Vote Now  

Scoot

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 274 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no explanations or any compensation"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | I flew from Singapore to Melbourne (return flight) with Scoot. On both journeys there was a delay with no explanations or any compensation. From SIN to MEL, the flight departed with a 2 hour delay, around 2am. Families with babies were extremely tired at this point and not even a cup of water was offered by Scoot staff. From MEL to SIN, so far it's 3 hours of delay and counting. I will definitely avoid this company in the future and will not recommend it to anyone, especially not families, unless the one and only consideration is money. I'm used to flying low cost companies but this one is really the worst.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I do not recommend this airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | We purchased a cheap deal ticket from Perth to Athens via Singapore to fly in July 2017. We only decided to go to Athens as it was such a cheap deal. Scoot was selling cheap tickets to establish its first route to Europe. We then went on to book all of our ongoing flights to Italy and accomodation. We are having our wedding in Italy so it's a very special trip. Scoot then changed our outgoing flight by 3 days. At first they were only willing to give a travel voucher for a refund, now they are offering a refund but it will take 8 weeks to process. In the meantime we still have to purchase tickets to Athens at a premium price - a destination that we didn't need to fly into, we only decided to go that route to save money. Our trip is now costing us a fortune. Scoot have completely soured our wedding trip. What should be the happiest time of our lives is now completely stressful. I do not recommend this airline and would never fly with them or Singapore Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Athens via Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"they nickel and dime you for everything"

(United States)

