Best Cabin Crew  

Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1262 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"automatic renewal fee"

(Canada)

We flew Spirit Airlines in February 2015 but it in my case this is important. Besides being charged for everything possible, including "unexpected costs of federal regulations", a seat cost (they don't allow standing, so yes you have to have a seat), fuel charge, well lets summarize, exactly what are the airfares for? My complaint is with the $9 Fare Club. At the time of purchase it was completed by speaking with a representative via phone as the internet failed. Never was I advised of an annual renewal fee and which was automatically added to my credit card, and when converted to Canadian was $99.00, exactly one year after we flew. When we called to enquire about the charge I found there is no direct means to call a company representative. I ended up using the reservation line and based on my responses to the automated teller I eventually ended up with a real person who agreed that there was no telephone direct line to call otherwise. So poor customer contact service and poor notification of (from my circumstance) annual fee, or if you would, another hidden fee to the tune of $99.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDTW to FLL
Date FlownMarch 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"awful airline to fly"

(United States)

Spirit Airlines is an awful airline to fly. First our Denver to Detroit flight was delayed and then cancelled. The customer service could not tell us why. Also, they would not schedule on the next flight available or pay for us to be on another airline. Instead, we waited another day to try and make the next late night flight. They do nothing to try and help their customers out.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to DTW
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

I have not even flown with Spirit yet and they are already the worst airline for customer service. I'm trying to do online check-in. This can only be processed in the last 24 hours before the flight (why not 36 or 48 hours before?). Their website is down meaning that I cannot complete online check-in for myself or for my bags, nor print out boarding passes. So, I call them on the phone. First their computer sends me through a maze of options none of which really apply. When I finally find something that is close, they say it will be a 15 minute wait. 15 minutes ends up being 20. Then, when a real person actually answers my call she says that she cannot hear me (of course, I'm waiting on speaker and doing other things while waiting so it takes me a few seconds to pick-up the phone) and she hangs up on me telling me "for better service" to call back the very same number that I had been waiting for on hold. And then they have the gall to want to charge me because I don't have my boarding passes already printed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to MCO
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff was nice"

(Canada)

Spirit Airlines website clearly tells you prices are a la carte. If you want drinks, lots of legroom, 2 carry-ons etc then you are going to pay. I want a flight for 2.5 hours to Florida - and that's exactly what I got. I paid $23 for a flight that left 6 minutes early and arrived 11 minutes early. I had a small back pack as my personal item that was free. I paid $46.20 return to Orlando. The plane was clean. Seats, table and bathroom were clean. Staff was nice. Very few announcements. Embarking and disembarking times were good.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCLE to MCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"frustrated and angry"

(United States)

I will never trust Spirit Airlines again. I booked roundtrip from West Palm Beach to Boston. The flight up to Boston was good with a nice flight crew and captain. The plane was clean and so were the bathrooms contrary to many reviews I had read. The problem I had was when Spirit had to cancel my return flight due to weather with no options to return home for 5 days. I actually had to purchase a one way ticket home with another airline. My "great deal on Spirit" ended up costing me more than booking with another reliable carrier. Frustrated and angry are just a few of my emotions. My advice: book with an airline with many flight choices, if they cancel they will do their best to get you out as soon as possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to PBI
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my first and last time"

(United States)

San Francisco to Cancun, and Spirit Airlines website charge for everything - it is ridiculous that even for carry on you will have to pay $40, additional charges for picking the seats. Flying with my family and have to pay additional $6 per seat to pick to fly together, pay additional to get in the plane, so you can take a chance to have space for the carry on you pay $40 to take it. No happy with all the hidden charges. This will be my first and last time flying with Spirit.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to CUN
Date FlownMarch 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"first and last time"

(United States)

Don't fly Spirit Airlines. Booked a flight from Atlanta to Las Vegas, had a slight delay at Spirit counter getting bags checked. Then had a 30 minute delay getting through security. Got to the gate 17 minutes prior to departure. However, they would not let us board and said we were too late. Rude heartless employees. This is my first and last time for Spirit Airlines.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATL to LAS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"website is terrible"

(United States)

Have you ever called Spirit Airlines to get in touch with a customer service rep? One time I call to pay for a bag on the phone and could not get a customer service rep for over 45 minutes and I hang up. One time I was told to go on their website to pay for a bag in advance - but their website is terrible. There is no option on the site to pay for baggage when you put in your last name and reservation number. No other option available on the site to do online baggage payment.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHL to ATL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"crammed like sardines"

(United States)

Boston to Las Vegas return with Spirit Airlines. Free flights forever would not persuade me to ever fly this airline again. Seats were made for the size of first graders with hardly a tray, virtually no leg room, and feeling crammed like sardines for this total flying disaster. And we have all flown frequently. Four of us had the most miserable flying experience ever. Worse, there was no TV, no movie options, and no audio options provided. We were nickeled and dimed for window seat charges explained that we could sleep more comfortably (which was impossible), and an overhead bag charge. Service was marginal at best. We flew mid-January and I am finally getting this atrocious flying experience out of my head.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to LAS
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never make mistake again"

(United States)

Boston to Las Vegas was our first time flying with Spirit Airlines and never again! Not only were the bag charges and process completely ridiculous ($40 online, only if you check bag online 24-48 hrs in advance, $50 if you do it at airport counter, and $100 if you do it at gate) - and $55 for a carry on. All food is charged, seats are terrible and do not recline. We found out an hour before departure that our flight home was cancelled. The two options offered by Spirit were neither accommodating nor remedial. After paying for hotel, missing work, arranging different transport home from airport we will never make the mistake of choosing Spirit Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOS to LAS
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no