Best Cabin Crew  

Scoot

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 226 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"hype, little substance"

(Australia)

Scoot Biz from Bangkok to Perth via Singapore. Scoot have new Boeing 787 aircraft now, that’s an improvement over the old B777. Like all the discount airlines, you have to pay for everything even with Scoot Biz - but they go the extra mile with charges not just for baggage, meals, entertainment, they even charge you to be among the first to be boarded. At DMK no early check in available, no dedicated Scoot Biz check in lane, but I asked and was shown to a check in counter immediately. DMK-SIN Boeing 787 has only 3 rows of business class but the seats are bigger and have more recline than economy class, but were hard as concrete. As I had 11 hours waiting in SIN for the connection I decided to pay extra for lounge access, they call it ‘scoot in style’. They use the SATS lounge which is very old and tired lounge, uninterested staff, uncomfortable seats, very limited snacks - the only redeeming feature was a shower, so refreshing for the next flight was helpful. SIN-PER was another Boeing 787 but with 6 rows of business class, same hard seats. The only highlight of the trip was both meals (beef) were quite good, not usually expected with discount airlines. So much for priority baggage handling for their ScootBiz passengers, mine were among the last to come out. All hype, little substance, just another low cost airline pretending to be something better.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDMK to PER via SIN
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"seats were fantastic"

(United Kingdom)

Economy from Sydney to Singapore and ScootBiz on the way back. Overall, the flight was cheap - you get what you pay for. Bought the fares on a sale, and even with fees with checked-in luggage, it was about half the cost of a full-service airline. The seats were fantastic - especially for a low cost airline. According to Seatguru economy seats were a generous 18"-19" wide. This is wider than many full-service airlines. Practically speaking, this could mean a difference between being able to tuck your elbows between the seat handles (instead of clashing with your neighbour's elbow) or not. Leg room was also adequate, although I am shorter than average (5'8"). The ScootBiz seat was, obviously, much more comfortable. But note that it is a Premium Economy, rather than Business offering. It involved reclining wide seats but added utility is limited because the leg rest awkwardly stops mid-calf and cuts off your circulation after a while. The major let-downs were twofold. Firstly, the appalling attitude the ground and especially call centre staff. After talking to them I felt like they were doing me a huge favour by allowing me to fly on Scoot. I get that it's a budget airline, but it doesn't cost much (if at all) to be slightly more courteous. The second is the food. You are not allowed to bring your own food, and you need to buy theirs. Not surprisingly, food is not cheap. But unfortunately, the Nasi Lamak I got was greasy and salty. Bottom line: if you're a budget traveller, they are nevertheless solid. If you're an infrequent flyer, I'd consider spending the extra money on a full-service airline.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to SIN
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"pluses include price and comfort"

(Australia)

We've flown Perth-to-Singapore (economy) more than a dozen times. Pluses include price and comfort. This was our first (and probably last) business class flight with Scoot. Our son, based in Singapore, upgraded us as a gift. The sole benefit was seat size / comfort. I agree with a previous reviewer: Scoot airline attendants are confused. And who can blame them? Scoot advertises an Australian shiraz, but never, ever delivers. It really doesn't matter if you're flying Economy or Business Class, Perth-Singapore or Singapore-to-Perth, there's never, ever that advertised Wolf Blass Shiraz listed in the Food and Beverages catalogue. We really enjoy a glass of red with our evening meal. It just never happens aboard a Scoot flight. Happy to pay that S$9.00 per bottle, even in Biz Class (where it ought to be free) but no there isn't even one little 185 mL bottle of red aboard the plane. We fly abroad over four months every year. We find communication with nearly all airlines easy. Try to communicate with Scoot. It's truly a lost cause.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff all looked confused"

(Australia)

Every year, my daughter and I would travel during school holidays, this year we chose to travel to Singapore. After checking, I noticed Scoot was a couple of hundred dollars cheaper compared to another major airline. So I booked Scoot and booked only 1 luggage for me and my daughter. A day before our flight, my daughter said she might need an extra luggage so I went to the Scoot website "Manage My Booking" Section to purchase an extra luggage allowance. It took me half an hour to get to my booking details because the website could not find my booking reference. Finally after getting to my flight details, I added an extra 10kg on top of my luggage allowance of 20kg and paid $34. I also paid $24 to book our seat numbers. I tried to add meals in our booking but the website said meal booking was not available at that moment. Finally on the day of our departure, 15th January 2016, we went to Sydney airport and the check in guy said our luggage was over the 20kg allowance and I said I booked an extra 10kg the night before. They said there was no extra 10kg booked in our flight and that I have to pay $140 extra for the excess weight. I asked them to double check because I know I paid for it the night before. The woman said they see an extra 10kg booking for our return flight. I asked there was a mistake and if they could fix that problem and apply the extra 10kg allowance for this flight. The woman said in a firm tone there's nothing they can do, I have to pay the extra $140. Before boarding we bought a couple of bottled water and after take off I pulled a bottle water out of our carry bag but the flight attendant told us we are not allowed to consume any food or drinks we have with us. I said my daughter is thirsty and the flight attendant told us we have to buy water from them which cost $4 for a very small bottle of water, and we waited for at least 15 mins for the bottled water to be given us. An hour after later, the flight attendants started serving meals to those who were successful in booking their meals. I asked one of the flight attendants if I could buy food and she said we have to wait. We waited for more than half an hour before she came to take our order. I ordered a wrap and she asked me if i wanted it warmed up. I said yes, and after paying it took another 30 mins for the food to be served to us. I was observing the staff on board and I noticed they keep on asking each other and they all looked confused.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"mostly smiling and friendly"

