Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1909 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"can Spirit explain this to me?"

(United States)

Verified Review | Checking in online for the outbound flight, I am paying for 1 checked bag RT (2x$42.00=$84.00) and seat each way (6C outbound flight, 5C return flight, 2x$20.00=$40.00): total $124.00. Instead of a boarding pass I get a printable page with the message “Minor detected”. The same message page I get when trying to check in online for the return flight. Trying to check in at the airport I am offered to pay again for a seat and I chose random seat. Instead of a boarding pass I get a printout saying to see an agent. I tell the agent about the prepaid seat and she told me that my card was not charged for that so I get a random seat (10E). Two days later, I see the charges of $124.00 on my credit card. Can anyone at Spirit Airlines explain this to me?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to New Orleans
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff was picking and choosing"

(United States)

Verified Review | La Guardia to Ft. Lauderdale. My fault in missing my original flight. As that's it frustrating enough, service from Spirit Airlines staff, (ground and phone service) was terrible. I paid an extra $300 for standby and was not prioritized for the available seating for several flights after my missing flight. Other standbyers that missed their flight as well were placed in front of us after we checked in before them. I feel ground staff agents was picking and choosing on who should be on the next flights. also picked and choose who should pay or not pay. Spoke to ground supervisor and called Spirit Airlines supervisor to verbalize my concern and frustration and they were dismissive to my complaints. Was told "there's nothing we can do". We were at the airport over 24 hrs by the time we were considered and placed for the final flight of the day. We were a family of 4 traveling, agent rescheduled 3 of us separate from my 11 year old son, he was rescheduled on a flight without my acknowledgement. How can they book an 11 year old on their own with out an adult companion? Too many discrepancies on this trip. Along with constant delayed flights that caused inconvenience to passengers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Guardia to Ft. Lauderdale
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Inflight Service: Prompt and efficient"

(United States)

Verified Review | Route: Baltimore to Chicago / Return From Chicago to Baltimore (no connections). Aircraft: Airbus A320. The airplane was very clean and well maintained. Seats: I am 6' 1" tall. The seats had 28" pitch but were very comfortable. The seats do not recline, which is fine by me. In seating with larger pitches that recline, when the passenger in front of you reclines the seat invades your space and makes for a cramped feeling, forcing you to also recline to gain back the space. With Spirit, since the seats do not recline, the closer pitch (space between the seats) is actually more comfortable. Leg room is still adequate, and I can cross my legs, etc. 2 extra inches of leg room simply does not compensate for the person in front of you reclining his seat back into your face. In addition, a great many of higher priced airlines have equal seating pitch to Spirit. I have to rate overall seat comfort on Spirit as superior to most other higher priced airlines for economy classes. Inflight Entertainment: None - but I have flown more expensive airlines with the same amenities, that is, none. Today, fliers are becoming more reliant on their smart phones and notebook computers, and do not use inflight entertainment. I did not notice onboard electrical outlets on my flight (but did not look for them), so make sure your personal devices are charged when you get onboard. Ground Service: Efficient. The personnel behind the baggage drop at Baltimore were professional and efficient. They were not chipper and friendly, but it was 4.35am, so I will cut them some slack. The personnel at Chicago were efficient, professional, and had a positive demeanor at 6.35am. Flight Crew: Outstanding. They were efficient, courteous, and had a great sense of humor while maintaining great professionalism. They actually got me to pay attention to the inflight safety demonstration which I have not done in decades. We arrived in Chicago 30 minutes early, and communications from the flight deck was outstanding. Inflight Service: Prompt and efficient. Yes, water, sodas, and coffee costs $2.00, and they do not give you a small bag of peanuts or pretzels. But you can bring your own, if you like. However, beer, wine, liquor, and onboard snacks are less expensive than most higher priced airlines I have flown on recently by a dollar or two. Boarding and Deplaning: This I really liked. Many people complain they have to pay for carry-on baggage. This is because all airlines have, for quite a while now, forced passengers to pay for checked baggage. Spirit does, too, and more than most airlines, plus the weight limit is only 40lbs, so be careful. Spirit also makes passengers pay for carry-on bags. The difference in costs, however, is small, so most passengers just go ahead and pay to check baggage. The great thing is, with no carry-ons to stick in the overhead compartments, people just walk on to take their seats, and walk off, with no waiting for people to fiddle with their luggage. It's how flying used to be. Overall: This airline is not for everyone. It is not for people with lots of luggage. It does not have alliances with other carriers, so if there are problems, they cannot transfer your booking and you are stuck. It is not for people who do not expect, understand or accept the concept of low priced carriers and the a la carte paying structure. Most of the problems I see in reviews I have experienced with other airlines that put an extra zero on my airfare.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Baltimore
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible value for money"

(United States)

