Top 100 Airports  

Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1474 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not a good experience"

(United States)

Portland to Chicago. If I actually was on the plane, I could give a better review. I book the flight through orbitz. But unlike most airlines that confirm booking automatically, Spirit requires you to verify with their actual site as well. That was a pain in the butt. Moving towards the day of the flight. 5 hours before my flight, I get an email and it's said it was cancelled. That's a joke. The reason was air traffic which is ridiculous. It was supposed to be an overnight flight. I book a flight with American at their desk with no problem. I will say I did write to them what happened. A nice lady got back to me and apologized. They are giving me a refund which is nice. But not a good experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePDX to ORD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Spirit has lost my business for life"

(United States)

Verified Review | Never Again! Stranded for two days in a connecting city, Chicago O'Hare. My flight home from Denver to Houston connected through Chicago O'Hare. After I arrived at O'Hare I found that my flight to Houston had been cancelled. I first tried to call Spirit customer service to find out what was happening - don't bother, their Indian call center is useless. I then went to the counter to find out what happened. Spirit cancelled my 7PM flight due to "weather", it rained for about 30 mins and moved on. The counter agent and manager offered to put me on the "first available" flight home, 2 days later. Since it was weather related, no hotel, no meals, nothing. Also, Spirit doesn't have agreements with other airlines so they won't put you on a different carrier, only refund your remaining leg and leave you stranded. A one way flight home last min would cost me another $700. The agents, the manager, no help, they just don't care and it shows in their attitude. What a terrible company. I travelled for business for many years, this takes the cake, worse service I have ever experienced from airline, worse than US Airways, and that is saying something. Never Again. Spirit has lost my business for life.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to IAH via ORD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"first and last time"

(United States)

Flew Spirit Airlines from Dallas to New York. Stewardess was rude. Seats were dirty and uncomfortable. Flight delayed for no apparent reason. Gate changed at least 5 times. This airline isn't worth a dime, they know they're the worst and advertise it. When you ask for a seat change after the auto assign to purchase a window one, the stewardess didn't look up once at me and told me no she has other priorities while tapping away at the keyboard. First and last time I'll be flying with them. You may only take a small personal item for free (small book bag), carry-on costs $100.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDFW to LGA
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"experience with Spirit was very nice"

(United States)

Verified Review | My friend and I recently traveled with Spirit Airlines from Minneapolis to Los Angeles. Before departure I read some reviews about the airline and became worried about the type of service we would receive. Contrary to the numerous negative reviews, by experience with Spirit was very nice. A round trip ticket from Minneapolis to Los Angeles was around $150 for myself. Charging $55 for a carry on bag seemed steep, but in the long run it was more cost effective than purchasing a normal ticket from a different airline. The seats didn't recline, but it was only a three hour trip so it wasn't bad. Since the seats didn't recline I didn't have to worry about having less leg room because of the person sitting in front of me. There were no in-flight movies or food, but on other airlines half of the time the movies don't work and the food is terrible. Spirit does have food for purchase in-flight, but I chose to purchase food at the airport before we left. Our in-flight crew was wonderful, and one of the members did a funny skit about how to properly use the bathroom and how to behave while sitting in our seats (some people even clapped when he was done). Our flight out departed at the right time (which has not happened with other airlines that I have flown!). Our flight back departed an hour and a half late, but more often than not delays are due to air traffic control. If you are looking for a cheap flight, and your flight time is not very long, I would highly recommend using Spirit Airlines. Be sure to either purchase your carry-on baggage online when you book your tickets, or when you print your boarding pass at the airport check-in terminal. I paid $55 for my carry-on when I printed my boarding pass during check-in. If you reach the gate without paying for you carry-on you may be charged up to $100. Plan ahead, download some music and movies onto your phone/iPod, and your flight with Spirit will be just fine.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMSP to LAX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no care or pride for the company"

(Australia)

