to the funeral. I will never fly Spirit again. They did nothing to help me, and I still have no idea why the flight was cancelled.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGA to DTW
Date FlownApril 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service is not really professional"

(United States)

Verified Review | Atlanta to Dallas Ft Worth. Spirit Airlines are not really cheap also they have a lot of tricks to purchase for the baggage, seats, insurance. Check-in is $10 if you ask to the passenger assistant at the airport. My flight schedule was 6.25pm from Atlanta airport to Dallas. They had an issue with the maintenance for 4 hours. Departure time was changed 6.25pm to 10.15pm. They do not let the passengers know what the reason was. No apologies of course. They do not really update promptly. They don't even give you the water when you are on the plane. Everything is purchase necessary. Their service is not really professional.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATL to DFW
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth trying to save a few pennies"

(United States)

It's not worth trying to save a few pennies with Spirit Airlines because you don't. Flew Atlanta to Chicago. They charge for a carry-on, as well as checked-in luggage. They are more unreliable than any other airline around. Today my flight was delayed for more than 3 hours and so was the flight at the very next gate. Both delays were said to be aircraft problems. They are terrible updating you of the status of your flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATL to ORD
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"customer service is very unpleasant"

(United States)

Flew Oakland, CA to Dallas, TX. I have two complaints about Spirit Airlines. Customer service is very unpleasant. I was asked to pay $100.00 for carrying a small purse at the gate or stuff it inside my briefcase, I replied, "There is no room to stuff my purse". I dumped all of my personals inside my briefcase and threw my inexpensive purse in the garbage. I refused to pay a $100.00 fee. I only wished to be advised at the ticket counter where I checked in my bag? I complied with the request. However, there were other female passengers that arrived with a couple of bags and was not asked to pay the extra fee for carrying a purse. I asked a couple of women who confirmed that they did not have to pay extra. I cancelled a flight due to personal reasons 10 days in advance. I requested a credit for future travel. Per the agent, the cancellation fee was my fare and as a courtesy, I will be emailed a voucher of $6.00 or $10.00 if I go on line and make the changes myself. I will never fly Spirit Airlines in the future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteOAK to DFW
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will not save money"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Phoenix, AZ to Los Angeles, CA. Arrived at the airport 3 hours early just for that to be pointless due to the fact that no representative even showed up to start checking people in and getting boarding passes to people until 1.5 hrs prior to takeoff, mind you at this point they have to check in pretty much the whole flight at this point. The plane was at the terminal ready for boarding yet no boarding even began until 5 min prior to scheduled takeoff. The plane finally actually started its taxi 45 mins past original takeoff time and the excuse was that they had messed up the paperwork in the terminal. Also, bags do not fly free, they don't even fly at a reasonable price, thankfully I brought a small personal bag and that's it, otherwise you would pay more for the bag to fly than what I paid for my original ticket. You will not save money with Spirit Airlines and you will be lucky to get wherever you are trying to go on time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHX to LAX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"forced us to pay $100"

(United States)

Verified Review | On our way from Houston to Las Vegas we took a carry on bag on board with no problems. On the way back from Vegas we needed a boarding pass print out so we went to the counter before security check to get the boarding passes, and since the same carry on bag was a little heavy we decided to check it in, the lady at the counter said if we want to check it in it will cost us $50 so we decided to carry it on. At the gate however they said we cannot take it on board it's got to be checked in and that it will cost $200, we made an objection that the lady at the check in counter asked for $50 only why do we have to pay that much now. They refused and forced us to pay $100. When we were already at the gate boarding, and there was nothing else we could do, but to pay the $100.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAS to HOU
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2 star Skytrax Rating

Spirit Airlines

https://www.spirit.com/

Guide Icon

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]