Top 100 Airlines  

Sichuan Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 27 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"crew were attentive and prompt"

(Nepal)

Verified Review | Flew Sichuan Airlines from Kathmandu to Lhasa. Check in was quick though not friendly. The flight was delayed an hour but it happens to be a common occurence on this route. The Radisson lounge was okay but the staff seemed lazy and seemingly uninterested in providing quality service. Inflight meal served was breakfast which was below par for J class but the crew were attentive and prompt for this 1.25 hrs flight. No, reason given for the delay and the flight deck crew were mute the whole journey. This flight flies over the Nepalese himalayas and close to Everest but the crew never provided any info on when we were passing Everest which was a real let down. This sector is also regarded as one of the most expensive routes in the world when it comes to ticket price and flight time ratio.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKTM to LXA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no care or consideration"

(Australia)

Lhasa to Kathmandu, and Sichuan Airlines did not load my luggage onto the plane because the aircraft was overweight. They then gave me the run-around for several days in regards to when they would send on my luggage, and when I needed to leave the country they gave me false contact information. They have not communicated back to me, ignored every effort I've made to contact them and have shown no care or consideration whatsoever. I assume my luggage is now lost, although the airline won't even return any correspondence to confirm.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLXA to KTM
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"never being contacted"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Shenzhen via Chongqing at an incredibly low price compared to Qantas and Cathay. The business class check-in at Sydney Airport was fairly slow. The Skyteam lounge was basic. No frequent flyer program available to accumulate miles into (except their own I guess). The cabin service with great crew. Business class seat was just an angled recline with no flat bed. Food was excellent but I tried the Chinese menu only with special chilli sauce. Cannot judge on the English proficiency of the crew as I spoke Mandarin Chinese onboard after reading previous English speaking passengers’ reviews. Sichuan Airlines cannot check the luggage through the final destination although within the same airline, nor ground transport existed in Chongqing airport at 4ish in the morning therefore I had to drag my bags from intl terminal to domestic for probably 500m on a 4-lane airport highway against the traffic with no pedestrian path existed, where the Sichuan airline counters is located at the furthest end of the domestic terminal. Lucky there was not much traffic at 4:30am. On another note, we had to wait on board upon landing before being allowed to leave the aircraft because the custom officers had not started working. Encountered problems with domestic security check as my booking on their system showed “internet booking” instead of a Chinese ID card number. Trouble started when there was a thunderstorm in Shenzhen with 200 flighted cancelled or delayed. No notification from airline by phone or email. They could not move me to an earlier flight on the same day that was still operating by Sichuan Airlines from Shenzhen to Chongqing. Only option offered was 3 days later with the same route back to Sydney. I therefore had to ferry to Hong Kong to catch a Singapore Airlines flight back to Sydney on the same day. I understand the airport chaos was beyond control of the airline due to bad weather, but the weather condition in Hong Kong was absolutely the same as it is a just neighbouring city a few miles away. Sichuan Airlines did offer me 50% refund for involuntary cancellation of the return journey. The refund however has not come back for 2 months for now. I chased them 3 times over the phone to China but was told each time they’d escalate and asked me to leave contact details. Never being contacted. They did not have any record of my contact details or previous conversations. I insisted to speak to the duty manager yesterday when I called and demanded for a follow up. This apparently has worked, and an email soon followed on the second day advising “pig, your refund has been approved, check your bank account in a week to confirm”. I don’t think I will deal with Sichuan Airlines again.
AircraftA330, A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to SZX via CKG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airlines I have been on"

(Australia)

Sichuan Airlines is one of the worst airlines I have ever been on. Coming home we board the plane to find it had no air conditioning working properly. With 300 people on board it became very uncomfortable to say the least. 1 hour later sitting on the plane with still no air and getting hotter by the minute. The crew could not care less, the air hostess pretended not to understand the westerners on the plane when we started to complain. It was not humane to have people on a plane in these conditions. 2 hours later the captain finally opens the door and tells 2 westerners to guard the door. Pretty bad to say the least, the food on the flights is uneatable so take your own. No flight entertainment - all in Chinese but half the plane is westerners. And the seats are designed for the small people. Do yourself a favour pay the extra 100.00 and fly a non Chinese airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Beijing
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"completely ignore non-Chinese"

(Australia)

I would recommend that if you can, fly with someone else. Sichuan Airlines cabin crew completely ignore non-Chinese. Their manner borders on being rude and any request is not appreciated. English is very poor, the food is disgusting and inedible, service is poor (eg no pillow for non Chinese but plenty if you are). Entertainment in English is limited to one very old movie on the entertainment system that is so worn out that persistence is needed just to change the language setting. The best thing to watch is the aircraft tracker. The toilet was so filthy the cabin crew closed it down leaving one toilet for all travellers. We were with a travel group with return bookings. All reported the same on both legs of the trip with Sichuan Airlines so it wasn't just us. This airline and Chongqing International are no way ready for international tourism. We did take off on time and arrive safely so that does warrant something positive.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChongqing to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff polite ... but English was restricted"

(Australia)

Shanghai to Melbourne via Chengdu with Sichuan Airlines. Relatively new and clean aircraft. Staff were polite and helpful, but English was restricted. Meals okay, except for 'breakfast' on return to Melbourne. No choice! Only a Chinese sort of rice with water (reminded me of descriptions of food served to POWs in Changi during the war!), and was inedible - but the Chinese on board loved it. If Sichuan Airlines wants to fly to Australia and attract Western passengers, they have to offer a reasonable alternative, as they did on the trip Melbourne to China. We enjoyed a nice omelette for breakfast on that flight.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSHA to MEL via CTU
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Sichuan Airlines customer review

(United Kingdom)

First class to Nanjing from Chengdu on 12th July 2015. Quick check in and a fast track through security to a seperate area. First class lounge was well stocked with drinks snd snacks, wi-fi was also good. We were placed on a minibus to the flight and boarded swiftly. I was served a drink and given a pair of slippers, greeted by lovely smiles of the stewardesses. Take off was 1 hour 30 minutes late due to problems at Chengdu air traffic control. Wide seats comfortable, fell asleep in it for the delay. Leg room was great, recline could have been better though. After take off, we were given duvets which were soft and nice and a meal was served - it was delicious.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteChengdu to Nanjing
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Sichuan Airlines customer review

(United Kingdom)

My family and I traveled from Chengdu to Shanghai in comfort and on time. In fact we took off 5 minutes early and arrived 10 minutes early. The plane was modern and very clean. No issues with service at all. One of the stewardesses spoke good English and without prompting sought us out when the meal came to check we understood the choices. I would recommend this airline to anyone and will definitely choose to fly Sichuan Airlines when I'm next back in that neck of the woods.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Sichuan Airlines customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

Chengdu to Kunming. 2 minutes to check in and 15 minutes early departure which makes a change when compared to anywhere else where the 30-minute-delay is near obligatory. Bags waiting by the time I reached the carousel but beware the lengthy walk at Kunming.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Sichuan Airlines customer review

(United States)

We took this airline 3 times in China from Kunming to Yichang from Yichang to Chengdu and from Chengdu to Jiuzhaigou and all 3 flights were on time. The seats were wonderfully comfortable and there was a lot of leg room - I'm 5'11" and didn't feel cramped at all. Our favorite part was the beginning with a sort of "flying 101" video - just in Chinese but it was still hysterical. I loved the terrified plane that flew around the bad weather pattern. Then you got another fun video near the end of the flight. Any time I'm in China and have a choice to take Sichuan Air - that will be the one.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service N/A
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 27 Reviews