Verified Review | I booked a flight through Scoot, it was a 17hr journey from Tokyo to Bangkok then to Singapore then finally to Chennai. The flight itself was comfortable but all the excess fees that have to be paid are ridiculous. Water cost $4, food was also extra and I was flying for almost an entire day. If I wished for my bags to be flown straight to my final destination that was also extra by purchasing their "scoot-thru" service. There was no inflight entertainment at all. Although this airline had a good flight they nickel and dime you for everything. If you are not traveling to Singapore, near by or if your total flight time is longer than 7 hours, I would not recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Chennai via Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not travelling on Scoot again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth to Hong Kong via Singapore. I made a online booking for my son and myself. Although I was on the Scoot Website, I booked Scoot on the Perth - Singapore sectors but the Singapore - Hong Kong sectors were with Tiger Airlines. I paid for food on the Perth to Singapore sector and the Singapore to Perth sector. As well as seat allocation, so I could sit next to my son. I also paid for extra legroom (it was 79 AUD for each seat allocation with legroom on the Perth - Singapore return sectors. When we boarded in Perth, we were allocated our seats, but advised that we didn't order any food. As I didn't print out a hard copy of my reservation, I had no leg to stand on, and as had no wifi could not retrieve my booking. When I got to Singapore, they advised, that I had cancelled the meals (even thought I had been charged for them.) I ended up paying again for meals on board with cash. Was annoyed when I got to Singapore that we were flying Tiger, I thought we were flying Scoot. Before we returned I rang Scoot (was on hold and on the telephone call for just shy of 2 hours) to try and reinstate my meals. Scoot advised that I could not get a refund for the food not used on the first sector and now they could not guarantee any food on the return sector as was inside 72 hours. (I thought issue was resolved in Singapore on the way up), I was actually ringing to see why a seat hadn't been allocated out of Hong Kong for me as I had paid for it. I was advised that I had not paid for a seat. When we got to Singapore and was issued with boarding cards for the Singapore - Perth sector our seats were not where we had paid to sit. When I queried this, I was advised that "we are just ground staff, we cannot do anything, and you will need to put it in writing". I did this when I returned to Perth. Only to be advised by Scoot by email 2 weeks later that they were "sorry for the inconvenience" would give me a voucher for the value of 50 Singapore dollars (even thought on face value I paid $82 Singapore Dollars for each seat), and nothing was mention of the food that was not provided ($36.00). In total I spend $192.00 Australian Dollars for services I didn't receive. I will not be travelling on Scoot again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePER to HKG via SIN
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Scoot offers better comfort"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I flew Bangkok to Singapore return on 26 January and 5 February respectively. Scoot uses Bangkok's older Don Mueang airport (DMK) which is slightly closer to the city centre than Suvarnabhumi airport and smaller which means a shorter trek between immigration and the boarding gates. I was not able to do an online check-in in BKK (which may not be an option out of BKK) but was able to do so for the return flight in SIN. I arrived at DMK about 90 mins before departure. There was barely any queues for check-in. After the online check-in in SIN, I was prompted to print my boarding pass which I did but there are many self-service stations near the Scoot check-in counters in Changi which prints the luggage tags and also issues boarding passes. Both flights departed on time and arrived at the destinations ahead of schedule even though the flight arriving into SIN was placed in a holding pattern for over 20 mins due to traffic in Changi. The plane from Bangkok to Singapore seems a little older with prominent carpet stains. The plane from Singapore was newer and somehow cleaner. Cabin crew were well trained and did several rounds of checks before departure and arrival. The level of detail to safety is not experienced even in some full service carriers. Announcements were clear and made in both English and Japanese. The seats have excellent recline which is way more generous than the other budget airlines I have flown on this route. Scoot flies the B787 which is my preferred plane compared to the other budget airlines which tend to fly single aisle planes for this route. If I were to fly budget carrier for the BKK-SIN route, I would choose Scoot because it offers better comfort.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Okay for flying 8 hours"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Singapore with Scoot. Check in process running well, good ground staff handling. This flight delayed 30 minutes in departure, but on time in arrival. Passenger seat occupancy maybe less than 1/3 of capacity. No problem with limited Legroom, because passenger can occupying 3 seats or more. I order chicken noodle 5 SGD and heaven and earth tea 4 SGD, accept banknotes or credit card. Okay for flying 8 hours. Friendly flight attendant. Arrival at Changi airport transfer using only 2 buses. It is really low cost carrier.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"no escape from ad ons"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Gold Coast to Bangkok via Singapore. Good points, beautiful modern Boeing 787, seats better than most premier league airlines, all 4 legs of my return flight left on time and arrived early. Decent and friendly staff. No problem checking in and reasonable wait. Bad points, it is budget so even if you pay the food will be poor, no entertainment, no free glass of water. I am used to deleting all add ons but no escape from Scoot, though even if you only have hand bag, nor $20 booking fee, add a cabin bag and $230 is 330+, and for one leg I even paid for unwanted insurance. Still cheaper than the premier league but now 2/3rd price not 1/2. I feel Singapore Airlines heart is not in it, both good and bad. Web page seems unreliable.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOOL to DMK via SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"better than some main airlines"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Bangkok via Singapore. Nothing to complain. As a budget airline, much better than some main airlines. Flight was very comfortable, even without paying extra, legroom was same or better than regular airline. Cabin crew were very nice. All the four legs of my journey was on Boeing 787, three times arrived at destinations 20 to 30 minutes early. Definitely don't worry about travelling next time with them.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to BKK via SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Scoot could have been a great airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew from Bangkok to Perth via Singapore. I like Scoot's 787 aircraft and the Economy class seats are some of the most comfortable around. For point to point travel they are a good deal, but I won't be using them for connecting flights again and here's why. Although Scoot will sell you an itinerary with connecting flights, the transit time can be very long. My original outbound schedule was changed such that it would have taken over 29 hours to arrive in Bangkok. I decided to connect in Singapore to another airline instead. Scoot does have a well-hidden policy for Australian travellers only, which allows for refunds in very limited circumstances - I did eventually get a partial refund on my flight, but only after I involved the Consumer Affairs authorities (and I still had to wait 10 weeks for the money). My return flight was a mere 17.5 hours elapsed, which was just about acceptable. But even though I had only carry on baggage, Scoot forced me to go through immigration in Singapore to get my onward boarding pass (after telling me in Bangkok that I could do this at the transfer desk). System limitations perhaps? Well no, if I had paid an extra $20 for "Scoot-Thru" they would have given me my boarding pass. Someone must have thought this was a great idea to make money out of customers, I think of it as a great way to lose customers. Another thing about connecting flights - according to the terms and conditions if you don't pay for Scoot-Thru and you miss your connection due to a delay by the airline, the airline won't help you at all - you've lost your flight! For the Singapore to Perth flight I paid THB970 for a "super seat". In extreme cases these seats can give you an extra 4 inches of leg room, but in my case it was only an extra 2 inches compared to my outbound flight - definitely not worth it. Speaking of extra expenses, the food is overpriced and awful. Vegetarian choices are particularly poor - and you're not allowed to bring your own. Scoot could have been a great airline, but by their mean-spirited practices they have snatched defeat from the jaws of victory.
AircraftBoeing 787-8 and Boeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to PER via SIN
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the noisiest flight I've ever had"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Scoot from Singapore to Melbourne. Purchased a more expensive ticket for their 'scoot in silence' seats which promises an adult-only zone which is silent so you can sleep. However my and my wife's seat was directly next to the toilet, and consequently the queue, the flush and the banging door. It was actually the noisiest flight I've ever had. I complained and was told there was nothing they could do. I've also added up the money I save by the cheaper ticket, and with all the other hidden charges it would have been cheaper to fly with a better airline. Yes, they are a budget airline, but there are some things which shouldn't cost money, such as good service. When our plane was boarding, the staff were just talking to each other and a huge amount of people were confused and not even sure what was happening. The food is also terrible - we paid for two teas (yes you have to pay even for tea), and they bought two foam cups and handed us two tea bags. We asked for milk, and got a strange look, and eventually someone came back with powdered milk sachets.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to MEL
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no