Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2241 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I would rather pay extra"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Oakland. I purchased my son an unaccompanied minor ticket and picked seat 1F and paid extra for the seat back in March and then I had to reschedule his flight to 3 days later than I expected and they said he will get his seat that I had purchased on the next flight because it was available and they lied and still took my money and on top of that, they charged me 90 bucks to cancel the first flight when both flights cost the same price. Now I'm waiting for a refund on the seat and I had to call to make sure of it and they can't send me no receipt for that or give me a confirmation number or email and if they knew they sold my seat then they should of automatically reimbursed me my money. When I arrived two hours early to get my sons boarding pass and I waited so long and the representative just let some lady cut me without checking to see if she was next. We both had kids there and let's see if they'll give me my money for my seat in 7 days and they will never get my money again. I would rather pay extra to be treated like a valued customer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Oakland
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hit with a bunch of other fees"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew Las Vegas to Newark. Not satisfied, will not be booking Spirit Airlines unless its the last resort. No inflight entertainment for a five hour flight. I could go on and on but not worth the time. They act like the flights are cheap and then get you on everything else. Consumer would rather be charged a fare rate up front then get hit with a bunch of other fees. $42 to check a bag, all other $25. 49lbs max, everyone else 50. It’s obvious that you are making up for the sometimes cheaper flights. Guess I should be grateful the flight was not delayed like I have heard from multiple people.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Newark
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"useless customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Oakland via Las Vegas. Our flight departed late due to "computer issues" in the cockpit. When we landed in Las Vegas, our connecting flight to Boston had just left 5 minutes earlier. The very rude Spirit employees told us that the next earliest flight would be in 24 hours. They told us that they couldn't compensate us on a hotel because it was "air traffic controls fault", which was a flat out lie, seeing as our pilot had already told us it was due to computer issues on board. They gave us a "coupon" for "discounted" local hotels, and when we called the number, the hotels that were offered were double the price of what we easily found on Google. We ended up taking a $20 Uber ride to a $40 hotel, and missing the first day of a $140 music festival. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with the completely useless "customer service" which refused to compensate me for a single cent, even after talking to a supervisor. I will never fly this poor excuse for an airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Oakland via Las Vegas
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I didn't get what I paid for"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Let me start off by saying the fact that I'm even writing this review shows how done I am with Spirit Airlines. I've never felt the need to write a negative review of anything. I've flown with Spirit many times, their flights aren't as good as most of the other airlines, but you know, you get what you pay for. Only problem is I didn't get what I paid for, I had to pay twice and a higher price the second time to get what I had paid for. Then the only response I could get from their customer service was just sucks for you. Here's the whole story. I had booked a round flight but missed my outgoing flight, so I booked a second one to make my trip. 9 hours before my returning flight I go to check in and find out they cancelled it. I go through my email; nothing from Spirit to tell me they are going to bump me from this flight that is not even half full (so it's not even like they gave my seat to someone else). I had to book a last minute ticket on the same flight. I've talked to the customer service multiple times both before and after that flight and the only response I get from them is pretty much not my problem. They cancel my flight with no refund or notice of any type and the only thing they have to say is sucks to suck (I might be paraphrasing but that how it came through) I wasn't even asking for a refund I just wanted something in lieu of my bad experience, other-than oh well.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Cleveland
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight had been cancelled"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dallas to Detroit. I showed up at the airport and found out my flight had been cancelled even though I kept receiving emails saying I was good to go. Then in order to reschedule my flight I would be charged $100 because it was an airport modification or cancellation. I purchased the protection plan on the original flight and they would not accept it because it was not cancelled do to a medical emergency. I am military and they also were trying to charge me for my carry on bag. All I was trying to do was fly home to see my family for the weekend. I hardly ever get a chance to see them do to my job. I figured being Memorial Day weekend and me being military they would care at least a little but nope they did not. This is unacceptable to treat people like this especially when the airline is the one who cancelled the flight. Without any notice at that. I had to travel 2 and a half hours one way to even get to the airport. So I woke up at 2:30 in the morning to drive all the way to the airport just to find out that I was not able to go home after all to see my family and they did not want to help out at all. After this I think the only way I would ever fly with them again is if it was 100% all expenses paid vacation that I won from some type of drawing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Detroit
Date FlownMay 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cancun to Columbus via Ft Lauderdale. Absolute worst flying experience ever. The flight was 2.5 hours behind our first leg from Cancun to Ft lauderdale. This caused us to miss our connecting flight. Not only did they refuse to help passengers but they told us it would be more than 48 hours to get us on another flight leaving us stranded in Florida. They did not help board stranded customers when one customer asked what they were supposed to do the response from the spirit employee was “ it’s not our concern”. We asked for a refund of our missed flight and booked with another carrier (southwest) and had to eat an additional $850 just to return home. Way to almost ruin a great trip. Will never fly with them again or book with Apple vacations! No customer service at all and absolutely everything cost extra money. I’m surprised they didn’t charge for breathing while flying
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Columbus via Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never flying with this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was flying from Boston to Cleveland, and my flight was delayed three hours, so I had tried to book my ticket for an earlier flight the next day. These two ladies behind the desk could not have cared less about helping me, or seeing what they could do to help my situation. One of them even laughed at me when I had asked if I could change it to an earlier flight. I don't normally leave reviews, but this was not the first unfortunate situation I have been in with Spirit. They were sarcastic and rude. I am never flying with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCleveland to Boston
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The staff was very rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New Orleans to Costa Rica. My flight was scheduled to leave MSY at 5:30 am, and we sat on the plane for two hours because they were having "computer" problems. The problem was actually with the engine, and they did not give us any information, just to leave the plane. All passengers were told to stay close because repairs would not take long, and we ended up sitting around the terminal for over 4 hours with no updates or information. The flight ended up not taking off and I had to reschedule for the next day. The staff was very rude and very unhelpful. I will not be flying Spirit again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNew Orleans to Costa Rica
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"he doesn’t get the discount"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Kansas City. The flight was fine. This review is about when we were checking our bags with Spirit. They talk about how they let military check bags for free. They don’t. My boyfriend is a veteran. Because he’s a veteran that means he doesn’t get the discount even though every other airline give it to him. I don’t normally care to ever write reviews and I never complain about discounts but this lady was unpleasant and veterans are military. I won’t be flying with them anymore. I have dealt with the Spirit before without him with me and I got over the fact the seat are uncomfortable and they won’t even give you free water and their luggage prices are insanely high. But that pushed me over the line and it’s ridiculous. Never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Kansas City
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Fort Lauderdale to Denver. Really bad airline, terrible customer service, they give wrong information about the hour to departure and delays which make you lost your flight. To explain it better i was supposed to fly to denver from Miami but for a weather situation the flight was delayed but that's not the problem because that can happen in any airline but the problem was when i made the check in online and the flight was delayed to 10.29 pm and in the boarding pass say 8.59pm . I call to customer service and after a long waiting time a guy say that the flight was delayed even more to 12.44. I was really confused because i didn't know to who believe email- 10.29, boarding pass 8.59 or the guy from customer service 12.44. I call back again and this time was a girl who tall me that my flight was for 10.29.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Denver
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]