Saudi Arabian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 187 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Hospitable and friendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We flew Business to Jeddah in Economy and return from Madinah to Manchester. Excellent service, friendly check-in and on-board staff. Extremely comfortable seats in Business and nice seats in Economy Class. Prayer Room and Toilets well-maintained and convenient. Hospitable and friendly staff.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadinah to Manchester
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"needs to update its fleet"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Saudia needs to update its aircraft fleet. Check-in was very long and unorganised, even the dedicated Business desk was poorly manned and had long queues. Had to use the Economy desk instead. Used the fast track at IST which made a life little easy. Takeoff was on-time. Pre take-of drinks and dates were of good quality. Food was ok for Business class, which was essentially economy meal presented in chinaware. Generally, I feel Saudia needs to get rid of old A330s' and 777s as they are starting to show their age. The Business seats on the A330-300 are not fully lie flat unlike its competitor airlines.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to Riyadh
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"the service on board was average"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Flew Riyadh to Istanbul. Nightmare check-in at RUH and average service on board. Took almost 1 hour 30 mins waiting in the check-in queue at King Khalid International Airport (RUH). Took off on time, however the service on board was average. Food was mediocre at best, desserts are not what they used to be in Economy with Saudia. Standards in catering have slipped during the last 3 years. The in flight entertainment needs to be kept updated. I have been seeing the same music albums and songs for the past year on board all aircraft with IFE Screens.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRiyadh to Istanbul
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"it is a good-sized meal"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Tabuk via Riyadh. I have been a Gold Alfursan member (SkyTeam Elite+) for the past 6 years and most of my flights are with Saudia. At T4 check-in was swift and the pass for the excellent SkyTeam lounge was handed to me. Sky Priority now means that you can use the VIP security channel, so it’s a very quick process to get scanned and into the lounge where a full English breakfast was being served. London to Riyadh was on their new 777-300ER. This plane has the new First Suites and the 1-2-1 Business Class configuration. However, I was in economy and the last row only has 2 seats near the window. Boarding was early and efficient. Cabin Crew greeted me with smiles. The blanket and pillow were on the seat. Economy seat 59A is at the rear of the plane and I was lucky enough not to have anyone beside me despite a busy flight. Shortly after take-off there was a choice of fruit juice and lunch was served. Saudia still offer metal cutlery. The chicken salad starter was delicious and I chose the chicken biryani (a favourite of mine on Saudia) as it is a good-sized meal and succulent chicken. This came with a warmed bread roll and butter. The dessert was a small piece of chocolate cake. The two other hot meal choices were beef with vegetables and fish. A small bottle of water was given with the lunch. Although I use my iPad to watch films and TV on, the inflight entertainment system would also have kept me very happy with the range of choices and some box sets of USA shows. The entertainment is edited with blurred blobs covering up bare arms and legs on females. The map feature is excellent. USB sockets to charge phones and there is a multi-socket under the seat that takes various plugs. Recline is very good as the seat back reclines and the seat itself moves slightly forward. The prayer room is at the back so this tends to make for a quieter journey. The flight crew were attentive throughout and if not visible, they did answer calls and brought drinks. 90 minutes before landing, a small tray with two finger sandwiches, a packet of Scottish biscuits, water and a cup for tea/coffee was given out. The flight landed 25 minutes early. Disembarkation in Riyadh was swift (even though I was at the back) and I had no immigration queue and was out in the baggage hall before any cases arrived. Riyadh now operates a fixed fee system if you want an assistant for your trolley (SAR15 or £3). My luggage appeared quite quickly and I headed for the inter-terminal bus as the new domestic terminal is further away. It is a little chaotic getting the bus with the traffic, but it all seems to work. The new Terminal 5 is beautiful. As my luggage was already tagged for Tabuk at Heathrow, the assistant just put it straight onto the conveyor. Once through security I headed for the new Alfursan Lounge which is a wonderful space to relax. There is s self-service buffet with many choices of hot and cold dishes as well as cakes and prepared fruit. There’s a wide choice of cold drinks and the usual coffee machine. The terminal has various coffee shops and fast food choices. The Tabuk flight was on a 5-year old A321.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Tabuk via Riyadh
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I was really disappointed"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Madinah to Delhi via Riyadh in December 2016. The flight took off on time from Madinah, but we had to wait for quite sometime on tarmac in Riyadh with no obvious reason for the delay. The food was horrible. I was sitting in the first row and the screen was stuck below the armrest. Somehow the crew managed to retrieve it, but the sound quality was very bad. Cabin crew was helpful though. I was really disappointed by the Saudi Arabian Airlines experience. They are charging a hefty sum for their flights, but disregard customer satisfaction. Definitely will opt for other Gulf airlines over Saudia next time.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadinah to Delhi via Riyadh
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"might use in future"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Jeddah to Jakarta. It was a relief to get on this plane after the chaotic check-in. Food generally acceptable but only 2 drinks offered on a 9 hour flight. In flight entertainment is excellent but women's exposed skin is blurred by the censors for some odd reason. Toilets fairly dirty and the flush buttons were defective in 2 toilets and had random stickers placed upon them. Prayer zone at the back of the plane is fantastic. Cheap price for a single out of Jeddah via Jakarta to Bangkok so might use in future.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to Jakarta
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"really needs to up their game"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Saudi Arabian Airlines really needs to up their game in terms of service and in terms of quality of the aircraft from Jeddah to Johannesburg and back. We always get the old aircraft, uncomfortable seats, half of them broken, also in flight entertainment touch screens are old, dirty and most do not even work, same with the headphones. Lack of drinks on the flight also, we were given a snack with apple juice and then a breakfast with orange juice, what about those who don't drink juices, or who want a different flavour? No selection or choice. The aircraft used on the Jeddah to Istanbul route is so much smarter, newer screens, even the cabin crew tend to be more friendly, maybe this is because they also on a smarter more advanced plane.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to Johannesburg
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"much better than expected"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Manchester to Jeddah return. The experience was much better than expected. The airline have to focus on staff customer care training if it wants to compete with likes of Emirates. The aircraft were good. The entertainment system was average. Food was fine and comfort was good. I also took a domestic Saudia flight from Madinah to Jeddah and this was delayed for over 4 hours. That put me off although delays do happen with all airlines. I will use this airline again but wont be my first preference.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Jeddah
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"frequently delaying flights"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Saudi Arabian Airlines is frequently delaying flights by 2+ hours especially from Dammam to Jeddah and vice versa. Flight gets delayed, then the boarding time crosses the departure time and then they announce boarding. I mean what's going on? Is this really meeting modern standards? You can't even avoid it as other airlines are even worse than this.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDammam to Jeddah
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall I had good experience"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | We flew from Jeddah to Geneva the flight was full, we had around 30 minutes delay. The cabin crews were so helpful, the flight was around 5 hours and we had only one meal at the beginning as breakfast and snacks before landing. The seats were in good size and comfortable, inflight entertainment were updated and has some new Hollywood movies. Overall I had good experience.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to Geneva
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes