Airline of the Year  

Sky Airline

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 20 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"seat pitch better than expected "

(Croatia)

Buenos Aires to Lima via Santiago de Chile. Their web page is not fully functional in English and booking does not go smooth all the time as some reviewers already wrote. I was booking two separate tickets for two different flights and one payment was not accepted but I got confirmation number. To avoid being charged multiple times I used both contact form and provided email contact to ask about payment but never got an answer. After checking with card provider that card was not charged I bought ticket for the other flight few days later. Payment was accepted and confirmation mail sent with the new booking number. Online check in is available 2 days and 3h in advance and boarding passes need to be printed and presented during baggage drop off. Luggage drop off was done at normal check in counter, 23kg hold luggage is included in ticket price. Planes are boarded from the last row and it was well organised. Both flights were full. Planes are in fine condition and clean, there are ads in the cabin but not too many. Seat pitch was better than expected and I had enough space even on longer flight to Lima which is 3h30m long. Buy on board have few options and is affordably priced. Pesos and U$ are only accepted. FAs were well groomed and professional. There was no selling of lottery and similar things, flight deck gave info about the flights and bridges were used all the time for boarding and disembarking. Both flights left and arrived on time. Few days after the first flight feedback survey was sent and it was in Spanish, no option to choose Englis. Messy web page, problematic booking and lack of communication after pushed down the airport and flight experience which could be described as good as any European short haul experience, legacy or LCC.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEZE to LIM via SCL
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"smiles all the time"

(United States)

Verified Review | Santiago to Punta Arenas via Puerto Montt. We flew on Sky Airline for our hiking trip in Patagonia during October 2016. We booked the flight about 3 months ago through their website but was unable to complete the transaction. I have to call my credit card concierge service to make the booking for me which was uneventful. At the airport, we had 2 backpacks for check-in and the upon arrival of Santiago Airport at 10 AM, the check-in counter was open with multiple agents available. At the check-in counter the staff did not speak too much English but was efficient and uneventful to check in our luggage to final destination. The boarding was quick and efficient and we had a on time departure from Santiago to our first stop, Puerto Montt. Since I knew I booked with a semi-low cost carrier, I did not expect any inflight entertainment or food/drink service for our short flight, but to my delight, they do serve snacks and drinks for all passengers for free. The captain made the announcements in Spanish, English and French. All flight attendants do speak basic English (which wasn’t the case for my LATAM flight from Santiago to Easter Island). After arrival at Puerto Montt, the flight received additional passengers for the next leg to Punta Arenas. Similar to the first leg, the departure, flight was uneventful. Flight attendants had smiles all the time which made the flight more enjoyable.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSCL to PUQ via PMC
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no one answered phone calls"

(Canada)

Buenos Aires air traffic control went on strike so we had to rebook our connecting flight with Sky Airline to from Buenos Aires to Santiago. Doing so proved impossible. No one answered our phone calls or responded to emails. We finally arrived at Buenos Aires with a connecting flight to Santiago on Air Canada. While at the airport we stopped at the Sky desk to speak to a person about our experience. We were only second in line but the customer service person attending to the individual in front of us took so long, and then took so long responding to our questions that we almost missed our connecting flight. I have never witnessed such a non responsive airline before.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEZE to SCL
Date FlownJune 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Sky Airline was on strike"

(United States)

Verified Review | We planned a trip to include 4 days in Buenos Aires, arrived from Patagonia at 5am for our flight on Sky Airlines that was supposed to leave at 7am to make the most of every minute only to find out Sky Airline was on strike. Lost over 6 hours trying to get someone to handle our situation watching everyone be "placed" on different flights, run from one end of the airport to the other and have to come back because the airlines had not "been paid by Sky Airlines". We were finally sent to Buenos Aires losing half of our first day there, coming back on Aerolineas Argentinas who charged me for the second piece of luggage "because Santiago is not considered international". Had to come back on a flight 3 hours earlier than we wanted. Tried to claim the money I should have never been charged, was given an email address and it’s been over 2 weeks and have not heard back from anyone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSCL to EZE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"flight attendants very helpful"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Santiago to Arica return for holidays. It was a nice experience to fly the newly turned low-cost Sky Airline from Chile as the competition for this route had the double price. Only 1 checked baggage allowed (as compared to 2 for.most South American airlines) was enough. The prices on board for beverages and snacks were not that high as compared to the European low cost airlines and with the exception that when we landed to Arica we had to wait more than one and a half hours in the plane because somebody forgot his/her luggage inside the terminal and the police had to check it for a bomb (this was what we were told afterwards in the airport), both flights were on time or before schedule, flight attendants were very helpful and friendly. There was a lack of entertainment on board.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSCL to ARI
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"changed the time of our flight"

(Brazil)

Sky Airline changed the time of our flight from Santiago to São Paulo flight without any warning. I now have to wait 12 hours in the airport. I have attempted several time to talk with someone but they have no supervisor available during the night and the only information given was "send a email to help / support". I have sent the email but the reply apparently takes a few days. Nobody speaks English, after 8 hours sleeping on the floor I managed to talk with a supervisor who told me that she could not give me a breakfast voucher. I am very disappointed with this company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago to São Paulo
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not reply to e-mails"

(New Zealand)

I never actually flew - as the airline changed the time of the connection flight to 3 hours before first flight arrived. They then offered me a flight with a wait of 10 hours leaving close to midnight and only arriving in Lima at 8 am. Which meant I miss my next connection. I cancelled this in July. Received reply that agent must lodge - agent lodged it in JULY. It is now November , my holiday over - I booked through LAN and left at the time that Sky originally had my booking for, but now Sky do not reply to e-mails. They let the phone ring and then play music for over and hour without answering. They have no access on the website. I'm so frustrated and disappointed - as it was 2 tickets (one for my husband and one for me) - value over $2000 NZ dollars.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePMC to LIM via SCL
Date FlownOctober 2015
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a great experience"

(Argentina)

Nice travel. We had a great experience with Sky Airline from Buenos Aires to Santiago. The only thing I can say is that they could offer a snack with the drinks. The seats were comfortable. In general it was good!
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEZE to SCL
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew was attentive "

(Germany)

I flew from Santiago de Chile to Punta Arenas. Sky Airline offers only Economy Class seating. The fight from Santiago to Punta Arenas makes a regular but short stop in Puerto Montt. For a low-cost airline compared to South American standards, Sky Airline was quite good. The crew was attentive throughout the flight. The pilot even mentioned when we flew over the famous Torres del Pain national park in Patagonia. We were served drinks on both legs of the flight. Seat comfort is okay for short to medium distances. Also, they don't have any IFE or wifi connection available on their Airbus fleet. However, I would definitely fly again with Sky Airline since it's great value for money.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSantiago de Chile to Punta Arenas
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Sky Airline customer review

(Chile)

Normally it is really hard for people over 6'8 ft tall to fit into economy seats. Therefore, we ask the airlines for emergency seats. However, Sky Airline is one of those airlines that gives these type of seats to anyone, but not to those who actually need them. This is how my short, really uncomfortable trip started. No entertainment aboard provided at all, even the airline doesn't allow the passenger to use any electronic device in the entire flight. My food was a small sandwich and a soda, normal plane food. Once we arrived at the airport, we had to wait over an hour to receive our bags. According to the airline, "They didn't have much workers to give us our bags earlier". The worst part of it, is that they have this huge logo in every plane saying that they were granted the Skytrax Award as a best airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLa Serena to Santiago
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 20 Reviews