Scoot

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 404 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"thank you for everything you did"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I was with a party of 10 with a flight going from Cebu to Phuket via Singapore. Our flight got cancelled due to a damaged tire and some part of the wing. Scoot made sure to house us in one of the best hotels in Cebu nearest to the airport. The next day since we could not make it to our flight frm to phuket, they had us stay at the Crowne Plaza in Changi airport. Although we missed 2 days of our stay in Phuket, we nevertheless had an awesome time together as a family especially with the dinner and breakfast buffet spread we had when we stayed at both hotels. What was supposed to be a case of delays and cancellations turned out to be an unforgettable experience for the whole family. Scoot made sure to take care of us and made it so much easier for us despite the several days of delays due to the connection. it was not their intention to delay or cancel our flight because it was a technical issue and for our safety, it was best not to push the flight on the set original date. We appreciate all that you did to me and my family. This trip became all the more colorful and adventurous because of the efforts you made for us. I sincerely thank you for everything you did for us. Thank you. Customer retention at its best! I am a customer for life with Scoot.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCebu to Phuket via Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"would expect fair treatment"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Sydney. I have never been more frustrated in my life dealing with anything, as I have trying to get a fair customer outcome with Scoot. I had booked two seats with extra legroom for my wife and I, as we had a young infant flying with us and needed extra room. Without notice, they had changed the aircraft we were flying on, and the seats I had chosen were not extra legroom seats any more, they were just ordinary seats. There were more spacious seats available, but the crew insisted we had to pay to change to them. Anyway, that was not the frustrating part. Ever tried to get a refund from Scoot? I will tell you it is probably impossible. You would think it is straight forward: I paid for extra leg room seats -> they did not give me extra leg room seats -> therefore I should get a refund? Not so simple. I had paid $158 for the extra leg room seats, they told me they cannot refund me the whole amount as I had selected seats during the booking process so they had to charge me a seat selection fee (something like $20). I proceeded to tell them that the only reason I selected the seats were because I wanted extra space as we had an infant with us, not because I liked 11D and 11E. "Sorry sir, it is our policy", but they cannot actually point to this policy in any of their policy disclosure documents. No one I spoke with seemed to understand the basic concept that if I pay for a service and do not receive what I paid for, I should get a refund. They said they will escalate it and call me back. Three months had passed, no call. I call them back, have to re-explain myself, and they said they will escalate and call me back. This went on for a year (can you believe that). I have called again today, and concede just to refund me whatever they saw fit, guess what? They are escalating and calling me back soon. Oh and another thing, Scoot will never give you a cash refund, only in Scoot vouchers. Why would I fly scoot every again after an experience like this? This is the hardest I have ever worked for $158 of vouchers. I guess that is what you expect from a budget airline. But at least I would expect fair treatment, which I definitely have not received from Scoot.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"tickets are non refundable"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila to Singapore. Scoot rescheduled our flight for an earlier one. I even paid for the seat I chose which is the window seat. But when they rescheduled our flight we were seated in the middle seats. It really messed up our plans for that day. The worst part is the tickets are non refundable.This is the first and last time I'll ever fly with them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"great value for money"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Jakarta. Having read a number of negative reviews of Scoot, I have to say that people are obviously missing the point. Yes Scoot is a budget airline, you pay for every extra, but having been a Scoot passenger for over 3 years, flying from Singapore to various locations in ASEAN, I cannot fault the service. Yes, flights are occasionally late, but that happens with every airline now and again! Reasonably priced tickets, even cheaper if you book far in advance, you pay for what you want to use, and if you don't want it, don't pay, simple as that. As for the comments about being pregnant, any sensible person would have obtained a letter from their doctor prior to the flight clearing stating how may weeks pregnant you are and that your doctor is happy for you to travel. As long as you don't exceed the airline requirements, 32 weeks as per Scoots website (did you not check before you flew?) As for complaints about excess luggage charges, you can purchase additional luggage online prior to your flight, you know if you need more luggage before you get to the airport. The comments about kids not sitting properly and being difficult. Being a parent myself, yes some kids don't like flying, but that does not prevent parents from following the rules of the airline, including bringing non Scoot food and drinks onto the flight. If you want a cheap flight, fly budget, if you want free water, and a great cabin crew, fly full fare scheduled airlines. At the end of the day, its your choice as its your money! Overall, a great value for money, with a normally happy crew of Scooties. Keep up the great service Scoot.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Everything is paid"