(Australia)

Singapore to Perth with Scoot, a low-cost airline but with a modern Boeing 787 fleet. Efficient check-in with dedicated ScootBiz lane and embarkation with Biz pax first on board. Seating is hardly business class, more like premium economy. Staff mostly smiling and friendly, efficient to the point of rote. For example, the meal provide in Scootbiz is very basic but reasonably tasty. However, my companion had ordered a different meal to mine. When the attendant was asked for an ice cream the same as is available on my meal, was told no, it was only a Toblerone with her meal. Do it by the book! Looking back to the main cabin there was a separate 'quiet' zone directly behind business area, no children allowed, but low and behold two very small crying children in business section! Scoot, overall, have a good LCC product which compares favourably and in many cases exceeds, service on other airlines. The only downside was the disastrous arrival in Perth, an airport designed, and operated, like one from the 1960s, with zero service standards. Just dreadful.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to PER
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"was pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Bangkok to Sydney via Singapore, and the only reason I chose Scoot was the low airfare and I was pleasantly surprised. The plane was clean and sleek. Comfy-ish seats (I'm only 4'11 so leg room isn't an issue for me). The cabin lights were multicoloured. The staff were friendly and smiley. Perhaps because they had comfy looking black and yellow polo shirts/dresses (albeit a little Star Trek like). Not overly efficient with food/drink - they practically ran past with the trolley and if you didn't make eye contact you weren't getting anything. For the price though, and arriving in one peice; I'm taking that as a win.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to SYD via SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"declined significantly"

(Singapore)

I think Scoot’s service quality has declined significantly these days. Yesterday (Jan 23, 2015), I was flying with my friend from Sydney to Singapore. Our flight was delayed. However, neither the check-in desk staff nor the digital displays said anything about the delay. We realized about the delay only when we reached the boarding gate at 1:15PM and found no plane there. The flight took off at 5:51PM (Sydney Time), 4 hours after the original departure time. However, instead of Scoot’s promised 50 dollar voucher for 4 hour delay, the crews shook off their responsibility for the delay by offering the passengers a bottle of water and a packet of chips. Even in that case, they could not provide chips and water bottle for every passenger. In addition, I and my friend requested the check-in staff to give us seats in the middle of the plane if possible. The check-in desk staff told us that she is giving us seats 44D/F (My friend on 44D, me on 44E and 44F is empty) and we two can use these three seats. However, when we went in, we found that another passenger is assigned to seat 44F. I really don’t understand why it was necessary to lie to us. She was not obliged to give us seats according to our request.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"the best set of flights"

(United Kingdom)

As a 6 ft 3, fairly well built bloke, I regularly struggle with long haul comfort - though this doesn't really stop me from travelling on every opportunity. Scoot were competitively priced on our routes from Hong Kong to Perth and then Perth back to Singapore, so I thought I'd give them a go given their association with Singapore Airlines which bred confidence. I was genuinely amazed how much room I found myself with, seat width I didn't find an issue. On one leg we asked whether it were possible to sit at one of the pairs of seats at the rear of the plane. I highly recommend these. There was plenty of space to the side of the window seat to place books etc. I found the staff pleasant and flights were punctual. I can't comment on the food as I didn't try it but the on-board Wi-Fi was very impressive. Reasonably priced (about £8 for 3 hours if I remember correctly) which kept me entertained. Only negative was the placement of the lighting/attendant buttons on the armrests. Proper design issue there I think. The lack of entertainment was expected so I can't complain but it's probably the only factor that differentiates it negatively from a full service carrier. Overall it was probably the best set of flights I've taken in Economy and put the British Airways 787 offering on the KUL-LHR leg to absolute shame - despite being a budget carrier!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PER via SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"one of the worst flights"

(Australia)

Our Scoot flight from Perth to Singapore was passable, but the return pretty horrendous and one of the worst flights I've ever been on! Ground staff in Singapore were great and check in very smooth but it was all downhill from there. Boeing 787's are considered to be fairly new but this fleet is looking very worn and the plane was not terribly clean either. Legroom is good (by budget standards) but armrests are tiny and we were repeatedly clicking the overhead light on by accident. Could not decipher many of the announcements due to the poor English and very heavy accents of the attendants. Flight was very turbulent for most of the journey too which didn't help. If you must travel Scoot, get a seat in the 'quiet zone', or towards the front of the aircraft - even if you have to pay extra. Also, you can bid on business seats and 'win' an upgrade for as little as $100 from what I have heard.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to PER
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"real cheap fare"

(Malaysia)

Melbourne to Singapore with Scoot. Check in was ok, but passengers were made to wait inside the airbridge for almost 10 minutes. The new Boeing 787 aircraft had a layer of black dust on its ventilation slots above passengers' heads. A stewardess told me that they try to turn around the aircraft so fast that there is no time for proper cleaning. The toilet sink was also blocked for most of the flight. Premium selection meal was okay, but very small. The only solace was the real cheap fare that I paid for the flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no