Verified Review | Terrible value for money. Your ticket is barely cheaper than other airlines, and you have to pay extra for carry ons, personal items, no complementary snacks, etc etc. And on top of that, you will sit in a small, cramped seat because it is a "budget airline." On my flight from Los Angeles to Seattle, I was asked to move to a new seat so that they could reseat someone else and I complied. They later announce on the flight that one random seat will win a free one-way ticket. It turned out to be my original seat that I was assigned. So if I had not cooperated, then I would have been rewarded with a free ticket. But since they re-seated me, someone else got the ticket. This airline always leaves late. Never on time from my experience. Never flying Spirit again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Seattle
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly with them again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Denver to Punta Cana via Ft Lauderdale. Horrible - will never fly with them again, and I warn everyone against doing so. I booked 2.5 months in advance, paid $170 extra for carry-on and seat assignment (I'm tall and require leg room, 6'5" 170lbs). Of all 4 flights during this trip, 3/4 were delayed (paperwork coming from corporate was a frequent excuse). The other flight was cancelled. This was my return from a resort in the Dominican Republic. Spirit cited weather in Florida, however the radar was only "green" severity storms, absolutely typical for an afternoon in August for Florida. The airport did not close, other airlines remained flying, other Spirit flights remained flying into Ft Lauderdale. I believe this excuse is purely a lie and have found nothing online to verify it. Once my flight was cancelled, I was rebooked on multiple other flights including one 36 hours after my original departure (getting me home to Denver 48 hrs late). Customer service stated they do not rebook passengers on other airlines, they do not provide overnight accommodations, meals or added transportation. I was told escalation was pointless and that no one would be able to help get me out of a foreign country. I've emailed executives (CEO email format is invalid), but found senior customer service emails online.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Punta Cana via Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"have never had such an experience in my life"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have always heard that Spirit was an awful airline, but I found an affordable ticket from Montego Bay to Fort Lauderdale and thought I'd go for it. When I tried to check in online with one piece of luggage, I was prompted to pay $114. I thought it was a mistake so I went to the airport to get it done. With them chosing my seat, I ended up paying $97 (this is them honoring the online discounted price as a courtesy). Not affordable! As though they didn't get to squeeze enough out of me, they tried to charge me for my laptop bag at the gate. I ended up not paying because several people in line got upset about it. The rep who mentioned paying wasn't even the one who quelled the situation. He was too busy showing authority. I have never had such an experience in my life. The customer service reps were rude and condescending. The ones in Montego Bay are the worst I've ever seen. They behave as though it is a trend to be nasty toward customers. It is not possible for one to even pay me to fly with these people ever again. I will make sure to warn everyone that I hear mentioning flying that they should avoid Spirit Airlines at all cost. By the way, don't even think about getting thirsty. You have to pay for the water.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontego Bay to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Spirit Airlines again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Detroit to Baltimore. Flight got cancelled 3 hours before my departure. Lost one day of vacation. A flight which was supposed to be 1.5 hours took me 8 hours after having a layover in Myrtle Beach. As consumption they apparently gave me a $100 voucher which I could use for my next flight. As I tried to use the voucher it came out that this voucher cannot be used on every flight and is just reducing the base fair or whatever. At the end this voucher was nothing worth. I will definitely never fly Spirit Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Baltimore
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worth paying a little extra"

(United States)

Verified Review | I should have done my homework on this airline, but I had to book last minute business travel myself from Los Angeles to La Guardia via Dallas. I will never fly Spirit again. When I checked my bag they made no mention of the fact that I would have to exit to baggage claim to pickup my bag during my connection. Due to the late arrival of my flight, I now have to sit outside for 4 hours until security reopens at 4 AM, check my bag again, and go through security once again. Flying is bad enough these days, but the way they do business is ridiculously inconvenient, and it's definitely worth paying a little extra to never deal with this again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to La Guardia via Dallas
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"urge you to not go cheap"

(United States)

Verified Review | Latrobe to Myrtle Beach with Spirit Airlines. We were told we would be boarding at 3:15. By 3:30 we were told plane was in SC and we are in PA, but it is broken down, so we are delayed over 4 hrs and the airline has done nothing. I called their customer care, nothing. I asked to talk to a supervisor and nothing. They want to give us a $50 voucher to fly with them again. I urge you to not go cheap, because that's what you get. Thanks Spirit for shortening our vacation! And to the booking agent that told me you are fortunate to even be able to take a vacation, I can't take one. Just now someone came up to tell us that there's nothing else she could do, nothing. Just sad that we have to put up with this and nothing anyone can do about it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLatrobe to Myrtle Beach
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not recommended them"

(United States)

Verified Review | Spirit Airlines has rude crew. Very tight and uncomfortable seats. No entertainment. My flight from Oakland to Detroit got delayed for almost 29 hours. With little kids they refused to provide any hotel or food, and claimed the delay is due to weather issues when the weather was nice and the delay was mechanical. I will never travel with Spirit again and do not recommended them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Detroit
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]