(India)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Amritsar. The services are very poor. Everything is paid and quality is very poor. They don't even provide free water to their customers. The behavior of the crew towards the customer was also bad.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Amritsar
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made me miss my flight"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Singapore. The check-in staff made me miss my flight. I was 28 weeks pregnant at the time, travelling with my husband and 5 year old son. They were not sure whether I needed a medical certificate. It took them 1 hour to check, telling me they were sure I did not need one. After 1 hour, they said the flight was closed and did not make any attempt to let us board. They asked me to pay to change my tickets for the next flight, which was a non-direct flight leaving 4 hours later, when I had paid for a direct flight. I called customer service, which said I should pay and make a claim later. At the end of the day, we took the next longer and non-direct flight, arriving home at 3am. This has been the most unpleasant check-in and flight experience I encountered so far. I lodged a complaint with Scoot and never had any reply.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"overall experience was good"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Ipoh. Having read preceding reviews (and other friends experiences), I booked Scoot with fear and trepidation. However, as one of the few airlines flying this sector, and as it was a short flight, I decided to take the risk. Buying online was uncomplicated, but I did feel the additional fees for payment (credit card, NETS, AXS) were a little high - I know budget airlines charge for everything, but surely the administrative costs for payment are not that high. Check-in at the kiosk was uncomplicated, I didn't pay for luggage so headed straight for departure. Boarding was supposed to be by seat row number but it basically looked like everyone just headed in, so I did the same. Aircrew were pleasant enough but not terribly enthusiastic, though safety checks were done professionally. Seat pitch on this A320-200 was adequate, but I felt the seat cushions were a little less comfortable than on other airlines: adequate for the 1 hour hop, but perhaps less so if it were going to be longer than that. I bought no additional services, so didn't expect anything else. Arrival was on time and disembarkation was uncomplicated. In total, a simple flight that left on time and arrived on time. Other than the relentlessly cheery branding "Scoot!", the overall experience was good!
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Ipoh
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a great experience"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Flew with scoot TR 278, and with a great experience from Singapore to Jakarta. Had smooth journey from took off until landed, thank you pilots and crew TR 278.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"bad service throughout"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Flew from Tokyo back to Singapore and return with transit via Bangkok with Scoot. Never in my life have had such bad service throughout. Long wait to get through the call center to end up with "I need to put you on hold to check" with every question I asked and getting an absurd answer which did not make any sense. Got told off by check in staff at Narita because our soft unstructured carry on was 6 cubic cm over the limit. 3. Got screamed at no food during transit because we bought orange juice for the kids. And comment given "You must buy our food. Forced us to wake the 2 year old up to be buckled up in his seat. And woke up the 7 year old because he is not seated properly with legs down. On return transit, got told to hurry up by ground crew from passing security to gate. Whilst they watch us dragging 2 groggy kids + hand luggage. After the whole fiasco, we appreciated the flexibility and understanding of 2 member of the crew. Male crew on flight back to Singapore who saw the fuss brewing, explained nicely their situation, moved the other passengers and helped arrange the sleeping 2 year old. Check in staff at Singapore who handled the situation nicely on the check in bags. While I know that every airline has different policies to adhere to, I believe it is fair to expect some courtesy and customer centricness. They had really good planes no doubt, however the service was really uncalled for. Living in both Japan and Singapore where services are known to be top notch. This came to us as an even bigger shock.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Singapore via Bangkok
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such a bad service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Bali. I am so unsatisfied with Scoot, I decided I shall warn anyone who is considering booking. We booked Singapore to Bali, and each bought 1 check-in luggage with the ticket. But we ended up having one extra luggage, instead of charging us one extra luggage fee, they requested us to pay for $20SGD per KG for excess weight , which equivalent to total of $400SGD for one extra luggage. On our return flight, SIN to Taiwan, we experience very bad customer service with the ground crew who were giving us attitudes. The seats on the plane were extremely small, I’m only 5’ tall and my feet was already touching the back of the seat in front of me. I had a snack which I bought in the airport , and was told to stop eating because the airline does not permit any outside food and no water was offered on the flight. This is less than a budget airline! If you are connecting in Singapore, Scoot is actually a poor choice because it does not have a transfer/connecting counter inside terminal, which means you have to exit the terminal of arrival, goes through custom, collect your luggage and then check in again! You will miss your flight if there is not 3 hours connecting time. Whereas other airlines have connecting counter inside terminal and you can easily transfer and check in. Anyways, this is my last time flying Scoot, never experienced such a bad service!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Bali
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no