New York to Los Angeles via Detroit. Checked in to our Spirit Airlines flight to LA from NYC, which had a connecting flight through Detroit. The Detroit flight was delayed but we were told that it wouldn't affect our flight to LA. The flight was delayed again and again, after three different excuses of there being no crew, the plane not being able to refuel and then the plane not being able to arrive at our terminal because it was stuck at another terminal we asked what would happen to our LA flight. We were told that we were misinformed about the LA flight in the beginning and that we had missed that because of the delays, so we spent hours at the airport waiting for no reason which in turn left us stranded at the airport overnight with no accommodation because everywhere was sold out within a 10 mile radius. So if you want to spend the night on the cold floor of an airport in a food court with 100 other people in the same position, then book spirit. The staff working for them have no idea what they are on about, are extremely rude and they clearly showed no care or pride for the company they work for. Ruined the end of a four week international holiday.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGA to LAX via DTW
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just left us stranded"

(United States)

It is true, Spirit is as bad as advertised. Forget the fact that they nickle and dime you. The biggest problem is that you may or may not fly when you are supposed to do so. They cancelled my family's flight from NY to FLL on the evening of the 25th of July claiming air congestion problems. They (some call center with bad English) offered my family (including my 3 year old) an overnight flight where we fly to one airport and then sit in the airport all night (no hotel or food offered). They then note that 13 hours later we can arrive. Finally they booked us for a flight 24 hours later claiming this was the only one available and note that there is nothing they can or will do about it and forget having any help at all. They just left us stranded period. From long lines to check in a prepaid bag, to having to pay for water onboard, to bad customer service and a real chance of having no flight.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLGA to FLL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed without explanation"

(United States)

Verified Review | I'd like to say I flew Spirit Airlines and had a great experience. However, that would be a lie. The first time, the flight was delayed 5 times without explanation. This last Friday, they cancelled our flight, and all flights from Denver to Chicago, due to weather. Seems legit. However, we were not aware of any severe weather so we checked out an online flight tracker and noticed several planes in flight between Denver and Chicago with many more flights scheduled out of DIA that day. Needless, to say, we won't be taking any more chances with Spirit.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDEN to ORD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"tedious and very frustrating"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Spirit from Minneapolis to Las Vegas. We were supposed to board at 9.25pm - waited an extra 45 minutes before a couple of staff members arrived at the gate check in - they had no idea what was going on and had another come up, she proceeds to tell us that there's an hour delay due to "weather problems" - 15 minutes later it becomes two hours and finally we're told that our flight has been cancelled. We all go to ticketing to check our options and instead of letting us know right away that the first 15 or so people will have better luck getting on the next morning flight-they wait a half hour and scream it - this entire process was tedious and very frustrating, especially considering that the person I'm supposed to visit will be overseas for the next year. I understand that these people are just doing their job, however the way they go about it was one of the most frustrating things to witness. I will never fly with Spirit again, the low cost ticket isn't worth it and I will gladly pay more to have a peace of mind and oh yeah, an actual flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMSP to LAS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"feel extremely let down"

(United States)

Verified Review | Granted we cannot control the weather, however we can control customer support. My wife and I were scheduled to fly from Chicago O'Hare to Denver to visit her sister. There was a line of storms that moved through grounding all planes in the airport. Safety first of course. The storms moved through allowing the air traffic continuum. Our plane was delayed 4 times and ultimately cancelled. We were addressed at the refund counter that our plane could not have access to a gate for passengers to board. Consequently, we were financially unable to book on another flight due to the high cost and extreme inconvenience. We booked with Spirit due to the price and reliability of their service and feel extremely let down with this scenario. A plane unable to board its passengers due to a lack of gate availability. Absurd and lacking guest hospitality. As an airline passenger, we are to be treated with the same guest service that you might expect at a hotel. The guest experience comes first and your guests have the right to feel appreciated, not left behind.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to DEN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"awful service, irresponsible staff"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flight 331, LaGuardia - Chicago, 06/05/16 was cancelled because of weather conditions. OK, it happens sometimes, but: 1) E-mail notification wasn't sent to me, I just got phone call and when I tried to call back the number was disconnected 2) Spirit offered nearest flight 2 days later. In the same time flights of other airlines were just delayed (even not cancelled) 3) We denied the Spirit offer and had to buy tickets on a United flight that was delayed several hours. When we returned beck to Spirit counter in LGA it was empty. All Spirit employees left for home although it was before the departure time of cancelled flight 4) Spirit refunded me for the cancelled flight without any problem but I failed to receive confirmation about flight cancellation. Conclusion: awful service, irresponsible staff.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteORD to LGA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2 star Skytrax Rating

Spirit Airlines

https://www.spirit.com/

Guide Icon

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]