Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1980 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"just want to take advantage"

(United States)

Verified Review | Absolutely avoid Spirit at all costs. They scam customers by advertising inexpensive flights, then requiring additional fees for a seat, not for changing or upgrading a seat, just to sit on the plane. With a seat, one checked bag, and no carry-on, I paid over $100 more for the flight from Orlando to Newark. Upon arriving to the airline baggage drop area, there were hundreds of people stretching out into other sections of the airport, and three people managing checked bags. After disembarking, I waited over an hour for my checked bag. They don't care and just want to take advantage of you and squeeze you for money wherever they can.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Newark
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Don't book this airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | I flew Spirit Airlines from San Diego to Las Vegas. If you do fly this dreadful airline, be sure to check in online the night before because it will cost an extra $10 per person if you do it at the airport. Also, don't even pack a carry-on larger than a backpack. For small rolling bags, they charge $45 if you check in online, and $55 at the airport. Yes. For a carry on. Also, when you buy a ticket, the seat isn't included in the price. Be prepared to drop another $5-$10 on your seat. If you thought that you'd at least get a complimentary water or juice on the plane, you would be incorrect. $3 for an orange juice. Flight staff was rude and made me uncomfortable. After the safety presentation, the flight attendant said, "to all who paid attention - thank you! to those who did not - good luck". Don't book this airline. If I could have given 0 stars, I would have.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSan Diego to Las Vegas
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid Spirit at all costs"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Spirit from Houston to Denver. The absolute worst traveling experience I have ever had. First they may as well take an arm, leg, and your first born child if you have any bags. Secondly, on the flight out here their plane may as well been held together with duct tape and bubble gum. Thirdly, now I'm stuck in Houston because, despite getting to the airport well over an hour before my flight was set to depart, Spirit denied me at the check in because I was "too late to check in". Save yourself the time and hassle. Avoid Spirit at all costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Denver
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"told the flight was closed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Atlantic City to Ft Lauderdale. We arrived at the airport early to find a line filling the entire check in area. When we finally were in sight of the agents (about 40 min. later) we were pulled out of line with a few others and were told the flight was “closed” and we would have to rebook. We were put in another line and after an additional wait were told we could be put on the next flight 5 hours later for a rebooking fee of $100 per ticket. When we politely complained we were told they go through the line to calling the flight. In our conversation with the agent we were told this happens every day, in other words they plan on this to increase revenue. Next trip I will drive a little farther and fly a real airline and never deal with Spirit’s bait and switch schemes again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlantic City to Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"is the worst airline"

(United States)

Las Vegas to Orlando. This is the worst airline I have ever been on. They lost my bag, found my bag and told me they would put it on a flight to Jacksonville where I live then called me back and told me no, it would have to be mailed in, it would take over a week and refused to put it on a flight from Orlando to Jacksonville.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Orlando
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience was terrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | New Orleans to Atlanta. This is the second time I have flown with Spirit. I had a horrible experience the first time so I should have learned my lesson. every part of the experience was terrible. Their website crashed while I was trying to check in. So I had to call them. They hide their customer service phone number. I finally found it. Then, they were going to charge me a premium for making arrangements by phone. I hung up and tried online again. It worked that time. I had to pay for my seat and $40 for 1 bag. The overall cost was now more than Southwest, which I should have booked in the first place. I got to the airport to check my bag and the representative was very rude. She wouldn't pull up my information with my driver's license and demanded I show her the boarding pass on my email instead. Very rude about it. I paid a little extra for a business class seat. It wasn't very comfortable and it wouldn't recline. During the flight, the lady behind me kept kicking my seat. I gave her a look to stop but she kept doing it. I then asked for a cup of coffee and they said it was $2.00. Nothing is complimentary with Spirit. If you pay their fare, reserve a seat, and pay for baggage, they are no cheaper than other airlines. If you like terrible service, random seating, and don't take any baggage, Spirit is the airline for you.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew Orleans to Atlanta
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The staff are very rude"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Fort Lauderdale to Newark. I am a frequent flyer and this is my first bad review about anything, this was by far the worst airline I've ever encountered. Spirit Airlines does not offer a glass of water, the seats are very uncomfortable, do not recline, dont have charging ports, no TV. I thought I was getting a good deal booking this flight but just to check my bags was $100 round trip at the airport. The staff are very rude. Thank goodness I was not flying for more than 2hrs, so disappointed in myself for this one.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Newark
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Spirit Airlines customer review

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Spirit Airlines from Oakland to Baltimore. Don't be fooled by the cheap prices. They nickel and dime you to death, so that by the time you've checked (or even carried on) your bags and selected your seats, you're paying just as much as, if not more than as you would for a legitimate airline. They usually take off late, and once you board, you get the privilege of sitting on the comfort-equivalent of a park bench! The seats don't recline, and there's no inflight entertainment whatsoever, even for cross country flights! Oh, and whatever you do, don't be one second later than 45 minutes before the flight is scheduled to depart, or they'll make you reschedule your flight for an additional $99/person, even if there's plenty of time to get to the gate and board the plane. And one more thing, the customer service is rude and completely unsympathetic and unhelpful.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Baltimore
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Tampa to Atlanta. This was a Terrible experience from start to finish. My flight was delayed 4hrs due to not having a pilot to bring our plane to Tampa. They ended up canceling the flight at 1130pm. Since they cancelled the flight so late we ended up not being able to book another flight for that night and subsequently I missed an very important meeting. After arguing and pleading my case I was advised that I would be credited a voucher. Now that I need to use the voucher I am told that it expired and I am out of luck. This is an example of terrible customer service and I will never fly Spirit again. Sad to say I would rather fly Allegiant then deal with this companie's false promises, terrible customer service, and overall lack of professionalism!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Atlanta
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst flying experience I've had"

(United States)

Verified Review | Philadelphia to Dallas. This was by far the worst flying experience I've ever had and I have flown American Airlines! There were 3 delays to my flight yesterday with multiple gate changes. Of course, no one was at the counter until later in the evening so it was hard to know what was going on. My flight was supposed to be at 1.00pm but was delayed until 7.05pm! Then on my flight to Philadelphia our aircraft had issues with the air conditioner! We were all sweating and then forced to buy your on board drinks. The $100 dollars I "saved" by flying with Spirit was certainly not worth the aggravation. Of course, the final insult to all of this is your $50 voucher, $50 dollars, really? You think $50 dollars will entice me to pay for another flight?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Dallas
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]