Top 100 Airlines  

Singapore Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 639 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"airline is certainly for you"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Hong Kong. Original A380 but was swapped out for a Boeing 777, so a little disappointed. My last experience with them was on a Boeing 747 (wasn't great then), and their service has improved considerably since. Check in was friendly and fuss free, and got along my way really quick. The IFE is rather dated but the selection was rich. Cabin interior was cosy and comfortable despite the age of the aircraft, making itself rather distinguishable from their sister budget air Scoot. The most memorable part was the food, which is a portion rather worthy of premium economy or even business class of other airlines. Return to Singapore an A330 looked newer and IFE was touch-screen. Cabin crew quickly served drinks and snacks after take-off, as there was slight delay on the ground. Separately they served the meal, and again they did not disappoint. Topped it off with a Hagen-Das ice-cream. The price was reasonably good as I booked early. If you are particular about having good food on board, this airline is certainly for you.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to HKG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"place cushions for back support"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Dubai. On my last flight I sat bulkhead. Today I’m sitting on a regular next gen biz class seat on SQ. I’m tall and with this seat if you’re sitting straight up (or slightly angled) you cannot stretch your legs straight ahead for you hit the seat in front. So to stretch out you have to sit sideways to put your feet in the allocated space. Thus, you also need to place a lot of cushions for back support so that you don’t feel the corner of the seat into which you’re leaning. Once you get into position it’s OK. But initially it feels uncomfortable for you’re sitting sideways. It also feels more extreme/tight compared to the older version of this seat. Given how many great new business class seats there are out there where you stretch out straight ahead, I think Singapore Airlines is soon going to have to change this seat configuration to stay on top. It is fine for medium-haul flights, but I think for the super long-haul flights it would become uncomfortable. A small detail that I love on these newly refurbished planes is the toilet seat handle. Such a simple feature that I’ve seen for years on the B747-800i but not on any other planes. With this small handle it’s so easy to lift the toilet seat up and so much more hygenic than the old way. The simple things!
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to DXB
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seat has lots more storage space"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Finally I get to fly on the Next Gen business class product from Singapore Airlines from Dubai to Singapore. The interior of the cabin is definitely more stylish with a copper - silver - gray colour palette that exudes elegance. For a change I sat in the bulkhead, which is usually not my preferred seat. But with this new seat, I think that is the best spot for you can stretch your legs straight ahead and not sideways like with the other seats. The seat has lots more storage space which is always welcome, along with some new small touches that I liked. The on/off screen button on the seat control panel is great. A separate USB plug for charging. And there are some new seat settings as well, which are handy given that for the full flat bed position you still need to get up and put the back of the seat down. Which I don’t mind at all. As to the quality of the food and service, it was typical SQ. Excellent. On my return flight am not sitting at the bulkhead. Curious to see how that goes.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDXB to SIN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"exceeded my expectations"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Fortunate enough to get a real good deal for a Business Class ticket on the inaugural Wellington to Canberra flight on 21 Sept 2016. Check in was quick and efficient, boarding was even quicker. Short Haul Business Class cabin in a 2-2-2 configuration, very comfortable and I found it quite spacious. Cabin crew very friendly as you expect from Singapore Airlines. A little pomp and ceremony being the first every B777-200 commercial flight out of Wellington, the first flight between Wellington and Canberra. Flight was fairly full, only a few seats left here and there. Quick take off and the service began with bubbles of course, food was really tasty and restaurant quality. Cabin crew very attentive, engaging and we had a few laughs along the way too. Flight was smooth, lie flat bed was flat and comfortable, still managed a few zzz's before landing. Seat comfort itself was great and inflight entertainment system, well I didn't try it at all, we were too busy having bubbles and food and laughs. Was a great flight and Singapore Airlines exceeded my expectations on this trip by far!
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteWLG to CBR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not let instruments as carry on"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Brisbane to London via Singapore. Would not recommend flying with Singapore Airlines if you are a musician who values their instruments. Never had any trouble with taking my guitar on other flights but as I went to book into my flight at Brisbane I was told that it was not company policy to let people take instruments on board and that I'd have to stow it under the plane. After a long discussion with the manager about how I've never had any trouble before and that it'd easily fit in an overhead onboard the aircraft she said to come back to the desk at around 9:30 when the crew would arrive, so I could ask them if I could be made an exception. I came back at 9 to be told that the crew had already arrived and said no so I would have to stow the instrument, I was then made to sign a form to waive my right to sue if the instrument was damaged before boarding the aircraft. I was assured by the staff that the guitar would be treated with the utmost care and I tried to put it to the back of my mind and enjoy the flight. Upon arriving back home I'm sad to see the wood on the head of the guitar has split and two of the tuning pegs have been damaged meaning my guitar which has traveled the world with me is now no more than an expensive ornament. What made me really dissapointed was being told there wouldn't be enough room on the aircraft for my guitar and then seeing 3 overhead compartments directly next to me free of any carry on luggage and plenty of seats free for it to have been stored. I know it's not Singapore Airlines policy to let people take instruments as carry on but I'm less than impressed about being lied to about not having enough room onboard and the fact that every other airline I've flown has had no problems with it. Apart from the guitar the flight was lovely, food amazing, staff were very friendly and the stewardess knew how to make a mean White Russian! Just wouldn't advise any musicians to take the risk and lose their beloved instrument.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to LHR via SIN
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"found the aircraft to be dated"

