Top 100 Airlines  

South African Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 315 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"happy and attentive crew"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Lounge was OK at Johannesburg, no possibility of a Bloody Mary in the morning and a substandard coffee had to suffice. Staff friendly and reasonable food choice. Boarding not prioritised so those needing assistance, parents with kids in strollers, premium and remaining passengers all part of the same throng. On board a very happy and attentive crew who could not have been more helpful. Very pleasant three hour flight from Johannesburg to Mauritius with reasonable quality food and wine. Bags waiting for us at the carousel. In all a really enjoyable flight with South African Airways thanks to the crew.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJNB to MRU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"food not a strong point"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Check in via QF in Perth was slow, only three staff for all passengers, one for premium, the other for pre printed boarding passes, the third for economy. Pre printed desk seemed to have an aversion to taking passengers from the premium queue which was about 50% as long as economy at our stage of check in. QF lounge friendly and just adequate re offerings. Boarding efficient and South African Airways flight left on time flying from Perth to Johannesburg. Mature crew who were efficient and warmed up somewhat over the duration of the flight. Food not a strong point at either dinner or breakfast and was pretty much economy standard. Wine mixed in quality but served graciously. IFE very old so did not bother choice was limited. Comfortable duvets and got 7 hours sleep. Arrived on time early in the morning where you have JNB to yourself.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to JNB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"in need of an upgrade"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Had a horrible 13 hour flight from Johannesburg to Hong Kong with South African Airways. Aircraft seemed very dated and in need of an upgrade on the interior. Seats did not seem very ergonomic and tray tables did not have any conveniences like a coat/jacket hook. Still had the double headphone port on the seat handle so very difficult to get in and out of seat when people wanted to go to the bathroom. Sound kept going off and kept requesting the attendants help but they could not resolve the issue. Screens on the TVs are ancient and very dark. One of the most frustrating things is undoubtedly the cabin announcements - the sound goes off but your video keeps playing and the announcement comes through your headphones blaring at a higher volume than you were watching at - you have to quickly remove the headphones until the announcements are done. When the seat in front reclines you have almost no room unless you recline as well and have to tilt the screen quite a bit. Bathroom ergonomics were also very poor - cramped and not very practical compared to other flights. The return flight had a wait of almost 45 min to get our bags. Overall the flight was a nightmare despite the food not being too bad. Would avoid the airline going forward unless I know its a newer plane.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to HKG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"really good food"

(Australia)

South African Airways from Perth to Johannesburg, an overnight flight on a completely full plane, the meal service was quick and efficient. Really good food on both legs. The seats are a little hard but nice and wide. IFE is one of the worst I have seen. Service good and cabin crew would walk up and down the aisle offering drinks often. Return leg the plane was not full and got two seats which makes a massive difference. Would fly again, however if you are on a day flight take your own source of entertainment as what SAA offers is old and limited.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to JNB
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"customer service disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to London with South African Airways, the plane was very old, barely working touch screen and chunky head phones. The staff service polite, but not very passanger focused, just generally present. Selection of films was okay, but I found the food terrible. What disappointed me most was the Customer Service for SAA - I received an offer by email providing me an option to upgrade. Link in the email didn't work and Customer Service were very dismissive. In the end I had no way to take part in the offer I was invited to. Why invite if you cannot follow up?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seat is spacious and comfortable"

(South Africa)

Rebooked onto South African Airways for first leg due to seat problem on Cathay Pacific, giving the opportunity to compare the two airlines flying from Johannesburg to Kuala Lumpur via Hong Kong. SAA have the older business class seats in 2-2-2 configuration compared with the largest herringbone arrangement all aisle seats of Cathay. Whilst lacking the side table and storage cubbyholes of Cathay, the SAA seat is spacious and comfortable for sitting and sleeping. Service was very good, but tended to be on request, which seems to be becoming the norm on many airlines, and perhaps lacked the polish of Cathay. Dinner served soon after take off was excellent, with a choice of full breakfasts or express service just before landing. Overall a very good flight with little to choose between the two airlines.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJNB to KUL via HKG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"impressed all round"

(United Kingdom)

Fantastic comfortable flight from Johannesburg to Cape Town with South African Airways. Great service with an on board snack. Had several internal flights on SAA Express all top notch as well. The service was efficient and unobtrusive. Impressed all round. We were in economy seats which better than our Virgin Atlantic Premium Economy seat from London.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to CPT
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"very rushed"

(Canada)

Flew South African Airways for the first time from London to Joahannesburg and then from Johannesburg to Hong Kong. Disappointed with aircraft (340 on the Hong Kong route) and service on both legs. Seats were lie flat but very outdated with a small pull up video monitor which reminded me of flying in the 90's. The moment we levelled off, tablecloths were placed on the tray and drink and dinner orders taken, both of which were delivered very soon after - too soon. On any other airline you normally get a cocktail or two before dinner service starts. Food was lukewarm and very rushed. A small cheese plate followed immediately after, with no dessert offered on the first flight. Plates cleared, lights out and that's it. Did not see a crew member for the next several hours. Got up twice and went to the galley and no one there either. Breakfast served before landing - again, really mediocre food. Was looking forward to flying this airline and was so disappointed. Have flown business class on several airlines and would place South African at the bottom. Couldn't wait for my Air Canada flight home from Hong Kong, which is saying something.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to JNB
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"friendly warm service"

(South Africa)

Johannesburg to Hong Kong with South African Airways. On the positive side, great staff with friendly warm service and eager to assist. Food nicely presented coupled with great wine. Nice full flat bed. Only negative is the plane is old and the entertainment system needs to be upgraded urgently. I believe SAA is in the process of acquiring new long haul widebody aircraft which should fix the these problems. I will fly with them again.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJNB to HKG
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Etihad Airways came second"

(South Africa)

My wife and I were on a flight Abu Dhabi to Johannesburg operated by Etihad Airways. My seat would not recline, so I spoke to cabin manager and he upgraded me to business class. The return was a South African Airways operated Etihad flight from Johannesburg to Abu Dhabi, excellently served by SAA staff. In fact, Etihad Airways came second to SAA with regards to friendliness, helpfulness and general service/attitude of SAA staff. Well done. Keep it up.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAUH to JNB
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes