Vote Now  

Singapore Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 718 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"my best flight ever"

(Germany)

Verified Review | From boarding in Dusseldorf to reaching Changi, everything went smooth. We were greeted by professional well-presented crew. Upon reach my seat in Premium Economy I wanted to take photo of my seat, where a cabin crew delightfully approached if she can take a picture for me while sitting and said "it is great to have you on-board Sir and I would like to assure that your special meal is loaded". We left DUS in time. The service followed with hot towel, drinks and nuts and meals. Using book the cook service means getting your meal before your fellow passengers. The meal was okay and we were offered three choices of warm bread and big selection of fancy drinks. After meals, they served ice cream but missed on me, where a crew assured that they are not offering it to me since I am vegetarian and ice cream contains gelatine. Since it was a day flight, crew was actively anticipating needs and were very busy serving to a group of very demanding passengers in economy. This flight had dedicated crew for Premium Economy and they came around at least 3 times to assure if everything is fine. Many rounds of snacks in a basket and drinks on tray and crew looked enthusiastic, service minded and very friendly. We were made to feel like welcomed guests. I walked to see economy class, the crew were happy to chat about A350 product. The aircraft by itself is very quiet, quieter than B787 and toilets are spaciously planned and were kept clean. The air ventilation can be really felt and cabin design made me feel relaxed. The Captain announced turbulence, and crew walked through the cabin to ensure we have fastened seatbelts. Before landing, breakfast was served and immigration cards handed out. We landed in time and I left the aircraft as a happy passenger with a feeling that this was my best flight ever.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteDusseldorf to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"didn't feel I got value-for-money"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Singapore to London Heathrow. I've flown Singapore Airlines in Economy Class long haul several times and been satisfied. On this occasion I decided to opt for Premium Economy. I was flying from Auckland to London via Singapore but the first leg was on Air New Zealand, and I recommend their Premium Economy service. Singapore Airlines seats have a bit more space and legroom than Economy, and the in-flight entertainment screens are bigger, but otherwise everything was identical to Economy class. I'm a vegetarian and I had the exact same two meals I had in Economy class three weeks earlier, and I didn't enjoy them the first time around. My companion ordered the "book the cook" and his meals seemed better quality, but none of the available options were vegetarian. For the breakfast service they completely forgot to offer us a drink. The service was bored and impersonal throughout, the flight attendants were rushing around and didn't smile. The toilets are shared with Economy class. For sleeping I didn't find the seats significantly more comfortable than regular Economy and the fixed central console means you can't stretch out over any adjacent empty seats. That said I'm only 5'3", my 6'1" companion did appreciate the extra legroom. The entertainment selection is extensive and the noise cancelling headphones good. However, we were in the front bulkhead seats and the screens were set on the wall ahead of and were too high for comfortable viewing, there are also irritating advertisements ahead of each programme. All-in-all extremely disappointed, didn't feel I got value-for-money compared to regular Economy class. This experience has really put me off flying Singapore Airlines again.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSingapore to London
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"food was not up to scratch"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Brisbane via Singapore. SAS Lounge in CPN comfortable and food looked OK, was not sure re wine out of a tap and so left this alone. The only other alcohol in the Business Class lounge was beer. Flight left on time and crew started working down one side of the Business Class cabin almost immediately, the other side took substantially longer. In any case the crew were helpful, the food was fine and the seat comfortable. Wine was good and topped up. A short stay in the lounge at Changi T3 and then re-boarded the same plane at the same gate (different flight number). Crew still fine but food was not up to scratch, the steak was very overcooked to the point of being really tough. The vegetables were mush, I didn't eat much and the crew member asked if I wanted anything else but I went to sleep instead. Supper coming into Brisbane was better. Waited 25 minutes for one bag in BNE, the other didn't arrive. Filled in the details at the airport. Have not heard back, no one answers the baggage service phone although you can leave a message that no one responds to as well. Calling Singapore Airlines they give you the number for Menzies Aviation that you have already called, they also mentioned that they would call back but have not. The online bag track system has had the same message on it for 6 days. In all the standard here is not commensurate with the full business class fare paid. The main advantage of the flights was being able to sleep, arriving on time is good but not when you are without your luggage and the follow up is so poor.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCPH to BNE via SIN
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a low level of enthusiasm"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Munich. A recently renovated 777-300 was exceptionally comfortable and provided the basis for an excellent trip if only the crew had cared. All crew members were well presented as always but those serving my part of the cabin showed a low level of enthusiasm about their jobs. It started with a 40 minute wait for a glass of wine and water, there was a similar 40 minute wait for a coffee in the morning. Offered a regular meal as opposed to the special meal I had pre-ordered at both dinner and breakfast, indicated that they weren't paying much attention. Not called by name once, just "sir" with a half hearted apology at dinner re the offer of the initial meal and then when asked if I would like desert a pointed response to me when asking what it was, being told "I have no idea, you ordered a special meal". Dinner was very watery as I don't think that the water from the vegetables had been drained and so the gravy was more like a soup. Breakfast omelette was cold. After I asked for the regular cereal to be taken away, I think that they began heating the special meal I had ordered only at this point. When it was served 10 minutes later half of it was cold to the point of being refrigerated. Not offered water between meals, had to go to the galley each time. While not the fault of the airline, it was topped off by a nearly two hour wait at customs. There was no immigration officer at the "crew only" queue and the crew went through our queue so they were off long before the passengers. We were behind a very slow moving contingent of Air China passengers. By the time I got to the baggage so much time had elapsed our flight was no longer listed and had to go to the Lufthansa bag desk to find out which carousel to go to. Landed at about 6:00 am and was in a taxi at about 9:00 am, which is far too long. The slow processing on arrival in Munich reflected the poor quality of the whole experience. Luckily the seat was so comfortable I had slept really well.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Munich
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"soon have tough competition"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Singapore Airlines is dropping their lead over other airlines. While service is still consistent as it was for many years, nothing has changed and the food is everytime getting worse. I have flown Singapore Airlines in last 2 months a few times and the main courses offered I could not eat them and left them. No question asked of course. Being the most expensive and for long time leading they better watch or they will soon have tough competition.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Bali
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Singapore Airlines again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Singapore to Jakarta return. I always had a good experience on Singapore Airlines, until December 4 and again December 8, 2016. I flew from Singapore to Jakarta and then back to Singapore. When I booked, I gave SIA my United Mileage Plus account number so I could get credit for the two short flights. I was told it was in my profile and even showed up on my two boarding passes for both flights. When a month went by and I did not see any credit in my UA Mileage Plus account for the two SIA flights, I contacted Mileage Plus to look into it. I was told by UA that I was not getting credit because my flights were in K class economy, and that was ineligible to get miles on United, even though SIA is a Star Alliance Partner. I then took my complaint to SIA who told me something I had never heard of "when you book in K, V, Q or N Class you only get miles on SIA." What? I flew on the plane, I paid for my ticket and SIA only gives miles for their Kris Flyer program? Lame, .stupid and unfair. Part of my flights to Singapore, part of my trip was on ANA and they gave me full mileage credit on UA Mileage Plus for the NRT-SIN leg. I will never fly Singapore Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very impressed by Singapore Airlines"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Singapore. Superb product! Right from boarding till reaching Changi. Boarding began in time and orderly, zone wise boarding which helped in quick boarding and we left within 25 minutes considering it was a fairly full flight. We were greeted by delightful and genuine crew. The aircraft was clean and business class is the best I have seen. Premium economy seats are very comfortable with lots of options to store gadgets, charging point, usb port and big hd screen with many options. As soon as we were airborne, hot towel service followed by snack and drink followed by meals. I used the cook the book service, passengers using such option are served first, this doesn't allow you to dine with your fellow passengers unless you wait. Usual meal service was hurried and crew seemed to be in stress as economy in back was completely booked out. The meal by itself was okay. For premium economy I would have expected to be elaborate. Trays were collected after a while and rolled down service. After some hours I tried thier snack service, crew delightfully greeted and opened snack options and gave me more than requested. Fresh fruits, sandwiches, chocolate waffles and crisps. The crew was also courteous enough to inquire if they could do anything so that I can sleep for a while. I also noticed that crew went through cabin couple of times to anticipate our needs. Although captain announced turbulence and turned on seatbelt sign, crew walked through cabin with torch to check seat belts and ensured we fasten it. They even fasten seat belts for passengers who were sleeping, never seen such care on another airline. Breakfast was served before landing and immigration cards were handed in time. At all times, crew were caring and meticulously dressed. I am very impressed by Singapore Airlines and thier product. Definately my first option to Asia.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteFRA to SIN
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"clearly shows this is a direct flight"