(South Africa)

Cape Town to Ko Samui via Singapore. The flight departed on time, with staff efficient and friendly. The standard and quantity of food offered has dropped. Staff work very hard, are intelligent and friendly. I found the aircraft to be dated, and the inflight entertainment quite limited. The aircraft was spotless, but again the 70's interior feel, and the lack of a decent IFE offer was disappointing. It reminds of the flights I took in the 90's. The seat was comfortable and the leg room was adequate. The second leg to Samui was a standard quick hop from Singapore with a superior plane and staff.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to USM via SIN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"couldn't fault this flight"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Munich. Check in was great, straight up to the desk. Used the business class lounge which was good to have a bite to eat and relax. This aircraft had the new business class seat and the reviews are right - it is the best business seat I've come across. Heaps of room and your own little compartment. Had 3 course meal before bed. The bed was great with myself 6'4 being able to totally lay stretched out and get hours of sleep. Booked the cook and had the full English breakfast before landing. Couldn't fault this flight one bit.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to MUC
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a superior travel experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I booked a flight from Melbourne to Trivandrum via Singapore. I had a great connection - only 4 hours transit in Singapore. A few weeks later my SilkAir India flight was rescheduled. However Singapore Airlines provided me with a hotel for the day, transfers and meals. So although delayed for a day I got to go sight seeing in Singapore and had a rest at a very nice hotel. Previously I flew Etihad to India via Abu Dhabi. However Etihad has 10 abreast seating on the 777 and it was a 14 hour flight and very uncomfortable. I chose Singapore Airlines for the 9 abreast seating on the 777 and the 8 hour flight to Singapore which was much more enjoyable. The service with Singapore Airlines was excellent including hot towels and fantastic cabin crew. Changi Airport was a beautiful place to visit and Singapore is a beautiful city for a stopover. I totally recommend Singapore Airlines, Silk Air and Changi Airport for a superior travel experience when you have a choice!
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to TRV via SIN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"an average flying experience"

(Australia)

I flew from Brisbane to Beijing to Perth with Singapore Airlines via Singapore. Apart from the one leg on the A380 (PEK-SIN), the other legs were operated by old and tired aircraft with cabin interiors that said as much. The FAs were the usual attentive and professional SQ Girls & Boys and the IFE was "well stocked" but I wasn't able to enjoy it because it kept crackling and, on at least two occasions, the movie re-started itself. In the end we got to our destinations safely and on time, I guess. Overall, it was an average flying experience.
AircraftA330, B777, A380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to PEK via PER
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"standard of service being dropped"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Singapore to Tokyo Narita. The service was horrible with staff not as polite or welcoming as they use to be in the earlier flights experienced. I noticed the standard of service being dropped and the inflight entertainment system was horribly maintained. I ordered a drink from the air hostess but then she said that she wasn't free and would bring it in a while but 30 minutes passed no sight of her nor my drink. The entertainment system remote being beside you at the seat was discomforting as whenever you pulled it your elbows would disturb the person beside you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to NRT
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no