Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1958 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"seats are ridiculously small"

(United States)

Verified Review | Ft Lauderdale to Hartford. Each bag costs between 35-50, both carry-on and checked each way, domestic or international. My flight from Newark to Bogota was cancelled a few hours before it was supposed to take off. Not even a day's or 12 hours notice. I stayed on the phone with customer service for nearly 3 hours to find another flight. They put me on another airline. On the way back aboard Spirit I found out that you must pay for everything. We were delayed getting off the plane because of customs. I did not make my connecting flight, which was scheduled an hour and a half after my first flight. Many others were in the same situation as me with connecting flights to other destinations. I don't know why Spirit would schedule flights close together, why they wouldn't hold flights filled with passengers from their other planes, and why they wouldn't make an effort to ensure their passengers reach their destinations on time. I spent $120 on a hotel room. I should've used that to travel on another airline that isn't as frustrating. While waiting for my new flight, they changed the gate ten minutes prior to boarding. The airplane wasn't at the new gate. At the scheduled time of departure, they made an announcement that the plane would be delayed. Delays are fine, but the fact that it took the airline so long to notify their passengers of the changes is not fine. The seats are ridiculously small with no screens or option to recline. The on board crew was nice and paid careful attention to the safety of the passengers. That was the only good thing about Spirit.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Hartford
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff were very entertaining"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Orlando to Pittsburgh. I have never done a review before but thought I had to. The staff were very entertaining and polite. The gentleman over the loud speaker had a very entertaining personality while being professional. I thought they also took it an extra step further by showing everyone how to put on a life vest and how to inflate it. Not all airlines or flights that I have been on have done this. I will definitely be flying with Spirit Airlines. again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Pittsburgh
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Nothing about this trip was bad"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Pittsburgh to Orlando. I've been terrified to fly with Spirit Airlines for 6 months now. However, Spirit was nothing like the reviews. The flight was on time and we arrived early to Orlando. The staff were all nice and tried to make the flight fun. Nothing about this trip was bad. Just remember there are so many more people that fly than these reviews but the only ones to leave them are the negative ones. Imagine how many people have had no problems at all but don't think to comment.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePittsburgh to Orlando
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Spirit is unreliable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Newark to Ft Lauderdale. Spirit is unreliable and not necessarily the least expensive option. There are plenty of hidden costs. Since there is a high risk in losing a flight, this translates to hours of wasted time talking with customer service, which is really a useless outsourced buffer. Our flight was cancelled after 5 hr delay in April. We had expenses such as hotel, airport travel, car rental, so Spirit gave us a refund of the flights, along with 2 x $50 vouchers per person (We can't combine the vouchers on a single booking). Although this didn't cover all the expenses, I decided to let it pass. There were a few issues. Vouchers had to be used within 2 months to book two other trips per person (4 tickets in total). I couldn't find any destination for which Spirit was a better option than other airlines. And I was determined to fly to many destinations in order to use the vouchers. I inadvertently allowed vouchers to expire. I've been on hold with their customer service for 1.5 hours, to try and get them extended. They have me bouncing around like a ping pong ball. Everyone says I could've extend them if I called before expiration, which is a ridiculous rule.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownApril 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flying experience ever"

(United States)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Detroit cancelled 10 minutes before boarding because the plane wasn't even there. If they were that delayed we should have had a lot more notice. Second flight Las Vegas to Cleveland cancelled because a flight attendant was late for her shift. Now I'm stuck in the airport from 5am till 7:45pm in hopes of getting a flight with 3 layovers, overnight through a different company and I've received $24 food credit for my trouble? Absolutely ridiculous. Third flight through American airlines was great minus the fact that Spirit didn't put our checked bag ($45) on the ticket or our $20 reserved seats. Worst flying experience ever. I would never recommend Spirit to anyone. If I could pick 0/10 for all questions I absolutely would.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Detroit
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never ever again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Worst experience ever! Flight from Detroit to Las Vegas on September 11 was cancelled and rebooked for 12 hours later, then the departing flight from Vegas to Detroit was cancelled. They rebooked us on a flight for the next day. Customer service was horrible. Staff were rude, we were made to stand in a long line just to talk to a ticket agent who didn't seem interested in helping us at all. The only thing they gave us for our trouble was a $7.00 food voucher for having to wait at the airport for 19 hours for our first flight out of Vegas to Minneapolis and then for a 5 hour layover there. We will be getting home 24 hours later than we were supposed to. I would not recommend this airline to my worst enemy. Never ever again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Detroit
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't take the responsibility"

(United States)

Verified Review | My flight from Minneapolis to Dallas has been canceled and they finally booked us a flight for next day. Their rude staff made us stand in front of check in gate for 4 hours to book a hotel room for non-local passengers, seriously 4 hours. We asked them to call a manager a million times and at the end at 10 pm someone (a supervisor) came and told us there is not any hotel available in the area. It is 4am and we got stuck in this freezing airport. We could not even eat something last night because all security gates were closed at 10 pm. This airline won't take the responsibility of their cancellations and rude staff will not even respect you as customer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"always delay their flights"

(United States)

Verified Review | Seattle to Los Angeles. I'm writing this review as I wait for my Spirit flight. Second time (3rd leg) flying with this airline, by mistake! We made the mistake of quickly purchasing the cheapest tickets without identifying the airline prior to purchase - you know how easy it is to purchase via your phone with just one or two clicks. These guys always delay their flights. The original flight time for the flight that we are currently waiting for was 9:30am, then 12:15pm, then 11:50am, and now the flight time has once again changed until after 1:00pm. Terrible experience with these guys and always have a lame excuse for their tardiness. If you are a business traveler with scheduled meetings to attend, or if you are traveling due to a family emergency, do not use this airline because you will definitely miss your meetings and/or your emergency. Alaska Airlines all the way - they are a little more expensive but worth every dollar!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hard to reach for customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | I went to Chicago from New York on 9/7/2017 by Spirit. It seems the ticket price is cheap ($90.40 for round trip), but actually, it is more expensive because of a lot of hidden charges. The carry-on baggage is free for the most airlines except this airline, which charges $67 for one trip. If you select the seat by your self, it may be charged $14 to $50. On the plane, all drinks including water, it is chargeable, etc. It is very hard to reach the phone for customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Chicago
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stranded in Las Vegas"

(United States)

Verified Review | Las Vegas to Detroit. I will never fly Spirit Airlines again! My wife and I got stranded in Las Vegas when Spirit suddenly cancelled all of their flights. They gave us two options: rebook for a flight two days later or take a refund. There was no help with any other options. Beware if you even consider Spirit Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Detroit
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]