(United States)

Verified Review | Singapore to San Francisco. I have an email with my itinerary showing the flight is from Singapore to San Francisco. There are no words about a 1hr 30 mins stop in Hong Kong. Only today I realized the flight is through Hong Kong. If I had known that, I wouldn't choose this company at all. The agent was surprised to see my itinerary as it clearly shows this is a direct flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to SFO via HKG
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service was slow and disappointing"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Perth to Munich via Singapore. This is a review of the flight SQ328 from Singapore to Munich on 10th February. The ordeal started in Singapore. While the flight was not marked as delayed, the departure time had been pushed back by 35 minutes on the airport screens. When I inquired, the answer was that "we are using the first available aircraft". Nice indeed. Singapore Airlines obviously works under the premise that changing departure times because of missing aircraft does not mean a delay. The flight boarded in accordance with the displayed delayed departure time. However, once on board, nothing happened at the departure time. No announcements were made. After inquiring again, the captain condescended to make an announcement that he was waiting for other passengers to join the flight. When inquiring a 3rd time what additional time we would be looking at, I got told that the captain is unable to tell. After an estimated 15 additional passengers had come in during additional 45 minutes of waiting, the aircraft finally taxied out to the runway. However, while several other aircraft passed us and took off, we were sitting in a parking spot next to the runway. This time an announcement was made that we "have a few aircraft ahead of us" - after about 20 minutes, the captain told us that his flight plan had expired and the route to Munich had been closed because of the long time we waited for other passengers. The result was that we had to taxi back to the gate from which we had left, in order to get a new flight plan and refuel the aircraft. This exercise cost another hour. In summary, it may be justified to wait for connecting passengers from delayed flights. However, the captain should have communicated honestly and, in particular, never taxied out to the runway. It is unprofessional and proves utmost incompetence to do this without a robust flight plan. He could have easily obtained an adjusted flight plan while we were sitting at the gate waiting for the connecting passengers from delayed flights. His lack of planning and anticipation skills are very concerning from a passengers's view. What does the guy do if anything unforeseen happens in the air? To add to the picture, the aircraft was worn, old and super noisy. The service in the back of the cabin was slow and disappointing when compared to previous Singapore Airlines standards. This was the second encounter of disappointing Singapore Airlines service in four flights on my recent trip. Things seem to go south at Singapore Airlines. In general, I question the justification of SQ having a five star airline rating.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to MUC via SIN
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was impeccable"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Chennai return. The outbound flight was excellent in terms of being on time, the inflight service was impeccable. The seafood that I normally order was very very good. The flight crew were friendly and helpful as I needed some help with ordering in flight duty free goods. On the return from Chennai to Singapore, the service during the flight was bad. The cabin crew with their robotic attitude were interested to finish the service as soon as possible, to disappear from sight. Other than that I do not have any complaint to make.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Chennai
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes